Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow BN ‘seriously considering’ IPF as member (updated)

BN ‘seriously considering’ IPF as member (updated) PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 23:58

By SA’ODAH ELIAS (The Star)

KUALA LUMPUR: After 20 years of unwavering support towards Barisan Nasional, it looks like the Indian Progressive Front (IPF) may finally become a full-fledged member of the coalition.

At Barisan’s supreme council meeting on Tuesday, coalition chairman Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had said that it would seriously consider IPF’s long-standing application to become a member, as well as applications from several other smaller parties.

According to Barisan secretary-general Datuk Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, Abdullah made the statement in his opening remarks at the meeting, indicating that there was a very real possibility of IPF being accepted.

“I am looking forward to welcoming IPF who has always been our friend, as a mate soon,” Tengku Adnan said when opening IPF's 16th annual meeting here on Sunday.

IPF president Puan Seri Jayashree Pandithan in her policy speech said that the party would continue to support and help Barisan although its membership application had yet to be approved.

Tengku Adnan said Barisan has always been thankful for the support shown by IPF all these years, especially during general and by-elections.

Adnan said he did not see many difficulties for IPF to be accepted as a member since it has always shared and believed in the Barisan spirit.

“As Barisan and Umno secretary-general, I fully support IPF’s application,” he added.

Earlier, the party’s AGM was marred by a ruckus involving a group of former members who were sacked for allegedly breaching the party’s Constitution, and their supporters.

The group, numbering between 100 and 200, had tried to force its way into the hotel where the meeting was taking place, while another group of members tried to block them.

There was pushing and shoving, prompting some members to call the police. The altercation ended about 45 minutes later following the arrival of several trucks of anti-riot police personnel.

Early this month, a group of the party leaders from Perak, led by assistant treasurer T. Thamothran, had lodged a police report against Jayashree, claiming she had acted beyond her powers as acting president.

The group, representing 20 of the 23 IPF divisions in the state, claimed that Jayashree had taken over the powers of party president when she was only an appointed acting president.

Several party’s members in Penang had also lodged similar reports.

written by raven1958, December 15, 2008 00:13:52
Wow...UMNO must be really desperate. Let's see if IPF fall for this.
written by Legion, December 15, 2008 00:19:06
raven1958, 20 years of brown-nosing, IPF will welcome full membership with open arms while groveling on dirt.
written by thinktank observer, December 15, 2008 00:51:31
So hillarious the world is laughing. it seems the UMNO are being desperado taking desperates action. so foolish I can't stop laughing. adnan ur waisting ur time. the next GE, UMNO is out. trust me. Dont worry UMNO, tommorow I'll form a new party for u so can have enough members in the parliament. the name of the party which I'll form tommorow wil be called "happy birthday party". u UMNO's are clowns. so funny kangkung belacan.
written by Midvalley, December 15, 2008 01:07:38
UMNO is so desperates they need ipf support ha ha ha hy not admit YMCA, YWCA, Teochew, Hokkien, Portugese, Ceylonese, Dobi, Babers, Newspapers Vedors, Small Traders Associations which have more menbers than ipf.
The Chinese of KT you are holding an ace cards Vote PAS
written by deunan, December 15, 2008 01:55:21
Dear BN

We would like to have back our Application Form due to the fact we sent them to you earlier by mistake! Actually, we wanted to send them to Pakatan Rakyat. Please return back the Applications Forms to us ASAP!

Your Truly
Secretary
written by Taufique, December 15, 2008 03:02:33
IPF also please la dont be so stupid. As if you cannot see through BN's desperation moves. 20 years you asked to be part of their coalition, 20 years they sidelined you. Now they are in the midst of turmoil, and suddenly you're their possible mate?
C'mon la you folks have more sense than falling for their crap. Don't be blinded by their sudden graciousness.
written by RumahPanjai, December 15, 2008 04:37:09
A party like IPF that stoop so low and begs to be a part of BN for 20 years goes to show its true character. How could any party in its right mind wants to join BN which propagates corruption and racism? Goes to show they don't fight for rights of all malaysians but self interests. MIC has make Indians look stupid enough and now IPF is joining the morons further making Indians looks like idiots.
written by asguard, December 15, 2008 09:12:11
Barang Naik will gain as it has nothing to lose ...if they kick an indian party then they replaced it with another one... who stands to lose more IPF or PPP?
written by hakuna, December 15, 2008 09:26:45
MIC has lost its tooth so now there is no party to object IPF's entrance.

Can't these idiots understand that the public are sick about any racial parties.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 15, 2008 10:17:46
The ONLY reason UMNO is considering the IPF as a BN member is because UMNO wants disunity among the Indian community.
With so many fracture parties all clamoring for the minority Malaysian Indian membership, none of them will be large enough to neither have any real impact on the BN nor become a threat as each of them will be championing for their own agenda. This is EXACTLY what UMNO wants in their BN coalition.

Can’t Malaysian Indians unit under one or, at most, two political parties? Seems like to me there are just too many separate groups championing in all different directions.
written by ssathia, December 15, 2008 11:44:32
March 8 showed that increasing number of Malaysians are rejecting race based parties showing greater maturity in reasoning. There were even calls for BN to become a single multiracial party to move with changing times.

Now, suddenly all back to square one. Another race based party to join BN?
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 11:50:48
Seriously, (like Samy said) IPF are jokers, who do not know which way the wind is blowing.

Luckily, there are only about 800 fools in this party.
written by shan, December 15, 2008 12:35:36
Congratulations,.,.,Now our TOILETS AND ROADS will be clean.,.IPF is another indian caste based party.,.,.HE,he,he smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Rozlan, December 15, 2008 12:52:27
why boarding a sinking ship?
written by borneoman, December 15, 2008 14:09:13
split ,divide and rule still reign supreme in malaysia.
written by amoker, December 15, 2008 14:31:04
Since the failure of MIC and to get Semi Value to resign, BN is using the same ol trick of divide and conquer. They have introduced the IPF pawn to fight against the MIC. I think it will create more confusion within and neither would serve the Indian communinity at the end.
written by cllim123, December 15, 2008 15:04:45
What lah IPF, when even PPP, as desparate and hard up as Kaveas can be, is contemplating leaving BN, you want to join. Puan Sri, leave the politics to the politicians and just retire. Forget about the Mr Fix-it, Adnan Mansor' offer. His days of wheeling and dealing are over. Retract your application form right now and earn some respect before your retirement.
written by mikewang, December 15, 2008 15:05:22
Go admit Hindraf and you'll have my respect.
written by adan, December 15, 2008 15:36:46
' A VOICE HEARD NOWHERE IN PARTICULAR'
'Our ship has been shipwrecked since 8/3. It is sinking fast. We are in desperate need of new mates ,the old ones are getting wiser,or rather less stupid. All are welcome.' Die die together'( mati-mati sama sama mati).
written by Futurist, December 15, 2008 16:32:22
MIC has become a non-issue. That's why IPF can be admitted even if MIC objects. Complete overide.