Home arrow Special Reports arrow A thorn in Pakatan’s side

A thorn in Pakatan’s side PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 24 December 2008 10:03

PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa, the man behind the current controversy, said PAS would not give up on hudud which he said, was God’s law.

Comment by BARADAN KUPPUSAMY, THE STAR

WITH the Kuala Terengganu by-election battle looming ahead, an old ghost that was conveniently swept under the carpet for reason of political expediency has returned to haunt the Pakatan Rakyat coalition.

The Pakatan’s odd man out is PAS, a party wholly based on Islam and dreaming of turning this country into an Islamic theocratic state.

Out of the blues PAS is again ratcheting up its demand to implement the Islamic hudud and qisas laws that variously punish theft, robbery, illicit sex, alcohol consumption and apostasy with whipping, stoning to death and amputation of limbs.

In unvarnished terms top PAS leaders defend hudud and promise, when Pakatan seizes power, that they would implement the law, saying there was nothing wrong about it but only that DAP and PKR leaders, who oppose hudud, need some “educating” to end their opposition.

PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat said it was ibadat or religious obligation for PAS to pursue hudud laws.

“If they can accept the death sentence, why can’t they accept hudud,” Nik Aziz said in this usual forthright way.

PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa, the man behind the current controversy, said PAS would not give up on hudud which he said, was God’s law.

“We will explain to all quarters, including the Pakatan Rakyat component parties, until they are ready to accept the law,” he said.

Such statements coming from respected PAS leaders are disheartening to many recent non-Muslim supporters of PAS.

They had argued that with the co-operation, understanding and common manifesto put forward by Pakatan on March 8, the hudud and such issues have been finally laid to rest.

They had put their faith in a “new PAS” that they saw as moderate, liberal, and inclusive and even “secular” – a party that had abandoned the Islamic state ideology for a welfare state concept that was based on common human values. But that view now appears whimsical.

As expected DAP leaders, worried over the negative impact of hudud on non-Muslims, are incensed with PAS leaders and have quickly and firmly restated their opposition to hudud.

DAP chairman Karpal Singh even asked PAS to give up its “myopic” views because it was damaging the Pakatan politically.

They worry such statements would alienate the 11% Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu whose support is crucial to wrest the seat from the Barisan Nasional.

PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the man who glued together the three disparate parties and led them to victory, has been urged to once again step into the breach and restore order.

But whatever settlement he brokers would only be temporary because PAS, unlike the PKR or DAP, is a party entirely based on Islam and cannot give up its raison d’etre.

The issue is too fundamental for PAS and its far flung conservative support bank and is epitomised by PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, whose push for hudud, an Islamic constitution for the country and an Islamic financial system, after winning big in the 1999 general election, ended disastrously.

Between the victory of 1999 and the defeat of 2004, the single dominant issue for Hadi and PAS was hudud and an Islamic theocratic state.

After a lull for several years and with a big by-election battle in Hadi’s own backyard, the same issue has cropped up.

Secular political parties like the DAP or PKR, unlike PAS, can sit down and negotiate a common platform based on “common human values” and continuously “adjust” their programmes according to needs.

PAS, however, is different being a party based on religion.

One part of the party is cast in concrete and inflexible on fundamentals while another is moderate and liberal but even then in a limited way.

The urgency to win the by-election is forcing the conservative forces in PAS to re-exert themselves and to assure supporters that in all the “liberalism and moderation” before and after March 8, Islam remains the party’s only reason to exist.

Unlike others, PAS is a party with a long-term vision and is not afraid to lose a by-election or two to stay on course towards fulfilling their ultimate dream.

It at times like now the party has to reassure its one million card carrying members that it has not and will not sacrifice key issues to accommodate political allies.

“They have to understand we are facing a big battle on our own turf, before our people,” said a senior PAS leader.

“We have also made huge sacrifices for the DAP and PKR,” he said.

“But now it is ground zero, our battle and we want to win. We could use some patience and understanding.”

He said that expecting PAS to give up on hudud or qisas is like asking the DAP to give up on its Malaysian Malaysia ideology or Umno to give up on ketuanan Melayu.

It’s probably this inflexibility that has hampered Anwar from putting together a clearly spelt out vision and mission statement for the Pakatan Rakyat coalition that is compatible with the long-term aims of PAS.

