Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Najib deals with more perception pitfalls

Najib deals with more perception pitfalls PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 26 December 2008 11:28

“I have to make sure that none of my siblings come into the path of potential conflict of interest, and that they are where they are because they deserve to be there. In any case, none of them are in government. One is a lawyer, one is an architect, one is in semi-retirement and there’s one in CIMB."

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

He may be months away from occupying the top job in Malaysia but Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak is already having to answer questions about his four brothers — and their possible influence in his administration.

The cynics and the Opposition believe that his siblings will benefit from Najib’s ascension to power, drawing a bulls-eye on the back of CIMB’s Datuk Nazir Razak, one of the country’s top bankers.

In an interview with The Edge, Najib confronted this issue. He noted that Nazir joined CIMB well before he became the Deputy Prime Minister and had done well, judging by how the market viewed him.

“And yesterday, I read that he received the recognition of being the second best banker in Asia. So I think it speaks volumes for his performance in the bank… there’s no conflict of interest and most of the dealings of CIMB are with the Central Bank.

“So the Central Bank decides on a lot of matters, '' he said. Najib did not envisage a conflict of interest situation with his other brothers — Nizam, Nazim and Johari, pointing out, that “they’ve been quite scrupulous actually in terms of not wanting to put me in any embarrassing situation of potential conflict.”

But perception is everything in Malaysia and as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi found out, the involvement of family members in business can become a political liability.

As the pain of the 1998 financial crisis hit home and the political fallout over the sacking of Anwar Ibrahim became more serious, the involvement of Dr Mahathir’s children in business was put under the microscope by his foes.

Charges of cronyism and nepotism were tossed at him and it became one of the main platforms of attack which the Opposition used in the 1999 General Election. The heat persuaded Datuk Mokhzani Mahathir to sell off some business interests and take a lower profile.

Ironically, Dr Mahathir used this tactic successfully against Abdullah, accusing him of favouring his son, Kamaluddin and his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin. The potency and source of the attack made it necessary for Abdullah to publicly defend his son and Khairy.

In The Edge interview, Najib was asked whether he was worried of attracting the perception that Dr Mahathir and Abdullah had because of the involvement of their sons and son-in-law in business. And how he would tackle such a perception?

He replied: “I have to make sure that none of my siblings come into the path of potential conflict of interest, and that they are where they are because they deserve to be there. In any case, none of them are in government. One is a lawyer, one is an architect, one is in semi-retirement and there’s one in CIMB.

“So I don’t see any problem with that and they were where they are now before I came to the job.”

Solid answer, now he just has to manage the perception.

written by SCM, December 26, 2008 11:47:42
Mr. Najib, if you can blow up an innocent girl in cold-blood, do you really expect us to believe that you won't take our millions? Don't worry, the rakyat will be able to C4 ourselves in time to come.
written by miwaki, December 26, 2008 11:52:31
What we need is a competent leader with integrity,siblings of leader do not necessarily become a burden to the leader.However,a leader who have to carry a bunch of baggage,he actually becomes the burden to his siblings.
written by Ken Liew, December 26, 2008 11:52:45
taking charge of CIMB is not about brain work.. its about money works. Think f this way, dirty money goes in CIMB, came out clean. who got the benifit non other then Najis and Co. How can you make sure BTW?
written by SamYap, December 26, 2008 11:54:21
Hello! Hello! What have we here? Another statement from Najib who thinks we are stupid.

Mr Najib, its not only about conflict of interest, I'll come return to that later, its also about how your siblings, cousins, aunties, uncles came to occupy such positions. Is your brother really capable in managing CIMB? I hate to tell you this, within the banking industry, the professional bankers laugh privately whenever your brother's name is mentioned. He has no vision, no idea whats what, but instead rely heavily on a coterie of true financial pros to advise him. What the heck is your brother doing in CIMB is a wonder. Besides, many within the banking sector knows that the government gives priority treatment to CIMB and CIMB gets first hand knowledge of the government's finance plans. Although, such matters are hard to prove as there is no solid evidence, the very fact that CIMB acts with some pre-cognition of what the government plans to do is enough to raise suspicion. I guess that would at least suffice to cast some doubt on whether there is conflict of interest with having your brother in CIMB and you as PM of the country.

My hope is that you, Mr Najib, will continue to speak more about such issues. It will give us, the rakyat, an opportunity to learn more about your views regarding our perception and what you think of us. Its regrettable that you think the rakyat are generally stupid and are easily led around by the nose. This is the new millenium and not the 1960s - 1980s era where most people had no access to alternative opinions and unsanitized news reports.
written by Margeemar, December 26, 2008 11:56:31
An employer who learns that an employee is stretched to the limit financially, for example by having 3 children, caring for ageing parents and caring for a family member with Down Syndrome, may decide to exploit the employee, demanding that they work extra hours and extra duties, all without compensation, confident that the employee is so desperate for their pay-packet that they won't protest or resign.

