Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Impose law and order on the JB Custom & Immigration Quarantine Complex

Impose law and order on the JB Custom & Immigration Quarantine Complex PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 December 2008 17:28
On Tuesday, the 16th of December 2008, the new Custom & Immigration Quarantine Complex (Bangunan Sultan Iskandar) began operations in Johor Bahru. As one of the thousands of Malaysians who commutes to work in Singapore daily, I was a firsthand witness to the new system.

Overall, I must say that I am impressed by the facilities of the CIQ Complex - and more so by the security and verification measures that the old customs system sorely lacked.

However, I have one very serious gripe that I hope the CIQ Complex management will immediately seek to rectify.

Once a bus passenger clears the passport check, the next process is to head back down to the bus waiting area to try and catch a bus. On a workday morning, this step is literally a descent into madness.

If any reader has ever taken a bus from Malaysia to Singapore at the old customs complex, they'll know exactly what I'm talking about. Just like always, the bus crowd becomes a literal rabid mob!

There is no concept of cutting queue, because there is no such thing as a queue. Pushing, shoving and elbowing are the rule. Manners and gentility are the suicidal exception.

Four to eight people will simultaneously try to force their way into the bus door from every direction. One either joins the gladiatorial mob, or misses the bus. And the next one after that. And the next one, and the next one.

It doesn't matter in what order you arrive at the bus waiting area - the only criteria that count are brute strength and a willingness to trample your own civility into the asphalt.

Not only is this chaotic, uncomfortable, highly inefficient, and an environment where might makes right and the meek do not inherit the bus seat. It is also mortally dangerous, as the surging crowd spills far out onto the road, forcing the buses to carefully inch past the thronging bodies and making things even slower.

There are no markings demarcating official queue lines. There are no guidelines for safe and orderly boarding. Even the old customs complex had metal bars to attempt to form an orderly bus queue (but which were usually ignored anyway).

At least with the old customs complex, you could avoid becoming one of the uncivilized bus barbarians by simply walking across the one kilometre of the Johor-Singapore Causeway.

But now a journey on foot down the 'Great CIQ Mountain' and then across the Causeway takes at least twice the time and sweaty effort. (Yes, I've timed it.) It is a daunting odyssey, what more if you also had to walk up to the CIQ Complex!

And I say this as an adult, whole in body and wearing comfortable flat-soled shoes. Imagine the conundrum faced by the old, infirm, young children, and wearers of high heels.

Therefore, on behalf of every single Malaysian and foreigner who will ever pass through the CIQ Complex in the countless decades to come, I sincerely, pleadingly and beseechingly request that the CIQ Complex management take immediate measures to rectify this highly embarrassing situation with the bus queues.

First, clearly demarcate the queuing lines for each bus waiting area. Second, put up plenty of notices forcefully stating the strict requirement for orderly queues. Third, assign enough dedicated staff to ensure people obey these rules. Fourth, impose harsh punishment for queue-jumpers and give staff full and official authority to reprimand offenders.

Sad and shameful though it may be, the only way many Malaysians will act civilized is if they are forced to by strict rule of law, backed up with debilitating punishment for disobedience.

I sincerely hope that these concrete measures will be carried out as soon as possible. For at current, every visitor and tourist who passes through the CIQ Complex is left with the impression that Malaysia is a nation with First World facilities but a truly Third World mentality.

- SCOTT THONG YU YUEN

http://scottthong.wordpress.com

written by cheekhiaw, December 16, 2008 17:44:49
Scott,

The solution may be quite simple.

For that causeway segment, they should just let people board any bus regardless of company instead of the current approach of restricting people to buses of the company they came on.

That should make the human queues much easier to manage (1 Q only) and faster to clear.

The bus queues will also clear faster - no more blocking and overtaking each other.

However, efficiency may not be the interest of certain people.

written by pinsysu, December 16, 2008 17:50:02
First World CIQ facilities; world's first daily scene of bus scrambling crowds. Got to film this for Youtube ... smilies/grin.gif
written by kislean, December 16, 2008 17:58:11
In Malaysia, whatever the authorities do, they DON'T DO IT RIGHT. What about the twist and turn route to get from one point to another ? Old folks like me find it tedious.
written by Motherchell, December 16, 2008 18:54:19
Scott! let me explain -- when the actual fish got this contract , they got consultants -- thats one stage . the consultant does his job in terms ofg the complete planning . Then comes another fish -- it feels , PHase ! --- non can earn --- so they complete PH 1, PH 2 is breaking the existing system and redoinbg it ---- here the third party takes a cut.

