Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A serious case of mental block

A serious case of mental block PDF Print
Friday, 19 December 2008 10:54

You can drag a horse to water but you can’t force it to drink, they say. Well, we not only need to drag the Malays to water, we also need to force their heads into the water and make them drink.

This is what the Sin Chew Daily reported yesterday:

Change Or Perish, Pak Lah Tells UMNO

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said the Malays have changed their old thinking and value system, only that UMNO seems to have "forgotten" that the Malays have indeed changed.

He said the Malays have changed, but if UMNO remains unwilling to change, then the party will eventually head for destruction.

"UMNO has forgotten that the Malays have changed their own thinking and perspectives. It has forgotten that the Malays have changed their value system. The Malays are no longer what they used to be. They unreservedly express themselves. They even wave the DAP flags!"

Abdullah said during an exclusive interview with Sin Chew Daily at his private residence in Kuala Lumpur that during his five-year tenure as the prime minister, he has managed to change the mentality of the Malays.

He said young Malays believe they can stand on their own feet, and this is the major value that has changed the young Malays today.

"Young Malays feel that they need the opportunities, so they begin talking about DAP and PKR. They believe they have better opportunities there."

On the admission by former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad that he had failed to change the mentality and attitude of the Malays, Abdullah said decisively, "I can change the Malays!"

On UMNO's reluctance to change in order to check money politics and racism, he said although this is a mounting task, he knows UMNO members are in the midst of changing.

"UMNO is getting more and more powerful, with some three million members. The larger the membership, the more problems will arise. We have all kinds of people among these three million members. I'm very unhappy (with money politics in UMNO), and have told (UMNO disciplinary board chairman Tan Sri Tengku Ahmad) Rithauddeen to take actions as soon as possible."

99% Malays will not eat pork
98% Malays will not touch a dog
90% Malays will not drink liquor
80% Malays will not eat un-slaughtered meat
70% Malays will not eat in a non-Muslim restaurant
60% Malays will not indulge in homosexual activities
50% Malays will no indulge in extra-marital sex
40% Malays will not take bribes
30% Malays will not wish the non-Muslims on their religious festivals (such as Merry Christmas, Kong Hee Fatt Choy or Happy Deepavali)
25% Malays will not shake hands with a member of the opposite sex
20% Malays will not celebrate the ‘Christian’ Valentine’s Day on 14 February
10% Malays will not celebrate birthdays
5% Malays will not take loans -- to avoid paying interest

Okay, the above is not a real poll. I just made it up. I don’t think anyone has ever conducted a poll to analyse this issue. But the ‘list of priorities’ is not that far off the mark although the percentages are a figment of my imagination. I just wanted to get your attention and demonstrate the priorities of the Malays.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad once cried during an Umno General Assembly because, he said, he had failed to change the Malays. When asked during an interview soon after he retired as Prime Minister on 1 November 2003 what he would consider as the greatest regret of his 22 years in office, he replied his greatest regret is that he could not change the Malays.

And that was Tun Dr Mahathir, the strongest-minded Prime Minister Malaysia ever had in 51 years of nationhood. Can Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, a ‘softer’ man, achieve what someone regarded as a dictator had failed to do?

Now, before we take the word ‘dictator’ as something negative, let me stress that there are many types of dictators and sometimes we need a dictator to set things right. A benevolent dictator is not so bad for the country and is maybe just the thing the country needs to cure it of its ills. It is when we get a malevolent dictator is when things became very dicey. But then dictators can sometimes change from being benevolent to malevolent when power gets to their heads. That is the problem with having too much power in the hands of a dictator and not enough democracy.

For example, if a dictator heavy-handedly passes laws that make it a crime to perpetuate racism, even if the law is draconian and robs us of our fundamental rights, in the long term it would be good for the country. But then laws tend to get abused and ‘good’ laws eventually get used for what they were not originally intended.

Take the Internal Security Act as one example. It was a ‘good’ law when we needed to solve the problem of massacres, assassinations, bombings and terrorism in the 1960s. But once all the chaos and anarchy ends and the law is not abolished, and then it is used for other purposes, such as for stifling dissent and for curtailing criticism of those who walk in the corridors of power, what used to be ‘good’ gets transformed to bad.

So good can very rapidly become bad when wrongly applied. And good dictators can also become bad dictators when they no longer just want to end racism the ‘undemocratic’ way but start using their vast powers to do things like to put down criticism of their rule.

I suppose this is why the ends can never justify the means. If we accept undemocratic methods to achieve good, these undemocratic methods eventually come back to bite us in our sorry behinds.

Anyway, back to the issue of the day, whether Abdullah can do what Mahathir failed to do: to change the Malays.

When I was under ISA detention in September, I spent days arguing and debating with the six Special Branch officers who had been assigned to ‘take my statement’. These are basically marathon interrogation sessions where they point out to you the error of your ways and try to get you to repent so that you can again be released into society. I suppose they not only discovered they could not change me, but they were also perturbed that I passionately defended my position to the very end. I was ‘unreformable’ and there was no way they could reformat my brain and reinstall a new program.

They should have known that I am an ‘old model’, the first generation ‘hardware’, and new software can’t run on old hardware. Ever try installing Windows XP into an old 386? There is no way it would work. You would need a very old Windows program to run a 386.

So I am old hardware, a 386, and I need the Windows 3.0 to make me tick. Forget about Windows XP. That is what the Special Branch officers did not understand.

The debates we engaged in behind the barbed wire fence of the Police Remand Center (PRC), your first stop for 60 days before they either allow you to go home or you get sent to Kamunting for at least two years, was why I write what I write. I whack the Malays to kingdom come. I show no mercy. I ask for no quarter and offer none as well. Why am I so brutal with the Malays? And even the way the Malays practice Islam is not spared. I am heartless and merciless in my criticism.

My reasoning was simple. And I explained it to the Special Branch officers. The Malays will never change. Even Tun Dr Mahathir said so. (But Abdullah, though he agrees that the Malays need changing, does not share Mahathir’s view that they can’t be changed. Abdullah thinks he is able to change them).

The Malays, I explained, need to be dragged, kicking and screaming, into the new Millennium. You can drag a horse to water but you can’t force it to drink, they say. Well, we not only need to drag the Malays to water, we also need to force their heads into the water and make them drink. So we may end up drowning a few. So what? The end result would be we get them to drink, though against their will.

When someone is a lunatic and no drug can cure him or her, we need to use shock treatment. Sometimes shock treatment is the best cure when reasoning and medication can’t do the job. We have been Merdeka for 51 years. How long more are we going to wait before we declare that drastic times require drastic measures? Another 51 years when it would by then have already been too late?

I am third-generation Malaysian, I told the Special Branch officers. My grandfather fought for Merdeka. I, too, am now a grandfather. I have four grandchildren of my own. So my grandchildren, who in 20 years from now will be inheriting this country, are fifth generation Malaysians. Five generations is long enough. If, by now, we have not changed, then we never will.

So we are in a crisis situation. In 1960, when Malaysia was facing a crisis, we introduced the ISA. The ISA is not only draconian but unconstitutional as well. It is, in short, a downright ‘illegal’ law. But even the opposition agreed that the ends justify the means and they supported the ISA.

I, too, believe that the Malays need to be changed. Tun Dr Mahathir believed the same thing. And so does Abdullah Badawi (though he feels he can rectify what Mahathir couldn’t).

Sure, I whack the Malays, I told the Special Branch officers. I insult them. I vilify them. I make fun of the way they practice Islam. I make some Malays ashamed that they are Malays and would rather be called something else. But no good medicine tastes nice. All medicine is bitter. And I do not want to sugar-coat the medicine to hide its real taste. What you see is what you get.

