Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Bill Clinton was just a shell of his former self, a pathetic sight

Bill Clinton was just a shell of his former self, a pathetic sight PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 20 December 2008 11:37

By Mansor Puteh

There are many organizations in Malaysia which get a lot of satisfaction and also cheap thrill, by inviting former presidents, prime ministers and even Hollywood starlets and other international entertainers, knowing how most of them are no more themselves that we used to know of before.

Unfortunately, all of them didn’t realize that they have ‘got them’ too late, when they are just a shell of their former selves when what they say do not mean much to anyone. And that they are here just for pure entertainment.  

So now we have seen how former US president Bill Clinton who was supposed to be here for the APEC meeting which was held at the heights of the Reformasi activity (I can’t call it movement because it lacks organization like the Communist movement which had their manifestos, etc.) in 1998 finally making a trip here which lasted for twenty-four hours.

He strikes a pitiful sight, not like he was before. And from next year, he will be described as the husband of the Secretary of State, Hilary Rodham Clinton.

These organizations spend hundreds of thousands and possibly millions to bring these people over for a lightning visit, which benefit those social creatures and not those who can squeeze a bit more from them.

It is unfortunate that they are willing to do such things just to distract the public and get some publicity mileage from it even though the distance is really short.

Why did those who had invited Clinton over want anyone to see him and those who are lucky will be invited?

If Clinton is that interesting and important, surely, a selected group of people should be invited to speak with him and not to be talked down to.

And the group should comprise academics, military specialists, and others who are qualified in various fields including the arts.

But this did not happen since the organizers did not know exactly what to do with him or his expertise, if that can still be utilized, other than to take him to few places and that’s all.  

So no wonder even when Hollywood director, Olive Stone came, he said things which are predictable even on what he thought of George W Bush which he had said time and again in other forums and later still at the Dubai Film Festival.

There has not been anyone of substance that has been invited to come to Malaysia to speak and when they were at the heights of their power. All of them came when they are already down and out, and are already useless.

Oliver was also not asked to meet with the country’s top filmmakers – so he could LEARN a few things about filmmaking in today’s post-Hollywood age, so he can also benefit from it.

He has a lot to learn still and his experience fighting in Vietnam – or was it to kill innocent Vietcongs and other Asians like us was such a heroic thing to do for a patriotic American then?

Maybe, he can also be asked what sort of reaction would he want to give if the tables are turned against them, and there is a film on him that is controversial so he can now be stoned himself from all directions.

Will he now want to jump and complain?  

What’s the point of listening to Clinton speak even if it is gospel truth, when he was still president he could do half as much as what he is saying?

And why didn’t the organizers invite those who can fire him tough and tricky questions instead of surrounding him with those who are weak and cannot ask anything?

So no wonder, Stone was not stoned when he was attending the global brand forum, and only the journalists got to ask him questions which are uneducated and lame, which even students in any film school in America dared not ask for fear of being branded as silly if not stupid.

And for that matter, there was really no point in inviting the Nobel Prize laureates in Economics, for they can only say the general and nothing specific which we can use to develop our own economy.

Muhammad Yunus of Bangladesh did not say anything substantial.

But I don’t blame him or the other Nobel Prize Laureates and former US presidents or British prime ministers and Hollywood directors, because they knew they would be paid handsomely on top of the perks that they could enjoy while here because they were not expected to be intelligent, just witty and entertain.

They had come here not to enlighten anyone, but just to entertain.

And they knew that they were not whom everybody here thought they were, but just a shell of their former selves.

In fact, the shell is so thin, that the organizers had better bring in their wax statues that are found in Madame Tusaud’s in London.

In fact, the last time I was at the Covent Garden in London, which is like our Pasar Seni in Kuala Lumpur, I could see a Ronald Reagan computerized statue which can speak and sounding exactly like him with his typical gestures.

There has never been anyone who had been brought into the country when they were in their prime, and who went on to do wonders to their personal careers.

There is one exception, however.

