Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor refuses to recognise village panels

Selangor refuses to recognise village panels PDF Print
Sunday, 14 December 2008 08:01

(The Star) KLANG: Selangor will not recognise the Federal Village Safety and Development Committees as they were formed with a political motive.

Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said village heads’ appointment by the Rural and Regional Development Ministry was against the democratic grain as the selection of the village heads came under the state’s administration.

The Federal Government’s insistence to set up such committees in the state is being done with a political motive, said Khalid.

Khalid who addressed Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah in conjunction with the Selangor Sultan’s 63rd birthday anniversary said that he and his state leaders would not recognise the federal committees.

At the state level, it is the prerogative of the mentri besar to appoint the Village Safety and Development Committee members, he added.

Khalid said the state had set up such committees in 366 villages in August and villagers had been trained to handle social matters.

In July, Khalid said it was sheer waste of taxpayers’ money to have the federal committees and called for them to be abolished as the state federal committees were to serve everyone irrespective of their political allegiance.

The federal committees are only implemented in Pakatan Rakyat run-states after the former Barisan-appointed village heads and committee members gave up their positions so as not to serve under the opposition-held states.

They were then placed under the federal committees in Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor, ostensibly to ensure federal projects in villages are carried out effectively.

written by binarytan, December 14, 2008 08:06:49
Khalid, pls remove those UMNO gang out of Selangor sooner than later.

Those people will not be able to give service to the people rather than making money from being the heads.

Especially those toll operators which are raping us with huge profits and protected by complete gomen bodies such as PDRM, FRU etc..

Oil prices has dropped to low level, toll rate still remains the same. This is the very good project by the evil BN (UMNO).

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 08:51:32
Barisan Najis ......... thick skinned, sore loser !!!!
written by DreamLady, December 14, 2008 08:53:50
Tan Sri Khalid, you have to be harsh and mean to those UNO/BN goons who try to
put you down, exactly what Badawi did when he put the blame on you and Pakatan for the recent landslide. These UMNO goons are useless hopeless,and brainless !

If possible, recruit your own state Pakatan police forces, and be free totally of UMNO regime's claws so that the pakatan people could implement their rules and regulation effectively...

Tan Sri, all the rakyat of Selangor are behind you 100%, we need you and your members to wipe out the UMNO goons and their garbage once for all!!!

All the new year blessings from us to YOU !!!!
written by lynn, December 14, 2008 10:53:08
Tan Sri Khalid,

Pls stand firm and stand your ground. We Selangor residents, who voted Keadilan and PR in GE12, maintain our firm, solid support for you. And that is what matters.

The Selangor govt must have its own police force. If these committees wish to operate, do so in other BN ruled states. If we have our own police, our forces can keep them out!!! We don't want umno in Selangor. Get lost, umno & its goons!
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 11:00:58
Yes, don't let thieves setup thieves' panels.

written by Futurist, December 14, 2008 11:34:40
These Federal Govt goons are there to just thwart your good efforts. Be firm in your commitments and policies. Ensure that the state govt functions in a transparent and well oiled manner. We are with you to make sure that come GE13, there'll be more than 2/3 majority for PR.
written by mikewang, December 14, 2008 11:53:39
The federal government is acting ultra vires the federal constitution by meddling in state affairs.
Federal role in this matters is basically only restricted to providing allocations and help where required.
Mohd s/o Mohd is not supposed to create own village committees and divert money from federal allocations to committees run by their cronies.
He should not usurp the will of the people in those PR states just because UMNO has support elsewhere.
written by Cinakelate, December 14, 2008 12:26:54
If and when PR take over the Federal Govt. these committees will be renamed JKKKBN
written by temanmu, December 14, 2008 19:38:52
BN needs to feed its cronies who are now out of their state jobs! Paid loyalty! Mata duitan, UMNO!

Now we have parallel committees!

BN ... waste rakyats' money as usual... blood suckers!

written by Anak Desa, December 14, 2008 22:54:51
Tan Sri Khalid, Pakatan Govt of Selangor has to stand firm and make decisions for the betterment of the Rakyat Selangor. Get rid of money minded politicians /civil servants of former BN govt and get people who have the heart and mindset to serve the Rakyat.Since I had known Tan Sri from Guthrie days, you must be a politicial economist than a corporate man. smilies/cool.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif
Federal Govt cannot set parallel JKK committe in the states as it is conflicting the role of the states and Federal Govt.Mohammad Taib is playing with fire when he set the parallel committe as he wants to feed the UMNO JKK chiefs