But the Special Branch officers did not agree with me. They felt I was beyond redemption. They did not need 60 days with me to try to ‘turn me over’. They knew I was beyond salvage. So, after just ten days, they packed me off to Kamunting where I was supposed to spend the rest of my days on earth. And as long as I defended my views and refused to change my position, I would remain in Kamunting, be in ten years if necessary.

But I am now out again, thanks to my lawyers who did a good job getting me released. And I am back at it, whacking the Malays. I can’t help it. If I hated the Malays I would just say, “To hell with them. Why bother to try to change them?” But the English say: spare the rod and spoil the child. And the Malays say: if you love the child, you beat him or her.

Comments (89)Add Comment
written by guns head, December 19, 2008 11:07:19
i dah give up. waiting for my death. i cannot rela untuk hidup di malaysia
disagree 36
written by JohnQ, December 19, 2008 11:08:50
90% of my stomach is empty from 6am-1pm, thanks to food price hike:
100% of RPK "rumours " are truths!
agree 229
written by mountainking, December 19, 2008 11:12:51
the chinese in general has the same problem. they somehow poisoned and manipulated by MCA. after so many generations, most of them still listen to MCA and for goodness sake, change the attitude of not giving bribe. it doesn't mean when malays ask for bribe, the chinese has to give. the chinese should have a firm stand and value, say no to giving bribe. and don't live a life evolving around money. get a life, chinese ppl. chinese, go and learn and expand your horizon in learning other cultures and language. i know chinese are very firm in holding on to tradition and mandarin, but at times you need to move on.

i am a chinese and i know what i am talking......if some of you think i am a malay whacking chinese.
disagree 28
agree 221
written by joseph81, December 19, 2008 11:20:38
Yes he can and I have stong belief he can as long as he can stay awake most of the time
written by pinsysu, December 19, 2008 11:30:57
during his 5-yr tenure as the PM, he has managed to change the mentality of the Malays from bad to worse ... instead of teaching them to run like winds, u continue to supply them clucthes.
agree 133
written by Newkidonblog, December 19, 2008 11:32:51
This only proves that UMNO has failed in closing the gap between rural and urban Malays. So I wonder if the current Rural Development Minister, Mike Tyson can do any better to close this gap. Many Muslim scholars will then try to brainwash these rural folks that modernization not in pace with the religion is bad. Or should it be religion should be in pace with modernization?

Malays not only cannot change, they're confused!!!

written by Jit Dharma, December 19, 2008 11:38:21
Brother RPK,
You are right about Malays having to change but it is also true that Indians and Chinese need to get a major overhaul done. We are all running on empty. Inspiration to revitalize is lacking.Who has the capability to unify this disparate nation? I think that DSAI and PR is a good first step.If only to break the choke hold of one-party rule.This doesn't mean that heaven will follow, it means that we can work to make Malaysia better.If we are willing.Our prayers are with you, brother.
written by cahaya, December 19, 2008 11:38:41
Dear RPK, Thanks for another stimulating article.
The more I read your articles, the greater my admiration for your steadfast stand. You are a man of integrity, with a compassionate heart. Sadly, you have suffered far more than your fair share as “bangsa Malaysia”. If say 50% of Malays possess your stubborn spirit (please regard that as a compliment, also did not do a poll), then there is hope!
On a more serious note, TDM could not change the Malays because while he told the world that “Malaysia Boleh”, he kept telling the Malays that “Melayu need UMNO, Melayu need NEP”. Once Malays wake up and realize that they can actually succeed on their own merit without corrupt practices or myths like Ketuanan (that they can succeed as equals with other bangsa Malaysia), then the Malays will change! Mental blocks seldom last for long.
Cahaya (a fifth generation 386)
written by Newkidonblog, December 19, 2008 11:46:16
50% Malays will no indulge in extra-marital sex, 50% will.
40% Malays will not take bribes, 60 % will.
30% Malays will not wish the non-Muslims on their religious festivals, 70% will.
25% Malays will not shake hands with a member of the opposite sex, 75% will.
20% Malays will not celebrate the ‘Christian’ Valentine’s Day on 14 February, 80% will.
10% Malays will not celebrate birthdays, 90% will!!!

They have changed!!!
5% Malays will not take loans -- to avoid paying interest
written by arazak, December 19, 2008 11:47:06
Did he manage to change the mentality of his Malay UMNO goons not to loot and rob the people’s money?
Obviously NOT. in fact, the mentality of doing wholesale looting and robing by the Malay UMNO goons had become from bad to worst! Even more sickening it is done by those people around him! Talking nonsense about changing the Malay UMNO mentality!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 19, 2008 11:47:07
99% Malays will not eat pork. Hmmm, I have quite a number of fellow Malays having a craving for bacon (from their overseas education days)

98% Malays will not touch a dog Yes quite true..still I have a lot of those other 2% Malays here.

90% Malays will not drink liquor Yes, this might be quite correct for Malaysian above 30 years old group.

80% Malays will not eat un-slaughtered meat I am unsure of this as over here we assumed all meat were slaughtered and never bothered to check.

70% Malays will not eat in a non-Muslim restaurant It’s more like 10% for Malays here as we are used to eating in places where roasted chicken & pork are “jiran”.

60% Malays will not indulge in homosexual activities Haiyoh! That means 40% indulge in homosexual activities? Have to be more careful with my fellow Malay brethrens O! Hmmmm, so maybe those ‘wrestling’ matches in sarongs are not what it appear to be; yah?

50% Malays will no indulge in extra-marital sex Hehehe…I think the figure should be around 10% lah!

40% Malays will not take bribes Haiyah, once more I have to revised that figure to…hmmmm…5%???

30% Malays will not wish the non-Muslims on their religious festivals (such as Merry Christmas, Kong Hee Fatt Choy or Happy Deepavali) Nope! Here I would put that figure at 1% for us here…in fact I am tempted to put it at 0% as I am not aware of any such problem on our side.

25% Malays will not shake hands with a member of the opposite sex Hehehe…here we all rushed to shake hands with the opposite sex, especially if she is comely! If that pretty thing would like more than shake hands, heck, we have no prejudice and non racial either!

20% Malays will not celebrate the ‘Christian’ Valentine’s Day on 14 February This is not popular here among us Muslims lah! So I would put that figure at 98%. Maybe they are 2% who do celebrate Valentine.

10% Malays will not celebrate birthdays For us here, any excuse for a party unless one really cannot afford it. So no % figure for me here as it’s more like celebrate if you can afford the cost.

5% Malays will not take loans -- to avoid paying interest I have not come across any of my fellow Malays who would decline a loan whether they can afford the interest or not. And of course, quite a number of them got into trouble for that. Those Micro loans were snapped up in no time here coz our Malays believe the government will not expect them to pay back the loans. Sigh! Such is my Malay mentality here…all expecting freebies from the government!

Yuup! Over here, I can lead my Malays to water and, once there, most of my Malays will eagerly stick their heads into the water to see what freebies are in the water.
written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 11:47:12
99% says ahmadneil is not a malay which I am.
But the gov't don't change me and it's I myself who have changed.
I don't need NEP.I don't go to malay school.I was not given JPA scholarship.I vote for DAP.I don't read Utusan toilet paper.I don't watch RTM.I watch BBC,CNN,ABC etc.I read playboy,Time,Newsweek etc.My wife never wear veil.I don't have to pray 5 times aday.I'm holy in my heart not on the outside.
So who says the gov't can change the malays.Bullshit!They are a bad leadership by example.They themselves have never change so how can they change us.They are so corrupted so how can they tell us not to corrupt.They don't do what they preach so how can they tell us to do what they tell us.
So the new malays like ahmadneil are not been change by AAB or the gov't.We change ourselves so that we can compete with all the races in Malaysia based on meritocracy.
disagree 16
agree 211
written by Democrats, December 19, 2008 11:47:45
It is people like RPK, Zaid Ibrahim who are burden with the task to straighten the majority of the Malays.