Such scenario is made even more likely during a downturn in the economy, when employers will seek any means, fair or foul, to save money. The IRB plan should not be permitted, it is altogether the wrong medicine for the disease of over-deduction...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by Msian Idol3, December 26, 2008 12:03:27
Hmm,C4 can say he is sqeaky clean even to the Koran. BUT we all know the difference. Very simple -- how come there are so many crimes in Msia, especially commited by ministers, well connected UMNOputras. I wonder why there are so many millionaires in UMNO alone than all of PK politicians put together. Very interesting.
written by InEffective, December 26, 2008 12:05:23
Filth and Evil never ever changes - it can hide, camouflage itself, but will never deliver benefits. If you the rakyat votes in filth and evil, you deserve to get screwed (likely from the back after witnessing the penchant for posterior talents)

People get the governance they deserve. (so think wisely...)
written by justice, December 26, 2008 12:09:08
written by Democrats, December 26, 2008 12:13:43
I think the author is wrong here. Perception is nothing in Malaysia. If perception is anything, most ministers here would have resigned. Even being caught red handed with lo*** of money (more than they would make in their career) by the customs, some dont even resigned and had to be asked to resigned.

In Australia a couple of years back, i remember a minister who resigned over an issue of claiming for accomodation allowance when in fact lodging at her sister house. If im not mistaken, he even attempted suicide over the matter. That's the effect on perception. Do you think such an issue will arise in Malaysia?

Take for example,

Personal bodyguards of the police force (with no motive to kill other than following instruction) assigned to the minister getting charged with murder of a foreign woman that has links to your personal advisor.

Meeting up with a 23 year old nobody kid (with a good build) with failing grades to discuss scholarship programs who just happen to be accusing the oppostion leader of sodomy (who is a frailing 63 year old with a bad back).

If perception was anything, that person would have resigned rather than swearing on the quran in a mosque which further humiliates his own religion.

And with regards to Pak Lah, if perception was anything, he would have stopped KJ from any further business dealing after the first rumors started. Instead he gives free hand for further dealings....

Actually, perception means nothing in malaysia. Equiped with the PDRM, judges and laws like ISA and OSA, the government just takes any perception of yours, and tell you to "F*ck off, I'll do it because I can, I'll do it because there is nothing you can do about it, I'll do it because i am chosen by among my friends, not you."

written by Zeroean, December 26, 2008 12:15:15
SAY NO TO CIMB and MBB....(I've done both); I've cancelled ALL Current, Savings, FD, Credit Cards facilities 3 months ago. I've encouraged my parents, siblings and friends to do similar...... so MT readers and citizen of Bolehland, be smart!!! (needless to elaborate further)
written by ahmadneil, December 26, 2008 12:21:35
He needs to speak gently,think carefully,make decisions and keep his word.The nation is divided,too disillusioned to ever come together for a common purpose.He must work hard for national reconciliation.
written by mikewang, December 26, 2008 12:52:29
All the children and close relatives of those at the top echelons of political power in UMNO must be geniuses in businesses.

Of the top 40 richest in this country, Malay individuals came out poorly but the following were in.
1. Najib's brother.
2. Mahathir's son.
3. Ahmad Badawi's son.

Go believe UMNO and Najib at your own peril. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Sagaladoola, December 26, 2008 12:54:37
Najib How about the IJN and Sime Darby? Is your sibling in it? If not, how come? Ok, maybe not sibling, any friends?
written by Ray, December 26, 2008 13:39:50
Like his father Abdul Rosak who die of leukemia while in office, Najib Rosak will die of aids after six months as PM.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 26, 2008 13:40:13
What about Junior, Najib? oh, I forgot! Junior is stoned out of his mind in the US and going for frequent medical checkups for venereal diseases; right?So if Junior decides to follow in daddy's footsteps, we will get one stoned head for PM?
written by HHKim, December 26, 2008 14:13:24
I know and you know that numbskulls don't think well.
This is the type of politicians we have in Malaysia.

Good luck.
written by Kopi37, December 26, 2008 14:15:34
One Lawyer, one architect, one semi-retired, one Banker, they are not Government servants, so, the sleepy head's MACC won't work, they have impunity anyway! So perfect when Government jobs give to the Architect firm, the Banker can provide bridging loan, the lawyer brother can draft S&P agreements to acquire state land, the semi-retired brother will have jobs to do, as a runner for both, plying between Government and the private,so convenient! When they need support, Ministry of Finance is there to support, afterall, they have special rights, Ketuanan lor, if not for them, for whom?!

