Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Is Yoga a threat to Islam?

Is Yoga a threat to Islam? PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 09:58

The funny thing is that yoga is actually a heritage of our ancestors. It has gained a remarkable international reputation due to its universal appeal and message.

Iyan Nurmansyah, The Jakatra Post

When a Malaysian friend told me that Malaysia's National Fatwa Council had declared that "yoga is forbidden for Muslims", I honestly thought he was joking. It was, therefore, surreal for me to see this topic being discussed in the editorial section of this paper.

However, I then began to question whether I and many of my Muslims friend had become closeted Hindus after practicing yoga for years.

As an enthusiast of Ashtanga Yoga, I wondered which part of it has caused some kind of irritation to these ulemas.

If we translate plainly, Surya Namaskara, which is central to the practice of ashtanga yoga, means Sun Salutation. To claim that performing this movement indicates that a Muslim yoga practitioner worships Surya/Ravi (the Sun God), instead of Allah is an insult to our intelligence.

While performing this movement, practitioners concentrate on their bodily movements and breathing. No yoga instructor is trying to corrupt the Muslim practitioner's mind by suggesting we chant something like "let us pray to the Sun God, and may He give us health and wealth" or something similar.

The very reason why many have argued that yoga is an exercise, which can give us peace of mind, is not because the Sun God plays its trick (or responds), but because during the whole process we concentrate solely on our breathing and the flexibility of our body.

Unlike many competitive sports in which we have to focus not only on ourselves, but also on how to defeat our opponents, yoga is extremely noncompetitive. Practitioners only have to pose and move according to their own bodily ability and flexibility. They do not need to worry whether someone next to them is fitter and suppler.

In a life where most of us are conditioned that it is important to be number one and to be the best whether we admit it or not (i.e. being the best student, having the best job, adhering to the best religion on earth, living in the best country of the world or whatever), practicing yoga is a kind of bliss.

At least for a while, yoga practitioners only focus on how precious their body, mind and breathing are. There is no need to feel that we have to win, to defeat or to be much better than everybody around us.

It is true that there is a part in the exercise in which practitioners chant a mantra. For example, in the yoga class that I sometimes attend, we chant Mantra Mangala.

However, it is wrong to simply translate the Mantra Mangala as a chant directed to Mangala (Mars/the God of War). Instead of throwing accusations that this sort of chanting could potentially make Muslims question their faith, we should actually focus on the content of the chanting itself.

More or less, the chanting includes words such as "may there be peace on earth; may all human beings be prosperous and live in harmony; may the welfare of all people be protected" and so on.

This is a universal message that I believe people from all religions -- be they Muslims, Hindus, Christians or Buddhists -- are familiar with. If one refuses to see this chanting as something which has a universal value, at least chanting that is better than rehearsing words which would potentially lead people to attack others who do not share their beliefs.

The universality of yoga can also be seen by the variety of participants who join the classes. In my own experience, it is hardly that yoga classes are dominated by Hindus as some rather foolishly think. In fact, there are always people from widely different cultural and religious backgrounds in these classes.

The funny thing is that yoga is actually a heritage of our ancestors. It has gained a remarkable international reputation due to its universal appeal and message. Indonesians should actually feel closer to it, instead of treating it as some kind of alien exercise that can corrupt our minds.

It is not my place to criticize the Indonesian Ulema Council (MUI) for debating the practice of yoga. However, it is appropriate to question whether this move will even further distance many Muslims from others. Another question is of course whether some actually regard the essence of universality itself a threat against the exclusivity of their faith.

The writer holds a bachelor's degree in International Relations from the School of Social Science and Cultural Studies, University of Sussex.

written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 10:14:12
No religion is bad in it's teachings ........ but only misleading or poor learned ' preachers ' !
written by Motherchell, December 14, 2008 10:20:18
Very heartening to know that Indonesians are more knowledgeable with metaphysics unlike our bigoted crowd of Govt sponsored, taxpayer squandering entities who clainm to be well learned.

To the Malaysian Leaders it all boils down to-- !Tidak Apa!--- because they need the extremists for their vote bank to plunder the coffers!! They prefer to spend time stoking hatred by letting themselves to be sodomized by ultras and extremists.

written by lynn, December 14, 2008 10:27:06
But they have been insulting our intelligence for decades! Iyan,you mean to say, you only realised that recently, with this yoga fatwa? You see, this is what is wrong with Malaysian citizens. Until something affects them personally, they stay quiet on issues affecting others. What do you call this condition? Apathy. Indifference.

Most people around us are afraid to be vocal, to speak out, not wanting to be seen as "anti-establishment" - that is why I admire, support and love RPK. He spoke out inspite of the threats to his personal liberty, on issues that affected the rest of us!
written by Proarte, December 14, 2008 10:53:13
Here we go again! I thought this Malay Islam non-issue had died a natural death. Next time the Fatwa council and their UMNO bosses plan their next Islamic bastardisation pronouncement, please take into account the target audience.

