Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A passionate plea for help (Collection Stopped For Now )

A passionate plea for help (Collection Stopped For Now ) PDF Print
Thursday, 18 December 2008 00:00

We will stop collecting contributions for now. The amount collected so far is RM75,000 which we hope will cover existing and near future medical expenses for the family. We will also publish the bank statements to indicate the amount collected and will also furnish the hospital bills. Hopefully this amount collected will suffice. Thank you to all generous MT readers for heeding our passionate plea for help. The family is most grateful.

Last night, I had dinner with some friends at the Italian restaurant in Centerpoint. When it came time to pay the bill the three of us fought for the honour. We almost became un-friends because of the ‘argument’ as to who should be allowed to pay for dinner. But when we summoned the headwaiter over, he shook his head and informed us that the bill had already been settled. And he pointed to a smiling family sitting inside the restaurant.

It is ever so often that I never get to pay for my meals. And I am not even taking into consideration the free meals the Malaysian government serves me in the Sungai Buloh Prison and the Kamunting Detention Centre. Total strangers just pick up my bills and after splurging myself silly I walk out of the place with my money still intact in my pocket. And many a time my hosts end up being guests of these strangers as well.

I have to admit that it is most touching and sometimes I find it difficult to smile. It is hard to appear cheerful when one is holding back the emotion of happiness to the point of tears. I suspect many a well-meaning stranger probably went away with the impression that I am not really that friendly after all, seeing that I appeared unhappy at their kind gesture. I certainly cannot cry in public. This will destroy the macho image that I am trying to portray. But even men cry when touched in the heart and I have so many times been touched in the heart by people who I have never met and who hug me and want to belanja me a meal.

I thank you, all you Malaysians who walked up to me to shake my hands, asked for my autograph, requested my permission to take a photograph with me, and much more. I know it is not me per se that you idolise -- because I certainly do not want to be idolised (it is un-Islamic to say the least) -- but that you feel you are contributing to the cause of making this a better Malaysia. And that is all that I am seeking, not to be put on a pedestal and hero-worshipped.

But, today, I am going to ask you to support me on a personal mission, which I am adopting as my latest cause.

There are many out there who have contributed to the cause of making this a better Malaysia. Many are faceless and nameless Malaysians who work quietly and aggressively behind the scenes in the effort to bring changes to Malaysia. One such family is, today, in need of help themselves.

This particular family is now going through their own crisis. Nevertheless, in spite of their predicament, they are still very much in the thick and thin of the struggle. But health problems, and financial problems brought on by their medical predicament, have brought hard times upon them. And it is time that fellow Malaysians rally to their side and assist in any small way that we can to help this family out of their predicament.

The mother of this family has been diagnosed with third-level cancer of the colon and rectum while, simultaneously, the father of the family has suffered a severe heart attack. But they do not have the financial means to seek proper medical treatment and we all know how much this can cost in this country. The total medical cost will be in excess of RM100,000 and, even then, the doctors do not guarantee anything because their cases are quite advanced and the doctors can only hope for the best and leave the rest to prayer.

The family borrowed heavily from friends and relatives for the mother’s operation in September 2008 (around the time I was detained under the Internal Security Act) and now she is surviving with a colostomy bag. But she is not out of the woods yet. She still has cancer. And over the next six months until April 2009 she will have to undergo 12 sessions of chemotherapy followed by five sessions of radiotherapy. The total cost will come to RM86,000.00.

The father of the house, who suffered the heart attack, has undergone an angiogram because, at that point of time, his heart was still very weak and the doctors felt he would not be strong enough to survive surgery. Furthermore, he needed about RM30,000.00 for the Angioplasty, Stent, bye-pass, etc., and he did not have the money for it.

In total, the family will need RM116,000.00 for their medical costs and there is no way they can manage this on their own. I appeal, therefore, to all Malaysians to come forward and help this activist family who did so much and worked very hard these last couple of years to contribute to a better Malaysia. They have done their bit for this country. It is now time we did our bit for them.

I am not asking you to break the bank or to go into debt. Do what you can within your means. The amount you give is not the issue. It is the thought that counts. Just give what you can afford and no need to do more than that. Let it be the cost of a glass of beer or a packet of cigarettes or whatever. So drink one glass less this week or smoke one packet less -- it may be good for you anyway -- and send the money to the family instead.

To Muslims, I have this to say. It has been narrated that the Prophet said: charity is not about giving away what you don’t need but what you treasure. And I leave it to you to decide if you want to give away what you don’t need or what you treasure in the spirit of the true teachings of Prophet Muhammad. Maybe the ‘no pain, no gain’ slogan most aptly describes what the Prophet meant. So, can we, as Muslims, ‘give till it hurts’?

Muslims have just celebrated the Festival of the Sacrifice (Hari Raya Korban) while the Christians will soon be celebrating Christmas. When better than now to live the spirit of Korban and Christmas in the real sense of the word? Let us demonstrate what stuff Malaysians are made of by raising this money in the soonest possible time. I shall later publish copies of the bank statement to show the amount of money that has come in plus copies of the hospital bills to show how the money was spent. It shall all be transparent and above board.

To those who desire to contribute to this cause of mine, the bank account of their son, KEVIN A/L MICHAL JOSEPH, is 1124-4704-3083 (Maybank).

Dear YM Raja Petra,

I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the help you and all the readers of MT are giving to me and my family. This has really given us some hope that we may actually be able to meet the bills at hand and give our parents the medical treatment they need. I trully cannot tell you how happy and relieved we all feel.

From reading the comments I realised that some of the readers have problems sending money from overseas. The following are the details they will need:

Account No: 1124-4704-3083 (Maybank)

Swift code: MBBEMYKL

Address:
MAYBANK CYBERJAYA, LOT E002,
GROUND FLOOR BLOCK 2200,
ENTERPRISE 3 BUILDING,
PERSIARAN APEC, 63000 CYBERJAYA
SELANGOR

Tel No: +603-83189744

Kevin Michal Joseph

***********************************

Admin update 17/12/08: We will stop collecting contributions for now. The amount collected so far is RM75,000 which we hope will cover existing and near future medical expenses for the family. We will also publish the bank statements to indicate the amount collected and will also furnish the hospital bills. Hopefully this amount collected will suffice. Thank you to all generous MT readers for heeding our passionate plea for help. The family is most grateful.

Comments (177)Add Comment
written by ylcc, December 14, 2008 12:13:06
No problem. Lucky for me, this came in time. I had promised Tony Phua that I would make a donation to DAP. I was going to do so tomorrow at Maybank. No need to show me any bank statement or hospital bills.
agree 206
written by anak penang, December 14, 2008 12:18:22
Will do tommorow morning
written by Motherchell, December 14, 2008 12:19:42
Its so heartening to learn wisdom from you. Its Teachers like you this Country is in drought. With all the riches of this Nation ,the Leaders are so busy taking care of themselves as they know Power is Money.

