Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Fuel price reduction + zero enforcement = escalating living costs

Fuel price reduction + zero enforcement = escalating living costs PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 December 2008 16:31
The government has been reducing the price of fuel in drips these past months. But the working rakyat are not celebrating with accolades. There are justified reasons for this seeming 'ungratefulness' from the taxpayer.

Firstly, the the last time the price of fuel rocketed, it took a major swipe into the shrunken pockets of millions of wage earners. It was almost paralyzing for millions of bread winners who relied on fixed salaries to put meals on the table and meet monthly bills.

The suffering and anguish was worsened when traders almost instantly hiked their prices to match the new fuel costs. It was a windfall as old inventory went with revised prices.

The world fuel price has plunged a long time since, but the government has only been reducing the pump price in slow drips of ten cents here and ten cents there.

The ordinary rakyat is asking a basic, common sense question: When the world price shot up to more than USD150 per barrel, we saw an unprecedented rise here. But when the barrel price has hit an unprecedented low -- far below what it even used to be before we started paying the hiked price, our pump price is still above what we used to pay then.

What logic is this if it is not a case of cashing in at the expense of the rakyat? Or robbing from Peter to pay Paul.

Of course the government will have to explain the rationale and present the justifications. But while the leaders figure that out, there is another floodgate that is burst and goes un-noticed.

The prices of goods are not coming down!

In the past, no one hesitated an hour to adjust the sales price every time the fuel price went up. Even GLCs did that. So did traders atpasar malams. They did not lose the ripoff opportunity. From our favorite daily breakfast corner at mamak stalls to the exclusive restaurants in the cities -- price lists were replaced instantly.

But now that fuel prices are bottomed-out globally and even here it is been reduced several times over, should the costs of all other things come down accordingly?

No. That is not the case. Pray tell us, where are the enforcement units? Pray tell us what is the Ministry of Domestic Trade is doing? What about all those agencies involved in issuing trading licenses?

Pray tell us which politician is screaming mad in parliament over this gross injustice and day light robbery that is strangling the working rakyat?

Have electricity and telephone bills come down? Have banks reduced their rates? Have supermarkets genuinely adjusted their prices without all the fanfare public relations stunts and marketing gimmicks?  

Has the teh tarik mamak reduced the price of his cup of tea? Or the nasi lemak seller? What about the pasar malams and wet markets? And do not overlook the neighbourhood grocer either. 

When no single authority takes up enforcement seriously, the rakyat's interests are not protected. When NGOs do not rally against this gross stealing from the rakyat, the crime continues unabated.

And let us get wiser. Mere political statements and seeming threats in the media is not going to the ugly profiteering under check. 

What we do not realize is: the rich will get richer while the poor get poorer. At the painful end, this nation will crumble under the weight of such corrupt greed.

In despair the rakyat dismisses this reality and resigns with 'life must go on'. Not realizing that that life is not going on; it is in fact on the decline.

- J. D. Lovrenciear, Semenyih

written by ahmadneil, December 17, 2008 16:41:17
Food price is skyrocketing.MAS fuel surcharge haven't been abolish yet.What is our gov't doing about this!It's a mess!
written by Tom n Jerry, December 17, 2008 16:47:11
I think it is time for cinsumers to sue the Government for not bringing prices down,especially essentials like oil & rice;its near impossible to get cheap rice nowadays;only those super grades with super prices for the rich & famous;the poor are mostly starving;wish tehre are more robin hood*s in this nation to help out in this critical moment of history!
written by Ken Liew, December 17, 2008 16:50:15
When fuel price hike, Malaysia Government are still making loads of profit in ALL the sales tax.

Now, When fuel goes Low, government still make loads of money, cos we are still buying expensive feul (cos Government controll the fuel price)....

Problem is, where did all these money goes to?? To the Country, OR to someones pocket??
written by Tom n Jerry, December 17, 2008 16:52:06
According to reliable sources from the supermarket staff;the management will hoard the cheaper grades to dispose of the costly ones first;this is very unethical because the life of the average consumer is at stake;this is basic necessity,not a luxury item,so ther should be no compromise;wonder what is the Ministry of TRade doing to alleviate this nagging problem;or they seem to be hibernating at this moment when their service is most needed!
written by lynn, December 17, 2008 16:53:58
The govt messed up big time when it jerked upwards petrol price by 78 sen.
The damage done to most of us is severe & beyond the govt's ministers' comprehension.
When one owns a few hundred million or a few billions in cash in his bank accounts, one cannot appreciate the working stiff's plight of living from paycheck to paycheck.

