Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Anwar sniffing victory in Taib’s backyard

Anwar sniffing victory in Taib’s backyard PDF Print
Saturday, 20 December 2008 10:39

According to reliable sources, the BN could lose up to 30 seats in the next state elections, which would mean that Pakatan Rakyat just needs to capture six extra seats to win power, if the elections were held today.

Nur Jazlan for The Malaysian Insider

The winds of change are blowing in Sarawak. They are fanning the fire of Dayak nationalism and fuelling increasing Chinese dissatisfaction for the Barisan Nasional government over the state's lethargic economic situation.

Even among the ruling Malay Melanau community, there is growing unhappiness over the reluctance of its leader Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud to step down as chief minister after 27 years.

For the Dayaks, the animosity towards the old stalwart is even stronger. As a young Kayan waitress I met in a Kuala Lumpur restaurant recently remarked to me: "I don't like Taib Mahmud."

She added: "I have to leave my family in Kuching to find work in Kuala Lumpur because there are no jobs available there."

Therefore, it’s not surprising that Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has set his party's sights on capturing Sarawak at the next state elections due in 2011.

The once impossible ambition of the state's warring opposition parties to defeat the Barisan Nasional may actually come true with Anwar and PKR.

They are hoping to ride the coat tails of Pakatan Rakyat's success in the March 2008 general election and finally remove Taib and consequently Barisan Nasional from power.

PKR is expected to continue attacking the record of Taib’s rule especially his family's dominant business interests in the state. It is also expected to manipulate the negative sentiments of the larger Dayak community to remove Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), which is seen to be the vehicle of the smaller sized Malay Melanau community, from power.

The election is expected be decided on the issues of the day — considering the similar multi-cultural, multi-religious and multi-ethnic composition of both competing main parties, the ruling PBB and the opposition PKR.

Among the issues expected to be aired in the election are denial of land titles to the Dayaks who occupy hundreds of thousands of acres of tribal land settlements in rural Sarawak. The Dayaks have claimed ownership of the land for decades but were denied by the State Constitution after the formation of Malaysia in 1965.

Anwar's PKR is promising to award them the land titles if it wins the upcoming elections.

PKR's junior partner in Pakatan Rakyat, the DAP, is expected to whip up racial sentiments and focus the hatred of the city-dwelling Chinese against Taib over the issue of extending their property leases which are due soon.

The Sarawak Chinese have for a long time worried about the possibility of their livelihood being threatened if their leases are not extended. However, such an event is highly unlikely in Sarawak where the Chinese have benefited from the trust given to them by the Sarawak political leadership to develop the economy of Sarawak.

The DAP is promising them freehold land titles as a reward for putting them in power. It would be interesting to see how the newly formed Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission would perceive these political inducements.

Sarawak is also fertile ground for Pakatan Rakyat to test its much hyped Bangsa Malaysia values.

Sarawak is truly multi-ethnic in nature. The politically dominant Malay Melanaus comprise 20 per cent, the commercially powerful Chinese comprise 30 per cent and the rest is made up of 26 non-Muslim indigenous communities collectively referred to as Dayaks.

The ethnic barriers are broken down further by the high percentage of mixed marriages registered estimated at 30 per cent of all mixed marriages in Malaysia annually.

And there are signs that PKR is fast gaining ground. At a recent party fund-raising dinner in Miri, about 3,000 people, mostly from the Dayak community, attended and raised an estimated RM300,000 for the state PKR war chest to fight in the state elections.

The Sarawak state assembly currently has a total of 71 seats. Taib's PBB holds 35 seats, the Sarawak United Progressive Party (SUPP) 11 seats, the Sarawak Progressive Development Party (SPDP) eight and Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) eight, for a total of 62 seats.

According to reliable sources, the BN could lose up to 30 seats in the next state elections, which would mean that Pakatan Rakyat just needs to capture six extra seats to win power, if the elections were held today.

Anwar is hoping that by capturing the state government, it would force Sarawak BN Members of Parliament to jump ship to Pakatan Rakyat and help him capture power at the federal level.

He would then avoid facing a rejuvenated Umno under the heir apparent prime minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, at the next general election.

BN must work hard to stop Anwar and PKR from winning too many seats in the Sarawak state elections to prevent the erosion of grassroots support which will eventually lead to major losses in parliamentary seats in BN's once impenetrable backyard.