The leaders are proving that charity begins at home and sadly in their case ends in their home itself. They are too busy terrorizing than building a society which we can call a Nation. I'm with you in the cause for Kevin, Pete!

written by Fido, December 14, 2008 12:28:35
Logging on to Maybank2U now..
written by samesamemam, December 14, 2008 12:29:20
I do not support online requests for these kind of donations as I am usually weary of the veracity of the case and where the money actually goes to. I`m making an exception in this case simply because I trust RPK in this appeal. I will make an online transfer, today, to the a/c details provided.
agree 160
written by Janaka, December 14, 2008 12:36:47
Your kindness have move many of us tears of joy! thank you very much for the great sharing and your sincere kind heart toward us as MALAYSIAN. We will give you full support ..please spread this news to everyone that you know off and put that in your blogs too ..thanks.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Lembing, December 14, 2008 12:43:06
Hong Leong Bank online banking down....will certainly donate tommorrow.

written by boeytahan, December 14, 2008 12:46:05
Yeh-yeh we won! I'll be contributing what I can afford. Many many more would follow the least they could afford. Speedy recovery Mr & Mrs Michal Jos!
written by samesamemam, December 14, 2008 12:46:55
To add: I will send this appeal to all my friends and family, and post it on other blog comments as well. Already, I`m recieving replies from some family and friends that they will donate. I would like to suggest, however, that if more details can be provided me, I can enlist some other forms of assistance such as some free medical or discounted rates from doctor friends of mine for Kevin's parents...
written by charcoy feng, December 14, 2008 12:48:34
Maybank2u.com here i come....
written by MalaysianIAm, December 14, 2008 13:06:21

Can we use paypal? I do not live in Malaysia.

Thanks.
written by macakmy, December 14, 2008 13:11:31
InsyaAllah, esok saya uruskan dengan KawanKu.
written by delCapo, December 14, 2008 13:24:46
ok RPK... next teh tarik on your bill after my donation... but we still pay for the rest of the meal =]
written by PRman, December 14, 2008 13:36:54
Coming from RPK, I have no doubt, and did my part minute ago.

My well wishes to the family! Get well soon!
written by purple, December 14, 2008 13:53:12

We are with you. I shall get it done today.
written by peter, December 14, 2008 14:09:40
No problem. Will transfer what I can. God bless the family.
written by MatPenang, December 14, 2008 14:20:27

It touches me to hear their plight. I dont have much but I'll give what I can.

Done!!!! and it feels so good.
written by sampalee, December 14, 2008 14:24:48
Will do my part,first thing monday.
written by temenggong, December 14, 2008 14:30:03
Esok done!
written by future, December 14, 2008 14:33:48
InsyaAllah may god bless u all.
written by fireduck, December 14, 2008 14:42:43
Will contribute what little I can. But I also believe that there are among us readers, many medical doctors who perhaps can offer to do the surgeries and/or treatment pro bono, just like the lawyers do so often. It's good for their karma too.

What say you, docs? Hope the couple gets all the help they can.
written by Xerxes, December 14, 2008 14:52:16
Don't trust and don't use Internet banking in Malaysia. Will go to Maybank tomorrow and do what little I can and it will be more than a beer.

written by pugster, December 14, 2008 15:17:22
Will do the transfer tomorrow. Keep us inform from time to time on their well being, perhaps their kids may need assistance too and money may not be sufficient alone.
Keep it coming fellow malaysians, and god bless.
written by sactyr, December 14, 2008 15:37:20

Please tell us how people from overseas can donate.. perhaps Paypal or something?
written by Caramel, December 14, 2008 15:46:55
This is a plea from a man we can all trust and admire. Just do it! No more excuse for those who are always suspicious of email asking for help!. Will do .
written by Siapabohong, December 14, 2008 15:54:35
I'll do my part.
written by mhwang, December 14, 2008 16:04:13
Just banked in RM100-00
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 16:17:24
Sorry,just back from fishing and I almost miss this one if not for my wife who highlighted it to me.Since it's sunday,I will do it tomorrow.Sad to hear this and my hopes and prayers are with them at this moment.
This is the way to do it RPK.I prefer you to take the lead and we follow,not some who just put their account in MT and say it's time to donate.Cheers!Count me in!
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 16:19:37
The prayers that I always said for my 2 children everyday will go to this couple today.May God give them the will to carry on and lessen their sufferings.
written by ASK4u, December 14, 2008 16:38:14
Not withstanding some domesticated animals and other rare species, the only difference between man and animal is that we are probably the only species that has the potential to care for a total stranger who has no blood ties with us and hence the title; The best of GOD's creation. Everyone should leave up to this and not disappoint our creator. I've decided not to disappoint our creator by driving to MBB tomorrow.
written by patlu, December 14, 2008 16:44:16
Pete, no wonder you look so stoned once in a while. You were trying to be macho! smilies/wink.gif LOL!

For wire-transfers, the SWIFT Code for Maybank is MBBEMYKL.

Based on my experience, overseas contributors need more details such as full name of bank, branch address and phone number.
Also email or fax Kevin the transaction slip once this is done. Follow example as seen at http://www.assuntaalumni.com/html/membership.html

Kevin, in everything give thanks. God Will Make A Way.

Everyone, believe in the power of prayer. Community prayers are very powerful. Say a prayer and light a candle for Kevin's family.

Much love and God bless

Pat Lu
written by roggon, December 14, 2008 16:51:55
WILL TRANSFER MY DONATION USING INTERNET BANKING TO KEVIN'S AC IN A FEW SECONDS.
written by Frankfurtguy, December 14, 2008 16:54:44
From Account: xxxxxxxxx M2U Premier
New Balance: RMxxxx
To Open 3rd Party Account: 112447043083
Amount: RM50.00
Effective Date: Today
Account Holder Name: KEVIN A/L MICHAL JOS
Reference Number: 1284546607
Transaction Date/Time: 14 Dec 2008 16:52:26
written by roggon, December 14, 2008 17:07:44
DONE................GET WELL SOON MR. JOSEPH
written by Legion, December 14, 2008 17:48:05
I always thought that Michal was spelt wrong...
written by Bloodhound, December 14, 2008 18:48:09
Hi RPK,

When you ask, we give - no question asked (that's how much we trust you)! I am interested in donating AUD300.00. I need to pay via Paypal. Please set up a Paypal account for overseas donors. Thank you.
written by Zeroed, December 14, 2008 18:53:42
Done.....transferred....I pray for your parents speedy recovery.
written by shepherdvoyage, December 14, 2008 19:20:50
Thank you, Pete, for breaking this news to us. It is indeed an honour to be able to help, particularly to help those who have sacrified so much for the welfare and well being of us.
written by jasongaust, December 14, 2008 19:35:44
I don't need any more details. The plea came from RPK, a man of high wisdom and integrity, a true blue Bangsa Malaysia. Thats good enough for me to send in my dollar to help our sick brother. Get well soon brother and may the God be with you.
written by Joelim, December 14, 2008 20:01:25
From you RPK...no question asked. Will do the transfer tomorrow.
written by BennyG, December 14, 2008 20:23:55
Strange. My Maybank online was rejected. I'll bank in tomorrow.

"It has been narrated that the Prophet said: charity is not about giving away what you don’t need but what you treasure."

Anyway, at least this line made me realised why RPK was willing to go to jail for his beliefs. Thank you.
written by fairnessforall, December 14, 2008 20:27:15
No problem, will bank in tomorrow
written by emirateswenger, December 14, 2008 21:30:20
Is the account still open?

From Account: XXXXXXXXXXXX M2U Premier
Reference Number: 1284568289
Transaction Date/Time: 14 Dec 2008 21:27:23

written by lynn, December 14, 2008 21:51:31

We trust you & your judgment implicitly. If you say so, we will donate without hesitation.
But surely the good doctors / surgeon / hospital can give 50% discount if they read your message?

Will do the bank-in tomorrow over the counter.
written by panca, December 14, 2008 22:09:09
Unsuccessful reject.
What happened to M2U?
written by Kopi37, December 14, 2008 22:28:37
I hope to see many others in RPK T-shirts will flood Maybank, Air Hitam, Penang Branch tomorrow while I transfer my bit to the traumatic Michal Joseph family! God Bless and save Michal and Mrs!...
written by keat cheahs, December 14, 2008 22:46:55
Sorry Pete. Could not go through after numerous attempts. I thought of making Gus donate RM50 since I would be drinking one jug less at the Fisherman's Wharf! Any other account number?

