Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Batu Putih case: Malaysia relied on Singapore documents

Batu Putih case: Malaysia relied on Singapore documents PDF Print
Saturday, 20 December 2008 10:22

(The Malaysian Insider) Singapore - Most of the documents used by Malaysia to make its case on Pulau Batu Putih at the International Court of Justice were produced by Singapore.

This startling allegation was made by the republic's Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong and turns on its head the assertion by Malaysia's Foreign Ministry that its officials scoured the world for evidence to back its claim that it had ownership over the outcrop of rocks off Johor.

Chan made this revelation at the launch of the book Pedra Branca: The Road To The World Court.

He was quoted by the Straits Times as saying: “I am not sure whether the International Court of Justice realised that most of the documents used by Malaysia in her arguments against Singapore were produced by us.

“So, you can imagine our deep disappointment when it was alleged that Singapore had withheld from the court a letter which Malaysia believed would damage our case.”

He added: “The truth is that we had gone round the world looking for it for some 30 years without success.”

In the foreword of the book, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said that in 1992, he directed that Singapore hand over all its documents on the disputed area to Malaysia, “an unprecedented unilateral move”.

This move and other previously undisclosed facts about the Pedra Branca case are contained in the 190-page book on how both countries managed the dispute, which the ICJ resolved in May this year.

Pedra Branca, a football field-sized island at the eastern entrance of the Singapore Straits, was first occupied in 1847 by the British, who built Horsburgh Lighthouse there. Singapore later took over, and Malaysia staked its claim in 1979.

In May, the ICJ ruled that Pedra Branca belonged to Singapore, and that nearby Middle Rocks belonged to Malaysia.

Who owns a third maritime feature, South Ledge, is being worked out by the two countries. The ICJ says it belongs to the country in whose waters it sits.

The long journey to the ICJ resolution was highlighted by Singapore's Deputy Prime Minister S. Jayakumar, who co-wrote the book with Ambassador-at-Large Tommy Koh.

In the book, both men noted how their involvement with the case began in 1978, when they were representing Singapore at the United Nations in Geneva. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs had sent them an urgent telex, asking Jayakumar to go to London to locate certain documents on the island.

Both men went on to helm the team making Singapore's case for Pedra Branca before the ICJ in The Hague in November last year, with CJ Chan, who was Attorney-General from 1992 to 2006.

The book recounts the twists and turns in the dispute and the behind-the-scenes manoeuvres taken to resolve it.

Jayakumar also noted that both sides agreed to third-party dispute settlement, now a key tenet of Singapore's foreign policy in managing disputes.

Koh said they decided to write the book to distil the lessons they had learnt from the case — Singapore's first at the ICJ — and share them with colleagues as well as the public.

Chan, in his speech, noted that Pedra Branca was “not an easy case by any standard”. The written pleadings alone of each side filled more than 2,600 pages.

“This is a case where history was part of the legal arguments, and law was part of the historical arguments,” he said.

“Ultimately, the majority of the court decided that Malaysia had history on its side, and Singapore had international law on its side, and this is expressed in the final disposition of the judgment.” — Straits Times Singapore

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by nothing less, December 20, 2008 10:35:49
KETUANNAN MELAYU HE HE HE
written by ylcc, December 20, 2008 10:39:35
There are also some interesting snippets in the book which the public do not know about.

"Deputy Prime Minister S Jayakumar said: "In 1989, Dr Mahathir made a quiet boat ride to the Pedra Branca vicinity to size up for himself the potentially tense situation on the ground."

"Our team's preparations included rehearsals of speeches. CJ and I even tried our speeches in the Supreme Court before two Court of Appeal Judges."

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 10:41:17
So, need there be further proof of that Yatim's ignorance and incompetency? Typical example of "Style misti mau, kalah tidak apa!"
written by ylcc, December 20, 2008 10:54:10
Yes, RBSH ... Singapore went to the ICJ, armed and very well prepared. I definitely am going to get a copy of the book. It seems the authors have kept the language in the book simple (for the layman), avoiding legal jargon.
written by TruthSayer, December 20, 2008 11:39:08
"Most of the documents used by Malaysia to make its case on Pulau Batu Putih at the International Court of Justice were produced by Singapore"

Malaysia's legal team were too lazy to do their own research and depended on the opponent to provide documents!!!! How on earth do you expect to win!!!

This only goes to highlight the Quality of the people we have in power.

The time for change is overdue and it is up to us, the Rakyat to make the change.

written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 11:46:23
Ketuanan Bodoh!They have practically given Palau Batu Putih away to Singapore.I won't be surprise,with their pea size brains,Johor will be next and their balls also.
written by glock17, December 20, 2008 11:53:17
ITS A WIN WIN situation.....we got some rocks that shows up during the low tide ..hehehe.

