Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Islam and the Malay Mindset: What Went Wrong?

Islam and the Malay Mindset: What Went Wrong? PDF Print
Monday, 22 December 2008 14:47

Islam has been part of the Malay world for well over half a millennium.  It is very much an integral part of our “Malayness” such that the statutory definition of a Malay is tied to the faith.

M. Bakri Musa

This was the topic for a small group discussion at a recent seminar organized by Kelab UMNO New York/New Jersey.  I was a passive participant at this dialogue, at least initially.

In the ensuing discussions, the students duly reaffirmed the greatness of Islam, citing many ready examples.  Islam emancipated the ancient Bedouins out of their Age of Jahilliyah (Ignorance), and did it all within a generation.  Islam then spread as far westward as Andalusia and eastward right up to China.  In the process Islam inspired and created great civilizations and empires that lasted till at least the early part of the last century.

After over 1400 years however, Islam (at least the physical empire, though not the faith) was done in by European colonialism.  With colonialism’s ending, there was a quick resurgence of Islam.  Today it is the faith of a quarter of the world’s population, and fast growing.

Islam has been part of the Malay world for well over half a millennium.  It is very much an integral part of our “Malayness” such that the statutory definition of a Malay is tied to the faith.  Our embrace of Islam remains firm if not enhanced, despite being under complete Western (specifically British) colonial domination for a good portion of the time.

With the resurgence of Islam, Malays like Muslims everywhere yearn for the return of those earlier glorious days.  Thus far that is all there is to it – just a yearning; much of the Muslim world remains tragically mired in poverty, with its citizens deprived of their basic human dignity and rights.

In Malaysia, the achievement gaps between Malays and non-Malays continue to widen despite the political leadership and public institutions being dominated by Malays.  This glaring disparity remains a continuous source of communal angst, triggering more than just a few occasions of mass “acting out” behaviors as keris wielding and shrill calls for Ketuanan Melayu.

Why is Islam unable to emancipate Malays as it did the ancient Bedouins?  What went wrong?  Being true believers, the students rightly asserted that there is nothing wrong with this great faith, rather with our understanding – and thus practice – of it.

We are obsessed with rituals at the expense of appreciating the essence of Islam, the students observed.  The universal message of Islam is lost with the associated Arabism, they continued.  We are consumed in being Arabs, or at least aping them in the belief that it is the same thing as being Islamic or pious.

In teaching our young we are too preoccupied with being punitive and not enough with being positive.  When they are naughty or grab a toy from another child, we would admonish them by saying that God would punish them by burning them in hell.  Such concepts are beyond the comprehension of young minds, except to imprint on them horror-filled images of suffering and torture.

A more understandable and thus effective way would be to teach those children to imagine how they would feel if someone were to steal their toys.  Such an approach would also be an excellent way to impart upon them the Golden Rule, to do unto others what you want done to you, a basic precept in all faiths.

We make our young recite and even memorize the Quran at a very early age without expending commensurate time and effort in teaching them the meaning or significance of those verses in our every day lives.  We have reduced this great religion to a series of rituals instead of being a guide to a “total way of life” that is righteous, pleases Allah, and leads to a harmonious society.  We pray, fast, pay our tithe, and undertake the pilgrimage but then go right ahead and accept bribes, neglect our jobs, and ignore our families and society.

We go to great lengths avoiding pork and improperly slaughtered chicken and cows, rightly considering them haram, but we have no compulsion in accepting bribes or neglecting our duties.

The students did a credible job of societal self-introspection.  As they were summarizing their conclusions to present to the larger group, I enquired how we as a society have strayed from the central message of Islam.  More relevantly, how could we rediscover the essence of Islam so that it too would do for us what it did for the ancient Arabs?

Taqlid, Bidaa, and Tajdid

Taqlid and bidaa are two central concepts in the learning and transmission of Islam.  Taqlid refers to following the teachings of those more learned and pious than and before us.  Specifically, it refers to adhering to the practices of one of the established schools of jurisprudence or mahdhab.

The Arabic root of the word means to place a collar around the neck, as we would to guide an animal.  The operative word there is “guide,” to lead us along the straight path.

Malay villagers however, do not put a collar around our kerbau (buffalo) rather a ring through its nose.  It serves the same purpose, and more.  For in addition to leading the animal we also effectively control it.

