Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow A Germ Warfare Guru Goes Free

A Germ Warfare Guru Goes Free PDF Print
Saturday, 20 December 2008 10:52

Why did Malaysia release Al Qaeda's bioweapons expert?

Mark Hosenball and Michael Isikoff, Newsweek

A U.S.-trained Al Qaeda microbiologist has been released from jail by the Malaysian government, prompting alarm among American counterterrorism officials.

"This individual is considered dangerous," said one official, referring to the recent decision to free Yazid Sufaat, a notorious Qaeda operative who once oversaw the group's germ-warfare efforts. The official declined to be identified talking about sensitive information.

Safaat had been in Malaysian custody since December 2001, when he was arrested because of his alleged involvement with Jemaah Islamiah, a radical South Asian terror group closely linked with Al Qaeda. But two weeks ago, Malaysia's interior minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, announced that Sufaat and five other detained Islamic militants were being freed because "they are no longer a threat and will no longer pose a threat to public order." Albar added that Sufaat "has been rehabilitated and can return to society."

Malaysia privately informed the Bush administration that its legal authority to detain Sufaat had expired but promised Washington that he would be kept under close observation, the U.S. official indicated. But counterterror officials here expressed doubt that Sufaat has abandoned his radical Qaeda views or his desire to attack the United States with biological weapons. They also point out that Sufaat played an assisting role in planning the 9/11 attacks. He hosted two of the hijackers along with two other veteran Al Qaeda operatives at a terror "summit" in Kuala Lumpur in January 2000.

The timing of Sufaat's release was especially awkward for U.S. officials. The Qaeda scientist was freed on Dec. 4—the day after a congressionally mandated commission on weapons of mass destruction released a public report warning of the risk of a biological weapons attack in the next five years.

"There's a troubling irony that this happened the day after our report," said Bob Graham, the former Florida senator and chairman of the Senate Intelligence Committee, who served as co-chairman of the bioweapons panel. (In an interview with NEWSWEEK the day the report was released, Graham said he was particularly concerned about "the degree of risk associated with a biological weapon … The ubiquitous nature of pathogens and the increasing lethality of both natural and synthetic pathogens led our commission to conclude it's more likely that an attack will come biologically rather than nuclear.")

The son of a rubber tapper, Sufaat studied at Malaysia's prestigious Royal Military College and won a scholarship to California State University in Sacramento, where he earned a degree in biological sciences in 1987. Upon returning to Malaysia, he founded a profitable laboratory analysis company. Sometime in the early 1990s—reportedly at the insistence of his wife—he became increasingly devout. He began spending time with militant Islamic teachers and soon became a devoted and committed follower of Jemaah Islamiah and its radical leader, Hambali (he's known by just the one name).

According to the U.S. government's 9/11 Commission report, in January 2000, two of the 9/11 hijackers, Khalid Almihdhar and Nawaf Alhazmi, visited Kuala Lumpur, the Malaysian capital, for what amounted to a planning meeting for the September 2001 attacks. At Hambali's request, Sufaat made his apartment available for the meeting. One of the other participants was Walid bin-Attash, known as Khallad, a Qaeda operative who planned the bombing of the USS Cole in Yemen. He was later captured and charged as a 9/11 co-conspirator. Khallad told U.S. interrogators that, while staying at Sufaat's apartment, he and Alhazmi talked "about the possibility of hijacking planes and crashing them or holding passengers as hostages."

Later in 2000, Sufaat hosted a visit to Kuala Lumpur by another figure linked to the 9/11 hijackers: Zacharias Moussaoui, the wayward and eccentric would-be terrorist from France who the US government claimed was going to be a 9/11 hijacker. Captured 9/11 participants subsequently said Moussaoui was considered too erratic by Al-Qaeda's leaders to participate in the plot.

The 9/11 Commission report also details Sufaat's efforts to make weapons for Al Qaeda. The terror group's leaders sought Hambali's help in finding a scientist to "take over" Al Qaeda's biological-weapons program. Hambali introduced Sufaat to Osama bin Laden's deputy, Ayman al-Zawahiri. In 2001, the report says, Sufaat spent "several months attempting to cultivate anthrax for Al Qaeda in a laboratory" he helped set up near the Kandahar airport in Afghanistan.