A week is a long time in politics, many people say. But time is not on the side of ailing long-time strongman Taib.

He is exactly in the same position where Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamd was in 2003. He needs to engineer a more sincere and smooth transition of power to a politically acceptable successor. That is his biggest problem.

The next Sarawak state elections will hinge on his statesmanship. Failure to do so may launch Pakatan Rakyat into power in Putrajaya.

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by Rashid, December 20, 2008 11:21:02
Megalomaniac Mahmud Taib wants to die in office bcoz no body including the dead will accept his drunkard son to inherit his office. Recently he was quoted saying that he is "Sarawak while Sarawak is him." This is exactly what megalomaniac Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, former President of The Maldives said in the run-up to Madlives' October Presidential election re-run. Of couse, he was the Maldives while the Maldives was him. He was the President, AG, IGP, All Ministers, Election Commission President, Richest man and everything. He put cronies everywhere like Mahmud Taib and that's why he could afford to behave like Taib. He used to shower with imported mineral water while the people didn't have water to drink. Sarawak too has no water as 70% of its people don't have piped water after 40 yrs of taib rule. But the people of the Maldives were tired of Gayoom;s greed, immorality, deception, tribal politics and misuse of Islam. The oppoistion led by Mohamed nasheed, 42, who suffered 6 yrs in jail due to Gayoon's evil machination used the motto: The Other Maldives. This was because like megalomaniac Taib, megalomaniac Gayoom said he was the Maldives and the Madlives was him, so the only way out was to call for the birth of a new nation and save the nation from the pervert, greedy dictator. Ironically, he was Al-Azhar graduate who used Islam for petty ends and destroyed its image. The people rallied to the New Maldives and drove megalomaniac Gayoom from power. No body expected it and the Gayoom's media was laughing at Nasheed's attempt to remove him. He was like Khir Toyo who said he will make Selangor a zero opposition state only to lose the state and 42 seats to the opposition. (Do you see megalomaniac Taib laughing at Anwar's attempt to remove him? That's how megalomaniacs behave when power goes into their heads). You remember Dollah saying who is Anwar only to leave office bcoz of the same Anwar. Bodoh! In the coming Sarawak elections, the Sarawak people will call for a New Sarawak leaving the Sarawak of today to megalomaniac Mahmud Taib. He may laugh at the people, use BN media to character assassinate people but everything has its appointed term and megalomaniac Taib will be humiliated by the same people he has divided, manipulated and holds in utter disdain bcoz of his evil and greed.
agree 249
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 11:27:37
Yes, it's not impossible for the PKR to capture Sarawak. But DSAI better not expect Sarawakians to come running with mere talks centered in large towns with 5 stars hotels & restaurants. To get to the heart of Sarawak, there are many2 long and winding dirt roads and rivers to traverse before reaching mosquito infested villages with no star lodgings. And, yes, the many ethnic tribes do not trust each other and DSAI will have to strategize how he can unit them.

And oh yah, DSAI better bring lots of his ex-UMNO’ s money too. Money politics is big time in Sarawak and in Sabah. It has become a local culture and custom for Politicians to bring lots of money for the natives when campaigning in their areas.
disagree 17
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 11:29:51
If you don't believe,then you have to go to rural areas like Kapit,Song,Belaga,Kanowit,Bario,Mulu etc.All the rural forks are openly flying PKR ,DAP and PAS flags.I think Taib ears are full of rumours and this time it will be change that he knows it's coming.
On Jan 14,2009,at Jalan Laksama Cheng Ho,their will be a massive dinner,organised by PKR and the crowd will be huge ,consider the last 2 gathering held in Miri and Sibu.People from all walks of lives are eager to support PR and with PKR making a huge impact in Sarawak,most are just happy that they are now having a alternative party which they can vote
With Gabriel Adit leading the way by been the first dayak YB to join PKR,I bet there will be many who are waiting for he right time to join and this coming dinner,Anwar will be making a surprise announcement of some new entries.Let hope some 'big fish' from PRS will steal the show.
agree 125
written by Godflesh, December 20, 2008 11:33:56
ahmadneil, I really hope, for ALL ours sakes, you're right on this one!
written by cheekhiaw, December 20, 2008 12:11:48
Come on people,

