Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nik Aziz Says People Will Accept Hudud Laws Someday

Nik Aziz Says People Will Accept Hudud Laws Someday PDF Print
Sunday, 28 December 2008 21:17

(Bernama) -- The people will accept hudud laws (Islamic penal code) someday just as they accepted political Islam brought by PAS, said Kelantan Menteri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat.

Nik Aziz, who is also PAS spiritual leader, said before, people had objected to political Islam but now it was the reverse.

"What is important now is for PAS to win over the people that hudud laws will be good for the country," he told reporters here Sunday.

He had been asked to comment on the stand taken by PAS vice president Datuk Husam Musa who recently said that PAS would implement hudud laws if it gained power in the country.

On complaints by Gua Musang Umno Youth that the Chinese community in Gua Musang were unhappy that land titles supposed to be given to its members were long overdue, Nik Aziz said he had no knowledge about it and that it had not been brought to his attention at the state government's weekly executive committee meetings.

written by ladasiber, December 28, 2008 21:26:00
"What is important now is for PAS to win over the people that hudud laws will be good for the country," he told reporters here Sunday.

Amen
written by Milo, December 28, 2008 22:32:01
Datuk Nik Aziz,

The question to you is: Do you implement Hudud law before or after the leader are convinced of its goodness?

PAS reasoning thus far no matter how well-intentioned is pure self-serving and bias in favour of Islam.

Yoga is also proven to be good for health. Why was it banned for muslims? The reason cited is it is because of religious connotations. So, just because something is "good" does not mean it is right from everyone. That is the same position with hudud - it is a religious law derived from Islamic religion. Just as a muslim will not want to be subjected to "good" buddhist, hindu or Christian laws, why should non-muslims be subjected to your laws because there are some "good" principles in it?

A hindu can easilly demonstrate the good side of his religion.A buddhist monk can equally say his life is tranquil and therefore is good for everyone. Following the religious teaching will mean there will be no corruption and plenty of compassion for fellow humans. So are you for these religious principles for the Muslims if they happen to live in a country where the people of other faiths are the majority?

Even if Hudud laws are better than some parts of the current malaysian laws, the "bad" part can always be discarded and replaced by better laws when PR is in power. Why must it be Hudud?

Keep your laws to your followers. And keep religion out of politics, and all will be okay.

written by 98PercentPrimate, December 28, 2008 23:13:17
SOMEDAY! .. that is wishful thinking.

If you put the development of human knowledge from 2000 years ago to 2008 in a graph, you will see a very sharp rise within the last 100 years, something like
this ______| .

Extra-polating human progress in knowledge and spirituality, do you think hudud (supposed a fixed god's law) will be applicable in year 2100, 2500, 3000, 5000, 10,000, or 50,000! If it supposed to god's law then it should be eternal, isn't it. However do you think humans will be cutting arms and limbs for theft of microchips in year says 5,000?

With speedy advances in neuroscience, genetics engineering, biorobotics, it would be possible for humans to detect and prevent crime at source before conception.

From the above, we can infer that hudud can only be situational and contextual. It may be applicable in some nations but I would like to think the the average Malaysian is not hududable.
written by smalluncle, December 28, 2008 23:33:54
while I do not have objection to Hudud as it only apply to the bad, but the mentioned of it makes many uneasy. This is a no no for Pakatan.

Its times DSAI look into strengthening PKR into a true multiracial party, invite DAP and whoever who share the same Malaysian Spirit and go for it alone come next GE.

So go for the membership drive, recruits potential statesmen, groom them for the big day after PRU14. For your plan to take over now seem deminishing, time to prepare for the next GE.

Have a team that can not only work and serve, also able to know when to or not to speak.
written by 98PercentPrimate, December 29, 2008 00:30:38
"written by The dragonheart, December 28, 2008 23:37:29
Zym Zym, darkchocolate1,98PercentPrimate,above... need to read more... so shallow mind... so ignorance... so blind..."

darkchololate1 support your POV lah..

Hey, you are the one who need to read more.. so blind, and most likely your spiritualiity is shallow as well.
written by Milo, December 29, 2008 00:49:57
darkchocolate1, December 28, 2008 23:15:29
Our laws are based on the English Common Law...which are based on Judeao-Christian values. That seems to be ok for Buddhists, Hindus, Sikhs etc. So how come it is so wrong for them to be governed by a set of laws based on another different set of values, the Shari'a? Sounds like Islamophobia here.
----------------------------------------

What you argued is like asking what's wrong with riding a camel based on Arab tradition since we have no problems with cars which originated from the west.

