Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hadi likens Hudud to surgery

Hadi likens Hudud to surgery PDF Print
Saturday, 27 December 2008 22:37
By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

Frustrated at the overwhelming public judgments passed on Hudud, Pas president Datuk Seri Hadi Awang accused the media of playing up the issue for its own ends.

Hadi explained that Hudud are Islamic laws of the last resort. He said that to carry out Hudud was not easy as many conditions had to be fulfilled.

He likened its enforcement to treating a sickness with surgery.

“When a sickness cannot be treated with medicine anymore, then you operate,” he said.

“Nobody says the doctor who operates is cruel, because they understand the operation saves lives.”

The Pas hardliner pointed out that Hudud had been passed in the Kelantan and Terengganu states for many years but no one had been punished under its laws.

Instead, thousands of non-Muslims had been flooding to join Pas, he claimed.

Hadi was at a public square here today to launch Pas’s campaign to add new members and supporters.

Hudud, which prescribes amputation, stoning and whipping as punishment for criminal offences, has been the subject of much public debate recently following Pas vice-president Husam Musa’s remarks that his party would introduce the strict Islamic law if it won federal power.

Husam’s remarks sparked protests from Pakatan Rakyat (PR) partner DAP as well as other non-Muslim groups.

The Hudud debate has also put Pas on the defensive ahead of the Kuala Terengganu by-election, where non-Muslim votes are seen as key in a tight contest.

It has also split a resurgent PR alliance as an embattled Barisan Nasional (BN) seeks to regain lost support in the by-election.

written by bn haramjadah, December 27, 2008 23:27:07
yes like cancer, if it is incurable you operate, off with the umno hands, legs, tongues, and dicks, what a laugh Than we will be burdened with a social soceity, we will need to feed these scumbags from umno. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, December 27, 2008 23:58:45
How about stupidity of the brains that live by laws from the dark ages? Deserve treatment by surgery too?

written by Raizzen, December 28, 2008 02:26:20
Dear cheekhiaw,

"Fearing something you DONT UNDERSTAND" is defined, academically or the otherwise, but it sure does bring some bearings to it, as -

"a survival strategy bred into us and the other animal species. As a survival strategy, it's worked well for us. If you didn't run away from potentially dangerous things they might destroy you."

The definition sounds pretty ancient to me. Just the way you're acting up.
written by OilMan, December 28, 2008 04:24:50
Now those thousands or people wanting to join PAS may also be flooding away from PAS. Unless of course they don't loosing a hand or feet to the government's liking. The next statistic for Kelantan or Terengganu will be the states that has the highest number of amputees, which eventually led to largest numbers of beggars without limbs. smilies/sad.gif
written by Raizzen, December 28, 2008 05:30:26
Now, now. Not understanding some things is understandable. But being arrogantly stupid beyond help is another matter altogether.
written by Tompios, December 28, 2008 06:57:49
Yes, in that sense you are right Mr. Hadi. Anyway, people sickness begin in their mind or heart and mobilized by the motor system in our body. Why don't you operate and make a surgical start from brain? May be just pull out the Frontal Lope from their skull.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 28, 2008 10:09:21
Hudud law is inhumanne and intolerant of human mistakes. It doesn't give a chance for people to repent. Hudud is primitive and only fit for the barbarians and savage.

You don't want to see young kids losing their limbs just because they made a silly mistake stealing some pens or baseball cap. Warren Buffet, the richest man in the society admitted that he stole golf balls when he was young. But now he contributes so much money to charity and society.

Hudud Law would have kill the opportunity for Warren Buffett to utilise his talent if he were to caught under the hudud law.
written by lynn, December 28, 2008 11:18:06
I wonder abt the timing of this Hudud issue; sometimes I wonder if some PAS leaders are "umno men" in disguise?

Or maybe they were unaware Husam had been tricked into this trap set up by Khairy Jamaluddin; KJ wants to ensure PAS' loss in KT by-election. I guess religious men from PAS are not as cunning, sly, manipulative as KJ.

Everyone knows, the Chinese swing may determine the outcome of this by-election. Let's hope the Chinese will stick to their guns, and still vote PAS although PAS had never addressed to the rakyat this major cancer : corruption.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 28, 2008 11:34:15
Humane hand amputation. Can be found at http://groups.******.com/group...7?lnk=raot
written by Malaysiaputra, December 28, 2008 11:42:44
The crude way.http://www.apostatesofislam.com/media/handcutting.htm#video
written by Old Man, December 28, 2008 11:52:43
Hadi, to err is human. Before you push further into Hudud issue, have you and/or any of your children done something without permission? Yes or No, only you've the answer. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, December 28, 2008 15:07:45
Raizzen,

Why be so afraid? Surgery to brains like yours may be good for you.

written by Milo, December 28, 2008 18:59:35
The Pas hardliner pointed out that Hudud had been passed in the Kelantan and Terengganu states for many years but no one had been punished under its laws.
------------------------------------------

If the hudud law is passed in those states, and criminals (I am sure those states are not crime-free) are not punished under them, there can be one of these two reasons.

1. The hudud law is not practical for implementation. Maybe too harsh or barbaric.
2. The laws used to punish these criminals are better than Hudud laws.

So why not abolish the hudud since it is proven to be useless?
written by Milo, December 28, 2008 19:01:54
Anyway, Vote PAS in KT! It is still the best choice for the moment.
written by Farouk, December 29, 2008 18:51:44
Yeah la Hadi, it's like surgery: a vasectomy for rationalism and democracy.

Hadi, your con-job rhetoric won't work anymore lah. Hudud laws are NOT Islamic laws because they contradict Quran.