Therein lies the problem.  Does taqlid mean letting us be guided or be controlled?  Is taqlid a collar slung loosely around our neck to nudge us to the left or right as a rein to a horse, or a ring pierced through our nose as with our kerbau?  There is a vast difference between paying deference to precedents (as lawyers and judges do) versus being held captive by them.  If it were the latter, slavery would still be legal in America.

Likewise with bidaa; with every khutba the Imam would duly warn the flock of the awesome Hellfire that awaits those who would dare engage in bidaa.  Invariably the word is translated as “innovation.”  “Innovation” means more than just change; it implies change for the better, and thus something commendable and to strive for.  Bidaa obviously does not mean innovation; it is closer to corruption or adulteration, hence the dire warning against partaking in it!

My point here was to sensitize the students to the potential treacherous trap in interpreting the meaning of words especially where translations were involved.  Such dangers exist even without translations, as words can change their meanings and connotations over time.  During the prophet’s time for example, poets were held in low regard, as clearly stated in some Quranic verses, as they used their talent to mock the prophet.

Thus when a religious scholar quotes a verse from the Quran or hadith and then confidently assert with such certitude, “And the verse means … ,” that belies an arrogant mindset, impervious to reasons and intolerant of differing interpretations.  A more humble and also accurate way would be to add the proviso, “When approximately translated.”  Translations are at best approximate and provisional.

Our Prophet Muhammad, s.a.w., anticipated this erosion and corruption of the faith, as had happened to earlier revelations to other prophets before him.  Hence the Quranic references to the appearance of a “prophet amongst us every hundred years” to renew the faith by getting rid of the inevitable accretions of extraneous practices and beliefs that would inevitably develop over time.  “Prophet” here of course means “leader,” as to Muslims Muhammad, s.a.w, was the Last Prophet.

This concept of renewal or tajdid is a long established tradition in Islam.  However, we cannot have renewal if we remain a slave to precedents, or if we consider every change a bidaa or an affront to taqlid.  Islam has never been short of reformers, right from the first rightly-guided caliphs to the rationalists Mutazilites and many modern-day reformers.  Like reformers in other faith, some have paid dearly for their attempts.

America with its freedom provides fertile ground for the renewal of Islam.  America is also fortunate in having many brilliant Islamic scholars who have been driven away from their native land for their innovative ideas.  To their folks back home, these reformers are engaging in bidaa, a mortal sin.

We are also fortunate in America to have the freedom to explore the rich and varied traditions of our faith.  In Malaysia you could be detained under the ISA for reading Shiite literature!  To put that in perspective, that is the same punishment if you were to engage in subversive or communist activities.  Add to that the favorite past time of our leaders:  banning books and restricting speakers!  That ring through our noses can be very restricting!

What went Right

To end the students’ discussion on a positive note, I asked them to consider the flip side of their query, to ponder what went right.  I nudged them to imagine what would have happened had Islam not landed on our shores.

One student reacted with horror at that prospect as we would then still have our animist ways and Hindu beliefs.  At which point I enquired whether the Balinese (who are racially Malays) are somehow inferior to us because they are not Muslims.  Or for that matter the Protestant Bataks in Sumatra.

As that seemed to dampen the discussion, I volunteered that there are many things that went right with Islam and Malays.  Seeing it strictly from my professional perspective, I am glad that Malays are Muslims.  When I was a surgeon in Malaysia, I never saw a single case of alcohol-related injuries among Malays.  Before America had its strict drunk driving laws, a large part of my work as a surgeon was to repair the horrible damages wrecked by drunks.  In the Philippines, alcohol-related crimes and injuries are rampant.

I wish our Quran would have similar explicit prohibitions against drugs and corruption as it does against alcohol!

On a higher level, Islam introduced the written word to our world.  Once a society adopted a written culture, there is a quantum lap in its intellectual development.  Yes, before the arrival of Arabic Malays had Sanskrit, but that was a dead language.  Many of the ancient Malay literature are adaptations of stories from the Middle East, and our language borrows heavily from Arabic.