From Account: 014123111217 CA
Reference Number: 1284576633
Transaction Date/Time: 14 Dec 2008 22:44:00

Tiger Cheah
written by Tlau, December 14, 2008 22:53:57
Pete, Kevin is very lucky that you highlight his plight and received so many response. I too highlighted a plight of an indian family just like your case with the Stars, wife struck with cancer, and husband who is a lorry driver got heart attack due to pressure. Their eldest daughter under such strenous condition still could score 6As and 1B in her UPSR contemplating to quit school to take care of mother and younger siblings. The husband had borrowed until his passbooks and ATM cards are now with money lenders. Children's face look blank and bleak. The response from the public was lukewarm, and I am still hoping for more help to come around.
written by Namolos, December 15, 2008 00:25:23

Can i make a suggestion?..Maybe you can start a FUND with a separate Bank Account under Your name or under a Trust fund Acct.[to be managed by you or appointed Trustees]...so that anyone can contribute to this fund and you or Trustees can use these funds to help whoever or what ever you deem deserving. That way, any EXCESS funds to any causes can be channeled to other needy cases...instead of ending up to one individual case or cause.

Its Just a thought for a very worthwhile cause by Malaysia Today.

Thank you...from your supporters
written by wolf, December 15, 2008 00:27:23
Will bank in RM100 tomorrow. I'm servicing my home mortgage, car loan and still clearing my credit card debts but I'm banking in RM100. No, I'm not showing off that I'm generous or what not.

All I'm saying is that RM100 is not much. We have like more than 100,000 readers in MT. Imagine, if only 10% of us banked in RM100, thats RM1 million already.

Guys, we have all been screaming about corruption and arrogance and the inhumanity of politicians here. Time to show to them that we CAN make a difference. Time to show that we CAN, in the spirit of Bangsa Malaysia, we can do something for a fellow Malaysian, not just empty talk.
written by ultraman kite, December 15, 2008 01:00:45
Status: Unsuccessful - Account is not authorised. Reject code: [0076]
Reference number: 1284583889
Transaction date: 15 Dec 2008
Transaction time: 00:57:44
written by PRman, December 15, 2008 01:42:02
poor Maybank IT guy. He must had been called in to the HQ to block any incoming fund into this acct.
written by apa jadi, December 15, 2008 01:49:42
No problem, Sire, since the call comes from you, not BN thieves who even squander charity monies.

Will bank in tomorrow if I am not too busy.
written by LukeJr, December 15, 2008 02:16:07
oh my i'm so touched by all the comments above!

"Logging on to Maybank2U now"

"will do tomorrow morning"

written by schizonoid, December 15, 2008 04:22:51
I am poor,but I'll give what I can.
written by FFT, December 15, 2008 04:44:15
How do we bank in money from overseas? RPK, can you place that PayPal account you used last time back online?
written by educationist, December 15, 2008 05:49:28
Sure, a clarion call by RPK, will I heed - what more it's for a family in need.
"Deathhorses asked why don't the family try the public hospital system?"-I feel there must be valid reasons & knowing our public health delivery system there are no doubts very pertinent ones.
And, yes there are no doubt many other equally deserving and urgent cases out there, but as RPK has highlighted this case as one of those many soldiers behind the limelight that is good enough for me.
written by kywl1981, December 15, 2008 06:02:28
i will donate ...not much...but if everyone donate even a bit, i believe we can all still help...

written by kywl1981, December 15, 2008 06:07:23
errmm...the transfer is not successful. Account not authorised? So how?

Amount: Status: Unsuccessful - Account is not authorised. Reject code: [0076]
Reference number: 1284587360
Transaction time: 06:05:52

From Account SA

To 3rd Party Account Number: 112447043083

Effective date: Today
Description of transaction: Donation - KEVIN A/L MICHAL
written by evaangel, December 15, 2008 07:06:19
Can we double check on those account details please? I am going to do an international transfer and I don't want it going to gawd knows where...
Also forwarded the blog post as an email to friends and family - so need to update them if account is wrong.
written by evaangel, December 15, 2008 07:08:22
Also - need international banking code so I can set up a TT - thanks.
written by kamwy, December 15, 2008 07:24:28
RPK, i am not able to contribute (just a poor student!), but would wonder - why our public healthcare and health insurance systems are so crappy..that unfortunate story like this keep coming up!
written by evaangel, December 15, 2008 08:25:24
Kamwy,
I am very wary about health insurance schemes in Malaysia (in fact all over the world) as they will find some loophole NOT to pay. One of my aunts for example had a problem with R arm pain, was covered with private medical insurance so went for further investigations. Investigations uncovered a cervical rib (which is an extra rib above the first which was compressing her blood supply when her arm was raised) - she needed an operation to have it fixed. Insurance refused to cop the bill saying that this was a pre-existing condition, as cervical ribs are congenital and therefore would not pay. My aunt is in her 60s and never had a problem with it before. Perhaps if the doctor had worded it like - cervical rib in combination with acquired osteoarthritic changes and degeneration of the cervical spine through aging she may have gotten a payout? My aunt isn't rich - having spent her entire life caring for family and extended family. Fortunately that paid for itself as the bill was paid by family.
As for public healthcare - I would be interested to know what the upper bracket of tax is in Malaysia. I have always worked overseas and had a whopping 40% taxed out of my ass - but overseas (in the UK) the healthcare burden is taken on by the NHS - where if you need something, you get it. Private hospitals there don't feature prominently there - mainly for elective simple procedures on healthy patients or for skipping the queue. The NHS is really a beautiful utopian system that is breaking under the abuse. In Australia, people pay a medicare levy but they strictly ration who can actually tap into the medicare system. So in Australia there is a balance between private and public.
In malaysia - people go to public hospitals as a last resort. The view is - you go there to die. Many people delay presenting so their pathology is quite florid so for most cases that is true. Penang alone has at least 5 private hospitals - each equivalent to a tertiary centre. That reflects the faith in the public system ( which is probably manned by really hard working over worked doctors).
I guess what i'm trying to say - in my longwinded way is - you get what you pay for. For a thriving public system, you need major public monies to sustain it. And for the average working person - this means a higher tax bill.
written by ksauyong, December 15, 2008 09:04:05
Just came back from Maybank - tried to bank in using all 3 Cash Deposit ATMs. The money was rejected. Have they blocked all transactions to this account? Any other way we can donate? Maybe another account ?
written by DNA, December 15, 2008 09:15:51
Ya, I also having the same problem with Maybank2u. Account not authorised. - Reject Code: [0076]!!!!!!!!! Anybody can figure out?
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 15, 2008 09:16:36
I thank you, all you Malaysians who walked up to me to shake my hands, asked for my autograph, requested my permission to take a photograph with me, and much more. I know it is not me per se that you idolise -- because I certainly do not want to be idolised (it is un-Islamic to say the least) -- but that you feel you are contributing to the cause of making this a better Malaysia. And that is all that I am seeking, not to be put on a pedestal and hero-worshipped.

ITS BECAUSE U EPITOMISE WHAT IT IS TO BE A HUMAN BEING - CARING, LOVING, JUST, COURAGEOUS - IRRESPECTIVE OF YR RACE, CREED, COLOUR, RELIGION OR POLITICAL STANDING.
written by Susanna, December 15, 2008 09:28:02
Most of us will be doing so not only because it's the right thing to do because it does not take much if all were to contribute a little, it will amount to much. Previously had the experience of getting our customers and staff to contribute to a supplier's 12 year old son who had leukemia and RM100,000 was collected in no time. The supplier also went online for it. We are contributing because we trust your call for it. But be mindful of when monies collected enough, the recipient is transparent about it. Because our supplier's email request went on and on until we suspected that they already made too much!
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 09:45:53
Folks,

Do not worry about the authenticity of Kevin Micheal's case and the transparency of the account. He and his family is known to us. He is a blogger.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 15, 2008 09:57:04
Ok my bro Pete,

Sounds like a genuinely hard case an I'll do what I can.

