Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow State stand on hudud law, PKR and DAP urged

State stand on hudud law, PKR and DAP urged PDF Print
Monday, 22 December 2008 10:29

(The Star) - PKR and DAP should make their stand on PAS’ goal to implement hudud law should the Pakatan Rakyat win in a general election, MCA Youth Chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong said.

“Other political parties in the Pakatan Rakyat should announce publicly whether they agree with PAS on the implementation of hudud law,” he said.

He was asked to comment on PAS vice-president Husam Musa’s statement on Saturday that hudud law would be implemented if the party was to take over Government.

The statement was made during a forum titled “Malaysia’s Political Transformation” with Umno Youth deputy chief Khairy Jamaluddin.

Dr Wee said any collaboration between political parties would have a consensus on their political struggle and ideology.

“They should not hide the fact that their ultimate goal is to fish vote,” he said, adding that the MCA would continue to uphold the Federal Constitution.

Meanwhile, Khairy pointed out that he did not say that hudud laws would be implemented as reported in the Sunday Star yesterday.

He had said that the status quo would be maintained.

He added that it was Husam who said hudud laws would be implemented if Pakatan Rakyat formed the Federal Government.

written by Rashid, December 22, 2008 10:37:31
That hudud laws that will be implemented are the ones that will make all Umno leaders amputees so that they don't have hands to raise the keris and utter expletives and hands for loot as well. I like that! Apart from that, nothing else is possible.
written by cahaya, December 22, 2008 10:42:07
The BN government led by UMNO continues to mix race and religion. They continue to tell voters they had to decide whether to vote the known (to continue the same as before, to avoid racial riots, to avoid religious restrictions) or to vote the unknown (threat of racial problems, threat of religious retrictions). But hudud law is not an issue for elections.

Racial issues and religious issues are not the basis for elections. The “non-BN political parties” especially those under PR need to show Malaysians that good governance issues are more important. (Of course, PR should remind everyone that the Federal Constitution promises the freedom of religion for all races).

Election issues should be about Good Governance, that is how the PR candidate (competent, accountable, transparent) will provide better service to the people.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 10:45:03
1, Ya,implement hudud so that these crooks hands will be chop off and they won't steal from us anymore.
2, Chop those hands off so that they won't point their fingers at the backside during Permatang Pauh by-election.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 22, 2008 11:03:22
Husam should answer that “Hudud” law might (not will) be implemented in strong Muslims majority states (over 70%) if the people so wishes and agree upon. Also “Hudud” laws are applicable to Muslims only while the non Muslims are under the civil laws.

This no time for PAS to be sentimental about their ideology but be shrewd politicians.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 11:13:19
Chop their hands so that when you walk around ,you will know that those handless are those that are from umno
written by KingSolomon, December 22, 2008 11:20:27
This Wee fellow is an idiot. As a human being, he should know whether one will want to have one's limbs chopped off or be stoned to death for any reason - no need to ask others except to display his stupidity.

The rakyat are definitely against any form of crude laws and PKR and DAP know that.

However, the rakyat do not mind trying out this kind of law for a short period if its application is limited to the ruling politicians, the police and ACA only.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 11:20:39
If hudud is implemented,we have to donate chainsaws becos there will be too many hands to be chop and using Samarai sword will be too slow.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 11:23:32
What will they chop is rapist are convicted!9Will they chainsawed his cock) What will they chop if saiful committed sodomy again.(will they shoved a chainsaw into his ass)
written by Tompios, December 22, 2008 11:27:55
smilies/grin.gif funny. The Saiful species ass will not get any chainsaw treatment but a plastic surgery sponsor by Suruhan Jaya Pelantikan Hakim to change his ass to "Golden Triangle"!!
written by Oscar Winner, December 22, 2008 11:29:38
Try harder, Dr. Wee!! You guys not just parrot whatever your masters say, but you also emulate all their scare tactics. We rather have hudud law than to have murderers, robbers, racists, molesters, liars, hypocrites, corrupted crooks...etc (OMG! the list seems endless) to run this country.....
written by HL Ooi, December 22, 2008 11:38:00
Eh, MCA, tak ada modal baru kaa? We have been told for decades that PAS is a monster, but your good friend UMNO has always been the one instigating racial and religious hatred. Don't you think we Chinese don't already see that now?
Hasn't PAS always protested peacefully while UMNO hooligans storm buildings and threaten to burn them down? MCA, we Chinese don't like your good friend, and if you keep hanging around with him, we won't like you either.
written by johntyc, December 22, 2008 11:45:51
This Wee an idiot. Yes, if Pas take over government, it might implement Hudud law. But, there's no reason for non Muslim to be scared. Pakatan Rakyat not made up of Pas alone. There's PKR and DAP too. Maybe Wee scared because of his sins!
written by krising1, December 22, 2008 11:52:27
Dr. Wee, we do not want to interfere in Muslim affairs. Infact it is good. THere are a number of crooks in UMNO who will walking around without their hands.

I want you and the MCA take a stand on Ketuanan Melayu, Islamic State and our education system.
written by asguard, December 22, 2008 11:54:09
Let the Barang Naik says whatever they want...but at the end of the day ...its people will made their choice.....
written by carribeanking7, December 22, 2008 11:59:06
Aiya why these fellows so silly one, why talk about things that cannot happen.