On that positive note we ended the discussion.  What went wrong is not with Islam rather how we have missed the essence of this great faith in our obsession with its peripherals.

written by OilMan, December 22, 2008 14:59:47
Islam does not belong to any race and especially not Malays. It is a universal religion that is practiced by all creations of God. Therefore, Malays does not necessarily mean that there are a superior race just because they are Muslims. There are many Muslim countries that are more advanced than Malaysia but the Malay race has somwhat lagged behind because there is just too much pampering from the government. A generation of racist Malays has been created with all the Ketuanan Melayu and Keris weilding thingy.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 16:00:30
Many see the country as synonymous with capital punishment.Whilst Saudi executioners did dispatch 39 people in 2006(compared with 53 in the USA and an estimated 7500 in China) many death sentences(105) were also overturned,Muslim scholars,citing aspects of law known as the"Pardon Provisions",work alongside a special "Pardon Committee" to encourage families of victims to forgive and pardon criminals who are facing execution.
written by Captain, December 22, 2008 16:11:14
I beg to know why such intellectual discussions on Islam can be held only overseas and in christian ruled countries. Why everytime when such intellectual discussions are to be held locally, must there be threats of ISA, riots, amok, etc etc??
written by InEffective, December 22, 2008 17:30:36

thank you for allowing us a window into the thinking, ideas, and deliberations.

always good to see self-introspection - hope that leads to positive enlightenment and problem solving.
written by Fairminded, December 22, 2008 22:23:45
Enche Bakri Musa did make a break through, and that is able to discuss Islam and race openly, although only amongst UMNO Malay students. He is right in regarding the too much emphasis and Arabization of Malay muslims. However, the premise of the discussion is not condusive to the progress of muslim - and that is the superiority of Islam over all religions. Let's face it. God made man and man made all the religions. Muslims have to accept that Islam is just one way of worshipping God. Muslims used to be great scientists but now, if you take away all the non Muslims or "Kafirs'" inventions muslims will have to live in a cave and ride camels. I do hope that muslims in Malaysia can realize that theirs is just one religion and they will have to live the essence of Islam which is no different from the essence of all other religion. If you reduce all religion to their basic tennets, they are all the same. The forms of practise always carry some cultural dimensions of its founder, and in the case of Islam, it is Arabic ,in the case of Judeo -Christianity, the Jewish cultural and Buddhism, the Hindu culture, Taoism the Chinese culture. Free all religions from their cultural dimensions of their founders, they are all basically the same. So leave the superiority and exclusiveness of being a muslim, learn to live and work as equals with us kafirs, and you will learn that there is such a thing as humanity.
written by tom73my, December 22, 2008 22:43:44
Support. Enough forms, more substance.
written by ssathia, December 23, 2008 07:29:06
Critical thinking based on assumptions, propaganda and beliefs and not facts does not lead anyone to anywhere substantive. If Bakri could pay attention to wholesome facts gathered from multiple sources as they happened instead of fiction, he might see the truth. Chances are that given the environment he is in, he would not be allowed to do so, even if he wants to.
written by Concerned Malaysian, December 23, 2008 08:39:51
I agree with fairminded on;

"Let's face it. God made man and man made all the religions. Muslims have to accept that Islam is just one way of worshipping God"

Are we saying that Malays being Muslism are superior in their faith, does Islam propogates discrimination among races? I do hope that muslims in Malaysia and globally can realize that their religion is just one religion among the many! Are you saying you know more than the creator?If he or whatevr name that you call wanted only one religion he would have done that but that is not the reality. So leave the superiority and exclusiveness of being a muslim, learn to live and work as equals with other believers and you will learn that there is such a thing as humanity. Rip off all the religion and what do you have " Humanity"!
written by AsamLaksa, December 23, 2008 08:57:15
Anything that purports to be perfect and do not need changes is far from perfection.

For a long time I believe that it's the fault of humans that screwed up the "Islamic" way. Now this sounds like a hollow excuse thus I'm stuck halfway between human fault and inherent teaching fault. It's easy to point fingers on humans which are inherently imperfect. To err is human. However perhaps it goes deeper than that. Perhaps we should look deeper. Perhaps The Prophet's teaching is sound but the books which He did not make is at fault. Who knows? As long we people are discouraged from criticising, you will get nowhere.

