Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sultan upset over use of kids in protests, says cop

Sultan upset over use of kids in protests, says cop PDF Print
Sunday, 21 December 2008 10:06

(Bernama) PETALING JAYA, Dec 20 – The Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, has expressed concerns over the use of children in campaigns organised by certain groups and individuals in pursuit of their personal interests.

The Ruler conveyed his concern to Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar before leaving for a trip abroad last Friday.

"The Sultan is disappointed with the actions by some irresponsible people for exploiting children in their campaigns or demonstrations.

"He has expressed concern on the matter and wants the police to take stern action against those involved," Khalid told reporters here today.

As such, he said, police would not hesitate to take action against anyone who used children in unlawful activities.

He also said that police were preparing investigation papers with a view of charging Sungai Siput member of parliament Dr D. Jeyakumar, who was detained in Rawang, for using children in the "Cycling for Change" campaign organised by Jaringan Rakyat Tertindas (Jerit) or the Oppressed People Network.

In the Dec 15 incident, 58 people, including 28 who were below the age of 18, were detained for participating in an illegal gathering.

On the Bar Council's tendencies to be critical of the actions taken by the police, Khalid said the council, as a respectable body, should act in the interests of the law.

– Bernama

written by temenggong, December 21, 2008 10:24:46
Please don't believe this until it can be verified.
written by SCM, December 21, 2008 10:28:36
I ride my bicycle for a good cause and I get my children to join in the ride with me. The cops come and beat us all up and arrest some of us. Instead of curtailing and condemning the actions of these thugs in uniform, the Sultan opens his mouth and talks about how I "exploited" my children and shows his stupidity.

We all know that the royalty are very afraid of UMNO, except for maybe the Perak royalty. My advice to the Sultan of Selangor is to please do what you are good at, i.e. cut ribbons at ceremonies, get massive projects from UMNO and run your Hard Rock Cafe pub. I think that should keep you busy (and with all those overseas holiday trips on taxpayers' money). Stop trying to tell me how to bring up my children. Hitler tried to do that and failed miserably.

By the way, do you also cut ribbons on overseas trips?
written by msiaman, December 21, 2008 10:45:44
The FORCE is so full of shit, guess which gullible citizen actually believed them?

We had to thank the Sleepy PeeAm for letting the bunch of legalized thugs run over his head at our expense.

Totally disgusted!
written by Motherchell, December 21, 2008 10:53:01
OH !!! So now Khalid is blaming the Sultan of Selangor?? So Khalid could throw stones at the children to keep them AWAY AND BURN BICYCLES--- WHAT KIND OF EXAMPLE IS THAT ---- ??
Khalid !go do the same to your little son or daughter or your grandchildren!! Did you treat all the children as your own ???? You are a Police Officer from Congo !!!! you are a dangerous liar!!! You are a total insult and shame to the Country .
written by RumahPanjai, December 21, 2008 10:54:43
Is it proper protocol for the Sultan to express his displeasure to a police officer? We would have expected it been made through his press secretary. With due respect, maybe the royal household would like to clear this issue afterall the police have still not gain the trust of the public.
written by kkselvam, December 21, 2008 10:54:57
Wow!! Suddenly Malaysian police reporting to Sultan? What happened to Shit Hamid all Blur?
Another drama by Malaysian super corrupted police? Can't believe that Sultan would have said such a thing la. May be this moron police just finding excuses to justify their inhuman actions.
Malaysian Police = UMNO lapdogs
written by Godflesh, December 21, 2008 10:56:20
Makes me wonder... If this is the best the royalty can come up with, why the Hell are we taxpayers paying for them. If the royalty is there to protect the rakyat and they can't even do that, perhaps its time we did away with our royalty and became a republic.
written by lynn, December 21, 2008 11:00:13
If it's true, how about speaking out against the 14 or 15-year old girl who was made pregnant by a VVIP or CM?

I thought consensual sex with a minor is still statutory rape, isn't it? Riding bicycles is a harmless activity, we have more serious issues in our midst!

Hello? Do we hear a squeak from above abt making "children" pregnant? No. oic, she is from another state, that's why.
written by ahmadneil, December 21, 2008 11:00:25
I didn't believe this learned Sultan will say this words. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Lembing, December 21, 2008 11:12:22
Before making any comments, we should find out whether the Police is lying on this matter.

I remember that it's only a few weeks ago, that most MT readers have praised the learned Sultan.
written by cllim123, December 21, 2008 11:23:09
Police also said thta they did not charge the Candlelight Vigil during Negaraku. But they are caught lying. See Youtube. Lying again this time about what Sultan said. This is sedition. Shameless low life!! smilies/angry.gif
written by amoker, December 21, 2008 13:10:49
I do not believe that the SUltan of Selangor said that in specifically about JERIT. Did the CPO mention to the Sultan that the police has 'protected' the kids ( by arresting them) even when they have the letter of consent from their parents? And how do you force people to cycle?

This is the CPO's 6th (big) lie, if found true that the HRH Sultan of Selangor did not say it.

