Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M goes to the rescue of Mukhriz

Dr M goes to the rescue of Mukhriz PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 09:21

(NST) - Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad yesterday defended his son Mukhriz, saying vernacular schools should be integrated into the national school system.

"Basically, what he has said is true.

"If they stay in the same old format, it will be difficult for national unity to be achieved," the former prime minister said during a question-and-answer session with Multimedia University students at the Perdana Leadership Foundation.

Also present was his wife, Tun Dr Siti Hasmah Mohd Ali, who is the university's chancellor.

Dr Mahathir said Mukhriz did not suggest that vernacular schools be closed down.

"The government is committed to having vernacular schools. But you are not bringing the people together and this will not contribute to national unity."

Mukhriz came under fire from various quarters, including from within the Barisan Nasional, for calling for an end to the current vernacular school format in order to facilitate unity.

written by scottiebabie, December 14, 2008 09:27:46
mahathir coming to the aid of his son - now thats a surprize! does mahathir & any of his clan ever do or say anything wrong?
written by Tompios, December 14, 2008 09:29:57
Mahathir, please don't destroy your son as you destroying the Sabahan rights.
written by mrbean, December 14, 2008 09:40:20
It is not a bad idea that all the three vernacular schools are grouped under one roof.. but as in Malaysia, talk is always cheap. Implementation differs. When they are grouped into one group and management, the "nationalist" management will slowly undermine the progress and growth of the Indian and Chinese teaching in such combined schools and in the long run, the teaching of tamil and mandarain will be eradicated. Where is the assurance that the resources to teach Mandarin and Tamil will be ensured ? As it is now, the quality of teacheres in the national school remains to be seen.. When we were kids, our dads used to tell us that if you don't work hard, you will end up collecting sewage bin... nowadays, i am not surprise to hear this quote "Child, if you don't study hard, you may end up as a teacher" .
That is the reason the MCA and Dong Jiao Zhong refuse to allow this to happen.

We should emulate Singapore. The teaching medium for Science and Maths shall be in English. Malay language should be compulsory. Mandarin and Tamil will be optional (but if you ask me, everyone should be allowed to learne both this languages). I have lived in Europe and am impressed that most people there are mulit-lingual. It is normal for say a Dutch to know how to speak Dutch, English, German. I have had French friends who speak Spanish, German in addition to French and English. They benefit from this. Their employability increases.

However, in this country, pride is above all that is reasonably practical. We will continue to champion the national language (nothing wrong with that) but at the expense of English and Mandarin (please sum up the number of people speaking English and Mandarin in this world versus the Malay Language).... Look at Thailand, their use of Thai (and not much emphasis in English) in teaching has not helped to put their people in the forefront of the world economics.
In contrast, look at India ..

I rest my case... I can also hear this quote more often nowadays "if you don't want to work hard but want to be damn rich,... join the Malaysian politics, to be precise join UMNO".
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 09:41:31
carTUN of Kedah,

Your silly son actually came back crying to you on the matter ?
written by lynn, December 14, 2008 09:42:16
Hypocrites!

These kind of men are the worst types! They pretended to do good to "unite" the nation, but behind the scenes they instigate & incite racial hatred thru' BTN!

A corrupt govt's MO is always the same old - split the races, make them hate, envy and suspicious of each other, use religion to divide them, maintain an education policy that dumb down the masses, keep them poor, ignorant, give them subsidies in basic necessities such as rice, cooking oil, flour, salt, sugar, give them enough to get by, but main thing is, keep them POOR - once they are under control, then the corrupt govt can go on to plunder the wealth thru' "projects".
written by Bigjoe99, December 14, 2008 09:49:16
I have an idea how to end this debate. Ask the 10% Malay students who studies in these schools what they think of the issue. I understand most of them are extremely grateful for the experience....
written by Malaysiaputra, December 14, 2008 09:55:17
Tsk, tsk, Mahathir, you are still in denial. Tun Razak was noble in his implementation of the NEP the help the Malays who at that time were at a disadvantage , and in his wisdom, he set a time frame for it. You made it a never ending policy and use it to discrimminate against the non Malays.