I do like to explore controversial questions. Bidaa? Perhaps (My parents use this word at home thus I know what it means but did not know where it comes from). To me right or wrong does not matter but I treasure is the freedom to explore before I can make any conclusions. If I am wrong, please guide me but don't stop me going anywhere.
written by Diz, December 23, 2008 11:48:31
BM is quite correct about the negativity of Islam practised here. I remember being shocked when I first arrived at how often I was told 'cannot, lah' in response to any comment that deviated from a rigid and unthinking view of Islam. The school system has successfully inculcated a form of blind obedience in matters of the faith that has been very detrimental in its impact on the way Malays think. I often wonder what would have happened if the Malay States had adopted Christianity (or any other religion) rather than Islam - a religion which seems to be at odds with the Malay culture and psyche.

Fairminded makes some even-handed points but he's being feeble-minded on this one: "Let's face it. God made man and man made all the religions." Perhaps we'd be better off if we accepted or at least understood that there is not a single piece of evidence (anywhere, in any discipline, in the history of the world) to support this contention. Obviously, man made god(s) - that's why there are so many of them! Wouldn't we all be better off if we celebrated the wonderful freedom and diversity of humanity (as well as the 'miracle' of creation) with the future rather than the past as a guide?
written by KotaDamansara73, December 23, 2008 17:45:03
"As that seemed to dampen the discussion, I volunteered that there are many things that went right with Islam and Malays. Seeing it strictly from my professional perspective, I am glad that Malays are Muslims. When I was a surgeon in Malaysia, I never saw a single case of alcohol-related injuries among Malays."

Bakri Musa,

You didn't stay long enough in Malaysia to witness how many Malay motorist got killed in MAt Rempit accident. So, please don't say ISlam is good. It hasn't bring any progress to any society in the world today.
written by Fairminded, December 23, 2008 21:18:43
Dear Mr./Ms. Diz, I must professed that in my old age I am indeed a little feeble minded. Yes, there is no evidence to support the contention that "GOD" created man if you anthromorphosize and interprete "GOD" as a benevolent man/lady ,but it could be very well be just a set of physical laws we do not understand. Suffice to say, neither do you have any evidence to the contrary that man is not created by "GOD". If you look at the evolution theory there still needed a beginning. Have you ever tried to revive a dead fish? Also, if you are a biochemist like me you will wonder how such an intricate structure like the DNA is and how it works can come randomly. If it is just by random mutation, it is comparable to asking a monkey to bang on a typewriter randomly to produce the novel "War and Peace". My suggestion is to have an open mind in order to understand how life comes about. Until it is proven otherwise, how life arises is still unknown, and creation, like evolution, is just another theory. You will have to prove it either way.
written by Diz, December 23, 2008 22:23:56
Hi Fair-minded - yes that was a touch snide. Apologies. It's just that religion brings out the worst in me, as it does in most people, apparently. Not your fault. To take your points one at a time:
1. How else can anthromorphs (like us) understand things other than anthropomorphically? We're unlikely to take a feline/canine/porcine view of things.
2. I agree with you if you mean 'god' is simply a metaphor to help the ignorant or feeble-minded understand a complex world - a set of physical laws we do not (as yet) understand. But then again he/she wouldn't be God but science.
3. On the contrary, there is plenty of evidence to suggest that God did not create man - I refer you to the last 500 years of scientific inquiry.
4. Don't get me started on evolution aka the chicken and egg conundrum - how can you be a biochemist and not subscribe to such basic science? Check out anything by Richard Dawkins on the subject.
5. Dead fish, monkeys, typewriters...you've lost me here.
6. On the onus of proof: if I declared to you that I believed in an extraterrestrial entity that told me what to do, how to behave, who to love and who to hate, surely it would be up to me to prove it to you. You wouldn't waste your time developing elaborate counter-arguments; you'd call the guys from Tanjong Rambutan.
7. Absolutely agree that an open mind (not an empty one) is important. And as we all know from bitter experience, religion is the mortal enemy of the open-minded.

