Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malays Must Participate In Changes!

Malays Must Participate In Changes! PDF Print
Tuesday, 23 December 2008 22:54

(Sin Chew Daily) Change, seems to be an irresistible trend in the world, particularly after Barack Obama was elected the first African-American President of the United States.

2008 is about to become part of the history. But when we look back, we cannot help but ask: Have we changed? Or, are we ready to meet more changes?

The 8 March general elections has demonstrated the people's common voice in which the change in the way Malays voted happened to be one of the main factors that brought about the political tsunami.

However, we must admit that only a minority Malays have changed, after all. While the majority still refuses to give up Malay privileges and the protection policy. Perhaps, it is disappointing and sad to say so, but it is a fact.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who is resigning soon, told reporters during an exclusive interview with Sin Chew Daily that he was to able to change the Malay thinking. But as an onlooker, we are more inclined towards former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's view. Dr M believed that he could not change Malay thinking and attitude.

In any case, we are looking forward to the change from Malays. If Malays do not participate in the changing of Malaysia, it would only be a false dream.

The mentality and attitude of any racial group arise from their cultural values. In fact, more and more contemporary scholars believe that cultural values influence the political, economic and social development of ethnic groups. Cultural factors, therefore, are used to explain the different racial political, economic and social behaviours.

However, cultural values have long been neglected by Malaysian government and they have been considered a taboo in the country. The interrelationships of cultural value and economic achievements among different races are considered sensitive issues.

In the world trend of change, the government must clearly understand that it is impossible to change the fate of an ethnic group by merely rigidly imposing the protective economic policies through political will. It can only bring real changes to Malays only by accompanied by changes in cultural values and attitudes. (By LIM MUN FAH/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

written by binarytan, December 23, 2008 23:08:59
I strongly believe PKR is a better party than the rest of parties in Malaysia.T hey have multi-racial leaders in the party and everyone is respecting each other. Single race parties are creating all the nonsence issues, no doubt may be one or two of them are good parties without doubt. PAS just nightmare with full of racist to core people. Vote for PAS will be the other Elms Street in making.
written by gurkha_malaya, December 23, 2008 23:18:45
all malays are invited visit this blog;

www.saudagarsenja.********.com
written by Oscar Winner, December 23, 2008 23:27:33
Progress is impossible without change, and those (read:UMNO goons)can't change their mind can't change anything. Insanity is doing the same thing (plundering, power abuse, ISA for protection....etc) over and over again and expecting different results.

Change is the only constant
Without change we will “gostan”
PM changed to Najis, I'm frightened,
DSAI pls become PM, it's your turn.....
written by Zym Zym, December 23, 2008 23:33:49
In this beloved country of ours, the only topics that the majority of Malaysians like to talk about are politics and religion (particularly Islam), nothing but the two. I wonder why can't the religious bigots keep their belief to themselves and stop politicizing it for political mileage.

If one were to read what's the scientific world is doing and researching particularly on the quantum level, one would be amazed at how particles work at a sub-atomic level. ( Oh please, don't bring God into the picture just because that particles work in a fuzzy manner! )