You also know that even if all non Malays speak impeccable Bahasa Malaysia, there will still be no real unity because of your discriminative policy . Mukhriz is using the issue for his own ends as he is facing the Umno youth election soon.

Live you , he is using Chinese bashing (in this case the vernacular schools issue) just like you use the NEP. If the noble aim is to help the less well off, then it is only right that it is extended to all Malaysians of all races and not only the Malays.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 14, 2008 09:59:54
Mahathir,

The question that you should ask is, do the Malays want to learn other language besides Malay? Do the Malays want to progress? Do the Malays wants to widen their perspective of the world? Do they want the important languages that can bring progress to the Malay race?

China and INdia is going to be a major economy power. American is still the sole superpower. Most R&D literatures are written in English. Most new discoveries are discovered in the west. So English and Mandarin is going to be the most important language in this world.

Without the strong English influence and english educated Royal families like Tunku Abdul rahman and english educated civil servants like Tun Abdul Razak and the English law, MAlaysia will be worst than Thailand today. Don't forget why Investor wants to invest in Malaysia. Because of our advantage of knowledge in English and all commercial legal documents are in English. Don't forget our advantage. Otherwise there won't be foreign investor coming in and no money for your UMNO shit heads. UMNO Malays has no talents and no industrial skills to bring MALaysia forward. They are all spoil children being spoilt by you. You keep feeding them goverment projects and they learn nothing. They are like drug addicts addicted to goverment projects. You are just spoiling the UMNO Malays and UMNO Malays brains are not functioning anymore.

UMNO Malays are just good at shouting Hidup!MELAYU! HIDUP!ISLAM!. UMNO MALays will never bring any progress to their own race. UMNO Malays will die of natural cause which is to lose out in the global race. YOu have failed the Malays. The Malays today are not competitive compares to the chinese who knows Mandarin, English and Malay. Malays are not competitive because of your racist brainwashing. Your vision 2020 of producing 6 malay children for each family has back fired. Do you think all the 6 Malay children who grow up will vote for UMNO. YOu are dead wrong. Easily 3 of them will vote for opposition and 1 of them will become Mat REmpit. So your racist view of the whole Malaysian politics and economy is all wrong. It is falling apart. Your zero sum game of viewing the Malaysian politics in communal prism is not getting the support from the Malays. YOu are one racist that happen to become PM of the Malays by propagating racist and extremist point of view. And as a result, the Malays in Malaysia is very backward.
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 10:05:35
The corrupted 'living dead ' from Kedah have again awaken and spoken to defend his stupid son's remarks. Plainly, his children are hopeless and nothing without him !
written by lamakawan, December 14, 2008 10:22:13
Dr. Mahathir, you are the one who maintained the vernacular language schools throughout your term of office. And now you support your son Mukriz to dismantle the schools. What sort of brains you have in your head? are you trying to turn and twist our nation like a yo yo?
written by InEffective, December 14, 2008 11:24:49

What's the point of 'Unity in Schools' when you are racially discriminated and segregated after school ?

(strategic racial exclusion in education, workforce, employment eligibility, housing, student-loans, scholarships, business opportunities, etc.)

Politicians definition of Unity actually means subordinated rights and absolute compliance to their rules and policies - wonder what is your definition ?
(politicians want unity only upto a point - just sufficient to continue their siphoning off the OilWealth, and maintain their chokehold over the rakyat)

Malaysia's rules, laws, policies are all deliberately inconsistent.
(its purposeful and designed - by a crafty politician who know how to seed fear into the peoples, divide and conquer the peoples, for him to reign supreme at your and your child's cost)
written by devious17, December 14, 2008 14:09:14
so! "basically" tun-dm, you are saying that during your reign over this country for over 20 over years that you have been applying theeducation system that is not only devisive but also detrimental to the growth of this country?

