Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The constantly grumbling Chinese

The constantly grumbling Chinese PDF Print
Monday, 22 December 2008 12:44

Some Chinese say they refuse to vote for PAS because they are worried that PAS may implement Islamic laws. But how can PAS implement Islamic laws when they will never have a two-thirds majority in Parliament?

Malays can sometimes be real assholes. But at least they are honest about it. Chinese can also sometimes be assholes as well. But they pretend to be something else whilst they are actually the opposite of what they pretend to be. In that sense the Chinese are hypocritical assholes. And this is where the Malays are better than the Chinese. The Malays are honest assholes while the Chinese are dishonest assholes.

Look at what MCA said yesterday. They want PKR and DAP to state their stand on the Hudud laws. But when Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad declared that Malaysia is already an Islamic state and therefore the Malays do not need PAS any more, MCA clapped and whistled just like trained seals in a circus.  MCA should have demanded that Umno states its stand on the Hudud laws the day Mahathir made his announcement. What about the government proposal on the Syariah laws? What has MCA go to say about the matter? Why no response? Why as silent as a church mouse?

Look at the petition to the King and the Sultans. The Malays keep a respectful silence when it comes to the Rulers. Except for a handful of Malays, the majority of the Malays do not drag the Rulers through the mud. And you do not need the Sedition Act for the Malays to show respect to the Rulers.

The Chinese, however, grumble that the Rulers are a waste of money. “Why do we need Rulers?” the Chinese argue. “It just costs us a lot of money to maintain a Monarchy. And the Rulers do not do anything to earn their salary.” But when we take the initiative to send petitions to the Rulers, these same Chinese will argue, “Why waste time with petitions? It is not like the Rulers will do anything.”

So what do the Chinese really want? When they perceive the Rulers as not taking any action, they grumble. But when we take the initiative to bring to the Rulers’ attention certain grievances of the rakyat, they also grumble. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Sometimes I get the impression that these Chinese get an orgasm by grumbling. Maybe it’s a fetish thing, sort of like kinky sex.

Look at the issue of free speech. When I whack the Malays, I am a great guy. I am open. I am fair. I am a person who allows and practices freedom of expression. But, when I whack the Chinese, I am a racist pig. Whacking Malays is good for the country and in the spirit of free speech. Whacking the Chinese is a negative thing and bad for the country’s future.

The Chinese do not believe in freedom of expression. They believe in the freedom to whack the Malays. And whacking the Chinese is not freedom of expression. It is racism.

Look at the issue of who to vote for in the elections. Barisan Nasional is evil. Barisan Nasional is Umno. The non-Malays have no say in Barisan Nasional. The non-Malays in Barisan Nasional are Umno’s running dogs. But we Chinese must vote for Barisan Nasional because it is a devil we know. Pakatan Rakyat may be an angel but it is an angel we don’t know. Better a devil we know than an angel we don’t know.

The Malays are split into four groups. There are the Malays who support Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy. These Malays will vote for Umno come hell or high water. And they will defend Ketuanan Melayu and the New Economic Policy with their six-inch keris to the death. Then there are the Malays who support PAS, basically because they believe it is the Islamic thing to do. Then there are Malays who want to see transparency, good governance, freedom of expression and assembly, independence of the judiciary, an end to abuse of power and corruption, an end to police brutality, and all those other ‘Western notions’. These Malays will vote for PKR. Then there are those Malays who don’t care a damn and think that all politicians are hypocrites and politics is sheer bullshit. They don’t bother to come out to vote or even to register as voters.

The Malays are clear in their leanings. They don’t hide their feelings. They say it as they see it and you can go to hell if you don’t like what they say for all they care. But you can’t say the same about the Chinese. They grumble and grumble till the cows come home. But they will do the exact opposite of how they feel. They equate Barisan Nasional as the reincarnation of the devil. But then they will vote for Barisan Nasional because it is the devil they know and the devil they know is better than an angel they don’t know.

Some Chinese say they refuse to vote for PAS because they are worried that PAS may implement Islamic laws. But how can PAS implement Islamic laws when they will never have a two-thirds majority in Parliament? PAS contested only 60 seats out of 222 Parliament seats. Then they went and won only 23 seats.

PAS needs about 150 seats in Parliament to change Malaysia from a Secular state into an Islamic state. But when they contest only 60 seats, even if they win all the 60 seats they contest it will still be only 60 seats. And they can’t win all the seats they contest. They can only win less than half the seats they contest. Where would PAS get the 150 parliament seats it requires?

The Chinese counter this argument by saying that PAS can always team up with Umno to form an Islamic state. So better we vote for Barisan Nasional than vote for PAS. This will prevent PAS from teaming up with Umno to change Malaysia into an Islamic state.

Again, this argument does not make sense. If you refuse to vote for PAS because you are scared that PAS will team up with Umno to change Malaysia into an Islamic state, would voting for Umno instead of PAS prevent this? I mean; you are scared of a PAS-Umno alliance. So you refuse to vote for PAS and instead vote for Umno. Does this mean the alliance will not happen if this is what you suspect is going to happen? You are just transferring from the right pocket to the left pocket. The sum total still remains the same.

You transfer your vote from PAS to Umno. One seat less for PAS means an additional seat for Umno. Or you transfer your vote from Umno to PAS. One seat less for Umno means an additional seat for PAS. You are merely ding-donging from PAS to Umno and vice versa. Therefore, if PAS and Umno form an alliance, would not the number of ‘Malay’ seats total the same? How does ‘robbing’ PAS of one seat and giving that seat to Umno have any impact if PAS and Umno form an alliance?

Now, if Umno and DAP are face-to-face in that constituency and you vote for DAP instead of Umno, then this would make a difference. And if PAS faces MCA or Gerakan in that constituency and you vote for MCA or Gerakan, this too would make a difference. Then you are not giving the seat to either PAS or Umno; you are giving it to DAP or MCA or Gerakan. But DAP will face MCA or Gerakan, not Umno, while it is PAS that is facing Umno. So you either vote for PAS or Umno. There is no DAP to vote for. DAP is fighting MCA or Gerakan.

Anyway, PAS has 23 seats in Parliament. Umno has 66. Even if you add Umno Sabah into the equation, Umno’s seats will come to only 79. 23 plus 66 equals 89. Add the 13 Umno Sabah seats and it still comes to only 102. 102 of 222 comes to less than 50% because 50% of 222 is 111.

So you are scared that PAS will betray us and team up with Umno. But if they do that they still do not have the two-thirds they need to change Malaysia into an Islamic state. In fact, they do not even have 50% of the seats. How do you, therefore, reconcile the ‘logic’ that you vote for Barisan Nasional instead of Pakatan Rakyat to prevent PAS from teaming up with Umno? But this is Chinese ‘logic’ for whatever it is worth.

Chinese demand mother-tongue education. They argue that vernacular schools offer better education than national schools. Many Chinese go to Chinese schools while Malays go to national schools, although some Malays do go to Chinese schools. But Malays can rationalise better than the Chinese can. Chinese may be better at mathematics. That I don’t deny. But those Malays who are supposed to be weak in mathematics can count better than the Chinese. The Malays know that 23 plus 79 equals 102. And the Malays know that 50% of 222 is 111. The Chinese don’t know this in spite of the fact they are better at mathematics than the Malays.

No, the Chinese are not poor in mathematics. They are not even stupid. They are in fact quite clever and, at times, cleverer than the Malays. It is just that the Chinese like to grumble. The Chinese are constantly grumbling. And they will raise all sorts of grievances -- the Malays this, the Malays that, the Chinese are second-class citizens, the Chinese are unfairly treated, the Malays are mean to the non-Malays, without the Chinese Malaysia would never have developed, Malaysia is what it is because of the Chinese, and so on and so forth. But ask them to act on their grievances and the Chinese will offer a million lame excuses why they will vote Barisan Nasional instead of Pakatan Rakyat.

You can’t get the job because you have no experience and the job specifications stipulate they require at least three years experience. But how to get experience when you can’t get a job? That is called ‘Catch 22’. The Chinese refuse to vote opposition because, according to the Chinese, the opposition does not have a track record in government whilst Barisan Nasional has 51 years experience. But how will the opposition build up its track record or prove what it can do if it never gets to form the government? That is also called ‘Catch 22’.

Maybe the Chinese can answer this question. But their answer will be the typical: better a devil you know than an angel you don’t know. And then, after voting for Barisan Nasional, the Chinese will go on grumbling about how unfairly they have been treated by Umno, and that the non-Malay parties in Barisan Nasional are Umno running dogs, etc., etc., etc. And the Chinese are supposed to have received a better mother-tongue education than the Malays.

You could have fooled me.

Comments (229)Add Comment
written by rajaphillips, December 22, 2008 12:53:54
Pete, you are great! You call a spade a spade. But I must say that the Chinese have now [after March 08] changed a lot. They are now on the verge of mass ceossover esp when they can see people like Kit Siang so sincere and unwavering in his principles, Guan Eng performing so well for Penang. The Chinese are definitely moving over to PR - slowly but surely. Anwar uas done a good job.
disagree 24
agree 538
written by carribeanking7, December 22, 2008 12:58:17
Yup I know ....on another thread I "tolded" them, cannot wan, 148 seats minimum, to ratify hudud law, that too if all the 148 mustpass the vote for hudud law. 40% of Malaysians non-Mulslim , about the same chance as Iran becoming catholic country. But then Ahmad Neil- applied to Hadi Awang for the job of "hand chopper" then everybody panicked
written by krising1, December 22, 2008 13:01:21
It is PKR and DAP which should stop making a fuss. Every time PAS makes such claim, all they have to say is "Yes, you can. If we support you and you know our stand". Enough.

On the education issue, the solution is simple. Have Malay schools, Chinese, Indian schools and English schools. The only condition is that in non-Malay schools, Bahasa Malaysia is a mandatory second subject. If they fail Bahasa, they fail the whole exam. A third or fourth and even fifth language is optional. Parents will have to pay for this extra.

Then let us see if the parents enroll their children in schools with the child's future in mind or in schools where they want to preserve their language and culture. This is the simplest solution. No one will have any grounds to complain.

In Singapore, with this type of system, Chinese schools went out of fsahion. They don't exist in any shape or form.
disagree 91
agree 171
written by ralverd, December 22, 2008 13:02:44
Unfortunately, what RPK says here is quite true. Being a Chinese myself, I do admit that some of us are prone to be hypocrites. Some of us yellow-skin fellas have been whacking UMNO for decades, but come election time they cast their ballots for BN. And sadly, rather than opting for change, some choose to simply talk the walk. Maybe this post would slap some sense into some of us. We deserve the government that we vote for, so no grumbling please.
agree 358
written by apasalahku, December 22, 2008 13:04:46
Dear RPK

Be a PAS apologist if u like but don't be pathetic. The argument "how can PAS implement Islamic laws when they will never have a two-thirds majority in Parliament?" is silly.

The crux of the matter is that non-Muslims does NOT want Islamic laws; whereas PAS does. Its manifesto does correspond to the majority of Malaysians and therefore cannot be in the ruling coalition.

Would you let a robber who's declared his intention to rob you near your family just because he currently does not possess any weapons to do so?

disagree 173
agree 256
written by Motherchell, December 22, 2008 13:04:58
Chinese feeings with regard to this has been distorted by the MSM-- to impinge into thinking that they are against Pas? If one takes the logic of the PP results we know the fact as said not true.
The prime fact is to see a union of laws that is good for all. Even YB LKS speeches and retorts were taken amis and pushed to the slopes of fear by the devil on the other side .
UMNO's ammunition is the slip of words and the items lost in translation.
No way they will have that food for thought . UMNO will never be given that gap .
PAS for sure need not worry! The years of living together and the minorities hold proof of the chinese wholehearted support!This Unity cannot be broken !Pas has the best and learned Leaders and my confidence is wholesome! The Devil on the other side will play fiddle ! Lets ignore it !
written by Rashid, December 22, 2008 13:05:38
Pete, this is exactly what Malay intellectual Dr Bakri Musa talked about recently when he said some Chinese and their leaders are no different from Umno as they always stand up to their feet and grumble about the "racism" in Umno while engaging in the same and giving the petty AMNO leaders enough amunition to shoot them again. For example, Lim Kit Siang has already blogged about the Hudud thing and he says Husam should explain this and that. Now, I don't understand him on this. You see, Husam made a "forced" statement in the sense that Khinzir Jahanam (KJ) taunted that PAS was only interested in Hudud laws during elections and if it was otherwise, then he should state it now that PAS was always committed to the Hudud laws, so Husam answered that PAS was indeed committed and it wasn't using Islamic laws for political expediency. Now, how does Husam explain that? And how would the Chinese, even their voters in KT get fearful when PAS only contests 60 seats and wins less than half of that? If the Chinese voters need 'political' pronouncements, then the Malays need too and Husam was also appealing to the Malay heartland specially in KT and that should be understood by all. This reactionary mentality that thrives in bizzare reactions that baffle even toddlers should STOP immediately. Don't fall for the trap of BerUMNO...oops, bernama and know your priorities very well.
agree 130
written by malgal, December 22, 2008 13:09:45
Start by behaving like Malaysian Chinese not Chinese Chinese.
disagree 19
agree 180
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 13:11:24
apasalahku, you have just helped prove what I wrote in my article. Thank you so much.
disagree 42
written by clarity, December 22, 2008 13:19:52
Not only hypocrites, the chinese are also champions for making excuses. So by making excuses they don't have to do anything except grumble.
disagree 39
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 13:19:56
But ya lah,most of the chinese are confused by the bloody umno and umno propaganda are more effective through RTM and all those toilet papers like Utusan.That's why the chinese is so scare of PAS.
But not we have MT and all the alternative medias,so now the chinese are not scare anymore.In fact they are openly challenging umno like joining the vigils,demanding that umno act against that Racist Ahmad Ismail for shouting 'squatter' to the chinese.
And another thing is the 8,000 strong chinese voters in Trengganu have openly swear that they will vote PAS.
So I can fully assure you all that the chinese nowadays are different from yesteryears.They have more guts now!
agree 255
written by Kuda Belang, December 22, 2008 13:22:31
How much worse can the governance of Malaysia go when we have murderers, liars and thieves calling the shot. It is time to get rid of the devils and develop some trust for the angels.
written by karyeowl, December 22, 2008 13:24:00
Dear RPK

Welll said. Chinese just like to grumble. Everything must be to their advantage. Chinese = "Teang Lang" = literally means "longer" or gain more than others.

Most Malaysia Chinese (maybe true also for Singaporean Chinese... watch Money No Enough 2) just like to complain. Complain this and complain that. If they complaint, ask them to give suggestion or changes, they can't do it. They just love to complain.

Everyone knows corruption is quite high in Malaysia. Those days we have the Ali Baba, and Baba are the ones who like easy way out, and buy their way through. Now Ali is getting very smart, and wanted more from Baba.... Too bad, c'est la vie.

I am a Malaysia of Chinese descent. I do not send my children to Chinese school. I send them to Sek Kebangsaan. Other languages that are very important too like English, Mandarin, Japanese, French etc. If our National school can provide such learning, it would be real great. Other, we shall find our means to nurture our children.
disagree 34
written by clarity, December 22, 2008 13:27:28
Start by behaving like true Malaysian Chinese not Chinese Chinese.
written by mick_err_stan, December 22, 2008 13:27:52
RPK

You hit it on the nail again. Your article reminds me of my family members. They grumble but in the end, they will vote for BN. During family get together, we will grumble about short comings and corruption but they always end up voting BN. However when I introduce MT to them they have change and become more awzare. The last election all my family members voted for the opposition.

They have now become more vocal than me. I know receive articles with their opinion on issues and they are even emailing to friends. Their coffee shop talk with friends now favours the opposition. Yes, there is a tide of change. They have even stop subscribing to newspaper and now get news from the internet.

However they are still many out there that grumble and still vote for BN. There is nothing more powerful than word of mouth. To family members, to friends, to neighbour.....and many other opportunity.....it's spreading and I'm sure the next election the majority of the non malays will vote for the opposition. We should not be Chinese Chinese but Malaysian Chinese !!!!!!
agree 182
written by johntyc, December 22, 2008 13:28:09
I see the logic. Hope other Chinese see it too. Those components in BN are traitors to their own race and to all Malaysian. PAS is not perfect, but it is still way better than Umno! Do not believe anything that 马卖华 said.

p.s. Dear MT, pls don't edit the Chinese character. This comment intended for Chinese sceptics!
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 13:29:54
MCA clapped and whistled just like trained seals in a circus.

Of course,this bloody MCA is umno's lapdog so its has to listen to it's master.You see this Ong Tee Kiat,the bus conductor,when he was MCA youth chief,he was barking like hell,as if the thieves was after its balls.But now with its tail between it's two legs,he is quietly sneaking up to umno to be leashed and tied to the doors of umno building.
The chinese have all deserted him and he only have a few old useless guys from the chinese associations,who are still supporting his balls ,hoping that OTK will give them some stale bread.
To hell with MCA,just hearing MCA name sent shivers down your spine.God damn MCA!
agree 140
written by jeffrey3005, December 22, 2008 13:30:40
Hi i'm a Malaysian Chinese and i totally agree what Pete had written. The Malaysian Chinese are actually not bothered cos to them the most important thing in their mind is to "cari makan" only.
Its time to change their mindset and start thinking of ONE ie we all all Malaysians, 1 country 1 dream ..the piece of cake out there is for all to be distributed fairly..no discrimination and equally shared.
My only wish is we can all live harmoniously and peacefully together as one bangsa ie BANGSA MALAYSIA.
agree 143
written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 13:32:44
Chinese are kiasu and kiasi (don't want to lose and takut mati scare of dying). MCA, GERAKAN just tanam lah (bury straight 6 ft under). I don't blame them. they are under the shackles of UMNO. Besides, many MCA/GERAKAN also ada gila masuk (benefitted) how I dunno lah. Must cover their dishonest. UMNO also pandai like P Ramlee movie 'UMNO take 50cents, MCA take 20cents' win win mah.