Ive been monitoring these pattern for some years , all those responsible leads back to PutraJaya. What Ive given you is in a nutshell ! If you don't believe me --- just monitor this for a a year. You should know who is our Home Minister ! I may not be able to reveal more here in this blog . Just keep an eye of what they will demolish and rebuild within the next few months -- and i wonder where the budgets come from?
written by ahmadneil, December 16, 2008 19:20:00
Hey,Scott! What are you talking about!The gov't spent so much money on this CIQ and you say it's not good.Come on lah!This Bolehland and everything is planned with their balls not their brains.Even my friend say they purposely design CIQ to make it look impressive on the outside but confusing on the inside.My friend nearly got lost inside.What a shame!
written by Arubin, December 16, 2008 19:26:16
This is Malaysia we're talking about. This is a country where nobody queues for anything.

You want a solution that works? Quite simple. Hire some tough bouncers to watch the crowd. First few idiots who decide to be uncivil gets pounced on, tied up, have concrete weights attached, and tossed right into the Causeway.

Well, you don't actually have to throw them in...can release them quietly afterwords...but the important thing is that the unruly crowd all see the big splash. Give them something to think about.

written by simnl, December 16, 2008 19:30:35
Looking down from my office at Metropolis Tower, I can see the jam heading towards CIQ, stretches right down to Jalan Tebrau as far as the Police Depot. The 3 lane slip road at the MRR flyover leading towards CIQ is reduced to ONE lane with cars on the middle heading towards the western part of JB and the outer lane for those making U-turns. If you have no business to be in Singapore, stay away for awhile until
written by Mr Smith, December 16, 2008 19:40:14
Scott has described the situation as exactly as it is. No exaggeration. No over blowing. I went through this madness just once, some ten years ago and swore never to take a bus to Singapore again.
But then just compare the civility, courtesy and orderliness once these uncouth Malaysians are on the other side of the causeway! In Singapore, these animals transform into civilized human beings.
I blame the Malaysian authorities for not doing anything about it. Why because VIPs don't take buses? They fly.
written by Steven Tan, December 16, 2008 20:19:11
JB CIQ is a Multibillon Ringgit BLUNDER,

The original idea to built the CIQ building together with the scenic bridge to replace the Causeway was to enrich certain cronies. Pak Lah came in between and ruined their dream by cancelling the bridge project and that was where the grudge between TDM and Pak Lah reached to the peake. Actually non of them bothered about the difficulty that the ordinary people are facing or going to face at this particular location.

Secondly, according to some old friends, "THEY" want to kill the business in JB town. As all of us know, JB businessman mainly depends on Singapore customers who're coming into JB through causeway BUT now with the new CIQ in place, everybody that travelling up and down to Singapore will no longer need to pass by JB town. So unofficially "THEY" already kill the business in JB. According to one of my friend from JB Town, even now when the CIQ is not fully operating they already loss more the 40% of their business and probably they will close shop very very soon because the JB Town going to be dead very soon.

For those who're riding bike to Singapore. If the bike breakdown or puncture on the way back to JB, they going to face a very very tough time because just after the old CIQ on the Causeway, they need to push their bike climbing up to the slope till they come out from the CIQ building because the new CIQ is located on Bukit(Hill) Chagar. There's another thing that all the bikers need to take note... once reaching to the bike section, riders need to be EXTRA careful because the floor was painted with green paint and during rainy season, it's very very slippery. Few bikers already fall down because of this painted floor..

The worse part is that, in the future the traffic jam towards JB CIQ going to be horrible and worse then ever because all the vehicles need to use one route ONLY to reach the CIQ building wherelse previously, all the lorries been diverted 2 km away from the old CIQ to the special section for lorry clearance. Now onwards, all the vehicles need to use the same route in order to reach the CIQ.

Ultimately it's Multibillion Ringgit BLUNDER and the rakyat have to bear all the concequences... smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Zeroean, December 16, 2008 20:55:23
i wonder how many people benefitted! Most will sigh with the new CIQ. As usual, to make a few millionaires, thousands are made to suffer daily. Typical, typical, typical...... this project was done to fill up their pockets rather than to have the rakyat in their mind...
written by Ben, December 16, 2008 23:05:12
Please do not condemn the facilities or the staff. If you do a quick survey at CIQ, you will realize the standards are really high. The security guards I talked to are university graduates who have been jobless for 3 years, and the receptionists are daughters of Daddys', Datuks' and Tan Sris'. The heads of depts. have been seconded from public listed GLCs'. Of course, the executives are relatives of MPs' and Aduns'. But most of the maintenance and operations and installations are done by contractors.

So give it a chance. Maybe this multi billion blunder may turn out to be a trillions wonder after 3 years with all the re-thinking, re-engineering, re-staffing, re-gressing, re-gretting and re-training.
written by nanyangren, December 16, 2008 23:28:06
This morning - jam coming in, this evening, jams all around the exit and entrance. Something is wrong ....

The roads are circular,not careful, you get mabuk.....

I have always maintained that the causeway is sufficient - mind you, it is 6 lane freeway....it is the idiots at the end of it that make it look stupid.

And do ever wonder why the same mindless mob becomes civilised when they get to the other side..?