PKR and DAP leaders, however, insist a common platform acceptable to all is already available in the Constitution which balances and guarantees Muslim and non-Muslim rights. But for PAS that is not good enough.

The Quran is their constitution in this life and thereafter and because of that the political hiccups over hudud and syariah are unlikely to end any time soon.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by batsman, December 24, 2008 10:11:28
DAP - pls get in touch with your grassroots. I don;t think they appreciate an automatic response from you on this issue. I think they are struggling to understand hudud law. They don;t need the situation to be complicated by automatic responses. Pls be proactive, not reactive.
disagree 17
written by ahmadneil, December 24, 2008 10:13:26
Now is the time we stand together and win KT.
written by bumiputeri, December 24, 2008 10:19:21
If Hudud law is really GOD's law (from Allah), then it is up to the Muslims to decide to implement it, but leave alone the non-Muslims. There should be clear laws protecting the non-Muslims from the Islamic laws. Whatever others choose to do with thier religion, is none of my concern, but, please, leave me alone with mine.
written by Democrats, December 24, 2008 10:22:01
I think PAS needs to explain this :

Is HUDUD law going to be implemented and used against Malaysian Muslim only or all Malaysian regardless of race including foreigners?

(I'm quite ignorant on this topic, but i was told by some that the justice system for hudud in charging and prosecuting the accused has many loopholes in the way "beyond reasonable doubt" and "concrete evidence" is defined.)Remember, the punishment beset on the convicted cannot be reversed. Are we looking into the way HUDUD punish the people or includes the way prosecution takes place?

WHat happens to criminals that are already serving time and punishment for crimes already done but where HUDUD has different set of punishment for that crime?

Please iron out these issues and others, let the people understand you and your intentions better?

written by temanmu, December 24, 2008 10:24:04
Please don't let emotions run high! UMNO is creating lots of smoke using dry ice because the fire is not in Pakatan Rakyat but in BN! This is just to divert attention from BN's own internal mess!

written by kc respect, December 24, 2008 10:30:25
THE CHAMPIONS OF NOTHING

UMNO in front of Malays raises the keris to champion Ketuanan Melayu
UMNO in non-Malay areas championed Anti-Corruption & fair games
PAS in KT champions Hudud & Syriah.
PAS to non-Malays, freedom of religion
MCA in front of Chinese, champion venecular schools and mother tongue
Same Chinese, in front of Malays, tongue tight.
MIC for the Indians, championed estate workers
Behind the Indians, MIC championed self-enrichment, literally
PKR in front of all rakyat, championed Ketuanan Rakyat
However, this championship is stifled by BN who is championing corruption, ISA, Police state and more self-enrichment.
DAP championing for Bangsa Malaysia, lots more to do.

SO FAR, NOTHING HAPPEN .... except BN's "SUCCESS"
written by temanmu, December 24, 2008 10:34:35
Anyway, what structure & system is PAS proposing? Will they introduce hudud to Muslims only? They should start there as they should get support from the ummah (Muslim community) first.

Non-Muslims need not protest as even now there are laws affecting Muslims only.

How many BN Ministers will be walking around with one hand, I wonder? Ha!!
written by Counterpointer, December 24, 2008 10:41:53
Hu-DUD being thrown around like nobody's business, at the time of a looming by election, to me is just what it is. A DUD.It's not going to explode or harm anybody.

It's only a by election, for goodness sake, no need to get so worked up as if PAS is going to run the federal gomen already.

Najis would definitely be gleefully laughing away as long as the opposition is quarelling among themselves and not targetting him.

There is only one aim to concentrate on; wipe the smirk off his face and win KT for the opposition.