May God be with that family.
written by bikerzon, December 15, 2008 09:58:44

I'm currently resides in China, can I contribute thru PayPal like the one I did for Blogger Defence Funds? It will be much easier for me.

Thanks.
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 09:59:20
Banked in successfully.

Make sure you go to the right bank! Maybank lah, not CIMB. smilies/grin.gif
written by Mik, December 15, 2008 10:00:24
"To Muslims, I have this to say. It has been narrated that the Prophet said: charity is not about giving away what you don’t need but what you treasure. And I leave it to you to decide if you want to give away what you don’t need or what you treasure in the spirit of the true teachings of Prophet Muhammad. Maybe the ‘no pain, no gain’ slogan most aptly describes what the Prophet meant. So, can we, as Muslims, ‘give till it hurts’?"

Hinduism said the same thing. Charity is when u give till u feel the "pinch". Bet its the same in Christianity and Buddhism. We the ppl, should start looking at the similarities and stop looking at the differences.
written by Mark C, December 15, 2008 10:41:26
Funds Transfer to 3rd Party Accounts

From Account: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
New Balance: RMXXXXXX
3rd Party Email Address : XXXXXXXXXXX
Reference Number: 1284623145
Transaction Date/Time: 15 Dec 2008 10:38:17
written by ylcc, December 15, 2008 10:46:23
Dear Kevin,
Just banked in cash at Maybank ... can only give you these details: 231862, 1790 A868A.
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 10:46:44
Hinduism said the same thing. Charity is when u give till u feel the "pinch".

If I am not mistaken, the saying in tamil is, 'to live is to give, or, to give is to live'. One who gives truly lives, all others may be counted among the dead (Tiruvalluvar).
written by Ashleigh, December 15, 2008 10:47:07
DONE!

Ultraman kite and kywl1981, I have no problem transferring money to this account. Hope youc an try again to support this cause!
written by kasiakanaun, December 15, 2008 10:58:56
Dear RPK and all kind readers,

It is very heartening to see the kind of responses towards this plea. Episodes of this kind are but repeated in other parts of our country with very few people ever realising. I may not be able to contribute in kinds but my prayer is for this man. Somewhere else, some identical or even more acute stories of such nature are happening all the time. I have a pictorial story of such people who needed a little attention from caring Malaysians so that their burden of sufferings may be eased.

To read and see more more of their sufferings, please visit the url below.
http://salakobato.********.com...nd-by.html
written by pinsysu, December 15, 2008 11:07:44
when strangers start to care & show compassion towards fellow needy humans, the world starts to get better. but a lot of times somebody nids to be in the driver seat & the rest can hop in ah. juz can't understand why some dogs are having range of 5-star hotel to pick these days but some decent human beings can't even make ends meet. i no stay in Msia so can send cheque instead? address please? smilies/wink.gif
written by zonefinder, December 15, 2008 11:19:08
Kevin,
hope that our contributions have helped to alleviate your problem. You have got the right guy to back you. Once RPK makes an appeal, the generous public needs no verification because we trust him.
God bless.
written by MT682, December 15, 2008 11:23:21
Done. Hope this little contribution combined with those from everyone else will help this family. God bless them.
written by ultraman kite, December 15, 2008 11:29:36
yup, just donated. feeling proud smilies/grin.gif
written by antiilluminati, December 15, 2008 11:40:23
"Only great souls know the grandeur there is in charity".
Author: Jacques Bénigne Bossuet

Yes, my dear RPK. I will smoke less for this month.
written by unomalaysia, December 15, 2008 11:47:31
Consider it done. Becos its you RPK who asked and for Michal Joseph and family, to have to suffer so much after all you have done to make Malaysia a better place for our children, my effort is but a drop in the ocean. May God gives blessings to you.
written by Bloodhound, December 15, 2008 12:04:09
Hi Pete,

We are still waiting for the Paypal account details to transfer AUD 300.00 into.
written by pinsysu, December 15, 2008 12:27:40
Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. It is greater to give than to receive ...
written by Amy Chan, December 15, 2008 12:39:45
Just did online transfer. Hope that 'sedikit sedikit lama lama menjadi bukit' soon.
I hope Kevin's family will get through the difficult time.
written by The dragonheart, December 15, 2008 13:13:11
May God take care of Kevin's parents.. God bless to all who help too...
written by samesamemam, December 15, 2008 13:32:10
transferred contribution to Kevin's a/c; transaction No. - 84803X88169
written by jdoe, December 15, 2008 13:47:26
Done.
Reference number: 1284663794
Transaction time: 13:46:26
written by zam3886, December 15, 2008 14:28:03
transaction reference: 801316 (Public Bank.

If this excercise is successful, maybe we can use MT as a platform to promote other social works.
written by Ninja, December 15, 2008 14:51:38
I can afford only RM50 since I am now jobless.
Transaction ref: 1284676968 MB2u
May god bless him & his family.
written by guns head, December 15, 2008 15:42:20
Hello

please sms kevin that his maybank account has problems.

i hope kevin reads my message

15/12/08 today at maybank johor bahru town

2 deposit machine reject his account

then i queue counter

the cashier checked

she said " owner must be informed urgently"

because

" too many transactions"

" computer shows quantity exit limit"

She request kevin to go maybank and bring passbook.

then she called her manager because i insist its urgent to deposit money to this account.

the manager helped by printing out something for 6 pages

then he say now OK but the owner must go to bank for updating the account due to unlimited transactions daily.

then he took my RM and deposit to kevin account.

so from here i suppose that kevin is receiving donation

this is my message

Lord Jesus said " use what u need "

so kevin, outside there are many people in need like your family.

so if got extra donation, u may want to donate to the needy suffering people too

don't forget God is watching you

If you got any sudden greed or lust then ..... u know "what u reap u sow"

anyway, i am happy that kevin account is overflowing.

i wonder how we going to help hundreds of disease victims in Msia only

All praise, honour and glory goes to God.

Thanks to RPK and team for bringing this up.

So Kevin do good to others too.....karma
written by Concerned Malaysian, December 15, 2008 15:50:20
Hi Pete,
I"ll do mine by today.

Tks to all the Malayasian who is going beyond race & religion for a good cause. This is truly the essence of humanity which all of us belong to. May all of you be blessed with health & happiness.

Kevin, hope your parents speedy recovery!
written by Concerned Malaysian, December 15, 2008 16:05:37
Just did mine!
Transaction time 3.58.
written by Concerned Malaysian, December 15, 2008 16:10:32
Wow temenggong, truly malaysian!You are rigt about the saying.

One who gives truly lives, all others may be counted among the dead (Tiruvalluvar).
written by DezMalaysia, December 15, 2008 16:14:14
I have not much left for this month after my wife gave birth to a baby boy two months ago. Used up all my savings & I'd spend a lot on baby stuffs. Getting poor day by day, and baby milk powder is getting more expensive nowadays. Thanks to Barang Naik Government !

I donated RM 50 to the family, as a token of my heart & as a Malaysian to help them. RM 50 is just a petty sum, nothing big. But, I believe fellow Malaysians will shower their love in droves to help other poor & unfortunate Malaysian souls, regardless of race & religion.

