Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Are there Other Ways to say You Hate Bahasa Melayu and the Melayu too?

Are there Other Ways to say You Hate Bahasa Melayu and the Melayu too? PDF Print
Wednesday, 17 December 2008 10:04

By Mansor Puteh

I hate to say this. This is a psychological issue, not an emotional one. And in this regard I want to ask where are our psychologists? Are they still sleeping?

If the psychologists have been sleeping and experiencing a mid-life crises of their own, I want them to wake up and shake it off and offer your ‘expert’ views or else I will make the attempt to analyze what’s really wrong with the country.

I had studied psychology and even sociology way back at college in Shah Alam and it can still be handy.

Yes, one does not have to be specialized in these areas to know what’s really wrong with the country and some people.

Maybe the psychologists that we have need to be put on the couch and be asked a few questions of the type that they often ask their patients.

My first question is: What do you think of the Bahasa Melayu/mother-tongue issue with regard to the study of science and mathematics?

No answer?

If that’s the case, I have some. And here they are:

This issue is really nothing more than the expression that has so far been suppressed by the actors, who do not dare say that they hate Bahasa Melayu or Bahasa Malaysia. And they are using science and mathematics to express this hatred.

Why can’t they just admit it and be done with it, and bear the consequences?

I am sure there are equally many sane and insane opinions to support the use of Bahasa Melayu for the study of these two subjects in the primary and secondary school as there are those who do not support its use.

And if one were to consider the study of history, geography and the other subjects students in such schools are asked to take, and see which language is best for them to study these subjects, chances are some will also insist that it is English and not Bahasa Melayu.

So in the end, all the subjects in primary and secondary schools will be taught in English since there is always a justification to using this language instead of Bahasa Melayu, especially if the real and hidden reason for them to prefer English over Malay is because they hate Bahasa Melayu and the Malays, but are scared to admit it.

And it will go on and on.

But the scientists in China studied everything in Mandarin and yet they were still able to develop their space programs and successfully sent their ‘taikonauts’ to outer space without hitching a ride on space crafts produced by the Russians or Americans.

They did all of that in Mandarin and nothing in English.

They could have made is mandatory for their ‘taikonauts’ wannabes to study in English, but they didn’t.

The reason being, they wanted to develop their own space programs by using their own national language while we in Malaysia also want to do the same and also to develop the country by taking the easy way out, by using English and whatever terms that the English and English-speaking people all over the world could come up with, without the need to think hard and come up with our own terms.

So in the end, we are copycats with nothing original to be proud of.

This means that we do not aspire to acquire knowledge, but to borrow those that were introduced by the west (read America), and in the end the process of learning for Malaysia is restricted, and because of that we will lack creativity and originality.

The Japanese, too, had embarked on their space programs as much as the Iranians, but they are doing it their way.

They sent their students to prestigious universities in America such as MIT where they study in English, and when they return home, they enlarge their scientific vocabulary.

Here, our sole ‘angkasawan’ wants to have everything easy. He has so far not yet introduced a term in Malay that we can use. He is a copycat astronaut.

But the truth is that for those who insist on using English for the teaching of science and mathematic may not realize that what they are saying, if we can study the problem psychologically, is that they do hate Bahasa Melayu, but are not able to say so.

Most of them are not Malays, but there are also some who are indeed Malays.

And they are also like the sole Malaysian ‘angkasawan’ who wants to take it easy and be copycat academics, scientists or doctorate holders with nothing new or original to contribute to the society, and especially to the expansion of the Malay vocabulary.

This is the truth. And I am bearing it after I have put the ‘patients’ on the couch for a while.

And some of those who are now attending the roundtable discussion on this issue at Putrajaya are also those people who hate Bahasa Melayu and even the Melayu, but they won’t dare say so.

How could anyone say they HATE BAHASA MELAYU and the MELAYU?

But they can say so indirectly, hoping that no psychologist in the country would be able to analyze their thoughts and feelings.

Yes, no psychologist in Malaysia is able to do it, but I CAN. And I am saying it NOW!

So I hope those who hate Bahasa Melayu and the Melayu, please find other ways to express your feelings about it, without saying that English is the best language for the teaching of science and mathematics.

But this would be difficult indeed.

Like you can also hate Malay films, Malay television dramas and entertainment programs and a host of other things choosing instead those from Hollywood, Hong Kong, India and other countries, as long as they are not from the Malays.

Yes, the convenient excuse is that these Malay films, television dramas and music are of poor quality. Good excuses, too, I dare say.

(I HATE IT FOR BEING ABLE TO READ PEOPLE'S MINDS!)

Comments (88)Add Comment
written by asguard, December 17, 2008 10:21:51
If those fools don't learn english ...they will be left out in dark... that is one thing i can say... like or don't want to..
written by cahaya, December 17, 2008 10:22:43
Why do you keep talking about Bahasa Melayu? And the Melayu? Those terms are so yesterday. We are now in the 21st century, digital age.

We actually love Bahasa Malaysia and Malaysians. Except for those fellows like you who are arrogant, corrupt, selfish and race-based.
agree 135
written by Littlebird, December 17, 2008 10:24:50
I love bahasa melayu. The only language you learn english, sanskrit, tamil and maybe little chinese at the same. The only language where the word bahasa itself is borrowed from another language. smilies/grin.gif
written by yellowkingdom, December 17, 2008 10:32:07
I am disgusted at how you use reverse psychology to incite racial hatred. Mansor Puteh cleverly disguised his writings with a veil of deception claiming "not an emotional" issue to champion racial discord. I hope the authorities will invite you to explain yourself. Our politicians have screwed up two generations of bright and brilliant citizens depriving them the opportunities available to them had they been proficient in English. Do you truly believe many local varsity grads would be able to spout the above garbage as well as you did?
written by densemy, December 17, 2008 10:34:30
Love or hate, the sooner you realise that BM is a language doomed to extinction the better. But Malays and Malaysians are not terribly good at predicting the future

The fact that people hate BM or M is simply a reflection of the fact that Malays( particularly) and Malaysians( generally) are amongst the world's great haters

I dont know where you got all that naive nonsense about Japanese, Chinese and Iranians developing a space program based on their own language. The vast majority of the published information on space travel/research would have been written in either Russian or English. Haven't you heard of the concept of translation
written by cheekhiaw, December 17, 2008 10:36:11
If the Japanese, Iranians and Chinese can achieve great scientific heights with their own languages, does it not mean that language is not the issue but something else? Perhaps, you should sit some great thinkers on that topic on a sofa and hear what they have to say.

If one is so cock-sure one's formula (whatever it may be) to scientific greatness would work, one only need to follow it to achieve greatness. The world would then be admiring you and follow your great insights.

If you can read others' minds, you should go read the minds of all the great thinkers and discoverers living today and steal their upcoming great achievements for yourself, your race and your country.

Why live off handouts from those who steal from others in ways much less impressive than mind reading?

written by temenggong, December 17, 2008 10:36:28
Alamak Mansur,

Obviously you are not a good psychologist! Nobody hates bahasa melayu or the orang melayu. It's just that we have no use for the bahasa melayu other than conversing in the market. We only need to know 500 words in bahasa melayu just to converse with the folks in the market! We don't need 'O' Levels in bahasa. Get it?
written by cheekhiaw, December 17, 2008 10:39:34
Oh, left out saying all that was just another way of calling you an idiot. If you want other ways of doing it, you can always ask again.

written by Ken Liew, December 17, 2008 10:41:37
Its not about using Bahasa Melayu or English or even chinese/Tamil~!!

Its all about the education system have been polluted by POLITIC. Thing are changed too frequested, and it's out children thats suffer!!! The issue have not past its adapt season yet.~!!

Just jump into cold water and then Hot water, after that back to the cold water. See how you suffer.... The IMMATURE thinking of the Education Mini-sir, is what making the problem worst~!!
written by krising1, December 17, 2008 10:46:43
Mnasor White, you again!

You went to study in an American University and not locally or in Indonesia. Is it because you hate Bahasa Malaysia.