Bring a smile back on the face of Bala (have you all forgotten him?), if he's still around in this world, that is.
written by kkselvam, December 24, 2008 10:44:09
This issue seems to be a devil created by PAS own doing! With so much corruption, crime and economic uncertainty facing this country is facing, all that PAS is concerned about is on implementing Hudud law!!!!
What the hell they are thinking ha? Don't they use brain when they shoot words from their mouth? They know it is impossible to do it yet they keep repeating this rhetoric to please those kampung Malays. Sheeesh! I give up la.
written by malgal, December 24, 2008 10:58:50
Let's keep the big picture in sight.
Laws are to keep crime in check.
Elections are to put right candidate to be our voice.
Those in power are supposed to protect our rights not help themselves to the kitty.
Think straight when all about us seems to be confusion.
written by zanie, December 24, 2008 11:17:28
I suggest you read more about this hudud law here;http://www.aliran.com/oldsite/monthly/2002/6e.html if you want to know more. But for now please refrain yourself from being too emotional that would stray ourselves from the most important matter; that is to bring the corrupt government down!
written by Milo, December 24, 2008 11:17:31
Laws are a means to ends, not ends themselves. The ends are to prevent unjustness, corruption, etc. in society. If there are good principles in the Hudud laws, I am sure those (only) can be be extracted and merged into our Civil law. And for the remainder that are not compatible, why not just impose them on Muslims only? There is simply no justification to impose a set of religious laws on others will a different religious view.
written by pillars, December 24, 2008 11:54:47
I suggested PAS leaders to think twice before they open their mouths.
written by foresight, December 24, 2008 12:00:05
Wow, this guy is really keen on upholding God's laws. Maybe he should implement the punishment on himself first because the moment we are born, we are already a sinner. Of course God loves us all and gives us a way out....without chopping off limbs or stoning to death.
written by Caramel, December 24, 2008 12:31:47
Don't let Khairy stir troubles for you guys. Stay united. Why can't can't DAP accept huhud laws just for the Mulslims while non Muslims & foreigners are no way affected.?
written by maisur, December 24, 2008 13:46:30
hello bumiputeri, democrats et al. i don't know if you guys just woke up from slumber, for the zillionth times islamic law is only meant from muslims. GET IT? SYARIAH IS ONLY FOR MUSLIMS! for non muslims you can eat pork as much as you want, you can rear pigs at your own backyards, you can drink alcohol until you bloat (or until you get liver cirrhosis), you can pray to your topekong 24 hours a day. no one cares. but please please, don't be keypoh when we muslims want to live under the islamic law. you can follow the common law as you wish!
disagree 16
written by tom73my, December 24, 2008 13:51:12
Dear fellow Malaysian,

Please be clear, and don't get confused by the politicians. Politicians talk, they talk a lot, and they talk different things to different people. PAS politicians are no different, in fact they are good politicians.

So, we the Rakyat, must play the game right. PAS is only a thorn if we allow it to be one. If we allow PAS to be a thorn, it is bad for us. It only makes the other politicians, in this case the UMNO happier.

Therefore let us Rakyat see the bigger picture. Hudud is a non-issue. It will not, and cannot be implemented. Even if the Chinese want it, half the Malays probably don't. It's all hot air.

Let us Rakyat continue to vote for better check and balance, check and balance these politicians. Let us make these politian work for us, not work for their own pocket.

Remember, we are the boss. We decide every 5 years. We can always change the politicians, and that includes Pakatan Rakyat. Now let's be united and first check & balance UMNO in KT, vote Pakatan Rakyat in KT.
written by carribeanking7, December 24, 2008 14:14:59
Maisur,

What you say is incorrect, syariah laws as they are now only touch on limited areas like khalwat, marriage, divorce etc...even now in some cases where disputing parties - the non muslims are at a disadvantage due to an unfair constitutional ammendment in 1988 that bars civil courts from reviewing a syariah courts decision.

criminal laws like murder theft etc are handled by civil courts, if hudud is passed at a federal level, you cannot choose ALL citizens are affected, it is not as simple as you think, federal mandate is similar all over the world otherwise there would be chaos, different groups will demand to be tried under different laws , tribal laws, ancestral laws etc, it will never end - you cannot have a one country multiple laws system.
written by ibabonma, December 24, 2008 15:38:02
My non-Muslim friend asked me," If you can travel by plane why you need to ride a camel to go to Mecca on a Haj and if you can enforce death sentence by hanging or electric chair, why you need to take away one's life by stoning?"

