Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Agency working with police to track culprits behind blog said to have insulted Prophet Muhammad

Agency working with police to track culprits behind blog said to have insulted Prophet Muhammad PDF Print
Monday, 29 December 2008 11:13

(NST) The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) is working with the police to trace the people behind a blog said to have insulted Prophet Muhammad.

MCMC chairman Datuk Dr Halim Shafie said investigations were under way to identify the culprits.

"The commission and the police will get to the bottom of the matter," he said.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had asked the Home Ministry and police to act fast.

He said the matter had to be nipped in the bud or it could lead to problems in the country.

Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek had said the woman, whose photograph and identity had been used in the blog, had denied owning the Internet domain.

The woman, in her 20s, was said to have met him two weeks ago to ask the ministry to help clear her name over the matter.

Bernama reports that police had recorded a statement from the woman.

Deputy Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar said yesterday the woman was picked up at her house in Kota Damansara at 6pm on Saturday to assist in the investigation and was later released on police bail.

Meanwhile, the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) said it would take stern action against bloggers, including non-Muslims, who insulted Islam.

"Right now, the police and the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission are trying to trace the blogger said to have insulted Prophet Muhammad," said director-general Datuk Wan Mohamad Sheikh Abdul Aziz.

"We will come in once the culprit is traced."

He added that Jakim had formed a unit within its media and research division to monitor bloggers, news portals as well as the electronic and print media.

Co-operation with the police had been stepped up with the exchange of information between the two on inflammatory and irresponsible articles.

written by cheekhiaw, December 29, 2008 11:43:00
PDRM,

Let the gods track those insulting their messengers. They can take care of their own.

Can you track the culprits behind the murder of Altantuya, her disappearing immigration records, those plastic explosives and the disappearing PI?
written by taishan, December 29, 2008 11:43:10
UMNO goon ministers are always on the ready to meet anyone in distress. What wonderful ministers !
Another day another cock and bull.
written by Kopi37, December 29, 2008 12:21:31
Who else behind all these plots, none other than Umno goons who used to the old trick of instigation and blaming others scapegoats!

Like the young punks in Melaka, burning effigies of pigs and called non-Muslim 'Babi' for involving in the debate of hudud law, are they not creating social havoc and instability?! Are their sins less condemnable than the anonymous blogger who might be posting from overseas?! Is this not double standard and selective persecution?!........
written by thegodfather, December 29, 2008 12:25:41
Why are the PM, Home Minister, the police,etc. not doing anything about the highly racist website http://graduanmelayumuda.********.com/ which is anti-Chinese and anti-Indian and which refers to them as Babi Cina and Keling Biawak???
written by Zym Zym, December 29, 2008 12:46:28
Agree with the godfather. It's double standard.
written by Tom n Jerry, December 29, 2008 13:22:45
Occasionally we have to learn to be in equanimity;sometimes its good to be quite distanced from certain situation which is beyond our control;for example the tsunami 4 years ago;the Wenchuan earthquake;dont get me wrong;I am not trying to sound petrifying but certain disasters are so disastrous its beyond human comprehension;I can only refer back to karma as the guideline! smilies/sad.gif
written by rakyatmalaysia, December 29, 2008 13:47:40
PDRM, where is the small gurl tat was kidnapped earlier ? did you manage to trace them ? where is your priority ??
written by doggone, December 29, 2008 14:38:54
Can't even take care of things on earth and you guys wanna take care of things in heaven. Are you trying to get some brownie points from HIM for all the corrupt practices you fellas engaged in so that you guys don't have to go to Hell?

Can you imagine that Hadhari fella asking those men-in-blue to act FAST when he himself couldn't do sheeit for 5 years.
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 14:53:01
Try to look for needle in the haystack.This is easier!
written by ahmadneil, December 29, 2008 15:05:45
What about the culprits that tore those posters belonging to Theresa Kok!
What about the culprits that burn Jerit's bicycle!
Shit Hamid,they say you got 2 set of rules!Is it true?
written by taishan, December 29, 2008 15:39:04
The wonderful Malaysian Cabinet.
If you have a pain and jobless look for the ever helpful Najis. If you have an internet connection problem look for Strawberry Cheek. If you are 15 year old girl and feeling horny that THAMBI is ever ready to satisfy your libido. If you are in great danger that Yemeni can always help you with the ISA.

But if you are real sick and dying of cancer sorry there is no one there for you.
Maybe RPK is the only one you could turn to.
written by wishuponastar, December 29, 2008 16:13:09
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had asked the Home Ministry and police to act fast.

...before Jan 17?
written by mrbean, December 29, 2008 16:18:21
WTF.. luckily this happen , if not these people will have no work to do.
Is insulting Islam an offence in Malaysia ?
Oh my god... it's crazy...You know , you should ask the Almighty to show the culprit to you guys instead of doing so much work yourself.
I salute you JAIS and the likes of it... you are still living 50 years backward in time.. good stay like that forever... may god bless you...
stpd people
written by Wave33, December 29, 2008 17:20:58
I am interested to read what is written on the blog.
Please place the address here.

written by Tompios, December 29, 2008 18:09:27
Astagafirulla!! What you can do Malaysian PDRM? Tracking those who are doing their work in oversea? I don't think that that fellow did it inside Malaysia. No way! Put your energy on New Year in patrolling the street is much useful than tracking cyber-world culprit!
written by carribeanking7, December 29, 2008 20:13:09
I would not be surprised if UMNO elements fabricated this site, and the pig meat placed strategically in some areas in selangor to create a ruckus so they can use it as an excuse to crackdown by winning public support as they are lacking issues.
I would not even be surprised if they paid someone to do it from overseas.

Of course I do not have proof but it is not beyond them to stoop so low,
a wise man no longer alive today once told me "when something happens where you cannot trace the culprit-start by scrutinizing who would probably gain most from it".

Think about it,their support is probably down to 30%, thus the playing up of racist issues and religious issues to scare their target support base that the Malays and Islam are under siege hoping that this will scare the biggest ethnic group in the country to rally behind them.

Who took blatant racist and facist actions and statements ?
From Ahmad Ismail, Ali Rustam, Hamidah Osman, Tajuddin pottymouth- the list goes on with one common denominator-they are almost exclusively UMNO members .
They talk glibly of racial unity but take actions that further polarize Malaysians,
UMNO's strength is derived from our disunity, all race based parties wether MCA , MIC etc depend on racial polarazation for their survival, so they can be munafiqoons who pretend to champion a certain group while they rob this beloved country dry .

written by amoker, December 30, 2008 14:36:57
The website obviously is set up to inflame. The writer wrote as if a Chinese is writting the message. ( the 'r' changed to 'l') Go la find this scum, you may end up uncovering a plot done by own UMNO people. ahaha. This investigaton sure goes nowhere one le with those people from MCMC.
written by YARRACUDA, December 30, 2008 21:37:06
"The commission and the police will get to the bottom of the matter," he said.

in the end its their bottom which gonna end up fcuked up.....wtf is this guy talking about...i dunno how they gonna track the source as they are using easily available IP tracking software in the open www.....