Ask Najib and Kerismuddin why they children are studying English and not Bahasa Malaysia. Ask any UMNOputra, Indiaputra or Chinaputra - why their children always go to an overseas English University. Mansor White, you bogus physcologists, the reason is economic. Which language gives you the best advantage? That is the only reason.

Of course for you it has been a waste. You do not even make enough to have a decent hair-cut. Feel sorry for you.
written by cheekhiaw, December 17, 2008 10:51:31
He went to the west and found that he couldn't read a single thing, not to say their minds. So he returned.

written by carribeanking7, December 17, 2008 10:53:25
Ah its Mansor Puteh yet again,

Your cognitive abilities are limited to levels of a lobotomised gnat, so it is pointless for me to go into longwinded specifics of yet another masterpiece of psychobable fabricated by you.

Bahasa Melayu has nowhere near the global reach of Chinese and Japanese language and even those have nowhere near the reach of English as the linguafranca of Science , matematics and Legal framework.

It has nothing to do with hating anything, just as those who protest the ISA are not haters of peace and stability.

About films , most malaysians of any ethnicity love P.Ramlee, not the current ones that insinuate heavy governments propoganda so scantily disguised.

Talking about psychology , I think you need to up your thorazine dosage, because you seem to exhibit the following symthoms

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Delusional disorder is a psychiatric diagnosis denoting a psychotic mental illness that involves holding one or more non-bizarre delusions in the absence of any other significant psychopathology (signs or symptoms of mental illness). In particular, a person with delusional disorder has never met any other criteria for schizophrenia and does not have any marked hallucinations, although tactile (touch) or olfactory (smell) hallucinations may be present if they are related to the theme of the delusion.

A person with delusional disorder can be quite functional and does not tend to show any odd or bizarre behavior aside from these delusions. "Despite the encapsulation of the delusional system and the relative sparing of the personality, the patient's way of life is likely to become more and more overwhelmed by the dominating effect of the abnormal beliefs". (Munro, 1999)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can expound much further on the fallacies of your dissertations but it would be pointless as it is not likely that you will be able to dechiper it so I will stop here.

Takalamu 'alannas biqadar 'uqulihem (Prophet's saying found in Bukhari)
meaning speak to the people according to the level of their understanding"

You could however walk your talk, and translate you article to Bahasa Malaysia, so that I can reply you while showing off my grasp and prowess of the Malay language while educating pro UMNO folk who have problems understanding English but swallow propoganda of Malays under siege wholesale.

Salam mesra

written by LKO, December 17, 2008 10:56:40
But the scientists in China studied everything in Mandarin and yet they were still able to develop their space programs and successfully sent their ‘taikonauts’ to outer space without hitching a ride on space crafts produced by the Russians or Americans.

By the way, the Chinese bought the technology, lock, stock and barrel from Russia lah! They modified a bit, but still basic Russian (or more correctly Soviet) technology.

So, still tumpang technology altough a bit of modification.
written by ahmadnavi, December 17, 2008 10:58:56
It is astounding what one can come up with to present his point of view. With a population of about 26 million of which probably 90% are proficient or close to proficient in Bahasa Malaysia ( allowing 10% for those of the older generation who did not have the opportunity of an education in the language), we have not even reached the stage of proper R & D in many fields except perhaps research in rubber and oil palm. Even the setting up of a halal vaccine needed the incorporation of a foreign company and that too have till date not succeeded in a single research program except waste the public fund of more than RM1 billion.
The main reason I would say would be the incessant clamour for the use of Bahasa Malaysia for everything without giving thought to its limitations.
Comparing with China too does not make sense. The Chinese were way ahead of the World in many aspects, the west learned the use of gun powder, the magnet and others from the Chinese. Is it surprising that they are able to advance faster then the rest of Asia now.
Copying is an art of learning. 50 to 60 years ago, the Japanese copied everything western. They than worked to improve on it and are today leading the world in automotive and electronics. Like wise the Chinese copied and are still copying a lot of the western technology and are learning from this. Given a few more years, they will lead the World. Criticising copying the west will not take us far. We have to learn from copying too.
Advancements in technology has been fastest in English. Thus teaching Science and Mathematics in English is a positive step towards keeping up with the latest technological advancement. I wonder if Mr. Mansur has ever found any worthwhile information website in Bahasa Malaysia.
Even Indonesia, who had shunned English for years, is encouraging its population to take up the English language as to be abreast with the rest of the World.
written by mikewang, December 17, 2008 10:59:51
"But the scientists in China studied everything in Mandarin and yet they were still able to develop their space programs and successfully sent their ‘taikonauts’ to outer space without hitching a ride on space crafts produced by the Russians or Americans.

They did all of that in Mandarin and nothing in English."
==================================

Mansor,

The Malay language is not Chinese nor Russian.
With a large population base, they have the cultural and linguistic momentum over many centuries and evolved as modern and dynamic languages.

So you can either be stupidly nationalistic or intelligently pragmatic.

How can you develop a country when the government blindly gives handouts to more than half the population at the expense of the minority ?
written by truthbespoken, December 17, 2008 11:04:23
Mansor Puteh,

There you go again! I know you tried but somehow when it comes to the crunch, the real issues, you will always slide into the 'other zone'. It could be due to a defeatist upbringing, never getting things right or even in the proper perspective along the way. Sorry but I gotta say it.

For crying out loud, how could anyone in his right mind say Malaysians don't love Malaysians? Only those Malaysians, those UMNOputras who refused to be Malaysians but to remain Malays, would offer this unkind perspective of Malaysians in general. How could it be otherwise? We are one country and everyone is looking forward to her growth and progress for the good of all.

There is no unity now because Malaysia has lost her soul. Many Malaysians are still refusing to be Malaysians and behave as Malaysians should. They have been thoroughly brainwashed over the last three decades to go by sectarian needs and do not accept reality that even our Malay education system had all gone awry and needed to be revamped.

Mansor Puteh, no, you are deadly wrong. Malaysians do love and care for other Malaysians. Only people with your thinking won't make good things work. You fail to see the bigger picture for all Malaysians and her long term needs. Why don't you try the next time around to look at issues from another angle, in a pragmatic manner and see how people will respond to you, or rather, to real proper issues? So far, you don't sound smart to many MT readers.
written by CitizenBodohland, December 17, 2008 11:04:30
Entah apa-apalah hang tulis ni Mansor. Jangan-jangan hang ni yang nak kena jumpa pakar saikologi. Hang ni tiba-tiba fobia kata orang semua benci Bahasa Melayu dan Melayu. Siapakah gerangan mereka ini yang membenci? Hang tak sebut pun? Mungkin "orang-orang halimunan" yang wujud dalam imaginasi hang kot?

Yang aku tak paham, pasal apa tiba-tiba hang kata semua ini bersangkut-paut dengan saikologi. Aku tak benci pun Bahasa Melayu dan Melayu. Pokok pangkalnya, belajar sains dan matematik dalam bahasa apa pun tak kisah, sebab yang penting ialah konsepnya mudah difahami. Bahasa paling memudah-cara bagi sebarang pembelajaran sudah tentu ialah bahasa ibunda masing-masing. Namun demikian, bolehkah kerajaan membenarkan murid-murid memilih? Kalau kerajaan mahu pembelajaran menggunakan Bahasa Inggeris, kerajaan harus memastikan semua murid-murid pandai berbahasa Inggeris terlebih dahulu, tetapi ini akan memakan masa dan kos. Melihat kepada keadaan semasa, selagi tiada satu garis panduan yang boleh mengintegrasikan semua aliran pembelajaran, keadaan status quo adalah yang terbaik.

Saya lihat tiada kena mengena dengan saikologi pun. So, I hate it when you claimed you can read people's minds, when in actual, you can't even read mine and many others... Mamakthir kata itu apanama...saikologis haprak!!! kahkahkah..
written by The dragonheart, December 17, 2008 11:12:46
Malaysian are true copy cats...

They more Proud than Pride...

They are shame of they own in front of others...

