Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA wants Science, Maths to be taught in mother tongue in primary schools

MCA wants Science, Maths to be taught in mother tongue in primary schools PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 08:03

(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: MCA is agreeable to English being used to teach Science and Mathematics — but only at secondary level. It wants the two subjects taught in the pupils’ mother tongues at primary level.

MCA vice-president Datuk Liow Tiong Lai said the party would, however, wait for the coming round-table discussion on the issue with the Education Ministry before commenting further.

“I hope all parties can come to an amicable solution and clear all doubts over the whole episode,” he told a press conference after witnessing Sony EMCS (M) Sdn Bhd handing over 38 LCD television sets to 19 government hospitals at Serdang Hospital near here yesterday.

He was asked to comment on MCA’s stand on the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English.

Liow declined to comment on the threat by Chinese educationist groups to protest against the use of English as a medium of instruction for the two subjects.

Recently, it was reported that Chinese educationist group Dong Jiao Zong was going to protest over the issue.

Of the 38 televisions donated by Sony, 17 were sent to 10 hospitals in Selangor, 11 to six hospitals in Penang, seven to two hospitals in the Federal Territory and three to a hospital in Kedah.

He commended Sony for sponsoring the television sets.

written by binarytan, December 14, 2008 08:13:04
MCA, you mean all the while you are just sleeping without doing anything to our society?

Just ask yourselve, how many Chinese primary schools you have managed to put up? How many students in one class for our chinese primary school? How many of us being given scholarship? Dun bluff the nation as truth is out there.

I believe the chinese education minister is still sleeping, previously we have 50 students but somehow some classrooms are having 52, 53 students. Why? Population increases but schools still the same.

Most Chinese schools do not need gomen fund and still survive. Why? As our community is donating our hard earned money without using this bloody MCA help.

Fcuk off MCA and it is better to let PR to rule.

Look at Perak, Penang and Selangor you will notice the changes are coming to give fair education system to all races. Kelantan & Kedah will be the same as before under PAS as they believe Islam is the best in the world.

Complete BN should be sent home during GE13!!! Sorry MCA you are just running dog.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 08:15:34
MCA is towing your children back to stone age.If this children learn this subjects in their mother tongue,then how are they able to cope when they go abroad to continue their study.Ask Oxford to teach Razak Baginda in his mother tongue for his doctorate.
We must use English so they will adapt faster when they go for further studies.
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 08:21:45
Low is just sacrificing these chinese children for the sake of his popularity.He is smoothing the balls of this chinese educationist group.These are old and hard to change people.They think that without chinese education,the chinese will be less chinese.Their brains got angin and air.
written by ahmadneil, December 14, 2008 09:03:10
Low is leading MCA and the Chinese to the graveyard.
written by hellosunshine, December 14, 2008 09:12:10
Why are all these political/NGO bigots from all the races in Malaysia always trying to win brownie points with their constant rhetoric? What's wrong with our children learning more languages at their early age since their capacity to learn is much faster and quicker?
Will your children be armed with the right arsenal of languages and education to meet the global onslaught when they graduate in the future atau seperti katak dibawah tempurung or a kampong champ?
I'll bet the majority of these same bigots above send their children to international schools and overseas universities where the medium of instruction is English. Their children will be able to meet the challenges ahead but will yours???
written by loosecannon, December 14, 2008 09:32:34
It's politics as usual for MCA. They don't give a shit about our children education. It's all about getting elected and a free ride on the gravy train.

If you don't have basic grasp of the subjects in English at lower level, how are you going to cope when you are in secondary school? These MCA dinosaurs are still living in past glory. Time to make them irrelevant by booting them out. I suggest that they make a trip to Singapore and quiz the primary school kids there on the two subjects or any other school subjects and perhaps they will know how far behind our children are. Wake up old men and women of MCA.
written by tom73my, December 14, 2008 09:42:14
I support MCA here, as far as this issue is concerned. I think people are confused with what we want.

This issue came about when TDM thought Malaysians need to be more competitive globally. So we need to improve our command of English language, as well as science and technology. This everybody agrees.

However TDM, may be for other strategic reasons, chose to use this approach, teaching maths and sciences in English in primary schools. This is crap, and has been proven ineffective. Children are confused, or at best, slow in learning. On the other hand, the teachers, especially the Malay teachers in kampungs cannot even speak English properly, let alone teaching English in Maths and Sciences. So, both the learning and teaching are crap.

So, we must be clear. We need to improve English proficiency, and we can achieve this using other ways. We also need to strengthen learning of Maths and Sciences, and for this very reason, we should not destroy the strength of Chinese primary schools in Maths and Science, which has been proven and has a good reputation all this while. Think about it.
written by KevinWu, December 14, 2008 09:53:10
Don't be fooled!!! UMNO and MCA, they are setting up the stage for another Ops Lalang. UMNO and MCA are starting racial tensions. Later Pakatan people will be the ones arrested.
Pakatan people better not fall into the trap and join in the UMNO-MCA spat, esp when they are fighting to instigate racial tensions...

written by mrbean, December 14, 2008 09:54:53
First of all MCA is an acronym for Money Collecting Agency. what MCA has done all this while ! shttng around.. Why must Chinese Schools be relocated and no new ones being build ? We have classes with 50 students and getting into Chinese is so difficult when in all new township Kebangsaan school are being built. On top of that, Non Chinese are also now studying in Chines Schools...

