Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Government allowance for IGP who beat up Anwar

Government allowance for IGP who beat up Anwar PDF Print
Thursday, 18 December 2008 22:38
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Former police chief Tan Sri Rahim Noor is getting paid an allowance based on his last drawn salary despite his pension being forfeited after he was convicted of assaulting Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in 1998, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz revealed in Parliament today.

Nazri, who is Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, said Rahim began receiving the alimentary allowance after appealing to the Yang DiPertuan Agong.

“The allowance is the prerogative of the Crown and is based on the IGP’s last drawn salary,” Nazri told reporters after debating the Pensions (Amendment) Bill 2008.

His shocking revelation came after Pakatan Rakyat lawmakers objected to Datuk Ismail Abdul Muttalib’s (BN-Maran) claim that Anwar is drawing a pension for his service to the country. Anwar was assaulted on Sept 20 1998 after he was detained under the Internal Security Act. He was earlier sacked as deputy prime minister on charges of corruption and sodomy.

Anwar, who made his parliamentary comeback in August after a thumping victory in the Permatang Pauh by-election, angrily refuted Ismail’s statement by saying that he had not been paid a sen “while in jail”. Anwar was jailed in 1999 but the Federal Court freed him in 2004 from his sodomy conviction.

M. Kula Segaran (DAP-Ipoh Barat) then stood up and declared that “man who beat the former Deputy Prime Minister was paid a pension but the victim did not receive a sen”.

But Nazri then clarified that Rahim was technically not receiving a pension but an allowance.

He added that it was wrong to assume Anwar had not been paid a pension at all but that it only stopped upon his corruption conviction.

Under the law, civil servants, elected representatives and Cabinet ministers receive a pension but this will be withdrawn should the individual be jailed a year or fined RM2,000 or more.

According to Nazri, the Pensions Act provides for an alimentary allowance but at the discretion of the Agong.

Nazri further explained that Anwar’s pension would now be calculated based on total years of service as an MP even from before his conviction.

The pension will also be based on his highest drawn salary, i.e., as deputy prime minister.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by justice6, December 18, 2008 22:41:03
we slog like dog to make end meet and they just sit around and get paid for talking cock...
written by binarytan, December 18, 2008 22:45:49
Satu lagi Project BN. Full protection to the evil while lock up of the innocent, using all sort of dirty tricks.
written by educationist, December 18, 2008 22:56:21
Perhaps the IGP's pension is different -normal government servants only get 50%[now 60%] of their last drawn pay at the maximum.
Hmm.. so he's getting his last drawn pay as 'allowance' -not bad for a convict under Dr M regime!
We need not speculate on the whys but I supposed we can all guess the reasons
written by lynn, December 18, 2008 22:56:27
I received by email recently: can anyone confirm the following?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you know how much the Menteri Besar earns monthly?

I called a press conference in Seremban this afternoon to call on the Negeri Sembilan state government to cut down on allowances for the Menteri Besar and EXCO members as a sign of sharing the burden with the people after the huge increase in fuel prices. The PM and Cabinet Ministers had cut 10% of the their entertainment allowances and cap their yearly holiday to ASEAN destinations. This of course is not sufficient given the lavish spending by those in power all this while. However, I want to focus on NS state government in this statement.
I call on the MB to cut at least 50% of his and other EXCO's entertainment allowance and freeze all overseas paid holidays immediately. Do you know how much the MB of Negeri Sembilan earns every month and other perks given to him? Let me just give you a breakdown of his perks:

MB's allowance : RM14,175.15
ADUN's allowance: RM 4,112.80
Entertainment : RM5,500
Chairman of EXCO: RM4,400
Fixed allowance every month : RM28,187.95

Other perks:

Appointment allowance : RM10,000 $B!J(Bone-off)
Official residence
Furniture allowance : RM5,000 (yearly)
Household staff : real expenses or RM3000 monthly
Free water and electricity
Free telephone services in official residence
2 official cars
Driver's expenses all paid for

On top of that, the MB can enjoy a yearly paid holiday:

2 first class air ticket (no limitation to which destination)
(a first class ticket using MAS for KL-LONDON-KL cost RM30,400)
Economy class ticket for 1 officer and 3 children
Living allowance while overseas RM500 daily
Meal allowance RM300 daily or real expenses
Hotel (no limit, according to receipt)
Winter clothing RM3,000 (once every 3 years)

For an EXCO, the monthly fixed allowance are around RM15,222. The exco member also enjoy a free holiday once in a term. The maximum is equal to 2 first class tickets for KL-LONDON-KL or RM30,000 cash.

