After Husam’s hudud remarks, a small opening for BN in KT vote PDF Print
Monday, 22 December 2008 14:56

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

By declaring that his party would introduce the hudud if it wins federal power, Pas vice president Datuk Husam Musa may have unwittingly placed the Islamic state issue on the Kuala Terengganu by-election agenda.

Today, the DAP, the Chinese-dominated secular partner of Pas in the Pakatan Rakyat alliance, quickly disassociated itself from the remarks, which will certainly cause concern among many non-Muslims because such strict Islamic law would introduce whipping, stoning and amputation as punishment for criminal offences.

"Hukum hudud is not Pakatan Rakyat policy and it is for Husam to clarify what he actually said," veteran DAP leader Lim Kit Siang wrote in his blog today.

"DAP's stand on the secular character of Malaysian nation and state as agreed in the social contract by our forefathers when Merdeka was achieved 51 years ago remains consistent and unchanged," he added.

Husam's hudud remark will give the MCA, a party which had been abandoned by Chinese voters in the March elections, an opening to regain some support from the opposition and possibly win over the small but significant number of Chinese voters in the crucial Kuala Terengganu vote.

MCA Wanita chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun told The Malaysian Insider that her party was against hudud, saying that the entire non-Muslim community would "definitely go against it".

She noted that Husam had effectively shot PR's chances in the by-election with his statement and that nothing the DAP said now could lessen the damage.

"The most important thing is what exactly is the policy when they run the government," Chew said, drawing attention to Pas's act in passing hudud law in Terengganu when it ruled the east coast state previously.

"I think people will look for that," she said.

Husam was challenged by Umno Youth chief hopeful Khairy Jamaluddin to disclose Pas's stand in a public debate on "Malaysian Political Reformation" in Kota Baru last Saturday.

Asked how she felt about Khairy's promise to also push for hudud, Chew dismissed the possibility of Umno, MCA's senior partner in the Barisan Nasional coalition, deciding to introduce the strict Islamic code.

"At the moment, Khairy is not one to decide the direction and policy of the government," Chew said.

The other Umno Youth chief hopeful, Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo, was equally dismissive of Husam and Khairy.

"That is only their political rhetoric, trying to be a champion for the Malays without thinking of the nation's multiracial structure," the former Selangor Menteri Besar told The Malaysian Insider.

"Hudud is only a small claim in Islam. Not implementing hudud does not mean we fail to become good Muslims," said Khir.

"For me, it is more important that the effort to become a good Muslim should be done by Umno Youth, by having youths who are responsible, ready to face challenges, willing to uphold justice and who are free from all the bad points of life," he added.

written by OilMan, December 22, 2008 15:06:54
How can this Datuk Husam Musa make such statement? 'Bodoh' is all I can describe such statement. This may also be an act of sabotage.
Check his bank account for any recent and huge deposit of cash.
written by hiro, December 22, 2008 15:21:34
If what's reported is true, then I guess they've just lost their pivotal Chinese vote. Damage done. Nothing PKR and DAP can do now unless Husam quickly disassociates himself with that kind of stone age statement.
written by FFT, December 22, 2008 15:31:34
So, what about you MCA? Have you anything to say about UMNO Nazis stealing corpses of non-Muslims, calling you pendatang, and telling you to balik China?
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 15:43:18
No,I can assure you all that I heard them clearly,saying that they will not be alarmed by this Hudud becos this law is not for the chinese and moreover ,the chinese will love to have armless or handless malays,knowing that they will not steal from the rakyat anymore. I wonder umno will use Hudud Law on those who simply write nonsense in MT.If they do I will have to learn to use my toes.My God!
written by Democrats, December 22, 2008 16:06:16
I think Husam somehow got conned by KJ on the issue. He should come out and clarify it openly before the UMNO spin doctors perpetuate the issue further.
written by cahaya, December 22, 2008 16:18:37
Hudud law should not be an issue for the KT elections. Racial issues and religious issues are not election issues. Governance issues should be the focus.

