Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The cat and mouse game

The cat and mouse game PDF Print
Thursday, 18 December 2008 14:46

It appears very much so like they are trying to prevent Gan from testifying. He was the one who made the police report against me and the prosecution has already examined him. So it is now our turn to cross-examine him but the prosecution seems to be preventing that from happening.

I know I have been rather quiet the past week. Sorry about that. I was trying to finalise my new book so that it can meet my launch schedule, which should be some time after Chinese New Year around late January 2009 or so.

The focus of the book will be the decade of the fight for change, which started on 20 September 1998 and peaked on 8 March 2008. No, it is not about Anwar Ibrahim or the REFORMASI Movement, although they are mentioned in passing. It is about how the Malays and a small percentage of Chinese and Indians ‘woke up’ in 1998, and about how the balance of the Chinese and Indians finally woke up a decade later -- and about how, once the Chinese and Indians woke up, they created a Tsunami of historic dimensions. I suppose this gives new meaning to the saying: better late than never.

The book will be partly a ‘recycling’ of some of my old articles related to the issue with some parts newly written. It also features a section by Zaid Ibrahim, basically his open letter to the Prime Minister and two of his latest speeches on the Internal Security Act, human rights, rule of law, and so on. In a way, my section and the section by Zaid are not quite related -- mine is mainly on the elections and Zaid’s is on those issues I mentioned above -- but the two issues are certainly part and parcel of the pursuit for political reforms and cannot, therefore, be detached from each other.

Three others have thus far agreed to also write a chapter each but I shall keep their names as a surprise for now. I also welcome any others who would like to contribute a chapter, as long as it is within the theme of the book.

Anyway, enough about my new book! Since my court case this morning, plus tomorrow, has been postponed, I suddenly have two free days on my hand. So I thought before I get back to my book I shall write at least one article. Once I start looking at my book I shall be so engrossed I can’t even hear my wife screaming at me: ‘The police want to see you’.

And that was what happened on Monday. Or was it Tuesday?

See, I told you. Once I start writing, or reading, I totally lose track of time and place. And that is why I read a book a day (two or three days a book if the book is thicker) while under ISA detention from September to November. That is how I ‘transfer’ myself out of Kamunting into another world. I don’t even realise I am in Kamunting once I bury myself in my books.

Anyway, either on Monday or Tuesday, a policeman came to my house to serve me a subpoena to appear in court from the 22nd to the 24th December. I refused to accept the subpoena and spend three days squatting in court, not knowing when and if I will be called to testify. As it is, my own case has been postponed time and again and I am yet to know when we are going to see the end of it. Furthermore, I have not been informed as to which case this is. They think they can just send me a subpoena and order me to appear in court and I will jump like an obedient puppy. No way, Jose (pronounced Hoozay for the less well-read readers of Malaysia Today), I am no puppy.

So I chased the policeman away and told him to confirm the exact time and date they need me in court and I shall make a grand entrance, on the dot, and not a millisecond sooner. And if in five minutes of my grand entrance they do not summon me to the stand, then I am going to make a hasty exit and do something else more worthwhile with my time -- like sitting in Bangsar to watch the girls in their miniskirts walk by.

My sedition trial in the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court 3 this morning was, again, a disaster. Again, it was postponed, this time to the 10th, 11th and 12th of February 2009. Commissioner Gan, the Investigating Officer in the Altantuya murder, was, yet again, MIA (missing in action). The last time he was said to be sick but did not produce a medical certificate. Only when the court insisted on a medical certificate did they quickly come up with one.

Even then, the medical certificate did not say what sickness was ailing him and whether it was serious enough to cause him to be bedridden -- and therefore not fit enough to come to court. He could have suffered only a splinter in his little finger, which would mean there should be no reason he could not attend court. The judge, however, gave Gan the benefit of the doubt and let him off the hook that time.

Today, the court was told that Gan had gone for training but they did not know where and what the training was all about. The prosecution said they wanted to amend the charges against me and the court then read out the new charges. I refused to reply to the charges and instead protested that the prosecution is delaying the trial and would be seeking a postponement, yet again. I demanded to know why Gan was not in court as he should have been.

The judge told me to just reply to the charges and I replied, “Not guilty,” and in the same breath lodged my protest to the court.

The judge then asked the prosecutor as to what happened to Gan but they could not reply. She also asked whether the subpoena had been served on Gan and the prosecutor replied that it may have but he does not know and does not have any confirmation.

The judge then called for a short recess and asked the prosecutor to find out. When court resumed, the prosecutor said that Gan had gone to Taiwan for a course. They did not, however, know when he had gone to Taiwan or what course he was taking. The prosecutor also confirmed that the subpoena had not, after all, been served on Gan because he had skipped the country before they could serve it on him.