My answer was, "I don't know. But then,it is because the law of my God says so, .... just like what I was told not to eat pork! Why not put it this way: If you don't like 'our' law, don't become a Muslim so that our ULAMAK can sleep peacefully and have nothing to explain. Simple."
written by zanie, December 24, 2008 17:16:04
localgrad Says in Lim Kit Siang's blog:
Today at 15: 37.06

Just ask the Chinese,
1. You wan a racist BN government that sabotage PR state government’s humanity move by giving out freehold titles.
2. Or a caring PR government who treats rakyat fair but with some internal rebuttal sparked by its Islamic party, which always shout about their Islamic state and hudud but could not be transpired into a reality (need at least 2/3 majority to amend the constitution).

I will choose the second option wisely.

P/s* That's it. you're right.
written by The Hammer, December 24, 2008 17:59:56
Come next election i and my family will think twice, no thrice before we cast vote, and it will not be for PAS. PR or DAP ok. We hope by then PAS will no longer part of the coalition. 3 is an unlucky number.Pas can go fly kite or play their gasing or read their religious books all day or chop off MUSLIM hands or head or whatever. HUDUD laws is always at the back of their minds. They are eager to show to their GOD and the world how religious they are by the number of people without limbs or he***! smilies/grin.gif
written by nana tanjung, December 24, 2008 20:38:56
The Hammer,

I don't know if PAS really contest in your area. Anyway, in most places, PAS contest against UMNO. You don't vote PAS, meaning you vote UMNO. Hardly you'll find a ballot paper with PAS and DAP candidates together. Are you that ignoran?

BTW, in the foreseeable future, you have to accept that there only three viable political alliances that can form government in Malaysia:

1) Umno et al = BN
2) PAS PKR DAP = PR
3) PAS UMNO

In the first equation, you'll need Umno, while in the 2nd equation you'll need PAS. In the third equation neither PAS nor UMNO needs you!!!

Whatever you're doing now is at best delaying the inevitable.

Ooops! I forgot - you still have one choice that does not involve either PAS or UMNO. Vote with your feet out of this country!!
written by The Hammer, December 24, 2008 22:06:51
Dear nama tanjung, please re read the sentence. There is a full stop just after the word PAS in the first line. In 2nd line it should be PKR (the K was missed!) Furthermore this equation can corrected (DAP PKR-PAS) XXX=PR where XXX can be another component political party. PAS as usual can align to any party which will support their "hudud" laws. I doubt UMMO will associate with them as they will have to risk their limbs and life. So PAS will have to stand alone! smilies/shocked.gif
written by DontPlayGod, December 24, 2008 22:11:58
I have all along been not in favour of PAS teaming up with Pakatan. It's about time Anwar realize that PAS is a lost cause. And I never like people who insists on playing God.

Send PAS to UMNO. Let PAS gabung with UMNO. And we'll see how UMNO treats PAS. But, then, UMNO will agree with PAS on turning Malaysia into a full-fleldged Islamic state, after all UMNO has already declared Malaysia to be an Islamic state. It is the UMNO thieves and corrupt officials who should worry about PAS more.
written by Hakim Joe, December 25, 2008 00:38:35
Hey Husam, sorry but YOUR God doesn't mean that it is MY God.

written by cubi76, December 25, 2008 00:50:44
To those who think that non-Muslims will not be affected by Hudud law, think again!

Saturday, November 1st 2008, 3:05 PM
MOGadISHU, Somalia - A 13-year-old girl who said she had been raped was stoned to death in Somalia after being accused of adultery by Islamic militants, a human rights group said.
written by talk2stop, December 25, 2008 06:20:16
I definately agree with Hudud laws or ISA. There is nothing wrong with them but Malaysia just can't manage them. It is like giving a gun to an irrespondsible person. Which country on this earth that with hudud laws that the rest of the world can't wait to migrate there?
Muslims need to be show more humanity and compassionate until then there will be no understanding and reasoning.
written by adamckteh, December 25, 2008 07:20:04
Husam Musa, I agree if you practice the laws of god in the kingdom of god. This is Malaysia, a multi racial and multi religious nation.
KT by-election is neared; don't play the people's sentiments.
Peace!
written by lynn, December 25, 2008 14:18:44
Husam Musa,

As usual, you get your priorities screwed up. And screwing the country's future in the process. Pakatan must win Kuala Trengganu seat at all costs. No ifs or buts. Must win. So if you need to, pls go down to the ground and talk to the Chinese voters in KT and repair the damage you have done. Personally I am not afraid of Hudud law, as I have no intention of stealing, cheating, lying or participating in any corrupt acts. All I can say to all the Chinese people, pls slow down, take a deep breath & "accept" this concept of Hudud but with conditions attached.