Mahathir used to compare the derelicts on our side of the causeway to Singapore when he first visited after becoming PM.

He should have an X-ray machine then to compare the minds of the minds of the people instead.....
written by bbmars, December 16, 2008 23:33:24
My friends, have you heard or read anythinhg from SG side of the story? in the news and even on Yahoo news. traffic from SG side to CIQ was bad and jam due to no clear sign on what lane for what kind of vehicles. Worse, as reported, there were 2 lanes going into the many lanes for clearing. However, one for heavy vehicle while the other for cars... people were confused and mess up the queue. Malaysians were interviewed making bad comments about the operation. However, good pointers for security at CIQ though...
written by nanyangren, December 17, 2008 00:03:09
May years ago at the old causeway, some clown cut into my queue like they always do,but at that morning, he got it all wrong...he chose be right infront of me as I was keeping my distance from the lady infront...dont want to be accused of "smelling her". He thought it was a nice gap.

I yanked him by his collar and sent him sprawling onto the floor. Everone had a good laugh and he meekly went to the back.

Many years earlier than this, at the old Jln Trus bus station - for Singapore bus, everyone dutifully queue up. For the rest of the bus, there was the same mad scramble - unbelievable, right besides each other. Why?

All the Singapore bus company had to do was to station an employee of two there to enforce the queue. There was no rails, no strings - it was as if there was some invisible line drawn on the muddy ground...it was muddy, but that is another story.
The employee was just another Malaysian. Mot a foreign security enforcer or even anyone in unform - just a plain 'bus inspector' shirt.

Queing is just a matter of enforcing the system, after you set it up. Bu it needs to be thought off beforehand. And once there is a queue form, then it is upto those in the queue to help enforce it.

Once in a reputable bank, a lady cut the queue and I demanded from the bank office why he served her. Not getting a satifactory reply, I demanded to see the manager. When he was not forthcoming as he was too busy, I closed my account promptly on the spot.

We need to demand civilise behavior or we will never improve. Once we get the habit of doing it, the YB and those in uniform will learn to serve us and not the other way round.

Try it - demand civilise behavior, you will start to enjoy it.....
written by Lembing, December 17, 2008 07:20:24
The solution to this mayhem is to introduce the system in which the bus would stop right next to the immigration/passport booth. Passengers then alight from the bus and go straight to the booth for entry or exit procedures. The bus will then proceed to the other end of the booth, waiting to pick up the same batch of passengers.

This system should also be introduced in Singapore which currently has this chaotic system too.

It is about time that Malaysia introduce its own system, and not just copy what Singapore has.
written by Lembing, December 17, 2008 07:29:16
QUEUES .... I have always thought jumping into queues and/or not queueing are everyday norms in Malaysia.

So what is new......double parking, making turns in cars without turning signals (Proton, please take note..to cut cost, do not install any right or left hand turning lights becoz no drivers in Malaysia uses them)..
written by lynn, December 17, 2008 09:09:06
Gosh, Malaysians are generally chaotic, disorganised, selfish, "me first mentality" - we are uncivilised! Just look at the way motorists drive in the Klang valley & how selfish they are.

This is where the government have failed to educate the masses - civil conduct, considerate for others. Proper behaviour. Stop teach religion in schools & replace it with civics!
written by batsman, December 17, 2008 09:53:41
Malaysia boleh. UMNO boleh. Kastam tentunya boleh.
written by Farmer, December 17, 2008 13:24:37
Another HILL SIDE PROJECT, that made people to suffer no to through landslide but system and road system.
written by alarcarte, December 17, 2008 14:32:58
Can't those monkeys fore see the problems with the new CIQ? After spending billions only to inconvenience the public? They better make it right soonest or heads must roll.

written by alarcarte, December 17, 2008 14:38:42
written by nanyangren, December 16, 2008 23:28:06

He (Mahathir) should have an X-ray machine then to compare the minds of the minds of the people instead.....

----------------------------------------

Why waste money investing in X-Ray machine? Just send Mr White (Mansur Putih) there will do lah. If you don't know, Mr White claimed he can read all our minds.
written by Krazee, December 18, 2008 11:44:00
Well it goes to show MALAYSIA really boleh. I voiced out asking these goons to study the situation before even thinking about modifying the system as the cause and immigration points had never been a factor but the lanes not manned is more of an issue coupled with lack of traffic enforcement.
Now it goes to show Malaysia boleh... spending billions to create a world class imm cum govt complex.
i just got back fm singapore. what used to be an half hr trip becomes a three times longer trip. This is at the non peak hr. It was like that on the first day and it's the same today.
I'm still wondering how to walk across the causeway as there are no provisions for walking, yes planners of this complex, walk ! many actually walk across the causeway. Now the walking distance from JB town, City Square to the check point ( malaysian side I mean ) is as good as being almost reaching singapore already.