So stupid UMNO wears red and MCA white you see any chinese funeral procession all wear white. So mati lah MCA. Last time, Chinese Malaysians fearful of UMNO and specifically PAS. You know Gua Musang in Kelantan? The biggest Buddhist temple of South East Asia in Gua Musang. Many peoples know. Chinese value their lives above anything.they actually will see their mothers for their flight of survival (minta ampun yah). Banyak Kia Si. Not boh kia si.

Many wealthy chinese will buy second home elsewhere it is an open secret. Flight for safety in case any emergency happens or oh my second vacation home mah! My money my suka lah. Many rich chinese are not loyal to Malaysia. They only openly declare but give them a real life threatening situation, they will flee this country. Why so soh? Why so silly? Stay back and fight? Not worth it. If I can afford it.have a winter home in England, a summer home in Martha's Vineyard, a tropical home in Malaysia, a autumn home in New Zealand.so what?
disagree 23
written by Oscar Winner, December 22, 2008 13:36:09

The older Chinese kampung folks have been misled by MCA and Gerakan for umpteen years. These are the folks who will grumble yet give their vote to BN. PR will have to work harder to wake them up. But most of the younger set don't grumble. They are well-read and do not trust the mainstream toilet papers. They walk their talk by joining or voting PR.
agree 142
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 13:39:00
But you can’t say the same about the Chinese. They grumble and grumble till the cows come home.

This is what your wife Marina Lee does,she grumbles until you comes home and now she is all quiet.Good job,Marina!
My wife also grumbles but the Ketuanan Lembu never comes home.
agree 125
written by chelsea, December 22, 2008 13:39:13
I could understand you your intention of writing this article. However, as a Chinese who had left the countries for 2 decades, I can share with you that Malaysia harps too much on racial issues rather than economic and technology growth, which comprises mainly on mathematics and sciences.

What goes around comes around! Malaysian top scholars, the majority comprise of the Chinese and Indians, had left the countries and more will follow suit because they were not recognized by the Malays, in general, in Malaysia. As a consequences, Malaysia has lost a heap lots of brainy individuals over the last 20-30 years! No disrespect to any individual reading this post of mine, but our children born in foreign land inherited our genes and did us proud excel in their academic qualifications, especially Maths and Science.

Had only the ruling government way back in the 70's and 80's, especially the UMNO who were and still are, predominantly the active lawmakers of Malaysia, strive on competitiveness and set their long-term goals and the growth objectives; these bunch of incompetence leaders would have recognized the importance of education and the changing global demands, way back in the 70's (when Malaysia is regard on par with Singapore and not too far off the South Korean) and have had adopted the "color-blind policy" by treating everyone on equal terms by fair play irregardless of race, skin color or religion, I believe Malaysia will not have bred so many "authorized extremists" today!
disagree 21
agree 181
written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 13:40:45
And a spring (Printemps) condo in Paris..why not? Lupa.
written by Msian Idol3, December 22, 2008 13:41:46
Pete, I am Chinese & I like what you wrote. Its the truth. When I was living overseas, I got so tired of mixing with people of my race especially recent immigrants. They are always complainning & when you ask them to stand up to be counted, they all disappear with lame excuses. Another issue that bothers me is they are bloody busy body like how many A's you son/daughter get-lah. Really pisses me off. Anyway Pete -- very well done to goreng the Chinese. If they want a better Msia, they better stand up & be counted and kick out MCA.
agree 161
written by DamnPekcek, December 22, 2008 13:44:22
Being a chinese, i'm not really concern if my state adapt hudud law, as i do not do anything wrong against the law. I think the UMNO ppl will really concern their hand chopped off, for taking corrupted money!!
agree 169
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 13:44:34
chelsea, you are talking about the symptoms of the disease. I am talking about the cause of the disease. How do you cure the disease by treating the symptoms and not the cause? Get my drift? So, go leave the country and settle in a foreign land, and continue to grumble. We, who stayed behind, will work towards changing this country while you just remain a foreigner in a foreign land.
disagree 20
agree 116
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 13:47:24
So with this the malays feel better now ,after RPK bashed the chinese.The Special Branch will not accuse RPK of only bashing the malays.So RPK is damn fair now.The malays are happy to their bones.
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 13:48:51
ahmadneil, who says she is now quiet. She still grumbles, but with me instead. Keeps telling me not to write anything that will, again, get me sent to jail. But she knows I still will. Sigh.....how nice and quiet it was in Kamunting. Can't wait to get back there.
disagree 18
written by non conformist, December 22, 2008 13:50:45
"You transfer your vote from PAS to Umno. One seat less for PAS means an additional seat for Umno. Or you transfer your vote from Umno to PAS. One seat less for Umno means an additional seat for PAS. You are merely ding-donging from PAS to Umno and vice versa. Therefore, if PAS and Umno form an alliance, would not the number of ‘Malay’ seats total the same? How does ‘robbing’ PAS of one seat and giving that seat to Umno have any impact if PAS and Umno form an alliance?"

That is why I said Anwar's claim about the right mix of MP frogs jumping ponds is just a bull shit! Whatever the mix, there would always be a majority of Malay MPs from BN and Pakatan in the Parliament.

So, if Anwar did really have the number, he should just educate the Malays that political powers would always be in the hand of the Malays because they will always have the majority in the Parliament.
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 22, 2008 13:51:48
Salam Pete,

Hope the Chinese prove their worth next GE.
written by Danne, December 22, 2008 13:54:58
Make no mistake. I've changed and shall not work with the devil we know but rather, give the angel a chance to prove his worth.
written by patycy, December 22, 2008 13:57:01
xMNO sold Malaysian for their own gains. MIC/MCA repackaged Malaysian again, and resell Malaysian over and over again, and still can ask you to defend your rights under their coalition.

MCA is the worst bunch of Malaysians. Those MCA linked cronies are bloody rich ass who won't give a shit bout the well being of Malaysia. Their kids were mostly graduated overseas, probably even gotten PR in those countries.

I rather put my trust in PAS than MCA.
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, December 22, 2008 14:00:54
dear Pete:
u don't understand the Chinese fear:
1. The fear of not being allowed to "drink and get drunk"
2. The fear of not being allowed to "patronize nite club and brothel"
3. THe fear of not being allowed to "gamble till the family is completely broken"
4. THe fear of not being allowed to "kiss and hug" in public
5. The fear of not being allowed to "buy porn VCD" in malaysia
6. THe fear of not being allowed to "to commit adultery"
7. The fear of not being allowed to "wear bikini and sexy clothes"
8. The fear of seeing too many handicapped in Malaysia as many arms chopped off, many legs lopped off!!!

I am a Chinese Christian and voted for PAS for many reasons:
1. I wrote to our government (not reply yet) and challenged UMNO to close down GENTING, 4D, TOTO, Magnum and horse-racing. The Unislamic government of Umno is using gambling to suck Chinese money to fatten the "FEW"...PAS is good and wants to help Chinese by promising to "stop" gambling in Malaysia. Chinese are stupid and keep on giving $ to Umno for "gambling" opportunities in Malaysia.
2. Stop selling liquor and alchohol, go ahead and implement it lest Chinese and Indian brains get destroyed by beer, wine and liquor!!! PAS loves us by having a more stringent criteria of selling alchohol...the more u drink, the more stupid u become and the younger u die!
3. We don't need night club and brothel.
4. It is good that we have hudud law to be first implemented on our cabinet ministers and civil servants, i have written to PAS to first implement it on civil servants, no reply yet.(chop off their hand before ours).

orang cina, bodoh lah...
disagree 66
agree 179
written by AuntyG, December 22, 2008 14:01:36
Right on ... thanks for hantaming the Chinese and keep on hantaming till the cows come home! Grumble more than do ... but you gotta understand also, this kind of 'selfish' mentality is bcos of the game of survival over the generations .... but still, we need to be smacked and whacked now and again ....

As for MCA especially, agree your term "dishonest arseholes" describe them exactly. Why MCA ... I rather vote for hudud PAS than for you lapdog MCA .. if at all, your thieving limbs may be chopped off and fed to the dogs!!!
written by arazak, December 22, 2008 14:03:42

Your analysis of the Chinese is correct. That is why Gerakan and MCA is still in the BN coalition. They grumble what UMNO is doing (like the ISA issue) but they still stick to their master.

But than Pete, the Malays too like to grumble. I have seen Malay kampong folks grumble about the increasing cost of living expenses and the cost of sending their children to schools. And oh my . . , they grumble like a "belukang" (a kind of catfish). But when an UMNO bigshot visited their Kampong, they threw a lavish "kenduri". They should have instead threw their shoes to the UMNO bigshot like what the Iraqi journalists did to George Bush! . . ., err, better still they should have thrown their 1/2 kilo "trompah" to the UMNO bigshot instead of grumble, grumble and more grumble!
agree 124
written by evaangel, December 22, 2008 14:04:32
Good on you Pete. Malaysian chinese are plagued by 'tan chiak' (cari makan) mentality. As long as they can tan chiak they keep their head down and don't make a fuss. Now it's getting harder to do that so they are starting to grumble - but that's as far as it goes... mention Candlelight vigil etc and down the heads go again.
The only reason why I can be so vocal is because I don't live in Malaysia the anonymity of the internet. Thus I have the freedom to express my thoughts louder than just hushed angry whispers behind closed doors. Course this doesn't exclude them for picking me up at the airport ala Namewee.
Chinese people do have 2 faces - the one we show others (to avoid trouble) and the real one underneath (that grumbles). Bah we are such a passive aggresive race!
But then again, I am generalising.
I guess the take home message at the end of the day really is - enough words. You can debate about the crappiness of the government till the cows come home. Time to do something. Even if it is something that is perceived to be ineffectual. Easy to criticise, harder to take the initiative right? The hard work should not be borne by a small group alone. Sure they can arrest a few people at each gathering - but what if thousands came? Sure, a petition can be easily ignored - but what if there was an overwhelming number of signatories? Wouldn't it look bad to ignore the requests of a few hundred thousand people?
I'm with RPK - pull your fingers out and participate to improve on your living conditions or shut up and bear it.
written by AuntyG, December 22, 2008 14:05:15
Dear Pete again,
I forgot to add ... thanks for hantaming the Chinese .... OUCH, I fell the smack
but keep on the whack ... okidoki
rgds, AuntyG
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, December 22, 2008 14:10:38
Dear Pete:
You're wrong! the chinese love the monarch so much and we will never allow Malaysia to become a Republic...
It's a prestige and honor to be bestowed upon Datukships and Tan Sriships, eh, these titles must be dished out by established monarchs and wealthy Chinese are crazy for it.
I love the Sultan of Johor ...he is a great man! Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku!!!
written by adamckteh, December 22, 2008 14:10:55
Your good intentions of writing of your heart are appreciated by all walks of lives. Spray your gun and spare no one, not even our future PM to be.
Any thing you say and write I feel good.
written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 14:11:05
I no trust PAS. I only trust in oppossition..whatever the party may be. One taxi driver also told me the ex-MCA Ah Ling LS..ada Rumah in Hong Kong! Wah..a house in HKG you know?? How true i dunno lah.

MCA is a L.A.N. More like L.A.N.L.E.S.S. But I don't blame them. Sow what you reap. Maybe not now..but surely will come..Always got pou-ying one.

I agreed. Many smart Chinese left the country. Again..the flight of survival and opportunitism. You want to survive and then build your dreams. You can't build it here..build it elsewhere. So, why not that 4 season homes. If you are damn good..you can make it anywhere in this world. As do to other races..not only the chinese.

written by Angela Ooi, December 22, 2008 14:13:34
Dear Raja Petra, what time did you sleep last night? This article sure took a full cigar - I will get you a few more cigars soon. Thanks for clearing the cobwebs of doubt on PAS and the hudud issue and the numbers equation. This article will be mailed to my friend asap.
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 14:25:36
Dear Angela, I left soon after you did, about 2.00am. Anyway, great date we had last night. Gota meet up again soon for another 'hot' night :-)
written by Running Sardines, December 22, 2008 14:26:55
Dear RPK

You are absolutely right. The problem with the so-called typical Chinese is that they dare not take the step of faith although they can count. It is only the Malaysian Chinese who are not kiasee (takut mati)as they know that Pakatan Rakyat will bring more positive changes than BN ... one way or another as it is a check and balance kind of situation.

Thank you once again for this reminder and may God bless & protect you always.
written by cahaya, December 22, 2008 14:31:04
Dear RPK, You have made some sweeping statements about the Chinese in Malaysia. All of us have Chinese friends. We know many of them are not like the Chinese you describe. From your arguments, it is obvious you did not mean the general Chinese population. In your first few paragraphs, you were pointing to the leaders of MCA, Chinese leaders who have been very inconsistent in voicing out what their Chinese members want from UMNO.

While it is true that “some Chinese say they refuse to vote for PAS because they are worried that PAS may implement Islamic laws.”, this is because of a lack of education in the issue. Here you meant the politically naïve Chinese. They are among other simple Malaysians who have never been informed that PAS must obtain a two-thirds majority in Parliament before it can implement Islamic laws. A significant number of Malaysians (not just Chinese) mistakenly think that it is possible for a state government to implement Islamic law, simply by obtaining a simple majority in the state assembly. Some Malaysians are ignorant that Islamic law only applies to Muslims and not to Malaysians of other faiths.

You have every right to whack the Chinese, Malays, Indians, Dayaks, orang asli, etc. You say you lead them to water and force them to drink, in process cause a few to drown. Perhaps you should consider a different approach, that of making Malaysians extremely thirsty (through your wonderful stories, encouraging friends to host dialogue sessions, voter education during campaigning, etc) that Malaysians would naturally crave for a drink . . . of good water (good governance) !

written by Foong, December 22, 2008 14:32:16
You are dead correct. Personally I haven't given a damn vote to BN all my voting life. The truth is like what you mentioned as each general election nears a lot of us Chinese will cast doubts regarding voting for opposition parties. A lot of selfish thinking and very shameful.
written by Steven Tan, December 22, 2008 14:32:17

You are absolutely rite Chinese like to practice "GIVE AND TAKE POLICY" but they ALWAYSSSS will be at the "TAKE Side" and prefer others to be at "GIVE Site" What you think?
written by maisur, December 22, 2008 14:36:01
easy...

if you don't like PAS, vote for UMNO. and if you want PAS to drop its islamic state ideology before you support them, then bear witness that i (and million other muslims in malaysia) would want DAP to drop their secular notion before i support them. tell your big brothers ie LKS, LGE, KS etc. no way i will vote for DAP in jelutong if they keep harping on the secular ideology!

and as RPK said voting against PAS means a vote for UMNO, not a vote for DAP or MCA or Gerakan or PKR. aiya...is it so difficult to understand that? furthermore, hudud and islamic law is only meant for muslims, why non-muslims so kecoh? what do you feel if i say that chinese schools should be banned as they are the source of social segregation? for goodness sake i won't do that as it is your right and it has nothing to do with me!

so, go on. if the 10,000 odd chinese in KT are stupid enough, please vote against PAS. i don't loose much as my kids and i will still benefit from the NEP but you guys (read the big headed minority) will be the biggest loosers
disagree 30
written by InEffective, December 22, 2008 14:38:23
indeed well said - well whacked.

whack as more more as is needed (without fear or favor) until we get good governance by somebody (don't care what race, religion, color, sex, or even outsourced).

written by truegrid, December 22, 2008 14:39:14
SPOT ON!
find me a country in the world where a group that makes up a quarter of the population has so little political voice. We have traded real political participation for being left alone to make money, even if at the cost of corrupting the government. Just leave us alone to make money. Well we deserve our marginal status if that is the case. We have made a tradeoff fit for fattened farmyard animals, not for citizens: preferring the stomach to the heart.
High time the Chinese community got more critical about the part they play in their own subordination. One question to ask would be: would a Korean, or Jewish, or Irish immigrant community have made this kind of tradeoff?
We're bloody grumblers without the balls for real action.
Pete, you're the only one who can 'cucuk' the community like this. You have the credibility to provoke us to look at ourselves in the mirror. It's not a pretty sight.

written by KC Chin, December 22, 2008 14:40:48
1st. Malay kena hantam.
2nd. Now, the chinese kena hantam.
3rd. Article, the Indian kena hantam.
4th. Article, the Sabahan and Sarawakian kena hantam.
5th. Article, we kena hantam kuat-kuat by RPK for giving too many excuse not turning up on Sunday.
written by temenggong, December 22, 2008 14:46:23
I'm tired of the people grumbling and complaining about the rulers when all they were trying to do was stay above politics as that is their part of the bargain. All this abuse is just too much to take. Besides the chinese still don't know how to count inspite of the abacus!!