One of my lawyers, Gobind Singh Deo, then stood up and took the prosecutor to task. Gan, being a very senior police officer (rank of Commissioner or Assistant Commissioner or something like that), knows the procedure. The court has priority over a course or training program and Gan knew that my trial would resume today. He, therefore, should have been in court and not in Taiwan (to learn how to plant vegetables or whatever).

Gobind then retorted that it appears like the prosecution is intentionally delaying my trial until after March 2009 (meaning, of course, after Najib takes over as Prime Minister) and the prosecutor quickly jumped to his feet and protested. Gobind then said if this is not true why is the prosecutor so fast on his feet?

Yes, I smell a rat. It appears very much so like they are trying to prevent Gan from testifying. He was the one who made the police report against me and the prosecution has already examined him. So it is now our turn to cross-examine him but the prosecution seems to be preventing that from happening.

We will now have to wait until February to get our hands on Gan. And we are going to do that. There is no way in hell the prosecution is going to keep Gan away from us. We want him on the stand where Gobin can tear him to pieces. He made a police report against me and he wants me sent to jail. He was the one who investigated the Altantuya murder. We want the world to know how the investigation was conducted and how much of what they discovered was hidden from the public, even if I have to lose my case in the process and get sent to jail for two years.

Before I sign off, I want to thank all those who sent in donations to Michal for his and his wife’s medical treatment. In about three days or so, slightly over RM75,000 went into his son’s, Kevin’s, bank account. This is most generous indeed and just goes to show how compassionate Malaysians can be if they want to.

I shall make sure that the bank statement plus the medical bills are published so that you can see how much came in and how the money was spent.

I also want to offer my condolences to the family of Syukree Hussain who died of a heart attack two days ago. This young man just started working for Malaysia Today as a freelance reporter and you may have read some of his pieces, all in Bahasa Malaysia. He was supposed to have joined us in Terengganu from the 5th to the 18th January so that we could update you with daily news reports on the by-election. He had promised to write four or five items a day. Alfatihah to comrade Syukree Hussain. As they say: only the good die young and you were certainly very young to have died so suddenly. But then that is God’s design and who are we to question God’s wisdom? Till we meet again, Syukree. It was a very short association that we had but it will be one that will forever be in my memory. May you rest in peace.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by borneoman, December 18, 2008 15:00:07
what if aab decided not to let go off his prime ministership 3/09? am sure khairy j is planning a big surprise for najib between now and 3/09.
agree 124
written by malgal, December 18, 2008 15:12:25
Right now rpk is the cat and the son of a gan and his masters at large, the mice.
If rpk can produce himself within nanoseconds for a court appointment, how can not son-of-gan no? Is he in contempt of court? book him.
written by Spear Bing, December 18, 2008 15:17:00
" Once I start looking at my book I shall be so engrossed I can’t even hear my wife screaming at me: ‘The police want to see you’...............See, I told you. Once I start writing, or reading, I totally lose track of time and place".

Spiritual seekers interprete this moments of experience as transcendence....completely, mentally and phsyically immersed in the present moment awareness till one over comes time and space. This is beginning of the awakening of enlightenment. One becomes fearless.... free from the duality of mundane living.
written by ylcc, December 18, 2008 15:17:09
Dear Raja Petra, each time your case is postponed, everyone is thinking along the same line. They say the prosecution is purposely delaying your trial until Najib takes over as PM. It is so unfair.

written by malaysianohope, December 18, 2008 15:18:13
Abang,
I am perplexed that the court still allows the case to defer when the prosecutors are not so forthcoming especially the part about Ins. Gan disappearing acts. In the event you win the case I suggest you should pursue legal remedies for false prosecution from these good for nothing scums. Good luck with your book which I'm looking forward to. Hope it will be a best seller in no time.
written by InEffective, December 18, 2008 15:28:25
Looks like our judges are not even in control of the process of arbitration (the substantive outcomes of arbitration is another matter). There is no assurance in the process of going to court - what a joke our judiciary.No wonder we have outstanding cases stretching 10-15 years.
Wondering exactly who deserves the rotan here ?
written by HHKim, December 18, 2008 15:30:27
Gan in Taiwan to learn the anti-corruption investigation on Chen Sui Bian?
Tear him apart if you have a chance. All these are useless Malaysians.
They don't worth a penny.
written by Democrats, December 18, 2008 15:34:32
That son of a gan is a disgrace. I wonder why this case is still being heard since the complainant is not even interested to prosecute. They should just throw away the case. It's like a rape victim reporting against the rapist but too busy to attend court to give her statement and see that charges are brought against them.
written by DezMalaysia, December 18, 2008 15:35:57
May you rest in peace, Syukree Hussain.
written by mick_err_stan, December 18, 2008 15:42:25
RPK