Bare in mind, not all Malays are like that. I have Malay collegues who have worked in the private sector their entire career and have never seen their bumiputra status as as advantage and rely purely on their talents. And they take pity on their own Malay friends who rely on handouts and their status to get by. Asked if why not join the government sector and with their talents and attitude they can go very far, they say if there were there, they would have been corrupted by the system and never would have achieve what they have today through the level playing field and competitive environment.

And they hate UMNO for using the racial issue to stay in power and creating an illusion for the Malays to beleive they need UMNO to fight for their rights and survival. Are they less Malay now? They still pray five times a day, only that their GOD is not UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 11:56:06
101 % says we the malays benefited from NEP which we don't.
101 % says there is no Ketuanan Melayu but only Ketuanan Lembu.
200 % says we malays like to screw mongolian girls becos they prefer sodomy.
1 % say Razak Baginda is not guilty.
101 % says malays prefer ask hole than Nasi Lemak.
Prove me wrong if I simply write.
written by Admiral Tojo, December 19, 2008 11:59:30
This is what happened to me. I started to implore, reflect, analyse and not accept anything I cannot verify, dropped the Arab Religion like a hot brick. Then I no longer am a Malay according to the FC. So now I go around town telling people that I am an Austropolinesian. So how?

IT IS HARAM FOR THE MALAYS TO THINK - UMNO fatwa.

Salaam
written by pinsysu, December 19, 2008 12:10:15
and UMNO keeps walking round & round da block whilst RPK is trying to crowbar da block up da himalayan slope. smilies/grin.gif
written by Jan, December 19, 2008 12:14:09
One of the things Abdullah can do is to abolish BTN classes or at least change certain course contents. Young Malay minds gets brainwashed into believing they are the Masters of the Land and made to believe the non malays owe them a living by being citizens here. They must realise if the Malays have such a crutched mentality they wouldn't go far, not to mention the rising amount of hate that now exists between certain races. I cannot imagine how a country like this can prosper under this climate much less in a globalised world. I cannot imagine how a race like the Malays can advance and move forward sheckled in this kind of archaic mindset.
written by jjireh99, December 19, 2008 12:26:25
i agree with rpk absolutely! As i said to datin marina, i am not a fan of his father but I think he is a more focus and strongest-minded (as rpk said) PM we ever had. The only problem now is that we have to undo whatever "evil" that has been incalculated into them (UMNO GOONS) FAST! AAB, please stick to your reforms with absolute tenacity and resolve for the sake of all MALAYSIANS!
written by Jan, December 19, 2008 12:29:03
Ahmad Neil,
The Malays do benefit from the NEP, special rights and affirmative action policies.
So long as you are Malay you get housing discounts(paid by us non-bumis), you get preferences to scholarships even if your results are worse than mine and you get an easier route to university via matriculation. We no longer want to question your so-called rights, we are too tired for that trying to earn a decent living here but we do want to ask some questions. Where will all these molly coddling going to take your race(that's assuming you are Malay) Will your people be a competitive/knowledgeable/respectable race in time to come? What will all these cost the country?
written by Motherchell, December 19, 2008 12:29:14
99.9 % of the true Malays don't realize that their rights have been made illegitimate -----NOT by other races!! but the select few despotic coterie of generations in Power for the last 50years. From father to son -- to grandson!

Even building a mosque , there are middle man , center man. and bagman involved ------ the innocent true souls see the glass mountain of a construction--- only to be short changed in every way . Religion is used to the hilt to instigate their patronage for the powers that be!
They fail to see the poverty of their fellow brothers and sisters. They only seem interested in TODAY!! for sure they do as long as Petronas can keep on drilling and funding . They have not been taught to fish! What will be the terrain like in 20 years??
In this country--- the only thing taught with all its resources is HATRED by all govt entities!! A total shame !!
written by Tompios, December 19, 2008 12:30:51
Sabahan new Malays!!

99% Malays will not eat pork but sucking 'triangle' by rock n roll.
98% Malays will not touch a dog but doing dog style
90% Malays will not drink liquor in dream.
80% Malays will not eat un-slaughtered meat if there are lot of food available.
70% Malays will not eat in a non-Muslim restaurant during puasa.
60% Malays will not indulge in homosexual activities but 40% yes.
50% Malays will no indulge in extra-marital sex outside their own families.
40% Malays will not take bribes but waiting for the right time to get a Chinese lady sedekaq.
30% Malays will not wish the non-Muslims on their religious festivals (such as Merry Christmas, Kong Hee Fatt Choy or Happy Deepavali) but wish to have angpow.
25% Malays will not shake hands with a member of the opposite sex in their heart.
20% Malays will not celebrate the ‘Christian’ Valentine’s Day on 14 February but making something special during that time...dating....and petting...
10% Malays will not celebrate birthdays...but processing birth...
written by Oscar Winner, December 19, 2008 12:30:55
Agreed with Democrats..It is people like RPK, Zaid Ibrahim who are burdened with the task to straighten the majority of the Malays....

Was the lachrymose TDM sincere?? NO, he preferred the Malays to stay the way they were so that he could manipulate and hang on to power. Those were croc tears. Why these PMs talk about changing the Malays just before they leave office, and not immediately after they become PM?? Well...honeymoon first, plunder and rob first, enrich cronies first, and then get down to the real issue just before leaving office. By which time it will be too late.

So, those who really fight will have to leave UMNO, like Zaid. He knows UMNO culture will never change because for it to change, lots of things will have to change first...like the sun moves around planet earth, planet earth moves around the moon, and the sun rises from the west and sets in the east....
written by cheekhiaw, December 19, 2008 12:38:10
Backwardation of Special Rights

More and more Malays have realised that the fellas that promised them heaven on earth based on something they peddled as 'special rights' was just one big con - at least to a significant number of them left out of the mass theivery. Like the USD, while that false promise held up everyone was happy to go along and milk the system or hope to get onto the gravy train. But thievery cannot feed the whole world or all Malays for that matter. For many, 4 decades of 'easy' hopes turned into bitter disappointment as someone else grew supremely fat relative to them. Even the blind can see that. So that 'easy' hope changed into stark realisation.

The honest and decent Malays that refused to go along had all along been overwhelmed or even cowed by the first bunch. This group would never change. They are the ballast that humanity and our future stands on. The fact that these decent and virtuous Malays had stuck their necks out to highlight the above in their various ways helped define Malaysia today. Then there are those Malays in between. They are the ones that had decided to recover their moral compass once lost in the frenzy days of good times. For them it was just a case of changing to using their compass only after the key to the kitty was taken from them and passed to some one else in the musical chair of political thievery.
written by clarity, December 19, 2008 12:57:38
Umno is like a tree. You have primary roots that represents the 121 divisional and the secondary roots below the ground that represents the ordinary members. The primary roots i.e. div. chiefs feeds the members all kinds of rubbish so the chiefs become more powerful and their can threaten the supreme council to do their bidding. Get rid of the div chiefs will be a good way for change because there will be less pressure on the council and on the PM.
written by MAMR, December 19, 2008 13:14:34
Whatever it is I dont care, what I care is we RAKYAT had to change the Govt , get a new govt which care for Rakyat and at the same time whoever had done wrong things in which had been covered up by present govt must be charged in court and received punishment accordingly.
written by Jan, December 19, 2008 13:20:35
Just a few days ago during one seminar in the city a Bank Officer conducting a course referred to some course participants of Indian origin as orang asing. Malaysian citizens of Indian origin are now foreigners in Bolehland as far as this guy is concerned. From this you can tell there are some people who see their fellow citizens as beneath themselves. If this officer did not learn this indoctrination from BTN classes I wonder if he could have learned it from his parents or Sekolah Kebangsaans.
What I am trying to get at is why the govt is not putting a stop to this growing mindset of some people who think of themselves as first class privileged people and others as orang asing or pendatangs? Even some politicians are calling others not of their race Pendatangs and it seems to be the trendy thing to do these days. Do they not realise the very social fabric of Malaysian society is being slowly but surely torn to pieces by saying such things? If the PM is sincere about wanting to reform these are some of the areas he can look at. He can start by castigating that politician up North and abolishing BTN classes.
written by Aizad 234, December 19, 2008 13:33:07
How about 'percentages' of Chinese? smilies/grin.gif
written by delCapo, December 19, 2008 13:38:02
60% Malays will not indulge in homosexual activities
hmmmmmm ..... RPK... that's quite a stat!! 40% of Malys are gay, bi-sexual or experemental?? hmmmm....

