Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Islam's Challenges To 'Universal Human Rights'

Islam's Challenges To 'Universal Human Rights' PDF Print
Saturday, 27 December 2008 22:50

Sabatina James uses a pseudonym and lives under police protection after fleeing Austria, where her father threatened to kill her for converting from Islam.

By Jeffrey Donovan, Radio Free Europe Radio Liberty

Sabatina James has one wish. She wants to enjoy the principles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), which is 60 years old this week. But the 26-year-old Austrian of Pakistani heritage, in hiding since becoming Christian, is at the center of a storm between Islam and international human rights law.

After converting from Islam a few years ago, James had to flee from a father who wanted her killed for apostasy -- and from Austrian authorities who instead of protecting her, suggested she resolve the conflict by returning to Islam.

James, who uses a pseudonym, grew up in Linz, a city near the Alps more famous for chocolate than disputes between Islamic and international law. But when she renounced Islam, her father's verdict was clear. "He said, 'In two weeks you have to become a Muslim again or you're dead,'" says James, who fled to Germany, where she now lives under police protection.

On the anniversary of the UDHR's ratification, James's case dramatically illustrates Islam's growing challenge to the principles enshrined in the world's most translated document, including the freedom of thought, conscience, and worship -- and the right to change one's religion.

Many Muslim jurists say Shari'a does not envision such liberties -- and that apostasy is always punishable by death. Although there is growing debate about that interpretation, the tension between Islamic and international law is at the center of James's personal drama as well as Western attempts to accommodate Muslim citizens. It's also behind efforts by Muslim countries to establish new rights frameworks based on Shari'a.*

But what surprises James isn't that Muslim states have sought their own Shari'a-based rights charters. It's that in some Western countries she sees a willingness to have Shari'a applied to Muslim citizens at the expense of their tutelage under national and international laws.

For example, when she was first threatened by her father, James asked local police for help. "They said to me, 'Why don't you become Muslim again? Then you won't have problems, Madam. Why are you doing all that? It doesn't matter if you believe in Allah or Jesus.' But for me, it did matter, and I was living in a country which is not under Islamic law. And I was like, 'Why are these people taking the side of my parents?'"

Mounting Problem

There has been no recorded case of a Muslim being murdered for apostasy in Europe. What's more, such punishment is not regularly practiced in the Muslim world, where it is banned in many countries. Famously, it was outlawed in the Ottoman Empire but remains on the books in countries such as Saudi Arabia and Iran and a real threat to apostates in other countries, such as Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Europe, meanwhile, is increasingly grappling with the legal quandary stemming from Shari'a and a Muslim population that totals some 50 million. Some European courts, religious leaders, and officials have shown a willingness to defer to Muslim rules in the private sphere -- on marriage and divorce or finance, for example.

Last February, the Archbishop of Canterbury, Rowan Williams, said it might be "unavoidable" to allow aspects of Shari'a law, such as on marital disputes or finance, to be applied in Britain. Prime Minister Gordon Brown, who said British laws "should be based on British values," shot down his suggestion.

Last year in Germany, a judge refused an application by a Moroccan immigrant to quickly divorce her abusive husband, whom she claimed had threatened to kill her. In his decision, the judge referred to a passage in the Koran that some interpret to mean that a husband can beat his wife.

The main challenges from Islam have been on women's rights, freedom of association and religion, torture, and the death penalty for children.
More recently, France has been gripped by the case of a Muslim who won a legal annulment of his marriage after discovering his bride was not a virgin. Critics saw it as an encroachment by Shari'a into French law, although an appeals court overturned the ruling last month.

But James, who now runs an organization that assists abused Muslim women in Europe, says that beyond the headlines are many more cases of Muslim women in Europe who are not afforded basic international rights, such as those envisaged by the UDHR: "It's happening everywhere, actually. There are women coming to our organization, women from Pakistan; they are really living like slaves and the authorities are helping the punishers more than the victims."

'Regional Specificities'

Most Muslim countries except Saudi Arabia voted to ratify the UDHR in the UN General Assembly in 1948 -- and Arab scholars from Egypt and Lebanon helped draft the text. Yet Muslim countries have sought to distance themselves from the UDHR, which although merely a "declaration" inspired later legally binding global agreements on rights, such as the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and the Convention against Torture.

In 1981, Muslim countries passed their own Declaration of Islamic Human Rights. That was followed by the 1990 Cairo Declaration of Human Rights in Islam and the 1994 Arab Human Rights Charter, a text negotiated under the Arab League which seven countries ratified and which came into effect last March.

The main challenge from Islam has been on women's rights, freedom of association and religion, torture, and the death penalty for children. The Islamic human rights documents all curtail these rights compared to how they are treated by the UDHR and subsequent UN charters inspired by it.

