Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang to provide free Internet access in 2 years

Penang to provide free Internet access in 2 years PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 10:08

, The Edge

Penang will go ahead with its WiFi project despite health concerns and expects the entire state to have free Internet access within two years, Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said.

He said two companies namely REDtone International Bhd and Packet One Networks (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd (P1), a subsidiary of Green Packet Bhd, had agreed to invest in Penang to enable all the public and community areas to have Internet access.

According to him, REDtone and P1 had pledged RM10 million and RM20 million respectively, over the next two years, adding that the state government was looking for more partners to invest in its the WiFi project with its free and fair competition approach.

“We have two more companies expressing interest. I think we will roll it all out next year,” Lim told reporters at parliament lobby yesterday.

Lim said any company that was interested in the project should have strong financial backing and be registered with the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), as the state government would not be bearing any cost in the WiFi project.

“We will not be under any legal obligation. We will not give any monopoly to any company,” he added.

He said while Penang would be the first free WiFi state in the country, it would also offer WiMAX at an affordable rate.

On the health concerns of WiFi radiation level, Lim said following consultation with the relevant bodies including the Malaysian Nuclear Agency, the state government understood that the radiation level was extremely minimal.

He pointed out that the World Health Organisation (WHO) noted that the amount of non-ionising radiation absorbed by a person from a WiFi station was less than a fifth from what was absorbed from FM radio and television stations.

He added that certain parties that voiced their concern on the danger of WiFi radiation exposure had not proven their case to the state government and as such Penang was committed to proceeding with the WiFi project.

“I’m sure if WiFi is dangerous, no one will want come to parliament to work. MPs will be the first to be frightened as parliament is fully WiFi,” he quipped.

written by mrbean, December 14, 2008 10:14:00
Well Done
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 10:33:02
If Penang state can implement internet access free without incurring much expenses, why is the Federal government spending up to billions of ringgit of tax-payers to implement such ????

Is the Federal government simply useless or up to no good ?

written by MyBUDAK, December 14, 2008 10:41:07
the BILLIONs Ringgit given to TMnet is to ensure TM & kronies...
1. HoJiak
2. HoKun

n continue to SUCK Rakyat bloods... smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 10:49:15
I will move to Penang and call home.With free internet and Lim Guan Eng'sleadership,I will retire happily after in the Pearl of the Orient.
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 10:50:24
LGE,show umno that Penang CAN BE the second Singapore.Yes,We can!
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 10:58:15
Bravo PR and Penang! Make the windows of civilisation and knowledge wide open to every single person, and let its light shine brightly so people can also see clearly those thieves budging in from the fringes of civilisation.
written by anakbuaya, December 14, 2008 11:15:15
Good job LGE. Hope the rest PR states follow too. With internet we can received and send real news to all malaysians and the world too. This is called CAT policy.
written by Orang Muda, December 14, 2008 12:13:19
"Penang will go ahead with its WiFi project despite health concerns..."

I think this opening line is a bit misleading and it could have been worded slightly better. It sounds as if the state government didn't care about the voice and concern of the rakyat and stubbornly go ahead with the project. If one didn't continue to finish the full article he might get that impression. Partly it's because the rakyat have been experiencing too much of the same type of arrogant from BN and immediately we would react emotional to this kind of statement. (at least i did, but I took the trouble to finish the whole article)

The way Penang handled this project has been absolutely professional- they collected oppinions and research from various professional bodies and experts; they appointed Jeff Ooi to handle the PR; they constantly have dialogue with he rakyat who voiced their concern and answered their questions... If the same attitude were to be adopted by the previous state government of selangor, then we would not have to face the mess that we are facing now with all these hillside projects.

Great job, keep it up. Applause...
written by batsman, December 14, 2008 13:17:26
I happily support this project. Those who cite health concerns probably use mobile phones. Am I right or wrong?
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 13:37:48
Go Penang Go! will the price of Penang Char Kueh Tiaw shoot up!
written by Michael Pg, December 14, 2008 13:43:55
Bravo for LGE, but stil wonder how this company that invest in million to get back their investment if provide free? throught internet advertisement? or how. please teach me.
written by CPY, December 14, 2008 15:18:58
From a tactical perspective, this is impressive! LGE, you liberate Penangkia from the Blue Sun (ie BN) propaganda.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 14, 2008 15:35:10
The follwing fact is for those people who is concerned about health hazard:

1. WIFI radiation power is 0.1 Watt maximun, mobile phone can vary upto a few watt, depending of distance from based station.