Why do I, as a parent, keep getting request for donation from Chinese School when Kebangsaan Schools are fully funded?

Why is UTAR being funded by the public when it should be fully funded by the GORMEN? Don't the Chinese pay tax ?

Why are Chinese Students with good results not getting JPA scholarships ? Why are many Chinese students studying in NUS and working in Singapore ? Why is there 10 Chinese out of 1000 Students in the JPA prep Matriculation schools ?

Why is majority of the colleges in the Klang Valley (Taylor's, Sunway, etc etc) filled with Malaysian Chinese Students ?

Finally, what is the bloooody use of learning Maths and Science in Mandarin ?
The role of English is more important here....

Wh
written by mikewang, December 14, 2008 12:02:12
Get lost MCA.
You represent less that 20% of the Chinese in this country.
Don't behave as if you speak for the majority.

If SJRK schools emphasised the teaching of Science and Maths in English, parents will be forced to pay attention to this language right at a child's formative years. The resulting attention paid will cumulate into higher English language proficiency, hopefully within a generation.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, December 14, 2008 15:41:36
Why are the MCA and the DJZ raising this issue?

Watch National Geographic Channel today to understand how the Chinese in China is pressing to learn ENGLISH (yes, you didn't read wrong) in order to be qualified to compete on the global stage.

In earlier Discovery Channel episodes on the Beijing Olympic Games, the Chinese, young and OLD, were frantically learning to speak impeccable English to do China proud in hosting an International event and guests arriving my the hundreds of thousands during that time.

In Malaysia, we are going backwards to use Chinese in the teaching of Math and Science in Primary Schools. Perhaps the merits of teaching these subjects in Chinese needs to be better understood or we are totally misunderstanding the issue.

Bring the issues to the fore!

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...isan-hope/
written by citizenmy, December 14, 2008 16:26:17
English for all...solves the problem
written by thumb, December 14, 2008 19:32:51
Why is MCA hell bent for vernacular language for science and mathematics, please remember you are Malaysian first and Chinese second.
written by Vincent, December 14, 2008 21:39:56
English is good for everybody but in future, do you know what kind of teachers this BN goon will send to our Chinese school to teach. That the real problem actually facing. Will they replace all subjects to other language if this failed.Will there be any more Chinese schools left if this happened ? smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Penang Laksa, December 15, 2008 00:00:20
As much as I hate to agree with MCA...I'll have to go with the insistance of teaching maths and science in the mother tongue. Why? I would hate to see our Chinese and Tamil Primary schools flooded with non-mother tongue speaking teachers that have to use their fingers and toes to count, teaching our children maths and science.. smilies/wink.gif
written by apa jadi, December 15, 2008 01:42:53
To the kiasus,

Very much that I hate to associate myself with MCA and this Liow Tong Cai, I have to agree with him on this occasion. They might already have the joker up their sleeves to put up such referendum for show. It could be a test to see the public reaction, for that matter.

As for teaching Maths and Science in English at primary level, I think it is superfluous. Don't forget too, this was brought up by an old man to save his own skin, after having destroyed two generations of English speaking workforce. I would rather students spend more time strengthening the respective languages through proper language lessons.

My reason to this is simple. I had my maths and science in my mother tongue at primary level. Being a kampung boy and a playful one, my English was very bad to the extent I had difficulties reciting A to Z at primary six. I would have failed any entrance tests in English then, not mentioning understanding these subjects in English. Yet, I excelled in Maths and science during my secondary days. I too had helped out many schoolmates (not just classmates) who had maths and science taught at primary level. Given such a good head-start in English, these students still dropped out of science and maths or had to struggle through their university.

The point here is that it will not help being give a partial package by just studying the two subjects in English. Why not give them something wholesome in their primary days than to burden them with something they can pick up later? Most important of all, question who started this stupid proposal, what's the motive, what economic return it brings.
written by AsamLaksa, December 15, 2008 02:04:14
This language, that language... which is better? Well, if you are hoping for a language to give you an advantage in science and maths, none will in the long run.

What really ticked me off with this MCA talk is that it's easy to say you want this and that but they have no substantive education plan. Ain't the language that is the main cause of the declining education standard. I am afraid this round table talk will be useless as well unless they get down to the issue of education standards and put the choice of language secondary to it.
written by fuziahfisal, December 15, 2008 15:51:17
haloo out there, if you want your children to improve their english not through maths and science. Maths and science won't make youe childen master in english or whatever language. They have to study languages be it english, mandarin, arabic. So what the gomen has to do or MOE have to do is to slot more time for english, study english litreature, force them to read english story books or make it compulsory to pass english before they can proceed to IPT. Have you ever heard those who want to master in any language they have to study maths and science in that language. What a joke ?1