Transaction Record : Deposit
Amount : RM 50
Date : 15/12/20078
Time : 02:41PM
A/c No : 112447043083

If god ask me what I want in return for doing a charity, I wish that PAS win in the 'Battle of KT (Kuala Terengganu)' by-election. Let's show the Babi Najis regime that Malaysia for Malaysians, and not UMNOputeras & BN goons.

From a DAP member (Bachang).
written by Rozlan, December 15, 2008 16:40:31
RPK

Just came back from Maybank.Tried twice to donate some money through the deposit machine but failed. The name and account number was correct but the machine said 'DEPOSIT TIDAK DITERIMA".Maybank or Bank Negara had block it??
written by panca, December 15, 2008 17:11:29
Reference number:
Transaction time: 16:55:11

Hope it will add to the help, Kevin. Readers everywhere, keep the fund snowballing.

Kevin, for what you have done for all of us, thank you. Also thanking you for giving us a chance to show you our gratitude.

May you recover speedily.
written by Azril Way, December 15, 2008 17:28:16
no problem rpk, will donate tomorrow smilies/smiley.gif
written by saintalf, December 15, 2008 17:47:08
Transaction references= 85013x103057

God Bless.
written by SL Chan, December 15, 2008 18:03:08
Done..alrdy bank in...
written by wolf, December 15, 2008 18:33:38
well, since the account seemed to be blocked due to high volume to deposits, i'm using another bank's online transfer. hope it can credit successfully tomorrow. txn ref: 31986963
written by Chinesegal, December 15, 2008 18:39:09
Amount: RM50.00 Status: Successful
Reference number: 1284716404
Transaction time: 18:34:49

From Account XXXXXXXXXXXXX PCA
New balance: XXXXXXXXXXXXX

Get Well Soon.
written by Chinesegal, December 15, 2008 18:40:43
Dear all,

I've just done it thru maybank2u. Seems ok. Lets all chip in to help this family.

written by Chinesegal, December 15, 2008 18:49:08
To all elected representatives,

222 MP plus 576 Adun = 798 donors. Pls chip in RM10 each and the fund should be up by RM7,980. Lets walk the talk.
written by fireduck, December 15, 2008 19:01:14
MBB2U a small amount -- successfully done. Hope your family gets better, Kevin.
written by Mark C, December 15, 2008 19:09:35
it's sad to know that the plight of law abiding citizen of our country needs help to seek appropriate medical treatment while corrupt politicians stays and spend our tax money lavishly .

It's time to makkal sakti to those that walks the power and lets start by denying them (BN) the KT seat!
written by nubie, December 15, 2008 19:42:57
I am in the Uk, I have trawled through the comments and can't find the Intrernational bank ac number(IBAN number)which is needed to transfer monies overseas from where i am at currently. Anyone able to assist?? usually the following are needed

IBAN
SWIFT/BIC Code
Bank Address
Beneficiary address if possible
Beneficiary name

Kevin - maybe you can supply those details if not already given?

Thanks
written by Little Sparrow, December 15, 2008 20:05:08
Just transferred RM100/- to Kevin's account via Citibank. Unsuccessful thro' MBB. Small amount though but I hope it will help ease his burden.
written by Tompios, December 15, 2008 20:09:37
Anyone can help me how to transfer money from BSN account number to account No: 1124-4704-3083 (Maybank)by using online? I am in oversea now. Never use online for transferring money since in the beginning of the time.
written by sammi, December 15, 2008 20:38:00
Very sad & touching news!

I will do the bank in tomorrow. May God Bless Kevin & Family....Speedy recovery soon!
written by MrHot, December 15, 2008 21:17:04
Done RPK sir ! God Blessed !
written by choong, December 15, 2008 21:22:02

Was busy last few weeks. Just saw this today. Have just performed an IBG transfer for RM100.

Will keep them in prayers.
written by Durnfordi, December 15, 2008 22:03:35
Will do my part tomorrow. God bless u and yr family Kevin. YM Raja Petra, thanks for fighting for a better Malaysia. We'll get there one day!
written by asiana888, December 15, 2008 22:07:29
Ok. Will do first thing tomorrow morning.
God bless you Kevin & family. Have faith ... stay strong.

Thanks, Pete for highlighting this issue.
written by keat cheahs, December 15, 2008 22:12:37
Still cannot. Will go to machine tomorrow.

Amount: RM50.00 Status: Unsuccessful - Account is not authorised. Reject code: [0076]
Reference number: 1284742386
Transaction time: 22:02:27

From Account 014123111217 CA

Description of transaction: Donation

Tiger Cheah

written by malgal, December 15, 2008 22:27:18
RPK, your appeal for this worthy cause comes at a conscience-prodding time. Was `dashing through the stores on a shop-bent rainy day' when `o'er your words we go, crying all the way'. Like wot ave i done? Lucky I read MT and put the brakes on my shopping. Heard that Michael was adamant his wife's treatment was more needful and he was to delay help on his heart so she gets help first. I will do my bit. The shops aint getting any more of my portion.
written by ismhakim, December 15, 2008 23:50:07
YM Raja Petra

I am currently overseas. Am asking my sister back home to bank in my contribution on my behalf.

Hope the family is handling the situation well.

Our best wishes with the family

written by Dominic Kok, December 15, 2008 23:55:20
Petey,
There are many nameless and faceless Malaysians overseas who would like to help as well and in our case paypal is an easier choice of contribution. Allow us to help too.
written by James Loh, December 16, 2008 07:35:27
I've only donated RM50. I'll make another contribution next month.
written by cksgary, December 16, 2008 10:10:25
Although expenditure really tight this month, but just done my small bit. This is the least I could do.

Wish Kevin and his family well. Wish everyone well too. MT Boleh...
written by antiilluminati, December 16, 2008 10:10:56
Even the bank can't take it !..

To corrupted BN leaders & to PR Leaders as well,
I suggest you better believe that our dearest RPK's voice thru his writings can certainly "move" mountain. You corrupted guys better buck up and get your act together to run this country well.

written by unomalaysia, December 16, 2008 10:51:14
Dear all, if you encountered problem with the Maybank machines, its biasalah!
I tried to do a 3rd party transfer yesterday thru two ATM machines but they did not allowed me. Eventually I had to withdraw cash and banked in thru the cash deposit machine. Few weeks ago I couldn't even banked in cash at the cash deposit machines on first try but eventually managed after the 3rd try (after giving the damn machine a good kick when the guard was not looking). Hey afterall, its Maybank and they should change the logo from a Tiger to a stray cat.
written by liumx, December 16, 2008 11:06:02
Amount: RM10.00 Status: Successful
Reference number: 1284800513
Transaction date: 16 Dec 2008
Transaction time: 10:59:48

Description of transaction: Donation
written by Hazel, December 16, 2008 11:21:45
I usually don't trust any request for donations because I am doubtful where the fund actually goes to. However this time I will donate becos I trusted you YM RPK.
Shall bank in the cheque today. God bless Mr. & Mrs Michal Jos.
written by Lis LQ, December 16, 2008 12:51:04
Going to Maybank today.
Hope my small contribution will will make up for all the total cost.
God Speed Mr & Mrs Michal Joseph.
May the Joy of Christ birth brings lots of Blessings to you and family.
God Bless you my dear RPK.May you and family be Blessed with good health always.
written by abm80, December 16, 2008 12:55:11
I understand how the family feels. I recently had to admit my mother to a govt hospital because we could not aford more. All they do is treat you like a paria dog. My hands may be tied but a little contribution im sure i can squeeze through and i hope it will go a long way for all. Banking it in tomorrow.
written by alarcarte, December 16, 2008 13:16:28
Kevin,
Wish your parents get well soon..