The Malaysians's release of Sufaat points up the difficulties the outgoing Bush administration and incoming Obama team face in pressing foreign governments—friendly and not so friendly—to keep Islamic militants off the streets, or at least under close surveillance.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Tom n Jerry, December 20, 2008 11:04:49
Botak Syed is very pro-terrorist too;they are basically *birds of the same feather*;I wouldnt be surprised if they flock together!With terrorist attitude towards very humble & conscientious Malaysians who are in the opposition;this is the very Law of the Jungle that we are following now;how pathetic!
written by cheekhiaw, December 20, 2008 11:11:07
Those Newsweek fellas have a warped sense of danger. How can the angry son of a rubber tapper playing with his analysis laboratory be of danger to anyone?

They should learn from Syed Hamid to whom that guy is much less dangerous than the HINDRAF fellas.

Or Mansur Putih. This Malaysian son of some rubber tapir can read the minds of every bio warfare expert in the west and steal their concoctions to throw at them. He doen't even need to analyse!

written by clarity, December 20, 2008 11:13:44
A religious extremist who is an expert in chemecal wardare and has been proven to be connected to JI and Al Qaeda can run around loose. Just because Botak says its OK. But RPK is being hounded for ISA as though he is a threat more dangerous than this bio germ warfare guy. I hope the world will do something about.
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 11:18:34
Becos Shit Hamid love to be in the limelight so he will do anything that will be controversial inorder to let the whole world knows he is Shit Hamid of Malaysia who only knows how to eat shit.
written by malgal, December 20, 2008 11:25:27
Albar quite contrary, How does your garden grow, Spent shells and cockles hell. That's how your contrarywise garden grows.

written by TruthSayer, December 20, 2008 11:31:53
"But two weeks ago, Malaysia's interior minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, announced that Sufaat and five other detained Islamic militants were being freed because "they are no longer a threat and will no longer pose a threat to public order."

Detained Islamic Militants are no longer a threat. the newest threat in Malaysia are Teenage Cyclists from Jerit!!

"Malaysia privately informed the Bush administration that its legal authority to detain Sufaat had expired but promised Washington that he would be kept under close observation, the U.S. official indicated."

This is new to me. since when does detention under ISA have a time limit??

To quote a comedian whose name i have forgotten
"It is apparent that the Minister's intelligence has hit the bottom of the pit and is now proceeding to dig further down."
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 11:33:49
Well, well, well! Looks like that Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis Home Minister is near completing his A-Team of home grown Malaysian Terrorist!
Wonder when the other 2 Malaysian A-Team members going to be returned from Guantanamo prison?
written by AuntyG, December 20, 2008 11:35:50
Shit Hermit AlBlurr is merely spring cleaning Kamunting for the NewYear (by releasing terrorists he "rehabilitated") in order to make room for more people he is going to "protect" under his ISA.
Hope enough rooms shall be cleared and reserved for himself and fellow goonies ...
written by New Malaysian, December 20, 2008 11:47:11
"...that its legal authority to detain Sufaat had expired..."

Please enlighten me on how this can happen!Since we know that the Home Minister can renew the detention of any person - without trial - for 2 years every time ad infinitum............

If a dangerous "Al Qaeda's bioweapons expert" can be released by Shit Hermit Allblur, how dangerous are the Hindraf 5 in comparison? Is this not just another episode of the famous double standards that is the modus operandi of the UMNO gomen?

New Malaysian
written by DreamLady, December 20, 2008 11:54:25
It begins to dawn on me the reasons why the American's Embassy reject most of those under the Muslim names from entering its country.

The reluctance of the embassy granting visa to those potential visitors is displayed by the senseless and baseless requests for deseased parents birth certificates, a report of good conduct from Bukit Aman, and also include report of good conduct from other country you have resided for more than 5 years, the certified bank account from the authorities, the names and birth certificates of friends and relatives, and the lists just go on and on..

I understand better why these Embassy guys gave me so much hard time because I happen to have a muslim name...
written by Motherchell, December 20, 2008 12:39:51
The root of the problem is the govt itself with idiots like Albar as Ministers! Integrity has never been part of them -- its a 51 year old disease! Today we have the new breed--- Honorables Zaid, Dsai----- our only hope to steer the Nation into a New Horizon. This Country is a extremists haven --- they breed daily officially with Biro Tata, etc --- the true Malays , the good -- suffer !
written by Sudahlah tu, December 20, 2008 12:44:36
kalau umno inginkan maka mereka dapat aje ...
sebab merekalah yang merajui Malaysia....
binatang yang tidak tahu sipa tuannya tidak akan mempunyai nilai jati diri...
mereka menjadi ganas apabila ruangan mereka diganggu ...
written by Motherchell, December 20, 2008 12:47:46
contd
As long as Umnoputra's friends and children are involved with weapons of mass destruction industries--- we are safe in this world as the money earned from it is for their own profits.
written by A MI, December 20, 2008 13:10:34
Dear`all
When praying please remember to include a prayer for all who are innocent like RPK to be guarded and be safe from the clutches of the demented Al Blurr.