Looking forward to your new book. You should also consider having it translate into Bahasa Malaysia (I presume it's in the English language). As for your court case, I am appalled with the prosecution wasting tax payer money. The judge should have thrown the case out. Sadly these people cannot make justifiable decision based on integrity and their own judgment.....they are like puppets with their string pulled from above. The Munafiq pulling the string.
written by pinsysu, December 18, 2008 15:54:01
and we smell a skunk! or da stench of dead rats! clear case of contempt of court! may be he followed order to meet chris angel in taiwan ... smilies/grin.gif
written by Fuminari, December 18, 2008 16:08:17
RPK,this son of a Gan might jus turn out to be another episode similar to that Bala a/l siapa but on a different sub-plot after all.it is common tales now in this bolehland,the umno goons n their lackeys like PDRm are real good in making everything varnishes fast in split second depending on their preferrence n urgency;better than those magics performed by david copperfield.
written by Su Dhanoa, December 18, 2008 16:14:50
What a mockery our judiciary is? Even a kindergarden and junior schools are more strick than our courts. Absentees are questioned and requested to give official written letters from parents on reasons for not attending class for the day!! What a Joke!!
written by carribeanking7, December 18, 2008 16:22:57
I think their excuses are becoming pretty stale, I mean how many times do they think they can recycle "Sodomy" and Taiwan".

Quote :
I also welcome any others who would like to contribute a chapter, as long as it is within the theme of the book.

If you can narrow down the theme more specifically, including the cap on the maximum number of words, I believe that many would want to participate , myself included- whether it gets published or not is secondary.

written by Rozlan, December 18, 2008 16:25:23
I smell rat too. A rotten one.
written by mick_err_stan, December 18, 2008 16:32:03

Please dedicate a page listing all the un-resolved corruption cases and reported abuses that are left hanging and not investigated or no action taken....... serve as a reminder least we forget.
written by middlepath, December 18, 2008 16:34:49
Dear RPK, it is a blessing to be able to read your article, many people waitingp to read your thought and your compassion and your courage display over this MT. You know, this Malaysia will be a black and white nothing without you, and I am very sure, if you stand as MP, any where you will sure win hands down, bring Najis or Paklah to Penang island any MP seat, you will sure win hands down..... Such is your statue. Anyway, we malaysians are grateful that we have personality like you, and such a heroic act and passion. You please accept our sincere thanks, and please continue with your journey, we are all will be right behind you, support you, and the truth, the transparency you display, I wish all the MPs, and the Bn will at least start to wake up, a little, they are such a BS and BN is all fill with BS all the time. Please, stay healthy and happy, so that we are able to celebrate new govemen in roughly 3 or 4 years time from now....cheers
may the truth prevails always .
written by Ken Liew, December 18, 2008 16:40:59
Now, i wonder....
is the Commissioner Gan("evil" in chinese) is playing you like a fool, or playing the judge like a fool. So, in each our honored RPK case, came out a joke and the C4 murdur case is always a laughter to the world.

I'll be waiting for the BOOK. please make it possible to all major book store. ofcos dont forget to put FULL ADDRESS just incase that Si Bodak used it to ban the book.
written by New Malaysian, December 18, 2008 16:47:59
Let's never ask for the case to be thrown out like some up here are asking. Nay! Get Gan on the stand and tear him to pieces! And let every question inform the Rakyat of the indecencies some of us have been so unfairly subjected to. And why. Expose the villains for what they are.
written by pinsysu, December 18, 2008 17:09:24
ya, put da son of a gan thru da shredder. give him an overdose of x-ray. pull him apart by 5 horses! watever it is, let da LIGHT shines.
written by mikewang, December 18, 2008 17:11:21
I think the court should issue a warrant of arrest to anyone who does not attend court when he/she is summoned.

