Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Win by-election for Pak Lah, Umno urged

Win by-election for Pak Lah, Umno urged PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 09:24

(The Star) - An Umno victory at the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election would be a perfect parting gift for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who is scheduled to step down in March.

Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam said members should work hard to achieve this.

“It is a perfect gift for Abdullah and his anointed successor (Datuk Seri) Najib Tun Razak. This by-election is a significant one for Umno,” said Mohd Ali who launched Malacca’s domestic tourism promotion campaign called “Jom ke Melaka.”

Mohd Ali said the Umno polls in March would not affect the party’s preparation in the by-election.

“We have faced such situations in the past. We can manage it as members know that the priority is winning the by-election.”

Mohd Ali also said the People’s Progressive Party should not hold Barisan hostage by demanding that the Internal Security Act be amended or else it would leave the coalition.

“Barisan cannot stop the party from leaving if it wants to,” he said, adding that the PPP must aspire to be an asset to Barisan and not a liability.

written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 09:57:33
This is UMMNO shameless politics !
Initially, saying that this Pak Lah is a weak, lame duck leader and the next, a perfect gift for him as a great leader with rakyat support, if wins.
written by Bigjoe99, December 14, 2008 10:02:33
So all those contract signing NOT enough? Well, it is hard on the old fingers to be minting money....
written by RumahPanjai, December 14, 2008 10:32:10
What a bunch of hypocrites! They gave Pak lah the axed and now they want to give him a parting gift. This is what we call adding insults to injury. Poor Pak Lah has a good for nothing back stabbing bunch of morons as fair weather friends. Opposition politicians seem to respect Pak Lah more than his own party members. Goes to show its more a welcoming gift for Najib if UMNO wins. Lets hope UMNO gets sodomise in this by election once and for all!
written by lamakawan, December 14, 2008 11:47:06
he must be still dreaming. The voters will probably use this by election to bade him farewell.
written by LKO, December 14, 2008 12:27:57
It is not because they love AAB. The ground survey must be very bad. Najib is throwing BILLIONS of ringgit to maintain this via the return of royalties to Terengganu. By putting AAB’s name on the election, if it fails they will still blame AAB.
written by Michael Pg, December 14, 2008 14:07:52
I thought this win will related to Najib reputation. now umno want to drag Pak lah down together. see, if win is Najib leadership, lose is Pak lah failure.

(In permatang Pauh Najib in charge of compaigning, and those umno goons blame pak lah for the lose to Anwar) it is Najib should be resign. see how Najib play politic lah.
written by loosecannon, December 14, 2008 14:38:19
Very crafty. Now if they lose the election, they will blame it on Abdullah's unpopularity, not Najib's or their own.
written by devious17, December 14, 2008 15:22:20
Time and again,umno displays their idiotic arrogance, umno is so sure that they will win again in KT, I wish to point them to Permatang Pauh and it's consequences when they loose KT(which I strongly believe will be the reality)

umno/bn, you have outlived your relevance, you are no longer needed and in fact shunned by the rakyat for all your undoing and i wonder what excuse will be used when the battle is lost to PKR in KT
written by Fuminari, December 14, 2008 16:36:45
this mohd.ali is a real munafiq!after what u guys hav done to bodowi within ur umno,n now u come up with this sort of twist!!tell u what,bodowi deep in his heart would like see KT taken by PAS/PR n he would be most happy to see najis n u goons get properly whacked!!
written by mikewang, December 14, 2008 18:08:52
Come on PAS.
Win one for the people !
written by asguard, December 14, 2008 20:42:12
If give them (BN) win this seat mean more screw-ups will appear in daily of terengganu folks! Don't give them win they deserve to lose the seat.. for 51 years of screw-up... is it not enough of screw-up that they did?
written by alpha100, December 14, 2008 20:52:29
This flip-flop goverment certainly deserve to lose loh! Just read in The Star that price of fuel may still go down. Looks like this current goverment is very indecisive in words and action as usual! Probably fleecing the public and when face a bit of pressure can give way type! Basically, no political will to act for good of country! Words and act more to safeguard self interest of party and individuals rather than country! Look at timing of oil royalty and publicity for KT! Is this the type of Goverment we want? Better vote them out!
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 22:25:53
Pak Lah,

Looks like you'll be the scapegoat again on failure to win in KT. But if Barisan Najis wins, Najis takes all credibility as the mandate of the people to welcome the Prime Minister in waiting.
It's that simple !
written by borneoman, December 15, 2008 04:45:26
this election is for the people of trengganu and not for pak lah.typical attitud of tuan melayu umno who always put friends,cronies and party first and RAKYAT LAST.