Look at it this way. However backward or petty you think the poor people of Sarawak is, the more decent people of PR cannot do worse with their future and fortunes than those thieves, liars and murderers currently running that place.

written by Oscar Winner, December 20, 2008 12:12:44
TDM the lachrymose PM, a hypocrite and best actor. You deserve an Oscar. You are an extremely good role model for your diehard supporters who begin to shed crocodile tears as a defence against accusations of wrongdoings, and to also seek for sympathy from the public. Pathetic....And to all those who use tears in defence strategy....welcome to the Hall of Lachrymose Fame......
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 12:15:34
Godflesh, first hand information? smilies/grin.gif

Don't underestimate Sarawakians! They might be simple people, but most certainly not stupid; yah! And DSAI better don't share your views!
written by Motherchell, December 20, 2008 12:32:07
During the UMNO hiatus in E Malaysia-- that dominion had been taken back to the stone age with the plunder of Taib... Today they want to demonize DSAI !!

E. Malaysia has gone thro enough damage from the gangsterism of UMNO. They are too fat -- overeaten the find it difficult to walk now. Its dying !! so let us allow it to! Lets give DSAI and the True Citizens a chance to give their Land a heart it lost!
Let s rid Taib and all the plunderers as soon as we can! Why and how come UMNO did not see the rot in Taib all the while that they are finding a bogeyman to insult our truths!
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 13:20:15
To all who are PR supporters,please kindly attend the dinner on Jan 14,2009 at Christian Center ate Jalan Laksama Cheng Ho.For enquiry kindly contact Dominic Ng,PKR chairperson for Sarawak.
Anwar will be the guest of honour!
written by amoker, December 20, 2008 13:43:03
A cheeky writer. Wow, he is suggesting that what the politicians promise are bribes. Is the writer suggesting that BN does not give money and inducements in Sarawak politics?
To me , that is the danger. No PKR, DAP has enough fund to pay money for votes. But Taib Mahmud has a huge war chest.
written by krising1, December 20, 2008 15:03:05
Between now and the election, PKR must come up with sound economic proposals. There should be employment opportunities for the locals to work in small towns and villages so that they do not have to leave home and family in search of employment. Everyone should have a small plot of land to grow food and rear animals for additional income. If PR can come up with such a blue print, the Sarawakians will vote for you. Come Tony Pua. You should come up with something which will blow their minds.
written by hiro, December 20, 2008 15:18:23
The writer might be writing on PKR's opportunity, but I'm not sure if it's to denegrade them and DAP.

First, DAP whipping up racial sentiment? Is the writer suggesting that DAP would be seditious? Those are very strong words to use.

Second, to say that promising certain policy changes falls within the anti corruption legislation - is he suggesting to the Federal government to use biased prosecution against the opposition in this regard?

The writer should analyse deeper before suggesting policy promises as bribes. The opposition by their namesake is not in power. They only get the chance to promise change near election. Compare this with the federal government or incumbent state goverment who has all the time in the world to implement policies. During elections, it is a time to look at their report cards, instead of hearing more promises. For an incumbent to promise specific projects prior to elections may be a bribe especially if they've had years sitting on it and doing absolutely nothing. And then there are those road repairs, building community centres and places of worship etc.. targeted at specific constituencies. Now, those things ought to have been done throughout their administration. To do so in specific constituencies, once election campaigns are launched - that's bribery. Surely the writer can tell the difference.
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 16:06:44

Taib was recently summoned by Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak who wanted to call for an early parliamentary election six months after he had been appointed Prime Minister. The reason given was that he wanted to have a new mandate for his government. And he wanted Taib also to call for the State election simultaneously with the parliamentary election.

Najib fears that if Sarawak chooses to have its solo election as it has been doing since the days of Taib’s uncle, it opens an opportunity for Menteri Besars of Selangor, Perak, Kedah and Kelantan and the Penang Chief Minister as well as other leaders of Pakatan Rakyat to bombard Sarawak with their rhetoric and aggressive campaigns. Surely many will succumb to this type of electioneering.