They speak Malaysian English with fellow Malaysian but suddenly change their slang when they speak with western English speaking people (read: Mat Salleh)...Too proud to befriend with the Mat Salleh but the mat salleh always look down at Malaysian as a stupid people... Many big corporations still believe employing Mat Salleh as their CEO or Consultant because they believe these mat salleh are smarter race and majority Malaysian themselves feel that they are inferior and need to bow to these mat salleh.

written by The dragonheart, December 17, 2008 11:14:42
they are "more" Proud than Pride

written by Arubin, December 17, 2008 11:15:21
Adoi...another long-winded article. Let me save everyone the trouble and summarize all of his current and future articles:

bla bla bla...Malays rule!...bla bla bla...hidup Melayu!...bla bla bla...Why can't Chinese and Indians be more Malay?...bla bla bla...
written by Tlau, December 17, 2008 11:18:56
English by way is the most common language in communication. Imagine our KLIA control tower speaking Bahasa Melayu to the pilots from all over the world, then we will have the most air crash disaster in the world - probably made it to the Guiness World of Records ( which Malaysia always like to boast about ).

Language used in the airport control tower is in English - mind you Mansor White. Therefore scientific or mathematic aeronautical terms are still in english.
written by asiseesit, December 17, 2008 11:19:47
mansur puteh,

how about studying bahasa malaysia in english?
written by cheekhiaw, December 17, 2008 11:24:19
dragonheart,

You are very sharp. You should start some big corporations and start employing all of us that do not hold the whiteman up.

Can always start with Mansur Putih. He can read our minds for you.

written by Lembing, December 17, 2008 11:26:31
Hi.... MANSOR the racist BIGOT WORM,

You claimed that you had studied psychology and sociology at college in Shah Alam BUT THE QUESTIONS ARE:- DID YOU PASSED THESE TWO SUBJECTS and WERE YOUR LECTURERS in these two subjects qualified to teach??

IS IS THE SAME WITH YOUR MASTER DEGREE IN WHICH YOU WERE JUST A DROP OUT??
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 17, 2008 11:29:42
As the situation stands in Malaysia, our students can hardly speak nor understand the English language. If Maths & Science are taught in BM, how the hell are they going to continue these studies in institution of higher learning which are most definitely not in BM? Our University standard is not that impressive and where the hell can we get decent professors who are fluent and can lecture in BM?

BM as the medium of instruction is good for those whose education aspiration and excellence does not go beyond Malaysia. We do not have Malay scientist of world caliber nor can we expect to win any noble prizes for science. Come to think of it, most so-called Malays holding important post in government (like the bank governor, finances, in the UN, etc) are more than likely to be educated in an English medium institution of higher learning. Now the Americans even have an American Chinese as their Secretary of science in their President elect Obama administration. Is this an indication that perhaps the Chinese race has a better grasp in science & mathematics?

Teaching medium in BM is nationalistic, and that’s as far as it goes. Other languages (like English, French, German, Chinese, Japanese) have hundreds and thousands of years in being written & teaching in that language. In this present day and age, to advance BM as an international language is just a little too late, while the alternative written language of Jawi has lost its chance with the fall of the Ottoman Islamic empire. Indian Sanskrit was not taken up by influential powers of the day and so is limited to the country of origin in usage.

To say, Quote: “The reason being, they wanted to develop their own space programs by using their own national language while we in Malaysia also want to do the same and also to develop the country by taking the easy way out, by using English…” is rather idiotic as these countries have their own written languages for hundreds & even thousands of years while the written BM existed only in the last 100 (?) years and only promoted as a medium of instruction some thirty odd years ago. It’s not a matter of taking the “easy way out” but rater, at the rate of the new information technologies advances, the likelihood of being left behind in the fast pace economy. Developing our “own terms” (for words in sciences) is relatively easy, but the problem crops up when the ever newer terms keep pooping up and those long winding Latin words that scientists seem to be so fond of. In the end, we will find ourselves reverting to spelling these scientific words in BM which will become rather confusing.

The writer claim of “hatred of BM and Malayu” is being delusional and, yes, extremist view too. The “psychological issue” is all in his narrow minded head as nobody “hates” BM or any language for that matter. It’s simply a matter of a better choice for present day circumstances. Indeed, if a technology is of a higher standard or desirable, we have to adapt our language skill be it in English, German, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, and even BM. But the sad fact remains that we have not much to offer that’s desirable to the world that is in BM. And until that day comes, we Malaysian will have to master the English language which we are more familiar with from our English colonial era.

If our last colonial master was China, we would be writing in Chinese instead of English!
written by patycy, December 17, 2008 11:32:40
"But the scientists in China studied everything in Mandarin and yet they were still able to develop their space programs and successfully sent their ‘taikonauts’ to outer space without hitching a ride on space crafts produced by the Russians or Americans"

I find your statement completely irresponsible. Russians have been providing technological assistance for Chinese in various areas, including military and space programs. So based on your "fact", the Russians have to learn Mandarin?

http://www.space.com/news/russia_china_010910.html

Dalian, one of the biggest outsource hub in China, they are learning Japanese, English language and speak fluently. Reason being, Japan and English speaking countries are the biggest outsourcing source in Dalian.

And tell me, wasn't China a copycat until they crawl out from that phase and starts innovation, same goes to Japan.

Open your eyes and mind. The world is larger than you perceive.
written by cahaya, December 17, 2008 11:33:14
Educationally, the specialists who met in 1951 under the sponsorship of UNESCO unanimously agreed that the mother tongue was the best language for literacy. They also strongly recommend that the use of mother tongue in education be extended to as late a stage as possible. But in a multicultural nation like Malaysia, it is helpful to learn one another's languages, not only to communicate with one another but to build relationships. So Malaysians should learn two or more local languages (mother tongue and a few world languages).

When it comes to mathematical skills and scientific concepts, students need more than good language skills to read the textbook and understand what it says. Curriculum designers are increasingly aware that not all students learn science and mathematics in exactly same way. Some students do not like a verbal, abstract style of learning. They prefer familiar tactile and visual stimuli. While others are the opposite.

If the Malaysian education system is unable to produce students (and graduates) who are good in science and mathematics, then perhaps we should change the curriculum and method of instruction (a more multisensory approach) rather than the medium of instruction (language used to teach). We also need to train better teachers.

[Neither a psychologist or sociologist, but a retired scientist with postgraduate qualifications in three different disciplines.]
written by san amin, December 17, 2008 11:34:35
you're not that bright, are u? but i still do enjoy reading your piece of shit. U should be on t.v (comedy)
written by patycy, December 17, 2008 11:34:51
Anyway, missed out a link from my previous post.

http://www.cbfeature.com/site/news/dalian_becomes_the_new_outsourcing_destination/

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 17, 2008 11:42:53
One other thing I forgot to mention! One of our former Agong (now deceased, may Allah have mercy on his soul)was terrible in BM...even worse off than mine! So, how can one "hate BM & Malayu" as the writer claims? We use BM out of necessity and because of our heritage. Other than that, we use English for our survival.

Does that makes me, and that Agong, less "Malay" or having a “hatred” of BM? I don’t think so!
written by Dominic, December 17, 2008 11:50:21
ha ha ha ha this guy Just trying to keep FANNING the Racial thing using some kind of reverse Pshchology. I may like Bahasa and Malay to a certain extend but I ain't going to sacrifice my life, livelihood defending it. In fact I may defend a malay but I will not defend Bahasa Malaysia. One is a language the other Human. So please writing and continue to Insult YOUR OWN INTELLIGENCE MANSOR......

we await with eagerness your next UMNO Racist sponsored Rubbish.......

Let me Guess Islam = Born Malay.....or Malaysia Ruled by non malay when the army and police Force is 95% malay......ha ha ha...... 8 Sultan & 1 Illegitimate Sultan in Negeri 9..... smilies/grin.gif
written by Lembing, December 17, 2008 11:50:34
MANSOR,

If you can read people's minds, please explain why no publisher wants to publish any of your books. Also, why didn't FINA employ you ?? WHY didn't "anyone who is of any high standing" (using your own words) wants to assist you in launching your so-called books of yours??
23 years into the film industry and no titles (eg DATUK) when most Malays of any importance have been awarded??
You miserable failure and now you are trying to ignite your career with writing all these racists articles.
written by panca, December 17, 2008 11:56:17
I hate to say this. This is a psychological issue, not an emotional one. And in this regard I want to ask where are our psychologists? Are they still sleeping?