MAYBANK Name: Kevin A/L Michal
Account number: 112447043083
Transfer Amount: MYR 200.00
Transfer via: MEPS GIRO Date and frequency
Transfer type: Transfer now
Effective date: 16 Dec 2008
written by smart, December 16, 2008 13:34:10
I tried to transfer via Maybank2u.com thrice but was unsuccessful. I called up Maybank KL and the officer told me that only 20 transactions per day is allowed to be banked into a SAVINGS ACCOUNT. She suggested that Kevin open a CURRENT ACCOUNT with Maybank and UNLIMITED transactions can be done.
written by apa jadi, December 16, 2008 13:38:32
I think there is a limit problem to Mr. Kevin's savings account.

I tried banking in through a cash deposit machine yesterday night. The money was accepted on verification, but rejected after it tried to update to Mr. Kevin's account. Is there a 100 transactions limit to his passbook? If it is, I think he better sort it out with the bank officer.

Alternatively, RPK, could you set up a trust fund to facilitate all these charity funds. I know we may be asking too much, for you to take up another volunteer job. But this will also help regulate the amount donated to the beneficiary is not more than what he needs for the treatment. Otherwise, it may be another case of people complaining the beneficiary using the contribution to buy house and car( there was this case where a baby boy scarred in a mishap. The mother used the money to buy car and house). Just a point for all to think over.
written by kksam, December 16, 2008 13:39:55
Tried to do it via Maybank2u but failed, rejection code 0076. Will try again later.
written by lobster, December 16, 2008 13:44:38
I'll try tonight. I agree with apa jadi, RPK, is there another account to bank in the fund?
written by Steven Tan, December 16, 2008 15:12:32
I fully agree with "Apa Jadi". Kevin's family genuinely needs RM116,000.00 but with this type of blindly banking system, no body know how much money already accumulated in his account. May be, so far the amount accumulated can be RM70,000 may be RM500,000.00 or may be RM1,000,000.00 or whatsoever amount.

So, we should have a method where a genuine amount been donated to the genuine case. For that we need a genuine person to run the show... I think the best person to lead this role is non other than our RPK.

The method should be like this... When ever there is a genuine situation where someone need a financial support for serious medical purpose. Our RPK needs to "activate" all of us to donate as much as we can to a Special Account Opened and Organise By RPK.

As an example, let say someone needs RM50,000 for a medical purpose. RPK just need to alert us through MT. Then all of use can donate as much as we can effort to that Special Account. Let say the amount accumulated is RM75,000. Don't give the cash (RM50,000) to the patient or his family. Pay direct to the hospital. Let the balance of RM15,000 remain in the bank and later if there is another case, we can use for it and if it's not enough, we can start again the donation.

So by doing this:

a) We can help more people whose genuinely need the help.

b) We can give the correct amount of money to the patient. So this will prevent
someone from misusing the public donated fund.

YM RPK, please consider this suggestion.....thanks smilies/smiley.gif
written by Panger, December 16, 2008 15:36:48
Hi RPK,
Being an avid overseas (UK)follower of MT and your blog in particular,I was chuffed to bits when I saw you at Bernards. I was with my cousin and my English wife and when my cousin mentioned to me you were at the next table, I couldn't believe the incredible coincidence, having last logged on a few days earlier before flying home. My wife asked who's he..and I replied well you know all those times when you've complained about me being up late on the internet, that man is responsible! You were with a group and I felt it would be intrusive to come to say hello and share a word, thinking that I would leave it till your group was getting ready to go. Sod's law you were gone whilst i visited the gents. So I hope you suffer the virtual hangover from the session we didn't have...knowing that the money has gone instead to a good cause.
Panger from the UK back in PJ
written by apa jadi, December 16, 2008 15:43:51
People, don't get me wrong. We can contribute first. Mr. Kevin needs the money fast. Discuss about how to manage future donations later. Or, the simplest way is like what RPK did last time: Mr. Kevin update us the total-todate and call off once it reaches the target.
written by Chavin, December 16, 2008 15:46:02
Fully agree with MT Trust Fund.
written by samesamemam, December 16, 2008 15:50:37
good point apa jadi and steve tan...perhaps some check and balance necessary at this point before more ppl keep transferring monies to the a/c...i understand other bloggers are also advertising the cause (I`ve advertised it myself to friends and family), and given rpk's good reputation lotsa ppl gonna give, which may be open to abuse...then we all taken for a ride for a good cause...no offence rpk...
written by RakyatMY, December 16, 2008 16:11:57
Did my small part. Praying for recovery of Kevin's parents.
written by ultraman, December 16, 2008 17:16:25
You are a true MUSLIM in every sense of the word. Those devils said that you showed disrespect to Islam. SHIT to THEM.
In fact you have won respects for ISLAM from many quarters of the population by your sheer deeds and actions.
YES, YOU NEVER SHOWED DISRESPECT FOR ISLAM. IN FACT YOU GLORIFY ISLAM BY WORDS AND DEEDS.
GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS>. OOOP! I just contributed a small sum to KEVIN and I pray that he would be encouraged by so many concerned readers. GOD BLESS HIM AND PARENTS TOO
written by cruzeiro, December 16, 2008 17:41:21
Cheers, Kevin!
Take care.
written by dinosaur, December 16, 2008 19:12:15
Tho' a retiree who may need to worry about source of income in the next two years, I did my small part this morning in Maybank Jalan Maarof. Take care Kelvin and we all trust and always support all the good courses initiated and done by our YB RPK. According to many economists, the coming years will be tough and difficult for many people here and abroad. Anyway, let's help our brother Kelvin first, we shall cross the bridge when we come to it in the future. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by malgal, December 16, 2008 20:49:14
Hi Kevin, may God bless your family and wishing your mum and dad a speedy recovery. Just transferred into your Maybank A/C without any problem. 16th Dec transfer reference number 84803 x145068.
MT reader who encountered difficulty transferring, there isnt any hiccup here.
written by Mark C, December 16, 2008 21:07:50
for 3rd party account transfer for Maybank2U, u need to register ur mobile and get a TAC before the funds can be transfered. smilies/grin.gif
written by captmarco ramius, December 16, 2008 21:13:21
Dear Brothers and Sisters of Malaysia Today and Makkal Sakthi,

I was away on a overseas trip so I got to know about this plea very late.Anyway,I have done my part in contributing something to alleviate
the burden of Brother Kevin Michal Joseph towards the medical bills.
My family and I pray that his parents will recover the soonest.

On another note,There a bound to be a lot of cases like this in Malaysia.
Just flip thru the newspapers and you come across such plights almost every other day.So,it is same to conclude that Brother Kevin's problem will not be the last to be highlighted.