And if that happens, the possibility for Sarawak to become the sixth State of Pakatan Rakyat is there. But if the State and parliamentary elections are to be held at the same time, leaders of Pakatan Rakyat will have little time for Sarawak as they themselves will also be tied down in their respective parliamentary constituencies. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by kasiakanaun, December 20, 2008 18:00:14
HelloGodflesh,

You think you are a member here in Malaysia Todayand you are so privileged and free to discredit us Sarawakians? Watch your hands on your keyboards the next time before you start belittling us Sarawakians for whatever reasons.You thought you are so cultured so therefore you can say anything to insult the majority of us.

Yes, majority of us Sarawakians are not happy at the state of affairs happening today. But I tell good and proper, I am in the majority league and I never ever, like all Sarawakians, sold my mother in exchange for a packet of Maggi mee and condensed milk. May be you are talking about you own experience. If that was what you have done, it would be the first of it's kind to be ever read in the internet. While typing this, I wasn't getting high on beer and not as backward thinkingas you think that most Sarawakians are.

Please keep your moral assessment on Sarawakians to yourself for we are talking about Anwar sniffing victory in Taib’s backyard and NOT ABOUThow angelic you are.
written by Badrol, December 20, 2008 18:13:50
"He would then avoid facing a rejuvenated umno under the heir apparent prime minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, at the next general election."

This I doubt so. If this najib fella does become the prime minister, he would want all umno warlords and the divisional chiefs to kowtow to him or else they would all be c4ed. This would create animosity and a very tense situation within umno. Umno is certainly going to become weaker and disintegrate under him.
written by MsLim, December 20, 2008 19:16:34
Rainbowseahorse,

Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud has more money than Anwar. This looks like Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud will remain leader in Sarawak. He is a million times wealthier than Anwar.

Hey, someone remember to report to the NEW Anti Corruption Agency if Taib buys votes in the 2011 election.
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 19:23:23
I love Sarawak Laksa.
written by borneoman, December 20, 2008 19:55:34
godflesh,are you so mad with your mother for feeding you with maggie mee and condense milk she earned in exchange for selling he cunt?even if you are mad with her, you, as her only "bastard child"should not bend your anger on sarawakian.BTW...a can or two of beer or a glass of red wine before you go to bed would be benificial to your health.please be a good boy and forgive your mum for feeding you with all those junk food.
written by mikewang, December 20, 2008 20:15:05
PKR's junior partner in Pakatan Rakyat, the DAP, is expected to whip up racial sentiments and focus the hatred of the city-dwelling Chinese against Taib over the issue of extending their property leases which are due soon.
------------------------------

This is mischievous.
DAP did not depend on whipping up racial sentiments to capture the Penang state government.
It won, among others, by playing up the inability of a Gerakan led government to stop the corrupt UMNO in the state administration.

That is not whipping up racial sentiments.
That is telling the truth.
I believe they will do the same in Sarawak as the situation there today is apparently similar to that in Penang before Mar '08.
written by gurkha_malaya, December 20, 2008 21:04:36
all non bumi are invited;

http://jebatmustdie.*********.com/
written by BennyG, December 20, 2008 22:54:17
Godflesh,

By your writings, it can be deduced that you had never stepped foot in Sarawak or Sabah. I'm worried about where you get your impressions from. I really pity your racist & mentally challenged mindset. I even doubt that you're a true MT reader, most likely a Umnoputra.
written by gorshan, December 21, 2008 00:02:06
mention mother, bukan main lu orang hentam itu Godflesh.he deserves it.padan muka dia.
tapi kalau mention motherland kamu diperlakukan sesuka hati oleh BN sejak 1963 apa reaksi kamu semua? should we then say padan muka kamu semua?smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by cheekymate, December 21, 2008 00:19:40
For goodness sake Godflesh, you have shown that you betul kurang ajar by your derogatory statement on Maggi mee and condensed milk. Show some respect to our brothers and sisters in Sarawak and stop passing this kind of uncalled for insulting remarks, ok? How would you feel if someone said that of you? Wouldn't you take offence too? Think before you speak; otherwise you will face the wrath of everyone on MT.
written by kasiakanaun, December 21, 2008 00:36:40
Dear gorshan,

Well, only after 8th March, 2008 that things have began to change in Malaya, which suffers under the same predicament since 1957. Though Sarawak together with Malaya, Singapore and North Borneo (now Sabah)formed Malaysia in 1963, Sarawak was under not under Perikatan (later BN) until much later. It is not correct to say that BN had ruled Sarawak since 1963.