I'd rather suggest that you read the writings of Feynman, Heisenberg, Bohr, etc than spending your entire life reading the "teaching" of the 5th century pedophile ( I didn't know he was one until I read Ali Sina's article at www.faithfreedom.org) who walked on this planet many years ago.
written by babihutan, December 23, 2008 23:40:42
Well! I guess Malay Political Partie like UMNO and PAS tried to use Religion factor to influence their own people. If you controlling their mind via religion, then $ for their (politician) pocket. Thats why culture does not play an important role in improving social and economic development of majority of Malay in our country. Like what RPK said in TV2 interview before, most muslim countries do not have good human right records, corrupted, long list. If christian follow the holy bible 100%, they will still live in the cave.
written by binarytan, December 23, 2008 23:47:56
In TV2, RPK was offending the muslim by saying the countries under their management were performed badly. He has the courage as he spoke the truth. That is the truth but nobody is admitting it! In PAS eyes, their religion is the superb and above everything. This is very dangerous as they may turn everything up side down. If we do not voice now, wait till they take power only negotiate like the ball-less MIC and MCA cum Gerakan? Too late lah some of you out there. There is no give and take in modern world and just let PAS enjoy what they feel on the remaining 4 years. Later they will all bungkus back to Kelantan and start to use their brain to think again.
written by Sinewy, December 23, 2008 23:51:25
With the coming of the economic tsunami in 2009, you will need a lot of change in the mental attitude and perception in our lives to adapt to the crisis. There is no where to hide. It is a diservice that the government, especially UMNO, has done to the malays over the years that has made many of them failed to understand the need to be strong based on your own merit and perseverance. The continuing fight for the special priviledge in the discriminative NEP will not prepare many malays to face the real challenges of the open world and the volatile free market. Others have come to this land and slaved it out to build their own worth. They didn't get it for free from anyone here and they understood what it meant by fighting for survival. They know there is no free lunch anywhere and only hardwork, knowledge, perseverance and resourcefulness will carry them through their lives. It is easy for the politcians to turn a blind eye and claiming to protect the rights of the malays through the pseudo-apartheid policies in this country just for the sake of their own political survival. Do these politicians really have a heart on the real welfare of the ordinary malay folks? Where are these politicians leading them to in real life?
written by cklife, December 23, 2008 23:59:48
I don't know anything about Hudud. I'm sorry. I can't comment.

But amputation for stealing doesn't sounds right at all to me. It doesn't give a chance for one to repent for a sin. It's practically lifetime punishment.
written by 1351, December 24, 2008 00:02:17
No binarytan, Ketuanan Islam shouldn't be encouraged this moment, not till Malays themselves learn to live righteously - a virtue that is sorely lacking.

The flesh is weak and as mere mortals the potential to do harm and ridicule the faith will happen contrary to the degree of piousness one professes. Of late, Najib and Rafidah (even Uncle Samy and Ling-ling as pseudo Muslims) wouldn't hesitate to swear by the Quran to proclaim their innocence. Do note the damage done when swearing by the book is nothing but some cheap political ploy while a community of good citizens have had their voices drown out by self appointed/govt maintained clergy class, proclaiming themselves custodians of the faith. Such is the danger UMNO(in some ways PAS) poses to the faithful when Islam is politicise.

There is evidence aplenty UMNO has done most harm to the Malay psyche and in recent days, I caught myself pondering how former Chief Minister of Malacca got away with criminal prosecution for statutory rape. How is it a whole community, especially the Makciks' and UMNO Datins' all did nothing to assist a grandmother whose grand daughter was taken advantage of ?

Wonderful these special breed of UMNO Muslims - with no less than PM Dollah Badawi strumming his own tune peddling Islam Hadrari. It is tragic and if an honest eye is cast, majority of Malays come across as superficial Muslims with no real understanding of the faith. This is not a slight but the same observation can be made for observant of other faith just the same.

Religion in a personal space thrives just fine but the moment it is brought into public realm, its whole complexion changes for the worse. Perhaps there will be a better occasion for Ketuanan Islam but that time can only come about when UMNO is shown the door.

Regards binarytan and all.
written by babihutan, December 24, 2008 00:02:37
Look at the bright side!!
Malaysia invented "time machine" which allow us to travel backward.
If muslim do not move forward, they should go back thousand years ago when their holy bible was written "hot from the oven".

We are living in the global village but most muslim (include other countries) are still live by their own kind.
written by Motherchell, December 24, 2008 01:26:21
How do we wake them say the nons are not here to steal their homes, land etc . They must open up their minds well and grasp the reality of the ones who use them so well -- the Umnoputras!
written by maisur, December 24, 2008 03:43:14
bravo binarytan, zym zym, babihutan et al...

you have made your points very clear. one thing that is very clear to me is... muslims, when attacked, will bind together more than ever now and this will not bode well with DAP and PKR.

i feel sorry for DAP as come GE15 or GE16, they might lose penang as muslims will form the majority voters in the state. they might even want to introduce hudud at that time to get muslims support! it is not really a problem as their CM is already umar abdul aziz in waiting...my foot!

