Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kapar MP Manikavasagam firm on quitting

Kapar MP Manikavasagam firm on quitting PDF Print
Monday, 29 December 2008 10:00

By G. Manimaran & Wani Muthiah, The Star

Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam is standing firm on his decision to leave PKR.

He expressed disappointment with two Pakatan Rakyat leaders yesterday, saying the statements by Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, who is also Selangor PKR chairman, and PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang, showed that they were not problem-solving political leaders.

However, he added that PKR supreme council member N. Gobalakrishnan had sent him an SMS, urging him to reconsider his decision.

“I am disappointed with their statements, they should not have issued such statements,” he said, adding that Khalid behaved like “a corporate figure, not a politician”.

Khalid had stressed that Manikavasagam was mature enough to make a “good decision” as he represented more than 100,000 voters.

Khalid had also said: “It would be better to meet with the party’s leaders. If he wants to meet, that is up to him. It is his decision.”

Hadi had said that Manikavasagam should also step down as an MP if he decided to leave the party.

In Klang, representatives from several non-governmental organisations that had campaigned for Manikavasagam during the March general election expressed disappointment with his antics.

“It is not right for him to quit PKR as it would reduce the number of Pakatan Rakyat seats in Parliament,” said Coalition of Malaysian Indian NGOs secretary Gunaraj George.

He said Manikavasagam should seek ways to solve the issue instead of constantly throwing tantrums.

“He must not disappoint all those who believed in him and had gone all out to campaign for him,” said Gunaraj.

Malaysian Indian Development Association pro-tem chairman L. Segaran said although Manikavasagam’s intentions were noble, it was clear that he was unsure of what to do.

Segaran, who is also a Klang Municipal Council councillor, said threatening to quit the party is not the right move.

PKR state assemblyman for Kota Anggerik and state exco member Yaakob Sapari said any differences could be settled through discussion.

“Manikavasagam could come and meet the exco during the exco meeting and talk things out as well as voice his dissatisfaction,” said Yaakob.

Meanwhile, Manikavasagam will meet Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) chairman P. Waythamoorthy, who is in self-exile, in Chennai, India during the annual Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Indian Diaspora) conference next month.

Former Hindraf national event coordinator Kannan Ramasamy confirmed that the duo would meet in Chennai.

written by Zym Zym, December 29, 2008 10:06:31
Didn't Mani say that Ezam (PKR's member who since jumped ship) was close ally during those by-gone era? Hmm...I wonder if Teng is right.
written by vineeth menon, December 29, 2008 10:12:44
Get lost Mani.. You where elected to serve Malaysians as whole under PKR, not just Indian interests.. if you want to serve only Indian interests, then join MIC ...
written by pinsysu, December 29, 2008 10:16:15
sad but looks like u r looking from ur own mani perspectives; not da rakyat who put u there in da 1st place. surely any differences (am not toking abt personal ones) can be sorted out with patience & understanding, ie. put ur own private feelings aside. if my vote did put u in dat ofis, i wud demand dat u serve out da requisite term. u can quit on me come next GE as da power of ma vote expires by then ya.
written by Ron, December 29, 2008 10:25:25
Cracks in Pakatan!This was STAR papers headlines.The STAR seems to be very happy about it and there is a "spin" on this matter everyday in the STAR from a bunch of lapdogs trying to cari makan.Why not write something about the cracks in BN parties.No balls!!! cause MCA owned.
written by diehard, December 29, 2008 10:48:25
manikeyvisukon..u are the one who said you want to quit..nobody force you to quit...so just leave quietly...
written by DanDan, December 29, 2008 10:57:41
Grow up Mani. Don't behave like a child. The rakyat voted you in as an adult with wisdom. This is just your first term and you are showing your childishness.

Do you expect the MB and the rest of PKR members to kneel down and beg you to please stay??? You infact is a greater disappointment to the rakyat of Kapar than your disappointment of the PKR team. Grow up and be a team player.