Friends, sign the petition that Haris is preparing for HRH Sultan of Selangor on the CPO's behaviour.
written by macaufan, December 21, 2008 13:47:59
Aiyo.... CPO Selangor Khalid (polis diUmno m'sia),
pls don TIPU rakyat again lah ! u can cheat d whole world at 1 time BUT not all d time !!
siapa nak percaya? hanya rejim umno/bn je..... berita syiok sendiri !
kakakaa.... pohdah...!!!
written by Kuda Belang, December 21, 2008 13:53:06
Since when the the police chief became the spokesperson for the Selangor sultan? Is he trying to redeem himself using the good sultan's name?
written by Daryl, December 21, 2008 14:11:26
Abolish ISA is not something political but humanitarian. PDRM arresting citizen to protest and make dumb excuses are in violation of human rights should be put to jail for abusing their power for their master. If the Sultan of Selangor make coments about the kids than he should make a statement about the Biro Tatabastard teaching or youth to be racist and fear the government. If this is not true than this cop should issue an apology to the Sultan right now.
written by CPY, December 21, 2008 14:24:45
Maybe he never dig his ears properly. Perhaps HRH is dissapointed on ppl politicising the issue of kids in protest, while in schools, we are (indirectly)taught that Chairman Ma(o)-ha-thir is our Red Sun(sorry Blue Sun, since there is blue stars, then there's is blue Sun). V r taught that PAS is an Al-Qaeda Front Party, DAP is a 'minority chavunist party'& PKR is a US puppet party that should be grateful for their sins towards the ibulend is so great, the Party allows them to voice their taughts, which proves that the party allows timocracy. We were taught (indirectly) the 'patriotic songs' by Barisan Teguh Nasional song such as this; Malaysia is Blue, Without the UMNO/BN, there will be no new Malaysia, BN-ism is good!
written by johanssm, December 21, 2008 14:33:57
Is our Sultan of Selangor referring to the National Service?
Usages of children as beggars or Sultan were just gently ticking of the polis for failure to arrest the murderer of Nurin and failure to bring Sharlinie home to her parents.
As JERIT is not a political tool and JERIT is open to all sponsor/s who recognises basic human rights. The young participants and their parents fully understood this .The teenage cyclist took this chance as a good way to show patriotism and human rights. Didn't najis launched perkasa ?Or najis launches a Perkosa Malaysia and gets away with it.

We do not want to see any teenager hanging around cities and towns doing the mat Cermelang wheelie , doing super glue sniffing , lepak in front of McD at midnight,shoplifting Sungei Wang Plaza ,urinating in the Ain Arabia garden and riding their noisy bikes looking for transvestites/pondans.
We prefer teenagers doing something useful.
Cycling with the JERIT team is something useful , plus they gets to meet Members of Parliament.
Or is the selangor polis fella prefers to see his teenage son as a mat cermelang super glue sniffer cum shoplifter ?
written by Kopi37, December 21, 2008 15:40:15
"Sultan upset over use of kids in protests"- says cop.

Lets put our furore on hold until further verification when the Sultan returns from the junket. As we all know, the Cops will use whatever reasons, whatever names, even in the name of God, they will resort to nuisance in order to find a valid reason to nab the innocent citizens, ill-treat their paymasters, so often they have proven to be the betrayers of public trusts! They have a record of almost zero trust as all we know!

To refute, I do not see any "self-interests" here that Jerit, with their campaign in recognition now by the big Dick - the 'Cycling for Change', is also to our recognition! A campaign urging for Change is not self-interests even Pak Lah had consented in his recent statement - If Umno is not receptive to change, the rakyat will change them! Therefore, Jerit is running a campaign for and on behalf of the rakyat wanting for change, which is not self-interests! It's the public interests!

Moreover, the kids were not used, they were encouraged to learn from the lesson of civic, to participate willingly in a healthy sporting affair yet learning about the great philosophy of how to uphold the civic consciousness, learning a great theory of what is justice and democracy should be and putting into practical action altogether, should be praised by the Sultan of proactive education to groom future leaders! Why hastily run into myopic perception caused by the corrupted enforcement units yet knowing they are stooges to the despots, UMNO!
written by ahmadneil, December 21, 2008 15:42:08
I also smell RAT. This dingo is howling again! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by uxzee, December 21, 2008 18:11:35
The Ruler conveyed his concern to Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar before leaving for a trip abroad last Friday.
=============================================

If the Ruler conveyed his concern just last Friday, how come the police started harassing the Jerit cyclists more than 3 weeks ago and also in different states like Penang and Perak ? Did the CPO read the Ruler's mind.

If the Ruler of Selangor really raised his concern, then the CPO can should only act in Selangor, not in Penang and Perak. This shows the CPO's disrespect for the Sultan of Perak and Governor of Penang.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 21, 2008 20:46:48
Allah !!!!!!
Hukumlah anjing umno ini yang menderhakakan umatMu dan memperbodohkan ajaranMu.
written by The Hammer, December 22, 2008 00:38:28
I have nothing against the Sultan as I am a resident of his state. Nevertheless he should follow palance before voicing out his personal comments. With statement like this our "hard working" "Datuk" will followed to the dot like a mindless robot! He will arrest parents who allowed their underage children to part in these patriotic events. Also those who bring their children for the candle nite virgil, be careful! This mad copper is itching to harass and arrest these parents!

written by dumbfounded, December 22, 2008 14:49:39
Say whatever you want Khalid but I don't believe anything you say. EIther you duped our king or you twisted the message from our king.