Don't get me wrong - religion is endlessIy fascinating (I taught it for a few years in KL) - but I guess what I'm saying is that religious people are not automatically worthy of respect by virtue of their unsubstantiated beliefs in an unprovable deity. Pity perhaps; understanding certainly. But not respect. For sure, there are plenty of honest, decent religious people around but that's because they are decent and honest not because of illusory affiliations to an imaginary god (whichever one you happen to follow). I rather like Chris Hitchens' wager on this one - i.e. name any moral action that could be accepted or performed by a believer that could not also be performed by an atheist? Sound of collective head-scratching around the Klang Valley!

Selamat Hari Natal to all!!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 25, 2008 13:58:37
Encik Bakri,
I have said this over and over again. Islam as practiced in Malaysia is Islam ala UMNO or Islam ala PAS..these two are fighting to be more Islamic than the Arabs.

In doing this they are using the "Hell" as a tool to brow beat the Ummah to follow them. Again there is this hidden agenda..POWER PLAY. UMNO or PAS use this to ensure that the Malay support its political support, not one that is freely and convincingly believed. It is the fear of the Ulama and the Imam who curse and swear at the UMMAH if they are not followed. ( EXACTLY AS I SAID BEFORE..A RING AROUND THE NOSE TO ENSURE THEY REMAIN IN THE KANDANG). Muslims must be taught to believe in Allah with a pure and honest heart. Not the rituals like, ban on eating in Indian shops, cannot shake hands with someone of a different religion, cannot vist or eat in another person's house of a different faith, cannot have INTERFAITH TALKS, cannot discuss the problems of converts running away from a father's duty of taking care of the former wife and children, fighting for dead bodies,etc etc etc and issuing fatwas left right and center.( In Johore again the head of the religion is allowing a fatwa on Yoga...but what about murder..he allegedly murdered two people in his life time..you see the sense?? for such a crime he should not even be a ruler but should have stepped down))
It is confusing the Muslims and at the same time openly showing how hypocritical(MUNAFIQUE) Malays are in practising their faith as you have said..bribes, womanizing etc etc)
Christianity used this tool before..the fear of Hell..but the Christians have at least come to their senses to separate Christianity from politics..not totally but at least they can be challenged in many areas if it seems religious.The Courts can be used if someone feels his religious rights are being taken away or he or she is forced follow another. ( Over here and many Muslim countries ..you will be shot down or even killed)and as said rightly by you many Muslims suffer poverty and ill treatment from their own countrymen..and end up being slaves to the rich and powerful Muslims..there is no basic human rights.Worse still in countries like Pakistan and Yemen women are treated just like slaves to men.

it is interesting to note how some Malay restaurant owners treat Muslim Banglas. There is a case pending of how he was beaten up and his money and passport taken away unfairly. An NGO has taken up his case. The labour department found that he had a case againstt his employer. However now the Immigration department wants to deport him..so where is the justice???? Many Muslim immigrants are being held in camps..why get NGO's to fight their cases and most of the time these NGO's are religion blind Why can't the Malay Muslims rally around and help these migrants who have been brought in mostly because they are Muslims.

It goes to show the hypocrisy of ISLAM practiced by UMNO and PAS. Even the young are fed-up.
(case in point) Yesterday I witnessed something interesting. A young Malay girl approx 16-19..was riding a motor cycle carrying an Indian boy where I am staying. i was driving my family out about 2pm. This boy was playing with her openly placing his hands on her private parts and her breasts..than they turned into some flats around the corner)( Is this what we want??? Where have we gone wrong???Where have the Malays gone wrong???

written by TKAL, December 25, 2008 20:09:59
I strongly believe religion is a guidance for people to lead a good and healthy life. So, I am not sure whether the Muslim as in general being over-react of certain things or it is just the Malays or government of Malaysia trying to manipulate things for their own political benefits.

What is wrong with selling non-halal food or pork in a public place like hotel or food court? Muslim can choose not to eat those food. I do not see any complains from my vegetarian friends having their meals together with the non-vegetarian, Indian friends visiting nasi kandar stall or McD that serve beef. I have ever seen Dubai hotel serving pork.

Why killing a non-muslim is consider as the hero and shall be rewarded after life? Killing someone regardless of muslim or non-muslim is consider wrong no matter what reason is given.

Once again, religion is serve as a guideline for us and teach us to be good. Hence, we are not suppose to manipulate anything from the holy book or teaching and of course using religion as a political tool is a big NO NO.