anyway.... if AAB thinks he has changed the Malays... i think Samy can also claim he has brought justice to the Indians....
Talk Cock!
written by gorshan, December 19, 2008 13:44:30
malays will not change becos 100% of them are happy with babes and bikes and some weeds on the side.
written by temenggong, December 19, 2008 14:04:03
This is a far more concise definition of malays than the imprecise and casually worded Article 153 where everybody in the nusantara can get in.

Everybody changes once there is freedom of speech! Racism, communalism and religious bigotry cannot survive with freedoms and human rights. Article 153 has caged the malay, so he cannot change. Let us free the slaves!
written by truthbespoken, December 19, 2008 14:07:17
For God's sake, how could Mahathir have succeeded in changing the Malay mindset?
He was the culprit who threw all the crutches at them for more than 2 decades and inadvertently groomed them to be today's largely uncompetitive and ecomically, religiously unbending people. But at least this time he admitted it. Good heavens!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 19, 2008 14:11:30
Change, for whatever reason, is never ever easy!

A good example is our Malaysian ex-child protegee Sophie living a “life of sin” as a high class “social escort’ in London. UMNO’s ministers were falling all over themselves to save her. But in an ensuring interview, Sophie admits she likes and enjoys her new life style and do not wish to be “saved”.
Ok, so here we have, a young beautiful and very sexy Malay lass from mixed parentage (Pakistan father, Malay mother), but nonetheless a Malay, and a child protegee to hood. Nobody can bring her to water, least of all to force her to drink.

Ok, my point! It doesn’t matter what race, but if that does not want to change, that is not going to change. Only way to get that horse to drink is to forcibly turn it over and pump water into its gulley! A person’s character is dependent & influence on one’s upbringing, very much like a young sapling. Its young branches can be manipulated and twisted to all forms and shapes, but try that on a matured tree and you get a broken branch.
Just like when we, as a child, were threaten by our parents with being arrested by the police for some childish acts, how do we perceived the police when we become adults? Same goes to being told ghost stories and scared out of our wits when we were children, we become scared shitless of the dark.

Likewise our Malays! If at an early age the child is being bombarded with all sorts of negative ideologies and racist sentiments, what type of person would that child be as an adult?
written by mikewang, December 19, 2008 14:17:01
Why does he need to change the Malays? It's UMNO he needs to change. Why doesn't every Malay leader in UMNO fail to see this ?
written by talk2stop, December 19, 2008 14:28:25
RPK, if you are right then Malaysia is in for big trouble. The Malaysians Chinese & Indian origin have changed. They are now more competitive and resilient compare to their counterparts from other countries. They (non bumis) are now better, faster and stronger. They (non bumis) show no mercy and their hunting skill is sharp and precise.
Malaysia just can let go the hand that feed the Malays. I don't know how Malaysia going to resolve the problem.
I think we all can see it.
written by Admiral Tojo, December 19, 2008 14:33:23
We Malaysians should learn from our history, not the lies that they teach you in schools slanted by UMNO, at BTN etc. Many of different colours, creed and race contributed to our independence, some with their blood too. These entities were not UMNO. UMNO do not speak for me and my tribe.

What long term UMNO racist mind enslavement has done is to create bigots, sectarians and at the upper end rich thieving bigots and racists.

I have moved on and it is time the other Malays do too,provided they can get out of this mental slavery. Race and religion are tools for mental enslavement.

Salaam
written by lab76820, December 19, 2008 14:41:16
Greetings Uncle Pete,

I'm the 4th generation here. Well, comparing to the days of my great-grans, there are changes, but its not forward movement. Regretably, its the opposite. Fear is in the mind for the future generations.

On another note, like the rest of MT readers....I'm so proud of you, standing firm on your beliefs and stuck with your ways of conduct. God Bless.
written by panca, December 19, 2008 14:46:14
The other races like the chinese, indians and many other non-malay races are not against the malays, within our own non-malay ethnicity by themselves as chinese, as indian and others, we have to solve this inclination of social responsibility coming to us in each in our own family, we want to continue nurturing this proper individual responsibility to our own children and it is their own hands that must lift to feed themselves, to fend for themselves and work diligently, an asset that one builds for oneself. This is what and how we are moulded and have been prioritised on knowledge of education culturally, besides politically we have not been given much choice. Many malay have been sidelined and deprived of aid when they gomen shouted how well they ran the NEP. The other races are not against the malay. The malay is against the malay.

When putting in right and proper perspective, the malay must not only stop sleeping, listening, playing, wasting, waiting and not only start thinking change but start 'living' and 'doing' with the change. It comes from within oneself and comes with all. It is time the new generations are thought on the hard knocks and not spoon-fed. No glory is glory until one really deserves from one's own true and sincere achievement! There is a drug being pedalled for last 40 over years and for 50 so called "independent years". Are we all independent of that drug abuse being given by a political party? Just ask why are we different? ask why some are same same for 50 over years? Isn't it the fcuking drug obviously one of the serious problem that has roots in the brain that maimed one's thinking? What is that drug? The so-called "Ketuanan" then comes the concoction with the drug of NEP that looks good but abused, and not aiding the poor. 40 years of self-defeating Malaysia. "WE HAVE BRAIN DRAINS AND BRAIN CLOGGED". Malaysian have a long way to go but we need doing it, every step of the way. We live on earth here in Malaysia, some day we all die, you don't die without changing your bad attitude, everyone of us Rakyat. Change begins with us, Malaysians.

reproduced from earlier comment posted
We all hate those who are gutless to be open and play racial and religious issues. Those whose brains are clogged even refused to seek medication when diagnosed!

sorry mean no harm but this is what is happening. Don't let them drug you. Be independent and open in your thinking to stand up with your two legs(not three)
written by Ahjamal, December 19, 2008 14:51:28
Can all Malay claim they are 100% Malay? I have a Muslim name I dont want to be a Malay. There are ppl who hold a Muslim name and vague to claim they are Malay. Let move on to call ourselves as Malaysian.
written by Apek, December 19, 2008 15:00:21
Dear Badawi ,

Everyone, not just the Malays need to change in our ever changing world we live in. The Malays just have to change more rapidly now that they have been cocooned by the UMNO Elites who have themselves raped and plundered the country under the notion of "Ketuanan Melayu". That phrase rings hollow to the majority of Malays who have been purposefully crippled in their knowledge, outlook and thinking by UMNO Politicians.

People (whether it be Malays Chinese, Indians etc) do not need to be forced to the water to drink and forcibly letting a few drown. They only need to be told where the water is. I suggest that the protective net that have kept the Malays away from the water be gradually taken away from them. Thirst shall drive them to the water and they will drink water willingly. No one will have to drown.