We all know this Yoga issue was really to drive a wedge between communities and religions in Malaysia. At the same time is is thought to enhance the 'Islamic credentials' of UMNO. They 'defend' Islam by attacking other communities or religions even when there is no confrontation at all. All they want is publicity, even if it is negative. This is the time honoured UMNO and PAS modus operandi.

The idea that Malays are Yoga practitioners in epidemic proportions to warrant attention and concern of the Fatwa council is utterly ridiculous. Yoga classes are a middle class phenomenon seen only in the major cities in Malaysia with a sizeable non-Muslim population. Anyone who has been to a Yoga class will know that invariably there are no Malays in them. Even if there are 5% Malays, these are just isolated examples in the limited number of Yoga classes taking place in the main cities.

If we consider the Malay population as a whole, I would would confidently say that not more than 0.001 % partake in Yoga and even this with no religious connotations as Muslims are not as stupid as members of the Fatwa Council and UMNO think they are. Instead, how many Muslim are corrupt in Malaysia? How many are racist? How many are drug addicts? How many engage in adultery? Isn't Malay Islam concerned about these issues?
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 10:55:29
No ,yoga is a threat to Ulama becos they are scare muslim will be brainwashed. And it's the muslim who are a threat to Islam.
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 11:04:43
The idea of Pakistan was welcomed and brought to fruition by the British when the Indian Congress, fighting for independence, threatened not to support them in World War 2. The British empire drew millions of Indians to die for their great empire in the world wars - many manly Indian jewels were sacrificed to saved the British. The British also wanted a military 'bsae' to maintain their interests and counter Russian influence in that region and deny landlocked Russia a southern warm water access. The people in the area around Pakistan/Afghanistan are historically well known 'warriors' - a result of that area being the main door to the Indian civilisation and perennial hunting ground for all invaders, from Greeks and Persians to Arabs and Mongols and all mixes in between.

People like Ali Jinnah offered Pakistan (if created) as Britain's military bulwark which suited the latter to the tee. Which is why the US & British supported the Pakistan military all this while despite their dubious character. The Russo-Afghan war and US invasion of Afghan are parts of the above. The sorry state of that area today is the result. That area will forever be the proxy battle field for those super powers especially now that some people want a pipeline through Afghanistan to get to oil from the eastern rim of the Caspian Sea. Unless the civilian governments of Pakistan and India work together peacefully, they will only be playing to the hands of others. Like the Indian foreign minister said a few years ago to his Chinese counterpart, if they fight among themselves they only benefit the others.

The Indian civilisation is not great for no reason. Many great souls had graced that land and taught the world how to live in harmony. Barbaric thieves the world over would do well to learn from them, Malaysian ones included. So you think those thieves from non-civilisation that contributed nothing to human civlisation saying 'no yoga' knows what they are talking about?
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 11:16:48
dragonheart,

How can non-muslims that never got out of the age of ignorance know more than those that had gotten out of it millenia ago? They should learn from the muslim world and see where they led the Egyptian, Syriac and Persian civilisations the last 1,000 years. Great people led by great gods deal in big perspectives. What are pronouncements from little ones living off others at the fringes of human history to the big schmes of the gods hor?
written by Futurist, December 14, 2008 13:36:22
The intelligence cannot be broadened because the development of the brain is limited to the circumference of the half coconut shell they live within.
written by Tompios, December 14, 2008 14:17:29
How about the Karmasutera styles in Polygamy? Anyone can prove me that the Karmasutra never been done among Polygamous practitioners among Malaysian? I my Moslem friend who has Three wives told me that Karmasutra styles have nothing to do with Hindu. It is personal activities. smilies/grin.gif
written by Fuminari, December 14, 2008 19:00:33
Is Yoga a threat to Islam? those religious are actually insulting the malaysian muslim community in the first place! in the world,there are a lot of christian, buddist, n even muslim are involved with yoga since ever time can tell,however,hav u heard of people changing their religious faith becos of yoga?absurd,total ridiculous n naive to the core as far as this bunch of sub-human are concerned in this bolehland!pathetic.
written by Edward C, December 14, 2008 19:49:08
Faith is within one self. If one is not strong in their faith, no amount of BANNING will be able to confined these people within the parameters of goodness. It is like going to work in the morning, then go pray in the afternoon and in the evening you take brides and go galavanting. It is not the religion but the person's faith in him/her self. So people must wake up and learn not so spend money on such useless and "good for nothing" board or department. Spend the money on Charity, Education, .. Do good to the people. On Judgement day, you will be rewarded if that is what people seek for.