As for the padan muka kamu semua thingy, we all have been padan muka kita semua which in fact Malayans have suffered much earlier. Unless you are from one of the five states now ruled by Pakatan Rakyat, majority of Malaysians are still in fact padan muka kita semua.

There will be a change in Sarawak which could happen much earlier than the whole of Semananjung which is now pioneered by the five states. When that happens, the same message of padan muka kamu semua will be returned back to you without you even realising who started it first.

You be kindly reminded not to underestimate Sarawakians can do.
written by borneoman, December 21, 2008 02:59:07
concur with you kasiakanaun.all these conceited egoistic self centered people who think they they will be our master till the end of time deserved to be punished.
written by borneoman, December 21, 2008 03:02:39
written by gorshan, December 21, 2008 00:02:06
mention mother, bukan main lu orang hentam itu Godflesh.he deserves it.padan muka dia.
tapi kalau mention motherland kamu diperlakukan sesuka hati oleh BN sejak 1963 apa reaksi kamu semua? should we then say padan muka kamu semua?
please do not deny that you are a malaysian or maybe malayan.if you are not one of them ,you might as well keep what ever you have in mind to yourself because all malayan,sarawakian and sabahan are looking forward for a change.A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER BY KICKING TUAN UMNO LED BN BUTT!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 21, 2008 12:30:39
Godflesh,

Change have to come from within, and you West Malaysians, being the Federal government and all, should change out your state of Malaya. Kick out your UMNO, MCA, and MIC (all West Malaysian parties) and replace your government with the PKR. Then, after you have done that, we talk!
Yes, I can see you are NOT from UMNO but from the other two component parties....a minority who has been under the yoke of the Malays for 51 years.

As for that "selling stuff", well, only those with first hand experience would know the truth. So, if you say it's the truth, then that's how you must know.smilies/grin.gif

Cheers!
written by kasiakanaun, December 21, 2008 12:56:46
Dear Godflesh and gorshan,

There you have it. We might have some commonalities on certain issues but still you DON'T HAVE the rights to look down upon us Sarawakians in ways that you have said in your earlier posts. If you think you can make a huge difference in influencing those voters, come, play your part and campaign in Sarawak in the coming state election so that we can all have a new chapter in Sarawak politics. I don't mind paying for your food bills and have you decently accommodated for a day or two. May be I could not afford a five star hotel accommodation for the two of you but be rest assured that you both will not die starving while staying with me.

Godflesh, like you said, talk is cheap but now I dare you to take up my challenge. Together we will help make Sarawak up to the standard that you desire. Being a concern person that you are, that will not be a burden to you I believe. I will be amongst the first persons to acknowledge that we Sarawakians have owed you something. Again, I wouldn't mind to buy a small column of advertisement in the local papers for that purpose. And I will blog about it putting your huge picture at the front page, with the title, say, "The Person Who Singlehandedly Freed Sarawak From The Dungeon Of Doom.

But until then, I repeat, until then, I give back what you have said,"Talk is cheap..

I rest my case.

written by gorshan, December 21, 2008 14:31:34
written by kasiakanaun, December 21, 2008 12:56:46
Dear Godflesh and gorshan,

There you have it. We might have some commonalities on certain issues but still you DON'T HAVE the rights to look down upon us Sarawakians in ways that you have said in your earlier posts. If you think you can make a huge difference in influencing those voters, come, play your part and campaign in Sarawak in the coming state election so that we can all have a new chapter in Sarawak politics. I don't mind paying for your food bills and have you decently accommodated for a day or two. May be I could not afford a five star hotel accommodation for the two of you but be rest assured that you both will not die starving while staying with me.

Godflesh, like you said, talk is cheap but now I dare you to take up my challenge. Together we will help make Sarawak up to the standard that you desire. Being a concern person that you are, that will not be a burden to you I believe. I will be amongst the first persons to acknowledge that we Sarawakians have owed you something. Again, I wouldn't mind to buy a small column of advertisement in the local papers for that purpose. And I will blog about it putting your huge picture at the front page, with the title, say, "The Person Who Singlehandedly Freed Sarawak From The Dungeon Of Doom.

But until then, I repeat, until then, I give back what you have said,"Talk is cheap..