The government must be a government for all citizens of Malaysia whom the Government Taxes and not one perceived to be solely for the benefits of the Malays (largely exempt from taxes) - just because some politicians say that the governing institution in Malaya was Malay before the British and therefore it must continue to this day. That argument is rubbish.

It takes a nation to make a nation great. The pre-Industrial notions of racial superiority and misguided Nationalism are dead to a multicultural world presently revolving outside Malaysia. There is no point defending a Malay-centric government.

Take away Malay privileges gradually (but quickly as the world waits for no man) and you will see the Malays becoming world class people. Let "Necessity" be the driving force of the Towering Malay Personality rather than the government assisted crutches of Malay Shame that prop him up.

Do that, and you will prosper, do not, and you will destroy the Malay race.
written by deunan, December 19, 2008 15:34:19
Beg your pardon Abang Pete. You could run Windows 95 on certain 386 models, provided if you have at least 4MB RAM. Definitely on 386DX and some 386SX if you're lucky.

But why use Windows at all? And that goes to using any versions of Windows at all. Instead, use the free OSes (Free as in free speech!). Take your pick -
GNU/Linux - Free as in free speech under General Public License (GNU/GPL)
FreeBSD - Free as in free speech under Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD) License
NetBSD - Free as in free speech under Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD) License
OpenBSD - Free as in free speech under Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD) License
OpenSolaris - Free as in free under Common Development and Distribution License (CDDL)

Take your pick! All are usable for everyday use on the desktop! Some are more than others! Free yourselves from the mind enslaving claws of UMNO-opps-I-mean-Microsoft!

Regards - Proud user of GNU/Linux and FreeBSD
written by carribeanking7, December 19, 2008 15:37:19
60% of my friends think I am Hindraf activist
50% of my freethinking friends think I am a PAS sympathizer
40% of my non malay friends think that I am a Malay apologist
30% of my malay friends are surprised that I have a better command of the national language than them.
20% of foreigners ask me if I am a local the first time we meet
10% of my Indian friends think that I should write more on what ails the Indian community.

I of course do not agree with any of these perceptions, but people will always see others through their own biased prisms. I cringe everytime my countrymen bicker over racial issues. Sometimes I go and check the calendar to make sure its 2008 and not 1969.

I produce again what I had written from my heart on this issue some time back :-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Without doubt UMNO survived by playing up to the fear of the Malays being marginalized to the hilt, and this fear is very real- in casual talks I have gathered from many Malay friends from diverse backgrounds from dispatch boy, Architect,taxi driver, town council worker and the pakcik who sells me nasi lemak- they feel that as it is they do not hold the economic pie in proportion to their population, what more if their political power is usurped, they will have nothing- the challenge is however debunking this lie perpetrated by UMNO. If Tun Mahathir truly loves this country he could do it, he has the stature and respect among the Malays to convince them, but he chooses to label enlightened persons like RPK as "writers who write nonsense".

Every general election they would campaign with strong hints either vote BN or we will have another May 13th even if they lose 2/3rds majority. When everything was calm in the aftermath of GE12 they knew their bluff was called, they then went on to say the Pakatan alliance would not last 2 months, when that too was debunked, they did the only thing they are good at, stir up racist and religious sentiments, it does not matter if it was true-just stir road signs, scholarship quotas, pig farm, university admission quotas, anything - clearly showing desperation. Protests were more prevalent in states taken over by Pakatan, by wolfish UMNO warlords donning the sheepskin of NGO's.
Then there is the fence sitter group between ages 45-55 who voted the BN on March 08 despite being unhappy because they were afraid of trouble if BN lost its 2/3rd, as the new state governments expose more wrongdoings of the previous BN government especially in Penang and Selangor, and the much feared repeat of May 13th 1969 not happening despite BN's loss of its 2/3rd majority, this group has become, disillusioned, brave and more bold and likely to vote against BN the next round, the racist politics of fear that UMNO played up recently was likely done to intimidate this group who have living memory of May 13th race riots.

This will go on indefinitely as long as race based parties exist. BN component parties have failed miserably to be a check and balance against abuse of power by UMNO. They share the blame as UMNO alone with 79 seat cannot form the Federal Government. The best BN can do is follow Kuli's suggestion of a unity government by merging BN components into a single entity. Then only can we see a viable 2 party system emerge. Only then will racial politicking be curtailed, as Pakatan and BN unity government will have to woo voters based on issues, then we can see more parties that champion environmental issues , healthcare etc being formed. If you want to keep culture and traditions alive form Associations, racial politicking in the long run is just plain stupid and retrogressive besides you cannot do anything about it nor is it any achievement to be born into a certain ethnic line, none of us chose our parents.

before this can happen however,the Malays must lose their irrational fear and stop declaring non Malay citizens subordinate. The non-malays/muslims should stop labelling all Malays as this and that because of the actions of a few UMNOputras and get a grip of their Islamophobia, stop labelling all Muslims as "Taliban" and such because of a few fatwas issued by those who are on BN payroll. This is deeply hurting and alienating Malay /Muslims who threw their support behind Pakatan. Its easy to point fingers but it takes 2 to tango. Malaysia does not need more bigots, we need peacemakers and lots of them.
written by cruzeiro, December 19, 2008 15:45:51
“This life’s dim windows of the soul,
distorts the heavens from pole to pole,
and goads you to believe a lie,
when you see with and not through the eye.”

-William Blake
-----------------------------------------
With Umno, "the ends justify the means" would characterize their party "doctrine" - which is how they managed to hold on to power. It is how they have successfully managed to neuter the opposition and their "allies" in the BN.

Consequently, with the help of BTN, they also had to indoctrinate the masses from elementary schools to the "universities" believe in that idea. The other idea that they need to reinforce into the minds of the people is that the Malays are helpless and useless without the crutches provided by the govt, while at the same time preach "Ketuanan Melayu" to boost their ego and belittle the others.

Mind you - It isn't a "Malay" thing, although it is the Malays that you're concerned about (hence this article) here. This same mindset exists in all communities.

One reason for this is the moral bankruptcy which is "taught" by the preachers of Religion - which happens in all doctrines of faith to varying degrees. I do not point towards any one faith - all are equally guilty when politics plays a role in it.

Religion is a powerful tool which is used by politicians to indoctrinate the masses, as it does not give as much credibility to reason, as it does to faith - and with blind faith and obedience, everything is made that much easier for those who control it.
They often do preach the necessity for lesser evils for the greater good of their religion/faith, thus justifying "the means to the ends". This becomes more potent with the element of "fear of retribution" and the "desire & greed for rewards" in the afterlife, infused into it.

When the morals of a people are twisted, they will justify any amount of irrational judgement, and spin any number of argument to arrive at a predetermined conclusion.

"It will not do to cling to the cause and wish the result away.
Reality does not play mind games.
What is more, to anesthetize the mind in order to abort what comes to birth
when wrong ideas are conceived and borne in the womb of culture,
will only kill the very life-giving force of the nation that nurtures the idea."

- Ravi Zacharias
written by johntyc, December 19, 2008 15:54:11
Russia population: 142 million
Russia largest and most powerful political party membership: 2 million (1.4%)

China population: 1321 million
China largest and most powerful only political party membership: 73 million (5.5%)

Malaysia population: 27 million
Malaysia largest and most powerful political party membership: 3 million (11%)

5.5% is already absurd! What about 11%? Something is not right here!
written by Zapper, December 19, 2008 16:03:32
The majority will NEVER change. Change means transparency, good governance, no Fear Doctrine, effective implementation of all the laws of the country without fear and favor, and no polotical patronage. Can the leaders live with this change?? Guess not!!