Once again, the BN government led by UMNO tries to confuse the Malaysian public by talking about race and religion. They keep frightening the naïve Chinese voters. Will you vote again for BN (to continue the same as before, including corruption and poor governance, but no change in religious restrictions on Chinese)? or will you vote for PAS (threat of religious retrictions on Chinese habits like gambling, sex, and drinking)?

All the “non-BN political parties”, especially those under PR, must explain to Malaysians that good governance issues are more important. (Of course, PR should keep reminding everyone that the Federal Constitution promises the freedom of religion for all races). Election issues should be about Good Governance, that is how the PR candidate (competent, accountable, transparent) will provide better service to the people.
Everyone needs to go out and explain what is Good Governance!

written by wartank, December 22, 2008 16:38:21
Why should the Chinese bring up all this fuss? Its like RPK says, we just like to grumble and see what comes out of it. Being an ethnic Zhonghua myself, I'd like to plea to them not to be deceived and to understand the hudud concept first before raising hell.

What is so wrong about hukum hudud? You should be afraid if you're a "Muslim Criminal" or a Muslim who intends to commit a crime. Given the current situation, I'm confident Pas will also practise them in moderation.
So, being non-muslims this should not be a concern..unless you intend to convert to Muslim AND commit a crime!
written by mezan, December 22, 2008 16:52:53
Just showing her IQ level and stupidity. Hukum hudud or whatever hukum in syariah only applicable to Muslims. Again, read RPK's article and see how forgetful we are right now in regards to current reality.

Focus on by-election, not this puny issue...
written by joeawk, December 22, 2008 16:59:31
It is just that Husam lack decent intelligence. He should knowthat PAS alone cannot implement HUDUD and should have qualified himself and not land himself in trouble and also inconvenience PR coalition partners.

It is as if he has been bought to lost non malay votes. He will have much to answer for his less than clever or shall I say stupid statement about hudud.
written by alpha100, December 22, 2008 17:03:39
Husam is telling the truth of PAS stand on Hudud law. No question about that. Other PR component should accept the truth and be wary of it. Not tell them to say otherwise just to win election!
written by binarytan, December 22, 2008 17:49:09
you may practise islamic law in the state of kelantan, but when you are out of the state you will turn worse than that. hence islamic law just keep it in your heart, we malaysia will not need this law above the democratic law. Later all of our lawyers and judges will be removed totally and replaced by the whole gang of racist to core islamic group. Then malaysia will lead to dead end under PAS administration. Say no to hudud law, say no to PAS. But don't vote for UMNO, vote for PAS as UMNO is still more evil than PAS for time being.
written by future, December 22, 2008 19:59:35
Let us be frank about this Hudud Law before making all kinds of statement.Is it fair to speak on something that we don't really understand?
written by red1, December 22, 2008 20:56:05
Most people are ignorant of what actually Hudud is. And the muslims are afraid that by speaking out against it, they fear been labelled as infidels. So whenever anyone challenges a muslim if they support Hudud, most will say they support, but what is it?

Is it Islamic justice when the peoples' are robbed of their rights and there is no proper income? How can we be thinking about harsh punishment? Isn't Islam about assurance and comfort for the needy and downtrodden? And hell and severe punishment for the pompous exploiters?

That Khairy asking should be questioned of his intent of bringing up the Hudud issue. It is not to show his sudden piety but another exploitation of an issue to disarray PAS chances. They are hyprocites if they spend more time debating conjecture rather than solving the plight of the poor and avoid them from needing to steal for their next meal.

Redhuan D. Oon
PendAtang Dengan Izin

written by nana tanjung, December 22, 2008 22:12:52
Husam's statement will not have much bearing in the P36 by-election.