If the psychologists have been sleeping and experiencing a mid-life crises of their own, I want them to wake up and shake it off and offer your ‘expert’ views or else I will make the attempt to analyze what’s really wrong with the country.

I had studied psychology and even sociology way back at college in Shah Alam and it can still be handy.

En Mansur White,

Wow, that's great analytical brain you got there! You seemed to tell that you are A psychologist in some way...."like it can still be handy", not so, probably a psychotherapist, maybe!

Oh we don't hate Bahasa Melayu and Melayu, that's nothing to hate, we even love their food. Satay, Asam Laksa, Nasi Lemak, Lontong and the Malay likes Yong Tau Foo, Chee Cheong Fun and other multiculcural dishes. We all hate those who are gutless to be open and play racial and religious issues. Those whose brains are clogged even refused to seek medication when diagnosed!

BTW, there are two types of psychotherapist, the one proper on the profession and the other, psycho-the-rapist! Wonder which?
written by borneoman, December 17, 2008 12:08:49
This issue is really nothing more than the expression that has so far been suppressed by the actors, who do not dare say that they hate Bahasa Melayu or Bahasa Malaysia. And they are using science and mathematics to express this hatred.
stupid mansor,
I AM NOT AN ACTOR AND I DARE SAY I HATE BAHASA MALAYU OR BAHASA MALAYSIA!GET IT?
unless you step into a dayak shoes you will never know what it is like to be a non malay.i hate malays because they forced us to learn and master their language and if we dont get a good credit in their bahasa malayu they will never consider us for promotions,pay raise,etc.everthing there is to gain in a career depends soley on bahasa malaysia.can you imagine a very good english educated specialist doctor having to sit and pass ptk examinations in bahasa mlayu?why does a civil servant need to have a credit in bahasa melayu in order to be confirmed as a parmanent civil servant? there are many other reasons apart from the few stated above for non malays to hate bahasa malayu.IT IS NOT JUST MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE,U STUPID MORON TUAN MALAYU MANSOR!
written by ahmadneil, December 17, 2008 12:09:59
Here, our sole ‘angkasawan’ wants to have everything easy. He has so far not yet introduced a term in Malay that we can use. He is a copycat astronaut.

He is only a space tourist and he use the rakyat's money,US$ 30 million.Now he is in trouble for charging RM 8,000 per hour,just to tell his space story.He shouldn't charge us but should repay by teaching the students about space exploration.
written by apasalahku, December 17, 2008 12:10:09
why is MT still publishing articles by this douche-bag?
Even a news portal ought to have a little of quality control you know
written by middlepath, December 17, 2008 12:12:57
I do not hate any bahasa, I dont have to and I do not think many people hate this or that language, the language itself is innocent, and it is his right to hate, but then, why ? We human should respect each others, and we do not have to resort to hate, even neutral is ok. Well, we should cherish the diversity we have, and in comparing to the Japanese and the China, or any other ocuntry in this world, well, it is not a big deal to compare, as no such thing as comparable, well, I think diversity is a strength, I believe, many people, overseas people, American, China people, Japanese, and HongKee, etc, European, many people that have exposed to us malaysian or Singaporean, they envy our situation, as they see the diversity and our Ability in multilingual is a strength and advantage, they envy as they are in a singular world and they have difficulty learning foreign language, generally most of the people in china or Japan or Vietnam even Thailand, do not speak well in english, but then, they are improving, as the globalization.
Hence, we all malaysian, must wake up, to ensure, we have the right perspective, i.e. to make sure, all of us Malaysian, enjoy and cherish the diversity, we are unique, we should learn and make sure our English is well, and then, we should enjoy ability to learn to speak well the Bahasa Malaysia, the Mandarin, or the Tamil. It is a advantage, we should :
a) allow to learn english, Mandarin, Tamil, Bahasa, so that we are capable
b) English for Math and science is good, for secondary onwards,
c) I think start the math and science in english is also good, for us, even in the primary school.
d) we should allow the mother tougue for them in primary school.

We all, should have good manner, good virtue, and wisdom in dealing with the inter racial, and inter religious matter, so we all must face the reality of the globalization.
we should project a system that is progressive and global view to make our kids that is global in outlook and capability, no longer racial issue, so we are not like China or Japan, we are still very small, hence, we should like Singapore,
make sure we are able to command english for knowledge sake, then, we should learn other language to make us better, as we are diversify and we should make sure we live up to that advantage.
dont politicize, dont make it a racial issue. use our wisdom, add value to our kids, add value to our society, dont use hatred to treat this kind of subject. my 2 cents worth.
written by 98PercentPrimate, December 17, 2008 12:15:12
Yes, no psychologist in Malaysia is able to do it, but I CAN. And I am saying it NOW!

With merely a scratch of psychology at college in "Shah Alam" and you had the cheek to make such a grandiose conclusion. Any research papers or merely delusional conjectures.

Note the famous quote; "A little knowledge is a dangerous thing" is relevant in this case. It is likely that you are suffering from some sort of megalomania and delusion of grandeur.

Infact you should personally see a psychiatrist yourself to study your own mind, instead of calling for a psychologists to comment on a such a wide ranging multi-variate subject on the usage of English for science and mathematics.

written by monstercat, December 17, 2008 12:23:53
Arrogant to the hilt! All rantings are just his opinions and speculations, yet he gives the impression that it's a fact based on empirical survey!

Oh yes, most Malay movies & films are not to the quality I expect. I'd rather spend the time to watch an English movie which I can understand & relate to. Isn't stupid to ensure that your patriotism is enhance by enduring a Malay movie? No offence, but these are matters of preferences, stupid! Same thing goes to Chinese movies, those 6pm Hokkien series & some Cantonese movies. I'm chinese but I still hate some of them. Not because they are Malay or Chinese movies, stupid!

Who made you Mansor Puteh king & made it a fact that whoever hates BM hates the Malays??? Our Malays in Sarawak do not speak BM!!! Some also don't like to speak BM, that's why when they go Semenanjung, they speak English to you Mansor Puteh!
written by Delima25, December 17, 2008 12:24:06
Mansor, you are accusing others of hating Bahasa Melayu when I think you should be exploring why the "elite" Malays are ashamed of their own language or have no confidence in its acceptability. Why are the Menteri-Menteri from UMNO harping on the Bahasa issue while many of them send their children for an English education.
Why are more and more English words undergoing mutilation and claimed to be Bahasa Melayu words. Why were the original Malay words for famili, biologi, visi, misi, innovasi, teknologi, situasi etc gradually discarded for all these words which are obviously English in origin. Why are the Malays ashamed of the original words which are so special. Have these people who imported these words taken into account that many mak cik and pak cik in the kampungs cannot understand very many of the terms that are currently in use.
Mansor, no body hates the Malays, they are the ones who showed their insecurity when they brazenly adopt English words when there are the original Malay equivalent to use. They are probably ashamed of our beautiful language, Bahasa Melayu. In its original form before it was bastardized with the rojak of English and other languages, Bahasa Melayu was beautiful and reading pantun and sajak etc was a sheer joy. What has Dewan Bahasa Dan Pustaka got to say?
written by drabdulwahid, December 17, 2008 12:27:08
bahasa kebangsaan kan bahasa melayu. bahasa melayu mesti dikuasai dengan baik. bahasa Inggeris bahasa internasional pun mesti dikuasai dengan baik. bahasa2 lain pun mesti dipelajari sama.

jika hak anda sebagai rakyat malaysia anda tuntut dan anda perjuangkan, mengapa bahasa kebangsaan yang termeterai dlm perlembagaan diperkecilkan. jika rakyat sendiri memperkecilkan bahasa bangsa malaysia, maka siapa lagi yg akan mempertahankan bahasa kita?

anda mempertahankan hak anda.anda cina, anda india, anda iban, anda kadazan. kita semua punya satu bahasa yg sama, bahasa malaysia. mengapa tidak sama2 dipertahankan bahasa ini dan dikuasai dgn baik?
written by Daryl, December 17, 2008 12:28:22
Encik Mansur
I think majority of the people here are proud of their knowledge of Bahasa Melayu or Malaysia. No one hate them but only the minority people like you with narrow mind think like this. I don't hate Malay or Bahasa Melayu in fact I am proud that I can write and read in Bahasa Melayu. But, I do hate Malaysian like you narrow minded and with low self esteem about your own (or our) language.
written by Apek, December 17, 2008 12:28:25
Dear Mansor Puteh,

You don't even blush. "Ability to read others' mind....." kononnya .... Really, Mansor, you give yourself too much credit.

