Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pas president tells Kapar MP to resign

Pas president tells Kapar MP to resign PDF Print
Sunday, 28 December 2008 21:30

(NST) Kapar member of Parliament S. Manikavasagam's move to quit Parti Keadilan Rakyat left some Pakatan Rakyat leaders hot and worried.

Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang said yesterday that the PKR supreme council member should step down as an MP and recontest as an independent candidate in a by-election.

"He should not have quit the party and this shows that he has no principles, and is not consistent.

"He has betrayed the people who elected him under the Keadilan ticket," he said after launching Jom Sertai Pas (Let's Join Pas) campaign here.

Manikavasagam, who was expected to make an official announcement of his resignation before the New Year, cited his recent spat with Selangor assembly speaker Teng Chang Khim, infighting within the state administration and disappointment with Selangor PKR leaders as "the last straw".

Selangor DAP vice-chairman and Klang MP Charles Santiago yesterday also voiced agreement with his grouses, saying that Teng's recent criticisms of him and Manikavasagam over their involvement in the Klang Sentral Terminal issue had been uncalled for.

"It was totally arrogant of Teng and it is sending the wrong signal to the people. Instead of addressing the issue, he made it personal when he said that both of us were irresponsible and inexperienced," he said yesterday.

Teng, a DAP central committee member, said that Manikavasagam had been bought over by Barisan Nasional when he protested against the relocation of the current bus and taxi station to the new Klang Sentral Terminal.

Hadi, also at the event, said Pas would not explain its decision to implement hudud and qisas to DAP.

DAP should not worry about the implementation as it only applied to Muslims, he said, adding that non-Muslims were free to choose the law they wanted to be tried under.

written by simply_say, December 28, 2008 21:43:29
He knows nothing; and he thinks he knows everything. That points clearly to a political career. - George Bernard Shaw

This apply to you, S. Manikavasagam.
written by jason, December 28, 2008 21:56:29
Manika, dont tell me the bus terminal issue is another Indian issue. First its the temple issue and you threaten to resign. Now its the bus terminal. Where the hell did you come from. These are not big issues. The BIG issue is BN!!! Wake up! I am really suspicious you have been bought. How much did BN pay. Definitely a lot.
written by PAKRAK, December 28, 2008 21:59:06
Why worry ourselves over this small fry. Typical 'Mani' behaviour. Lets work hard and offset this loss by snatching the KT by-election. He has been paid millions by BN but his political career is already kaput.
written by Kuda Belang, December 28, 2008 22:12:05
Dato Seri Hadi, how come you did not tell Ibrahim Ali to resign and stand for election as independent when he betrayed the people of Kelantan who voted him because he stood under PAS ticket?
written by Dualties, December 28, 2008 23:53:30
S. Manikavasagam & Abdul Hadi Awang:

Amazingly politicians are supposed to serve the Rakyat and what are both of you still fighting for your status quo, your ego and pride to be MPs. If politicians can't be critiqued over difference in opinion, how can you face the challenges ahead when your main focus is to manage the country collectively.

Trust us, we the Rakyat will not buy your excuses for being too sensitive over personal attack and forgetting to fight for the real cause of those are still in ISA. Better learn to have good leadership quality to lead in all odds and obstacles. Otherwise quit as politicians and be civilians.

written by sttb08, December 29, 2008 02:25:44
Isn't it frustrarating that every time there is a comment which is religion or race biased.
written by Tompios, December 29, 2008 06:55:30
Guys! I give my 100% support to Manikava for voicing the people's concerns in his constituent. That's what MP for. Voicing the rakyat's voice. Bukan macam members choir singers. Exactly, bukan seperti burung Parrot atau Tiung yang hanya tahu mendendangkan lagu orang.

Anyway, resign and recontest is the best thing for you to do Mr. Manikava.
written by Bigjoe99, December 29, 2008 09:11:58
Malaysiakini report that this guy together with Hindraf want to somehow take over MIC/MIC role in BN. These guys are not reformist but separatist, they don't trust anyone, they are basically are out to get most of whatever they can get from whomever.

What do you mean that MP should have more funds to work with than Muni Council? That is the way our govt is set up. Local issues are not meant for MPs to deal with although people treat it as such...These guys don't play by the rules...
written by InEffective, December 29, 2008 09:56:05
Remember the 'form' is not important, but the 'substance' is - ie what is accomplished and delivered for the rakyat.

If an MP cannot deliver, its naturally best he try and resolve the issues within the government and learn how to appeal and influence his administration.

But if that also does not work, he has the duty and obligations to explain to the rakyat why he cannot deliver.

Issuing ultimatums (after exhausting all avenues) is legitimate. (a smart manager will lead his team in expectations and vision, not by arrogance and coercion)

However, if the MP has not followed due process, and/or does not know how to secure commitment from the MB or administration, then he is fundamental issue. There is always competition for scarce resources.

So learn how to be effective...
written by nana tanjung, December 29, 2008 19:13:28
waaa....so many comments against Tuan Guru? How come the same people do not offer similar comments when Karpal say the same thing?
written by DreamLady, December 30, 2008 08:02:39
Manicka, it is your right to leave PR when you feel that you are being slighted. Whatever personal differences you have between the members of PR should be discussed and dealt with amicably if you are a person who upholds principle and strict discipline in regards social etiquettes. The louder you raise your voice, the lower you bring yourself down to the level of the ill-trodden!!

Pakatan is still in the crawling stage of a growing babe. Many issues, let it be pleasant or otherwise is a norm in the formation of a new coalition. If you, as a strong member of PR, is unable to withstand the unpredictable weather of political storm, you are not fit to be part of the team, and also, it reflects the lack of dedication and perseverance on your part to spearhead the ultimate goals you have set for those who elected you.

Over an issue involving personal pride and ego is not going to move you forward to champion the rakyat's rights and better future, unless you have a selfish agenda for kicking up the dust.

In short, you have miserably failed those rakyat who have counted on you with their lives. What a waste of human resource over a trivial issue !!

A reminder: it is too early, Manicka, to salvage the spoils of the war. Most of the PR members forgo the perks of the battle won, and are busy working their butts off to make a smoother path for the coming election.

Conclusion: good riddance to bad rubbish!!