In Kelantan PAS won 37 of the 45 state assembly seats PKR 1 and the rest BN, that means they control a whopping 82% of Kelantan far more that 2/3rds which is 66.66 %. So they are free to enact Municipal laws which include those touching on public decorum, but all they can do is impose a fine. They however cannot enact criminal or hudud laws,here Federal laws override,for this they need at least 148 parliamentary seats , even UMNO at the height of their popularity never had such a mandate. So even if they win 100% of the seats in Kelantan they cannot implement hudud laws there.

Hudud law is not about who rules, at least 148 lawmakers must ratify it in Parliament, whether Pakatan or BN rules. It is next to impossible to enact hudud laws in a country that is 40% non-muslim. Politicians from both sides must also be well versed with the provisions of the federal constitution before they open their big fat mouths.

GE12 was different in a sense that it was the first time many non-Muslims voted nationwide wherever PAS challenged BN and yet they won only 14% of the popular vote. So rest easy, the chances of this happening is almost zilch, about the same chance as Iran has of becoming a Catholic country.

So enough of this political posturing and scare mongering, lets talk about tangible and realistic matters, what is Wee Ka Siong, Khairy and the rest of BN components party stand on ISA ? merdeka center polls say 70% of Malaysians are against it. So next elections we should campaign on the grounds "A vote for BN is a vote for ISA" Lets not get distracted.
written by clarity, December 22, 2008 12:00:05
Mr. MCA youth chief, you want to know the stand? I'l tell you the stand.
Pas will chop off your f-fing leg if you are corrupted. Than when you go to Parltament to bulshit, everybody wll know you are corrupted and will donate a crutch to help you walk again. The critch is your stand lah. Ha Ha Ha.
written by InEffective, December 22, 2008 12:28:13

Once again, 3rd class politician NOT delivering any value or benefit to the rakyat.
Start performing first, before complaining.
written by adamckteh, December 22, 2008 12:29:57
What did MCA say when TDM announced Malaysia is an Islamic country? Cui th-k la-g? Mouth ckolk with ....?
Without MCA Hua ren will fare better.
written by ahmadneil, December 22, 2008 12:38:40
Dear Hadi,
I ahmadneil,wanted to apply for this job as hand chopper.I work with the butcher factory in Ampang so I'm qualified for this job.
I will chop the complete arm from those who are from umno.For PAS and others,I will just chop the finger tips only.
written by Kuda Belang, December 22, 2008 13:34:13
PAS is only proposing to implement hudud laws after UMNO has established Islamic state (if you don't believe me, ask Mahathir). Why is MCA making noise now when they stood behind UMNO then? After all, doesn't hudud law be enacted in an Islamic state? So, what is wrong with PAS's proposal?
written by AuntyG, December 22, 2008 14:28:20
With ONE vote, I shall vote PAS to implement hudud laws, as well as for ahmadneil to be the hatchet man to chop off thieving limbs from BeEnd goonies. As for those serial rapists, I leave it to the hatchet man to chop off any limb or part of the human anatomy he deems fit ....
written by joeawk, December 22, 2008 16:49:48
Wee Ka Siong ah, is Malaysia a secular or an Islamic state? Can you tell us all Malaysians or not. Will you hold a demonstration to denounce it if Mukhriz or KJ were to say that Malaysia is an Islamic country like what Mukhriz's daddy proclaimed in the past.

PAS may want but PAS cannot because PAS will not have the number of seats to enable PAS to do it. That PAS wants to implement hudud is thus a non issue. It is just that Husam is not very intelligent otherwise he would have qualified his own statement.
written by harryo, December 22, 2008 17:57:10
PR must have some consensus on this matter and put this case to rest. Be careful on what you are going to say. It affects PR parties and the country's future.
written by asiana888, December 23, 2008 00:53:00
Aiyah! Another tactic by BN to frightrn the Chinese in KT on eve of coming by-election. Actually on hind sight, this is just Husam's politician ego speaking la. He has to cater to his rural voters la! How can PAS win the GE to implement Hudud laws. I am sure the other parties (DAP, PKR) will not allow that. DAP & PKR leaders no need to make headlines la .... just say "we will discuss the matter when the time comes" - we, rakyat, will know what it means!

So ... to focus on toppling UMNO in KT. Don't fall into the MSM and BN's trick. Just focus on campaigning for PAS' candidate.
smilies/wink.gif
written by R020998, December 23, 2008 01:26:23
THIS IS UMNO DIRTY TACTICS TO WIN CHINESE VOTE IN KT!

DONT FALL FOR IT UNCLE KIT.
written by chiongguo, December 23, 2008 08:40:06
Husan musa was manouvred and manipulated by khairy to make the statement. Such silly and childish bravado of husan now gave BN enough fodder to play up the fear of the chinese and indians.

PR should come out with a position paper on hudud so that all partners in the coalition and at least also the rakyat can understand. In this way whenever any of the PR members were asked to comment on it could then reiterate this position. What is happening now is that PAS will take one extreme and DAP is then forced to take the other - without compromise. Look at how LGE answered the press when he was asked. He said that DAP will never accept. He went on to say that it is not practical. If he had just said that it is not practical or feasible at this point in time the extreme position of "will never accept" will not be necessary.

One strategy that PR could play with is that many of the elements of our civil and criminal law are already similar to the hudud law. What is important is not the law but justice and fairness. If civil and criminal law and a judiciary that upheld justice and fairness then the principles of hudud law would have been served.

I think PR needs to get its act together or they will be losing a lot of votes.