|
|
|
|
|
Monday, 15 December 2008 14:45 |
|
We've had ten vigils in Petaling Jaya! That in itself is an accomplishment! Yeah, we have a lot of the same faces, but that is a good thing. It only means that the passion has not dissipated. Yeah, we have a lot of people who have come only once and not ever again. It only means they think we can do the job without them. Yeah, we have a lot of new faces brought about by those reading blog posts and hearing about this at church, in the office, at the mamak stall or even in cyber chatting. It only means that there's a buzz about it. Tonight, there were loads of first-timers. It only means that when some can't make it, newcomers will fill their spaces!
But seriously, we miss those that haven't come again. We especially miss those that are still thinking about it. So I pray that next week (11th vigil) we will see more Malaysians! :) Read more and see photos at: http://steest.blogspot.com/2008/12/pj-candlelight-vigil-take-10-newcomers.html 
|
Brother Haris, it shows on your face.
It's the TENTH Sunday of the Anti-ISA Candlelight Vigil in PJ now known as Mesra Rakyat (Goodwill Gathering) and you've been there every weekend for TEN Sundays in row. Not easy at all. Travelling up from Bentong, Pahang sacrificing every weekend till God knows when ISA will be abolished. For who? For us and our children too.
I salute you and all who have been attending vigils.
To cheer you on, Brother Haris, here's Sister Enda's Thought for the Week (for Assunta Alumni) that came in last night while we were at the vigil. I'd like to share with you. Erm, just change the "she" to "he" as you read below :p
"The stairs of opportunity
Are sometimes hard to climb;
And that can only be well done
By one step at a time.
But she who would go to the top
Ne'er sits down and despairs;
Instead of staring up the steps
She just steps up the stairs."
Residents of PJ, if you really want change in our country, high time you came out to support the candlelight vigils held every Sunday at MBPJ. Hopefully the People of PJ will lead the way and the rest of the towns and states will follow suit.
The state of our country is the responsibility of its citizens. Everyone of us has a role towards improving the state of our economic, social and political lives.
Each of us has a duty to shape and make our society better. After all, our society is us. If we don't care about the state of our society, we don't care about ourselves... simple as that.
When the shit really hits the fan, there is no one else to blame but ourselves. We, supposedly, "People Are The Boss" have not taken it upon ourselves to safeguard the well-being of our nation effectively.
It is truly not enough to just delegate to a few people to do it for us, such as RPK, Haris Ibrahim, Bernard Khoo, Richard Yeoh. Similar to YAB PM Pak lah, without the support of the government aka UMNO, can he make changes by himself?
Friends, I don't know about you, but I'm going to there every possible Sunday to cheer everyone on by my mere presence if that's all I can do besides taking photos and alternating with fellow volunteers to record the entire vigil every Sunday for all Malaysians to view on youtube.com. So be it.
"Negara Kita, Tanggungjawab Kita"
Our Country, Our Responsibility.
With this I hope you will be there this Sunday, rain or shine.