This is so-called - 'Fat oil never flow into others' land, stupid!'
written by ibabonma, December 26, 2008 14:22:32
The PM post is yours for the taking? Are you so cock sure? I tell you Najis, you can never be one. The ghosts of Altantunya and Kublai Khan are everywhere setting up road blocks.
written by rpremkumar2u, December 26, 2008 16:00:30
Najib, the haste in which you are pursuing the premier's 'throne' is short of a coup. Your CIMB sibling has not denied that the doors swing open as far as ties go. That he has pros around him is the norm for any CEO. That he has access to you is another matter. If you go interfere with regards to the PhD candidate who gratefully acknowledges he was a fly on your shoulder as far as Altantunya was concerned, I do see how your CIMB sibling is going to fare with a chip at the starting line when you supposedly take over as PM. Second best banker's Finance minister brother telling us tall tales.
written by Angela Ooi, December 26, 2008 16:49:09
The stench of Najis and all else surrounding him is repulsive. Even before he be comes PM, he and his 'OH NOputras' are already into creative deals for the benefit of their own pockets. Christmas comes once a year but this bandit and his merry OH NO cronies are ho, ho hoing all the way through the year. I am sure SHAME glides over their thick greasy hides effortlessly. Does anyone believe a word he or his OH NO goons say???
written by aplus, December 26, 2008 20:10:57
One is a lawyer, one is an architect, one is in semi-retirement and there’s one in CIMB.....and there's one who'll be coming up in UMNO BARU.
written by thor, December 26, 2008 20:46:11
How r u so sure that all these are perceptions? If someone were to research say those who were in power for the past 51 years and the wealth of their families (both immediate and extended) will there be a trend to indicate that these people are well off than the average Malaysian family trying to make ends meet? Then go figure out the probability of becoming billionaires just bcos one hve relative at high places, after that conclude whether these are preceptions or cold hard facts.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by amoker, December 26, 2008 22:30:03
How did Nazir got the approval to buy over Bank Bumiputra, the untouchables of the Malay organisation? Come on Najib...
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 26, 2008 23:08:17
Truth hurts and honesty hurts honestly. But for UMNO and the BArisan..the truth is close two eyes and close the rakyat's eyes...
If we(UMNO and BArisan) tell the truth..it will show how stupid we are and how weak we will be..and we will loose the elections and the chance to make more money into our pockets.

We have seen Mahathir INC and how corporatisation ..was used to channel money to " questionable projects and failed privatisations and mergers " ..and the subsequent bail-outs.

We saw Dolah Sdn Bhd how money was chanelled to family through quick fixed transactions and mergers.

Now we are going to see superfinacial hero Razak Super INC which has 5 super brothers to take us out of this bad times...
you will see...CIMB,(Nazir), Ancom( Ahmad Johari), Mohammed Nizam( Kamdar) Mohammed nazim (MTF..OYL)not forgetting our finance minister..the head.. They will be playing a major role from now onwards to save Malaysia..

not to worry..we all will be saved...just watch out for the first attempt..IJN take over ..they were testing the waters....how there is going to be another round of wheeling and dealing and money channelling and share swapping..(on the way u might hear of wife swapping ..just close one eye)and two ears......

2009 2010 and beyond will be RAZAK SUPER INC..that is if Najib survives..

So Malaysians do we have politicians who care for the rakyat..your answer is as good as mine.
written by merchant222, December 26, 2008 23:28:35
You can sayy anything "TILL THE COWS COME HOME"; BUT, can we TRUST POLITICIANS? Especially one like YOU?
written by sonofmalaysia, December 26, 2008 23:37:40
This fcuker heading a gang of lanuns, appoint a scumbag to lead the PDRM to become a despicable gang of licensed thugs.

The law abiding tax paying Rakyat has to face high crime day in day out. This 'brilliant' fcuker, instead of working to reduce crime, ask ppl to change perception of crimes !!

If scandals and pathetic jokes about the stupidity, incompetence of our politicians and govt are a tradable commodity, Malaysia will the the top exporter in the world !!

Cemerlang、gemilang、terbilang! 這么爛、根本爛、特別爛 !!

written by DontPlayGod, December 26, 2008 23:57:31
After having bought up Southern Bank, one of the very few Chinese-controlled banks left, CIMB's next move is to close up on Public Bank. Then the non-Bumis., expecially the Chinese businessman will have to literally crawl and beg from UMNO-controlled banks for their financial needs. Then UMNO can tell MCA, Gerakan,and the Chinese in general, "Ha, I've now got you by the b_lls. So just shut up and dance to our tune quietly."
written by Jeffrey, December 27, 2008 10:53:57
who can tell us how many of our ministers' childen have gone to international schools rather than the government school?
who can tellus how many of our ministers' children have gone through the NS?
I want the list and im sure many Malaysian want to know too. The list will be much better than all the big hoohaa advert in the newspapers or TV.

PSky - puffinsky.blogspot.com