Therefore...cakap saja.
written by Shimshon, December 19, 2008 16:50:04
The credit should go to HINDRAF. (re: Nov 2007 event) Because of the "martyrs'" Hindraf, the 'changed' Malays, Chinese, Indians, Orang Asals of the Peninsula, Sabah-S'wak dare speak up, voice out, and peaceful assemblies here and there, things we've kept to ourselves, between ourselves, and "behind closed doors" for decades of UMNOputra's 'colonization' (the apartheid Ketuanan Melayu & NEP) (after the British colonization).

Latest, ref. the JERIT guys, again, Indians. Again - The humungous contribution of the Indian minority is generally considered insignificant in this Malay-Malaysia, this 'Malaysia Melayu Punya' country. (To the Malays, the Indians came here to work in estate plantations, build roads, railways, etc labourers job, forgetting the huge, numerous Indian contributions in various other fields, aspects and categories in nation-building).

Of course, "all the credit" should go to the Malay royalty, Sir RPK, for almost single-handedly bringing about this change in Malaysia - the "singled-out" blogger esp. blamed for the 'loss' of BN in the March '08 Gen. Elections. Anwar Ibrahim may chant, Reformasi! But - during the recent ISA detention of RPK, Zaid Ibrahim quit his ministerial post, as a sign of protest against the abuse of the ISA(meant for terrorists, and those using force to topple govt); but Anwar "did almost nothing" for RPK.

So, again! Lots of other individuals & groups played significant part - but "The Malays(and M'sians) have changed" credit - could be singled out to - HINDRAF & Sir RPK.
written by educationist, December 19, 2008 16:56:09
Well I wish you God speed RPK , may you be able to change the Malays. But in the process you have also changed many non-Malays as well. All of us Malaysians need to change to bring about a better, more civil and democractic society. Hmm..Badawi claims he has managed to change the mentality of the Malays - an empty drum, the facts speak for themselves.
written by cahaya, December 19, 2008 17:31:21
Malays will change once the majority of them discover that they have been taken for a ride by TDM and others. One day soon they will realise the myth “that the Malay race is superior to other races in Malaysia”. When Malays learn that all races in Malaysia are in fact equal under the Federal Constitution, then many Malays will reject the immoral racism and corruption that has been promoted for so long by a small group of greedy leaders.

Malays will change when a majority of them realise that their survival as a Malay race, and the survival of Malaysia as a nation, depends on their recognizing, affirming and promoting racial rights of all Malaysians. By accepting themselves as bangsa Malaysia, and treating the minority races who are bangsa Malaysia as equals, they and all other Malaysians will begin to build a better Malaysia for the future generation.

Indeed, some young Malays are already changing, as Pak Lah has noticed. Yes, Malays can and will change with or without Pak Lah’s efforts. The serious mental block among the Malays will be removed as soon as there is sufficient momentum to cause a tsunami of change. Watch out for it!
written by apa jadi, December 19, 2008 18:10:32
Is it reported in UMNO propaganda papers? It will be good if it is reported in these propaganda machines too.
written by guns head, December 19, 2008 18:14:28
aku mengaku aku ini pondan. Vigil candle, basikal JERIT, mogok lapar, himpunan hindraf, anti-isa forum.............semua perkara mulia ini saya tidak berani join for support pasal takut with police gangsterism.
written by InEffective, December 19, 2008 18:49:18
Unfortunately this nation has been saddled with 3rd class politicians - hell bent on enslaving and controlling the all our peoples. Gguess the lure of lavish lifestyles uplifted with all that succulent OilWealth has created stratospheric ambitions of these self-serving politicians. Not only does my Malay brother need to change, so do my Chinese, and Indian brothers. Let the awakening begin - and this time we shall control those politicians.

We get the governance we deserve... (and all i want to good positive governance)
written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 21:22:35
While it must be admitted that in-breeding is not general among the malays,what cannot be denied is that the instances of in-breeding are greater among them than among the other major race.
So with RPK constant bashing,there will be some who will wake up and hopefully they will bash the others.But I personally think it's very hard but not impossible to change the malays.The chinese and the Indians can get from A to B in one day but for the malays they will need a week and some many never get there.Even I as a malay have a hard time solving this complex issue.Many of my close friends are very conservative and they refuse to be told again and again that they must change.They still think that by staying the way they are ,means that they are more malay than those new malays.To be honest I too can't change my malay friends,who will!
written by lynn, December 19, 2008 21:56:36
I recalled this quote: when fear beckons, logic backs away.

The govt did put fear into the Malays that without the govt support, they cannot survive so Malays misconstrue this as being threatened by the non-Malays. As for the Chinese, the fear of a repeat slaughter like May 13 is more than enough to shut most of them up & made them work hard towards liberating their children through migration.
written by malgal, December 19, 2008 22:26:45
Not only are the malays unwilling to change. Read magickriver's Faceless. Many avert their eyes, don't dare breathe about rocking the boat as they are so fond of saying. Never mind if the boat is leaking, boatman directionless, oars lost a long time ago, they DON'T WANT TO ROCK DA BOAT it seems. Don't want to be part of Bersih, Jerit, Vigil, anything that smacks of rocking the infamous dinghy.
When they are right at the bottom of the ocean, they will still gasp and say: don't rock da boat ...glug glug glug.

written by truthbespoken, December 20, 2008 00:25:56
Dragonheart,

Not sure whether it's true but it was strongly rumoured that Hang Tuah was of Chinese origin, from the Admiral Cheng Ho era and that's why his name has now disppeared from local history books.

If there is any truth on this, wonder where "his quotes" will take us from here? No offence meant, but interesting isn't it?
written by Kopi37, December 20, 2008 00:50:34
Hahaha..! Whack will do....by ending up drowning a few, Pete, you made me guffaw! This is Pete, as humorous as he looks!
written by shepherdvoyage, December 20, 2008 01:25:04

To change the Malays, first the racist government has to be overthrown and all the lopsided policies reviewed or abolished. As long as preferential treatments and special privileges to the Malays are maintained and Malay supremacy is propagated, any efforts to change the Malays will be futile. They will continue to take it for granted that the government should take very good care of them and wait for handouts. They will never change until they are made to compete at a level playing field.
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 20, 2008 02:14:34
IT IS CAUSE AND EFFECT PETE
WHAT YOU SOW IS WHAT YOU REAP

ANOTHER CYCLE ANOTHER TIME.......AND THE MALAYS MAYBE WIPED OUT...BECAUSE OF THEIR ATTITUDE...IT IS A TIME BOMB...

AND THE INDIANS?????THEY HAVE TO KICK SAMY OUT FIRST.???..AND CHANGE THIS CASTE..THINKING AND CRAB MENTALITY?????

WHAT DO YOU SAY???
written by KotaDamansara73, December 20, 2008 03:17:44
Ahmadneil,

The first you have to do is to attack the source. The source is UMNO. UMNO with their money and power will do anything to keep the Malays where they are, so that they can continue to become rich and powerful. The moment Mahathir became the PM, he has turn UMNO into power and money hungry machine.

UMNO has continue to have large control over the mindsets of the Malays. And the only way to change the Malays significantly is to bring UMNO down.
written by MalaysianFirst, December 20, 2008 04:50:34
I am 1,000,000% sad, disappointed, ashamed and angry that my country is the only country in the whole wide world that has two classes of citizens.

