Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Economic Slowdown Has No Effect On Tourism

Economic Slowdown Has No Effect On Tourism PDF Print
Saturday, 27 December 2008 09:20

(Bernama) -- The global economic slowdown will not affect Malaysia's tourism industry as the country has value added products that can attract visitors, said Deputy Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib.

"Tourists are attracted to Malaysia because of the low cost as it is a lot cheaper than visiting United States and Europe that will prove costly," he told reporters when presenting keys to the new surau at Taman Desa Ilmu here Friday.

Sulaiman said the Tourism Ministry was aggressively promoting Malaysia's tour packages in the Middle East, Australia and China.

"Local tour operators need not worry over the global economic situation as Malaysia is still the destination of choice for many foreign visitors," he added.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Ann Meng Sim, December 27, 2008 09:41:21
Local Tour Operators need not worry? Full of excrement. Like father like son.
written by taufan, December 27, 2008 09:50:36
Have you hung around KLIA lately?
The 'quietness' of KLIA is proof that tourism in Malaysia is also in deep shit!
Why can't you idiots be more open and frank like Singapore, which openly admits that their tourist arrivals and exports are down!
written by supplier, December 27, 2008 10:10:25
It had been known worldwide about mentality and stupidity of our Ministers.
written by Ken Liew, December 27, 2008 10:11:44
Have you mistakenly added the foreign workers cos when holidays, they too will go out and window shopping. worst of all, snatch others bags, and stuff.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 27, 2008 10:12:08
and not forgetting the over 10 thousands student from China; yah! Looks like more China Dolls will be added into the Malaysian market!
Ingenious strategy of our Tourism Ministry! Like killing at least 2 birds with 1 stone!
written by Jeffrey, December 27, 2008 10:39:15
first, the finance minster said our economy is ok eventhough the whole world is in deep waters. Now, this fellow join the rank of "Clown Ministers"!!! Bravo, Malaysian Ministers!
puffinsky.********.com
written by Motherchell, December 27, 2008 10:39:21
Deputy Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib. With a very long name with titles and the only one who may not be in tune with the world conditions .
He may be the only one who knows how to use a computer but does not have an Internet connection because he cant read and write to say the things he says.
If he thinks the Ministry's coffers are filling could be due to too many pigeon droppings but have you taken a look at your stone age Immigration policies? Do you also know Malaysia has the worst teksi drivers. This is a study from the tourist organizations themselves.
written by pengembara, December 27, 2008 10:58:20
Let's hum all together now (tune: William Tell Overture / Lone Ranger)

dumb, dumb, dra dumb, dumb
dumb, dumb, dra dumb, dumb ...

Another BN menteri suffering from VD (verbal diarrhea). Why can't they shut up if they have nothing to say especially statements that are far from reality?

InDenialIgnorantObstinateTurd
written by Angela Ooi, December 27, 2008 11:16:51
This deputy Minister says tourists were attracted to Malaysia because of the low costs...

Since Malaysia sells itself, let's do away with this Ministry and save taxpayers tons of money. His current boss has 'questionable' expenditures not only in this Ministry but also in her former. It's magical no one is accountable.
written by Iliyas, December 27, 2008 11:19:33
Another nincompoop who is deaf,dumb and blind.I'm currently in Sabah on holiday with my family,visiting relatives and catching up with friends.As usual my laptop just buzz me and indicated to me that another moronic BN Minister made an idiotic statement.

My relatives,friends and my family had a sumptuous Christmas Hi-Tea at the Pacific Sutera Hotel on Christmas Day.The lobby of this 5 Star Hotel was completely deserted as compared to last year,as well as the Cafe Boleh Coffee House.Where were the so called Tourist?I understand that the occupancy rate is only 30% in this peak season.

By definition,is this moronic Minister suggesting that the 800,000 or so illegal immigrants in Sabah are the "Welcome Tourist" that he's referring to.How Pathetic.
written by karyeowl, December 27, 2008 11:40:39
Why do we have people with pea-sized brain to be our ministers?
Don't we get laugh at when they opened their mouths?
written by dbwing, December 27, 2008 12:09:49
Give us FIGURES. I dont believe U.
written by mikewang, December 27, 2008 12:13:06
I hope the deputy minister will put his money where his mouth is and guarantee tourist arrivals with his own money. Otherwise, please stop the fart.
written by qwerty, December 27, 2008 13:04:33
written by lynn, December 27, 2008 14:39:53
Practically all these bn ministers talk cock & are generally retarded in one way or another. This guy is saying, Malaysia is spared from this hard-hitting recession cos "tourists" are still coming. What "tourists"?

All these BN govt ministers have no credibility, zero accountancy, they talk cock whenever their urge towards deception prodded them on. The more ridiculous their utterances, the more famous they get. They all have no substance. But they get ahead, make their millions or billions while in office.

Makes 50% of us voters wonder: what were the other 50% thinking when they cast their votes for BN? Let me give an example: this little old lady pensioner in her 70s are ever grateful to receive her RM1000 pension every month from the govt. It never occurred to her, that money or pension is not "owned" by the govt. That money comes from us the rakyat, thru taxes when we buy new cars, when we dine out, we pay govt tax. Without doubt, she casted her vote for bn.
written by miwaki, December 27, 2008 14:47:22
Malaysia is the destination of choice for many foreigners ? When we have louzy deputy minister of Tourism,anything is good for Malaysia.We already know his caliber,he doesn't have to show it by saying current economic situation would not affect this particular industry.

Hello Sulaiman,do you really understand what is global economic crisis?
written by The Hammer, December 27, 2008 14:48:00
The only tourist who will be visiting will be terrorist, job seekers and "jumpers" (transit passengers)!
written by ahmadneil, December 27, 2008 15:46:38
And what about those Mongolian! Are they coming back! Is the government doing any promotion in Mongolia! I think after that highly publicise affair,the Ministry of Tourism is doing nothing about this damage image.
written by Kopi37, December 27, 2008 15:52:43
Yes we can see droves of Indon workers, illegal Burmese, foxy maids etc. loitering in the tourist attraction spots! Perhaps the stupid Minister was taking into count those as the 'welcome tourists'!
written by talk2stop, December 27, 2008 16:47:47
I absolutely agreed with Minister. Now if the tourists arriving into Malaysia was 0 and now is still 0 then you have to agree his statement is not incorrect. It is not the Minister needs to get his facts right. You people need to get your facts right with 1/2 past 6 mentality and pea brain size.
written by densemy, December 27, 2008 20:30:23
The value added products (whatever they might be???) is probably the reason that the vast majority of tourists bypass Malaysia and head for Singapore and Thailand
written by densemy, December 27, 2008 20:34:14
Did you know that the Malaysian government counts as tourists the Johorians who commute to Singapore to work every day
written by keel, December 27, 2008 21:15:54
The only value added things that I can think of is the stinking public toilets and crooked cabbies!!!
written by binarytan, December 27, 2008 21:18:01
Local tourism will be totally vanished should PAS implement their Hudud law or Islamic state.

What has PAS done so far, I could not think of one good agenda other than full of racist act such as PKNS Low and Quota system in Kedah.

Until now I think there is no explanation on PKNS Low issue other than keep denying.

Full of ugly and racist politician in PAS will lead to the discrimination of non muslim in Malaysia.

written by ChiaCY, December 28, 2008 03:24:55
Well, if you know the figures are generated by PEMPENA research unit, then you should not be surprise why such comments made. Frankly, if I am not wrong, total tourist visits actually equate to total foreigners entering the country, regardless of whether they are tourist or otherwise.

Total tourist spending is an estimated figure which based on very weak basis. To find out more, ask PEMPENA