Which Malay? PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 December 2008 16:42
I am responding to the article posted in Malaysia Today sometime ago under the titled ‘The Biggest Obstacle to Malay Progress” originally posted in Lim Kit Siang’s blog.I am not claiming to represent Sabahans or Sarawakians per see but I know a few of my Borneo pals share similar view with me.

The first thing that I want to know from this guy, if he really is familiar with the subject he talked about-race and ethnics of Malaysia.

I shall provide him with a little geography lesson to start with, Malaysia comprises of land from Peninsula originally called Malaya, and across South China Sea in Borneo Island, two bigger states -Sabah on the very tip of the island, and down South West is Sarawak.

The two states of Malaysia in Borneo are much bigger in size compare with the whole of peninsula Malaysia.

For an extra information, as far as the Borneo Malaysians are concerned many people here are of the view, equating Sabah and Sarawak as same status as Perlis or Malacca is unfair, should the bargaining   to form Malaysia is taking place today, I would say, the status of the nation of Malaysia would not be as it is.

The term Malay that Allan is referring to I guess, he is restricting himself by looking only from a Peninsula person’s perspective. It is also the term generally used by the academicians to mean the Malay stock, found scattered throughout the South East Asian nations- I don’t intent to dwell this part.

Continue Reading Here

written by Tompios, December 17, 2008 17:01:57
Finally, among thousand and million people someone out there understand the status of Sabah and Sarawak in Malaysia. The status of Sabah/Sarawak is not the same as Perlis and Malacca.

Double thumps up for you Writer. Sabah and Sarawak not even fair to be called as States. Sabah and Sarawak are very similar with Scotland and Wales in the United Kingdom countries.
written by ahmadneil, December 17, 2008 17:18:24
These 2 'adopted sons' as they are often called have been sidelined for 45 years.The 20 point agreement have been thrown into the shredding machine.If they go their separate ways,like Singapore,they will have prosper a billion times already.The natives are called Bumi but they don't have equal status as those Bumi in Malaya.
Hopefully PKR will make some difference.
written by The dragonheart, December 17, 2008 17:25:13
Saya setuju bah.

Kita Patut ada Persekutuan Tanah Melayu, Negeri Selat, Sabah dan Sarawak.

Dan di Tanah Melayu ada beberapa jenis melayu (Tidak sebanyak di sabah dan Sarawak) seperti Jawa, Melayu Morden, Banjau, Minang, Rawa, Mengeling, Senoi, Jakun, Sakai,Bugis,siam, and many others...

In Indonesia alone there are over 250 types of Malays enthics...But all in Malaysia speaks bahasa Melayu and in Indonesia speaks Bahasa Indonesia.

UMNO is not just the Melayu in Malaysia. They are just representing 3 million Melayu in Malaysia.

If you are angry with UMNO please don't use the term Melayu, Malay or Bumiputra... Just say out the name of the person you are referring to and not the race...
written by OilMan, December 17, 2008 18:02:06
Banar jua. Ani tah pucung-pucung di UMNO ni yang balabih. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by walaiku, December 17, 2008 19:24:17
uinaaa, bekeluaran bah diurang semua smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif...Anyway salute for u writer..:p:p...Arap arap tu urang-urang malayu skarang tau suda yang sabah dan sarawak tida sama macam melaka dan perlis :p :p :p :p
written by Tornado, December 17, 2008 20:54:47
Memang benar apa yang dinyatakan dalam artikel ini. Semenjak kewujudan Malaysia, hak rakyat Sabah dan Sarawak sedikit demi sedikit dikikis melalui pelbagai cara.

Antara yang paling utama adalah melalui pernyataan seolah-olah kedua-dua wilayah ini sebahagian dari negeri-negeri dalam persekutuan tanah melayu.

Bukan itu sahaja, pemilihan tarikh 31 Ogos 1957 sebagai tarikh hari kebangsaan turut menidakkan fakta bahawa Malaysia tubuh pada 16 September 1963.

Walaupun kedua-dua fakta ini hanya perkara kecil namun kesannya amat dalam. Tidak mustahil suatu masa nanti kedua-dua wilayah ini akan mengikut jejak kota singa jika keadaan sebegini berterusan. Bukan menghasut tetapi inilah kebenaran dari rata-rata rakyat Sabah dan Sarawak.
written by Motherchell, December 17, 2008 21:23:45
its a pity Sabah and Sarawak was given such deals that they planted Taib in the canopy for further their loot. he was after the trees while these guys in the mainland drilled holes to suck out the oil. What a history Malaysia has to live with!!! do the True Malays realize that their mustache was stolen right under their nose??
written by SotPlug, December 17, 2008 23:11:22
The Ibans and Kadazans, Dayak, etc... are the true Bumiputeras.
These orang asli are real tuans of the land.
If Malays and 'Malay-by-religion's are to have privileges, the orang asli should get even more!
It's time all orang asli stand up and fight for their birth rights.
Let these pretenders know whose land they are standing on.
They are just samseng asking for 'protection money'. Leeches!
written by borneoman, December 18, 2008 04:10:42
the ignorance about sarawak and sabah shown by quite a number of malayan today are not surprising at all because they only see 180degrees in their small kelapa sawit shell.the malayan think they have every right to talk on our behalf because they think we are incapable to do so by our selves.
....should the bargaining to form Malaysia is taking place today, I would say, the status of the nation of Malaysia would not be as it is....
i suggest we get a referendum from the people of sarawak and sabah to see if they still want to be in the federation?
written by Navigator, December 18, 2008 05:51:06
It is the fault of your politicians for being weak and selfish. They support BN because of the money they get. Throw them out.
written by Forex, December 18, 2008 05:57:22
UMNO LAND...Boleh Land...

Many Sabahan Land was handed over to UMNO people, eventhou local people did applied it since 20 yrs ago.

Many Sabahan job was handed over to UMNO people, eventhou local people are capable to do the same job.

Many Sabahan traditional way of life was taken over n replaced by UMNO way of life...

What else left for us?

Hospital Q full with illegal people
Night Market, Fish market etc etc Market all monopolized by illegal

and the present Government didnt even care!

written by Tom n Jerry, December 18, 2008 09:12:46
The most beautiful aspect of Borneo is its metropolitan ethnic,culture &religions which seems to have been manipulated in recent years;tthere is the ever increasing population of *Melayus* which were a rare breed in the colonial days;perhaps its practical to conduct a survey on how this particular group manages to multiply its population a few hundred percent over the last few decades;daily baby-making or sheer clones making *chips of the old block* smilies/grin.gif
written by CPY, December 18, 2008 09:31:58
Betul Bah!
Sabah & Sarawak mesti mau macam HK & Macau(mempunyai hak autonomi yg paling banyak di China). Org Asli mesti ada pertolongan & pastikan 'peruntukan Melayu'=Peruntukan UMNO!