However, if the prosecution office had not even subpoena Gan who is effectively the plaintiff, it shows bad faith.
You should apply to the court to have the case struck off.
written by ahmadneil, December 18, 2008 17:40:39
This Gan should be Gandong.He is hiding and we all know they like hiding people.Bala have been hidden for so long and I bet he is rusting.Now they are hiding Gandong.Who is next!
This Bolehland dingos are showing no respect for the law which they swear to upheld.Now they are the one who bend rules and disregard for rules of law.
How shameful to be a man in blue!
written by ahmadneil, December 18, 2008 17:42:48
Gan dong is going to Taiwan to visit those pimps that the MPs visited.He was interested to join the MPs but was tied down at the last minute.
written by ahmadneil, December 18, 2008 17:47:00
So Gan is a son of a Gan and the king of Soh Gan who should be Gan dong to his last breath.
written by ahmadneil, December 18, 2008 17:55:55
From my childhood I always learn from my teacher that the police and the courts are institutions that we have to respect and trust.But today I came to realise that what my teacher told me is wrong.
These institutions are so corrupted that if someone where to ask me where I came from,I have a second thoughts about telling them I came from Malaysia.I'm really lost my faith in these institution.What shall I do,Pete!
Now they have the guts to play around with you and the laws.This is really a fcuk up country.
written by truthbespoken, December 18, 2008 17:59:01
Twice, the plantiff disappeared with feeble excuses from the prosecutors' end. Will the Court still allow a third time of the same act without serious reprimand? I wonder ...
written by eloofk, December 18, 2008 18:37:55
With the MACC and JAC Bills being passed through Parliament, it looks like the court is still subservient to the Executive and the UMNO gomen.
written by cllim123, December 18, 2008 18:49:52
RPK just release the C4 video tape! If there is one of course. smilies/wink.gif
written by densemy, December 18, 2008 19:02:18
Gan should be charged with Contempt of the Court
written by Bloodhound, December 18, 2008 19:05:47
Shouldn't a warrant of arrest be issued to bring him to court....wherever he may be?

Training is no excuse for not attending courts at the appointed time - otherwise, how are the courts going to operate when every offender or their lawyers goes on training?

Interpol should have no problem locating him - wherever he may be.
written by Motherchell, December 18, 2008 19:30:31
My prayers for Kevin's fast recovery. God Bless him

Now coming to Gan, this is a Banana Republic! -- we have prosecution Lawyers who studied law to say -- i don't know !
We have PDRM covering for the lies, and Gan may end up planting vegetables or become one if he opens his mouth too much i think! How come ordinary folks with MCs are never even noticed and battalions of PDRM invade homes to bring in a defendant/accused!

Where do we go from here , in the judicial landscape -- with the kind of CJ in place , with Musa holding his arteries in fear ---- really ! where do we go ??? Does the govt have any inkling of what they are and what they represent??? Is Badawi really bothered with his so called reforms ?? Murderers, thieves and rapists are more respected in Malaysia by those in Power!!
You know Pete ! God speaks in mysterious ways !!!

written by talk2stop, December 18, 2008 19:31:33
Dangerous time ahead. Najib appears cornered by RPK while PKR is poised to strike him where it hurts the most.
Najib is not going down without a fight. He may turn into "Mugabe of South East Asia". It is not going to be a win-win case here. Now, you tell me who to blame?
written by Eskay Lim, December 18, 2008 20:33:14
A govt. that is expert in "vanishing games"
Where important immigration records can go missing,
Witnesses like Bala who disappeared with his entire family.
Now even a prosecution witness can go missing.
Wonder what else besides the nation's wealth & resources can also vanish?
written by countryman, December 18, 2008 21:49:01
All MT readers must make sure that they buy a copy of RPK's new book so that we can make it the all-time No.1 best seller in Malaysia. Besides getting to understand more about Malaysian politics, you'll also be doing one more good thing : getting the attention of the international press. The international media will be intrigued why a book on politics will make it as the all time best seller in Malyasia and that will lead to a lot of follow up interest and stories on the country. Believe it or not, it wil help our cause.
written by panca, December 18, 2008 22:28:44
The prosecution stated that Gan is on MC then later said he had gone to Taiwan. Whatever it is, it's classified as Missing....

Bro Pete,
Make a police report with PIG Police Inspector General on Comm, Gan as a Missing Person because he is needed to be in court and like Bala gone missing, so report must be made. See what will the report lead to?
written by zackzeni, December 18, 2008 22:38:48
let see what will happen to all the so call senior police officers when PR takeover government......
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 18, 2008 23:04:18
We will now have to wait until February to get our hands on Gan. And we are going to do that. There is no way in hell the prosecution is going to keep Gan away from us"

On that day, during court proceeding started, gan faints, and has to be taken to hospital in an ambulance; there, MC again. MIA from gourt also, again.

hahahahaha
written by Ckchew, December 18, 2008 23:13:25
We will now have to wait until February to get our hands on Gan. And we are going to do that. There is no way in hell the prosecution is going to keep Gan away from us. We want him on the stand where Gobin can tear him to pieces. He made a police report against me and he wants me sent to jail. He was the one who investigated the Altantuya murder. We want the world to know how the investigation was conducted and how much of what they discovered was hidden from the public, even if I have to lose my case in the process and get sent to jail for two years.

u should learn the mistake made by anwar, DO NOT let ur opponent knows about ur plan & deprive them of any info about ur strategy, so that they will not be prepared to fend off ur attack.