Do you agree that the MB and the EXCO member should at least slash some of their allowances by half to demonstrate 'leadership by example'? If even the Ministers have to limit their holidays in ASEAN, why can't the MB? Isn't the slogan ' Cuti-cuti Malaysia ' sounds familiar to you?
written by HamChak, December 18, 2008 22:58:34
Can I beat the shits out of some idiots in Gomen and get a big fat allowance also? Please help me to get that allowance also la, Mahathir. What a joke, Malaysia has become?
written by chanatak, December 18, 2008 22:59:37
It is time we bring an end to all these UMNO scams and injustices. UMNO is too stupid to learn. Too evil to change. Too corrupted. This kind injustice will continue because UMNO doesn't understand what is the meaning of the word "justice" anymore. Bring UMNO down if we want to see change. Bring down the whole of BN for that matter. The component parties are nothing but prostitutes and scrap hunters at the foot of UMNO's dinner table.
written by Sabahfan, December 18, 2008 23:02:33
Well waddaya expect? THE only way to stop is to start throwing out UMNO from govt starting from KT byelection. and of course all the MBs and excos are overpaid. why do u think they will do anything to cheat in elections if not for the perks and not service to the country.
written by The dragonheart, December 18, 2008 23:07:56
Ex senior Gomen people not only get high pensions but they were given tenders of mega projects. Their macai gets RM 200-700 pension but cannot even apply for for a pasar malam license.

written by Siapabohong, December 18, 2008 23:27:44
Perhaps that's the reason why they willing to corrupt, fight, sell their dignity even killing, in order to get elected and fightig for the top post.
written by temenggong, December 18, 2008 23:41:17
Malayan sandiwara and dondang sayang all rolled in one. The perpetrator and victim are both rewarded.
written by pugster, December 19, 2008 00:17:36
Dear MT admin,
Apologies for borrowing your column. Please ask Tan Sri Khalid to investigate SERENDAH GOLF RESORT DEVELOPMENT! All properties are still under master land title and banks have blacklisted this property. Sateras, the developer is under liquidation. Those whom have bought them are now suffering. The Property developer is Sateras under MK properties (Not MK land) recently, certain parcels of property has been disconnected of their water supply. Most owners there are able to afford the water bills but because the property is still under a master land title, there is no water meter. The JBA knows about this but they chose to victimise residence there without even as to give any prior notices to them.
Question to tan sri Khalid,
Do we as residence and property owners whom have been taken for a ride bathe in the river and stay in the so called resort? What is the Selangor govt going to do about this? JBA, you guys are without any conscience to others! If any one of you live here, Im sure the water would not be disconnected at least without prior notice. MK ( Sateras) what is your responsibilities to us? Hey! Assignees! Where is your responsibilities to the rakyat? Malaysia Boleh!
written by Motherchell, December 19, 2008 00:43:25
This is the reason we call Malaysia a Failed State!!! Where on earth can we stand with our face up???
written by smeagrooo, December 19, 2008 01:39:03
i cant imagine syed hamid al-blur's pension figure.
written by Hakim Joe, December 19, 2008 02:32:37
That is the reason why they are so faithful to the administration. You get paid for administering the punishment as per the orders from the 4th floor. MACC? Just another toothless tiger.

written by Tompios, December 19, 2008 04:20:17
This is what you gain from 'Ketuanan Melayu' dear UMNO suckers! Shouting the Malay supremacy means drinking rakyat money for you to expense it as free as you can.
written by krising1, December 19, 2008 06:28:45
Semua dia punya bapak punya duit. Suka suka sahaja kasi!
written by wartank, December 19, 2008 07:34:57
This is where the monies went to...
..subsidizing crooks instead of the needy!!!
written by Beezee_Beezee, December 19, 2008 07:57:08
The UMNO Ministers & MPs are bunch of Crooks that still want to use Ketuanan Melayu. These are the truth whay they make it so difficult for professional members of the party could not get in to the line-up. Because they believed in Makan Budii and continue to stay where they are in the cabinet or party. Ketuanan Melayu is the source of income to these Goons and this is suppose to be History of the Kesultanan Tanah Melayu. Bukan Orang UMNO.
Hopefully with this article will be used toopen up those sleeping Malaysian who wish to see this country progress with equality. Wish all Malaysian a Happy Christmas and A prosperous New Year 2009, despite the Economic termoil.
written by Goostee, December 19, 2008 08:25:31
Lynn,

Those being the official benefits seemingly declared !!! What about those under the tables ? and, before that, those which caused even Cold Storage and the original Cycle & Carriage to go bankrupt thru the auspicious of the late "Silver Head" ?? Am wondering what else he did when he was manager of BBMB, London Branch ???
written by ahmadneil, December 19, 2008 08:46:32
What about those in Sungei Buloh! Are they also entitle to allowance?Bloody shit!
written by mick_err_stan, December 19, 2008 09:03:40
Sickening !
written by Mark C, December 19, 2008 09:22:21
The only country that rewards corrupt, law breaking, high handed citizens whilst persecuting, victimize and terrorize law abiding, peace loving rakyats.