I rest my case.

i am not looking down on Sarawak
,bro. stop putting words in my mouth.i am no Anwar so anyway what can a common ordinary men like me do besides giving moral support and venting my anger on polling day. i will be there polling day playing my part,dont you worry bout that and no i do not seek publicity,so no need you waste your money buying advertising space in borneo post that print garbage anyway. now will you agree with this fact that Chop BN is permanently imprinted in the brains of majority of Sarawakian and getting them to accept Chop PR will indeed be an uphill task?

or will this degenerate into a 'must win point' argument between us? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kasiakanaun, December 21, 2008 16:56:49
Dear gorshan

Bro, well, there is no winner/loser to this argument between us but we have stated our case. We must all hope that there is something good coming out of this.Yes, I agree with you that the Chop BN thingy is heavily imprinted on the brains of majority of Sarawakians but that need not be a perpetuity. Given the right catalyst for change, it will be sooner rather than later that we see the desired changes in Sarawak.

By then, this "argument" will be a thing of the past and there will be no more heavy grin and anger on your part because hopefully, as far as this issue in concerned, we will live happily ever after. smilies/smiley.gif
written by taishan, December 21, 2008 18:54:36
gorshan
the people has less grouses compared to their Malayan counterparts is that they have been dumb down. Half the population with no running water or electricity. Roads are compared to Africa. Uni graduates have no jobs on graduation etc etc.....
Having a bank or post office or ATM machine ? Forget it ! And the perennial excuse, Sarawak is a big state.
If you expect nothing you get nothing. Just a case of being too dumb down to have any grouses.
written by taishan, December 21, 2008 18:59:42
Rephrase that:
gorshan:
If the people has less grouses compared to their Malayan counterparts is that they have been dumbed down. Half the population with no running water or electricity. Roads are comparable to Africa. Uni graduates have little jobs on graduation etc etc.....
Having a bank, post office or ATM machine in the rural areas? Forget it ! And the perennial excuse, Sarawak is a big state.
If you expect nothing you get nothing. Maybe just a case of being too dumb down to have any grouses.
written by panca, December 21, 2008 22:38:54
Even among the ruling Malay Melanau community, there is growing unhappiness over the reluctance of its leader Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud to step down as chief minister after 27 years.

He will rule you Sarawakians to your grave OR he will rule you Sarawakians to his grave. Either way you are dead meat! Waiting for what? for the cows to come home?

Come the day for state election throw him out use your PEOPLE POWER. I am al-leady working my schedule for my New Year Resolution i.e. to try to slot in my working travel to include follow-up work in Kuching. You guys in Sarawak, have balls to say NO TO ARROGANCE, ISA, CORRUPTION, DICTACTORSHIP. The time is over for shrimps! Don't be part of Malaysia if you ain't measure up to the CHANGE! Say YES TO CHANGE FOR SARAWAK.

Ladies and Gentilman, we will be landing shortly, please fasten your seat belts and remain seated until the seat belt sign is switched off. We would like to thank you for flying with us and for those who are voting please prepare umbrella, raincoats or even boats, a 'storm' is imminent and a great windfall will be for the Sarawak state soon upon a hand down victory and the new era for the Sarawak State and Federal Government being forecasted by the Pakatan Rakyat, the Sarawak Parties and 'Meteoric Rise' Department. This is your Captain RPK speaking, we would like to thank you for choosing our BR airline and nice to have you 'supporters' onboard our aircraft. You are advised not to leave any votes uncasted, our crew will show the correct way to vote out the corrupt government. If you need further assistance please contact our ground staffs at the polling station at Kuching wharf and there might be hand souvenirs for you from bn to collect, so please have their pen to vote them out and blow-pipes from PR and parties, a souvenir symbol to dart the very corrupted gomen out. Once again, thank you, we hope to see you soon, have a go for a new government! Have a nice and fruitful election day.

