Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Dare ACA or MACC answer like this?

Dare ACA or MACC answer like this? PDF Print
Tuesday, 16 December 2008 10:18

Q: How does the ICAC maintain its independence?

A: We are independent. There is nothing to maintain.

This is from the Sunday Star interview with Hong Kong’s Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) deputy commissioner and head of operations Daniel Li to illustrate the difference between ICAC and Malaysia anti-corruption body, whether the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) or the soon-to-be MACC.

I quoted this Q & A in Parliament during the debate on the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency (MACC).

I asked which Malaysian anti-corruption chief would dare to answer with such insouciance and categorical assurance without any hesitation or shadow of doubt about the independence of the Malaysian anti-corruption body?

Unthinkable! Only last Thursday, the No. 2 in the ACA was publicly admitting that the ACA was being perceived as a “lapdog” of the authorities!

READ MORE HERE: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/

written by ahmadneil, December 16, 2008 10:25:32
MACC is still answerable to PM!It's back to square one.
written by Wisdom above, December 16, 2008 10:38:11
MACC should be made answerable to Parliament .

Nothing less !
written by Democrats, December 16, 2008 10:47:03
So, in short, the PM department will never be caugt in any corruption charges. And if anyone tries to be funny with the PM dept, they will let loose the ACA dogs on you.
written by chelsea, December 16, 2008 10:47:31
I believe the PM and the ruling ministers just love the drama PI MAI PI MAI TANG TU! smilies/grin.gif
written by Msian Idol3, December 16, 2008 10:48:15
Ditto - answerable to parliment & better quality staff.
written by adan, December 16, 2008 11:00:47
Do not be misled by mere change in name. Our democracy is modelled along British parliamentsry democracy but we end up with dictatorship /totaitarian system of GUIDED DEMOCRACY as represented by the Mahahir regime and pepectuated by the present government. We try to model our Anti-corruption Agency along the HONGKONG Independent CAC but may end up with a GUIDED Commission that may not be so independent.It can be MODIFIED to suit the POLTITICAL needs and demands and conditions of the RULING ELITE WITH VESTED INTERESTS. A CHANGE IN NAME WITHOUT A CHANGE IN SUSTANCE IS A MERE ILLUSION TO HOODWINK THE RAKYAT. IT MAY BE WELL-PLANNED SYSTEM TO PROTECT AND PRESERVE THE HIGHLY CORRUPTED LEGALLY USING OUR OWN GUIDED 'SYSTEM OF RULE OF LAW'
written by alarcarte, December 16, 2008 11:54:34
Are they to assume our P.M. is squeky clean and no nonsense type of character? What happen if our P.M. is Mugaby (Mozambique) type of character?

Talk kock meh?
written by chrisyong, December 16, 2008 12:16:32
Hello, Mr. PM. No need to come up with so many overlapping policies and bodies to government and allow corrupton at the PM's level and inconvenient those who are inconvenient to the PM and his department. Just make sure IMPLEMENTATION IS STRICT FOR EVERYONE INLCUDING YOU!!! Make MACC or ACA or whatever you try to name it be accountable and answerable to the PARLIAMENT, PERIOD. PERIOD. PERIOD. You are wasting SO MUCH TIME trying to cover your own ............
written by Fuminari, December 16, 2008 12:31:06
MACC should be made totally independent n managed by professionals,it must not be seen or made to look like a political tool in order to serve its basic purpose.looking at it now,it is not going to work as what the rakyat perceive.
written by Old Man, December 16, 2008 12:40:44
Independent but only take orders from the most corrupt!
written by Motherchell, December 16, 2008 12:52:00
No matter what they reform -- they will make sure its all secure under their wings. Imagine the poor in Kuala Pahang that was posted on MT video articles the other day .. What would Aminah's first question to MACC or the ACA.be ?? To Pak Lah's overtures , those souls in the backwaters are nonexistent . They will exist as long as reform is not reform in the true meaning of it-- and justice will never see the light of the day.
written by clarity, December 16, 2008 13:10:24
This is proof that umno cannot exist without corruption. Whenever there is a public outcry the authorities will deceive again the rakyat by putting some cosmetic to ACA but as eveyone can see, it still is controlled by somebody. So how can it be effective?
Issues like that make people fed up and it is hoped that those in KT will help the rest of the country to bring change for the better. Take their money but don't vote for them.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 16, 2008 13:11:17
I don't see anything new here. Those civil servant are going to operate as inefficient as possible.

THE KING OF INEFFICIENCIES ARE MALAYSIAN CIVIL SERVANTS.
written by ahmadneil, December 16, 2008 13:56:34
Ask LKS to head MACC and all the umno guys wouldn't see daylight anymore.They are all corrupted to their bones.

Just imagine when LKS ask AAB about MACC been rush through,AAB was expressionless.My God,how can our PM be like this,at the mercy of LKS.I don't know becos I have no faith in him from day one.
written by gotsms, December 16, 2008 14:26:09
the MACC main objective is education, not eradication of corruption.

EDUCATION = big spend in advertising (bill board, newspaper, bla bla bla)
Big spend in educational programmes in schools.

This is really a life savior in today's slump economy.

Where can i apply to be a crony to provide the services?
written by mahkota, December 16, 2008 18:23:45
What is the point???? Remember PAC???
written by lynn, December 17, 2008 08:58:48
"""If Abdullah has no political will to conduct an all-out war against corruption in his heydays as Prime Minister in the past five years, will the MACC Bill he is putting on the statute book in his last three months in office end up as a lame-duck law?""""

I think we need to have a change of Prime Minister by way of new federal govt. Even the new one coming in will be worse than lame-duck. He must face reality - he is perceived by many to be associated with murder and corruption! What kind of PM we have next?

You can't make that perception go away by swearing in a mosque or denying it in public. In developed countries (unlike Malaysia which is low-class 3rd world), the rule of law and reality works differently.