My humble suggestion to YM RPK and all MT followers will as follows:

1. I suggest that YM RPK set-up a trust (eg Yayasan Kebajikan Raja Petra Kamaruddin or something...similar to Richard and Melinda Gates Foundation or Yayasan Aman headed by YB Datin Seri Wan Azizah)
2. In addition to individual contribution from MT readers,we can ask Pakatan lead governments to lobby multi national companies in their states (eg Intel,Seagate etc in Penang,Motorola,Western Digital etc in Selangor and Carsem Semiconductor in Perak) to contribute to this trust fund.It should be made tax deductible by Inland Revenue Department.Similarly,to all individual contributions.
3. Then the central government should be pressured to give a matching grant to this foundation.Meaning to say that if this foundation can collect RM 5000.00 on it's own,the central government should provide the same amount to the foundation.This is in the view that the current govt mechanisms such as Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat to which the govt contributes FAILED miserably to handle and assist in cases like this...the core business this departments are formed.So let the rakyat form their own mechanism to solve the rakyat's problem such as this.There was also some health bailout package fund totalling millions announced by the govt some time ago but I have never heard of anyone benefiting anything from it.So that SATU LAGI PROJEK KERAJAAN BARISAN NASIONAL seems to be a big flop,after all.A white elephant and empty promises,to put it bluntly.Asking the central govt for a matching grant is a long shot but it's certainly worth the try (especially with the help of 5 Pakatan lead states).
4. Whenever,a case like this arise,the foundation could then evaluate the cases and render monetary assistance by issuing Guarantee Letter undertaking payment towards the medical bills.Medical treatment could be administered immediately without the patient or the family to be burdened by the need to deposit a nominal sum as required by the hospital before they begin treatment.A legal and registered foundation could just issue GL and the hospital need only bill the foundation.Payments,as agreed or approved can be paid direct to the respective hospital by the foundation.The patient and their family need only concentrate on the treatment and support their next of kin in assisting in the recovery process.

I must admit that the whole process would be very complex to run but it would certainly be a lifeline to people like this who have lost all hope in the govt and it's 'welfare agencies'.Furthermore,we will never know unless we have a go at it.For such a noble cause,my opinion will be,'Let's go for it'.

Let us show the govt that where it has failed it's citizens miserably,we the RAKYAT have decided to take it into our own hands to rescue and help our fellow brethrens in distress.And let's also show them that WE WON THE WAR !!!.

My two cents worth for your kind consideration.Thank you Malaysians...where ever you are.May the blessings of the Almighty Lord be upon you and yours always.

capt marco a ramius
written by Tlau, December 16, 2008 21:49:41
Capt Marco,
I for one will certainly be responsive to your idea. But the problem is when we approached those Govt agencies or private agencies, they would normally take a couple of months to process for approval, infact sometimes, the govt agency don't reply at all.

It is normally in the critical stage that such families come to us for help and they needed money like yesterday. In my cases, tomorrow they want to see doctor, today only they come to approach. Reason is no where else to borrow or for fear of us turning them down. Then it will be kalang kabut for us to suddenly raise fund for them. So it is either through friends and then through the newpapers.

Furthermore, we normally do not give them all the funds collected because they will abuse the money donated from fellow malaysians. I have ever experience once, a family member of theirs acting like a gangster in front of my house demanding that we surrendered the whole sum collected claiming that it rightfully belongs to them.

Many of such cases have certainly discourage me helping them out. But lately, my own conscience prick me again when some families are in total despair with kids ranging from a few months to 12 years old. The innocent and fearful look in their eyes melted me into helping them again, but then again, it is a tedious and thankless job with some donors wondering if we are really transparent in handling those amount collected. My mantra is - what don't belongs to me, I won't want it.
written by hakuna, December 16, 2008 21:53:30
Hi Pete - Good on you.You aren't merely brave , YOU definitely have a BIG HEART. Hope to meet you in person one day.

Tried to bank in since last night until the wee hours of the morning but failed miserably.
Anyway just managed to to do the internet transfer about 10 minutes back.
Transaction Reference No. : 074078
written by captmarco ramius, December 16, 2008 22:11:10
Dear Brother/Sister TLau,

Thank you for your comment and input.I have to agree with you on the points raised by you.I have had my share of similar experiences.Nevertheless,It never stopped me from rendering assistance when someone approaches me for help in similar cases.I guess it's just our human nature to help when there is an appeal that looks and feels genuine.It is just not in me to suspect something amiss when someone comes to me with a sore story and ask for help.I have always done whatever i can with the belief that I will let GOD judge the character and the truth of the claims by this person(s).I am just an insignificant soul compared to the ALMIGHTY,so who am I to judge ?.

However,When it comes to MONEY,I do agree that there a lot of people out there who tend to abuse the generousity of the Malaysian public to help in times of despair and tends to capitalise on this.That is why I am proposing what I thought could be a way in preventing this abuse(in my previous comment).There must be a LEGAL,RECOGNISED and SYSTEMATIC organisation to handle this issues.The govt can't be bothered.So I guess,It's up to us now.No better place to do it than MT.Cheers Brother / Sister.

capt marco a ramius
written by xkbyuk, December 16, 2008 22:17:26
The appeal on behalf of Kevin is heart-pulling. While I shall contribute what little money I can afford, I would like to draw the attention of the family to the availability of free back-up nursing services and loan of certain medical equipment from any one of the following hospices: Hopis Malaysia tel: 91333936 (speak to Ms Lynn) or Kasih Hopice Care tel: 79607424 (speak to Ms Lee)
written by sarawakian, December 16, 2008 22:37:19
it would be good if the admins keep readers posted on the level of donations received and when it should be stopped like in the case when bail money was raised for RPK sometime back. while i am not against the idea of donating for a good cause, some people might abuse it. and looking at the feedback here, if 10,000 readers posted RM50 each (and many seem to donate more), our friend would surpass half a million ringgit easily which is way more than is needed.

written by nanyangren, December 16, 2008 23:16:48
hey friend,

keep your monies to yourself...and at the same time, also keep your attitudes. What is the matter with you. Some one is dying of cancer....

What amount of money will it do to him if it is of excess of the medical fees...

What would a misearable RM40 or RM 100 deprive a person of? His soul..probably the contrary.

Assuming this Michael or even RPK is scamming - it is betweenhim and his GOD.

Dont give if you dont want to.....
written by middlepath, December 16, 2008 23:42:07
Dear Pete, Excellent and we all Malaysians are very proud of your caring heart.
going forward, I would also like to plea to you to support the effort for all Malaysians to look at how to prevent getting sick or stay healthy life style. I.e. try to make sure eating healthy diet, less sugar (in our teh tarik), less oil, less salt. Get some exercise by helptying in the recycling activity, to reeduce the garbage in our world, community....etc. I believe, you, if you spare some energy in this area, many Malaysians, will listen to your advice, but you must make sure you make a good example, by living healthy life style, we need you to stay healthy, and happy, you our saviour..... we all are loving human beings, no matter what race or religion.
we all love and care, as you have shown to us all, we all care
written by Raja Petra, December 17, 2008 08:00:41
Please don't send any money if you have any doubts.
written by mountainking, December 17, 2008 11:07:20
sent the money. we should have more of this fund raising to help the ppl. and i believe if PR govt continue to be involved in this type of meaningful fund raising (beware not to squander it like UMNO), the ppl will give the fed govt to PR.
written by Comodo, December 17, 2008 11:12:28
done...Reference number: 1284970220
What goes around, turns around smilies/wink.gif
written by Susanna, December 17, 2008 11:16:00
Please note at Kota Kemuning Maybank branch this morning when doing 3rd party transfer had this "Temporarily cannot be processed" flash on the screen after key in Kevin's account. Please check.
written by apa jadi, December 17, 2008 13:31:04
I finally banked in the money this morning after several attempts.

written by samesamemam, December 16, 2008 22:53:43
I`m alerting my friends and family to stop transferring any monies to the a/c until I see some accountability

samesamemam,
I am guilty of bringing up the accountability issue too early to cause such a stir. Charity has no bound. Only the greedy does not know the limit. At the rate it is going, he will not be getting Rm100K in a week, unless someone donate a big sum to his account. Get your friends and relatives to donate first. We belakang kira on the other issues.