Blogckchew http://ckcounterpunch.*********.com/
written by Semut Jantan, December 18, 2008 23:52:35
Could somebody please enlighten me --

Since when the Taiwanese degress/ training courses are recognized by the Bolehland gomen?

Please list the institutions if you could so that I could send my employees for upgrades.
written by Semut Jantan, December 18, 2008 23:58:43
It looks like, sounds like, the courses in Taiwan are extremely popular nowadays; it may not be true, after all?

But if it is true, I am also prepared to send my kids there for University degrees.

Your advice is greatly appreciated, especially if it comes from the bolehland gomen.
written by Tompios, December 19, 2008 04:12:03
Interesting! Gan (Gantoluhan) has gone to Taiwan. Give him a degree for running our from Malaysia hanky-panky court. He knows for sure that Gobind will un-skin him alive.

Kuang2.
written by JohnQ, December 19, 2008 10:28:05
SAD that there is no judges dare to make their own decisions other than been told !!!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

BUTA GAJI BUTA MATA!
written by temenggong, December 19, 2008 10:37:39
Pet,

The system cannot be beaten. They will always win. We have to change the govt first to win.
written by pengembara, December 19, 2008 14:02:29
Sir Pete

With regards to the forthcoming book, would you like to collect some advance bookings as it is customary elsewhere in the world ? ;-)

peace
written by carribeanking7, December 19, 2008 14:21:31
Now sing with me the following lyrics to the tune of Jambalaya (On The Bayou) by Hank Williams

Court Room Jambalaya
Goodbye court, he gotta go, me oh my oh
He gotta go -- learn how to plant beansprouts down in Taiwan.
His excuse,is the funniest one one, me oh my oh
Tack Guan Gan, will have big fun when at Taiwan.

Karaoke, a pint of beer his head is buzzin'
Gobind Deo awaits in vain to ask questions, by the dozen
Filled with rage, mad as hell, me oh my oh
Tack Guan Gan is on a sabbatical down in Taiwan

Judge Rozina called for recess and took an aspirin
'Cause today Gobind Deo came out guns a blazin
Pick a date , come next year on the 10th day of February
Tack Guan Gan better make the date, or people will be wary.
----------X-----------------------------------------------------------
Rean more here

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=6618&uid=6778953884

Cheers
written by born2reign, December 19, 2008 14:37:10
Aaaah! Me smells sthg fishy too, Khairy is keeping quiet these days and Bodowi is deep in thought. Seems like they are ready to pounce. This JAC and MACC thing is for someone, and doesn't seem like it's for RPK. Perhaps our Don Juan (Don Hwan in Malay phonics) Najis is the target??? Khairy and Sleepy AAB are not going quietly, if they are going at all. With DPM in jail for corruption, AAB might just stay on and finish his term until next GE. Very possible.
written by fdqn, December 19, 2008 17:16:25
Dear RPK,the less you talk about your plan, the better,dont give them any clue about whats going to happen,lest they will be well prepare for your action, just like the anwar saga,lots of hot air, in the end, it just does not materialised,so do it the 'diam diam' way,Hmmmmmm,mention diam diam ,suddenly, that too reminds me of some one we all know too well,Yes,just do it and dont breath a word,then you will see results.
written by DontPlayGod, December 19, 2008 23:45:53
Imagine, this son of a Gan need not inform the court, the DPP, or anybody else that he will not or unable to attend court and the court just allows it. Just goes to show how UMNO is controlling the courts!! And the beauty of it, is that the judge dare not take any action!!! Hahahahahahaaaa.......
written by mabuaya, December 20, 2008 11:53:53

I just read on Malaysiakini that the Federal Court ruled against Munawar's appeal on the grounds that he repeatedly failed to turn up at the court and the case had to keep being postponed...very interesting...surely this same arguement could be applied to Commissioner Gan. If he can't be bothered to turn up even after being issued a subpoena, shouldn't his allegations be thrown out too?
written by xkbyuk, December 22, 2008 18:37:24
It's unfair that good people and fighters (like RPK) against injustice, infringement of the poor commoners' Constitutional rights, and corruption at high places be put to suffer such protracted legal proceedings and large expenditure to defend themselves against trumped-up charges. May I propose that MT set up a trust fund to receive donations from fair-minded readers to help such brave people, even though these front-line warriors are driven by their own ideals and not by any financial gains nor for selfish fame. What say the other readers?