Backers of the Muslim charters argue that they are in line with the 1993 Vienna Declaration and Program of Action on human rights, which reaffirmed the UDHR's principles but also allowed for "regional specificities" on human rights. Champions of the Arab charter say it proves Shari'a is compatible with international human rights.

Western experts beg to differ, voicing particular concern over the rights of women and freedom of religion in the Muslim world. James laments the dwindling acceptance of global human rights in the Muslim world. But she also sees Western compromises to rights declared universal 60 years ago this week.

"We have to say to Muslim people, if they come to Europe: 'We are glad that you are here, and we love you, but we have laws in our countries that must be followed.'" she says. "This is not racism at all. This is protecting human rights."

* This is a corrected version. The original version suggested that Islamic opinion is united behind the idea that apostasy is punishable by death, which is not the case.

written by Sabahfan, December 28, 2008 00:36:29
And her father simply must have inferiority complex for being angry his own daughter dont want to follow his beliefs anymore. it really shows. And a Malazutland syariah judge said in his judgement that one reason you are not allowed to leave the religion was the contract or agreement they have made with Allah, and if they break the agreement, then they will have to be punished. That gotta be the most STUPID and hippocritic reasons ever given by equally hipocritic leaders. for one, where is the document signed on this agreement? Two, for those who were born moslems, did they had the right to decide whether to sign the agreement with allah? Or can a baby have legal competence to sign the contract or agreement? or somebody else signed on their behalf then it becomes binding?
written by LukeJr, December 28, 2008 00:50:39
how can that be? i thought islam is a religion of peace?

written by Fart Fart Wah, December 28, 2008 01:12:35
the hudud takes precedence of the Koran. A merciful Allah who forgives in the Koran ,murderers, rapists, liars and wife swappers is turned by some to being a murderous God. Can God be two faced? EVIL and GOOD? So is God more merciful in Islam or more evil and murderous? Islam reflects such a God.or has some overzealous zealot of the Hudud exchanged places with Allah? What a controversy? A result of a cock eyed brainwashed religious education system. There is no one single school of thought in Islam that agrees on this collectively. it goes to show that they have come to a stage even to confuse God himself.

You murder a human being and that is life given by God and only he can take it away. and then you say heaven is promised with 72 virgins and wine and song. to the killer? either this heaven is a fantasy or there is something intrinscally wrong in the esscence of a God who is pictured to be merciful at almost every verse of the Koran. Is the Islamic God than really merciful?

and who gave the interpretation that women are inferior to men in Islam? must be from the tribal times. primitive thinking.idiot.VEry sad in countries like Pakistan, Afganistan, Iraq, Iran, Arabia, Egypt and Yemen and most the other Muslim countries women are made inferior and do not have equal rights.

I only have one question to ask Allah the Merciful. Why make women then and let them be used, abused and suffer the indignity of being a lesser human being?
written by apasalahku, December 28, 2008 03:20:22
We already know PAS will not hesitate to stone adulterers and kill apostates once they to power.
RPK should answer this one.
written by Daryl, December 28, 2008 05:37:09
Islam is not the problem but Muslims are especially those extremist and also those coward Muslims leaders that are afraid to pressure the Iman's to preach the good of Islam not day to day politic. Like it or not about 6/7 of this world is non-Muslim. You can pull out statistic but the truth is that Muslims dare not denouce their religion because of cases like this. Just say you don't have this practice of those that leaves Islam than let's see what will happen. Think with your God given brain not your heart.
written by FFT, December 28, 2008 06:46:45
Now, how can anybody not mistake Islam as the religion of terrorism? Only a terrorist ideology can inspire a father to kill his own daughter for the sole reason of lack of belief in that ideology. Only Islam can bring you 9/11, 3/11, London's tragedy, Beslan, Bali, etc.

And Europe is fast becoming a continent of failed states with their low native birth rates and importing of sand flies from Muslim lands. The bureaucracy in Europe is acquiescing to the Muslim mobs as an act of survival in the meek hope that they won't be slaughtered when the Muslims finally start to go rampage on the streets of European cities (the riots in France over the last few years are an indicator of what's to come from Muslim youth).

The European Muslims should be praying hard to their prophet and their god that the fires of European nationalism don't get stoked again.
written by FFT, December 28, 2008 06:57:21
written by akef, December 28, 2008 06:44:27
The Shariah laws is meant for Muslims only. I dont see any reasons of panicking among non muslims nor the need for their comments on our religion, Islam.

That is 100% pure bollocks. And here's why.

So, what happens when a Malay-Muslim Mat Rempit rapes a non-Malay girl? Your precious Hudud Laws from the Najd desert will prescribe that there should be 4 Muslim males of upstanding character who witnessed the rape, and have them testify, before the Mat Rempit rapist can be prosecuted.