So I am going to see the Agong right now and complain about the needless abuse from the rakyat. I'll tell (his Majesty) to impose an Emergency for good measure and ban all those race based parties and ban the abacus. No one can stop me now. I've decided!
written by Penang sultan, December 22, 2008 14:49:41
Hi RPK

What you said is very true. But this is also how the Chinese or our ancestors survived for thousands of years...Historically, the Chinese in old China were exploited, made to become slaves, pay high taxes by their government and etc. They never get helped by their own government and yet they survived. I must say that the Malaysian Chineses inherited this distinct characteristic from their ancestors and it must have been ingrained in their DNA. And grumbling is one of the surviving instinct in their blood. Even among Chinese, they will tell their friends or relatives, "you will always grumble on your difficult condition, but never seen you fall or die".

My solute to you RPK...you have just displayed how much you understood the chinese as to how Mahathir understood the Malays as written in "The Malays Dilemma"....

Penang Sultan
written by crayon, December 22, 2008 14:49:52
it would be unfair to say the Chinese do not vote for PAS, but vote for UMNO, because they can also vote for DAP. and besides, all stinking politicians can do all they want but they don't represent everyone of the community, because according to you Pete, that everyone is the same as the stinking politician running THIS country, then every Malaysian is a liar and numbskull.
written by carribeanking7, December 22, 2008 14:52:35
Ah yes KC Chin quite true, I await the article "constantly whining Indians"......
I did one before Mar 08 and got hantam-ed for stating some facts.
When anyone complains of justice denied they must first do what they can,
not wait for things to fall on their laps.
Before we scream of racial discrimination we must first cure ourselves of the bigotted tendencies we ourselves harbor.

written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 14:59:45
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 13:48:51
ahmadneil, who says she is now quiet. She still grumbles, but with me instead. Keeps telling me not to write anything that will, again, get me sent to jail. But she knows I still will. Sigh.....how nice and quiet it was in Kamunting. Can't wait to get back there.

She is a damn Iron Lady and we all would be very glad to have one like her.She will look after everything,from A to Z ,when you get lock away.How nice it's for you to say you would like to go back to Kamunting but it wouldn't be nice for us on the outside.Run through your MT comments while you are in Kamunting.It's like a time bomb waiting to explode.Everyone is high tempered and the words used are just like your.Anyway well written about the chinese.God blessing will be continuous!
written by yapsir, December 22, 2008 15:00:50
I just hope and pray that we the chinese are growing out of the fear of loosing things.We the chinese need to grow up,to see a new Malaysia to come.
Not all the chinese are still sleeping,some have woke after 308.
Some are bed-ritten,can't and refuse to get up.just let them be.
More need to be waking up too.For our children and our future Malaysia.
Lets'do the talk.
RPK's message is a wake up call.Thank You YM RPK.

written by Liberace, December 22, 2008 15:03:03

If you wanna understand the Chinese mind, read "The True Story of Ah Q". There is no translation for "kiasu" and "kiasi". It's a Chinese thing. We have a saying that goes "a good man does not become a soldier". We, Chinese, do not die for our beliefs. We just change them. Today the world is worried about a strong China conquering the world. China was in that position before in the days of Admiral Zheng He and she didn't do it. Perhaps the communist mind has changed something, but I doubt it. So when China again gets to the position of being able to conquer the world, she will once again not follow through.

We may have left the land of our ancestors, speak perfect English, dress in Armani, and drink Chateau Lafitte, but the Chinese mind still survives. Much of the problem we face today is a result of our non-committal and non-sacrificial approach to life. We're prepared to let Barisan get away with almost anything just as long as we can continue to make money. You can scold us and whack us, but if 60 years of communism and several years of western indoctrination cannot change us, what's a little scolding to us?
written by choong, December 22, 2008 15:07:11
you know what? i am perplexed too. seriously. and i am of chinese origin as well... hahaha...

my theory is since BN always practice cakap tak serupa bikin, it resonates well with their stand. oh well, to an average chinese, so long as no one rocks the boat, they will go with them.

and yes, that means going with grumbling...
written by miwaki, December 22, 2008 15:13:45
Pete,you are absolutely right about your analysis of chinese thinking,chinese are generally good in math but there are a few millions who are very weak,they just do not know how to count ! I'm fed up with BN and I will never vote for MCA even though the candidates are Jacky Chan,Jet Li or Bruce Lee.I would rather vote for PAS as I'm not worried about Islamic law;I'm scared of the "law of the jungle"

You can slot in any party,as long as the opponents are from BN,I would not BN as I know,one vote for any component party of BN is one additional vote for UMNO.Since UMNO is the devil,we have to whack and kick it out of our lives.
written by sorosapril, December 22, 2008 15:14:08
RPK, it is better that Malaysia should get rid of race based, religion based parties, then we will not have the problems like what we are having now.

I don't know what is PAS basis of implementing islamic law, what is islamic law? who are they to enforce what is supposed to be between a muslim and ALLAH?

and Syariah Law, are all these laws handed down by ALLAH via Prophet Mohamad or men made laws like whatever laws we are having now, draconian or not, just some one wanted to enforce his thinking on others?

Yes, I agreed with you MCA only know how to please that ex-PM of Malaysia who know how to create mess for others to clean up.

What is vernacular school? to Chinese, national school with neutral language as mode of teaching will be acceptable because Bahasa Melayu is also vernacular language, so if we have English or Russian or French as national language, i think there is no problem.

written by Littlebird, December 22, 2008 15:21:36
It is not Pas can ever get 2/3 seats to implement hudud but the fear that PAs with enough political power can do what it claims to do. See the scenario in Selangor after winning a few extra seats. They quietly negotiated with UMNO. What if UMNO agreed to let PAS have it's way. Selangor under PAS and hudud law!!! The majority of Mlaysian do not want religion in politics. Yes, they want clean government which you can have without having religions aspect to it. But now it looks like UMNO is getting the grumbling chinese vote in KT.

I hope PKR and DAP would want day merge and say goodbye to component parties having different political agenda. We don't want to have someone in PR saying exactly the opposite what the majority says otherwise. Nevermind if they will ever get 2/3 majority or not.
written by Kopi37, December 22, 2008 15:22:07
Pete served the meal right, to some remnant of Chinese, the hypocritical ones and stooges of BN, must truly chew the cud, since their cows have come home after the umpteen grumbles! Unwittingly, they were putting themselves in the Catch 22 situation due to their poor arithmetic, these are normally Chinese whom they didn't take proper mathematics lesson in the class room, merely learned from the pasar, using fingers to count the numbers, by bending their 10 fingers (some have 11th) into the palm! We call this they are smart in counting in to add and never wish to deduct for the benefits would have already added to their stakes, and most Chinese are good punters, in Genting casino, you can find all those experts! Most of the time they think they are smart without realizing they are enmeshed in the attitude of - 'Penny wise, pound foolish'! Only the punters in the election will punt for their short term gain, by wining adhoc the stakes they put in for the wining of BN, how their children suffer in long term would be totally immaterial, the idea is they must win that's all!

After 308, there's a paradigm shift, most of all here the freedom fighters believe that the futures of the children shouldn't be used as stakes to punt! That's why PR won in style! Punters will remain punters, we will see whether they too have been changed this time round in the KT by-election, or they are the usual them, hypocritically whining and grumblings until they die of the natural cause they deserve! Let them be, they are the minority in the minority!
written by mucking fuddled, December 22, 2008 15:24:25
pete,
no need to shove and prod the chinese of your intentions
the situation is different now as you well know
no need for the poking, this time they will know who to go for
written by merlin2001, December 22, 2008 15:28:42
Pete.
Who fought against the Japanese during their occupation of Malaya? Who fought against the Brits during the days of colonizations? Sure there are ** Malays, Chinese, Indians and others too. To group all Chinese as *******s is grossly unfair. Many Chinese do not fear Pas, they in fact fear Umno, police, civil services and the judiciary more. If you say MCA, Gerakan and the Chinese parties in East Malaysia as **, then you are correct. Together they number no more than 2 million. These are the bad apples but not all. Let me say if that if any foreign nation declares war on us the non ** Chinese will be first in line to join in defense of the Nation. The ** will run off as they have the funds. As it stands many has dual citizenship. The non ** is fund less and has now where to run to but to fight like what we are doing now. It is a better world with PAS than with BN. Has PAS ever waved the Kris, destroyed temples/churches or declared to do away with Chinese Schools?
written by Caramel, December 22, 2008 15:29:04
RJP You are so damn GOOD. You seem to understand Malaysians so well. You speak from your heart with an open mind and you praise and criticize accordingly without fear or favour. I am a Chinese and I always feel that it is unfair that you always criticize the Malays because you care for them more than us!!. Now it show that you do care a bit for us too... Yes I agreed with what you have written.Sometimes, we Chinese are so engrossed with earning an income we forgot about politics and need to be reminded.
written by cahaya, December 22, 2008 15:36:41
Dear RPK, here’s how Asma Abdullah (co-author of Understanding Multicultural Malaysia, 2003, Pearson) describes the Chinese in Malaysia:

The Chinese are pragmatic and this stems from their social and economic backgrounds. . . Their need for survival in strange and foreign lands has made them highly adpatable to the land and the people with whom they live. . .
As a race, the Chinese consider peace and harmony as significant values for becoming prosperous. . . . . Because of their pragmatism, the Chinese tend to engage in business activities rather than to be involved in the politics of the adopted country. Traditionally, Chinese do not think highly of politicians and government officers as they believe that most of them are corrupt and do not do much for the people. This belief is largely based on their political experiences back in the feudal days of China where they were totally suppressed by the government machinery. . .
When it comes to socializing and entertaining, Malaysian Chinese are more likely than the other ethnic groups to gamble and drink. The seedy red light areas in the major towns of Malaysia are basically Chinese-owned agencies in the world’s oldest profession . .
- - Asma Abdullah

That could explain why some Chinese in Malaysia are constantly grumbling about Malaysian politics and their political leaders.
written by myke, December 22, 2008 15:38:25
Hahaha..the younger generation seems braver to make changes but the older ones living in small towns still believe very much in BN which is apparent in johor where small towns still votes BN. I've personally ask them why they vote for them and they answered MCA is a very good party for reasons that every election MCA would visit them and DONATE TO CHINESE SCHOOLS.!!!

So young generations should do their bits going back home to tell their elders about the evil of MCA and BN.
written by Great Alibaba, December 22, 2008 15:38:41

Old Chinese Proverb : " HUNDRED types of people grown on ONE type of rice "
The proverb said it all !

It's not easy to generalize Chinese 's mindset, behaviour and thus voting pattern. In Malaysia, there are notably C. Chinese, E. Chinese, City Chinses, Kampung Baru Chinese, Returning home expatriate Chinese,Chinese who never set one step of their foot out of Malaysia from birth, and etc.
Therefore, it's very difficult and complicated to identify Malaysian Chinese with any singular set of behaviour or mindset.
What RPK has commneted do highlight some intrinsic weakness in some Malaysian Chinese generally .
written by bogeyman, December 22, 2008 15:44:31
Ah.... and just as expected, I see quite a few chinese commentors going on the defensive as usual. As the old saying goes, " You eat the chilli, you feel the heat".
RPK, good job as usual in bringing out the worms from the woodwork. I know you did this intentionally smilies/grin.gif
written by KC Chin, December 22, 2008 15:51:41
carribeanking7,

"Before we scream of racial discrimination we must first cure ourselves of the bigotted tendencies we ourselves harbor."
100% agree. The main problem is human's EGO. I always tell my daughter, DO NOT be racist because of their religion, skin, and race.

Pete, please hantam all race KUAT KUAT until they wake up.
written by Captain, December 22, 2008 15:58:41
When the takeover of Hong Kong by Communist China became imminent, thousands of 'lalang' non-china chinamen fled the island state in fear of the communist bullet into the back of their heads. Yet today, hundreds of thousands are seeking their way into Hong Kong due to its financial hub status and $$$.

So, just ignore the 'lalang' and get on with the business of transforming the country into something better. The 'lalang' will surely come crawling back...
written by Milo, December 22, 2008 16:03:08
Actually, in different ways, all the negatively affected parties of all the races are grumbling about something sometimes. For all that have been happening, there is litter reason for non-malays to support a BN candidate in the coming election, or is there? Voting is a complex process with lots of uncertainty but I am confident that would be the end result.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 16:22:23
Dear Raja Petra,
Funny thing is this,when you hantam the chinese they all accept it and laugh,but if you hantam the malays,they are angry and throws you into Kamunting,write all the bad things in MT,show their emotions,ask the Special Branch to koret you,don't want to read MT etc.Why like this!Just read all the comments and I know it's mostly from the chinese,they don't really show any harsh reply or anger.No wonder you go for a chinese wife.
written by Raja Petra, December 22, 2008 16:23:17
Rozlan, sorry, I was writing in English.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 16:28:50
I have ask all my chinese friend's wife to read this posting.I hope they will change so that I can drink with them without too much grumbling.Sometimes they have to use 'dead battery' inorder to switch the phone off to bluff their wife.
written by joeawk, December 22, 2008 16:32:38
I cannot see a way back for MCA and Gerakan and they know that at the back of their mind. It goes with the MIC and PPP.

OMNO may recover but still, PR will triumph and it is all written in the sky, heaven's will.

written by dumbfounded, December 22, 2008 16:49:41
Ouch! I guess we Chinese had it coming. Though it may or may not make a difference, I have signed the petition because by signing, then at least there is still hope. Keep the hope alive, folks smilies/wink.gif
written by Saint, December 22, 2008 16:53:56
I do not want to worry about the above issues. I am very clear in my mind.
I will vote PR, with or without PAS.
And I will not vote for UMNO (BN) with or without PAS
written by apa jadi, December 22, 2008 17:01:53
There was a century old saying that the Chinese are a plate of loose sand. They are a selfish bunch who looks up to their interest first (even though this human attribute is prevalent in any race, but the Chinese pronounced). Late BoYang, the author of "The Ugly Chinese" equated 3 Japanese to a dragon while 3 Chinese to a worm. This is about the Chinese.

RPK, your usual rants again when election is up. I expected your article. Why not work out some strategy to convince the KT Chinese to pour out BN? See DJZ's help. I might do wonder.
written by kent chong, December 22, 2008 17:04:26
It's bcos all this while we had been FLIP FLOP news by local media (TV3/Utusan/The STAR/Sin Chew ) to have scare tactic to vote for PAS(for chinese voter) and scare tactic to vote for DAP(for malay voter) . . The flip flop news will say BN is best choice. we had been chected 51 years. Wake up MALAYSIAN!
written by apa jadi, December 22, 2008 17:07:47
Rozlan,

Can't blame you. You are not Chinese. You will laugh reading it, if you are.
written by wildbil, December 22, 2008 17:16:33
RPK, what you said are correct but only half truth. All the things you stated are from "Die Hard" MCA monkeys trying to convince the non MCA during the GE. Majority of the Chinese know best those are all lies from the MCA monkeys, collaboration with umno monkeys.

A Chinese proverb said "One Bamboo stick hit all the people on a boat". Majority of us did voted PR. Same for me.
written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 17:19:42
To Angela Ooi..i hope your doubts in PAS is buried..but still doubt ok. i live in a malay dominated area..my area is majority PAS. my home is the only chinese house in the 99.9% percent malay areas. i used to go out in shorts..but now cannot lah.because got car mah..and ada kena sound dengan penghulu. incidentally, i am a chinese baba nyonya...so kuat makan cencaluk, belacan, ulam, but don't like tempoyak..and i love makan babi/PORK! i live in malay area all my life..Hari Raya more meriah than CNY.

my neighbours are best..bila balik kampung..they jaga my rumah..tolong tengok-tengok..sometimes ada party jiran jiran. But this housing estate of where i live is predomaniantly PAS.
written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 17:22:56
RPK..goreng cha kuay teau chinese..we ok one..no need to isa you one..don't waste our time lah..we like that one..angry and laugh at our own whatever lah. Nanti i beli you cigar..apa brand??
written by DontPlayGod, December 22, 2008 17:35:04
Yes, I agree the Chinese have been grumbling all these decades. But what else can they do, besides grumbling. Sure they can vote the opposition, but as has often been written, its between choosing the devil you know and the devil(or angel) you don't, and the Chinese chose the devil they know rather than the angel/devil who they actually know(which is Islamization or supposedly Islamizaion). Islamization is something that is anathema to the non-Muslims. But in the last elections,the fact that they voted in DAP, PKR, and PAS means that the non-Malays are saying that enough is enough(of UMNO/BN). The Chinese are saying, "Let us try the opposition, including PAS, and see if they can change things". After all, they are saying that UMNO is proven to be racist, discriminatory, and implements ketuanan policies. They have even "rompaked" what were once industries owned by the Chinese(banks, transportation, rice mills, wholesale distribution, etc). So what else do the Chinese have to lose?

But PAS is spoiling things by continuing harping on Islamization, hudud laws, etc.
written by renoir, December 22, 2008 17:37:42
Excellent, Pete, many Chinese Malaysians do need a Lu Hsun to wake them up. They wouldn't have expected, of course, that this modern Lu Hsun's real name would be RPK, and not Zhou Shuren. smilies/smiley.gif

Incidentally, regarding questions of hudud and Islamic State, I'd talked about the numbers game long ago on a DAP website (Bungaraya), and often brought up the story of Ah Q. I would often narrate the heroic deeds of those countless Chinese who'd given their lives to take back their country from imperialist aggression. The problem, of course, was that some people interpreted my call for bravery as non-flexibility, instead of going ahead with the Barison Alternative and then tackle whatever problems that might arise from that coalition. Anyway, DAP under Guan Eng has proved to be more courageous, more willing to bite the bullet and defy the MCA propaganda that equates cooperation with PAS with a theocratic state. A theocratic state by definition cannot be a democracy, and PAS has along not only supported a democracy, but also proved to be more democratic and inclusive than UMNO. I'm convinced that Pakatan is imaginative enough to envision a state that's progressive and obeys the shared universal values of all religions, including Islam.