The development of common law is based on case arguements in the secular courts and equity laws are a latter development to fill the gaps found in common law. Unlike the Hudud which cannot be change or challenged, these English laws are NOT based on unchallengable blibical teachings (although some of these people who helped developed the laws may be Christians) and these laws have being subjected to continous evolvments including being overwritten by local Acts of Parliament.

The non-muslims have no problem with principles that are good and happens to be were found in Hudud laws. If you say the corrupt goes to jail, we have no problem because these to us are universally acceptable to protect society. But we certainly have problems if you make it federal law and enforce them WHOLESALE on non-muslims. Imagine we have to find 4 witnesses to convict a muslim who raped a non-muslim girl! We don't blame you if you are blinded by your Religion not to see how ridiculous such a law is (if you can call this a law at all!), but keep such laws to your community. BTW, we would have rejected such a law even if it comes from Christian, Hindu or Buddhist origin for the obvious fact that this is total nonsense.

We are not interfering with your lives, you are interfering with ours!

written by binarytan, December 29, 2008 01:16:20
Not some day lah,Once PAS takes power, they will do it.It is a racist party that onlyknows Islam and nothing else.
written by Milo, December 29, 2008 01:21:15
Is the following practice based on Hudud laws?
---------------------------------------------------

(CNN) -- A group fighting for women's rights in Saudi Arabia condemned a judge Wednesday for refusing to annul the marriage of an 8-year-old girl to a 47-year-old man.

The group's co-founder, Wajeha al-Huwaider, told CNN that achieving human rights in the kingdom means standing against those who want to "keep us backward and in the dark ages."

The Society of Defending Women's Rights in Saudi Arabia, in a statement published on its Web site, called on the "minister of justice and human rights groups to interfere now in this case" by divorcing the girl from the man. "They must end this marriage deal which was made by the father of the girl and the husband."

On Saturday, the judge, Sheikh Habib Abdallah al-Habib, dismissed a petition brought by the girl's mother.
written by Milo, December 29, 2008 01:22:02
Sorry, it should be is this practice based on Islamic law?
written by Tom n Jerry, December 29, 2008 07:35:35
Even though I am a non-Muslim;I can see the beauty of hudud;it would invariably reduce much of the undesired evil committed by most people especially UMNO;we can see many people without hands,fingers or foot;perhaps even zakar if it is to be implemented! smilies/grin.gif
written by Hope4all, December 29, 2008 08:58:14
Chances of Hudud Law implementation among Muslims will be better if 50% of the Syariah court judges are women, not just with the increasing Muslim population.
written by DezMalaysia, December 29, 2008 11:18:01
Datuk Nik Aziz, I respect you highly as a man of high moral & intergrity.

As for this question,
People Will Accept Hudud Laws Someday

The answer is, NO! And, it wont be accepted by whole Malaysians & PAS will not succeed implementing hudud laws in Malaysia !

PAS should be more realistic and work harder to uplift the living standards of the poors, fight corruptions and uphold justice !

POLITIK = KOTOR , AGAMA = Bersih & Suci !
TOLONG JANGAN CAMPUR atau bawak agama ke kancah peperangan POLITIK !
written by bambolero, December 29, 2008 11:40:42
If Pas and it's alliance want's to implement Hudud it should be for everone muslim or non muslim. If not it will discrimination for one race and a laughing stock for the other. In other muslim countries like Saudia majority are muslim. I know it's God's law and don't make it Are boi law, LA law, Murphy's law or Bo law.
written by cheekhiaw, December 29, 2008 11:47:43
Sure, one day all will go blind.

written by Zym Zym, December 29, 2008 12:35:18
The dragonheart wrote:

"Zym Zym, darkchocolate1,98PercentPrimate,above... need to read more... so shallow mind... so ignorance... so blind... "

As if that the porkheart is so knowledgeable and open-minded. If you are as claimed to be then go to Ali Sina's website (http://faithfreedom.org) to refute his "accusation" and claim your USD 50K. The reason why no body has ever made it is because what he has accused so far is true. So, porkheart, you think you are open-minded enuff to even ***** and read his articles? I bet you're as shallow as a swine's brain. Ok...dun have to look up the dictionary. I tell you what swine is. It's you!

written by Zym Zym, December 29, 2008 12:37:22
Ok Pas...seriously, you've just lost my vote.
written by The Hammer, December 29, 2008 15:32:17
Yes, absolutely right people will accept HUDUD after another 500 Year. Well it took 1400 years to come to this stage of awareness, so it will be another 500 years to fully accept these laws. Untill then please teach the people the golden rules-The 10 Commandments
written by nana tanjung, December 29, 2008 19:21:04
Btw, how many of us here really understand 100% of our income tax law? and how many of us here totally agree with that law? and why are we not objecting to that law?