May all the pain and suffering that Al Blurr willfully causes to anyone return to him 10-fold! Ameen.
written by renoir, December 20, 2008 14:25:53
>A U.S.-trained Al Qaeda microbiologist has been released from jail by the Malaysian government, prompting alarm among American counterterrorism officials.]]

The world is even more alarmed about bioterrorists WITH expensive high-tech facilities to manufacture and conduct germ warfare, especially when these terrorists are apparently state-supported. For example, before the Patriot Act was passed, two Democratic senators about the oppose the bill received letters contaminated with anthrax. After years of "investigation" the alleged perpetrator was deemed to be Bruce E. Ivins, a senior biodefense researcher at the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases in Fort Detrick, Maryland. Now here's an incident that ranks among those such as the shooting of Oswald in front of national TV by Ruby - Ivins conveniently committed "suicide" in July shortly before the FBI was going to indict him for his alleged role in the 2001 anthrax attacks. Glenn Greenwald wrote about it in the Salon recently. Some excerpts:

"If the now-deceased Ivins really was the culprit behind the attacks, then that means that the anthrax came from a U.S. Government lab, sent by a top U.S. Army scientist at Ft. Detrick. Without resort to any speculation or inferences at all, it is hard to overstate the significance of that fact. From the beginning, there was a clear intent on the part of the anthrax attacker to create a link between the anthrax attacks and both Islamic radicals and the 9/11 attacks.

During the last week of October, 2001, ABC News, led by Brian Ross, continuously trumpeted the claim as their top news story that government tests conducted on the anthrax -- tests conducted at Ft. Detrick -- revealed that the anthrax sent to Daschele contained the chemical additive known as bentonite. ABC News, including Peter Jennings, repeatedly claimed that the presence of bentonite in the anthrax was compelling evidence that Iraq was responsible for the attacks, since -- as ABC variously claimed -- bentonite "is a trademark of Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein's biological weapons program" and "only one country, Iraq, has used bentonite to produce biological weapons."

But bentonite was never found in the anthrax, and Greenwald says ABC News didn't acknowledged this until 2007, and only after Greenwald's "badgering them about this issue." That means, says Greenwald, the four "well-placed and separate sources" ABC claimed to have fed them "false information that created a very significant link in the public mind between the anthrax attacks and Saddam Hussein."

After all, three days later, McCain and Joe Lieberman went on Meet the Press (on October 21, 2001) and both strongly suggested that we would have to attack Iraq. Lieberman said that the anthrax was so complex and potent that "there's either a significant amount of money behind this, or this is state-sponsored, or this is stuff that was stolen from the former Soviet program."

------------------------------
In fact, not only the connivance of ABC and the repetition of similar propaganda by other news networks, but the slow pace of the "investigation", the astounding destruction ordered by the FBI of the anthrax culture collection at Ames, IA. - and with it evidence of an official germ warfare program - and of course the "suicide" of Ivins, all pointed to not one, but groups of state-sponsored scientists who're actively working to produce germ-warfare weapons.

Now, the biggest worry of all: to what end???

written by hiro, December 20, 2008 14:57:02
The question is - if you can release a suspected terrorist, what the hell are you doing detaining political activists such as Hindraf 5? This government has their priorities screwed. They are bad for our national security.
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 15:57:58
What about if all these terrorist have been people of other race and faith! Will he release them?
I bet Shit Hamid will use his 2 set of laws! smilies/grin.gif
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 20, 2008 16:01:27
Birds of the feathers flock together.

written by SeriousLy, December 20, 2008 16:16:08
Is it BN is encouraging militancy? Hindraf did not do such thing but is ISA! Please release the names of the ISA detainees so that the RAKYAT can evaluate whether or not they are a threat? What did they do wrong? Tell me, Tell me..PLEASE!
written by sttb08, December 20, 2008 16:41:35
Are we for ISA or against it? Why are we questioning these guys' release? If we are truly against ISA, shouldn't we be celebrating the release? After all they spent nearly 7 years in custody without trial and without evidence. Shouldn't we now start pushing for the release of ALL ISA detainees???

And of course, any dicussion would not be complete without some ahole raising the race and religion card.

So what is it? Are we Malaysia for all Malaysians or do we behave the same way as the ruling corrupt govt?
written by cruzeiro, December 20, 2008 16:47:15
If all the publicity given were true, I seriously doubt that they couldn't have charged him in court.
Believe me - if it were true, there are others watching this guy. I wouldn't rule out "extraordinary rendition" should these "Al-Qaeda/ JI" guys were genuinely guilty. Yes- knowing our wise guys' competence, he'll disappear into thin air right under their noses, just like how the Al-Maunah guys "stole" weapons from the Army Depot.