Let's all give our best to PAS in KT, in words and in deeds. I'll try my best to go over there to lend a hand as well.

written by renoir, December 22, 2008 17:41:54
I wrote:
"A theocratic state by definition cannot be a democracy, and PAS has along not only supported a democracy, but also proved to be more democratic and inclusive than UMNO."

Should be:
-A theocratic state by definition cannot be a democracy, and PAS has ALL along not only supported a democracy, but also proved to be more democratic and inclusive than UMNO.]

Sorry for the typo.

written by ploon, December 22, 2008 18:03:46
Wah, you got us lah, RPK. This is classic RPK--hard-hitting, funny as hell, and entirely truthful. Your piece reaches those parts of me that others don't and can't.

OK, OK, I go sign the petition now.
written by Shimshon, December 22, 2008 18:12:00
Despite the negative sides, qualities, attributes, of the Chinese - one can't deny that (in Msia) the Chinese are - The Geese that Lay the Golden Eggs!

The NEP is the Malays stealing from the Chinese to enrich the (freeloader, parasite) Malays - very much approved by the Bapa Pemodenan Msia & Ultra-Malay, Mahathir; but vehemently disapproved by the Tunku who said, he didn't want to steal from another race to enrich his race/people.

Point being, the Ketuanan Melayu & NEP = apartheid policy. But despite it all the Chinese are better off now under the NEP as they can "work against the flow/current" way much better than the "Tuan/Master/Lord" Melayu who can't seem to do it, even when the system overwhelmingly favours them.

During the NEP phase (1971-91) - many Chinese left for the extremely tiny state of Singapore. And in 1996 - Singapore (along with Taiwan, S Korea, Hongkong) were declared Developed Economies (state). Again note the work of the Malaysian Chinese who've contributed to Singapore's success.

Had there been no NEP, or had the Melayus not violated/betrayed the "social contract" that the NEP affirmative action (to help advance the backward/left behind Malays) been only for the 1971-91 phase and not become the other 'NEP ie Never Ending Policy' by now (ie 200smilies/cool.gif Malaysia would've come close to Taiwan or S Korea's level of progress.

So - despite it all, the Malays owe the Chinese their "life". The no other race in the world would support an affirmative action policy for the majority race (where stereotyping or profiling associate the Malays with either "stupid/bodoh" or "malas/lazy"), and a race that till now issues death threats, or the threat to 'Go Back to China' . In Malaysia, the ever grumbling and complaining Chinese did that for the Malay-Malaysia, the Malaysia-Melayu-Punya country. Chinese (and Indians, etc) pay overwhelmingly more taxes, have much higher productivity - all contributing to "nation"(read, Malay race) building but get "so little" in return, get more death threats, and "Balik China/India."

How come the Malays keep demanding the Chinese, Indians be grateful for being given the citizenship, but no mention of the Indonesians who came over here before and after independance (and accepted/recognized as Malays/Bumis) by the millions? The Chinese, Indians, etc "bangsa asings, pendatangs, pengemis, kaum penumpangs" (and of course the Westerners) did all this(nation building) for this Malaysia-Melayu-Punya country - which in turn attracted the millions of Indon "bangsa asing, pendatangs, pengemis, penumpang" to migrate to Malaysia. The Indons with high crime rate, affecting mostly the Malays, face not much prejudice from the Melayus because these "pendatangs/pengemis" are 'Bangsa Serumpun."
(Note: I'm not Chinese).
written by ragingbull, December 22, 2008 18:21:13

Thanks for a wonderful insight on the Chinese grumble. This is typical reminder of what my grandparent were. Anyway, being Chinese, I don't think we should have any fear in Hudud law.

When I was in my secondary school, I was one of a few Chinese student who opt to studies Pengetahuan Islam ( rather than sitting inside the library). My parents did ask me to think carefully before giving me their blessing to proceed to study as the school head master required a consent letter before allowing me to study Pengetahuan Islam. My ustazah was a very strict person where she taught me Islamic value, history, recite the hadith and Quran.

I'm positive that Islam is not what the Chinese always think in terms of not touching pork, alchohol and fasting and khatam. My experience has taught me true Islamic teaching propagate peace, humble, gentleness and submission to God. I'm a Christian but I have always have a nice dialogue in terms of exchanging views on religious and political matters with my Muslim friends and we find that we have many common views.

Although PAS may introduced Hudud Law especially in the upcoming KT by election if they win Terengganu, it should not deter the Chinese to vote the opposition. The Chinese has voted BN for so many years, why not give the opposition a chance to prove themselves otherwise, they could excercise their right in the next GE. Just wanna share my thought. Cheers
written by Sam W, December 22, 2008 18:53:29
This is about durians and cucumbers. When the cucumber tried the durian, it ended up full of holes. When the durian the cucumber, the cucumber not only got bigger holes, but got crushed as well. So what does a smart cucumber do? Guess who's the durian and who's the cucumber? It's a no brainer.
written by teckkuan, December 22, 2008 18:57:30
Dear Raja Petra,

i cant agree better with what you said. i'm a law student currently in my final year, and i can tell you that even though most of my chinese friends 'received' uk law educations, they still cant get this logic right.

i think for some people, chinese especially, its not so much of not knowing the mathematics of law making process, its more to being denial, sore and unwilling to see things from a logic manner. they always think that they know better because they are 'smarter' than the malays and hence whenever they feel about something, they will blurt it out emotionally before thinking it through.

i tried to explain to them even before the last GE but no one seem to care. i guess when you put arrogance and narrow thinking this is what you will get.

chinese, young and old ones all together, should lighten up and see the bigger picture first. and not just criticise when they saw some part of the picture displayed in the frame
written by eskay, December 22, 2008 19:09:45
I haven't met any Chinese who support MCA, not even Gerakan smilies/wink.gif, they are not convinced by these parties
written by sampalee, December 22, 2008 19:20:04
One is adviced not to spit against the wind,but that dose not mean it cannot be done.Only the consequences id different.All religion points toward the unity of all beings.If you intentionally acts to hate others,hatred is what you get in return.The world is a learning grounds where the laws of nature is repeated demonstrated for us to along it with harmony.Insyaallah.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 22, 2008 19:26:48
Maybe the Chinese are frightened by what Mahathir has always hinted, another May 13, if Umno loses. They are constantly reminding the Chinese of it by brandishing their keris and threatening to coat it with Chinese blood. Why did Umno of today choose to brandish the keris ?. Tunku Abdul Rahman did not do so when he proclaimed Merdeka ! merdeka! merdeka!. Precisely, to remind the Chinese of what they had done during May 13. The subtle warning seems to linger in the subconscious mind of the Chinese.
written by cble, December 22, 2008 19:27:29
Harap Laman marhaen dapat terjemah artikal diatas dalam BM
written by gorshan, December 22, 2008 19:27:56
IMHO,two things i know about Chinese people. they smile at you take a little bit of your space,tomorrow they do the same thing smiles some more takes up more your space and one day you realize,bloody hell, they taken up all your spaces you raise your finger to protest,their smile changes to sneer and they bring gangsters to answer your protest.

another thing i think i know about Chinese is that they don't care which monkey donkey is running the political so long as you leave them alone without hindrances to their economic wealth accumulation. is my opinion of Chinese people biased?
written by Motherchell, December 22, 2008 19:33:43
Its not the Chinese who oppose Hudud laws-- in fact we would love to see it implemented ---Its the UMNOPUTRAS who will oppose it , for we know who will fear most-- and who will oppose it ! For once we wont have bag man, middle man top man and a sodomite walking around conspiring for his Master and taking oaths in mosques against its tenets !
Im just wondering how they will drive their BMWs ,Lombos and Mercs without hands!!
written by Malaysiaputra, December 22, 2008 19:34:04
written by Siapabohong, December 22, 2008 18:27:25
Hahaha...cinakui,
ini kali sulah kasi hamtam sama RPK.
Apa mau buat?

=====

Ha, ha! Apa mau buat ?. Kita mau ucap terima kasih kepada RPK kerana kasi tahu pandanganya, kalau kami setuju, kami barangkali akan akur dan beri undi kami ke Pakatan lah !.
written by yellowwoman, December 22, 2008 19:42:44
Dear all,
English lesson starts now.

Once and for all, We are all chinese MALAYSIANS, not malaysian CHINESE.
The fact that most of us get this wrong is because of how we think and that is the crux of the problem.

If you think you are MALAYSIAN first and chinese second, then you won't be the selfish, me-no-attend-rally-chinese. (then you'd call yourself a chinese MALAYSIAN)
But if you think you are CHINESE first and malaysians only as immigrants, then continue to call yourself malaysian CHINESE - and go on grumbling about being treated second class and all that jazz. You deserve it because you think you are CHINESE first mah, when you shouldn't.

Just like Americans are Americans but if they were from Vietnam, they are Vietnamese AMERICANS, or Chinese AMERICANS, or Malay AMERICANS, or the current world favourite African AMERICAN.

Understand or not? NO?? Okay, another example.
Oil PALM or palm OIL?

Oil PALM is the palm/tree. What tree/palm? Oil PALM,not coconut PALM.

palm OIL is the oil. What oil? Palm OIL, not coconut oil.

So please think of yourselves as chinese MALAYSIANS and start behaving like you are MALAYSIANS first and all. (It so happpens you are chinese as well). Then I believe RPK will not have anything to hantam anymore.

written by PRman, December 22, 2008 19:47:49

I dont know the statistics of Chinese voted for BN on the last GE, but certainly speaking on behalf of my group of friends and families in the count of 30-40 at Ipoh, at least I would say 85% of us voted for PR. In my group of coworkers and ex-coworkers in PJ/KL, at least another 80% voted for PR.

At the same time, I took opportunities to talk to friends and families about the islamic laws cannot be implemented by PAS simply due to the lack of 2/3 majority of MP votes.

So, for once, I just gotta disagree with some of the points you raised in the article.

Thanks.
written by ASK4u, December 22, 2008 19:53:23
The Indians has awaken. Now my Chinese brethren; "don't play-play huh". The fate of your future generation lies in your hand. All your grumbles now is the outcome of your forefathers inaction sometime in the past. They remain quite when they should have spoken/acted. Now, their children/grand children are tasting the bitter fruit which their forefathers have left behind for them to inherit.The Indians were no better, but their eyes are wide open now. My dear Chinese brethren, please don't chicken out and leave the country. 'The grass always look greener on the other side'. Stand your grounds and fight like a man for once.

On another note, I think Hudud law should be implemented in Malaysia; that's what this country needs to cure it of all ills. Probably a modified version like "Hudud Hadhari" will suffice for now. That way you don't chop-off criminals hand but probably burn it with iron-ore or deep it in HCl. A milder version, but still a painful one and leaves marks for others to see; a sure deterrence. When there can be Islam Hadhari, why not "Hudud Hadhari"? I can't think of a milder version replacing 'sula', a punishment for adultery but I don't this form of 'barbaric' punishment is gazetted in the holy books. Anyone? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by MMhunter, December 22, 2008 19:57:42
So I can fully assure you all that the chinese nowadays are different from yesteryears.They have more guts now...says ahmadneil..Then why are you hiding behind a malay username name.no back bone kah....join hindraff....they might help you.
written by malsia1206, December 22, 2008 20:07:14
You could safely say the Malaysian Chinese share one common trait with their fellow Malays - either you make it good rubbing shoulders with the top politicians walking in the corridors of power at Putrajaya or you are a cast-out. And if the Chinese feel they had been 2nd class citizens for reasons they know best, just think of their fellow Indians and the indigenous natives of Sabah and Sarawak who find themselves in much worser situation. Malaysia has never been a country that pursue looking after her people 'from cradle to grave'. But when their neighbour Malays are always getting the cream and the rest the crumbs, you can have some idea why the Chinese and the others are so unpredictable with their behaviour when it boils down to politics. Strange bedfellows as they would say.
written by cheemengwong, December 22, 2008 20:15:40
Chinese people are opportunistic people.
They are also fair weathered people.
They are also quite lazy when they can afford it.
They are all what the Malays and Indians aren't.
They are also individualistic people
They are never team players if the benefits are not mutual, they go solo.

How do I know?

I am a Chinese
written by bradwell_estate, December 22, 2008 20:18:52
RPK
the saying .. the best form of defense is to attack. It is very easy for UMNO to overun the chinese population with Malay agenda. I am quite sure you know why the chinese is grumbling all the time. It's just to maintain their existence.
written by AsamLaksa, December 22, 2008 20:26:49
I am a chink/yellow. I have acknowledged the Chinese hypocrisy many many years back. I still see it clearly today, not just in Malaysia. At one time I felt ashamed to be Chinese. Now I just accept who I am and I am not bound by any racial sentiments. You can check all my past postings to get a picture of where I stand.

I support doing away with vernacular school. It will always be a thorn in Malaysian inter-racial dialogues. It fosters further racial division. Even Spore acknowledges that you don't need them. What Malaysians should be screaming for it for improvements in the education standard overall. Don't just run to Chinese schools when you lose confidence in the education system. Make your voice and votes count. Don't let the authorities bully you.

Chinese wants Malays to change and to open up, what about the Chinese? Have they forgotten about give and take? You want something from the Malays then you need to give something too.

I do not propagate the Chinese agenda of which race pays more income tax or which race is cleverer or which race controls the economy. To me it doesn't matter. If you are Malaysian, then contribute to Malaysia. Times like these reminds me of JFK's famous quote: "Ask not what your country can do for you, but ask what you can do for your country" or something like that.

Regardless of who you want to vote, you should push your agenda towards them. Don't let politicians bully you. Tell all parties these are my stand, you don't like it you can go take a hike. Even if an independent supports your stand, even though you know that he can't push for much change alone, at least the candidate carries your agenda. Let it be a lesson to candidates that do not listen to you and only visits during election time. Let this be the method to create political maturity in the community and also in the candidates. End the careers of hanger-on politicians who can't speak up their own minds.

For all of Zul's sins, at least he speaks up independently. I do not agree with his acts but I acknowledge him as a person with balls. The contrast is MCA, MIC and Gerakan who can't do jack shit. Why prolong the existence of dead weights?

Scared of PAS? Don't be. Don't let them bully you. I am aware of the risk of an Islamic state as there is no shining example in the rest of the world. However, be politically aware and mature so that you can see what things really are. I do not care what government you call it as long as it protects and promote your human rights including freedom of speech, religion, assembly, etc. If a Malaysian "Islamic" state will do so, then so be it. Don't fall for labels. See what they really want. In a democracy, if you don't like it, vote the government out. Ask yourself what you really really want and forget all the crap label and racial agenda.

Some examples of what I want and how I apply them. Right or wrong is another matter. At least I have a stand and act according to them.
1. top of world class education standard in Malaysia
Does having science and maths taught in English help? No, it's a non-issue as long as the syllabus is the same old shit.
2. equal rights for all Malaysians
This includes rights to housing for everyone thus bumiputera quota is against this. This can go to hell.
3. absolute freedom of religion
Is requiring would be Muslim converts to inform relatives good for this? No. In fact, absolute freedom of religion would not place any real or potential barrier for anyone to follow any religion. The problem is not in the conversion but in the laws that follows. Don't bypass the problem, fix the unjust laws such as set out the procedure and protection to apostate, set out the law for inheritance to non-Muslims, etc.

You make your stand, and preferably based on high principles. If your reason is based on racial sentiments, then drop it. I was taught this by a Buddhist teacher who said that we must create awareness, not just of things around us but also within us such as our motivations and beliefs. Only with understanding what is inside can we see our wrongs and change for the better.
written by glock17, December 22, 2008 20:27:14
omnoputra should start erecting smoke house
written by bambolero, December 22, 2008 20:30:20
Hat's off to Raja Petra Kamaruddin, The Malaysia Today Crew, brother Loi Bih Siang Benjamin for such a brilliant article and comment's that has been put forward. This is the best article and comment's that I have ever read in the whole of my life. Congratulation to all !!!!
written by denkoh, December 22, 2008 21:40:01
Good!
Criticism promotes improvements... keep it coming Raja Petra.

written by biggun129, December 22, 2008 21:47:29
118 posting so far, so many aggresive comments for this article, RPK may have achieved what he want, he can sleep will and smile in his dream, what a good day for him!!!
written by Badaksumbu, December 22, 2008 21:59:50
With that number of postings! surely readers find the article is interesting, I'm sure many more didn't drop by to write- I agree to one reader who requested someone to translate this into Bahasa ,I think it should, for the benefit of those who only read bahasa
written by hairu 32, December 22, 2008 22:27:59
guys i think the message are very clear it is about people power and the people be it malay, chinesse, indian or others. this article only point to 1 thing which is people do not realize that it is the people who has the power. use it wisely.

hairu_32
written by SotPlug, December 22, 2008 22:31:02
Your article is very true. Just on thing you forgot to mention.

