Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kapar MP free to go, says Khalid

Kapar MP free to go, says Khalid PDF Print
Sunday, 28 December 2008 14:46

(The Star) - Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim has taken a hard stand on S. Manika­vasagam’s threat to quit PKR, saying the Kapar MP was free to do so.

Khalid, who is also from PKR, also said he was not going to meet with Manikavasagam to convince him to stay.

“PKR does not encourage him to make that decision but it is his decision,” he said.

He was speaking to reporters after opening the Selangor government’s Christmas celebrations at a shopping mall here yesterday.

Khalid said he did not understand why Manikavasagam would want to quit over the Klang bus stand issue.

“He has the platform in our state meetings to voice his grievances and we also have supreme council meetings. As an MP he is invited,” he said.

On whether he would meet with Manikavasagam, Khalid said it was better for the MP to meet with the party leadership.

“If he wants to meet, that is up to him. It is up to him,” he said.

On whether PKR would ask Manikavasagam to quit as MP if he left PKR, Khalid said: “It is up to the supreme council.”

PKR information chief Tian Chua meanwhile said Manikavasagam had made the threat to show his voters that he was serious about solving problems.

“He is trying to solve the bus station issue in his own way. Whether is the right way or not is not the issue. What is important now is that we must solve the bus station problem,” he added.

Selangor state executive council member Ronnie Liu however said he would call Manikavasagam and ask him to reconsider.

“There will always be differences among party members but these can be resolved,” said Liu, who is from DAP.

PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang said Manikavasagam should resign as MP if he quit the PKR.

“People elected him based on the party he was representing. It is only right that he gives-up the position when he leaves PKR,” said Abdul Hadi after launching the party’s membership drive in Shah Alam.

written by New Malaysian, December 28, 2008 14:58:30
The Rakyat are watching....

It would be wonderful to see all the salient points in this impasse debated openly and fairly and a just solution reached. A brilliant opportunity for PR to show how different it is from the bigoted, nearsighted, crony-infested policies of the ruling junta...

Show us why we should continue to vote for you and oust the present regime...

New Malaysian
written by loosecannon, December 28, 2008 15:02:48
That's the way to deal with the issue. Don't let anyone gets into this disease by threats and challenge. This is the BN's forte so leave it to them. Anyone who behaves like a prima donna, ask them to leave. PR would be better without them. Otherwise there'll be no end to this type of threats.
written by borneoman, December 28, 2008 15:07:41
childish but at least i am confident that nobody is willingly and knowingly holding anybodys ball in pkr.
written by mikefonz, December 28, 2008 15:16:58
There's always problems for us to solve. Life is not just a straight road without any potholes. There's always an answer to every problem and it take a man with good sense and wisdom to solve it. Why is ths Kapar MP making such an issue on resolving the bus station issue. Don't make yourself look stupid by making threats to leave the party. The Rakyat voted the party and you were voted because you represented the party. If you were to stand under the BN, you would have lost it all. Sit down and resolve the issue through the proper channel. You quit then you insult not only yourself but the people who voted for you. Use you head and think before you act. Please don't insult us who voted you in.
written by Raizzen, December 28, 2008 15:18:42
Kids throw tantrums to get attention and when their wishes arent entertained. Manika pretty much reminds me of this. Go ahead and quit. We'll see another 50 candidates beyond your caliber as a replacement. Any day.
written by 98PercentPrimate, December 28, 2008 15:23:08
Manikavasagam is childish and acting as a spoilt brat. He is definitely selfish and do not understand how to act for the greater good that all those who voted for PKR expected.

At some point, Khalid must take full responsibility at state level, as Selangor political CEO, for not putting and managing an effective strategic management system in place.

Ultimately it is the Central Committed of PKR (analogically the Board of Directors) to take final responsibility for such incompetencies.
written by Rozlan, December 28, 2008 15:44:48
Good way to disciplined errant PR reps...Let see wha tis Manicka next step...
written by A MI, December 28, 2008 16:08:40
next step? well run with taoil between legs to Appa Semi-value singing praises of MIC and at the same time running PKR down..what else..typical of shallow-minded.
Who nominated this guy in PKR anyway?
written by Lembing, December 28, 2008 16:13:22
Manikavasagam is a member of a political party and he should know that he is part of the governing team. There will always be opposing views on certain issues within the same governing team. If an individual is not able to convince the other team members on certain issues, he should be matured enough to accept the majority views.

To resign, especially over the minor issue of bus stops and not receiving other members' support (maybe it is Manikavasagam's personality which put him at a disadvantage), indicates immaturity and demonstrates that this politician is not fit to represent the rakyat. It is a blessing in disguise if he goes ahead and resign. Good riddance.
written by ahmadneil, December 28, 2008 16:27:20
"You have to go"..sung by Khalid.
written by wongnoball, December 28, 2008 16:40:41
Actually I am not angry with Manika as compared to Racist Bigot PKR MP Zulkifli Noordin of Kulim. We shall see with open eyes how PKR deal with this minor of issues as compared with Nordin.

We will see if the supreme race is treated differently or the same....then the destiny of Malaysia will be either Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Burma or South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan.

DAP gladly take you in...let PKR merge with PAS and bring them into line is better.

Lets continue to wreck Economic Chaos via Boycott of UMNO-BN businesses would be better. Malaysian for Malaysian. To hell with all Racism!!...time to consider Autonomy if you ask me!!
written by Fuminari, December 28, 2008 17:22:25
in fact it is the right n power of the klang kapar people who should give a piece of their mind to manika that his threatening tactic is already out of date with the matured voters from klang.it is kapar people sole right to decide whether he should quit PKR n not he himself who could decide.....he was elected by the people therefore it is the people that decide not manika...he has to be cleared on this matter!!!
written by Iliyas, December 28, 2008 17:43:28
While all these fiasco of I'm resigning,You're free to go and I will only decide before Wednesday is going on,the one certainty is UMNO-BN is laughing all the way.