Meanwhile, it will be good that Mr. Kevin update us daily on the amount received and tell us when to stop.
written by johntyc, December 17, 2008 13:54:28
God bless Kevin & Family.
written by samesamemam, December 17, 2008 14:27:20
apa jadi, thanks...good to hear a voice of reason...my appeals will continue for kevin and his parents...my anxieties remain, however, but i`ll take the risk...rpk is an institution so ppl will rally and support when he beckons...reminds me of another institution - the UN - and another worthy cause in our neighbourhood - the 2004 tsunami...sad story appeals from the UN raised more than 6 billion US dollars, just for aceh alone...but four years on, many tsunami survivors in aceh remain homeless and suffering...imagine 6 billion us dollars for a population of just 4 million in aceh...despite the UN's accounting system, a lota ppl got rich...and a lot of the tsunami survivors remain poor and homeless...

I want kevin's parents to benefit from these donations...not the intermediaries...
written by asiana888, December 17, 2008 15:16:00
Hi charitable guys & gals. I was frustrated that Maybank has put a 'blocked' on this account. Obviously, the gomen is monitoring this blog and has got their 'dogs' in Maybank to block contributions to this account. What a heartless gomen this is?!

I tried yesterday at all 3 ATMs in the Maybank branch and couldn;t transfer the money. I even tried a cash deposit machine in the e-kiosk and got the same 'reject' message. I tried transferring money to my wife's account and had no problem.

So, I went to the counter and do a cash there. It went through. I think we better just boycott Maybank la. Useless bank - only another gomen agency!

If you really want to contribute, I suggest do it over the counter at Maybank branches.

God bless.
written by captmarco ramius, December 17, 2008 15:23:11
Dear samesamemam,

...sad story appeals from the UN raised more than 6 billion US dollars, just for aceh alone...but four years on, many tsunami survivors in aceh remain homeless and suffering...imagine 6 billion us dollars for a population of just 4 million in aceh...

I have to give you credit for this arguement.You have got it spot on.

I was one of the first group of rescue personnel deployed to Banda Acheh in the aftermath of the tragedy and witnessed these pillage first hand as it occured right in front of me.So you have got a very valid reason to be suspicious there.

Nevertheless,let us just do our part towards charity and let the greedy ones answer to the Almighty as what Brother / Sister apajadi said.Cheers Bro / Sis.

capt marco a ramius
written by jjireh99, December 17, 2008 15:24:34
mr rpk, please ask kevin to withdraw the monies already in his account asap! Otherwise, the gomen may instruct maybank to divert the monies (I don't know how much has been donated) deposited into their goons' account! Withdraw first and pay the hospital and withdraw periodically. I don't trust maybank. I CAN'T STAND MAYBANK SERVICES! Should have opened account with PUBLIC BANK! THAT'S MY PREFERRED BANK. PERIOD! THANK YOU.
written by tmf, December 17, 2008 16:41:14
Your eyes were moist when we walked up to you in the PJ Session Court to support you and to comfort you by touching your hand. I knew from that moment that, inspite of your courageous thoughts and writtings, your own suffering for a better Malaysia is deeper than what most of us might have presummed.

Kevin's family will be taken care of, God bless you, Sir.
written by johanssm, December 17, 2008 17:53:32
Extremely happy and glad to know that readers of MT really contributes and really helps out. Not all contributors will write into and do a comment. Thank you to the silent supporters and readers . This is a big proof that MT do not survives or gain popularity basing on the number of comments received.
Thank you to MT and Raja Petra for helping out deserving people.
written by carribeanking7, December 17, 2008 18:36:42
Shukur Alhamdulillah.

It just goes to show that no matter how small a personal contribution
collectively it matters.
Sometimes we don't do what little we can because we do not think that it will influence the outcome, but the problem is if everyone thought this way nothing would change.

A lesser man once called MT community faceless , nameless and pointless.

Pete, I am speechless, you have proven a point while getting help to where it is needed.

written by apa jadi, December 17, 2008 20:03:12
Hmmm...RPK Sire, you are really doing the monitoring. And the donation response is better than expected, taking into account of the transaction limits that stopped a number of benefactors paying in on time. Rm75K, Mr. Kevin needs Rm116K. Another Rm41K on the transaction pipeline??

Hope Mr. Kevin's parents get the treatment fast.
written by Kopi37, December 17, 2008 20:20:37
Pete seldom asked for favour, he only gives! Pete has been giving too much for us, the whole nationals of the good Malaysia. We are all obligated to him, we are all at his disposal, when he happens to ask, be it a favour for him direct or indirectly, we must react - timely and conscientiously without second thought! I for one will do it, not only for this time, for umpteen times for as long as Pete asks, I trust him, through respects and love! His philanthropic love begets more loves, including mine!
written by raven1958, December 17, 2008 23:06:39

This is indeed a noble gesture by you....but then again you should start a campaign to right our horrible health services before more die unnecessarily as a result of our stone aged healthcare services or conniving private hospitals......
written by samesamemam, December 18, 2008 02:44:41
Someone sent me this short movie recently, about 5 minutes in length, entitled "historia de un letero" (“The story of a sign”). Perhaps some of you may have seen it too. It’s a film by Mexican director Alonso Alvarez Barreda and it won the 2008 Cannes Short Film Online Competition.

…sometimes, someone just has to help us to see …rpk has been doin that...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAjtrm7RWBA
written by ahmadneil, December 18, 2008 09:09:35
Good job Malaysian!We all are a generous lot!
If RPK can lead in charitable cause,he have to send in a 747-400 cargo plane to carry the money.He start, we finish!
written by mike, December 18, 2008 12:41:44
Dear YM RPK,

Pls continue to highlight needy cases. I for one will contribute only if you vouch for it. That is how much admiration, respect & trust I have for you.
written by steviewonger, December 18, 2008 14:38:13
hey Pete, I totally agreed with captmarco for setting up a fund. what happen to the bloggers' fund/ could it still be used for collecting more funds for future emergencies or could it be legal in the eyes of the law.
I wouldn't want to land others in trouble with the law for collecting funds without the approval from the relevant gomen department.
You could set up a trust fund where at anytime,anywhere and everywhere in the the world, funds could be donated into the account and redirect to the needy within days. But mind you, Pete, can you cope with this extra humanity /social work.
If there is no problem, set the trust fund with the account readily and all MT readers are ready to do their parts...for a better tommorrow in Malaysia.
written by steviewonger, December 18, 2008 14:53:16
Dear Pete, some negative comments befall on you and to insert the trust in you, you had better show something for all the donors. if not, all MT readers will lynch you up high at the highest point in Sg. Buloh(jokingly).
Anyway doing any charity works within our means will enlighten our consciousnous.
Keep it up the good deed. Being a true human, helping others regardless of race or colour is the highest esteem in human nature. MAY ALLAH BLESS YOU.
written by Sincere Reader, December 18, 2008 18:06:05
Dear All,
Reading this piece truly brings joy to my heart knowing there are so many wonderful malaysians out there willing to lend a helping hand to those in need.
Keep up the good work ^.^
written by sarawakian, December 19, 2008 00:08:39
malaysians have been known as one of the most generous when it comes to helping out the needy. sad to say, many have taken advantage of this especially the ruling political party. they paint the picture of poor Malaysians and how they champion the cause and malaysians will back them easily.

personally, i don't know what is RPK's motive to organise this donation as it does not seem to be his nature to do use MT for this purpose. now, everyone with a problem will think that they can put their cause to RPK and hope to get assistance. how will he decide which one to assist and which one to decline??

personally, i had to lose a family member to cancer and now another one is under dialysis. the gov't hospitals which we have to use are so over-crowded and over-worked. should i ask RPK to organise a donation so i can go to a private hospital for better treatment????

i'm sure RPK does not want his "followers" to do whatever he asks or believe whatever he writes blindly. we should all THINK before we act.