As always, you are just full of yourself. You and your political masters choose to politicise this matter to the detriment of Malaysians. The lingua franca of the world is "English". Research is in English. Business is in English. Contracts and agreements are all in English. It is not "Malay". Hence, it is prudent that our students have a strong grasp of the language that will allow them their fullest potential.

According to you, you have applied your much touted knowledge and 'critical mind' to the situation. But the results are quite disappointing. .... Nobody hates Malays or the Malay language. It is the politicians who have politicised language that have crippled our young (a whole generation of Malays included) that we must learn hate (and remove in the next general election).

You on the other hand... well, as I said, you are just full of yourself.

written by monstercat, December 17, 2008 12:37:17
And why do you think the other races are not that lovey-dovey with BM??? My assumption is that the other races relate BM to the Malays. I'm not being nasty here, just trying to share from my perspective WHY, OH WHY BM is still facing such problems.

Would you cheer & look-up to Marion Jones & Ben Johnson when they won their respective titles, knowing full well when you were cheering on that they have plenty of help from drugs? Would you respect that Chinese fellow who won the 20km marathon running on smooth surface while the other runners were made to run on very uneven surface? Would you want to associate yourself with that ugly Chinese fellow who won the Model of the Year XXXX because the event was held in China & the judges were pressured to give him a win?
written by Jeffrey, December 17, 2008 12:38:20
ha, you said you studied psychology and socialogy? And you can read mind? The only conclusion i got after reading your article is "This is absolute a piece of rubbish writing". I asked my 14 yrs old son read it and half way he said, "Not worth reading and go back to his magazines".

Who are you and where are you from anyway? You are so so so "yesterday"!! Open your eyes and ears, man, look hard into the world, and into our country. If you dont have any constructive or positive things to say, just keep your mouth shut. Nobody will say you are deaf and dumb and complaint about your bad mouth smell. So, do yourself a favor, just SHUT UP!

PSky - puffinsky.********.com
written by Jan, December 17, 2008 12:47:24
Mansor Puteh,
Whatever gave you the notion we hated the Malays and their language? Is it because you knew the Malays have wronged the non Malays that's why the non Malays should rightly hate them. Don't be a self-appointed apologist, we don't hate nobody. We are only practical and we only want to learn the most practical and acceptable languages, befriend/hire/deal with the most non hostile and efficient people. They do include your race and language you know.
But your people continuosly call us pendatangs, wave kerises in our faces and tell us legitimate citizens to get lost and you expect us to embrace you lovingly??
written by Malaysiaputra, December 17, 2008 12:48:18

====

Aw, Mansur Puteh, you have been spitting out our medicine again ?.
written by non conformist, December 17, 2008 13:08:35
Mansur Puteh,

If you are not blind, but capable of some sight... just look around a minute.
Look at the 'elite' Malays in this nation... one common characteristic of these Malays is their mastery and proficiency in English.

The Malays are in fact the greatest haters of their native language... Look at all those elite and rich Malays... where do they send their children for education? They sent them to exclusive international Mat Salleh school here and then to universities overseas... mostly on scholarship financed by tax-payers money.

I am ashamed FOR BEING ABLE TO SPEAK AGAINST BLATANT HYPOCRISY OF SUCH MALAYS. They oppress their own kind by keeping them only proficient in the Malay language... and cripple and handicap them... and doomed them economically... in order to enslave them to perpetuate their political power.

BLOODY HYPOCRITE - DOGMANsur Puteh Hitam.
written by non conformist, December 17, 2008 13:13:46
Mr Mansur Putih,

Do you know that most Chinese and Indians are PROFICIENT in Bahasa Melayu?

But how many Malays are proficient - read and write and converse - in the Chinese language?

What is hating what language? Who is trying SO HARD to find ways and means to destroy the language of another ethnic group? Who?

Who is filled with hate?
written by apa jadi, December 17, 2008 13:21:54
Huh? Now trying to monger hate?? What has gotten into you nowadays?

Please note that they are not BM haters or Melayu haters. They are kiasus. Simple isn't it??

Like you a lot of people read other's mind. Just that you have misread. It will be bad if you are a psychologist. I not only read psychology, I read faces too...hehehe. I have a book entitled "The crisis of psychoanalysis" in front of me. A bit of psychoanalysis of your face over the net indicate that you suffer "head wind" syndrome....hehehe...Btw, were you in Zainal Abidin's HeadWind band??...hehehe.
written by batsman, December 17, 2008 13:24:14
I can introduce a new term - Bolehnaut - someone who charges RM8000 for a lecture.
written by batsman, December 17, 2008 13:25:52
Melayu are good people so long as they do not take this Ketuanan thing too seriously.
written by Oscar Winner, December 17, 2008 13:32:13
Will Mr Puteh kindly answer the following 2 simple questions:-

(1) Umnoputras and rich Malays enrol their children in private or international schools, overseas colleges and universities.... because they find the standard of BM is better there??

(2) Close to 80,000 malays in primary schools and Chinese independent secondary schools....because their parents find the standard of BM is better in these schools?

Read your UNMO masters' minds first. You got no right to read our minds.
written by Amy Chan, December 17, 2008 13:38:16
Isn't it funny that this guy who accuses other people of hating Bahasa Melayu is writing his article in ENGLISH! Do you hate Bahasa Melayu yourself?
Other than language, you need BRAIN and HARD WORK to do well in science and mathematics!

written by kedahan63, December 17, 2008 13:43:22
Yo Mr White! I don't hate BM, just Melayus like you who think they're the only ones worthy of inheriting the world smilies/angry.gif. English is a global language along with Spanish, french, etc (think colonies, hence the language) China was locked out from the rest of the world for nearly 40 years by Mao then Deng; hence they had to learn everything in Mandarin, copy & translate whatever they don have from the original language into mandarin. Same applies to the Russians/USSR years! I had lots of Malay friends with whom I've lost touch (more of personal character rather than choice, I don network not maintain contacts well) and so did my parents (most of their friends have passed away). In fact, I think I understood BM or at least colloqial BM better than I did english as a child. Sure, Anwar had said, during in his tenure as Ed Minister, that BM was used by half the world during Hang Tuah's time (where is he anyway in our history books?). What he probably negelected to say was it was only used by the sea faring traders to and from Melaka. The Mainland Chinese, Arabs and other ancient trading countries can and probably should stake a similar claim! Hang Tuah & gang might be chinese but they put their lives on the line and gave their services to the Sultan/s of their time!
written by Lembing, December 17, 2008 13:44:27
This MANSOR must be a genius. Just study one unit of Psychology in College some 25 years ago, and he claims to be better than Malaysia's fully qualified and experienced Psychologists.

This is not only an insult to Malaysia's qualified Psychologists but also to every universities of the world who offered Psychology degree and Postgraduate Psychology degree.

This idiot, MANSOR is making a TOTAL FOOL of himself and HE DOES NOT EVEN REALISE IT.
written by Milo, December 17, 2008 13:50:33
The very basis of enabling practical and speedy technological transfer or advanced technical learning requires English because it is now a global language, and of which books on these research are based on. The other alternative language is German and Japanese, which are out of question for us. If I were the government, I will just revert to English as a main medium of instruction in School, while making Bahasa Malaysia a compulsory subject to get say a SPM. This ensure the importance of Bahasa as a national language is preserved and we get what we need in the technological field. This is of course if we really want to progress. There is simply no other more practical solution in sight if we want speedy progress. It is plain common sense! This will not happen because Politics had poisoned everything!
written by alarcarte, December 17, 2008 14:00:32
I HATE IT FOR BEING ABLE TO READ PEOPLE'S MINDS!)