Immature politicians if you ask me,cheap publicity.That is why I say,politicians are like diapers,you need to change them.Politicians talk of democracy,without understanding what it really means.Democracy is suppose to be a coalition of ideas,but what we're seeing here are treats of the highest degree.And to top it all the media is having a field day,and enjoying every minute of it.

Hello Pakatan Rakyat[PKR,DAP,PAS] MP's,Malaysians did not support you in the last general elections for the sake of positions,fighting within or seeking glamor.Please get your BLOODY act together or you are HISTORY.A huge number of supporters have made sacrifices,and Malaysians have woken up for change,are you idiots still sleeping like Bodowi.

Totally pissed off with such naivety,blatant bullshit and stupidity.
written by MalaysianFirst, December 28, 2008 17:44:42
To the Kapar MP, I've this to say:
You won Kapar not because you are Manikavasagam. You won because you are PKR. The fact that PR has not even finished its first year of government and you are displaying such anti-party and anti-leadership qualities is an unhealthy sign. You owe your success and allegience to the party. Please show more humility, maturity and respect to the party elders. Above all, you must at times, accept "NO" for an answer to your requests. You cannot have the cake all the time.

Warmest regards.
written by Milo, December 28, 2008 18:06:05
Khalid said he did not understand why Manikavasagam would want to quit over the Klang bus stand issue.
-------------------------

It is either because he has a pea brain with no concept of the big picture or he is bought by BN as rumoured. Kalid is right in standing firm, and letting him decide which way to go.
written by Lim Lim, December 28, 2008 18:47:59
manika won on PKR ticket n on the PR platform !!!as sensible as he should be as an elected MP,he must show to hav stood on PKR n PR pledge!he has to learn in how to accommodate "NO" as a reply or answer by looking at a bigger picture thro' a proper channel n not like a person who has lost his sanity, yelling n shouting thro' the street where by nobody is giving a damn!!it is the kapar people to decide what's next is the best step becos his MP-ship belongs to the klang kapar people who hav voted him in!!manika does not own the MP seat,he did not n does not earn it!!kapar people do.
written by MNor, December 28, 2008 19:04:27
Have said it once before and am saying it again. Voters in Kapar voted for opposition and not him and he already said it twice that he will resign, and th4 he sud resign and resigning not only from PKR but also as MP. WE DONT WANT AN MP WITHOUT ANY PLATFORM nanti "macam anjing menyalak gunung" hapah pun tak jadi!!!!
written by agadam magadam, December 28, 2008 19:37:59
I think, it's better to let this fellow go... Very unbecoming of him.. PR should not condone to this type of behavior...
This idiot was elected by us, based on the party he represented.. He's become too arrogant..
Probably he's preparing himself for the MIC Elections... Very childish..

..Dei Manika - Get Lost la, we don't need u... I'm a Klang Indian and staunch supporter of our present State Govt...

Tan Sri Khalid, Be firm with this Guy... Ask him to get lost..
written by banzai, December 28, 2008 19:48:51
Suruh Ayamani pergi MAMPUS lah.
No different. Kapar go get back K.T.
written by SiHangChai, December 28, 2008 20:26:07
Agreed. The KAPAR MP can go. We don't need such a MP with this attitude problem especially he knows the Pakatan have the deal also with all the sbatoging by the previous UMNO government.
written by Kuda Belang, December 28, 2008 23:02:26
To the Kapar MP, I've this to say: You won Kapar not because you are Manikavasagam. You won because you are PKR.

Agreed. The KAPAR MP can go. We don't need such a MP with this attitude problem especially he knows the Pakatan have the deal also with all the sbatoging by the previous UMNO government.

I think, it's better to let this fellow go... Very unbecoming of him.. PR should not condone to this type of behavior... This idiot was elected by us, based on the party he represented.. He's become too arrogant..

----

While we are on the issue on how to rid `arrogant' MPs with `attitude' problems who strayed away from Pakatan's principle, should we also not pass the same sentence on Zulkifli Nordin? Did he too not act in the manner he has been `bought' by BN?

The government propaganda tools are hard at work to drive the wedge between PKR, DAP and PAS, and the Pakatan leaders lost their cool and acting like fools. And we are fanning it.

written by pokokmangga, December 28, 2008 23:11:07
I have to agree with the majority of you commenters. If he wants to go, just piss off then. Stop winnching behaving like a bloody child. This goes to show that there are some real idiots from Pr behaving like the dreaded BN mps.

Same shit different days and different government. Let that arrogant shit go. Go nad join the f***ing MIC and lick the the BIG FAT ARSE of UMNO and get a PLUMB position and money and power. Let that shite go and join the other side.

What a scumbag.

Sang Kancil
written by ZOMA, December 29, 2008 00:01:37
This one thing I am duty bound to correct. Town Counsellors can use Selangor State money for small contract works under his zone to repair, suraus, temple etc. But a member parliament is at Federal level and an MP cannot get funded from the Selangor State funds.

Tan Sri Khalid bagi lah Mike ni jawatan pengerusi GLC mana-mana yang boleh. At least he will have some money to run around. Dont wait for too long. Tan Sri lain lah tak ambil elaun MB pun tak apa.
written by temenggong, December 29, 2008 00:29:06
Manicka,

Maintain the pressure! Don't let these asholes off!