Ironically Hudud is only for muslims, yet I see almost everyone who is opposed to Hudud are nonMuslims!!! Please respect our rights as Muslims to prcatise our religion and law. Please do not trample on our rights.
written by Sabahfan, December 29, 2008 22:33:06
darkchocolate1, dragonheart and the rest of you islam defenders here..

THE MORE I READ YOUR ARGUMENTS, THE MORE YOU GIVE ME A PHOBIA OF YOUR RELGION..

call it islamophobia or whatever, but the real cause of it is YOURSELVES and YOUR arguments and your implementations and ALLLLLLLL your actions..

YOU all are the very cause of islamophobia....

Darkchocolate says common law is based on christians but without proof, when common law is based on common sense... not from any religion, so you are fukking liar.

and this "nanatanjung" bullshitter says Huddud laws is the rights of moslems.. so what, go and chop your hands and your legs and snatch the corpses for all I care..

BUT YOUR NIK AZIZ ALREADY DECLARED that he hopes the people.. I REPEAT the people..will accept huddud laws...

He did NOT say moslems only? THAT IS CLEARLY saying islamic laws shall be forced to everyone once you are in power... SO THE BEST THING TO DO IS NEVER ALLOW U PEOPLE TO BE IN POWERL....never..... I for one will campaign never to let all these devils pretending to be god to be in power..

we will start a war in Malaysia just like the Israel Gaza Palestinian war...

If thats what you want,, ok... from internet it will spread into the real world.. BECAUse you moslem fanatics started it..

Instead of going for mutual understanding through inter religious talks and understanding which I hope that Pakatan will do once in Power, U bloody bastard starts talking about ISLAMIC dominance.... Huddud laws...FUKK your gods lah..

I dont believe you people are defending God anymore, you are all defending LUCIFER himself...

FOr mamatanjung shithead to answer, If huddud laws only for moslems, why non moslems in Kelantan has to go through separate checkout counters in for Male and female?

even queueing in checkout counters must make your moslem men GATAL just standing behind a woman at the counter... IT JUST GOES TO SHOW HOW WEAK your mental thinking are.... comparatively sakais or uncivilised people really...!!!
written by born2reign, December 30, 2008 00:15:11
Until and unless Hudud has very clear laws of the conversion of Muslim to other faiths, and protecting the rights of non-Muslim family members with /without knowledge of spouse, then the non-Muslim may be open to the benefits of hudud. So far, Islamic authorities have been very quick to issue fatwas on teeny weeny issues such as yoga and queues, and not addressing the Muslim family breakups, low competitiveness, abolishing quotas of bumiputera housing and education and corruption.
written by miwaki, December 30, 2008 02:02:35
Hudud or no hudud,tomorrow all of us have to go to work and hope that this year all of us will be paid some bonus.

It's a waste of time debating on hudud because this law will not be implemented unless majority of the citizens of Malaysia are agreed to it.PAS will not implement hudud even if PAS has 2/3 of the MPs in parliament as Pas knows it will be toppled easily during the next election.

If PAS is brilliant,it should introduce a system of education whereby people would be having high moral values instead of introducing harsh punishment to refrain people from committing evil deeds.Remember the saying,"prevention is better the cure".

Take for an example rape,how can a potential rapist be afraid of death when he become horny ? He is prepared to die when he commit the act,so you see,would death by stoning or cutting of his little brother prevent him from rape ? The answer is definitely no ! No matter how harsh is the punishment,crimes would remain.

It is education that would minimize crime rates,not punishment.Discover the root cause of crimes and then introduce solutions through proper education.But with the caliber of our politicians,we already know the answer.
written by Milo, December 30, 2008 13:24:30
nana tanjung, December 29, 2008 19:21:04
Btw, how many of us here really understand 100% of our income tax law? and how many of us here totally agree with that law? and why are we not objecting to that law?
------------------------------

The Income Tax law is not an Islamic, Christian, Buddhist or Hindu law. Furthermore, such laws can be amended every year to cater to the changing needs of the people. If we happen to have a stupid government who doesn't do that, we can change with one that does every four years. Our objections can be translated into votes, and by changing leaders we can change the law! If Islamic laws are implemented, we cannot object to the flaws and cannot change them whether PAS or UMNO is in power. That's why the non-muslims object. In fact, we would still object if any law whose flawed cannot be challenged, EVEN if they are christian, buddhist or hindu law. So, view in its entirety, we are not just objecting because it is Islamic Law.