Just as the plane landed, the crew announced again, "We have just landed at the Miaow Miaow International Airport" and the rest is new history they say!
written by borneoman, December 22, 2008 05:31:07
written by Godflesh, December 21, 2008 09:52:35
WOW - Looks like I ruffled some feathers. To those who commented, no I'm not an umnoputra, yes I have been in and out of Sabah long enough to understand the mentality of the majority, I wasn't brought up or maggi mee and condensed milk (can't say the same about East Malaysians) ! I stand by what I say

so you think you ruffled some feathers?dont apply your moronic reverse pyschology on us sarawakian and sabahan.btw.....just because you went in and out of sabah long enough doesnt qualify to make any assumption regarding our lifestyle because i too have been going in and out of malaya for over 30 years and i never say something like that about malayan even though i totally disagree with some of your lifestyle too.and just another reminder,sarawak and sabah are not the same as you all presumed.i can confidently say that you are not a genuine pr guy because what you are trying to do here is to sow hatred among sarawakian against west malaysian so that we will not support any malayan based parties.....thanks but no thanks cos we can do it by ourselves.ONE THING YOU ALL DONT KNOW ABOUT SARAWAK IS ,OUR LAND MASS IS OF THE SAME SIZE AS THE WHOLE OF MALAYA!,our ethnic,traditions and culture are more diverse than you can ever imagine.you can say all you want because it is our oil,gas and timber money that the fedaral government harvested from sarawak and sabah since the formation of the federation that helped developed malaya as it is today.YOU OWE US A FAVOUR SO DONT talk big.if the last ge is anything to go by i would say that pr victories in the 5 states should have happened many2 years ago after all as godflesh implied,malayan are smarter than sarawakian and sabahan and they sell their mothers earlier too in exchange for maggie mee and condensed milk.am very angry but not impressed by your statement godflesh!and stop calling us east malaysian because we are sarawakian and sabahan.
written by borneoman, December 22, 2008 05:46:10
written by panca, December 21, 2008 22:38:54
Come the day for state election throw him out use your PEOPLE POWER. I am al-leady working my schedule for my New Year Resolution i.e. to try to slot in my working travel to include follow-up work in Kuching. You guys in Sarawak, have balls to say NO TO ARROGANCE, ISA, CORRUPTION, DICTACTORSHIP. The time is over for shrimps! Don't be part of Malaysia if you ain't measure up to the CHANGE! Say YES TO CHANGE FOR SARAWAK.

if you really want to help please come over and help the people of kpg.tebia,kpg.rejoi,kpg.semban,kpg.pain,kpg.bengoh,kpg.danau,kpg.semedang,and people from krokong area in their fight against taib and his cronies.why wait for the next poll?walk the talk now because we are already fighting them earlier than you expected.for a start,why dont you come over and lend us a hand now because you might be smart enough to help us bring down umno led bn in mambong and bengoh which is a tiny little spot in the map of sarawak.i promise i will welcome you personally and will arrange for your schedule to visit the kampong mentioned.
written by Ben, December 22, 2008 05:54:11
Please don't stir anymore euphoria until DSAI recovers and do the right thing. We are Malaysians working for a better Malaysia so let's respect out fellows and address them respectfully. It takes courage and boldness to do what some bloggers have done to spread the awareness of all the infirmities and corruption that is our gomen. Let's inspire hope not hatred. Let's love our neighbors not delight in their misery. May God bless you and give you wisdom in sharing peace and love not war. Shalom.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 22, 2008 11:43:25
Taishan,

Looks like you and that godflesh are the dumb ones. Birds of a feather flock together; yah!

“Dumbed down, Perennial excuse for Sarawak (and Sabah) being a big State, and if you expect nothing you get nothing”??
You think you are being so smart to come up with that; don’t you? How dumb can you get,! Read your own writing man! Exactly what did you Malayan have been “expecting” from UMNO BN all these years? Racism, marginalize, NEP?? What?? After 51 years into your Medeka, exactly what did you Malayans get from your “expectations”??

You said we Sarawakians and Sabahans are “dumb”? What about you Malayans who keep on voting UMNO, MCA, & MIC back into power year in and year out? Don’t you realize that these 3 component parties form the Barisan National and, through your voting them into power, they form the government of Malaysia?

Please DO NOT vote for the BN ANYMORE. Please DO VOTE the PKR in power to become the government of Malaysia and we, the States of Sarawak & Sabah, will absolutely follow suit.
Show us you are not as dumb as you made yourself to be. Vote for the PKR, starting with the upcoming KT by-election.smilies/grin.gif

Cheers!
written by taishan, December 22, 2008 12:14:00
Rainbowseahorse,

Didn't say Sarawakians are inherently dumb - just dumbed down.
With the incessant crap from a dysfunctional government, a state govt which mimics the federal, it would always be the same end result - a dumbed down populace, Sarawakians or Malayans take your pick.

written by sueteh, December 22, 2008 12:53:08
Please leave about moms and pops and maggie mee and whatever else out.