Of course, the major hole here is what 4 Muslim males of upstanding character were doing witnessing the rape instead of stopping it? Free show ala the JAIS goons? That alone should qualify to confine the Hudud laws into the garbage heap of history.

This is just one example. There will be many more when two parties in a dispute are divided along the Muslim vs non-Muslim divide, and the ultimate solution will be that the non-Muslims will be required to "submit" to Hudud laws. What am I saying?....We have already seen this happening with the Muslim body snatching necrophiliacs from the various Jabatan Agama....and how they insisted that the grieving families had to solve the case in Shariah courts.

Where Malaysia is concerned, the non-Malays should just start moving out in droves, taking their assets with them. Let the country collapse under the weight of Ketuanan Melayu, laziness, Islamic extremism, and a seething underclass of non-Malay minorities who cannot leave.
written by Tompios, December 28, 2008 07:16:38
The Islamic Laws or being Moslem entities in Malaysia are very much affecting the lives if Non-Moslem. That's the reason why Non-Moslem get panic-orgasmic to talk the Syariah Laws particularly in Malaysia.

I don't need to elaborate or proof it since every Non-Moslem particularly in Sabah knew and experienced how difficult their lives when talking about fair treatment from any government agency. Hudud added sparkling anxiety among them.
written by ed9919, December 28, 2008 08:25:16
Oh my,
I hope the picture is not the person mention in this article, if not it would be a hand full for the police that are protecting Sabatina.
written by adamckteh, December 28, 2008 09:25:40
Why must Sabatina James uses a pseudonym and lives under police protection and fleed from Austria, where her father threatened to kill her for converting from Islam.
What are the Austrian laws for, protecting her father to do harm to her?

written by wes wong, December 28, 2008 10:28:02
akef: you are missing the complete point here...As the title suggests, the universal human rights are being stepped upon!!! If as you say that the shariah laws should not be commented upon by non-muslims, why are muslims complaining about the law as in the case in the article???? Do you not realize that you want everything to go your way? In an islamic country, follow the laws of islam. In a non-islamic country, follow the laws of islam. Where is the fairness in that???
written by Jan, December 28, 2008 11:28:20
Like the Bible there are many points in the Koran which are ambiguos which can be interpreted according to one's agenda. That gave rise to different sects over the years which can range from the moderate to the extreme. Some even go on a killing spree believing it's their right to do so and even promise followers heaven and hell. We are lucky we are not too extreme in this country but now I am not too sure. It's very apparent Islamic extremism is slowly creeping into our lives and there's nothing we can do about it. That's why we non muslims sometimes complain loudly but that doesn't mean we do not respect your religion and your beliefs. It's just that we want to be left alone to practise whatever we want to believe and live the life we want to live that's all.
written by Caramel, December 28, 2008 14:54:49
Taxidriver,

Afghanistan and Indonesia are examples of two peaceful Buddhist countries being attacked by Muslims.Almost all Buddhist statues destroyed as they were deemed to be stones of evil spirits!
written by fearless, December 28, 2008 17:47:28
6. More than 80% non-Muslims in India.
The Muslims ruled India for about a thousand years. If they wanted, they had the power of converting each and every non-Muslim of India to Islam. Today more than 80% of the population of India are non-Muslims. All these non-Muslim Indians are bearing witness today that Islam was not spread by the sword.

=========

More than 80% population in India is non-Mulsim is a wrong statement. You have to consider Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangdalesh are parts of ancient India.

These peaceful Muslims in India are Sufi sect, a deviant Muslim group. Other than this peaceful history in India, Muslim in other parts of the world were propagated through violence and occupation with the sword.
written by Sabahfan, December 28, 2008 22:12:04
If huddud laws only for moslems, then when they order the supermarkets to have different counters for males and females, isnt that already forcing the huddud laws amongst non-moslems as well?

another question....

If the koran is subject to mis - interpretations... does that not proof it is not perfect?

Because anything that is perfect SIMPLY cannot be misinterpretted by any devious humans....
written by RumahPanjai, December 29, 2008 06:36:55
Love thy kafir neighbours is unheard of but instead do them harm for not believing is however sadly the belief. Is this evil or merciful?
written by Goodbites, December 29, 2008 18:13:33
Meaning of compulsion:

Noun: compulsion kum'púl-shun

1. An urge to do or say something that might be better left undone or unsaid
"he felt a compulsion to babble on about the accident"
- irresistible impulse

2. An irrational motive for performing trivial or repetitive actions, even against your will
"her compulsion to wash her hands repeatedly"
- obsession

3. Using force to cause something to occur
"though pressed into rugby under compulsion I began to enjoy the game"
- coercion

Compulsion = Force

The act of forcing one = Compulsion.

Is the above definition clear enough? Still under state of denial?