There are Chinese who would blame the gov for everything (no job, not rich enough, get daughter not son etc...) When when it's time to cast their vote, "Sorry larr.. got to work. Need to make money. You go larr."
written by tan_eng, December 22, 2008 22:49:32
Hello,

Great article Pete. I am not saying it because it is whacking the chinese but for idea behind it. Keep it going, i think we need to push it harder pete.

Pete think about getting into politics. We can shout as loud as we want but if the people that we are electing aren't true Malaysian, we can't never reach our true goal. PKR,DAP and PAS are alright at this moment but they are still outdated and truly not Malaysian. They are still harping on issues that are related to race and religion. We don't need that. What we need is a malaysian party that can think for all malaysian irrespective of their religion, race or skin colour.

Malaysian fighting for Malaysia.
written by lamepug, December 22, 2008 22:54:17
some people likes to complicates things and these people feel so great because others do not understand...

this action called "standing at the tips of a cow horn"

and these kinds of people unable to see the next sun rise...
written by Durnfordi, December 22, 2008 23:52:02
I totally agree with you RPK.......and I'm chinese! We chinese are very selfish. We think of ourselves mostly. We won't even help our own chinese race! It's the capital "I" for us! Nothing matters but ME! That's why the chinese grumble and whine a lot because the thing the chinese care for most is "ME". It's not the chinese race that the chinese cares for! They only care for themselves! Anything that's not about "ME", the chinese will grumble. Sigh!
written by Kent Tory, December 23, 2008 00:00:10
"Its better the devil you know than the Angel you dont know"

Its better for the Chinese for BN to continue to be in power, than at least the Chinese can survive by bribeing their way through everything.

The Chinese world rotates on the axis of money, bribe, gangsterism, and more money. With Umno in power, they have all these components for their survival.

Although they wish to be different and hope thier support for PKR will somehow shed a different light on their outlook.... this is left to be seen.
written by renoir, December 23, 2008 00:01:01
Sigh...again some reader has brought up the red herring called the vernacular system...

I've often talked about the Kantian concept of universality: e.g., if the ISA is wrong for dissidents, then it's also wrong for people we dislike, such as Ahmad Ismail. In the same way, the UN Human Rights charter sought to protect minority culture and language all over the world, without ANY exception. So if, as with the ISA, we believe in human rights for all, and not only for some, then vernacular education cannot be a bargaining chip: it's a human right for any community to preserve their culture and to study in whatever language they prefer. In this country, we do want a common language so that all communities could communicate easily, and this rightly happens to be BM. Thus we should think of ways to improve BM in national schools, vernacular schools, and even agama schools. But as batsman pointed out, every community has the right to decide where they want their child to be educated (and this includes the UMNOPUTRA's right to send their children to international schools). Enough debates have been made to show that national unity comes not from a similar school system, but from a just government where everyone feel they've a stake in the country. The Malays make up the majority in this country, and most of them study under the same educational system, i.e., the Sekolah Kebangsaan system, yet that community is split into at least two large groups - the pro-PAS and pro-UMNO groups. Then there're also the Westernized liberal groups who vehemently oppose the ulama-influenced groups. All this goes to show that unity is achieved among people with similar belief systems, and not necessarily among people with the same language, culture or the same educational experiences. I'm from a mission school, yet I think I empathize more with PAS than many UMNO Malays who come from national schools. And in any religious or racial riots in, let's say, an urban Chinese area, I would defend people like Nik Aziz, though my Christian schooling and experiences must doubtless have been very different from those who attended non-Christian schools. And I've little doubt that such principled people would do the same for me when I need their help.

Unity on the basis of shared principles isn't a unique idea: it's how political parties are formed in the West, and how nations came together to unite against some ideological foes. Shared belief systems was the reason for that international group of idealists who went to Spain to fight against Franco - at a time when the fascists were murdering the Republicans, many of whom shared the same language and attended the same Spanish school system.

written by asiana888, December 23, 2008 00:36:14
I cannot tahan the PAS- Musang fellow. Why la? At eve of KT by-election you wanna bring up this sensitive issue la. I sometimes get the feelings some of these PAs leaders have received some $$$ from UMNO goons to throw a spanner on the winning PR wagon.

Most Ah Pek and Aunty sure very scared la when PAS start talking hudud laws. Even my whisky drinking Malay friends also shudders at the thought of PAS implementing Hudud law nationwide.

So, to make sure everyone (PAS,PKR and DAP) happy and live as each party thinks best - can they agree that if PR becomes the next ruling gomen, PAS can implement Hudud laws in the state they controlled. I think, like that, everyone can go where they like lor! If Hudud law too difficult or scary .... then migrate to Selangor or Penang lor. If Muslims wants to be holier by living under Hudud laws ... then go migrate to those States with Hudud laws.

Like that all 'kau-tim' and UMNO no more ammo to use against all my Ah Peks and Auntys.
smilies/wink.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, December 23, 2008 00:53:21
So after all the words above, shall we then act? To those in KT and involve in the by elections coming up, vote for PAS. I guarantee you that your hands will still be safe from being chopped off under hudud law. I just got to know that the Chinese in KT are actually held to ransom by the BN (MCA included) regime. They have been there for close to 200 years and yet the land that they stay on is TOL land, subjected to lease renewal. UMNO is saying that if you do not vote for them they will not renew the lease and that there will not be development. So, my Chinese friends of KT, the ball is in your hands. The Malay votes are clearly defined, PAS or UMNO. The Chinese votes will be the deciding factor. So perhaps a word with your PAS friends to convert this TOL land into freehold, for your support in this coming by election should do the trick. Forget about the rant and rave of the UMNO goons. Take their money for all I care in their campaign, but vote for PAS. I think it is definitely kosher.

Now stop grumbling and act for once.
Malaysia has truely become a multi racist country after 50 years of Racist rule under BN.

Peace
written by chiongguo, December 23, 2008 00:55:17
So what do the Chinese really want? When they perceive the Rulers as not taking any action, they grumble. But when we take the initiative to bring to the Rulers’ attention certain grievances of the rakyat, they also grumble. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. Sometimes I get the impression that these Chinese get an orgasm by grumbling. Maybe it’s a fetish thing, sort of like kinky sex.

This doesn't follow. You have taken the initiative but when had the Rulers taken any initiative ? So their complaint is actually valid.

How do each of us make our decisions ? Emotions are often the motivator and we then follow it by reasons, rationale and justification.

Fear is a great motivator and devious manipulator understood that and often used it to great effect. Hatred and contempt are some other emotions that had been deliberately used by people out to poison people's heart. Say things - true or not, accurate or not is not important - as long as it stirs up people's hatred and contempt.

For me a reasonable person is less important than a truthful person. A truthful person may not have any reason and is honest enough to admit it. A reasonble person would often lie through his/her teeth to give less than honest reasons.

Do chinese grumble a lot ? I think to answer this question we have to answer another question and i.e. do the chinese have a reason to grumble a lot ?

Are they hypocrites ? I think hypocrisy has nothing to do with race. It is a human weakness. ALL of us are hypocrites. We are never honest with ourselves or with others. As long as the ego exists it will persists in sustaining it's identity - including deceiving ourself.

written by R020998, December 23, 2008 00:56:25
I wonder why the racial sentiment in Malaysia gone bad to worst.

My old man attended MCKK Old Boys Class of (68/70..i think) reunion at Impiana KLCC last night...I think top guns from PKR and PAS were also there.

Old man told me they invited their teachers and majority are chinese. And the relationship with these teachers are beyond racial hatred or sentiment. It is almost like ""father-son relationship.

What happened to malaysia today and "malaysiatoday"?

Sigh... I give up.
written by LFLee, December 23, 2008 01:12:05
YES, Pete, spot on!

This is sad. Many Malaysian Chinese are like that 'an *******'- when BN threaten them in MSM using 513, they voted BN like in 1999. When Pak Lah was packaged as a 'Mr. Clean' in the MSM in 2004, they again voted for BN. And like you said, after they voted for BN, they complaint about BN policies in Kopitiam like this is other's fault....wtf.

This two times alone make me think that Malaysian Chinese are stupid and helpless - and the day after these two election day, my thought was "I want to immigrate to other country".

But then come the 308 - I was sitting in front of my PC, thinking the result would be again disappointing like the previous two - I couldn't believe the outcome - and this is the first time in my life I think "I want to go back Malaysia and contribute".

Pete, there is hope in these Malaysia Chinese. And people here, translate MT articles to your parent if they are still the '*******' described here, sooner or later, we can change these '*******' mind, and kick the BN out!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by LFLee, December 23, 2008 01:15:05

wow... only Pete can write 'a s s h o l e' here in MT. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Mine turn out to be *********

Never mind, you are the boss Pete! smilies/grin.gif
written by Thundercat Pink, December 23, 2008 01:23:12
Great article Pete, nothing new here but it's good reminder to all.
written by Ben, December 23, 2008 01:36:51
Thank you boss! Your pen is as sharp as can be. It must surely prick the conscience of the Chinese intellect that more is expected of us. We need to stand above our entrepreneurship and stand for the change we want. The urgency is we must do it now especially when we see the mca leadership is the same lackey like their predecessors. God willing, this will be reflected on KT by-elections. The Chinese will surely ink their support for PR, for change.
written by monstercat, December 23, 2008 02:20:41
Another thing the Chinese damn afraid of if PAS in power - supply of pork decrease. These Chinese equate pork with their culture & identity. Dare anyone of you Chinese out there deny this smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

I'd always be asked "eh, why you don't eat pork? You converted ar??? Of course, we Chinese should eat pork!!!!" Same case like their analogy that Chinese must speak Mandarin.
written by monstercat, December 23, 2008 02:23:39
Same case the Chinese justify gambling - "it is in our blood to gamble!!! What??? U don't know how to play mah-jong??? Tsk, tsk, tsk, what a shame..."

See how pathetic some (a lot, I'd say) Chinese are??
written by nocrid, December 23, 2008 04:15:19
Eh...I thought the Chinese/Non-Muslims have the PAS fan club. Where can I apply?

Well, after reading the post and seeing the "tersirat", I suppose the KT campaign has started. Hehehe.

Admin, I can help design banners and buntings. smilies/grin.gif
written by andrew777, December 23, 2008 06:21:17
Nah, they have stopped grumbling and are voting with their feet. How else would you get your political tsunami? smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, December 23, 2008 06:25:04
THe only complaint I have against RPK's analysis is that he makes too sweeping statements.
There are 4 caTEGORIES of Malays as defined by him.
Likewise he should give credit to some Malaysian Chinese, one at least I know, who have been voting for PAS in his constituency since the mid 1980's as a protest against the UMNOputras' policies.
written by kedahan63, December 23, 2008 08:34:49
Whack 'em, Pete! Whack 'em hard!!!! smilies/angry.gif I really dislike such people and I'm Chinese! These people give the rest of us chinese a bad name, a very bad one indeed! They are the ones who will vote BN if MCA/Gerakan told them that May 13 will repeat if PR won (which is really what MCA & Gerakan did during March 0smilies/cool.gif. They'll vote opposition when it suits them n they curry up to BN/MCA/Gerakan triad when they need 'official' support for their personal gains! smilies/angry.gif
written by densemy, December 23, 2008 08:45:30
However, it would have been more diplomatic, politic and simple common sense to field a candidate who would NOT automatically alienate a significant part of the electorate

All your supportive words will not assuage those people with an innate dislike for PAS because of its religious connections ... whether overt or hidden

The bottom line is that PAS are believed to have an agenda directed towards an Islamic state and its well known that the massive ego and narrow mindedness of PAS will strive to achieve that ... no matter how Constitutionally incorrect that might appear

Its well known that under the Malaysian System its frighteningly easy to manipulate the Constitution
written by AsamLaksa, December 23, 2008 08:54:09
James Loh, what is an Islamic state? What is PAS' Islamic state? Do you know? Do you know if it would make your life better or worse? I honestly don't care what state it is. Currently Malaysia is a democratic country not like Myanmar, or so some ex-minister claims. Is that truly so? A respected former PM already said Malaysia is an Islamic state while a former opposition leader vehemently disagrees. What's with all this labelling?

Some guys from PAS screams hudud laws. Some guys from UMNO screams ISA, OSA, PPPA, etc. You choose.

Do yourself a favour... find out more. Don't just fall for labels and sentiments and politicking.

What was PAS' promise to you? Did you hear it right? I have never heard PAS abandoning the Islamic state or hudud agenda. In fact all they said was something like putting it on the back burner. You bought that? Then who is the fool? But PAS is part of PR and PR is not pushing for these agendas. Did you vote for PR or PAS?

I am strongly against what I would consider inhuman punishment like cutting hands and stoning to death even if I am not directly affected by it but there is more to it than just these punishments. Why not go find out more?

With great powers comes great responsibilities. Your vote is your power, your responsibility is to use it judiciously. For now, I'll call you ignorant. You yourself can fix that. I'm not telling you who to vote, but don't use baseless reasons for your choice. If you can show me that PAS is up to no good and will suppress the minority, then I will stand beside you and even if you fall or lose your hand, I will support you to hold up your banner. Comprende?
written by JoNg, December 23, 2008 08:59:30
yes! A typical chinese will tell you that we like to talk and we don't do the thing that we talk .We don't walk the talk..but we talk a lot really , there no other ******* talk more than what the chinese do. So there I say it.

Chinese are greedy , when we get a inch , we want a foot . we just cannot be satisfied with what we got, but end up losing it all .

Talk about corruption , oh yes malay are corrupted but it is the chinese who corrupt them in the first place. For example , ah seng was driving a car without a seat belt and get caught by ahmad the policeman , and what did ah seng do , instead getting a summon from ahmad , ah seng offer money to ahmad for not issuing him one. And there this ah siang who own a health spa , but inside the spa is not spa but a line up of prostitute , when get raided by sulaiman the policeman , ah siang will call some MCA guy to settle with sulaiman and of course money given to sulaiman.
I can go on and on till the cow come home , yes chinese reap what they sow and they deserve it. And here again we grumble till no end and bitch all about it .

So RPK , I agree with what you write , totally.
written by Rozlan, December 23, 2008 09:20:32
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, December 22, 2008 14:00:54

dear Pete:
u don't understand the Chinese fear:
1. The fear of not being allowed to "drink and get drunk"
2. The fear of not being allowed to "patronize nite club and brothel"
3. THe fear of not being allowed to "gamble till the family is completely broken"
4. THe fear of not being allowed to "kiss and hug" in public
5. The fear of not being allowed to "buy porn VCD" in malaysia
6. THe fear of not being allowed to "to commit adultery"
7. The fear of not being allowed to "wear bikini and sexy clothes"
8. The fear of seeing too many handicapped in Malaysia as many arms chopped off, many legs lopped off!!!

I am a Chinese Christian and voted for PAS for many reasons:
1. I wrote to our government (not reply yet) and challenged UMNO to close down GENTING, 4D, TOTO, Magnum and horse-racing. The Unislamic government of Umno is using gambling to suck Chinese money to fatten the "FEW"...PAS is good and wants to help Chinese by promising to "stop" gambling in Malaysia. Chinese are stupid and keep on giving $ to Umno for "gambling" opportunities in Malaysia.
2. Stop selling liquor and alchohol, go ahead and implement it lest Chinese and Indian brains get destroyed by beer, wine and liquor!!! PAS loves us by having a more stringent criteria of selling alchohol...the more u drink, the more stupid u become and the younger u die!
3. We don't need night club and brothel.
4. It is good that we have hudud law to be first implemented on our cabinet ministers and civil servants, i have written to PAS to first implement it on civil servants, no reply yet.(chop off their hand before ours).

Dear Benjamin,

You was right.Muslim scholars had been trying to tell non muslims and some errant muslims alike that Islamic laws are far the good of everybody...However it get lukewarm responses.It seem non muslim in general felt that if Islamic laws were implemented they will be oppressed.

Please look at closely at the Islamic laws.Except for criminal laws,it didnt imposed Islamic moral ethic laws such as adultery and consuming alcohol to the non muslims..So wny non muslims are so worry?.Fear for the unknown maybe??

Except for the hudud laws that cover theft,robberies,adultery( for muslim only),consuming alcoholic or anything that will cause loss of mind (also for the muslims only),false witness nothing change much..

The present laws and regulations will be classified under ta'zir law.Ta'zir laws normaly were formulated by the Parliement or relevant authorities.You see nothing change.IN other word if you broke speed limit you will still be issued summon and have to pay not more than RM300 fine..

I hope the chinese communities will open their mind about.After all they were the one who will benefit most from the real and Islamic laws..

written by ahmadneil, December 23, 2008 10:34:20
Last nite we did cross examine your posting and the chinese feel much better with this posting and they would like to thank you for highlighting this to the malays.
This is what make the chinese so different from the malys.They happily accept this posting while the malays will bang the table and condemn you if you did this to them.How can yhey be called Ketuanan Melayu! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 23, 2008 10:36:35
So the next race to get posting like this will be the Indians,Ibans,Kadazan etc.I love such posting and all the comments!
written by ssathia, December 23, 2008 10:56:12
One must indeed admire the founding fathers of this country, no doubt cleverly assisted, manipulated and puppeteered by the British. By setting up a racio-cratic nation, which is a supreme combination of race, religion, language and even the monarchy, they knew that Malaysians would end-up foreover arguing about race, religion and language. That way real issues can be conveniently tucked under the carpet, such that the politicians can get away with daylight robbery. So ever since 1957, stereotyping and mass mud slinging among races got only more intensive and getting increasingly polished as well as downright crude. Today, new technologies such as the internet have served to help further.