The Bee Gees was already going out of the charts in the early 1970s. And no wonder they agreed to perform at Stadium Negara. I was sitting on the front row, so I could still remember the show which didn’t cost too much at that time with tickets selling for only twenty ringgit, which could translate to be around two hundred ringgit at today’s rate.

And not long afterwards, the same bunch of people calling themselves Bee Gees who had just performed in Kuala Lumpur, became a bigger international music group, when they changed their tune to the disco beat.

This is the only time when foreign personalities who had come before their break.

But there are no others after them.

And Clinton or Tony Blair and all the Nobel Prize laureates had better not come, because they are only showing a faint reflection of their former selves.

Why pay Blair and Clinton or the Nobel Prize Laureates hundreds of thousands of ringgit to say things that we can also say?

And as you can guess, the thrill was on those who invite them and not on them because they will treat their stop in Malaysia as just a transit point for them to move on to their bigger and more important destination.

Has Malaysia changed for the better after they had left the country? 

written by cheekhiaw, December 20, 2008 11:48:50
Wah, great mind reader out for cheap thrill. Go read the minds of great thinkers and discovers before we know it lah!

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 11:59:28
Those in power never seem do what they were supposed to do in the first place all those things that they are now criticizing their successor for not doing. Politics!

Malaysia pay for these Have-Beens because that’s the only time that they can get these have-beens to come and at a much cheaper price. Like annual clearance sales of old and unwanted stocks!
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 12:06:59
You don't have to pay RPK and he can give you all a good bashing, talk.Why the need to pay them huge amount of money and you don't even understand what they are saying.
written by cheekhiaw, December 20, 2008 12:15:10
That is sophisticated bribery Washington style lah. Only people like some self-proclaimed mind reader do not know that.

written by densemy, December 20, 2008 12:42:40
Clinton et al, (the has beens) see their malay hosts as a bunch of gullible men who will pay anything to get an ego boost from a visiting VIP

Malays wouldnt listen to America at the height of Clinton's powers so why the fxxx they would want to listen to him now is beyond me
written by truthbespoken, December 20, 2008 12:43:22
Hmmmmmn, Mansor, you may be still making noises but you are more likeable this time. There are always two sides of a coin on the reasons for those invitations. It's likely that Cheekhiaw has correctly shown us the other side of the coin (dec 20, 2008 12.15.10)
written by san amin, December 20, 2008 12:46:33
Dear Mansor puteh,

Yes, ur right. Clinton has no influence on world politics now,thats is why Obama is also stupid for using him during the election. I believe u would be the best person to give speeches other than these past world leaders who dont have any powerful friends.
MANSOR PUTEH! PLEASE DO CONTINUE WITH YOUR STUPIDITY! THIS WAS THE REAL REASON THAT MadE TUN MM CRIED FOR HIS FAILURE OF CHANGING THE MALAYS,ESP U. PLEASE DONT STOP AND PROVE TUN MM WAS RIGHT ALL ALONG, SO HE CAN HAV ANOTHER BYPASS AND YOU WILL BE KNOWN AS THE BAPA KEBODOHAN MALAYSIA.
written by san amin, December 20, 2008 12:58:26
I BELIEVE YOU SHOULD GIVE UR VIEWS TO UMNO.THIS IS WHAT THEYR MISSING. U, AS THE NEW EDUCATION MINISTER. UMNO WILL ALWAYS BE INCOMPLETE WITHOUT U.
written by middlepath, December 20, 2008 12:58:39
Dear Friend, He Clinton might not be as popular as before when he was president, however, you do not seem to appreciate the history, and wisdom from experience ex president, this wisdom come from the very different experience and position in this world. You dont seem to respect people with those statue, like Dr M, you might not like some of these individual over their thinking or something, but then, there are wisdom and the creative thinking in them, we must learn and appreciate and apply their wisdom to enrich ours and make our future our country better.
there is always something to learn, and he is a great stateman, if you ignore the lewinsky episode. Similarly Dr M, he is still invited over the world to speak on something, people like thier talent or wisdom over the years of exceptional experiences. Sorry you dont appreciate that, that shows your taste.
written by san amin, December 20, 2008 13:03:03
ONE MORE THING MANSOR, ARE U ON SOME MEDICATION? smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by gorshan, December 20, 2008 13:16:21
yes mansor is right,the organisers should have invited mansor puteh instead. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Lembing, December 20, 2008 13:39:17
This really confirms WHY NO PUBLISHERS in malaysia wants to publish any of this FOOLISH Mansor White's books. His articles are usually very shabby, and clearly demonstrates his shallow and childist views on a whole range of topics.