BN corrupt ministers have more to worry abt then all of us combined. They are the ones with millions and billions of unexplained wealth. They are all guilty as hell. Let's focus on what kind of punishment can be meted out for corrupt politicians. Let these corrupt politicians save the day for us.
written by lynn, December 25, 2008 14:26:12
Now you see, why religion shld not be allowed to mix with politics.

At the end of the day, politicians will manipulate religion to gain political mileage. In this case, Husam is really sabotaging PAS.

Please-lah, Husam Musa, some of us have been going around, talking to non-Muslims to support PAS. Not just in this coming by-election, but for future by-elections and general elections. Pls don't waste all our efforts by coming out with controversial statements. As long as most non-Muslims people have ignorance or fear of Islam or its Hudud laws, you are playing right into Umno hands. I urge you to put aside religion and look at the whole picture. Malaysia desperately needs a change of federal government, so please get your priorities right.
written by lynn, December 25, 2008 14:30:32
Furthermore, I think, whatever kind of laws this country will have in place, the people shld have the final say. Not the politicians, any politicians or imams.

I wish more Malaysians would use their thinking faculties - ask questions. Stop "listening and then keep quiet". You must all speak out by asking questions. If you do not possess or practice your fundamental human right of freedom to question, then you might as well be a slave.
written by nana tanjung, December 25, 2008 17:40:07
Hammer, do you think PKR DAP minus PAS is realistic in this foreseeable future? You might be dreaming or worst ignorant new participant into Malaysian political scene.

Face this reality - in the eyes of most Malays, there are only two major political force - PAS and UMNO. PKR have some pocket of support here and there, but still have long way to go. In the recent election,most Malays who voted PKR saw them as an extension or as an ally of PAS. (Remember at that point time, ther were no PR, there were only Barisan Alternatif or BA). Not many Malays voted PKR if it were to stand alone or if it ally at that time was DAP , not PAS.

Malays vote are more important to Anwar than Chinese votes. He cannot afford to ditch PAS from the equation, simply to embrace DAP.

You can dream on.
written by DontPlayGod, December 25, 2008 18:07:19
batsman wrote: "DAP - pls get in touch with your grassroots. I don;t think they appreciate an automatic response from you on this issue. I think they are struggling to understand hudud law. They don;t need the situation to be complicated by automatic responses. Pls be proactive, not reactive."

Sorry, batsman, to non-Muslims, the hudud laws are a no-no. We just don't believe in them. To you your religion, to me, mine. Please don't enforce your beliefs on to others. The trouble in our country is that too many Muslim Malays(from PAS?) are sending their children to study in the madarasah's of Pakistan, the birth place of the Talibans.
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 25, 2008 18:27:12
I think the HUDUD should be implemented. Then we will have people's head being chopped for blowing up other people.( unless u can blow up non muslims because they are kafirs) Bamboos being driven thru the back and private parts for sodomy and zina. HANDS BEING CHOPPED OFF FOR STEALING THE RAKYAT'S MONEY AND BRIBERY..AND TONGUES BEING CUT FOR LYING OVER THE KORAN, AND PENISES BEING CHOPPED FOR RAPE OF OWN CHILDREN AND THE YOUNG... being stoned...hey I like throwing stones and shoes too.. whippiing...gee I like whipping a horse...give that whip...!!!!

INTERESTING..FROM MY COFFEE SHOP SURVEY..HALF OF UMNO WILL BE FILLED WITH oku's

It is an interesting proposition...handless policemen and politicians, and half the UMNO politicians without a penis..starting with a guy called thamby.taib2.all the way up to a PM in waiting......can PAS SPEED THIS UP??? ..hey I like to see ..maimed people walking the streets and ...I like the idea ...PEOPLE LIVING IN FEAR ALL THE TIME...GOOD IDEA..Mahathir should have implemented this ..wasted his 22 years... with ISA...