The fact that even intellectuals can be be sucked up in this game so completely is testimony to the great wisdom and far-sightedness of the founding fathers and their puppet-masters.

In the end, Malaysian run along like the groups of sheep, one following the other, and so easy manipulated to run into the directions intended by the political masteers.

We are increasingly becoming the likes of the Middle Eastern countries having imported their racial religious and racial animosity and way of life, fighting the glorious racial and religious wars into eterniy.

written by pixieface, December 23, 2008 11:03:07
Dear RPK you are darn right about the chinese. Majority are kiasu, kaisi. Whenever
there is an accident, they just drive by slowly, kay poh only to watch, not help.
They are scared that the accident victim die in their car. Soi lah they say.
I am a chinese and ashamed of this mentality. Chinese only care for the economics.
Can make money okay no problem. But I'm not one of them. I dream for a malaysian
reality regardless of race or creed. Why can't we live as malaysians and have a
multi racial neighbourhood. Spending raya, deepavali, chinese new year etc etc.
written by MMhunter, December 23, 2008 11:14:08
So the next race to get posting like this will be the Indians,Ibans,Kadazan etc.I love such posting and all the comments says ahmadneil... Why are you so hell bent on race cant you just be a human.Dont you think its better to talk about spineless cowards who hide behind malay username to hide their own identity.
written by apa jadi, December 23, 2008 11:34:08
written by R020998, December 23, 2008 00:45:37

CRISIS = HAVOC OPPORTUNITY

Is this true? If it does, it is disturbing.

Let me correct you.

Crisis = WeiJi in Chinese/Japanese
Wei= danger,adversity.
Ji = situation or opportunity.

The correct interpretation will be adversed situation.

The misnomer to the word will be adversity opportunity. That means that opportunity amidst adversity.

There is a cliche saying: "treat problem with opportunity" which carries the same meaning of this Chinese phrase.

I depends on how you want to see it. A bottle half empty or a bottle half full. You state of mind matters.
written by pillars, December 23, 2008 11:53:25
I think we should say 'Chinese in Malaysia'.

Chinese in each country is different, depends on the political situation. Chinese like Ang Lee (in USA), or Jimmy Choo (in UK), and Michelle Yeoh (in Hongkong), are able to expand and express themselves to maximum level.

written by DontPlayGod, December 23, 2008 12:01:27
Assamlaksa wrote: "Chinese wants Malays to change and to open up, what about the Chinese? Have they forgotten about give and take? You want something from the Malays then you need to give something too."

Hey man, where have you been these past decades? UMNO has rompaked most of all the major enterprises owned by the Chinese, viz. banks, transport companies, rice mill, wholesale business. Shall I continue and mention about the Government scholarships all these decades? Do I need to mention about all the Government billion-ringgit contracts being out to only one race? Do I need to mention about the more than 95% of public servants coming from one race?

And do I need to mention that the Chinese the biggest bulk of revenue to the country? So what are you saying that the Chinese are not contributing and are grumbling without justification? So you think the Chinese have not given enough? So you think the discount of houses to Malay millionaires to buy houses(subsidized by the non-Malays) is justified?

And you think the national schools which are Islamized, and has seen standards drop so drastically, is where we should send our children to?

You must be one of the very few privileged UMNO-supported Chinese then.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 23, 2008 12:29:22
Don'tPlayGod,

You are right. THE MALAYSIAN CHINESE HAS GIVEN SO MUCH TO THE GANGSTER UMNO.

THE MALAYS CONTRIBUTED NOTHING TO THE PROGRESS OF THE SOCIETY.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 23, 2008 12:33:23
The Malaysian chinese has to survive in racist Malay country. The Malaysian chinese will learn English and Mandarin to survive the GLOBAL RACE.

We love hollywood movies and we love the way Western Country do research and produce quality products. We believe in Western scientific way of producing medicine.

MUSLIM IN MALAYSIA HAS NEVER bring any progress to this country. But we have to learn Malay. So we learn Malay. But Malays has never produce any scientific discovery or make any progress in any field of science. Malays are backward.

We learn Malay language because we can do business with the goverment and the Malays and indonesia. It is an advantage to us.
written by sturmabeislung, December 23, 2008 12:36:54
You are right Pete! Many Chinese are kiasi (afraid to die) especially government servants. That is why they vote for BN. And their argument is always the same, "Aiya, even if you vote for opposition, others will vote for BN, doesn't make any different"
written by mamak, December 23, 2008 12:43:09
haiya chinese..
Pete just want you to vote for PAS at Kuala Terengganu ma..
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, December 23, 2008 13:01:09
Let's Send Hyprocite & Unbeliever to Hell....

I voted for PAS for few reasons, I see their sincerity, determination and courage to wipe out corruption in Malaysia! They are the true believers of Islamic faith and not hypocrites like some others. I may not fully agree with PAS political agenda, but their very existence has provided us with another political alternative.
Let's look at what Quran says about unbelievers and hypocrites:
"O Prophet! strive hard against the unbelievers and the hypocrites, and be hard against them; and their abode is hell; and evil is the resort".--Quran 66:009 Set 83, Count 162

Hypocrite: noun [C]: when someone pretends to believe something that they do not really believe or that is the opposite of what they do or say at another time.
Unbeliever: noun [C]: a person who does not believe, doubter, skeptic, an incredulous person.

Who are Hypocrites and Unbelievers among us?

1.Allah has endowed us with "Human Rights", but Hypocrites and Unbelievers wantonly trample upon human rights.

2. Allah is against racism, but Hypocrites and Unbelievers perpertuate racism.
Allah is against corruption, but Hypocrites and Unbelievers in Malaysia have blatantly been involved in corruption, and over the last 20 over years more than RM380000000000 (RM380 billion) have been stolen by corrupt officials!
Allah is against injustice, but it is a travesty of justice to see our incompetent, dishonourable and unqualified judges fixed by Hypocrites and Unbelievers!

3.Allah is against laziness, but Hypocrites and Unbelievers are cultivating a "National" legitimate habit of "waiting to be fed"!
The Quran reminds us of nations who were destroyed because they had rebelled, disobeyed and spread corruption. It also gives us a glimpse of the life in Hereafter of people who do good and who love and obey Alah. In the scheme of divine revelation, the past, present and the future are one continuum.
We know the fate which awaits us for all the sins which we have committed and which we are planing to commit. Remember: "Hell is the abode"!

This KT by-election is one of the best chances of sending HYPOCRITE TO HELL, we must strive hard against Hypocrites and Unbelievers, they have to go...

May Allah Bless Our Country, Amin!
written by sueteh, December 23, 2008 13:11:56
everyone watches their back..regardless of race issue. at the end it is all about survival, accummulating for next generation, realising dreams, fight or flee. smilies/wink.gif
written by sueteh, December 23, 2008 13:18:23
i know..the chinese word loyalty does not exist regardless rich or poor. cos loyalty can be bought and sell..like a comodity. every human is loyal to money. smilies/grin.gif
written by 2edgedsword, December 23, 2008 13:41:55
Those who have benefitted from the system under Barisan will continue to vote for Barisan. This is natural, and not race specific.
written by steviewonger, December 23, 2008 13:44:04
dear Pete, I for sure agrees with you. all of us are arseholes if we are still governed by BeeEnd.
That is why, whenever there are proposals by the PR coalitions parties, bound to have rejections from certain NGOs or within the parties themselves.
Therefore we must be very careful and wary that there are third parties (BNputras) who take advantages of the situation and exploit these issues to break down the PR.
written by ahmadneil, December 23, 2008 13:53:10
All my chinese friends are my best of friends and honestly,I like to talk and argue with them.You learn alot from them if you are able to mix around with them.Ya,they may grumble ,but only petty issues.To all my chinese friends,what RPK wrote is not a insult and it may be partly true ,if not all.And this must be absolutely make clear,my chinese friends are the same as my brothers and they are my true friends.A friend indeed is a friend in need!Bravo to all the chinese and special thanks to RPK for refreshing us.

ahmadneil,the chinese supporters. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by sueteh, December 23, 2008 16:52:16
wah...this topic surely garner lots of comments..ya..add more. what do typical chinese thinks when they get up in the morning? the rich chinese..is money, chien. they spent lots of time..thinking how to masuk lobang (like what the late limgohtong said)..do you think those wealthy chinese..day long talk politics?? no..waste of time..unless if the politics benefits to them. loyalty? what is that? foreign to them..of course they will demands fierce loyalty if involves their chien/money. some wealthy chinese..also get up in the morning, getting hard and also hungry..let's fly to hongkong for yum cha.

what do poor chinese thinks when they get up? getting hard and can't fly to hongkong for yum cha.nearest hawker food. then..money..comes in mind. also think how to get more moolah.

the not mention chinese..either blur-blur, wasting time..endless in front of the pc..busy chasing boyfriend/girlfriend (also thinking the cost of pak toh logy)..

so ultimately money rules. yes, money is not everything yet it is.
written by renoir, December 23, 2008 16:59:23
Ahmadneil, some people, taking advantage of RPK's hammering the Chinese for being scared to vote against UMNO/BN, are using this opportunity to create divisions among Malaysians. True Malaysians don't have to worry: most Chinese today understand and will continue to support PAS even without RPK's prompting.

Regarding Loh's views, I don't agree on all points but his main theme on what should truly concern the Chinese is correct. Incidentally, what concerns the Chinese or Indian or Malay should be more or less identical - we're all anak Malaysia and no pathetic cyberwarriors can change that.

written by pixieface, December 23, 2008 17:00:34
Ahmadneil, can we be friends. Lets help malaysians be a progressive society, able
to compete in the global world. Leave race and religion aside. Leave them at home.
What ppl don't realise is, variety is the spice of life. Inbreeding creates morons.
written by AsamLaksa, December 23, 2008 18:26:31
DontPlayGod, please don't play dumb. Rompak? The Chinese for so many years willingly paid UMNO protection money. This is not rompak. You buka pintu besar-besar bagi samseng masuk, you should also tanya siapa yang bodoh? This is their give and take but only with UMNO. What of the millions of Malay who are not UMNO? What of the Malay millions who do not benefit from NEP?

Some say 30% is minority. I say 30% is king-maker. Don't believe me? Even the less than 10% became the king makers in the peninsula last round. Dah cakap dah, itu undi melayu belah dua setengah UMNO, setengah PAS dan PKR. What do you think 30% can do in this situation? Ask what those Chinese in East Malaysia are doing. Where are the king maker seats coming from? Ask if they really care about your rompak allegation.

Who let the thieves rule? Siapa bodoh?

"You must be one of the very few privileged UMNO-supported Chinese then."
This statement shows your shallowness. You only see superficially without listening with the reasoning. Where are my privileges? Satu sen pun tak dapat. Where is my support for UMNO? Does this mean all anti-vernacular = UMNO fans? How did you ever jump to that conclusion? Which school you go to where you learned 2 2 = 1234? Banyak pandai but please don't supply the name of your schools buat malu to them just like KJ buat malu to his uni in the eyes of many Malaysians.

Which national schools are Islamised? Do you see a mass conversion to Islam in these schools? Do you see forced attendance of non-Muslims in Agama classes?

Or is it the case with you Islam = stupid? What has Islam got to do with making the education standards poor? Come on, show me the causal link or else you are like the bodoh making bodoh conclusions. Jangan jadi bodohlah.

How is your attitude helping the nation? If Melayu bodoh, teach them. Don't just laugh at them. You also have the Chinese version of Melayu UMNO bodoh sombong. Don't believe me? Take a look at MCA and Gerakan, kontrak mari, kepala Cina pun boleh bagi. Imagine if the portrait of UMNO boss gets defaced how would UMNO react. What of Gerakan boss? Nevermindlah... you behave UMNO give you extra incentives. Dignity can be traded and after that still have the face to speak out as leaders for the Chinese. What is this? Bodoh sombong.

Nicelah shout rompak rompak in all fury when the ones you shout for happily give their cash, heads and souls to the devils you know. Where lies the problem? Dah ajar dah... syaitan mari kena kata tak nak.
written by Tornado, December 23, 2008 18:52:09
Both PKR & PAS should give a deep explaination about Hudud & Kisas which i personally believe benefit not just Muslim but also Non muslim.

What most Non Muslim didn't notice hudud & Kisas not just "potong tangan", "potong kepala" but also involving guide and rule which fair enough to all population.

To DAP leader, they should refer to their partner first before make any statement or conclusion.
written by AsamLaksa, December 23, 2008 19:14:01
Sueteh, they don't want to talk politics, that's fine. But what the Chinese have so long practised is non-inclusion in the larger community regardless of politics. It's the society that matters. Help make it better and it would benefit all. It's not you vs them. Malaysia for Malaysians to me is not just about asking Malays to get along with others but applies to all Malaysians. It's not a matter of who did what wrong but where do you want to go from here.

However partly true your perception of the Chinese rich are, I do not really care about them. The Chinese that is most in my mind are the not so rich Chinese who do not have mistresses, can't afford to go to Genting every Chinese New Year, never been to Hong Kong, those who are struggling in their daily lives.

KotaDamansara73, though I do not agree with Loi wanting a ban on alcohol, I am even less agreeable with the tone in your post. Firstly, if I recall correctly, Loi is a half-Chinese Muslim. He is not a Malay wannabe although I suspect he does lean towards being an Islamist apologist. His postings though disagreeable are mostly sincere and he brings his points out clearly enough.

Here he repeats an important point which is alcohol is bad. Do you deny this? I agree with him that alcohol is bad as I have seen enough harm with it. How many have needlessly died from alcohol induced problems?

I read in sadness recently of the verdict of a trail where a young man was killed when he taunted a person leaving a night club that another young man whom he was not acquainted with looked like a famous footballer and the person hit him. The person reacted by punching him and the victim fell hard causing bleeding in the brain. The perpetrator will spend many years in jail. 2 young wasted lives here. It is just wrong.

I do not agree with an outright ban on alcohol. As much as I want alcohol related wrongs to disappear, I believe the solution is not to ban but rather to educate with some disincentives. I think an outright ban will be ineffective as long as people happily want to take the risk of whatever alcohol does to them. I also believe that a ban will be counter-productive it creates mistrust in the government and further undermining whatever good the authorities want to impose.

You have to sort out the demand as well as the supply. A ban only deals with the supply. The trouble with alcohol, you can home brew. It's really easy to make. Even those living in the jungle never seen a 4WD before knows how to do it. So you can't really sort out the supply issue. You have to work at both ends.

I think Loi's stand is based on over-simplistic Islamic world view and that neither you nor I can do much about it.

Why over-simplistic? Have you read some of the Islamist ideas? One of their idea for sorting out what is so wrong with the world is the creation of a global caliphate which will make all corruption disappear. Alcohol and gambling are problems? Their quick answer is to ban them. If you understand this you can understand why Taleban did the things they did such as risk of deviation from Islamic culture? Ban pop music then.

Rozlan, Islamic may be fair. However you do not need specific Islamic style laws to create fairness. Even secular made laws can be fair and also protect it's citizens. Why this distinction? It's really just labelling and politicking. Just make fair laws and you will realise that those are consistent with Islamic principles anyway. There is really no big issue about Muslims living under secular laws, is there?
written by KotaDamansara73, December 23, 2008 20:43:04

We the chinese will grumble and grumble. But the Malays has all the rights to call us Kaum Pendatang and orang asing. They even say it in Utusan Melayu. They can even call us Kaum Pendatang in RTM and TV3 and berita Awani.

The Malays can even threaten us with Keris and Peristiwa May 13 on national television. So the Chinese grumbling is a small thing compare to their outright racist behaviour.

I ask DAP and PKR to kick PAS out. Don't form the national goverment. It is better to be right than to be wrong. Hanging out with the wrong person doesn't make you a right person.

ISLAMIC LAW is WRONG. It is outdated. It is inhumane. It is intolerance. Choping people's hand is inhumane demonstrate a society that is very intolerance, like the Taliban society. Choping people's hand demonstrate that the society are run by animals.

Chopping people's hand show that the society does not allow people to repent or do not give people a chance to turn a new leave. It is very bad.

Besides that, no foreign investment will want to come in.

Thailand people , majority of them are Buddhist and you don't see them implementing Buddhist State. Indonesia, majority of them are Muslim, and you don't see them implementing Islamic State.

If we ever to implement Islamic state or hudud laws, I guarantee you that Malaysia will be drag backward another 10 years. And 50% of non-muslims will migrate overseas. Malaysia then will be fcuked up.

disagree 16
written by born2reign, December 23, 2008 20:45:44
RPK, whether it is the Chinese, Indians, Dayaks, Portugese in Malacca, Peranakans or Mat Salleh, we don't want the Hudud laws.

We'll vote PAS out if possible, 'coz PAS has been a chameleon since 8 Mar, and has gone back on their word once too often. Whether a govt is Islamic or Buddhist does not mean fairness and good governance. A govt must be religion-free and made accountable based on a set of laws and professional ethics.

Hence a party like PAS will never be fair and progressive. If a Muslim rape victim needs 4 witnesses who viewed the entire incident take place from beginning to end, to get justice under Hudud, what happens if a non-Muslim rapes a Muslim? Should the non-Muslim rapist be tried under Hudud or criminal law?
Should the Muslim victim choose which law to charge the defendant?

