Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Rafidah: Just doing my duty

Rafidah: Just doing my duty PDF Print
Friday, 19 December 2008 08:26

(The Star) - Wanita Umno chief Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz clarified that as head of the wing it is her duty to head the members in the by-election here.

The issue of her heading the team should not be blown out of proportion as she had headed the wing’s election machinery in previous by-elections.

“The only exception was during the Permatang Pauh by-election last August,” she said after a meet-the-people session here yesterday.

“I was forced to delegate the duty (of heading the wing’s election machinery) to my executive secretary as I was recuperating from a knee surgery.

“I am in good health this time and am very happy to lead the team here,” she said, adding that as the wing’s chief, her task was to ensure a Barisan Nasional victory in any election.

An English daily had reported on Wednesday that the wing’s vice chief Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil merely nodded when asked by reporters why Rafidah was leading the team in Kuala Terengganu.

MCA vice-president Datuk Liow Tiong Lai said the party had drawn up a two-pronged strategy to ensure a thumping victory for the Umno candidate.

The party would aim to ensure Barisan supporters don’t swing to the opposition as well as convince the “fence-sitters” to vote Barisan.

Speaking to reporters after visiting the state MCA headquarters and party by-election operations room here on Wednesday, he noted that the Chinese made up 11.4% of the voters in the constituency, with 20% living outstation.

Liow said the party was in the midst of identifying the outstation voters and will go all out to encourage them to return to cast their votes on polling day.

On the fence-sitters, Liow said: “We have to explain to them that Barisan is still the pillar of the community and that their needs and wishes will be fulfilled.”

Asked whether recent racist remarks by Umno leaders would cause the Chinese votes to swing to the opposition, Liow said: “I don’t think it would affect the outcome much. The bond between Umno and MCA is very strong although there were hiccups caused by sensitive remarks (by some leaders).

“The relationship between Umno and the MCA goes back to long before Merdeka, and we in Barisan have agreed to be sensitive to the feelings of other races and not to raise sensitive issues anymore.”

In Kuantan, Pahang Umno chief Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob said the state Umno would abide by what was requested by their Terengganu counterparts.

”We cannot simply go there and do our thing,” he told reporters yesterday.

“Terengganu has its own style and we cannot meddle in their affairs. Different states have different ways.”

written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 08:41:08
This fat bitch is laying the ground work .She want to make a comeback.
written by DreamLady, December 19, 2008 08:52:03
Rafidah, you don't have to worry about the by-election of Trengganu, cos' you do have urgent duties to clear your image:----

1.Explain yourself why you were rude to Sharizat during press conference. You are outrageously mean and blunt to her. There is no reason why you should display outright hatred for your comrade.

2. Explain and clarify yourself based on a lie-detector,to the public regarding your AP scandals..
written by tanwi, December 19, 2008 09:07:21
yes yes Rafidah... you and the infamous AP issue.. just go resign in shame... your existence only validates the fact that BN tolerate cryonism.

written by batsman, December 19, 2008 09:31:36
Who are you trying to suck up to this time? Fat lips are for a good purpose.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 19, 2008 09:42:43
Yeooh, Fatty! Yes, please, you have to go and help UMNO in KT by-election. UMNO needs you! And please don't forget Ahmad Ismail, that Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis Syed Arkbar, the IGP Musa, the AG Patai, and the fair & lovely Saiful (and his aunty Pat).
With you leading this band of angels...shooot....PAS absolutely stand no chance at all man! smilies/grin.gif The by-election is in UMNO's pocket!....and oh yah! Bring lots of your AP money too; yah!
written by tuahjebat, December 19, 2008 10:26:31
burung kakak tua
hinggap di jendela
Rafidah sudah tua
batu nesan ada dua
welcome..welcome..welcome..neraka
welcome..welcome..welcome..neraka,
welcome..welcome..welcome..nerakaaaa
rafidah sudah tua.
written by Motherchell, December 19, 2008 12:45:08
She needs the support of the masses! with all expenses are paid to make this trip a success for her ---- she just has to carry a poor child in her arms for 1 sec in some backwater to eat up the poor and downtrodden minds like some Goddess dropped from heaven!
written by Fuminari, December 19, 2008 13:11:44
"and we in Barisan have agreed to be sensitive to the feelings of other races and not to raise sensitive issues anymore.”
do u believe the leopard would lose its spots??
can u trust this treacherous MCA hamkarchan's 'spineless' n hoodwink talk??mca is jus a dog that is being fed by umno,they are meant n breed to bite!!no way man,no way for the chinese to trust them anymore.
written by cllim123, December 19, 2008 13:29:36
Good that Miss Piggy is heading the KT elections for Wanita. That means she must take the fall for their landslide defeat.

KT voters, remember she is the AP queen. Make billions from us while we pay through our noses for merely decent cars unlike the cracked up proton.
written by mikewang, December 19, 2008 19:02:58
Welcome her to KT.
She's more a liable than an asset to BN's campaign. smilies/smiley.gif
written by MalaysianUnited, December 20, 2008 04:59:57
to Nek Pah(Rafidah), Tok Samy, Tok Karpal Singh, Tok Lim Kit Siang, Nek Zat(Shahrizat)..retired la. Bagi orang muda pimpin parti..

Balik jaga cucu sudah.
written by Path Fighter To truth, December 20, 2008 14:23:06
I hate to see her again. I though she has gone.
I hate to hear the word A P.
So simple for some and so dame difficut for others.
So little price to apply and take so high price to buy.
God damed her. The fat @@###@@>
written by adamckteh, December 20, 2008 15:57:12
"Liow said the party was in the midst of identifying the outstation voters and will go all out to encourage them to return to cast their votes on polling day."
You mean all expanses paid?