remember, muslims percentage in malaysia is increasing day by day and will form almost 70% of the population (muslims only, if plus other bumis will form 78%)in 20 years time. and every passing day, more muslims are inclined to adopt full islamic way of life. proof? see how many women wearing tudung now compared to merely 20 years ago. see how many kids enrolled to sekolah agama now compared to 10 years ago. interestingly, a survey by a malay newspaper a year or two ago showed that almost 70% of muslims support hudud. REMEMBER, MAJORITY RULES! THIS IS DEMOCRACY.

so, based on above facts, i think you can come to a sound conclusion about what will happen to malaysia in 20 years time. if i am a non-muslim, i would want to think hard now and pack my stuff to somewhere else ? singapore perhaps ? or australia? or china?
written by yapsir, December 24, 2008 04:37:11
we all must change together as toward to be Makaysian.It will takes time,but we all must.
written by sabade, December 24, 2008 08:47:35
We continue to ask the Malays to change their ways and look towards a multiracial party, although some have adopted the multiracial party idea, i believe the majority are still doubtfull whether this idea will benefit the Malays in the long run.

In the same context it is clear that MCA and MIC are also not prepared to move into the idea of a multiracial party. Looks like everybody in MCA and MIC wants to be a General in their own ways, the people only come second.

MCA and MIC if you want the Malays to give up their position than disband MIC and MCA and merge with Gerakan/PPP.
written by deunan, December 24, 2008 09:35:40
Quoted from Dr Siti Mariah -
http://www.bakrimusa.com/archi...-comments
Cutting off the hands is the severest form of punishment, and the conditions under which this will be applied are also stringent. The details of implementation are up to the lawmakers. This is where the consensus of the ulama (scholars in law, not the ustaz in the village who teaches tajwid or quranic renditions) come in! You think it is injustice to the thief but you forgot the victim and future victims. Where is the justice for the victim and community members who live in fear? Where is the justice to the victims who toil and sweat to earn an honest living? Islamic laws are meant to be a deterrent and to strike fear in the hearts of sinners-to-be. You also speak as if once the law is passed our streets would be filled with people with amputated arms and hands or wobbling around with no feet. Are you saying that a majority of our people are thieves? If that were the case, then there is something awfully wrong with our society. Imagine if there were one amputated thief who walks around and be seen by others, the message gets across – crime does not pay! Potetnial thieves would think a thousand times before choosing this easy way to make a living.

And also from here -
http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/101781
1. Stealing, which is taking wealth or property by stealth. If he seizes it forcibly or snatches it, then there is no amputation.
2. The thief should be accountable; there is no amputation for a child or one who is insane.
3. The stolen item should be above a certain threshold; there is no amputation for anything less than that. The threshold is one quarter of a dinar of gold, or the equivalent value of other things.
4. The stolen item should be something that is customarily kept and stored.
5. The stolen item should be something concerning which there is no doubt.
6. It should be stolen from a proper storage place.
7. It should be taken out of the storage place.
8. Proof of the theft should be established before the judge, with two witnesses of good character or a confession from the thief.
9. The owner of the stolen item should come forward and claim it.

I am not a lawyer, but, spoken to a Syariah Lawyer once about the above point #2.

If the person caught stealing, due to other reasons - poverty, starvation, desperation, it is haram to punish by hand-chopping. Since it has to be examined why the person was forced into that circumstance - failure of state welfare, perhaps.

Clearly, the misrepresentation of the hand-choppings has been order of the day everytime it was brought up.

Furthermore, to avoid any confusions, the above is not the complete rules, it is more comprehensive. As Dr Siti Mariah said - "Cutting off the hands is the severest form of punishment, and the conditions under which this will be applied are also stringent."

God knows best!
written by batsman, December 24, 2008 09:41:49
Chinese and Indians must participate in changes too. Otherwise you are saying you are perfect, but the other is not. We are all in the same boat together. Imagine someone in the same boat always grumbling, griping and whining!
written by Richard Lo, December 24, 2008 12:09:06
Malays can only change when the masses wake up and realise that they can succeed far more on their very own instead of having to depend on BN's policy policies which suppress their capabilities. I don't fault the Malays for not changing but rather the government policies which chain the Malays' mindset to the concept of slave(Malays) - master (govt) mentality that the Malays progress can only be achieved thru the aid of the government.