Even hawkers' prices flew upwards and remained high.
Those in business benefited the most profits such as hawkers.
Consumers, even if you complained, the hawkers will tell you to take it or bugger off.

The govt is very arrogant, they dare to raise the petrol price so much & tell us to change our lifestyle. I changed my lifestyle by doing things in semi-darkness to conserve. Inspite of that, my electricity has shot up by 60%!

written by Ben, December 17, 2008 17:05:46
The minister in charge made a decent attempt in his reply in TheStar to placate similar outrage in the mass media.

If you are like me; angry enough to tell him so, write to his ministry with proof of increasing prices of goods since the oil spike by his pm. Snapshots of selling prices of daily commodities and services. Otherwise, the minister in charge is still relying on glowing reports from hypermarts and his enforcement officers. Then let him try as he might, to dispel the complaints we have all been submitting for his action. Read his reply and see if you can accept the poor excuse of inept governance. There was neither a hint of remorse nor responsibility.
written by Tan Tan, December 17, 2008 17:12:18
Like what I said before, when Badawi announced that petrol to increase 40%, he already committed politic suicide as everything in Msia will increase drastically and even when fuel price dropped later, prices of other things won't dropped.

This is why we need a smart government. With our current stupid government as the caretakers of Malaysians, I am very worry. How the heck did we voted for such government in the first place. Mahathir, despite being very unpopular with his dictatorship, yet he still able to runs a good economy which enable him to become a PM for 22 years.

Today, I don't any BN leaders are capable at all. Please name me some.

However, I rather vote for Anwar, Lims and Nik Aziz. At least, they sound smarter and we need smart ppls in power.
written by unomalaysia, December 17, 2008 17:30:50
This mess was caused by the BE End gomen, they should clean up the shit by imposing price control. Get all the enforcement people out there to do their jobs...but then again it will just give them opportunities to extort and collect under table $$ to keep "one eye closed".. Be End Boleh & Semuanya OK!
written by johanssm, December 17, 2008 17:44:05
Politics is about keeping the business people happy. No need to make the rakyat happy. As election is held every 5 years. Every 5 years or so, the politicians will make you and me blind and stupid by "making" us vote for them. next General Election the may13th bogeyman will be use all over. And by then most of us already forgotten Bala , Altantuya, IPCMC , Lingam , PKFZ and whatever landslides.
Consumer price control? There are more than 2000 umno/bn's housewife doing the market pricing patrol and are paid rm1500 monthly allowance for doing so.
i am sure most of us 'forgotten" about it.
>>>http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20080925-89931.html
written by The dragonheart, December 17, 2008 17:53:39
The Government is a capitalist towards its rakyat and socialist to the Towkays. And at the same time trying to instill Islamic Values in the rakyat not to overspent and be thankful...

At the end of the day only Towkays are richer and happier and the politician gets their commissions...
written by kent chong, December 17, 2008 17:55:29
TENAGA NASIONAL should reduce the Tariff!!!!!! that is what a so called 'Satu Lagi Project BN-DOSA Kepada Rakyat'
written by LKO, December 17, 2008 18:05:15
When the pric goes up there are so many comparison with other countries. Now when those countries are lower, everything is quiet. smilies/angry.gif
written by mawi, December 17, 2008 18:13:19
Its just too bad that Mr Abdullah Badawi and Mr Najib Razak did not understand this when he announced the hefty increase in price just a feww months ago. Too stupid perhaps.