Way to go! Malaysia Boleh!
written by batsman, December 19, 2008 09:35:13
Paying criminals? Typical UMNO tradition.
written by batsman, December 19, 2008 09:36:48
The money comes from the taxpayer. The person who approved and authorised it must be made accountable for abuse of power.
written by CPY, December 19, 2008 09:36:56
Rahim Noor should be given a 'public display' in Dataran Merdeka. Put there a sign that says: I whack Anwar kao-kao lat!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 19, 2008 09:51:18
What??? This proved beyond any doubts that UMNO do take care of their own…at tax payers’ expenses, of course!
I am deeply and sadly disappointed with the Agong who approved the “allowance” to a corrupt and lawless police chief who was paid to uphold the law, but instead abuse the very law he was paid to uphold.
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 19, 2008 10:04:02
"Government allowance for IGP who beat up Anwar "

Thug Money
written by unomalaysia, December 19, 2008 11:06:28
If the current IGP were to beat the crap out of Mr Crap, will he also get allowance? Hey Musang tunggu apa lagi? Kasi hentam Latok Shit Kao Kao, boleh release tension dan dapat monthly allowance... Best of both world
written by cble, December 19, 2008 11:15:37
Nazri, who is Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, said Rahim began receiving the alimentary allowance after appealing to the Yang DiPertuan Agong.

Atas nasihat siapa? Sudah pastinya Tun Mahatir yang confirm bersubahat menjatuhkan DSAI
written by mikewang, December 19, 2008 14:28:21
According to Nazri, the Pensions Act provides for an alimentary allowance but at the discretion of the Agong.

Nazri further explained that Anwar’s pension would now be calculated based on total years of service as an MP even from before his conviction.

The pension will also be based on his highest drawn salary, i.e., as deputy prime minister.

-----------------------------------------

Why kind of answer is that ?
It seems DSAI has to appeal to the crown to get an allowance.

Hey, all of us are affected by the petrol hike fiasco.
Can we too appeal to the crown for an allowance because of the stupidity of his Prime Minister ?
written by cllim123, December 19, 2008 15:28:46
Nazri dog very quick to use the Crown as excuse to give allowance to Rahim. Fruking Bustuurd. Also what semantics when he said Rahim is technically not getting a pension but an allowance. What the Fruk. Rahim is a criminal who abused his position to beat another man. He also was caught lying to court. Bustuurd! Why are we paying him money? smilies/angry.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 20, 2008 01:27:43
I wonder how much I would be paid if I had been the IGP and given mahathir a black eye?????Sometimes I wish I was an IGP...I can give a black eye to many people in the cabinet and get paid...at least 90% of the 222 goons sitting there who keep quiet when women are insulted and racist remarks are passed and foul language is used...GEE ALL I WISH FOR CHRISTMAS IS AN IGP..AN... IGP ..GEEE i WISH i CAN BE AN IGP SO THAT I GIVE A BLACK EYE..and wish them merry christmas!!!
written by Msian Idol3, December 20, 2008 13:56:52
Huhh. Got such thing as an appeal to the Agung & get allowance. Habis lah, the govt have just made our Agung the biggest laughing stock in the world if we allow a criminal to get an allowance so easy. By allowing an allowance It means our agung is bodoh. IGP has committed a crime and is a criminal & for him to be an IGP he must have excellent credentials. So does it means all Msians can be assaulted by such high profile fellas & its OK. Only UMNO law rules. Also, it proves we have stupid leaders in the govt. Theres no reasonable doubts in this case to warrant an allowance. Its my money & rakyats money and I am angry that this is acceptable by this govt. Bottomline, get rid of UMNO/BN ASAP.
written by nangkarajah, December 20, 2008 18:25:48
Pencen is only HALF of last drawn monthly BASIC PAY (not including many many big allowances). Alimentary allowance is exactly like last drawn monthly GROSS PAY (which includes many many allowances, etc. etc. etc. etc. etc.).