Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP proposes RM50 billion stimulus plan

DAP proposes RM50 billion stimulus plan PDF Print
Monday, 15 December 2008 19:19

(The Daily Express) - DAP on Saturday proposed a RM50 billion economic stimulus plan to counter the recession.

Its Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng claimed the proposal was more practical instead of the "Barisan Nasional's (BN) puny RM7 billion plan that Malaysians cannot see, cannot touch and cannot feel".

"No one knows how this BN's RM7 billion expansionary economic plan is going to help 27 million ordinary Malaysians. What we know is that the few BN cronies will benefit from a failed system that permits financial malpractices and abuses of power," he said.

Lim, who is Penang Chief Minister and MP for Bagan, was speaking at the DAP Sabah State Convention here.

He said the BN Government must wake up from its denial mode that Malaysia would not slip into recession following the global financial crisis.

He said the possibility of this happening cannot be denied since the country's third quarter economic growth this year showed that the real gross domestic product (GDP) growth of 4.7 per cent is the lowest quarterly growth in three years.

The second and first quarter growth was 6.3 per cent and 7.1 per cent, respectively, he said.

Lim said Malaysia must follow China's aggressive fiscal and monetary measures of fighting the oncoming economic recession and looking beyond towards economic recovery.

China had announced the largest economic stimulus plan of US$586 billion over two years. However, its 30 local governments had announced a larger US$3.5 billion spending over five years.

"With total US$4 trillion spent by China, this is almost double its international reserves of US$2 trillion," he said.

Comparatively, he said Malaysia's fiscal stimulus spending is only US$2 billion or RM7 billion, which is 2 per cent of the country's international reserves of RM343.8 billion (US$100 billion).

"What is RM7 billion in a budget of RM207 billion, so insignificant that the people cannot see, cannot touch and cannot feel any difference?" he asked.

According to him, the country's resources must be mobilised to fight the recession and prepare for a more prosperous future through good governance and an expansionary budget that is pro-growth, pro-jobs and pro-poor.

He said DAP proposed a larger RM50 billion or US$14 billion expansionary budget, which is about 14 per cent of the nation's international reserves, so that Malaysians can see, touch and feel its effect.

It comprises a RM6,000 annual oil bonus to all families earning less than RM6,000 a month or RM3,000 annual bonus to bachelors earning less than RM3,000 a month, which would cost RM35 billion or a mere one-third of Petronas gross profits of RM107 billion last year.

It also includes a progressive reduction of corporate tax rate from the present 25 per cent to 17 per cent, which would cost RM13 billion, as well as a daily revision of petrol prices to take into account changes in the international price of oil.

DAP also proposed an immediate reduction in gas prices as well as electricity tariffs, which was increased by 26 per cent for businesses when the price of oil was US$124 per barrel to reflect the drop to around US$50 per barrel.

Lim said it would include an additional RM2 billion wireless project to make all major towns and cities in Malaysia wireless so that as many Malaysians as possible can be connected to the Internet.

"The expansionary budget must not only fight the recession but also invest in infrastructure projects such as extending transport, communications, and broadband coverage that allows us to look beyond the recession.

"With the infrastructure in place when the economy recovers, Malaysia can take full advantage. A free wireless for all Malaysians, much like the free wireless initiative by Penang to become the first wifi state in Malaysia, will help to attract both foreign investors and tourists," he said.

Lim said the time has come for ordinary Sabahans to benefit fully from the fruits of Malaysia and Sabah's economic growth.

He claimed Sabah was the worst State to live in Malaysia, the worst managed, has the second lowest water supply coverage, the highest population growth, the largest number of illegal immigrants, the highest poverty incidence, the poorest electricity/energy efficiency and supply besides being the least developed state in Malaysia.

He said Sabah also has the highest population growth rate in the country at 3.1 per cent compared to the national average of 2.3 per cent with former senator, Dr Chong Eng Leong alleging that there are around 1.75 million foreigners in Sabah today.

"The time has come for a people-centric government and people-oriented development strategy that allows Malaysians and Sabahans to directly benefit that they can see, touch and feel the difference," he said.

written by ahmadneil, December 15, 2008 19:37:54
What can RM 7 billion do! Not enough to fill my teeth crack!Now at least LKS is talking sense,RM 50 billion!Make sure this money is evenly distributed among all the states in malaysia and watch out for those umno's Ali Baba and the forty thieves.
written by varvoom, December 15, 2008 20:29:53
Highly probably the country's international reserves of RM343.8 billion (US$100 billion), is not there anymore, can someone check or is it another OSA to cover BN continued thieving.
written by lynn, December 15, 2008 20:40:47
If Anwar become PM, and LKS becomes our DPM - maybe this country will have some glimmer of hope. All I can say to those who insist on certain race to be the country's top leaders, that is why Malaysia is so screwed-up. If Malaysia had been managed by men of integrity, credibility,merit, sincerity, all of us would lead a fortunate life regardless our skin color. Unfortunately, due to the narrow-mindedness of certain people who are insistent on selection of leaders on basis of race/religion, this country is affirming and confirming its status as Bodohland each passing year. We look more and more BODOH in the eyes of the world. Just when we thought we already reached the highest limits of BODOHNESS, we attained even higher levels of stupidity much to our greatest amusement.