Knowing these people, they wanna test the public perception - on the idea of "Islamic" terrrorism. They want people to cry foul, so that they can disredit the anti-ISA sentiment.
If this doesn't work "somebody" will have a sandiwara/ wayang kulit, to proof the necessity of the ISA.

ISA is the issue here .....
written by lynn, December 20, 2008 18:52:30
We shld really like to know, based whose orders syed hamid received, to release Yazid Sufaat. Who knows, it may have come from D.C. Truth is stranger than fiction.

Another theory is, Yazid S is really no threat to the BN administration; Hindraf is. Now that's the difference. So Hindraf can stay put.

DreamLady, my personal experiences in the US: everytime I flew out of Dulles IAD, (outside Washington DC) I do so 4 hours ahead of flight time. Because, each time, as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow morning, US immigration officials will take one look at my Malaysian Passport, ask me to step aside, while they pour all my belongings on a l0 foot long table. The whole process of inspection, probing, etc. will take almost an hour. Of course, I went thru the whole ordeal even as I landed there. So I checked the mirror: I don't looked like a terrorist, why the fler don't subject the Singaporean to the same treatment? So the reason for such scrutiny must be my country of origin, le!
written by nana tanjung, December 20, 2008 20:32:45
If the law can't prove that Yazid is what he was being suspected by the Americans, so be it.

If you don't like ISA, you must dislike every incarceration under ISA. If you dislike or disapprove Hindraf and RPK detained under ISA, you must also disapprove Yazid Sufaat detention.

Don't become hypocrites who hold candle in the name of ISA abolishment one day, and support another detention another day, simply because the detainee is a devout muslim.

Hypocrites will tarnish the credibility of fight against ISA.

written by Futurist, December 20, 2008 22:13:42
People who fight for their social rights are deemed more dangerous than the bio-weapons expert. Did SHA go into the brain to confirm that the guy is not dangerous?
written by renoir, December 20, 2008 22:18:14
I wrote:
>For example, before the Patriot Act was passed, two Democratic senators about the oppose the bill received letters contaminated with anthrax.]]

Should be:
"For example, before the Patriot Act was passed, two Democratic senators about TO oppose the bill received letters contaminated with anthrax."

Sorry for the typo.

nana tanjung wrote:
>If you don't like ISA, you must dislike every incarceration under ISA. If you dislike or disapprove Hindraf and RPK detained under ISA, you must also disapprove Yazid Sufaat detention.]]

Well said, nana tanjung. If opposition towards the ISA is based on principle, then it must meet the condition of universality.

Cruzeiro has it right when he noted that it's a testing of the waters - the ISA is indeed the issue.

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 20, 2008 22:27:21
BN is experimenting and strategising.
written by Enforcer, December 20, 2008 22:41:40
This MORON is living in his own little world making decisions at his whims and fancies. Most of his decisions are AGAINST the norm.
Hei shit baldie, why don't you try eating from your a***** and shitting from your big mouth!!!
written by Sabahfan, December 20, 2008 23:32:32
Why were they freed?

Becos the UMNO party is part and parcel of Alqaeda... thats why...
written by Thambidoorai, December 21, 2008 03:06:47
The 7 mortal sins: lust, gluttony, greed,sloth, wrath, envy, pride.

Our brain-not-Home Minister has committed all; and, if stupidity is also a sin, rest assured he will be there topping the list of sinners.

I am an atheist, but this is one thing i would fervently pray for: that the brain-not-Home Minister drops dead.
written by Avanza1, December 21, 2008 07:55:19
The terrorist JI & Al-Qaeda are fighting to setup Islamic Syaria states. They are not to let go a state that is about to seemingly loosing to non-muslims & peaceful muslims. Malaysians, we have to beware. They will definitely fight against change of status in Malaysian government(UMNO's Islam)
written by sarawakian, December 21, 2008 23:16:17
the DPM and Home Minister probably struck a deal with Safaat and have him work for the DPM to "eradicate" rivals. already got C4 experts so now need some biological warfare specialist too.

written by MsiaCTzen, December 22, 2008 07:51:23
BOTAK IS A terrorist himself.

Don't you agree.??
written by cllim123, December 22, 2008 14:18:00
Germ expert or not there should be enough intelligence to gather evidecne to charge him of a crime and a full hearing to prove his guilt. MANSUHKAN ISA!