THIS MUST CHANGE ABOVE ALL ELSE.
written by thinktank observer, December 20, 2008 05:37:04
I am a PR supporter. What we are going trough is a process of check and balance and a major overhauling. There are no such government in the world that can satisfy their people's needs 100%. Theres always a pro and cons.
written by Nizzywizzy, December 20, 2008 08:03:11
I can see everyone is having a go at malays rightly so for the afore mentioned reasons but at the same time those non Malays do not comment or question the wrong doings by their own race/community. During my recent visit to certain student areas and housing estates, I see notices saying "Room mates wanted or tenant wanted - CHINESE ONLY", I find this down right racist and couldn't beleive such things can be publicly displayed. I am sure many of above writers have seen this notices and how many of the find it wrong or care to question them. Why most of illeagal business avtivities such as fake goods to illegal DVD/Software are always run by Chinese and they are happy to bribe the Malay officials to keep earning but the same time they complain Malays are corrupt. The person ofeering bribe is as guilty as the person taking bribe. RPK, being a Malay dare to list his own race's faults, I wonder how many of our Chinese/Indian and other commentators would dare to list their own communitie's faults. Something to think about....
written by ibabonma, December 20, 2008 12:41:45
Malaysia largest and most powerful political party membership: 3 million (11%)
???????????????????????????????? 3 million?

My cok is laughing!
written by Jan, December 20, 2008 12:57:00
Nizzywizzy,
Yes it's something to think about. Before I go on I want you to know there are Malays selling fake VCDs as well, just go to Wangsa Maju. I also want to ask you whether a Malay family would accept a Chinese tenant in their house? This has been debated before, a Chinese only accepts a Chinese tenant because of cultural and religious differences nothing else. Malay tenants might find it uneasy to be surrounded by non-halal activities including pet dogs. They might find it uncomfortable to be surrounded by pork eating people. From the bottom of my heart we once had an Indian girl and 4 Malay boys as tenants and they were really nice people. That was in the 80s. We couldn't get anymore now due to religious intolerance. You get my drift? Certainly most of us are not bigotted people but circumstances sometimes dictates what we do.
Do you know why chinese people get into illegal trade? They couldn't get into govt service, many couldn't get into public unis or afford private ones. Their cost of living generally is higher than bumiputras because they get no discounts, quotas, permits, Class F licences or contracts. Honestly they wouldn't be doing what they are doing if they had a choice and if they had it as good as the bumis.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 20, 2008 13:03:03
Nizzywizzy,

I find your example of "Chinese racism” for wanting only Chinese room/house mates inappropriate. The obvious reasons being the ‘haram’ food issue and our Muslim’s obligatory 5 times a day prayers.
There are always Giver & Receiver in corruption, and most certainly no racial boundary. I don’t recall anybody claiming that ONLY our Malays are corrupted. I have come across many corrupted Chinese, Indian, Kadazan-Dusun, Murut, Philipinoes, Indonesians, Dayak….in fact there are from all walks of life. It’s just that most of our Malaysian civil servants are Malays, and that’s why they are more in the news. Hardly a day goes by without some news on TV highlighting some of our Malays being arrested or charged for embezzlements, corruption, cheating, etc.

I think there are just too many Malays in government which subject them to corruption temptations in their position of power. Plus, there don’t seem to be an effective system in place to check abuses of power as it is quite rampart from the top level. So, eventually the lesser rank government servants do what their bosses do…i.e. earn some extra income!
written by Hope4all, December 20, 2008 13:40:37
UiTM adalah hak Melayu UMNO, datang dari duit cukai halal orang Cina dan Hindu. Tapi, kalau saya nak lepak dan jadi Mat Rempit UMNO, itu hak saya jugak!
written by kinistau, December 20, 2008 14:20:47
30% of Malay students will take loan and refuse to pay back.
written by rainmanpj, December 20, 2008 15:02:26
Democrats,
25 years ago , I don't see malays in the construction site.Not even engineers.
They wouldn't dirty their hand or last long working hours
Now I work along with a very hardworking malay chap who is with the main
contractor.And this is in a private construction and not those govn link company.
And that also include a small cute malay engineer lady graduated from UPM.
Their working hours is 8 to 7 including Saturday and no off on haji day (you take
your own leave)
Try to tell that to those fat * sitting in the govn office who work 10 to 4 ( yes
10 to 4 , the unaccountable hour is for minum teh )

Give another 20 years , the malay will be on par with others in the construction
field while those in the govn will continue to rot away.

written by rainmanpj, December 20, 2008 15:05:23
Actually on my previous job site , again a malay chap work along with me too.

But one thing though , they are all from outstation ( parents in kampung )
written by rainmanpj, December 20, 2008 15:16:00
Nizzywizzy

The malays here were feed and controls by Ummo and they like to live in their own
worlds.
Look at the high number of cross-marriage between races in east malaysia.
If it is not because of the religion thing , a lot of chinese would have marry malays during my young days.I would ,for one.

Anyway , does it make religious sense to slaughter a HOLY cow in public area with the indian communities in.
And to condone foo the pork area in wet market but not the beef area,again with all the indians walking by.

If you can answer that from your bottom of your heart , then you are not in the well any more.

written by TKAL, December 20, 2008 15:19:03
Nizzywizzy,

If you are a Malay, do you mind staying with other tenants who eat porks, have a dog wanting to play and lick your legs everytime you step into house and smelling joss stick every morning you wake up? Think again...

I am a chinese and I like to sleep and hate to wake up as early 5-6am by morning prayers. Please do not misunderstood that my statement is racist and dont send me to ISA for such statement. What I want to say is after working/studying during the day, home is a place for peace of mind and comfort. So, of course I would prefer to have the housemate with similar lifestyle and comfortable to me. Just as simple as that. Dont be too narrow minded/feel offended with such advertisement. Afterall, it is not going to affect anyone's life.
written by TKAL, December 20, 2008 15:38:30
Hi All,

Seriously, Government has to be blamed for what Malays are in right now and for what each race think of another race. I am 100% sure Race A will have a list of bad things/attitude of Race B and vice versa. Why is this happening? Thanks to the government.

One thing to praise the Government is it has successfully painted a harmonious pictures of its country living by different races. Sad to say that in actual fact, it is a time bomb. If the country still goes on with the current NEP policy and Malay Supremacy, there will be no real harmony between races in the country. No one or race would like to be treated as 2nd class citizen.
written by eskay, December 20, 2008 16:41:37
Nizzywizzy

“Room for Chinese only” is just to avoid unnecessary problem caused by different culture or religious practice, like what TKAL's reply, there's nothing to do with discrimination. If you are a very open-minded Malay, in future you can always be the one who take the first step to approach the landlord, and tell the landlord you have no problem staying with someone flwg different culture & won't be offended by whichever way they live their life. Isn't this more constructive & more compassionate ?

Whoever got involved with corruption, bribery, selling illegal DVD/software are wrong, be them Malays, Chinese or Indians or any other races. This is the issue of unlawful action, pls be clear about that.

Thirdly, pls be more objective, and study whether Malays do have that kind of attitude problems as mentioned in RPK’s article. I regret to tell you the truth, i.e. majority of the Malays can’t survive in the commercial world due to their attitude problem, if without the help of all sorts of system with special convenience, financial aids, grants etc, and this is the privilege given to but usually enjoyed by those Malays who have lubang.

In this globalise situation, Malaysia which spend so much time, effort and money to protect & breed such a weak & pampered race, will end up losing to other parts of the world. It’s bad for Malays, bad for Malaysia, bad for its neighbouring countries; somehow it will also affect the world to some extent. I sincerely hope you will read RPK’s article very carefully & sense his love, care & concern for the Malays. I must say he is one the very few Malays who genuinely loves & protects his own race, to the extent that he doesn’t mind to step out of his comfort life, cause suffering to his family & even risk his life to challenge those who mislead his Malay brothers & sisters.