Stupidity aside, we have so much sloppiness here. Singaporeans love to condemn the state of our public toilets which are always smelly, damp, dark & either leaking or no water! Next, does anyone ever noticed, even our banknotes are usually stinking, creased, soiled, soggy, taped over, very smelly and old. What does it take for Bank Negara to issue a very simple instruction to all these banks to stop circulating soiled, soggy smelly banknotes in Bodohland? All that BN has to do is pull back all soiled banknotes because tourists get to smell how bad they are.

Try paying your toll with a RM50 ringgit note. The toll wud return you some notes in bad condition complete with a cocky attitude. We Malaysians are one the most silent long suffering lot in Asia inspite of the country's amazing wealth, we are so third-world in practically every sense!
written by lynn, December 15, 2008 20:48:11
I used to tell my ex-staff, even if you are poor, at the very least, be clean. Cleanliness is politeness and being considerate for others' nostrils. Even if your shirt is old, as long as it's clean & fresh, there is no shame in being poor. But to be dirty, unhygienic, sloppy and unwashed, there is no excuse to be so.

After all, soap and water is still very cheap & easily available.

Malaysia BADLY needs a public awareness campaign on cleanliness. Stop public littering. Once I was at a stall in PJ, buying raw chicken, the hawker flung entrails behind him, which landed in a longkang.
written by lynn, December 15, 2008 20:55:47
Sorry to digress: I support LKS not because he is Chinese or that he is Opposition. That man makes helluva sense any day and more than all the BN men in the cabinet combined! LKS is a true patriotic Malaysian. Let's not be jealous he is one of our best. This man shld hold a ministerial position!
written by No nonsense, December 15, 2008 21:54:53
Hello Mr Lim if BN will to come out with RM50 billion there wont be enough for the Amno goons to share. Dont even think or dream about it. There is a saying " You die better than I being hungry". You think they will do it?
written by cheekhiaw, December 15, 2008 22:27:02
No one knows how this BN's RM7 billion expansionary economic plan is going to help 27 million ordinary Malaysians?

-----

Here is how. They will deploy 'trickle down' economics.

They are going to give those 7 billion to some thief, liar and murderer friends of theirs and let those money trickle down to the rest of the 27 million people...

written by cheekhiaw, December 15, 2008 22:28:29
lynn,

the poor people are the most honest people in the world. it is the stealing and lying people that get rich.

written by onnetline, December 15, 2008 22:28:45
Mr Lim Guan Eng,

All your indicated bonuses for the rakyat are meant for the corrupted leaders of Barisan Najis to indirectly siphoned through projects implementation.
Quite simply, we never got a cent of that !
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 22:44:24
This is what I'm talking about. If the stimulus package is RM 7 billion, might as well we don't do it. We need at least RM 25 billion to jump start the economy!!
written by Arubin, December 15, 2008 22:46:59
I used to tell my ex-staff, even if you are poor, at the very least, be clean.

I disagree. For example, its better to be a garbage collector than to be a BN politician. You might be physically dirty all day, but at least your conscience is clean.
written by InEffective, December 15, 2008 23:09:32

Looks like the incumbent politicians believe that only they are entitled to the bountiful OilMoney - and not the rakyat.

Rakyat - are you getting your fair share of OilMoney ?
written by Beng, December 16, 2008 01:37:52
I stongly believe that the RM 7b will go to just a few cronies. The rakyat will not benefit a single sen. Can we force the gomen to explain how the RM 7b is disburse? Maybe in Parliment?

This gomen is not interested in combating the coming crises. Please gomen, get some qualified and trustworthy (and honest) economist to handle this problem before it gets bigger and more difficult to solve.
written by myvoice, December 16, 2008 08:25:03
The RM7B will only make the BN cronies getting much richer, that's all! That's why Malaysia is called Bolehland but infact is Bodohland!
written by amoker, December 16, 2008 16:51:10
RM7 billion for the 27 million people and RM5 billion for the mysterious Valuecap. Both, UMNO cronies earn money
written by Old Man, December 17, 2008 07:54:47
Before the General Election the Govt had announced about giving multi-Billion RM packages to different states. Easily a hundred BILLION RM ( Ringgit Malaysia: 100,000,000,000.00 ) in total. So what happened to the Billions of RM in such a short period??? YB Lim Guan Eng, hope a young politician like you is not that forgetful, are you? smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif