Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib: Barisan must win Kuala Terengganu by-election

Najib: Barisan must win Kuala Terengganu by-election PDF Print
Saturday, 13 December 2008 22:41

(The Star) KUALA TERENGGANU: Barisan Nasional has to win the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat as proof of its revival from August's defeat in the Permatang Pauh by-election.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Tun Razak said Umno and BN could not afford to lose another seat and that the coalition's win in Kuala Terengganu was vital for Umno's future.

"We have to win (the Kuala Terengganu by-election) because we want to make the victory a starting point for Barisan’s and Umno's revival from the defeat in Permatang Pauh," he added.

He said this in his speech at the closing of the Terengganu Umno retreat and the launch of the Kuala Terengganu election machinery at the Islamic Civilisation Park on Saturday.

Also present were Najib's wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said, Umno vicepresidents Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam, Umno Youth chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein, Wanita Umno chief an Sri Rafidah Aziz, Umno Information chief Tan Sri Muhammad Muhd Taib and Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek. Najib said Barisan’s victory in Kuala Terengganu would give an indication that the people had chosen a party capable of protecting them and their future.

"We want to give a clear signal to the country and the world that the people in this country choose Barisan as their party," he added.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election will be held on Jan 17 following the death of its Member of Parliament Datuk Razali Ismail Razali on Nov 28.

Najib also gave some tips to whoever was to be selected as the Barisan candidate for the by-election.

He said that in any elections, voters were the most important and priority should be given to them.

"We have to understand that in elections, what is more important is not the Umno machinery, neither the branch leaders nor its committee members, but the voters who are the king.

"Who is the candidate is not important, but the person has to be someone humble, not arrogant, people-friendly, shake hands with all the people, do things which please the voters because they will love you because of the qualities you have," he added.

He said the candidate should also have a desire to win the by-election, a feeling which should also be shared by all Umno leaders, and not just saying it but to walk the talk by working together with all members in the coalition.

As to the Barisan’ candidate, Najib said he would make the announcement next week.

"The party president (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) has left it to me to name the person but I am not announcing it today (Saturday) because our agenda is to launch the Barisan election machinery. Wait until next week," he said. - Bernama

written by binarytan, December 13, 2008 22:51:44
Najis Najis, no matter what you do I think UMNO will be defeated this time.

Look around at BN, what has been done so far to our country which is full of joke. Even the Altantuya case is being cast by your gang.

No doubt I do not like PAS due to their Ketuanan Islam ideology, but I believe UMNO will lose in this by election.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Kunta Kinte, December 13, 2008 23:05:38
Najib.... Don't forget to bring Khiry to bury your opponent.
written by tom73my, December 13, 2008 23:09:02
Najib, sorry I have to be point blank here. Nowadays, not many YB died on duty. So, in view of the golden opportunity, we in KT will have to demand the following from you, if you sincerely want our votes. To demonstrate your sincerity, please make sure you provide us a fund allocation, with an amount double that given to the Ijok folks. Otherwise, sorry bro, we especially the Chinese will vote for PAS. But even if you fulfill the above demand, we in Chinese, for strategic reason, may still vote for PAS. So, please delight us.
written by onnetline, December 13, 2008 23:21:10
If Barisan Najis wins, Najis will then claim that he's trustworthy enough to be the next Prime Moron, I guess.
written by clarity, December 13, 2008 23:22:42
Short of buying votes, there is no way for UMNO to win. They are not contesting against a non malay state, but against PAS who is already built a name for honesty. So Umno cannot use racial issues. Pas can certainly protect the people of KT because the people knows Pas will not cheat them. The Umno candidate will procably be thinking now how much money he can make if he wins.
written by Motherchell, December 13, 2008 23:28:31
They used all the games in town to cheat from sodomy ,metal licenses , dead voters ID's , converted single houses to long houses for mass voter addresses , gave degrees, MBA's and PHds to UNMO representatives, kept the SB to work over time, and more .
Hope the voters are not taken for rides this time ! so long as UMNO carries these habits and evil -- it will always be treated as not the right candidate for the NEW Malaysian Order.
written by cheekhiaw, December 13, 2008 23:32:13
By hook or by crook, they will rely on thievery, lies or murderers...

written by thegodfather, December 13, 2008 23:42:57
Please be careful of the various cheating games of Najis and gang. They will be in overdrive this time around.
written by fireduck, December 13, 2008 23:55:54
KT folks, please help put UMNO out of our future.