No wonder, your thesis for your master degree was failed by Columbia University.

MANSOR, you should only send all your articles to UTUSAN MELAYU
written by alarcarte, December 20, 2008 14:12:06
Mansur the “Psycho Mind Reader” still writes in English? This time he has changed his topics completely, nevertheless his logic is still “WARP LOGIC”
written by rainmanpj, December 20, 2008 14:14:08
Does any one really read this stuff by Mansor ? .

Mansor are many many class ( league ) away from Clinton even after 100 years.
written by krising1, December 20, 2008 14:51:46
Mansor White, now you are talking. Not that there is anything worth reading here. At least it is not offensive to us Malaysians!
written by gorshan, December 20, 2008 15:03:03
please mr mansor puteh,i think http://www.worldfutures.info/ is a better forum for you to air your views. you would be in the company of likeminded people. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 20, 2008 15:07:20
There are many organizations in Malaysia which get a lot of satisfaction and also cheap thrill, by inviting former presidents, prime ministers and even Hollywood starlets and other international entertainers, knowing how most of them are no more themselves that we used to know of before

KACANG PUTEH, STILL THE SAME SOURGRAPE. WE HV OUR VERY OWN LOW STANDARD EX DICTATOR DOING THE VERY SAME SHAMELESS ACTS. SO WTF ARE U TALKING ABOUT OTHER COUNTRIES?
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 15:50:48
Why don't those in the US pay AAB or Najib to give a talk! I don't know how many will turn up to listen,may be only the Malaysian Embassy staff. smilies/grin.gif
written by malgal, December 20, 2008 16:11:50
Hubris lah.
Ordinary Malaysians got to fork out thousands for a 2 day attendance mainly to fawn and applaud the highly paid speakers.
Wonder would they come support local speakers who get a 15 minute cameo on some rickety stage, bad p.a system, no fancy hotel room but who speak from the heart? And entrance is free.
written by Liberace, December 20, 2008 17:56:20
Correct me if I'm wrong, but did anyone promise to bring in Bill Clinton in his prime? This Mansor Puteh guy is so mean spirited he never has anything but toxins coming out of his mouth. I mean, if a guy buys a Ferrari for RM2 million, is it worth it? Probably not, but Ferrari is happy, the buyer is happy, and all the agents in between are happy. The only one who isn't happy is the Green Eyed Monster. So maybe we (and Mansor, definitely) think it's a waste of money and time pursuing a star that's losing its shine, but what's it to us? We didn't pay to hear him and nobody got conned. Leave Clinton alone. It's amazing how many people will kick you when you're on your way down.
written by Fernz, December 20, 2008 19:53:24
Sooner or later, all of us become shells of ourselves. Still, Clinton is not just sitting in the sun waiting to die. He's actively involved in doing something of benefit for the international community. Of course, it takes money doing what he's doing but with his stature he can raise the necessary funds. He's not going to take it with him when he finally goes.

With his wife, Hillary, becoming Secretary of State, he has had to scale back on some of these activities to avoid a "conflict of interest". To describe him merely as the husband of Hillary, even if true, is somehow belittling the man for no rhyme or reason. Everyone knows that he's more than just the husband of Hillary Clinton. He was the president of the United States which entitles him to be still described as President Clinton when being introduced at any gathering. Not as ex-President but President Clinton.

Criticisms are of course welcome but if they are to be credible, they must not be couched in black and white terms. Life is not black and white, it's mostly various shades of grey.

Being president of the US is not the same as being something else. Even as president, the incumbent simply can't do what he likes. To say that he could have done something when he was president is an exercise in futility. Of course, anyone in hindsight could also have done something. But what's the point of beating around the bush here.

re entertainment, as Shakespeare observes, we are all actors on the stage of life whether we realise it or not. Some are good actors, others are poor actors. Nevertheless, we are all actors. Hence, to say that Clinton was here just for the entertainment is an non-observation.

Clinton can do something for Malaysia under his Clinton Global Initiative. I am sure Malaysian NGOs would welcome a tie-up with his organisation. I think what they have to say about Clinton would be more interesting than verbal diarrhoea which just simply a waste of everybody's time and suggest that we are all just twisted and frustrated people viewing the world through dark glasses all the time.

written by bn haramjadah, December 20, 2008 21:44:30
mansor , mansor white, I ask one simple quetion of you, Bill clinton acheived the highest office inpolitics by serving his country as the president of the United STATES. He acheived this on his own, strived hard, studied hard, and made something of himself, so the pertinent question I ask is , WHO ARE YOU, A NOBODY, WHO COULDN'T EVEN FINISH HIS THESIS IN 20 ODD YEARS, a failure in life, a dropout, who are you MANSOR PUTIH TO COMMENT ABOUT THE ACHEIVEMENTS OF BILL clinton.
thats what you call a kaki mata merah, a dropout so called failure in life, unpublished clown. hahahahaha get a life, and mayde write some dongeng hantu for a change , than maybe you get recognised for the fool you are. a mamak stall philosopher. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jeffrey, December 20, 2008 22:53:28
hey, mansor guy, who are you to kick them down? im sure any one of the names you mentioned achieved greater things than your trice lifetime!!! They might be not their prime anymore but who the heck are you to judge? What do you know about what they are doing right now? And what do you know about the influence that they can carry in this moment of time? Don't get me wrong, im not a great supporter of these big names, in fact, i dont really like CLinton when he was the President but i like him better now when he is running foundation. Do you know that he went to Indonesia with the older George Bush to help out during the Tsunami incident few years ago? My point is, you mr. mansur, you are nobody and in no position to judge anybody else. If you want to judge, first of all, give your credential and show your true self before you have the rughts to run down other people. The organiser didnt RIPPED us off in order to bring these people into Malaysia. They might pay them huge money, but who are you to complaint? i dont think a single sen is from your pocket! So, dont go barking at the organiser or people who attened the function. If you really can read mind, you should know what am i going to say next. But, as we all know we are only "tukung cakap", here's a piece of advice into your "self-centre bozo ego mind", if you want to bark, go and bark at the UMNO, at the BN who RIPPED us off daily and do nothing for us! I dare you to say something constructive and be able to improve the lives of people on the street in this country. IF you dont dare, just like my last comment in your previous article, SHUT UP AND GET A LIFE.
PSky - puffinsky.blogspot.com
written by Kopi37, December 21, 2008 01:13:12
Mansor Puteh,

I don't quite understand what you intended to mean by - "They are no more themselves we used to know them of"? Were you implied to mean that Clinton who visited Malaysia was not 'original' and he was cloned?! Or you were trying to say that Clinton was not in a state of sober and intellectual mind he had lost luster of the previous impression he portrayed to the world?! How about our great leader Dr Mahathir, is he still original or has he also become a shell, he is no more him that we used to know of?! Your zigzag puzzle is very confusing lahhhhh!!!
written by borneoman, December 21, 2008 03:09:42
MANSOR,it is very easy to criticize others but i hope you dont mind getting yourself a mirror 1m X 2m in dimension to look at your pitiful self reflection.M2D please stop showing this irrelevant scumbag postings.
written by Ali Cordoba, December 21, 2008 19:20:59
Well said Mansor! Anwar Ibrahim would make a better speaker.
written by Ali Cordoba, December 21, 2008 19:21:37
http://www.worldfutures.info/N...world.html

On the otherhand, watch out for this moment...Obama want to tell the Muslim world what he thinks..soon
written by Diz, December 22, 2008 14:22:10
'Oliver was also not asked to meet with the country’s top filmmakers – so he could LEARN a few things about filmmaking...'
LOL! I'm assuming this bit was tongue in cheek. What could our joke of a film industry possibly teach Stone about film-making?