KETUANAN ...DULU...KINI...DAN ...SELAMANYA...!!!
written by Ray, December 20, 2008 12:01:17
Our stupid foreign minister going to war without ammunition is like hitting his head with his own dick. Malaysia mana boleh with all the kayu ministers.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 12:08:17
Yes my ylcc, I too will get my hands on that book to see what else our Malaysian Idiots did.

To lose so easily on a simple piece of rock in the sea closed to Malaysia territory, how else will our Malaysian Idiots fare in the Philippine’s claims on Sabah?
Hmmmm, maybe I should entertain that heir to the Sulu Sultanate after all! It would be extremely orgasmically fantastic to be able to tell UMNO’s people to fuk off from all those millions of acres of land that they have acquired.smilies/grin.gif
written by Motherchell, December 20, 2008 13:00:56
We have 1.5 million Civil Servants too busy sleeping !-- all pampered in 5 star accomodation - everytime they go for talks they foget their duty to the Nation.

So is our Home and foreign Ministers who are too busy --- in the persecution of its own people then take care of this Land . So much for a 51 year old learning that UMNO didn't deserve in the so called Independence . Who are the Crooks today -- the ruling bigots!! who cant draw a simple contour of the country -- given the premise to take care of the Country!!???
written by lynn, December 20, 2008 13:05:00
With this expose, losing Pedra Branca is what that stupid useless foreign minister probably expected before the outcome was announced. This exposed and amplified the sheer stupidity of Bodohland, relying on the other side to produce documents to lose the rocky island. Gosh!

Again, we must ask ourselves: what kind of pathetic calibre of lowly qualified men we have as "ministers" in Bodohland? I say again, none of them are fit for their positions. We need to have a change of federal govt! We need a complete total overhaul.
written by amoker, December 20, 2008 14:00:02
The Singapore team scour the world for documents. The Malaysian team borrows the documents and then have a trip around the world to see the exact location of the origin.

Syed Hamid, you suck as the Foreign minister and you suck as the Home Minister.
written by Heaven8402, December 20, 2008 14:05:35
As Chinese saying goes "Lose Money but don't lose Face!".
Mana nak letak muka kita sekarang ni. Semuanya nak jalan mudah! Apa punya otak?!!
written by Xerxes, December 20, 2008 15:21:24
Knowing the tendency of the Malaysian team to take the easy way out, probably Singapore manufactured and planted some of those documents conveniently so that the Malaysian team will be suckered into it and shoot themselves in the foot. That doctored photo showing Pedra Blanca close to Malaysian shores that the Malaysian team showed the ICJ and which were caught out by Singapore seems to suggest this.

written by yellowkingdom, December 20, 2008 15:25:18
In the foreword of the book, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said that in 1992, he directed that Singapore hand over all its documents on the disputed area to Malaysia, “an unprecedented unilateral move”.

This move and other previously undisclosed facts about the Pedra Branca case are contained in the 190-page book on how both countries managed the dispute, which the ICJ resolved in May this year.

"Our team's preparations included rehearsals of speeches. CJ and I even tried our speeches in the Supreme Court before two Court of Appeal Judges."

Rais Yatim and Hump-it All-Blur only knows how to show up for holiday and enjoy extravagant meals at tax-payers cost. Has anyone raise the issue as to how much the govt. spent on the Pedra Branca case? Engaging supposedly high-calibre counsels and law-experts came to nought!

Lee Kuan Yew's master stroke was to provide the documents in 1992. He applied "Sun Tzu's Art of War", "the one who is fully prepared, awaits the unprepared will be victorious."
"whoever occupies the battleground first and awaits he enemy will be at ease; whoever ocupies the battle-ground afterward and must race to the conflict will be fatigued."
written by lynn, December 20, 2008 15:38:49
R020998,

You are entitled to your opinion but then I think you are a pathetic moron & an *******. Yeh, why don't you eff off for good? We love Raja Petra who is a Malay! Our list of those Malays we respect includes Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, Dr Bakri Musa, Dr Azmi Sharom, Haris Ibrahim, oh, yes, Kelantan's Datuk Nik Aziz, and Anwar Ibrahim; not forgetting all the other good men like Din Merican and countless others. In conclusion, we 100% support good people, whether they are Malays or other races. And before I forget, as Chinese, we also openly condemn & crudely eff those MCA politicians, past & present. Does that mean I am racist to scold Chinese when I myself am a Chinese?
written by alberttan, December 20, 2008 16:05:51
I have always believed that it was not the intelligence nor greed of Singapore that made Singapore a success, it was the arrogance stupidity and apathy of UMNO idiots, esp botak Yemeni and this stupid Rais, that created and sustained the success of Singapore.

Unfortunately, there are still Malays and Malaysians who think that UMNO is Malay and Malay is UMNO, nothing is further than the truth. The false Ketuanan Melayu preached by UMNO's Kerala Prophet TDM, is actually Ketuanan UMNO that seek to enslave the Malays to UMNO through corruption, cronyism and feudalism.