Wah! You can read people minds and you hate it. I "TABEK" you! You better go commit suicide now, for being able to read people minds can really make you go cuckoo...

Let me tell you something, your father and mother are real Malays haters for they who are the ones who send you for an English education, if they really love the Malays, they should give you Malay education only.

If you love Malays so much, please don't comment and write in English in M.T.

written by Racheljansz, December 17, 2008 14:07:11
They did all of that in Mandarin and nothing in English.

Wrong, they did that using US dollars, and providing launch data which both have English written on it.

Please get your facts Right.
You are spoiling this website 99% of rumours are true!

http://www.cnn.com/2008/CRIME/11/17/china.us/
A Chinese-born U.S. physicist and businessman pleaded guilty Monday to bribing Chinese space program officials and illegally providing U.S. space launch data to the Beijing government.
Shu Quan-Sheng, 68, of Newport News, Virginia, admitted his role before a federal judge in Norfolk. Authorities said the naturalized citizen had been the subject of a FBI counterintelligence investigation from 2003 to 2007.

Under the plea deal, Shu admitted he had on three occasions offered bribes totaling nearly $200,000 on behalf of a client firm that ultimately won a $4 million contract.
Shu also pleaded guilty to illegally exporting to the People's Republic of China technical data for design of a fueling system to be used to launch satellites and space stations into orbit.
He admitted separately providing to the Chinese government a document containing controlled military technical data on space launch instruments.
written by johntyc, December 17, 2008 14:37:31
Aku suka Awie, M.Nasir, Manbai dll (sorilaa, aku ni suka yg dulu). Bila nak pakai bahasa apa, ni aku punya sukalah, asalkan aku rasa sesuai. Mengapa Mansor ni tiba-tiba pulak nak tuduh ini, tuduh itu? Aku baca akhbar Melayu. Aku tengok berita Dunia Hari Ini (RTM TV1, 11mlm). Asalkan aku tak rasa boring, aku tengoklah. Tapi aku ni tak tengok berita Buletin Utama (TV3, 8mlm) lagi, maklumlah, pro kerajaan BN/Umno sangat dan berat sebelah. Aku tak benci kau Mansor, tapi aku sarankan kau pergi tengok doktor pakar sebab aku rasa kau ni psiko sikit!
written by arazak, December 17, 2008 14:41:12
Dear Mansor White,

English now is a global language. Bahasa Melayu are mainly spoken in the Malay Archipelago. Even the new Chinese generation in China are vigorously learning English to meet the global challenges. I am surprised you are still "cocooned" in your "tempurung ketuanan". If you wish to champion Bahasa Melayu, for starters, write your article in Malay than!

Are you saying that by just studying 1 semester of Psychology at ITM, Shah Alam made you a qualified psychologists that you can read our minds? Perhaps you are a "nujum" ("nujum Pak Belalalng" that is) that you are able to read our minds. You are far off tangent on what you think of us and what are in our minds. I for one do not hate Bahasa Melayu nor do I hate English. Heck!. . .I do not hate any languages. That is why I learnt and spoke French and Slavic languages. And I am learning to speak Arabic as well now. I cannot speak my "Bahasa Ketuanan" in this part of the world I am working now. Too bad, isn't it? But than, the Arabs here spoke English too, "suer-suer". Even though they spoke broken English I could still understand them. Likewise, if I spoke broken Arabic, they still could comprehend what I am saying and at times invited me for a cup of tea to show their appreciation of me knowing their language, "suer-suer" though. Unfortunately, they did not speak my "Bahasa Ketuanan" here. They spoke English instead. Does this implies anything to you?

Oh yes, you are still unable to read my mind. . ., by the way, I love Malay movies, especially P Ramlee's "Nujum Pak Belalalng"!

(Note; "suer-suer" in Arabic means very little, not much or slowly).
written by Tan Tan, December 17, 2008 14:47:20
What an extremist thinking!

Mansor said Japanese, Iranian and Chinese sent their ppls to western countries to study Maths and Sciences and then back to their own country and develop their own innovation and creativity in their mother tongue. (THIS I AGREED BECAUSE IT IS TRUTH)

When I was studying in Australia, a lot of my China chinese friends who doing their PHD are being sent to study at western country and back to own country to service the nation. (compulsory to go back)

HOWEVER, the problem with Malaysia is the MAJORITY of the Malays been sent to study overseas are not coming back to Malaysia and service (they are loving their western culture lifestyle so much and never coming back).

Second, majority of Malaysians who went overseas and study are NON-Malays and also most of them are not coming back to MALAYSIA as their too loving the western cultures.

So Mahathir knows this problem that majority Malaysians went overseas are NON-Malays and Malays being sent under scholarships might not come back.

That is why he wanna upgrade Malays MALAYSIAN by implement Maths and Sciences to be taught in English.

Our Maths and Sciences development in our country is really pathetic level and it is hard to be upgrade by doing what Japanese, Chinese and Iranian did in 1970s to 90s. So it is only wise to change the whole country by having everyone easily understand Maths and Sciences (which is being developed by Westerners).

So Mansor...why don't u see this thing in this view instead of accusing us hating Malays and BM?

If I really hate BM or Malays, we will already leave this country (which some of us did).

However, there are still millions of Non Malays in this country and loving it. So please dun simply accuse us. (DUN FITNAH)!

written by wes wong, December 17, 2008 15:03:13
Its very simple. Local universities are s***. What is the point of learning everything in Bahasa Melayu and then find that you can't get into a local uni? What happens is that you need to go to another country for studies. Are you telling me that we will all use the Malay terms that we learnt? Why not get a headstart?

The reason it has come down to this is because the quality of education has been failing so badly in these past few years. Why would Malaysians go overseas to study when they can do it at home for a fraction of the price?

Just because someone is opposed to your views does not mean hate. Or maybe it is just the way you are...CHILDISH!!! Have fun with your mind reading skills ( I think you've watched too much Heroes)
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 17, 2008 15:13:59
They did all of that in Mandarin and nothing in English

KACANG PUTEH OTAK, STILL TRYING TO SING THE DICTATOR'S VERSES?? HE TRIED TO DABLE IN MALAY AND MADE MORE DUNGUS IN THE AMENO GOMEN. THERE IS ALSO NOT MUCH IN TERMS OF GRAY MATTER AS FAR AS YOU ARE CONCERNED SO PLEASE, TAKE YR OPINIONS AND SHAFT IT UP YR BOTTOM.
written by kavidibaku, December 17, 2008 15:21:56
Japanese or chinese do not need to learn science or mathematics in English BECAUSE they, especially japanese have all the great technology on earth. But do we Malaysians equivalent to them. So, we cannot compete with them. From those days we always depend on developed nations for everything. So, the moral of the story is, BELAJAR MATH AND SAINS DALAM BI. Other subjects in the students' native language.
written by mountainking, December 17, 2008 15:22:17
mansor puteh, i know RTM and govt stations don't want to include you in and that's the reason you wanna bark and make a name in MT so that you can be noticed by UMNO and RTM how violently you defend malays, the language and culture (unfortunately is not from your heart).

if you want a job in entertainment world, i can connect you to ppl who can help you.