Contrary to the "perasan bagus" feeling among the non-Malays, the Chinese votes has never been the factor that swing the pendulum to either side. Chinese in KT has for so long voted for BN. They are part of the BN loyalist in that particular area and has never come as an important determinant in the overall equation.

The swing votes will come in the form of Malay fence-sitters. It is more important to please this group and Husam is just playing the right game.
written by Macrophage, December 22, 2008 22:32:44
RPK should write an article on the Medina Charter/Piagam Medina. The Muslims and Jews managed to live relatively peacefully in a state governed by that charter.

I support the death by hanging penalty for drug traffickers. Is hanging any better than stoning someone to death for that?
written by ms.blogger, December 22, 2008 23:07:10
"Hudud is only a small claim in Islam. Not implementing hudud does not mean we fail to become good Muslims," said Khir.

"For me, it is more important that the effort to become a good Muslim should be done by Umno Youth, by having youths who are responsible, ready to face challenges, willing to uphold justice and who are free from all the bad points of life," he added.

Good lord! This came from the Toyol??
written by asiana888, December 23, 2008 00:39:20
I cannot tahan the PAS-Husam fella. Why la? At eve of KT by-election you wanna bring up this sensitive issue. I sometimes get the feelings some of these PAS leaders have received some $$$ from UMNO goons to throw a spanner on the winning PR wagon.

Most Ah Pek and Aunty sure very scared la when PAS start talking hudud laws. Even my whisky drinking Malay friends also shudders at the thought of PAS implementing Hudud law nationwide.

So, to make sure everyone (PAS,PKR and DAP) happy and live as each party thinks best - can they agree that if PR becomes the next ruling gomen, PAS can implement Hudud laws in the state they controlled. I think, like that, everyone can go where they like lor! If Hudud law too difficult or scary .... then migrate to Selangor or Penang lor. If Muslims wants to be holier by living under Hudud laws ... then go migrate to those States with Hudud laws.

Like that all 'kau-tim' and UMNO no more ammo to use against all my Ah Peks and Auntys.

smilies/wink.gif
written by Proarte, December 23, 2008 02:51:25
If Hudud and Qisas are God's laws according to PAS, why is it willing to share power with secular parties which are vehemently opposed to it.

Are 'God's laws' open to negotiation in the interest of power? What does it say about PAS principles?
written by LFLee, December 23, 2008 03:13:29
I am a Chinese Malaysian and whats a big deal about this Islamic state?

MCA? what have you done when Mahathir declare Malaysia is a Islamic state? did you bark at all?

and CHINESE! use your brain and use your maths, PAS alone cannot make Malaysia a Islamic state - if you can't use your brain, read RPK recent article.

As long as it is based on fair, transparency, good governance, I don't care if is is a Islamic state or not!

I rather have a clean, responsible, transparent, credible government who declared we a Islamic state than having a bunch of thieves, idiots, who steal all the money from the people and declare we are not Islamic state!

Those who oppose Islamic state, can you see this? Stop afraid of it, and then BN will run out of topic to separate PR!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Proarte, December 23, 2008 07:41:36
The problem with Qisas is that it condones 'blood money'. A person who has murdered can have his life spared if he buys off the relatives of the deceased.

This is fundamentally unfair and makes mockery of the concept of the sanctity of Life. How can one put a value on Life?

Thus if one is rich, one can potentially get away with murder. Muslims insult God by calling Qisas 'God's Law'.

It is my belief that primitive Arab cultural traditions found its way into the Koran and thus is simply not workable in the 21st century.

DAP and PKR must make its stand clear once and for all. If PAS wants to be part of Pakatan it must adhere to the principle of collective responsibility and not snipe from the sidelines over the Islamic State. Hudud or Qisas. This puts DAP in a very difficult situation now. If it is seen to be campaigning in KT, it will be accused condoning PAS desire to establish Hudud and Qisas in Malaysia.