2. Mobile phone antenna is put just beside user's head, WiFI antenna is on the PC or notebook, which is much further to part of human body. The strength of radiation fall at a rate of 2 times the distance.

So, if hundreds of millions mobile phones have been in use world-wide and there has been no adverse report, it can be safely concluded that WiFI is even more safer.

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, December 14, 2008 16:03:36
Has anyone wondered when Internet Access is FREE, who is really paying for it? Tax payers? For sure, no private companies will do anything for FREE. So how will this work? When you go to Starbucks, you get free WIFI but you paid for the drink.

Not to pour cold water onto LKG's slick public initiative, one does wonder because there is NO FREE LUNCH. Someone must be paying. However, it is everybody's hope that free access will improve the interests of visitors to Penang, increase the awareness level of Penangites to the Internet, and encourage the social network in Penang. Let's watch the success of this initiative.
written by sonofmalaysia, December 14, 2008 16:48:23
correction:

The strength of radiation fall at a rate of square of the distance, i.e., at twice the distance, the strength falls to 1 qaurter.

written by sonofmalaysia, December 14, 2008 16:56:57
Proud_2b_Malaysian,

As regulator, it is possible for the PEnang gomen to offer free WIFI, example instead of licensing to service provider, gomen can strike a deal with private service provider to provide them with free license to operate after they provide free WIFI access to the public for a number of years after which when the users base become big , the service provider start charging users.

It can also be the WIFI service is permanantly free, gomen do not impose license fee on the service providers, but service providers get pay back from advertising when users access network.

written by yipck, December 14, 2008 17:53:18
those that doubt the free service are still in the old dated Thinking. Singapore has been giving free Wifi for years! The 512KBPS line is giving free to people. To use 1MB and above, the people will pay money for it. After setting up the infrastructure for Free Wifi, you can provide the service for wireless. Don't be an illiterate Malaysian giving dump excuses. Singapore wireless broadband now at 2MB, 3.8MB and 7.2MB!! and all are under $100. I got my 2MB wireless broadband at $20 per month only! If I want free access, I go access the 512KBPS.
written by yipck, December 14, 2008 17:56:51
Malaysia already lag behind many countries even vietnam internet access are way better than Malaysia for 512KBps line. Its solid stable. My wife is using that in Vietnam. Singapore already implementing Internet 2.0. Islandwide will have 1000MBPS (1GB!!) yes by 2012. TMNET still at the sucking 1MB for home user. 2MB most? or 4MB at limited places. Singapore home I now using 8MB line! with options to subscribe at 100MB! So now u all understand why MNC want to have their HQ in Singapore? the Communication infrastructure are the best in ASEAN.
written by yipck, December 14, 2008 17:57:30
BangKok arleady at 10MB last time I check last year!!
written by temanmu, December 14, 2008 19:28:04
Yes ... it is a great competitive edge! MNCs will invest there when the economy turns up! Other PR starts should follow too!
written by raven1958, December 15, 2008 00:27:52
Selangor, Perak should follow suite and ascertain all their good work is highlighted via the cybermedia...the mainstream UMNO controlled media must be destroyed once and for all......
written by apa jadi, December 15, 2008 01:59:11
Good job LGE. Show those high-profit oriented GLCs what service means.

For as long as these Wi-Fi repeaters' transmission power kept below health hazard level, I think it is ok to provide PG full wifi coverage.
written by evaangel, December 15, 2008 07:25:10
So proud of you LGE! And even prouder to be called a Penangite!
Let our state lead by example - and show the rest of Malaysia what a non-BN gomen can do.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 15, 2008 14:45:26
That's the way towards good governance Mr. Lim! smilies/grin.gif Keep this up and soon Penang will be the envy of the rest of Malaysia.
written by amoker, December 15, 2008 16:34:32
Penang is the place to be!
LGE is looking like the best PR MB so far. None of the BN MB can multitask like him
written by cheekhiaw, December 16, 2008 00:57:47
None of the BN MB can multitask like him?

Can. Those thieves can steal many things at the same time.