pls write to : This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by jjireh99, December 17, 2008 15:38:26
OMG! YOU ARE STILL AT IT! I STILL DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO SAY OR BRING ACROSS???? OKAY, I'LL BE MORE CONSTRUCTIVE THIS TIME AND WILL NOT BRUSH YOU OFF AS RUBBISH! BRIEFLY, NOBODY HATES TO SPEAK IN BAHASA. FOR A CHINESE, MY MALAY CAN BE CONSIDERED REASONABLY COMPREHENSIBLE. I LOVE THE MALAY LANGUAGE. BUT, I LOVE ENGLISH MORE. NOWADAYS, ALL THE BAHASA LANGUAGE ARE "SUDAH CAMPUR DENGAN BAHASA INGLISH". BAHASA SPELLINGS ARE ATROCIOUS! IN SHORT, IF YOU DON'T TEACH ENGLISH FROM YOUNG TO THE NEXT GENERATION, THEY CAN'T SPEAK PROPER ENGLISH, NEITHER CAN THEY UNDERSTAND WHAT OTHERS ARE TALKING ABOUT. THEY JUST CAN'T COMPREHEND! THERE ARE SO MANY TESTIMONIES TO THAT! SO, HOW CAN THEY COMPETE WHEN THEY GO OVERSEAS OR EVEN CONVERSE WITH FOREIGNERS/VISITORS FROM THE WEST? COME ON, THIS IS PLAIN SIMPLE LOGIC FOR CRYING OUT LOUD! LOOK AT INDIA EVEN CHINA. THEIR GOVERNMENT IS ENCOURAGING EVERYONE TO LEARN ENGLISH! NO WONDER MALAYSIA IS SO TERRIBLY LEFT BEHIND SAVE FOR A FEW!
written by renoir, December 17, 2008 15:47:45
All nations first copy, then innovate. Europe itself couldn't have conducted its worldwide voyages of discovery without the Chinese inventions of the compass and the ship's rudder. Nor, sadly, could they've wiped out native civilizations in the Americas and Australias and other parts of the world without innovations of the Chinese-invented gunpowder. Russian aeronautics took a quantum leap when the Soviets got hold of an old Rolls Royce engine, and the United States benefited from studying the Mig 15s shot down during the Korean War, as well as the Mig25 Foxbat flown by a Soviet defector (in Japan).

The US space program owes much to Germany's V2 program. After WW2 the Germans handed over their research papers to an American colonel named Tsien Hsueh-shen, the man most responsible for the setting up of the Guggenheim Jet Propulsion Institution at CalTech. The Chinese started their rocket research during the 50s, and had been sending up rockets and satellites about a decade before Nixon went to Beijing to establish diplomatic relations. This is not surprising, as Tsien had returned to China during the late 50s. There's no doubt that Americans had benefitted much from Tsien's contributions, so much so that decades later they decided to acknowledge this by awarding Tsien with a medal (brought to his hospital bed in Beijing). Spying on space secrets are conducted by all nations, including the United States, and only the naive (or propagandists) think only the Chinese or Russians do it.

And yes, the Chinese do use English for space specifications because they earn money through commercial launchings. But they still use Mandarin in their scientific institutes. Mansor Puteh is right in this.

written by Janaka, December 17, 2008 16:06:16
another retarded moron finding excuses promote RACIST issue. MOST OF US here don't hate some particular race or religion or language. What pissed the MALYSIAN the most in the bolehFland was FULLY ABUSED racist, religious, languages, cultures in according to the retarded corrupted way of evil life they were processing for almost more than 40 years. These retarded corrupted bastards took full advantages of Malaysian's goodwill to GAIN FULL retarded political polifuking mileage and later FULL gain to get the retarded corrupted elective position in the parliament.e.g. Am-no election on this Coming March! Once again these morons again will take FULL advantages of MORONLY abused to instigate the racist, religious, languages, etc issues to indirect/directly gain their retarded political polifuking mileage. At the same time these retarded morons also start ISA their opposition party members, marginalized voices of Malaysian and take another advantage to instigate FEAR to the public so that these morons can continue corrupt/drain/flush our nation's wealth in their "moronly legal way". English language is one of the best TOOL to GAIN FREEDOM!

Why should we hate Bahasa Malaysia, most of these root of this language were came from Sanskrit/Pali language, they have borrowed the root from these languages, e.g. Indo, Dua, Tiga, Mampus, Suka, Duka, Mati, Raja, Maha, Manusia, Pajang etc in fact, the Bahasa Malaysia we are having today is Bahasa ROJAK, it should be known as Bahasa Pendatang from INDIA. Nowsday many new words of oue Bahasa Pendatang came from English language! Why should we hate the Bahasa Pendatang after all most of us in this BolehLand ARE PENDATANG TOO! smilies/smiley.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/smiley.gif

(I HATE IT FOR BEING ABLE TO READ PEOPLE'S MINDS!) ...YOU CAN READ people's mind .... writing this kind of crap stuff! LOL GOT TO HELL, my dear moron!
written by pugster, December 17, 2008 16:14:48
Mansur,
Did it occur to you that 1)Russian Language has its own alphabets?
2)Tamil Language has its own too?
3) Japanese also has its own writings?
4) Chinese its own characters?
5) Arab its own too?
6)English also?
7)Bahasa Malaysia????? Talking about copy cat?
And now you are a psychologist? Untuk maklumat otak engkau ni,suku kaum di bolehland dapat bertutur dalam bahasa hanya kerana kita dapat meminjam alphabet dari bahasa lain!Mengerti ke? We have never rejected nor hate bahasa malaysia as your little brain perceived. My advice to you, you are seriously in need of psychological help! You are seeking attention constantly where you have lost other options elsewhere. Diagnosis: Puthalism - sudden rush of shit into the brain!
written by devious17, December 17, 2008 16:27:27
That mansor guy has uttered rubbish again, we dont hate malays, we dont hate the malay language but yes we hate umnoputras and their kind who are malays so get your mind cleared of umnoputra shit that they have been feeding you laa.

The rakyat of all races are in arms together fighting umno/bn so either you fight with us or you fight againts us.
written by doggone, December 17, 2008 16:30:58

Why don't you drop by Najib's residence. He might have a role for you soon. Make sure you grease yourself well.

written by gorshan, December 17, 2008 16:51:12
you do not need a psychologist to conclude that mansor puteh is a certified jerk.

the bumiputera policy is the reason the non Malays emphasized on the importance of the English language. to master Malay language but not English will be suicidal job wise as all public sector jobs are reserved for Malays/bumiputeras and in the cutthroat world of private sector poor mastery of English means to be jobless permanently.get rid of this apartheid policy and you will see non Malays making a bee line to enroll their kids in national schools.

i don't hate Malays or the Malay language(i mastered it) but i do hate jerks like mansor puteh who emphasized the importance of the Malay language but himself wrote this article in English to put across his two cents.

cakap bikin tak serupa ooii... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Janaka, December 17, 2008 16:57:58
but yes we hate umnoputras ..YES I forgotten this important POINT! I TELL U THIS ..FROM MY BUTTON OF MY HEART ..I ONLY HATE UMNOputras MCAputras and MICputras ..THESE are the RETARDED CORRUPTED MORONS of our beloved nation (BolehLand). We MUST GET RID OF THEM ASAP!
written by SamYap, December 17, 2008 17:15:41
Hehehe! This Mansur Puteh fella is doing his damndest to stir up a hornets nest. Unfortunately he is also hoist by his own petard. Imagine anyone who hates Bahasa Malaysia or even the Malays? In reality we don't hate any of the two as most of the above comments would attest to this fact.

Instead Mansur is filled with hatred for other races (or perhaps he would love to use the term 'orang asing') as is quite obvious from his other articles.

As for his claim that the taikonauts and other scientists in China conducting their work in Mandarin, I really wonder if that is a fact? I know for a fact that the computer software engineers in China speak and write good English. They may conduct their meetings in Mandarin but its always peppered with English computer terminology which is a very practical approach.

I know for a fact there are three Chinese physicists and two Indian software engineers who were sent for training in USA are very fluent in English. I cannot imagine these people would have learned anything if they spoke nothing else except Mandarin and Hindi.

I know for a fact that Mansur Puteh has a bee in his bonnet about this language issue because he doesn't even understand that the issue about teaching and learning Science & Maths in English is something which the government thinks is practical since almost all the advances made in those fields of study are from English speaking countries. The issue is whether the government can convince the rakyat - Malays, Chinese, Indians dan lln, that its a practical approach and nothing to do with race.