DAP has no choice but to boycott the KT by-election thanks to Husam Musa!
written by Sudahlah tu, December 23, 2008 08:11:25
apakah landasan yang kita amal dalam konteks perpaduan di sini ?
kita semua rakyat Malaysia dan sudah jelas menjadi tanggungjawab pemimpin mengerjakan kekuatan daya pimpinan mereka membina seberapa banyak peluang kerjaya dan mengorak langkah menyakinkan rakyat untuk berdikari ...itu sahaja.
modal insan negara merupakan harta bumi yang paling kaya dan bahaya dan kita harus memahami cara yang betul semasa pembentukan ini.
apa yang sedang berlaku dalam Malaysia ialah manusia yang tamak telah merosakan kesemua landasan murni yang menyatukan semua lapisan masyarakat dan bangsa.
binatang ini tahu yang peluang mereka berkuasa ialah memecahbelahkan semua lapisan rakyat dan bangsa.
binatang ini juga membinasa semua landasan kerjaya yang dapat menghasilkan modal insan yang bertaraf dunia dengan memperlemahkan bangsa melayu atas sifat semulajadi mereka yang peramah.
bagi pendapat secara umum , tidak kira siapa yang memimpin di Malaysia , mereka harus mengekalkan kesemua landasan modal insan yang efektif dan dapat membina ketuguan negara.
inilah merupakan hutang pemimpin kepada semua lapisan rakyat.
apa gunanya mendirikan infrastruktur yagn canggih yang hanya dilaksanakan kerana dapat rasuah besar sedangkan rakyat yang diseksa dan tersepit di dalam arus pembangunan sebegini.
apa gunanya mengikut gaya hidup pemimpin tamak ini sedangkan maruah bangsa tergadai tanpa disedari oleh rakyat.
apa gunanya menyokong binatang yang merosakkan tanaman dan melemahkan kekuatan tanah demi tamak mereka.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 23, 2008 08:33:03
"Hukum hudud is not Pakatan Rakyat policy and it is for Husam to clarify what he actually said," veteran DAP leader Lim Kit Siang wrote in his blog today

AH LIM, SMALL MATTER, JUST LET PAS WIN THE ELECTION FIRST MAH. THEN HV ROUND TABLE TALK OVER COFFEE WITH THE PR LEADERS. SEE HOW THE STAR MAKE A BIG HOOHA OF
THIS ISSUE??
written by Milo, December 23, 2008 09:55:12
This Datuk Husam Musa is really one dumb fool to choose such a crucial moment in the election to talk of hudud laws. I suppose this is the problem with most relgious leaders of a dogmatic faith. They just can't stop trying to interfere with others' beliefs when they are in power.

One key reason John MaCain lost the US Presidential election is because he pick a Creationist Christian Sarah Palin as his running mate who believed in religious nonsense.

Watch how this anti-science candidate for VP mocked fruit flies research and infuriated all the US Scientists with her ignorance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BScGTh_lXwA&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8Orsnsn_0o

Religion should always be kept out of politics, period.
written by Hope4all, December 23, 2008 17:07:35
Come on PAS! Stay focus, you can win the KT election in January. Don't fall into Khairy's trap. But he's good huh?! Khairy's wife will not allow him to implement Hudud. Orang UMNO cakap tak serupa bikin. Orang PAS hati terlalu lurus, dijerat pula.
written by rpremkumar2u, December 25, 2008 01:17:00
KJ is a manipulator. Husam can always learn a lesson in never being drawn into a corner. To KJ, even hudud was explained to you, I doubt that you would be interested to learn it from the perspective it ought to be studied. You are only interested to wrest the by election victory. For your forthcoming agenda to lead UMNO Youth. Its ok. How long do you plan to carry on with your tactics? You must have exhausted your bag of issues so you want to go and hit Husam below the belt? In politics to touch on religious application, in particular to combat crime, is not to allow the issue to be explained in its entire context. You did a very pariah act.