If you still feel you are always right and wish to resign from PKR, then by all means resign from PKR and also as our (Kapar) MP. We will decide who is best to represent us. Infact, we voted for the party not the person. Don't believe us???
Resign as MP and we will show you our decision in a by-election. smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by commonfolk, December 29, 2008 11:15:18
Sad to see politicians behaving childish and egoistic who does not have cardinal principal as a whole.
written by fireduck, December 29, 2008 11:18:22
Enough of these theatrics. This guy is not MP material. He is more of a councilman, and an ADUN at best. Threatening to quit over so 'small' an issue as the bus station as compared to the national and global recession problems that will surely affects all of us, just shows that he is not up to the task of national duties. Local council duties maybe, but not at Parliament level.

He must not act like a spoilt child and throw a tantrum each time he does not get his way. It just doesn't show the signs of true leadership. And please lah, be aware of the level that you are representing your constituencies. I wouldn't like it if my MP, Tony Pua, goes the path of Chew Mei Fun again, by being a hero of longkang and broken street lights!

So, go ahead and leave PR and see how much support you can get the next GE.
written by InEffective, December 29, 2008 11:28:17
Well done MP.

If you have failed to convince or influence the adminstration (after following due-process) to act or fund the changes that your constituents are demanding, you should step-down and take accountability for failure.

Explain to your constituents that you cannot deliver, and the reasons for the challenges. Your constituents will appreciate.

The rakyat does not care who or why results cannot be delivered or who is to blame, all they care about is results and delivery.

But if you set false expectations and hope, and then can't deliver, your credibility is suspect. And if you don't have the skills to convince the MB and his administration of the relevant, priority of your constituents needs, then you are the issue. (remember there is always competing demands for scarce resources)
written by cheekhiaw, December 29, 2008 11:34:05
Thief in PKR clothing?

written by Yacob, December 29, 2008 11:40:24
Let this donkey to be ridden by Samy !
written by Spear Bing, December 29, 2008 11:49:30
Mani's egoic self since his winning of the Kapar constituency, has outclassed and outwitted 'this man in the mirror'.

Gleaned from this incident, it's reflective of his conspiracy in mediocracy - in his traits, character, personality and his leadership skill sets.

It's not too early to predict his early fall out from politics.

He has many steep mountains to climb.
written by Susanna, December 29, 2008 12:09:45
Please quit. Good riddance.
written by mikewang, December 29, 2008 12:37:21
The enemy is the MSM which is spinning stories.

PR leaders.
Why are you people so stupid to use the MSM for news on what the other person is saying?
If you can't understan
written by opisboi, December 29, 2008 12:42:08
i think this kapar mp always high on toddy!
written by HeeHaw, December 29, 2008 13:24:09
So if you are so firm on quitting, why haven't you quit already? Typical Indian movie, always running way beyond the story's length.
written by Rozlan, December 29, 2008 19:53:39
Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam is standing firm on his decision to leave PKR

When? PKR had made it clear that he is free to go.. smilies/angry.gif
written by raven1958, December 29, 2008 23:15:44
Dei *******..just get lost....dont be like an Indiaman who makes so much noise but never do.......dont tell us you are firm on quitting....just tell us when ...so that we can celebrate......PKR....this time put a Malay or Chinaman.....dont let this Kayveas/MGR/Sivaji types anywhere you......
written by Davy McChester, December 30, 2008 00:40:52
Tamby,Rome was not built overnight so please do not expect PR to be a champion without first going through a smooth transition that make it a viable and acceptable alternate party to majority Malaysians. It takes MIC forever to deliver anything and so far the Indian community has achieved very little compared with other communities. So,please be patient and prepare the people to look forward. If you are not able gauge the scene or the new awakening,you are doing a great injustice to your supporters.
written by JUST, December 30, 2008 07:24:15
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rFYPns34PlE
written by BORN FREE, December 30, 2008 09:17:01
Please get lost and vacant the seat for a by election in Kapar.
After all, U wont perform well if u want to be an Independent.
And if u jump ship, then u are a betrayal of the people of Klang.
Klang people didnt vote for u but we voted an opposition of BN
So dont be big headed and think that u won cos of who U are !

written by AngryTaxpayer, December 30, 2008 13:00:59
Honestly, I prefer our politicians to behave like corporate figures rather than Malaysian politicians.......... smilies/tongue.gif