It's not the ban on gambling and alcohol that's the issue. It's the question of the queues, polygamy, too pretty to work, 50% quotas for Malays, ketuanan Islam, protection for women and children, Muslim judges, wealth distribution, conversion without spousal knowledge, etc...and jihad eventually.

Have the Muslim commuity demonstrated fairness and transparency for all races and genders all these years? Show me an Islamic govt who has been just and uncorrupted. Don't blame the Chinese nor the non-Muslims, blame the Muslims.

Put in a PKR candidate instead of PAS. Non-Muslims will vote PKR.
written by fdqn, December 23, 2008 21:18:59
Well spoken,Chelsea,I totally couldnt agree more,Yes,you were right!In the early 70s,If the policy makers were to gave us anak malaysia,(those born after merdeka,irrespective of their background or race , each and every one of us equal opportunities to excell in our choosen field,(education or sports)I am very sure,Malaysia wounld not have slide down so badly compared with Singapore or South Korea.during those times,even our footballers were feared by those in the asean region.Hope it will be a wake up call after March 8.its better late then never. smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Corporate citizen, December 23, 2008 22:13:33
Generally speaking, what you said is correct.
Chinese in Johor and Pahang largely falls in the description. These 2 two states are MCA stronghold. Like what UMNO does to Malays, MCA jointly with Chinese educationist wants chinese to learn Science and mathematics in Mother tongue in Primary schools. Clever chinese or malays has no problem even if you teach Science and maths in Russian. Thats what happens when we went total Bahasa in 1970s.
Only, not so clever chinese and Malays who were taught science and maths in mother tongue gets all confused and cannot adapt to the change in medium of instruction, be it at secondary school for chinese or at tertiary level for the Malays(reference books are in English). It was Terrible, as the not so clever chinese has to learn science and maths in Bahasa in secondary school and again to english at the university. The chinese mentioned here are those that went to primary chiese school. Like I mentioned, In Johor and Pahang will support MCA, like UMNO, supports science and maths taught in mother tongue. So we now know that not so clever chinese is a victim of MCA and should apply for refugee status, as political victim of MCA.
My parent has the wisdom to educate me in mainstream School and Mandarin tuition.
My children does chinese primary school, then mainstream secondary and tertiary. they are clever so no problems. My only problem is that they do not speak the mother tongue, Hokkien.. Alas... he eh
written by marbl3s, December 23, 2008 22:23:24
I still stand by what i've said about the rulers.

2 petitions sent but yet the outcome is still the same. A corrupted judge was appointed, ISA still remains and the Hindrafs are still in detention.

As for this third petition to the Sultan of Selangor on the CPO, I am not sure about the outcome of this petition. If the Sultan reacts in favor of the petition, people will start blasting me about my negativity on the rulers. However, if the Sultan does nothing, people will give excuses or reason as to why the Rulers makes those decisions.

A little unfair don't you think so?

As said, probably i've not been well educated enough about the rulers or have been keeping myself updated with all the happenings in this country to know the contributions of the royalties. If anyone wants to, you could enlighten me a little with some knowledge if you want.

But as of now, with the increasing crime rate and government asking me as a rakyat to change perception instead, with all the corruption issues within the government, with all the issues whereby police are detaining innocent citizen and even video footage of polices being the crap out of a civilian and yet no help given by the royalties, i don't think i can expect much from them.
written by Mirage, December 23, 2008 23:22:08

I don't think the majority Chinese are defensive here. We are what we are becoz we had to fight for most things wherever we are. We have been the underdog since the very beginning when we decided to migrate all over the world. In Malaysia its no diff, we have to fight the majority and we have to fight the bad experience of politic and financial that we have endured. So your statement of whacking the chinese is nothing new except it shows lack of understanding of why we are the way we are. Ask yourself why the Chinese work so hard....answer they do not have the silver platter. Its a believe in a lot of Chinese esp those who cannot afford education but had to work towards one ....they will always believe that they cannot afford to lose at any cause and have inscribe this in them. So on their grumbling, i think a very good reason is 90% of the tax that is paid by non Malays show that there should be 100% disatisfaction at all time esp when they work so hard for other to make stupid decisions.
written by renoir, December 23, 2008 23:25:54
DontPlayGod wrote:
>... the Chinese (contributed) the biggest bulk of revenue to the country? So what are you saying that the Chinese are not contributing and are grumbling without justification]]

This is indeed a valid point, partly because our system of government is based on the Western capitalistic concept. The huge income taxes - totally out of proportion to the Chinese population - do endow the community with certain rights as opposed to those who contributed less or no income tax at all. That's the reason for the popular slogan of the American Revolution "No Taxation without Representation!" And in the early days Americans without a certain amount of property weren't eligible to vote. However, Chinese Malaysians are not asking for extra pivileges: they merely want equal treatment for themselves, for the Indians, Sabahans, for the Malays, for all anak Malaysia. That surely isn't too much to ask. The long list of discriminations given by DontPlayGod cannot be denied, and must not be glossed over. Until those discriminations are rectified, all else is secondary, for no people on earth who've paid the highest amount of taxes, so high as to be grotesquely out of proportion, ought to be told that his children still cannot go to a local college, still cannot become even head of a state corporation, still cannot even question the "right" of wealthy bumis to acquire houses at a discount, all because of his race.

As I'd implied a number of times, this nation CAN get out of the logic of this Western capitalistic system by opting for a more egalitarian, socialistic society which put limits on individual wealth, on more sharing among citizens, and on social goals rather than individualistic ones. Such a society would dampen human greed, place more emphasis on societal welfare, and discourage rampant corruption. The alternative is the present "system" in which the robbers will always make their own rules, and corner their disproportionate share of the loot. And as the powerholders are largely of one race, this essentially class phenomenon has become a racial - and religious - one as well.

written by renoir, December 24, 2008 00:00:00
Was distracted just now by a phone call - I wrote at the end of the second last paragraph:

"... all else is secondary, for no people on earth who've paid the highest amount of taxes, so high as to be grotesquely out of proportion, ought to be told that his children still cannot go to a local college, still cannot become even head of a state corporation, still cannot even question the "right" of wealthy bumis to acquire houses at a discount, all because of his race."

Should be:
"... all else is secondary, for no people on earth who've paid the highest amount of taxes, so high as to be grotesquely out of proportion to their population, ought to be told that their children still cannot go to a local college, still cannot become head of a state corporation, still cannot even question the right of wealthy bumis to acquire houses at a discount, all because of their ethnicity."

-------------------------
Mirage wrote:
>So on their grumbling, i think a very good reason is 90% of the tax that is paid by non Malays show that there should be 100% disatisfaction at all time esp when they work so hard for other to make stupid decisions]]

Perhaps it might be ok even the satisfaction reaches even a mere 50 percent, Mirage. Yet, to add insult to injury, the non-Malays are still called "pendatangs" and "orang asings." What do you do with this kind of people? VOTE them out!!!

written by Mirage, December 24, 2008 00:31:18
Well Chuah, to be honest, I have seen this close up. This ppl (the ones who call us pendatang) are just the minority trying to provoke sentiments of the majority Malays becoz they are loosing grounds. Why do they need to do this if today they have the majority support? As for the Chinese we do not have the luxury of playing this type of politics and they (Chinese) are keeping this as real as it get becoz the Chinese do not want to loose what they work so hard for. For this the Chinese maybe regarded as lalang rather than being known as protecting the years of hard work knowing that the changes of politics and policies will not be in their favour. And MCA knows this as well and now you see Ong Tee Keat responding to the UMNO/BN monopoly knowing that failure to do so the Chinese will go towards the DAP.
written by DontPlayGod, December 24, 2008 01:14:53
AssamLaksa, I can only presume that you haven't been moving around much. UMNO has rompaked most of the major business which at one time was controlled by the Chinese, viz. banks, transport companies, rice mills, wholesale business, etc. etc. Which people will willingly allow others to take over their business when they are doing well, as you imply? I am speaking from first sources as a classmate of mine, whose family owned a bus transport company in Kedah, had to sell off to the UMNO Malays as the Government was making it extremely difficult to operate, e.g. refusing to give permits for replacement buses, refusing to allow for an increase of buses, refusing to allow for new routes to be serviced by them. But the moment the Malays took over this transport business, the Malay owners had not problems getting permits for additional buses and getting permits for new routes(applied previously by my classmates family and was turned down).

But I suppose this is not good enough an argument for you. How did the Chinese lose control of all the banks they owned previously? But I suppose you will be arguing for UMNO, too.
written by Old Man, December 24, 2008 05:46:19
Sir RPK, I appreciate your sincerity! There a lot of ignorant Malaysians of Chinese origin which make them not only 'kiasu' but 'kiasi'! Perhaps you should pour more EXTRA cold water over their heads every now and then! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by CPY, December 24, 2008 09:13:24
RPK, sometimes we do have some mistakes. For eg, most chinese dare not participate in demos. I'm myself a college student dare not risk my education to do demos. smilies/angry.gif
written by Nizzywizzy, December 24, 2008 10:04:01
Msahibul56
How ingnorant you are, cant beleive you have this kind of thinking in 2008 nearly 2009. They are MALAYSIANS just as you are but just happened to be Chinese. Tell me if you had choice to chose your race, colour, religion or nationality before you were born. We can disagree on the issues and have a constructive argument for the betterment of all Malaysians. I widely travel and whenever I meet a Chinese,Indian, Malay or other races from Malaysia in overseas, they always proudly identify themself MALAYSIANS, never as Chinese or Indians or Malay. So we must be proud of our fellow citizens from different races and if we find something wrong with them wack them like RPK does, or get wacked when your attitudes wrong but please drop the thinking that people will go back to China or Inida or Timbaktu. Get used to the idea that they are malaysians and here to stay whether you like it or not.
written by teohism, December 24, 2008 11:20:29
My 2 ($AUD) cents worth...

Fact 1. - MCA is Chinese (Malaysian) BUT not all Malaysian of Chinese ethnicity is MCA.

Fact 2. - Between PAS and BN (MCA, UMNO dll.) MANY Malaysian of Chinese ethnicity voted for PAS (I did; I also checked with my frens).

Fact 3. - Not enough DAP or PKR (for the ethnic Chinese) candidates!!! I predict DAP would win ALL their seats even if they field in 'green-horns' smilies/grin.gif

Fact 4. - Article 160 is so terribly FLAWED. It shows how stupid we are to relate 'Ethnicity' with 'Religion'. To the cunning Muslim pendatang who has no decency, it is a tool to bigotry.

Consider this metaphor - A Parrot that barks like a dog IS NOT a Dog (regardless of what any stupid Article may define). To those BN goons who pretend not to understand - an Ethnicity (birth factor) CANNOT be changed whereas a Religion (personal belief or by kiasu laws) can be.

IF we can correct Article 160 - we would be also matured enough to solve if not address ALL our other issues... as Malaysian. Get real or wake up!!!
written by teohism, December 24, 2008 11:21:44
Merry Christmas & Peace to ALL.
written by dmh1871, December 24, 2008 12:27:05
Malay is that by nature the Malay are an accommodating race that why other races is able to be the richest man, billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister, Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs etc and yet the non-malays still say they are being treated unfairly and for that the Malay has to further compromise whatever rights they have even though it is guaranteed under the constitution.

And yet the grumble all th time saying that they are marginalised and the Malay are racial. They can say so coz they are not in power. Hello! what the non-malays have now is 1000 x more than what I can say about what the Malay gets as a minority in a neighbouring country where the non-malays are in power and call them self the land of meritocracy, level playing field and equal distribution and what do they give the Malay there (they are not the richest man and there is no malays billionaire, bankers, Chief Minister, Minister [except for one in charge of enviroment for years], Excos, Fed Coa Hc Judges, High rank in the army-navy-air force-police, DGs, fighter pilots etc) when they are in power almost nothing and no body made a fuss out of it.

To me the sg Malay are like passenger in an air con bus i.e. they are provided with clean, comfortable seat and cool surrounding, they have no control over where they are going, the route is pre determine for them. However qualified they may be they can never be the driver or even the conductor coz ……...

Maybe the Malays here should learn from the neighbouring non-malays by not being so accommodating only then the non-malays here would appreciate what they have.
written by renoir, December 24, 2008 12:29:28
>I just read a recent news somewhere that any chinese in Mainland China who complaint a lot were sent to physciatrists to check their mental health]]

Don't believe too much in what you're reading, Rozlan. Wasn't too long ago when the Western media went along with Saddam's WMD, and even today there're still articles implying that anyone that comes out of a madrasah is a terrorist.

Incidentally, sending dissidents to psychiatrists was a charge and countercharge between the former Soviet Union and the United States - BOTH the parties had some truth on their side. In the US, however, a favorite description of assassins was that they're "loners" and "mentally unstable." This sort of "explanation" was used for murders ranging from JFK to Martin Luther King jr, and many more between them during the turbulent 60s and 70s.

Still, seeing how China is aping Western policies without understanding the obvious perils that come with them, one would be tempted to think that the entire CCP leadership need to see their psychiatrists.

written by humanist, December 24, 2008 13:48:42
(I am a Chinese)

Well written. 500% true. Another book to recommend for your past time reading.
The Ugly Chinaman- Bo Yang.

After reading it, you will realized that your are going too easy in this article, please write another one that stab right through the heart.

smilies/wink.gif
Al
written by CitizenBodohland, December 24, 2008 15:18:01
Apalah semua orang gado-gado pasal orang cina dan melayu. Cina dan Melayu sama-sama manusia dan sama-sama anak malaysia. Yang bukan manusia ialah ameno and mca yang tengah syok tengok korang gado-gado without any fullstop. Lagi kuat gado, lagi itu dua-dua setan suka. Lagi senang korang bagi itu setan jadi champion. Semua kaum ada kelebihan dan kelemahan. Cuba korang pandang kepada kelebihan masing-masing. Bantu yang lemah dan miskin. Daripada gado-gado itu macam, bagus pikir macam mana mau bantu Melayu miskin, Cina miskin dan India miskin. Itu NEP bagi tukar NPP (National Poverty Policy) lagi bagus.

Sudahlah tuh.

CitizenBodohland is anak malaysia berbapak Melayu Cina dan beremak India mat saleh. Apa macam?
written by renoir, December 24, 2008 15:27:41
CPY wrote:
> For eg, most chinese dare not participate in demos. I'm myself a college student dare not risk my education to do demos.]]

Well, with all the roadblocks in government employment and other benefits, education is probably more important than to the Malays. Another factor is the feeling among the Chinese, and perhaps the Indians, that they've no stake in this country. Still, March 8 has shown that when pressed with their backs to the wall, they DO fight back, though not as openly as the Indians who're clearly the leaders in the current people's movement. Hats off to our Indian brothers.

Humanist wrote:
>Another book to recommend for your past time reading.
The Ugly Chinaman- Bo Yang]]

Unlike Lu Hsun, who assailed Chinese mentality in order to arouse them from their stupor, Bo Yang did it to attract the West and make some money from them (which was why the latter was despised amongst the Chinese intelligentsia, include the writer/TV commentator Li Ao). Yang did achieve his purpose, though: he was much feted by Western media and even invited to give a talk at the Univ of Iowa. His kind isn't unknown to the Chinese, especially during the last days of the Ching. Sun Yat-sun found their so-called "intellect" much below that of the uneducated peasants.

RPK, however, is more like Lu Hsun in his fight for a good cause. Hence he gets the support of Chinese Malaysians even when he calls them all sorts of names. The Chinese understand RPK's "niat" and that's most important.

written by guns head, December 24, 2008 15:57:31
i think this title scored highest commentors but no one can beat mahathir. He has 900 for one title
written by guns head, December 24, 2008 16:00:47
I judge that rpok, abu zahar, mat sabu, all strong holds players will play main role but one sentence made by Husam will make BN win. Congratulations for ur stupidity statement of highly educated H_S_ _
written by sueteh, December 24, 2008 16:11:27
Assamlaksa..there are many types of chineses..and i am not bothered to list it down here. i ask this question, how many chinese on ramadan month visit the bazaar ramadan and buy juadah/food?? surely, have but you can just cough at it. how many chinese will walk in to eat in a malay restaurant..almost none unless that person is a muslim. the nearest they venture is the nyonya food..blend chinese malay.

i only talk money. religion values keep it to your children. families reunite and split because of money. even you want to talk lurvv..money counts. gua cinta sama lu..that's all..perut/tummy can kenyang/filled? who is going to pay the bills?? yes, i am money minded..so sue me lah. haven't you read the newspapers/gossips?? what money can do to people?? regardless of race. chinese people is not all that keen to be a hero/maytr. time is money, money is time. the other whatever else principles..comes later. what religion never mention money??

what you want to apply concept in your life/community?? OK lah..always banging being Malaysian. I am a Chinese Baba Nyonya..my IC is Biru and stated Warganegara, my passport is Malaysia (not fake lah). I live and work in the Klang Valley. I drive a Malaysian car. I don't have any hak istimewa orang Melayu..(i was asked once by someone on that)..so..what do you want me to do?? IF you convert to Islam..you are still a chinese (I am not a Muslim..or whatever else lah), only your children is considered Malay and hopefully get all those juicy hak-hak istimewa..period. YOu want to argue that?? Tell the politicans lah. I am not a politician but I do care. Being fair. How nice..I love fairness.don't all of us like that, huh??

