RM4.6b PKFZ scandal - OTK should answer five questions and not rehash chronology of events PDF Print
Friday, 19 December 2008 14:02
RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal – answer five questions and not just rehash chronology of events

Transport Minister Datuk Ong Tee Kiat should not dilly-dally or backtrack from his repeated promises eight months ago to "tell all" about the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

For instance, the Star report of April 8, 2008 headlined "Ong to tell all on Port Klang Free Zone" quoted him as saying:

"I wish to inform the rakyat about the true situation – whether it was actually squandered, not squandered, and where it has gone to, as well as the breakdown of the budget."

Now, Ong is backpedaling from his promise, as he said yesterday that he would announce the chronology of events in the PKFZ issue but not into its financial aspects – allegedly because PricewaterhouseCoopers "is still finetuning its report on the financial aspects involving PKFZ as there are some formalities it needs to look through before concluding the report".

This is a most extraordinary turn of events as more than a month ago, Ong had said publicly that the PricewaterhouseCoopers report into the PKFZ scandal was ready to be made public "soon".

The Star report of Nov. 16, "Report into PKFZ scandal to be made public soon" quoted Ong as promising that "everything would be settled" by the fourth quarter of this year and that he would reveal what had been compiled.

Let me tell Ong: don't just rehash the chronology of events of the PKFZ scandal (I doubt he would have anything new to add to what I had revealed already in Parliament on the PKFZ chronology of events) but just answer the five questions about the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal which I had posed to him more than eight months ago on April 9, 2008, viz:

1. Was it true that when the Port Klang Authority and the Transport Ministry insisted on buying the 1,000 acres of Pulau Indah land for PKFZ at RM25 psf on a "willing buyer, willing seller" basis, in the face of strong objection by the Attorney-General's Chambers and the Treasury which had recommended that the land be acquired at RM10 psf, the Cabinet had given its approval subject to two conditions: (i) categorical assurance by the Transport Minister that the PKFZ proposal was feasible and self-financing and would not require any public funding; and (ii) that every RM100 million variation in the development costs of PKFZ would require prior Cabinet approval.

2. In the event, the first condition was breached when the PKFZ project ballooned from RM1.1 billion to RM4.6 billion requiring government intervention and bailout while the second condition was breached with the original PKFZ development costs of RM400 million ballooning to RM2.8 billion without any prior Cabinet approval ever sought for every RM100 million increase in development costs.

3. The Transport Minister had unlawfully issued four Letters of Support to Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB), the PKFZ turnkey contractor — to raise RM4 billion bonds, which were regarded as government guarantees by the market. The Transport Minister had no such powers to issue financial guarantees committing the government, as it could only be issued by the Finance Minister and only after Cabinet approval. The first Letter of Support was issued by the former Transport Minister, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik on May 28, 2003, which was Liong Sik's last day as Transport Minister while the other three were issued by Liong Sik's successor, Datuk Seri Chong Kong Choy.

4. Whether it wasn't true that in recognition that the four unlawful "Letters of Support" of the Transport Minister had nonetheless given implicit government guarantee to the market that the Cabinet had in middle of last year gave retrospective approval for the unlawful and unauthorized four Letters of Support by the Transport Ministers in the past four years creating RM4.6 billion liability for the government in the bailout of PKFZ.

5. Why no action had been taken against the two previous Transport Ministers, both Liong Sik and Kong Choy, as well as the government officials responsible for the unlawful issue of the four "Letters of Support" - getting the government embroiled in the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal?

Lim Kit Siang

written by KingSolomon, December 19, 2008 14:14:50
Now, Tee Keat, stop the silly grin. Just keep your promises and tell everything stated in the PWC report. Now!!