Pls don’t be afraid & offended by the truth, digest his words carefully, and you will be truly grateful and call yourself lucky that Malays have RPK
written by Loh, December 20, 2008 17:07:41
///Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad once cried during an Umno General Assembly because, he said, he had failed to change the Malays. When asked during an interview soon after he retired as Prime Minister on 1 November 2003 what he would consider as the greatest regret of his 22 years in office, he replied his greatest regret is that he could not change the Malays.///

Yes, TDM did say all that but was he sincere in saying them Judging from his recent racist statements to help his son win an UMNO election, he did not want Malays to change so that he can continue to be their hero.

I agree that true Malays want change because their pride is involved. The NEWMalays do not want Malays to change. They have become NWMalays to take advantage of the group strength, and they are sheltered from the thought of pride since they know too well that they treat Malay classification as a club, and they have no emotional attachment to the race which they don’t really belong to defend its honour!
written by kinistau, December 20, 2008 18:46:56
Dear Nizzywizzy,

The post “Room for Chinese only” is there for your own good because it saves you from traveling all the way to the place and found the place not acceptable to you.

Also, please tolerate, the person who post it, though considerate, may have not given enough thought in choosing the words. It could have meant be to be something like

"Room To Let. Other occupants are Chinese"
or
"Room To Let. expect Chinese house mate"

Come on, please forgive him over his small mistake.

I have vegetarian friends who celebrate birthday party with us in McDonald.

It is all your perception, your mentality.. try read this book 'The Opposable Mind'
written by kinistau, December 20, 2008 18:48:02
relax la.
written by Milo, December 20, 2008 20:39:32
If RPK is changed as the police wishes, Malaysia will sure to end up in dustbin of history. But if the government changes as the rakyat demanded or is changed, and in the process the malays are forced to change, Malaysia has a much better chance to survive and thrive - and this means the greatest benefactor are the malays as they represent 60% of the populace. So who should change - RPK or the government?
written by Nizzywizzy, December 20, 2008 21:34:56
Dear friends,

Thanks for replying to my comment and some of them did really make me think. Still, the reason why I find it unacceptable to advertise CHINESE ONLY openly is that the house/room owner pre-empted the chance of others to decide or approach. It is just like advertising a job for Malay, Indian or Chinese only, which I am sure everyone will find racist and discriminatory. It is not necessarily a Malay looking for room or house, it could be any non Malay/Muslim but not Chinese. It knocks out all the argument about pork, dog and prayer issues. This shows the person is not willing to accept anyone except a Chinese and essence of that thought is emerge from ingrown racism. I would find it acceptable if the advert says 'the room/house is not suitable for Malay or Muslims' for reasons known as it excludes only Malay/Muslims but shows the owner’s willingness to consider others.

I am sad to see many articulated fellow readers who replied find nothing wrong with it, condoning or defending it. Many say it’s a small matter but when the essence of this attitude reflects in other ways of life it does have grave affect on other person’s life.One can see the effect of this when we see in the news of how some of foreign workers get mistreated.It’s the same as Malays (wrongly)thinking it is ok for others to be discriminated because I belong to a super race.

We all complain that the government practices discriminative policy and MOST of the Malays having it easy and I do agree with it but at the same time other communities fail to question or point out their own ignorance and attitude problems within their community. It’s like saying it’s alright for me to be wrong just because the other party is wrong.

As I said in my post RPK has the guts to question and the will to change his race’s attitude malaise and fight for equal justice for ALL Malaysians. My point is there will be RPK’s from every community when they start to question, point out their own community’s wrong doings and fight for equal justice for all Malaysians.

ps. apologies to Mountainking
written by eskay, December 21, 2008 01:01:00
Dear Nizzywizzy

If you read Chinese, you will find indeed there are Chinese who pointed out the fault of Chinese community, you never lack this type of people in any community. It's a blessing to have this type of people around us. Unfortunately, we don't have many RPK in all communities smilies/sad.gif , I too certainly have a lot to learn from RPK & his respectable wife.

I have nothing against Malays or other races, it's just painful to see a certain race who originally have the same strength like the rest, are being misled & turned into someone so dependant, unnecessarily sensitive, confused, weak and at times seem like a liability to the country; while there are some short-sighted ones who take the opportunity to abuse the power, the system & grab whatever they can. It’s like pampered children who are constantly under the protection of their parents & habitually keep demanding for more & more, forget that they should and they have the strength to work for what they need. If one day the parents are unable to protect them, what will happen? The parents will suffer, the pampered children will suffer, and at the same time, they will drag the rest around them down with them, all die together! Don’t think this will not happen to Malaysia, we are not a rich country, and obviously without proper management too.

You sound reasonable, and I am sure we only need common sense to understand this simple logic.
written by temenggong, December 21, 2008 10:51:27
I don't agree at all that its okay to advertise 'Chinese only' for room tenants. That is outright race discrimination and cannot be tolerated.

It is up to the landlord to tell straight in the face the house rules; pork is okay, dog is okay, incense in the house, no azan yelling, smilies/grin.gif etc, so take it or leave it!

We used to be poor and rented out rooms to malays, chinese and indians for decades. All were okay as long as the house rules were made clear and reminded regularly.
written by DontPlayGod, December 21, 2008 10:56:16
The crux of the matter is, despite what the Tun and AAB says, is that UMNO does not want the Malays to change. UMNO prefers the Malays to remain as they are 50 and more years ago, the typical kampong Malay, and on top of that UMNO has turned them into racists and into people who hates non-Malays. UMNO will not want to undo all their efforts in turning Malays into racists.

Else, how can UMNO get the support of the Malays and rule till kingdom come?
written by rpremkumar2u, December 22, 2008 08:03:54
Pete, it seems to me that you have found a way to get us, Malaysians and also Malays, to go to the water trough to get our drink; you have been adding the salt of raising our levels of awareness, to our oats and with this new found thirst (for facts), we have been sniffing the trail to the water trough and sipping and, at times, gulping. Often we forgo the water trough and head for the stream of clear reasoning. It takes a man of stellar testicular fortitude, such as yourself to get the salt sprinkled in liberal doses. But being considerate to our health, you take the pains to sprinkle the rock mountain variety of salt, encompassing facts. Thank you. You are a symbol.
written by Wave33, December 22, 2008 22:54:16
Nizzywizzy & temenggong,

Adoi! Apa yang saudara/saudari makan hari-hari. Ubi Kayu kot? Ataupun telur penuh masak? Kalau restaurant cina ada jawatan kosong mengatakan "pembantu dapur bangsa cina dikehendaki" ataupun "ladang kinzir hendak perkerja am" ataupun "tokong cina ada jawatan kosong untuk pembantu rumah".

Apa nak jadi... nak 30% pelaburan atau perkerjaan ke?

Insyallah.... kalau awek cun nak sewa, saya bagi...
written by hibou, December 23, 2008 00:55:47

I'm afraid, like my american friends would say, you've got it "ass-backwards", this time. Change in this country can only happen from top downwards, not the other way round. My many years of observation of large companies in Malaysia has revealed this to be so. The people I meet at the lower ranks of management in a company invariably gives me a good indication of how tight a ship the top management are running.
All Malaysians need a really good leader/government at the top to affect real good change in Malaysia for all.
written by WIRAKL, December 24, 2008 16:33:15
i think it is the same for all races to change too.
written by ahmadneil, December 25, 2008 08:35:42
A time of reflection as 2008 comes to it end.Happy New Year to all. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by CatV5, December 26, 2008 11:57:59
ah change gotta love change... everyday is change, time is changing, the earth is changing, the sun is changing, the universe is changing, the body is changing, the cells is changing, the community is changing, the race is changing, the belief is changing, this country is changing, next year is a different year... always is the change... change we already are... indeed indeed...

We are beginning the hear the word change more and more now... it is an unconscious prayer, and it is manifesting... change you ask? change we give it to you... don't forget to buckle your seatbelt and don't complain... be careful what you wish for... haha...