I have to go about my life everyday, I am not rich and I makan gaji like zillions of people out there. I have car breakdown, I have pms, I have moods, I am human living in Malaysia. What else?? What you want me to do about being a Malaysian?? Unless I am that lucky to migrate to other countries then when i settle there (which I am not migrate..no moolah and no one to sponsor me) then i will also complain and grumble there, ok. What you want me to do?? My life is here in Malaysia..hidup di Msia mampus here also..no need to bury 6 ft under..bakar and pls chuck to the ocean..(btw i am still young you know)

tamat..senang senang..listen to some dondang sayang.

written by sueteh, December 24, 2008 16:23:17
to add..chinese do eat in malay restaurant at klcc lah..those high class types..
written by Siapabohong, December 24, 2008 16:23:51
written by pixieface, December 23, 2008 11:03:07

Dear RPK you are darn right about the chinese. Majority are kiasu, kaisi. Whenever
there is an accident, they just drive by slowly, kay poh only to watch, not help.
They are scared that the accident victim die in their car. Soi lah they say.
I am a chinese and ashamed of this mentality. Chinese only care for the economics.
Can make money okay no problem. But I'm not one of them. I dream for a malaysian
reality regardless of race or creed.

Alo piexieface,
So everybody must be very careful when you are driving on the road, must everytime pray to God so that no accident befall on you... because if that happened, no body will come to help, especially in Chinese area... you will be let to die by those kaypoh and grumbling Chinese rather than they rush you to hospital. Manyak soi ah when they see blood in thier car, what else if the poor soul left the mortal world in their car... whoa.. hantu berkampung dalam keleta lia oh....
written by one box, December 24, 2008 20:54:37
One KEY difference between Chinese and Indians, versus Malays is:

Chinese and Indians do criticise their own race based on their conscience and ideology.

Only a small percentage of Malays do that. Although nowadays I do see more and more Malays are brave enough to be different. Perhaps this is the help of Internet that allows the Malays to see that "I am not alone".
written by Taiping60, December 24, 2008 22:29:45
Reading this RPK's article and the commentaries by many Malaysians, made the Chinese feel "smaller" and lesser people. I am sorry that I do not totally agree with what RPK said and many of those responded to this article. Allow me to explain before you start bashing me.

Chinese are pragmatic people. Our many generations of experience tell us the important of education. No it is not Chinese education that we are pursuing. We are pursuing quality education. If you can recall, before our BN government started their systematic plan nationalise our school, there are two types of school namely Chinese Schools and Missionary Schools. Those days there are more chinese sending their children to missionary schools than chinese schools. Most of the chinese parents who sent their children to the missionary school were not even christian themselves. Did anybody ask why? Yes, lack of chinese school could be one reason but this problem is also happening now so this could not be the real issue. The truth is, missionary schools gave quality education. That was a fact.

My parent did not hesitate to send me and my several siblings to the missionary schools because they provide quality education. So it is not that is must be chinese schools but more so quality schools. With exception of a few, most of the government run schools are not providing quality education. If you compare the quality of the missionary schools then and after they have been taken over by the government, I dare to say almost 100% if not 100% have drop in their standard of education drastically. With that, those most chinese have no choice but to send their children to chinese schools. Those who can afford, send their children to private schools (not chinese schools). Only those without choices send their children to government schools. If you are lucky you get to schools where there are some good and dedicated teachers, then you children may excel. However, that also has limit due to the school up education system and syllabus, which keep changing over the years.
I dare to say, majority of the chinese are not too particular of whether it is chinese school or not but rather focus on quality schools. The only exception now is that many chinese parents as well as some pragmatic non chinese parents would prefer their children to study one extra language i.e. Mandarin due to the influence from China now and future.

As for politics, the truth is there was no choices. The only time when there were choices was in 1969 and recent March election in 2008. Believe me, if there were real choice, the chinese would have voted differently. Moving forward, majority of the chinese will never vote for BN, UMNO, MCA, Gerakan or MIC unless they have proof to us they are prepared to change and corruption is something in the past. So RPK, believe me if the present components of BN continue to behave how they behave today, they may not be a credible opposition in the next election not mentioning loosing the government.

written by ahmadneil, December 25, 2008 08:31:25
Merry Christmas,2008 ,to all.
Ya,the chinese may grumble but they grumble with brains.
Only those who are in MCA,they grumble without brains. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by marbl3s, December 25, 2008 15:49:57
Merry Christmas and happy new year.
written by teo siew chin, December 27, 2008 06:35:53
aiya YM RPK, aint it enuf u write the chinese have lost their glands, now u write the chinese gonna lose the hand !!! smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Taiping60, December 27, 2008 22:30:06
R020998, do not understand how you came to that conclusion. To answer you question, the answer is NO. What I was trying to highlight is Education is alway top on the list for majority if not all chinese. To chinese it is the "ticket" to better life and many poor parent will go through great length to see their children gets quality education and as such they are prepared to sacrifice their life for it. That why it is common to see hawkers or taxi drivers working through days and night to ensure their children get quality education. I suppose it is something which is also important to other races but to the chinese, this is top on the list. I mentioned about the missionary schools to explain I do not think the Chinese are particular about Chinese school but more so about quality school. Since in the past missionary schools provide quality education, there are many chinese parents who sent their children to those school although they have the option to send to chinese schools.

On politics, it is true the chinese grumble but the truth is because there were no choice during election. In March 2008, there were choices and as a result of that the chinese do not hesitate to vote the alternative. Maybe this approach was wrong or the chinese could have done something different. What I merely done is to state the fact and i.e. is Chinese put great emphasis on their children education and there were no choice in the past.

Wish everyone who agree or disgree with me a happy new year full with laugthers and joys. I also wish good will prevail and all Malaysian regardless of races and religion will use their votes wisely to ensure we have a clean, honest and a sincere government and get rid of all corrupted, racist and inefficient government and opposition politicians.

written by Mirage, December 30, 2008 17:28:13
For ppls like Old Man and Kunta pls get your facts in place. Its sounds more like emotions talking. To understand the Chinese and the Indians is not just about the bashing or the stereotyping. If RPK were to write his column base on his feel good today, this column would not be read. So go with some fact pls.
written by exzonerator, December 31, 2008 13:16:50
Chinese are the most selfish of the lot. At first sign of trouble they will think about migrating. Then when they do migrate they will flock among their own kind and form some kind of race based association. That's the diaspora story all over the world.
written by Mirage, January 01, 2009 00:24:59
Kunta,

Firstly your example of Indonesia is incorrect. The Indonesia ppl after having change their name to an Indonesian name, they were also suppressed from talking abt politics in public and race based issue. The Chinese in Indonesia are rich. During the last riot, the suppressed nation's outburst and jealousy of the Chinese went into a killing spree. I know this for a fact because I stayed there for 3 years. Not only the attacks on Chinese, I know of a particular situation where the owner of shop (a chinese) locked up his shop while it was burgled and burn it down. If you have been to Indonesia, you would know that it is not even safe to go out on your own or take a taxi without the hotel knowing the cab number you have taken. Again I think the understanding stems from knowing the basic only but the actual emotion are running high amonst the ppl.

As for the Singapore, I can only agree that the Singaporeans are law abiding in their own country. But ask again the Malays in Singapore if they would like to work in Malaysia. The Malays in Singapore are working on a much faster pace and do not see eye to eye of the working culture here. On top of that, Singapore is a country that is not rich on natural resources but the human resource itself. So tell me again that the rules and regulations that got them to the develop country status and much ahead of Malaysia is not through the law abiding the dicipline citizens. If that is your answer, then I would understand your stand.

And for China Tianamen, that was a propaganda from the start. Watch and read the Time Magazine and the books on Tianamen. Look at the pre-stage and the branded jeans the clothes the protesters are wearing. Those days China was not an open country as it is now. I think all your comparison above have answered your own questions. Look at the crime rates and the serious crime rates in Malaysia esp in Johor, BM and you still think that the strict rules and laws in Singapore is overly done?? I am puzzled if you are a Malaysian and your fact are shallow or maybe its read from the headlines only and not the full context of the issues.
written by TKAL, January 01, 2009 14:21:37
That's y MCA has manipulate the actual situation by injecting fear to Chinese community. Likewise UMNO injecting fear to Malay community by stating those Malay rights will be taken away if not because of UMNO. Mainly those are the tactic used by certain ppl for their political benefits.

But I m sure with the wonder of IT in this century, everyone has a clearer picture and will not be easily influence by certain party. Just hoping that the message will reach those IT illiterate ppl soon.

BTW Kunta, I think everyone also knows how the Malay protested when there was a proposal to open the MARA higher education (cant remember the exact word) to non-Malays.

I do not see the problem of the so-called protest as the objective is to maintain chinese education. It is not that the protest is to forbid the non-chinese from going to chinese school. Unlike the MARA thingy, it is protesting certain races of earning higher education which is a BIG NO NO.

So which is worse? Please correct me if I am wrong.
written by KuntaTobey, January 01, 2009 23:00:24
Hi Mirage,

"The Indonesia ppl after having change their name to an Indonesian name, they were also suppressed from talking abt politics in public and race based issue."

See, You admit this. OK, in other countries, the chinese were treated badly also. In Malaysia, it is much much better compare to other countries. In Malaysia, Chinese and Indian also can become Minister, where else can?

And recently, the Chinese from MCA had asked for TPM post. Man, don't you think, this is too much compare to other countries where the chinese ppl were treated very poorly.

Rich only cannot achieve all, it needs will to change and this is not everybody has.

It is not me who ask for Bangsa Malaysia. It is the Chinese Politician and the Chinese ppl who is grumblig on Malay status and so on. so they are looking at Bangsa Malaysia as alternate solution to all this bias by the Malay Politician.

My concern is how to achive this so called Bangsa Malaysia. when are talking one thing and doing one thing. we can't change people in one night. It will take many years with many ppl sacrifies to achieve it if we dare to make the changes now. The fruit of the success will be taste by our next generations ppl. I cannot change you who studied in a typical chinese schools, a typical Malay schools and a typical tamil schools.

We need one common schools for all this to happen, "permuafakatan akan terbina dengan sendiri dimasa hadapan" if we dare to make the changes now.

As an evidence, Chinese ppl already reject the proposal by our former PM, TDM.

So, as said by RPK, the chinese will always GRUMBLING and GRUMBLING and GRUMBLING.
written by KuntaTobey, January 01, 2009 23:04:06
Mirage,

Talking on Crime rate, do you know one day crime rate in New York only is equivalent to 1 years crime rate in Saudi Arabia.

Do you know why Saudi Arabia crime rate is very low? Don't know, go and do you R&D.
written by KuntaTobey, January 01, 2009 23:07:33
and by the way, as of now there are few hundreds Indian and Chinese are studying in MARA. The Malay has sikap tak apa, but the chinese has the sikap only we.

See, I do believe, YB Lim Guan Eng will rule Penang honestly and successfully. But people after him will come with the same old attitude, on
written by KuntaTobey, January 01, 2009 23:08:14
Only chinese must success.
written by KuntaTobey, January 01, 2009 23:10:13
RPK has the will and he is doing a good job. He is a REAL DEAL.
written by Mirage, January 02, 2009 00:07:40
Kunta,

For the narrow minded ppl like you who sees the surface only, I have only this to comment ..... be the minority that contribute the 90% tax and economy of the country and see how you feel if you are sideline in decisions. Its not abt Chinese or Indian or Malay, it abt how you write your amateurish statement.

Read more is all I can advice you. As for Indonesia, if you could understand what I wrote, then you would know that supression is not the way to go but rather law, rule of law, dicipline, enforcement of the rule policies and transparency is the way to go. And I have said Singapore is one of those countries which has achieved this closely but due to your lack of understanding again, you find that this is overly done in their strict regime and its labelled stupid. When Singapore does well, we say that they are a smaller country and its easy to govern and achieve this and when Penang does well we say its only Guan Eng but after him all Chinese are the same. When Hong Kong ACA achieve this we say Hong Kong are ruled by Chinese for Chinese which was your earlier pt and brings me to my next point of ppl haveing to admit when some countries are getting it right and are better than us. We had that during Mahathir's time in which he looked at other countries, their culture and the ppl for what they are strong at and try to improve ourselves.

Coming to your point on Mara, you are totally out on this. Pls get your fact corrected. Anyway Mara has only given loan for Malays to do agriculture development. Where is this money coming from? If the Malays are selling this to the other race, they cant be seen as the ppl who got the loan from Mara.

Not sure what you are trying to get at on the crime rate in New York and Saudi which you depicted which has no barier in this topic that I can think of. However trying to think the way you do, you are bringing in the Muslim and non-muslim argument to this equation just like the way you are bringing in the countries that the Chinese have succeeded in making well of the circumstances they are in. In my argument, I am only stating that to understand why the Chinese behave this way and not necessary that the Chinese are right, however in most circumstances they have done well for the situations they were in.
written by KuntaTobey, January 02, 2009 23:12:00
Look at ;
1 - Australia
2 - US
3 - UK

this are 1st class countries. Looking at their origin, what happen to Aborigins of Australia, Red Indian of US and native of UK. most are living in worst condition, their Govt provide special benefis for them. Same goes to Malaysia, The govt taking care of Malays. That's all. At the same time, most succesfull people do exist in Chinese and Indian comunities, not like in US until now there is no single Black people that is listed as Billionaire.

1 - MRSM is under Mara. So already answered ur arguments above.
2 - I do pay tax and was not offered into local university although qualified with STPM 5A's in Science Stream. At least the Chinese have proper channel to highlights this issues, for other that do not have channel to voice this like me. we never GRUMBLING like chinese, we just continue to survive in Malaysia (siks, Gjuretis, Indians, Indian Muslims and so on. Atleast Chinese have quota, what about others that do not have. don't say above race are included in Bumiputra. That is Gimmic.

My point is Malaysia is far more better than other countries and we should appreciate it. Not GRUMBLING, GRUMBLING, GRUMBLING as was said by RPK.

We should get what those Malays are getting, but we didn't. So we should use the proper channel but not like the MT bloggers that bashing everybody because of politician's mismanagement.
written by sueteh, January 03, 2009 09:59:03
that is true there are some chinese & indians & other bumiputras in MARA though not many. in particular chinese are far more selfish and this trait is what they are proud of, despite being religious or otherwise.

we all live in comfort zone and we want to remain in our comfort zone, because we take what it is to make it our comfort zone. rich or poor, all are selfish. incidentally, if you are not selfish, you lose out. but all this competition and continous striving is really stressful and tiring.

another matter, those with children, please not overfeed your kids and make them balloon! aiyoh, i saw this 2 overweight children (i won't say what race) and they are just in their primary schooling, mak datuk, i think they would (brother and sister) at least weighed about 50kg or more. their grandpa always with them and indulged them in sweets. hello, please lah..mak belum semput anak dah semput oi! goodness, mommy still can breathe but the kids already short of breath!
written by sueteh, January 03, 2009 10:25:04
thr reds in US (in Vegas, they hold licence to gambling, wahloa man!). why you think Pak Kerala mai Mahatir during his days asking the Malays beranak banyak sedozen?? Majority race. While the malays sibuk projek tiap malam Jumaat dan doubled up with sembahyang hajat hah, the cina keep reducing in anak production and migrating, that is what Pak M mau lah.

Then the chinese always says we can make it on our own, and we can go anywhere in this world and can survive. This is definitely music to Pak Kerala punya ears. Go lah. How many chineses in Malaysia can afford to migrate? Then, the chineses say yalah you lazy mah.

all have their own mindset and mindframe.

this year 2009, itu Lim GE says he is going to be nice to the federal govt. hah, what happened lost your gigi taring kah?? that karpal singh dan jadi singa baru cabut gigi taringkah??

the more you question the rights of the Malays, the more they protect it. if you turn the situation around, say, Malaysia majority chinese and minority malays would you not do the same thing?? can't say right??
written by sueteh, January 03, 2009 10:40:30
many chineses in malaysia drives big foreign branded cars, eat in expensive restaurants, home fully air cond with latest electronic gagdet. areas like mont kiara, sierramas, country heights, kota damansara, damansars heights. one boss i know only husband and wife have 5 cars all foreign cars isn't that selfish?? my money my sukalah, i pay not you, why you so kay poh??

and there are chineses drive protion saga, kancil, stays in kampung cempaka. whatever it is, still boleh cari makan kan?? hah, RPK itu Bandar Rahman Putra Sg. Buloh pun tempat orang lot ka?

Me, i live in bahagian Ulu Langat lah. The current cerita in tv Puaka Niang Rapik, gua punya favorite. shooting at Ulu Langat and other places. Alamak for the cina..lari kia kui! Itu HANTU MANUSIA lagi dasyat tau!

those chinese kaya ones, they buy a piece of land outside klang valley and built banglo house with pool and jungle surroundings. usually you mean by ulu places lah. vacation home weekend home.

likewise, the indians, ada kaya punya tak tolong yang tak kaya. even the malays yang kaya punya buat tak tau sedara yang tak kaya. so, apa komen anda? also got the ones pretend to be poor but actually wahloa kaya.

written by exzonerator, January 03, 2009 13:45:40
What do you expect when the ruling "tuans" always make threats to bathe the keris, pantang dicabar or run amok everytime election is near. Rwanda is real, the former Yugoslavia is real, the holocaust is real, let there be no illusion that it the "pendatangs" are realists too.
written by Mirage, January 03, 2009 16:27:46
1 - MRSM is under Mara. So already answered ur arguments above.

Well to the Mara college yes but not sponsorship for abroad studies nor agriculture sponsorship