"basically" you are admitting that the tenth of thounsands of UNEMPLOYABLES that was shunned by the private sectors and then the bumi-less was blamed for it was all your doing?
written by citizenmy, December 14, 2008 16:22:04
Nobody will be against national school, as long as we have dedicated, qualified and knoledgable teachers at national school. Expect we believe that Malaysians will become better with current standard of teachers and education at national school? Revert back to 1960's education system if necessary, because thats the period our education system was well recognised worldwide.
written by thor, December 14, 2008 16:41:22
Is this type of rescue similar to one SIME BANK gave many many years ago? Free.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by kingelvis, December 14, 2008 16:52:15
The UNMO racists have excluded chinese from all gomen jobs and contracts. Let them decide what's best for their people now! Kerajaan melayu should stay out of their lives now! All this is a further ploy to ultimately destroy them.
written by Sabahfan, December 14, 2008 17:35:14
Why should we be surprise if Mahafiraun would not come down and support his own son.
written by shepherdvoyage, December 14, 2008 19:09:00
It is the malay supremacy mindset, the government’s preferential treatment to a certain race, unfair policies, oppression of and disrespect for other races, deprivation of the rights of other races enshrined in the constitutions, racist remarks particularly by UMNO members, that put the unity at stake. Don’t blame vernacular schools. They do not spread racism, but UMNO does!

Vernacular schools have indeed produced more talents that have helped this country to survive. Politicians should have spot checks on the national schools and see for themselves how “dedicated” the teachers are!!!
written by PASOK, December 14, 2008 22:33:09

Thank you Daddy.
written by Old Man, December 14, 2008 22:37:12
Tuan Mahathir, it so happen that my present toilet cleaner from Kerala also calls me Tuan! You should use Botox at least 3 times per day to make sure that your son will not get into his grave earlier than you. Otherwise very SINFUL kut. Muhkriz needs papa even if he were to become the PM of UMNO. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Anak Desa, December 14, 2008 23:01:22
TSm is trying hard to promote his son Mukriz to be UMNO Youth Head as he had negiotiated with Najib that after Najib and Hisamuddin, Mukriz is the candidate for for the Deputy PM under Hisamuddin if their plans works out.
written by Anak Desa, December 14, 2008 23:02:35
Should be TDM instead of TSM
written by yy88, December 15, 2008 01:27:12
Tun Mamak,
You can turn and twist with your split tongue, but we knew, a stubborn racist like you, is never sincere in bringing about national unity.
You will die a broken and evil man unless you admit your sins and crimes against the Rakyat. You will bequest your ill retributions to your children and grand children.
written by truthbespoken, December 15, 2008 10:48:20
Mahathir defending Mukhriz? Suuuure or not? I think Mahathir is actually defending himself b'cos it is very likely he had coached Mukhriz to take "good offense" on the non-Malays to be popular just the way he did decades ago. Mahathir is single-minded about pushing his son up the UMNO political pedestal using old-time devious short cuts. What Mahathir doesn't realised is his son is not him. Poor soul!
written by Susanna, December 15, 2008 17:00:57
If Mahathir wants so much one of his children to carry on in politics, let it be Marina. She is the best bet for the family.
written by sammi, December 15, 2008 21:03:36
Hahaha.....this kutty guy trying sooo.....hard to become next LEE KUAN YEW.

What a great a pity!! We Malaysians are matured enough and know what's best. We had enough with you. Dream on!!!!!!!!!
written by supplier, December 16, 2008 00:14:18
High time for Mamak to rest in peace
written by Just Gan, December 16, 2008 00:21:33
Mahathir is the only one who can say anything and get away with it. He was the one who destroyed the once integrated national schools and universities where English was the medium of instruction and all three races studied and interacted via English. During that era, vernacular schools, including Chinese schools, were seen as lower in stature. If only Mahathir had enhanced these wonderful gifts from the British with English as medium of instruction and compulsory Malay language classes and optional Chinese or Tamil classes, the vernacular schools would have died a natural death or at best would exist in a non-signficant way. Which parent would send his/her child to a vernacular school when a comprehensive English-based school was the cleary the better option?

Mahathir, the smart man he is, knew that but he destroyed the English-based schools and universities for utterly selfish reasons . He wanted to entrench himself and attain maximum power, and the best way was to become an ultra racist Malay - down with English, deny Chinese and Indians their rights, promote Malay racism, promote Islamic fundamentalism, Islamic state, etc., etc And now, Mahathir is talking a different story. Bring back English for Maths and Science, bring backs schools for all 3 races, he says. What a hypocrite. But this hypocrite and born liar can get away with anything and any statement, regardless of how ludicrous or offensive it may be. That is the sad state of Malaysia.