The Malays must realise that it is the government who is trying to hold back their development. All these talks by TDM that he is sad that he cannot change the Malays' mindset is all empty talk and talk of a hypocrite. TDM talks about asking the Malays to stand on their own and not rely on the government assistance is at the end of the day self defeating when the government continues to perpetuate in its course to design and implement policies favouring the Malays. The analogy to this is like giving a child sweets and at the same time reprimanding him with a cane that he cannot eat sweets because it bad for him.

If the government was genuine in its effort to improve the social economic status of the Malays (i.e. every single Malay and not just the few elites), the Malays should have been far more progressive today. 50 years is a long time and much can be achieved in 50 years. Since our government always like to compare to the east, look at where Japan and Korea were 50 years ago and where are they now. Mind you Japan was largely destroyed by the Americans in WW2.

It is time for the Malays to realise that the government/UMNO is not interested in helping the Malays to stand on their own two feet. The government/UMNO is more interested to devise manipulative policies to control the Malays in order for UMNO to stay in power.
written by babihutan, December 24, 2008 12:28:36
Dear Maisur,
If Muslim (Malaysia or other countries) still proceeding like what they are doing now, in another 20 years from now, they will be even more backward than present day.
“Global Villagers” are looking forward to find way to improve their living but “they” try to follow 100% what written on the BOOK.

If China government is still follow at the "old book of communist", they are still living at stone age. "TAKE THE GOOD ONE, THROW THE BAD ONE" this is what world muslim need to do now.

20 years from now, may be I will migrate to China if the Malaysian muslim still hold to the "old book" and moving backward to stone age.
written by babihutan, December 24, 2008 12:33:19
Anyway, I support hudud law because i want to see more rapist's dicks being cut off, especially those who raped their own daughter or some granddaughter!!
And, preserve them in the museum as an deterrant or warning to others.

Bravo, Malaysia will be the 1st country in the world to cut off dicks of rapist anf preserve them!! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!
written by born2reign, December 24, 2008 18:09:01
Islamic govt is not proven to be an objective justice system, because many of the men in power are not selected by honest citizens but by men with conflicting interests. Islamic system has proven to be a system based on emotions of the moment and the political appetite of the era.

Just look at Saiful and other UMNO men swearing on the Quran to "prove their innocence" - the Syaria court gave a lame comment and no Muslims are angry enough at their Muslim evil brothers for mocking the Quran, to stone them because they claim that is between them and Allah.

However in the areas of conversion and body snatching and property snatching, it is no longer between the human and Allah, it is a matter between govt agencies and the party concerned.

For Malaysia to progress, she must be ruled by ethics and professional standards and competitive improvements. Corrupted ppl and money politics suspects must be jailed or resigned. In Islamic Malaysia with Syariah court, no Islamic authority has dragged a single Muslim politician to court for money politics because it is not classified as corruption (what a joke!) - so if the Syariah court is lame now, how can it be more effective under PAS or PKR?

Don't forget PAS has the new generation of leaders who are pro-ketuanan Melayu, different from Nik Aziz's "fair to all policy". Unless PAS starts castrating the rapists and corrupted govt servants in their states and prove they are fair to all, otherwise we'll be argueing about separate gender queues come 2050, and "pretty women not allowed to work and men should have 4 or 10 wives" issues.
written by asguard, December 24, 2008 18:25:42
Have to change in order to survive in ever change world... just like learning English for the sake children's future... that how things will be view from that angle!
written by MalaysianUnited, December 26, 2008 10:39:01
LIM MUN FAH, penulis akhbar Cina..

Mestikah hanya kerana orang Melayu itu membentuk kaum terbesar di Malaysia ini, maka segala yang berubah mesti didahului oleh kaum terbesar?..

Ingat Lim Mun Fah, pilihanraya 1999 dan 2008..adalah dari perubahan undi Melayu juga. Lihat kerusi Sungai Siput, kalaulah Melayu itu racist atau tidak menerima YB dari bukan Melayu..takkan der Dr D Jeyakumar diangkat jadi MP Sungai Siput!!..

Nah, kita lihatlah bagi kerusi parlimen/DUN yang majoriti ramai Cina, orang Melayu atau Bumiputera yang lain boleh jadi YB tak?..

jawablah Lim Mun Fah, jangan malu2..hahaha