Mansur said he studied psychology in Mara, but he didn't say if he passed the paper with distinction, did he? His attempt to stir racial hatred is poorly disguised.

What an idiot!
written by Thambidoorai, December 17, 2008 17:19:40
MANSOR PUNDIK, Mansor Pundik...you are so pathetic...i just bruise meself falling off my chair laughing again.

As i have said times before: go hang yourself. Go ahead, it would be the best thing you ever did...that's provided you don't fail at it also.

Hehehehe...a 5-watt dimwit that can read mind!...ahahahahaha
written by cruzeiro, December 17, 2008 18:09:28
Mansur,
You've got serious problems, man -
how many times have I gotta tell you to wake up from your stupor?
Now, take a shower and and you'll be more presentable, okay....

Chuah,
It doesn't matter if the Chinese used Swahili or Mandarin to go to space - that isn't the issue here.
The issue here is the fact that a discredited delusional author of 60 books and an unwanted Finas critic is trying to make a name for himself through incitement.
written by renoir, December 17, 2008 18:15:02
Hahaha, that's funny, Rhan! Tsien was from Jiaotung University, Shanghai, and he'd no difficulty studying in English at MIT on a Boxer Rebellion scholarship. Here I must mention that the United States, unlike the European countries, behaved differently in that they had a conscience and tried to return the money extorted from China (because of the Boxer Rebellion) by giving scholarships to talented Chinese students. Tsien began to shine, however, when he went to CalTech where he established the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. If MacCarthyism didn't take hold of the US, Tsien might've contributed much more for that country (by the way Obama has just appointed Nobel Prize winner physicist Steven Chu as his science advisor, I think).

Tsien's design of an intercontinental rocket transport plane owed much from his study of the German V2 aerodynamics. His vertical-takeoff delta-winged rocketplane was supposed to carry ten passengers from New York to Los Angeles in 45 minutes. The plane, which was called "DynaSoar", was the ancestor of today's space shuttle.

written by KotaDamansara73, December 17, 2008 19:38:32
Mansor Puteh,

I love bahasa Melayu and I love orang Melayu. But what I love most is to see Khairy sodomise your ass.
written by InEffective, December 17, 2008 20:16:43
What an embarrassment to the malay intelligentsia - hey folks, this author does not represent the malay mind and talent.

If one were to build a case for the Malay language, you would start with:
- the strengths, benefits and advantages of using Malay in education (instead of this incessant coercion of other's languages)
- outline the efforts and initiatives that are being done to uplift learning in Malay
- evidences of talents, discoveries, and innovations done by folks who went through the malay language of instruction.
- cultural, social, and economic implications of adopting malay as the language of instruction with respect to our lives in Malaysia
- and celebrate the diversity of languages (its a huge advantage to a nation competing against bigger stronger more advanced nations)

Help folks open their minds with ideas (stop threatening them), and let them make good choices for themselves and their families.

The regular chinese, indian does not hate malays or BM. Prove the claims and assertions instead of coercing.
written by Xrap11, December 17, 2008 20:33:36
Brader Mansur,
Apa kecoh2? Saya dulu study itu subject jugak.
Tetiap implementation ada pro and con. This case, pro outweighed con by miles. Our vocabulary is much limited and most of the term will only get a few letter changed and became part of our vocab. Cakap jadi tunggang langgang sudah2 nanti tak tau yang mana bahasa kita yang mana tidak. Elok la tu pakai bahasa omputih. Sok nak belaja jejauh senang, ada training bahasa omputih, confident level tinggi, consistent terminology. Ada ke dalam bahasa kita Algebra, amoeaba, structure.. bla bla?? Jangan kalut bro.
http://gelamapisang.********.com
written by Qcumber, December 17, 2008 21:21:46
Before I start to comment, let me laugh first.. HAHAHAHAHAHA..! smilies/grin.gif

Sorry to say Bahasa Malaysia a.k.a Bahasa Melayu, can never be a medium in the scientific field, not in another 1000 year, I will tell you why:

Without refering to a kamus, pick the correct spelling, NENAS or NANAS, PENSEL or PENSIL.

51 years of MERDEKA, we still cannot be sure of the spelling of these two words. Wait till you dwell into its tatabahasa. smilies/grin.gif
written by cahaya, December 17, 2008 22:00:47
Encik Mansor, minta maaf kerana ulasan kami pagi tadi tak tepat.
Maksudnya begini. Kami memang menggemari Bahasa Malaysia dan bangsa Malaysia. Kecuali mereka yang bersikap angkuh, korap, mementingkan sendiri atau mengasingkan kaum lain. Adakalanya kami tak setuju dengan pandangan yang sempit, tak sempurna. Namun begitu, kami masih menghormati penulis pandangan tersebut dan membicarakan pandangannya.
written by Aming, December 17, 2008 22:48:16
Mr. White, please go see a doctor. Request that the good doc check your pressure and heart. Too much hatred is bad, very bad for your health.
Also get some tranquilizers to tame your mind which may go off the tangent anytime.
written by renoir, December 18, 2008 00:41:24
Cruz wrote:
>The issue here is the fact that a discredited delusional author of 60 books and an unwanted Finas critic is trying to make a name for himself through incitement.]]

Yeah, I know. That's why I said he was right "in this" - meaning not on other aspects he talked about. He's a rather poor writer ("poor" as in bad though he might also be impoverished) largely because of a lack of reading. So don't worry too much about him. He's quite harmless.

written by Nice n Simple, December 18, 2008 01:44:25
Salam sejahtera Tuan Mansor Psikolonajis bin Mr Whiteman,

Kalau nak tegur mereka yg tidak bersifat nasionalis, tulislah artikel saudara dlm Bahasa Malaysia. Napa plk nak pakai bahasa tumpangan?

YES! BM i not like use!! OK?? Can I face the consequences NOW??!!! Why dont u cum n whip ma sweet little butt cheeks for sayin that!!??

I also not too like to use Mandarin, Tamil, Tagalog, or Thai. So wat??

I only like to slurrrrr.... can or not??

So, Mr Self-Professed Psychologist from some Shah Alam kolej, if u so clever, then DON'T JUST SAY THAT U KNOW THEY DONT LIKE TO USE IT. TELL US WHY U TINK MALAYSIANS DONT LIKE TO USE IT? OR WATCH MALAY MOVIES, OR LISTEN MALAY SONGS...

Your arguments are so shallow the only reason MT keeps your posts around every now and then is to showcase to ALL how BLATANTLY STUPID SOME SHAH ALAM PSYCHOLOGy STUDENT CAN BE!!

Also, u kinda keep us entertained with your stupidity. Your articles briefly relieves me from the real problems we read in MT all the time, sort of like comic relief. You know that term 'comic relief'? I'm sure u do since u r a smart boy with psychology background.

I'm not going 2 waste too much of my time commenting on ur stupidity and lack of lateral thinking that could've given the topic a little more argumentative challenge, maybe u can take a few decades off to read up on ur psychology stuff and this time dont forget to pursue a little anthropology and natural history as well so that u r more up to our standard. Otherwise people like u will say that like me like to push u around.

Oh yeah, just one tip tho, I think u shd throw out all your Shah Alam Psikoloji books and try Malcolm Gladwell instead. Only one problem though, I think got no Bahasa Malaysia version.

So how aa? It's really good Psychology author, but written only in English la.

Can allow to read aa?? Ha ha ha.
written by AsamLaksa, December 18, 2008 18:38:06
MP: Welcome to my Psychology Mind Reading roadshow. I will display my talents to all. Anyone wants to volunteer a question?

Audience #1: Can you guess...

MP: Ach ach ach! You are using English to ask your question... means you have Bahasa Melayu. You also hate Malays. Yes, I can read your mind. You so hate all that is Melayu.

Audience #1: But I...

MP: Speak no more you Malay hater!

Audience #1: But you also speak...

MP: Don't start with excuses. I can read your puny mind. How many times must you witness my powers? You are so apa nama apa nama... whatever. I know all the evils in your mind. You cannot deny this. Am I right? Am I right?