Whoever are responsible for the billions of ringgit losses or soiled their hands in this project must be named and punished.
written by lynn, December 19, 2008 14:15:41
I don't trust this guy OTK. He is a survivor. B4 GE12, some Chinese were praising him. He is dragging this issue around, beating abt the bush. Trying to confuse us?
written by AngryTaxpayer, December 19, 2008 14:25:51
Wanna make a wild guess here? That those questions will never be answered...... smilies/angry.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 19, 2008 14:34:05
Do you trust any ministers from the MCA & MIC who are nothing more than kissers of UMNO? At a time when for the first time in 51 years of Medeka, Malaysia gets a chance for real change in the highly corrupted, totally useless, and gross abuse of power UMNO government, the people of the MCA & MIC are defending these evils from falling.
written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 14:41:44
MCA is just following what umno is most clever at,plundering and stealing.Now they are teaming up to rape Malaysia.
written by kent chong, December 19, 2008 14:44:49
MCA- Bcos of you, we suffer so much! bcos of you we had been separated by Ketuanan Melayu!
written by cllim123, December 19, 2008 15:00:56
OTK is proving himself as just another MCA dog. Nothing good about him so far. Toned down his furore since taking over power. Dog. How disappointing.
written by cheekhiaw, December 19, 2008 15:06:22
Mansur Putih, Can read the minds of those thieves and find out how they stole all those money and where they kept it? If you don't want to tell us what you read, you can at least get filthy reach getting to those loot yourself.
written by DreamLady, December 19, 2008 15:11:15
Tee Kiat, the longer you postpone the disclosure of Port Klang scandal, the deeper you dig yourself into your grave. No matter how you try to conceal the ugly truth, it is next to impossible for you to cover the stinking smell of the rotten eggs! Tee kiat, the law of average is fast catching up with you, it is either you buck up or face the music! You are a disgrace to your country!
written by harryo, December 19, 2008 15:33:46
This is BN govt. What do you expect them to tell? The report should be in their favour. The funny thing is the rakyat will not believe the report.
written by Debbie, December 19, 2008 17:05:08
One of my best fishing spots...gone down the sewer
written by HHKim, December 19, 2008 17:18:04
I think OKT don't care a damn on the issue. BN is going to protect his dramatic performance. All excuses by him.

He has bullshit all Malaysians all the times. He has 'zero' brain so to speak.
He is fit to be scrapped and throw into toilet and wash off.

He further shame the chinese and all Malaysians.
written by HHKim, December 19, 2008 17:19:45
Another message to all MCA members:

Thanks for voting this idiot as MCA president.
written by clarity, December 19, 2008 17:51:21
That's why UMNO and BN get on so well together. Both are so crooked.
written by Lembing, December 19, 2008 18:08:24
Cheekhiaw, you read my mind and stole the words out of my mouth. I wonder whether Mansor White will be able to tell what's next in my mind. I am totally sick of commenting on the MAS leaders. It makes no difference. this bunch are totally immuned to any adverse comments. With billions of dollars to be stolen, no wonder these MCA leaders continued to vigorously fight to be leaders of MCA.
written by Engineer, December 19, 2008 18:14:40
Ever wonder why this OTK won the MCA election.

He promised the delegates he will not disclose the truth about PKFZ.
written by sampalee, December 19, 2008 19:35:35
Sad to see OTK,TKO so early.
written by Path Fighter To truth, December 19, 2008 21:26:26
REMEMBER WHY CHAN KONG CHOY WENT OVERSEAS FOR MEDUICAL CHECK UP ?
HE CAME BACK AND THEN RESIGNED FROM THE CABINET.... WHY WOULD HE RESIGNED ??????

WHY OUR PM DO NOT ACT ON THESE UNLAWFUL LETTERS ??

I TELL YOU WHY BECAUSE B.N.NEVER EXPECT TO LOSE SO MUCH SEATS IN THE LAST ELECTION
AND NO BODY WILL KNOW ANYTHING IF THERE IS NO OPPOSITION POWER.

CORRUPTION CORRUPTION AND CORRUPTION. FROM DAY ONE.

written by citizenmy, December 19, 2008 22:39:47
Knowing that most of Malaysians have no balls to pursue this issue, The Government will sweep this issue under the carpet. $4 billion..price to pay for not having the balls.
written by merchant222, December 19, 2008 23:38:21
This story; supposedly to have been revealed by OTK alias OKT s/o LLSik before my grandfather passed away am my whole family is still waiting, for the "burial" ceremony, still hanging in thin air.