Congratulations to those of you still enslaved, I am sure Lee Kuan Yew sleeps with a big smile on his face each day UMNO/BN continue to lead Malaysia. LKY and Singapore just have to wait for these corrupt Malaysians to continue to deliver manpower, wealth, water and ISLANDS to Singapore. Tahniah, hamba UMNO!!!
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 16:44:24
written by R020998, December 20, 2008 14:26:25
i used to access MT everyday..
but now just once a month...
later maybe once a year...
why?.......

Dear Malay Fanatic,
Please,we malay including ahmadneil need malay bashing so that we all will wake up and one day stand tall among other races.You see,even our famous muslim brother,RPK,continue to bash us malays even in Kamunting.Why!Becos RPK want the malays to be leaders of tomorrow based on meritocracy.He wants us to be on par ,if not ahead,with other races.Come on!Keep reading MT and let your comments be read by all.It's only that you change,then the malays will be accepted,or otherwise we all will have to move to the caves.
I love malay bashing becos it steeled me and makes me even more determine to take on the challenge.We are not Ketuanan Melayu,but the new malays who can accept criticism.Long live the malaysian and ahmadneil. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 20, 2008 16:48:47
For Rais Yatim to lost Palau Batu Putih,he deserves all of Imelda Marcos shoes to buried him. smilies/grin.gif
written by citizenmy, December 20, 2008 17:05:19
Batu Putih..we actually lost it or the Monkey and FIL intentionally gave it away?
written by ylcc, December 20, 2008 17:06:27
Dear R020998,
the readers here are only expressing their disgust on why Malaysia lost Pedra Branca to Singapore. This book's expose seems to reflect that our FM/lawyers really did not do their homework well. I have re-read the comments posted here, and you probably might have been offended by certain words. I, for one, will not tolerate racism, but I see no such overly hatred towards the malays on this blog. Maybe, you could come out with your own opinions and counter-arguments? We are all adults here, we meet each other on 'MT', some readers are more expressive, some aggressive, some polite, some insensitive, some humerous, .. I too was taken aback initially and got upset easily, which was stupid as the readers do not know you. Later I got used to most of the readers' style of writing, and just accepted them for what they are! Try to access 'MT' more often, and see whether you can differentiate the readers. Sometimes, you even make friends. I did. This is what makes 'MT' special and fun. What say you, my dear Rainbowseahorse?

It is good that you have voiced your unhappiness ... there is nothing wrong with that, and I don't see any reason why Web Admin should remove your post and block you from posting comments on this topic if these are sensible.
written by Goostee, December 20, 2008 17:13:37
Heaven 8402,
Yang betul-betul malu ialah kami orang Melayu. Kisah "Putih Mata" ini dikendalikan oleh ORANG MELAYU yang kononnya wakil terkemuka kami. Apa kata Syed Hamid dan Rais Yatim, Menteri Luar kita, dan Gani Paktaik, AG kita ?? Masih ada muka nak terus duduk dikerusi empuk itukah ???
written by densemy, December 20, 2008 21:13:40
R020998

"because MT's community promote and express their their hatred against the malay."

As I read the comments they were addressing the incompetence of the public servants involved... The fact that they were Malay is coincidental

It was YOU who introduced the word "hate" to the discussion and it was YOU who couldn't tolerate well earned criticism
written by joeawk, December 20, 2008 21:17:34
If the AG and foreign minister have any pride, they should not wait to be ask to resign. Go, go, go. Put in your resignation letter. In Japan, the minster and AG would most probably would have committed harakiri but here in Malaysia, they shout Ketuana Melayu.
written by mikewang, December 20, 2008 21:47:41
Yes.
The AG and the then Foreign Minister must resign for such unprofessional conduct if they still have some pride or feeling of shame in them.

This basically sums up what is wrong with the leadership of this country.
How can we entrust our country to them ?
written by nanyangren, December 20, 2008 21:54:57
winning and loosing is like getting A's in exams. It does not really matter.

The truth is whether you have tried your best. Afterall one have to win and one have to loose. We obviously have not tried hard enough. NEP style.

The Chinese will pay the tax to feed the umnoputras. So this time Singapore will pay the effort to feed the Malaysian umno puts!

NEP Style!

Carry on and the UMNO-puts will loose like Pedra Branca, if they insist on NEP and Ketuanans.

Oh - and I reminder - it is Pedra Branca now, Pulau Batu Putih no longer exists....
written by borneoman, December 21, 2008 04:09:40
the lazy irresponsible tuan Malayu umno Foreign Ministry must resign now for allowing this to happen.
written by glock17, December 21, 2008 11:25:29
tis r high ranking gov officials whom are paid fantastically ..not to mentioned their perks.....well this is the shit they produced after loosing our island to some arrogant s.o.b neighbours...yet this officials walk high and mighty as if nothing happens...gunness world of records salute this goons in bodohland!!!