Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Feuds hurting opposition

Feuds hurting opposition PDF Print
Sunday, 28 December 2008 10:29

Mr Anwar's multiracial Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), the DAP and PAS formed the loose PR alliance a month after the opposition's biggest-ever electoral success in the March general election. -- PHOTO: ASSOCIATED PRESS

By Hazlin Hassan, The Straits Times

MALAYSIA'S opposition is looking battered as open feuds break out among its leaders ahead of an important by-election.

A major issue that could split the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) alliance is the insistence by one of its members, Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS), to push ahead with its agenda of imposing hudud or Islamic criminal laws.

The PAS move - as made known by vice-president Husam Musa recently - has outraged its alliance partner, the Democratic Action Party (DAP).

The DAP, which draws its support mostly from the Chinese and Indian communities, is deeply opposed to the proposed laws which, among other things, allow for the amputation of limbs for thieves and caning for adulterers.

DAP chairman Karpal Singh has urged de facto opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim to say openly that he is against hudud laws in Malaysia. Datuk Seri Anwar has stayed mum.

Mr Anwar's multiracial Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), the DAP and PAS formed the loose PR alliance a month after the opposition's biggest-ever electoral success in the March general election.

But now they are crossing swords not just over the hudud laws. Infighting over various issues has also broken out among PAS, DAP and PKR MPs in opposition-ruled Selangor.

DAP MPs have criticised PAS over its insistence that beer not be served at football matches.

Meanwhile, a DAP MP Charles Santiago is openly feuding with a senior party member who accused him of having been bought over by the ruling coalition.

And the PKR camp is riven by internal disputes that prompted a threat by PKR lawmaker S. Manikavasagam to quit the party.

There is also a bitter power struggle among some top PKR leaders in Penang.

PKR information chief Tian Chua downplayed the infighting. 'We will have to find a solution, and negotiate with all parties involved,' he told The Sunday Times.

But the by-election in Kuala Terengganu is due on Jan 17, leaving the opposition little time to mend its image.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by avicenna, December 28, 2008 10:42:48
Straits Times - playing it up again for the KT elections. Ignore.
written by nana tanjung, December 28, 2008 11:10:39
Strait Times who?
written by jonath66my, December 28, 2008 11:43:46
A satire for MP Kapar

A dedication to the bravery of MP Kapar Mani

Kapar MP Mani
You have used a kapur (chalk)
And drawn a line
Don't turn back just walk off

So a 'Nike' MP Mani did to Pakatan
Is manis (sweet) revenge to BN

Turn your back on the hopes of voters
For the alternative Pakatan to prove their worth
After all, if you don't get elected next GE
You will return BolehLand to the same status quo
Which voters voted you in to change in March 8?

A new bus station you have got for us
But you have taken us all for a ride
Down the familiar road we voted on March 8 to change

Thanks for returning BolehLand to the 'deja vu' land we tried to change and leave behind.

see ' Kapar MP wields axe at PKR' www.jonathan66-my.********.com
written by kkselvam, December 28, 2008 13:03:04
We want a strong opposition and we the rakyat are really hoping this coalition ( PKR,DAP and PAS ) will topple UMNO lead BN government soon.
Just don't spoil my mood with your in-fighting and theatrical attitude. PR, get your act together and let finish what we started on March 8 come rain or shine.
Don't let us down!
written by ssathia, December 28, 2008 14:19:02
The greatest challenge facing today are not religious or race per say, but greed, gross inefficiency and abuse of power. PR may provide an altnernative to BN, but if PR is not able to resolve the above issues, it will not be a choice at all.
written by asguard, December 28, 2008 20:07:27
The msm is taking every opportunity to shoot at the opposition mess! So please put your house in order to move forward....