Now when he makes a stern face when asking for price to be reduces accordingly, it really makes me want to puke. He should have understood the damag before it is done. Soh Chai!!!!
written by OilMan, December 17, 2008 18:16:23
Hahahaha... expect another reply from that funny minister of ours. He says don't go and eat at the stalls that sells nasi kandar at such a high price. But we the ordinary working does not have the lavish benefit that he has and I wonder just how many meals tha he actually pays for himself in a month. Does he not realise if all the stalls charge the same price we do not have a choice and just pay for the price? Where can we go and have our breakfast, lunch or dinner when we are working in the city? Do we drive home (30 minutes one way) and prepare our food and then eat and then rush to work? He is still the funny joker of a minister.
written by OilMan, December 17, 2008 18:19:40
Two questions:

Can a minister can be so stupid?

Is it possible that we can have two ministers (the other one is the minister that likes to use the ISA on the innocent) that is not that rakyat friendly and keeps on issuing statements that only angers the rakyat?
written by angkasawan bocor, December 17, 2008 18:30:50
INFLATION = BN GOVT.'S FAULT

Price of fuel should not have been raised in the first place.
written by Rozlan, December 17, 2008 18:54:45
Mind you..we have to subsidised the fuel and yet Malaysia is a net oil exporter..Why dont that damnbloody Kahlid Samad gave some justification why we the rakyat should subsidize the fuel price? smilies/angry.gif
written by gorshan, December 17, 2008 19:01:44
nanti lu tunggu itu masa election besar.harga barang makan tara turun tara apa.BN guarantee gua mesti kasi turun punya smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by onnetline, December 17, 2008 21:46:19
The ' moronic ' BN government is good at setting up the rakyat to face tough times.

We need to get rid of these morons fast !
written by maran08, December 17, 2008 22:02:18
BN Cheating people, in Thailand the fuel price in PUMP station is cheaper then Malaysia RM 1.70 but what happen in Malaysia? Where the great subsidies? BN making money out of Rakyat
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, December 17, 2008 23:11:19
From the time the pump prices went up in June, our cost of living went sky high and our standard of living went down. The propensity to spend became instantly smaller, so was our ability to save. Power price went up, fuel price went up, food price went up and has stayed up.

Now that the pump price has tip toed down, nothing has come down and none of the food and power prices will come down. The cost of doing business is higher now, the business opportunities are lesser, the cost of living remains high.

You would think that the Government can't count. Fuel up 40% in June, the overall cost of living skyrocketed because it gave everybody the reason to raise prices. Fuel down 40% by December, the overall cost of living stays up because everyone who raised their prices don't have the reason to bring them down.

So who do you think made lives more difficult for us? You be the judge.

With the financial challenges facing us and salaries not going up and the fear of losing jobs loom ahead, what is the Government doing to help all of us face up to these grave and real and serious threats to our lives?

Still waiting. Tick tock tick tock and time is running out.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by ChiaCY, December 17, 2008 23:16:43
The government should not intervene on consumer prices, this will create unrest and hence there will be manmade supply shortage. What needs to be done, in my opinion, as follows:

1. Stop corruption. Corruption is the cause of price hike, nothing else;
2. Better and transparent administration. With transparency, the general public will be able to scrutinise any goverment implementation, hence able to safeguard the people's interest.
3. Simplest way for us, change the government!

written by Tlau, December 17, 2008 23:46:27
Malaysians mudah lupa. After a few months, all will be forgotten and forgiven, and the hawkers will continue to enjoy the hike set by themselves. In the event should the price of crude oil go up again like the last cycle, the govt will then again increase the petrol and our hawkers will again put up another hike onto the daily essential items we need. Just watch it - it will happen.
written by qwerty, December 18, 2008 10:11:12
Yeah, agree with lynn & kent on TNB tariffs.
When the price of oil shot up TNB raised their rates. Now that the oil prices had tumbled TNB says that their generators runs on gas & coal!

To quote author Shannon Ahmad: " S H I T "
written by batsman, December 18, 2008 10:26:16
The Finance Minister is a great fan of Alan Greenspan - de-regulation of everything that is in the rakyat's interest, regulation of everything that is in UMNO's interest.
written by mikewang, December 18, 2008 15:23:31
What to do when we have a stupid PM who asked the country to pray for a lower petroleum price so that we could get lower petrol price at the pump.

He didn't even understand that as a net producer of petroleum, the whole country gained with oil price going up even if we maintained the same old RM1.92 pump price.

In addition, we have a stupid cabinet who agrees with his every fart.