TAR's "AS I SEE IT" says, This is all BN's bullshit, fabricating and manipulating reports to suit the parties or ALL parties concerned! Nowadays, Dr. Soi Lek can talk "A LOT" as Deputy President of MCA. Can this Dr tell us what exactly happened in this PKFZ? Audit firms like Pricewaterdown and Ernest, Whitney & Housten,etc, etc, etc, should not get involved less they want their names to be soiled by the "CORRUPTION"

TAR's "AS I SEE IT" analysis concurs that..... Perhaps OTK alias OKT also want a 'CUT into THE ACTION' before a report is revealed...Ahem! gentlemen, you think for yourselves, TAR is turning in his grave...FOR THE BETTER of THE COUNTRY!
Dr. Chua, you can do better than commenting about privatizing IJN, CAN YOU???
written by pugster, December 19, 2008 23:46:03
periasa,
agreed and share your comments. However, majority would like to see justice done im sure. If we look on the other side and go forward, We are considering the amount spent by the ruling party to be written off, and those are the tax payer's money , you and us. Question is are we going to allow this? I ask you, how many of such projects have ended up like this in M'sia? Are you going to forgive and forget each time this happens assuming that we still have this stigma of BN running the govt? That is our malaysian syndrome! Ok lah! never mindlah! Thats why we are what we are today my friend. Think about it! Its not the money! Its the way that malaysians are too easy going as you have suggested. Do not forget, we are what the country is made of. BN is today because of our lackadisical attitude and we need to change.
written by truejustice, December 19, 2008 23:55:24
Since OTK wants to go through the chronology of events then he should start with Ling Liong Sik on why he issued the letter of support on his last day as Transport Minister? Was this due to his hasty retreat as MCA President and Transport Minister due to Soh Chee Wen (I wonder if everyone has forgotten this guy who was once Ling's right hand man who made his son a millionaire overnight RM200M to be exact) I wonder if Soh is now a freeman or still fighting his case? I wonder if a deal was made to shut Soh from spilling the beans?? From Tan Koon Swan (MCA father of Corruption) to Ling and now its legacy is being carry on by OTK
written by Fuminari, December 20, 2008 01:34:19
what this OTK is going to show the rakyat would be jus another episode of refabricated n every where censored thrash....it would jus a piece of umno orchestrated not even MCA hoodwink ,complete with the effort from a dog named otk.this is jus all about it full of fury but ends with nothing,the report.
written by DreamLady, December 20, 2008 02:03:49
Rainbowseahorse, I don't think I could ever trust MIC or MCA. They are beggars and traitors of their own races. I would personally love to skin these people alive, yes, if you ask me. And I am not afraid if I am given a chance to do so cos' they are despicable!!!

By the way, rainbowseahorse, I have not heard from you for a while. Do you plan to go to Trengganu and watch 'wayang kulit' during the by-election?? I am toying with the idea, it might be such fun to see the UMNO clowns making fools of themselves in public..
written by adamckteh, December 20, 2008 16:20:10
OTK please release all facts, tackle the problems and do not put the blames on the previous transport ministers. People want facts.
written by SiHangChai, December 20, 2008 22:07:23
the right person to be hauled up is the former Transport Minister
written by periasa, December 23, 2008 05:32:54
Hi Pugster,
I appreciate your comments and fully agree that all those responsible be taken to task and stop such kind of lackadisical attitude and we need to change. No doubt about this. There are many2 issues in the manner the privatisation exercise had been abused. No accountabilities, transparency,etc. There is no check and balance or effective independent audits conducted on every organisation that has been privatised. The list goes on...and even worldwide such kind of abuses and cheating does not spare the ordinary citizens and taxpayers. The billions of dollars that has been cheated by unscruplous fund managers and bailouts in USA. Yes...I fully endorse that all those responsible be brought to task.
On the same token...we have to see how best the situation can be mitigated and optimised. Whilst we anticipate and expect changes to take place, we have to be mindful of hard-earned taxpayers monies being used for such kind of projects and we must not see this go to waste. Let's make best use of the situation and see how best it can be salvaged by enhancing utilisation of its infrastructure and freeing the land surrounding South Port and North Port for better social and commercial benefits. I am very sure with better and coordinated planning and efforts we could definitely bring down the cost along all supply chain activities.
Again, I wish to stress that the due law and processes must take its course to bring to task all those involved in this wrong doing (whether perceived or otherwise) - present or past. At the same time...let's see how best this place can be maximised and optimised for benefit of everyone along the supply chain and the entire community, in general. Let's think and provide constructive suggestions so that it dawns on the decision makers that 'we care and we do want changes'.