Always vote OPPOSITION. If PKR wins take over goverment I will vote BN. That is how for me. Sarawakians are not dumb. Just maybe urban Sarawakians not bothered so much on politics. And the rural ones, believe too much of RTM1, RTM2, TV3.

Sang Rambut Putih had envisioned himself as a 'localised Rajah Brooke'. DSAI..agreed must go and visit the rural areas too. The Grassroots. Decide what you want. How long do you want to see your Sang Rambut Putih on the throne?? I watched the Warta Negeri RTM 1 at 5pm whenever possible. Very gomen. Always showing BN doing this and that. Do you want proof?? You have Plenty of Proofs. Follow the money.

FYI..Sabah & Sarawak will usually get the biggest chunk of budget moolah. Why so? Give you lots of moolah..so next election, you continue to vote for BN lah. Very Fair. Next time, if PKR wins, they might just employ same tactic. Money politics are both good and bad..depending how you want to use it. But, CMS..your Pek Moh company almost all major project from government dia kebas (grab). And many many years..roads, TNB, water situation remain the same.

Your NCR land masalah (problems) when going to solve or drown in the abyss?? Lawyers like Baru Bian is doing a good job?? Not one year but sudah berzaman..becoming dinosour problem. Aha..another thing Tourism Malaysia..maybe forever promoting SWk land of headhunters kah?? Keep the rural charm. If you SWK and Sabah get the biggest amount of budget and if it is really for the peoples, then this 2 states must be now more develop than Selangor/KL. But what is the physical proof you see around you???

Racist. Everyone is racist.

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 23, 2008 09:48:47
taishan,

Oophs, SORRY my apologies; yah! I misunderstood your comment/ posting!smilies/grin.gif

Yes, you are quite correct. If a populace is non expectant of the government, than they get nothing .,. and so are dumbed down.
written by Tornado, December 23, 2008 18:39:49
While focusing to win DUN election in Sarawak, PA should not forget some main issue which can be trigger more problem in future.

The main issue is :-
1. Anti-Malaya sentiment. This sentiment grown up even better after UMNO entering Sabah politics which results most of decision came from KL.
2. Dayak factor. To much dayak factor can be torn the feeling of other communities especially Melanau & Melayu. It's true Sarawak current government head by those Melanau & Melayu but doesn't means all Melanau & Melayu people benefits from it. Most of them still left behind as what happen to most dayak also.
3. 20 points of Malaysia agreement. With Sabah currently under UMNO, most of the 20 points of agreement seem to be deny silently. PA should understand that 20 point of Malaysia agreement more valueable to Sarawakian rather than the natural gas.
written by panca, December 23, 2008 19:27:31
Borneoman,

Thanks for welcoming me, love to meet you someday.

In fact I am typing this message on your soil. I am on a short trip here to know this town.

written by The Iceman, December 25, 2008 10:25:42
I am a Peninsular Malaysian >50 yrs old but I tell you I have been to Sarawak & Sabah many times and have always found the people there friendly and accomodating. What they are lacking in is only coz their leaders have deprived them of opportunities. So now both East and west Malaysian must unite for the good of all. Together we can bring in a New Malaysia where everyone is equal regardless of which part of Mlaysia they come from.
written by remielfl, December 26, 2008 12:25:37
As Sarawak edges towards PR, Sabahans had better do something positive. Otherwise, Sabah will once again be left "out in the cold" of Federal politics and continue to remain out of sight of mainstream politics.

Unfortunately, they had their opportunity during the recent party elections but did not think it wise to move for change.

I pity Sabahans and their choice of leaders as we proceed towards a "New Malaysia".
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 27, 2008 13:28:55
remielfl,

Tell that to the two millions plus Philipino & Indon migrant voters who owes their citizenship in Sabah to your Malayan Federal Government, your Mamathir in particular, and also to DSAI who was the DPM at that time.

Our real Sabahan 1 million votes are insufficient to change our government.