I Have seen a church session with every one of the devotees holding joss-sticks (the chinese prayer kind). One question to the fellow there, their answer blew me away. "We are not afraid of other religion. We have faith in ours and we have srtong faith. Holding a joss is just a symbol, like holding a candle!"
written by SiHangChai, December 14, 2008 21:26:42
Fatwa Malaysia ini tak ada kerja nak buat melainkan nak buat kecoh agama. Kalau nak kata Yaga itu bertentangan dengan Islam, mungkin Fatwa Malaysia ini lupa yang ramai peminat bola yang pakai baju pasukan macam Liverpool, Everton yang menggilakan iklan arak macam mana? Bukankah ini sebab kalau kita pergi pub-pub yang yang siaran bola live, ramai orang Islam dahagakan bir?
written by AKIKO, December 14, 2008 21:33:31
Fatwa on Yoga was wrong. Islam is in harmony with Yoga. Infact Islam has the compatibility with Yoga on the highest level. It is interesting to compare the symbolism of Prophet Muhammad's nighttime ascent to Heaven, al-Mi‘râj, with the corresponding symbolism in yoga. The Prophet ascended on al-Burâq, a riding beast with the head of a woman, through the seven heavens to the Throne of God. In yoga, the kuNDalinî is a feminine power (shakti) that dwells at the base of the spine and ascends through seven levels (represented by the seven chakras) to the summit of liberation (brahmarandhra). Read here http://indiansmalaysia.*******...ghest.html
written by PASOK, December 14, 2008 22:28:33

Religion is a form of mental illness.
written by johanssm, December 14, 2008 23:51:42
my comment will have nothing to do with yoga.
Lets say if tomorrow an alien spacecraft landed on Malaysia and guess what? the aliens are Hindus. What will the ulamaks say? Will shit hamid ISA those space aliens ?
written by Sphinx, December 15, 2008 00:38:12
Question : What would happen if Krishna, Christ and Muhamad meet???.

Answer: Three of them would embrace each other and the cow, sheep and the camel will fight each other.

Moral of the story: The followers are always the problem.

Cheers

-Long Live The Rakyat-
written by TKAL, December 15, 2008 00:39:03
I think UMNO underestimate the Muslim folks in Msia nowadays...UMNO putra still think that they can still manipulate things and fool them.

Kudos everyone
written by Sphinx, December 15, 2008 00:39:18
Well in another way its FREE publicity, so just let them disgrace themselves, and ya how about nose piercing, or eating muruku?
written by thiamjoo, December 15, 2008 01:02:19
Just forget about the Fatwa on Yoga. Just continue doing it but just don't call it Yoga. For those muslims who operate Yoga centres, just call it a fitness centre, eg. Yogi Bear Fitness Centre. So if those "too free" religious guys raid your centre, they cannot arrest you for doing stretching excercises. No big deal.
written by cheekhiaw, December 15, 2008 10:57:28
Sphinx,

Good one. You should have also said that the lice on each animal would be cheering for their respective hosts. For whichever animal loses out means the end of that parasite.

written by unomalaysia, December 15, 2008 11:00:07
My take: Yoga is no threat to Islam, amno is...
written by Milo, December 15, 2008 15:20:22
For a weak religion, anything can be percieved as a threat to its existence. Those with truths on their side are those that are strong and will thrive under any circumstance.
written by SamYap, December 15, 2008 22:26:24
This is how I see it:

Aside from Yoga being a threat to Islam,
Christianity is also a threat,
Hinduism is also a threat,
Buddhism is also a threat,
Any other relgion or philosophy is a threat,
Pop Songs are also a threat,
GQ Magazine is a threat,
Paintings of animals and humans are also a threat,
Drawin's Theory of Evolution is also a threat (but here Christians share the same view),
A neighbour keeping a pet dog is also a threat,
A non-muslim publication using the word Allah is also a threat,
Condoms are also a threat because birth control is not allowed,

There are lots more, but I think you get the idea.

written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 23:47:30
I thought I told the muslims to circumvent this issue and switch to pole dancing. smilies/cool.gif
written by temenggong, December 15, 2008 23:49:43
In other words, please don't stand on your heads. It's bad enough as it is!!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Milo, December 16, 2008 02:55:24
Mawi,Worst still a Muslim, performing Yoga, it its true practice, unknowingly commits to an act of Syirik. Yes, it may seem harmless, as harmless as singing a melodious song that praises Ganapathy. But unknowingly, a Muslim that does this has commited a grave sin by unknowingly levelled Allah equal to another being.
----------------------------

It is unbelievable how small-hearted and intolerable some people think their God is.
written by mawi, December 17, 2008 15:04:40
It is unbelievable how small-hearted and intolerable some people think their God is.

Milo,

On the contrary, God is great, its human that are weak. Muslims are judged based on his or her adherence to the tenets of Islam which is the justification of her placement in the eternal world hereafter. Its a question of adherence and not about anything else and a Muslim must be conscious of the adherence throughout his or her lifetime.So a muslim has to be always conscious that any act must not be an act of non adherence to the tenets of Islam as it carries grave consequences during judgement. Never ming, it be the smallest act such as ear piercing to a more notorious act such as idol worshipping. Ignorance is never an excuse as humans are blessed with intelligence as compared to animals which reacts to instinct. Thats why, in Islam, the ways of the prophets , other that the Quran and Hadith Sahih, are emulated we but Muslims have to be conscious of new things which are not practised during the days of the prophets so its always the Quran that guides us from straying away fro adherence.