Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia ready to help economy further: report

Malaysia ready to help economy further: report PDF Print
Saturday, 27 December 2008 22:28
(Reuters) - Malaysia is not expected to sink into recession and the government is ready to further pump-prime the economy if conditions worsen, a local newspaper quoted Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Najib Razak as saying.

"Malaysia will experience a slowdown in terms of economic growth, but we are not expected to slip into recession or even a technical recession," Najib, who will become prime minister in March, said in an interview with the Edge Weekly on Saturday.

"I am not adverse to putting in place another fiscal stimulus plan," he said.

"If the budget deficit goes up to more than 5 percent, it is still tolerable as long as it is for only one or two years."

Malaysia's economy is forecast to grow 3.5 percent next year, its slowest pace since 2001, from 5 percent projected for 2008, according to government forecasts.

The government already announced this month a 7 billion ringgit ($2.01 billion) stimulus package.

The government has projected a budget deficit of 4.8 percent for 2008, but Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER), an influential think tank, said deficit could hit a five-year high of more than 5 percent in the face of the global economic slowdown.

While falling crude oil prices would hit Malaysia, a net exporter of petroleum, the government hopes to boost federal revenue by selling state assets to government funds, such as the Employees Provident Fund, said Najib.

"We are looking into ways and means to have some latitude in terms of the government's fiscal position should the external environment get any worse," the paper quoted Najib as saying.

(Reporting by Soo Ai Peng; Editing by Kazunori Takada)

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by justice6, December 27, 2008 22:35:57
ada betul ke?
written by by2020, December 27, 2008 22:53:52
All the projects has been implemented during Dr M's time in the form of mega projects to cater for 100 years, what more pump priming you are talking about? Want to built for 100 years?

Malaysia's way out is to attract foreign investment in view of our monotonous economy model, the better way is to lock up those who will use C4 on foreigner in the jail and they will feel safe to come to invest, then we will not have economy problem
written by castrol, December 28, 2008 00:03:15
Dear Najib,

EPF belongs to all hardworking Malaysians. The funds in EPF does not belong to the state or the federal government. It belongs to us, all Malaysians who have contributed a part of our monthly salary. As such, who are you to mess with our money? So much so, with such baggage hanging on your shoulders!
written by G kembong, December 28, 2008 00:58:24
Malaysia is in denial and this is from Prime Minister right down to UMNO grassroots, I read on this blog http://selvarajasomiah.*******...lose-jobs/
written by Sagaladoola, December 28, 2008 02:33:56
I thought Employees Provident Fund .. the money belongs to working Malaysians who make deductions every month. Employee's fund , right?

I do not agree with buying state assets using my money ..
written by asiaone, December 28, 2008 03:26:36
dear brothers, one of the most effective ways to reduce the recession impact is to reduce the electricity tariffs first.This will save hundreds of millions for the rakyat.I am not sure which channel to highlight my view, but i hope the PR big guns should flame this up to make it an issue and awareness to the rakyat. This is a huge shield to the economy slowdown impact which could to have a chain reaction to reduce further goods in the market.It should be somekind of good news to all. I am dissapointed in TNB, first they say tariffs have to be increased due to the rising cost of petrol/gas months back.Then when crude petroleum dipped to a low level, the change their statement by saying it doesnt effect their cost as they using coal..so it's still high cost. what bullshit are they talking about, even the PM is mum on this matter. Should we keep on reserving electricity up to 40%? or the IPP in milking the TNB so hard that we, the rakyat have to suffer.Or is it quite a number or royal families and ministers are involved in IPP companies?? I am running a restaurant paying about RM2800-RM3000 per month on electric, now I am paying almost RM4000. With the bussiness getting slower, how are we going to survive? Najib doesnt understand the peoples' suffering on the ground. RM7B to revive the economy or the bailout his cronies? Look at the other nations, from Singapore to Japan to UK. Govt is spending al least US30B to revive the economy each. We are a mere 'kacang putih' percentage compare to them. Najib doesnt know about economy, but for shopping spree ,he is the champion.Oh god,please help our nation..
written by talk2stop, December 28, 2008 09:20:14
To arrest recession is by spending and more spending. It sounds pretty nice thing don't you think? The problem is how you spend them. When the government dishes out the money. It needs to circulate. So you give to the poor. One must not save them for the rainy day. It is a difficult beast to control. But human being will always be human we do the opposite. When we need to spend we save and vice verse. There is alway a rebel in us all.
written by lynn, December 28, 2008 22:04:47
I think it's time we ask the bn govt to show us records of where our EPF money has gone to. We all have a right to know. That money doesn't belong to the govt!

So, Najib, get this fact right into your thick skull. I repeat, EPF money is not your money or govt's money.

asiaone, pls be duly advised there are at least 3 cronies IPPs who are enjoying reduced rates for natural gas. Manufacturers in Bodohland, mostly Chinese pay almost 33% higher rates than these IPPs. Recently, one IPP boasted he had so much cash (a few hundred millions) so he went shopping in Singapore to buy the 2nd largest IPP. Why he had so much cash? First he buys gas cheap, then he sells at higher prices to TNB, third all excess must be absorbed and paid by TNB. It was believed all these lose-lose deals were inked during Mahathir's time.

Let's see, is the CEO in TNB brain-damaged or what? As the client of all these IPPs, why is he flaccid and weak on negotiations? Who is that corrupt mother-fcuker behind him, controlling him? Surely he can nego with all the IPPs for lower rates, and no absolute must-buy situation for excess power?

You see how screwed-up this country is? Do you know, all these lopsided dealings & wheelings are illegal? Do you people realise we have been ripped off for decades & not realise it? I wish PAS would read this, go to Trengganu to educate the people there. PAS must win KT by-election, no IF, no BUT. You must win at all costs.