And what kind of leader is Najib, having to scream like a madman while giving his speech. And the TV stations play up that part. I actually find it very disgusting and a turn-off. A good leader need not scream until his voice breaks to get his message across.
written by Daryl, December 14, 2008 00:02:47
"Must" in the BN is equivalent to cheat, steal, lies, controversial method, gangsterism and any illegal methods to win the KT elections. So, PR bring out your best and win the heart of the rakyat by simple determination, clear in your goals, transperacies in your judgement and policies. As you can see Rakyat are tired of these BN "must" win and must rule Malaysia forever attitude over rakyat's future. Bring the Evil Empire down and let rakyat have a better future than the corrupt one at this moment which is stuck in cycle of corruption.
written by hiro, December 14, 2008 00:27:21
It's quite brave for Najib to commit BN to a do or die mission. Unfortunately, it's nothing to be proud of because knowing UMNO, it means they are pulling all stops including the continued abuse of government machinery and enlisting a compromised Election Commission.

Which means the stakes are equally high for Pakatan as well. Dear bloggers and netizens, we have to continue to chip in. At the same time we need to beat the crap out of any Pakatan folks who are trying to be funny. This is clearly an interesting election, where both sides would need to win half of the Malays and the rest of the non-Malays. They will have to very balanced in their approach. PAS would do well not to talk about Islamic administration too much.
written by doggone, December 14, 2008 00:33:19

'Sighful' is definitely out of the campaign strategy this time. His auntie might make a appearance though.

written by Msian Idol3, December 14, 2008 00:54:32
First send in the truck load of cool $400 million. Then set up a tasteful saifool show. Wah .....everybody vote BN. No need to work, more truck loads of money coming. However, don't forget money can come & go but principles have better mileage than money. Yeah, EUMNO is suggesting a special organisation with the sultan as head to oversee this fund. Some time after election & supposedly victorious celebration, EUMNO will go back to old ways to keep sultan at arms length from money. EUMNO will have their fingers on the pile of cash.
written by Zeroean, December 14, 2008 01:39:31
i wish ALL voters of KT have access to internet and do wikipediaing on Najib Tun Razak to read about him. Huh..... even wikipedia knows who is this mother of ALL F***ers!!
written by SamYap, December 14, 2008 01:41:02
Quote Najib: "We want to give a clear signal to the country and the world that the people in this country choose Barisan as their party," he added.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

And if BN loses the KT by-election, then what?
Would you, Najib, declare that the Rakyat has in fact lost confidence in BN?
Nah! You wouldn't! You'd probably think of some devious way to punish the KT voters, thats more like BN-UMNO behaviour.

written by Fuminari, December 14, 2008 01:48:32
najis is so desperate to win KT if even C4 hav to be used!!
written by lamepug, December 14, 2008 01:51:47
o...so~des~ka~

najis play with "must" thingy...

what if bn lose?

"must" najis abolish ummno and it gang?
written by SamSan, December 14, 2008 06:28:11
Najib, Get Saiful quickly to start campaigning for BN/ UMNO. Get his infiltrated dobor picture pasted all over KT. Get him to explain rationally how consensual sodomy occured as verified by police investigation. Saiful has to explain that Anwar jampied him to infiltrate his dobor and only after he awoke from the jampi did the strong and burly Saiful realise that his dobor had been infiltrated. Better still, if you can get your friend Razak Baginda to take leave of absence from Cambridge and to campaign for you and BN proclaiming the fitnah that had been levelled against you and your family on the Altantuya C4ed case. Also better still if you. Razak Baginda and Saiful can make at least ten to twenty sumpahs in various KT mosques on both your innocence and truth clarification. If possible, get Che Det to also help in the campaigning stating that he wil be heading the UMNO seniors council to give future directions to you and BN. That should convince the KT voters.
written by Agahdemo, December 14, 2008 06:57:33

How I wish to see BN defeat in KT......to repay their every corrupted acts and suppressive ways by a resounding rejection from rakyat......make my day.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by DreamLady, December 14, 2008 07:01:47
Najib, you are confident that UMNO/BN goons will win in Trengganu??? Dream on!!!!

How do you expect to put wool over the Trengganu Rakyat's eyes when you are carrying a baggage full of scandals ?? The late Attantuya's father is sueing the Malaysian Government, and Razak Baginda as well.

It is just the beginning of wayang kulit, and you might be a few more feet away from the throne, but the possibility of you crashing down like a humpty-dumpty is imminent!!!

Stop counting chicken before they are hatched !!!!
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 09:05:22
The gathering of this basketful of racist UMMNO shitheads will no doubt agree to use whatever means to ensure victory. With C4 or sounding like a agreeable servants of the people, if need be.

Plainly, a big bunch of lying scumbags !
written by Ron, December 14, 2008 11:32:22
In any election or by- election where there is Najis there will be the ghost of
AMINAH.You can run but you cannot hide Mr.Najis.Where is PI Bala and his family.Are they still alive or c4 ed?
written by Cinakelate, December 14, 2008 12:55:46
He is implying that BN will win at all cost, by hook or by crook!
written by Sabahfan, December 14, 2008 16:42:30
UMNO buggers are now desperate...

the previous win was with a small majority....

Now with the increased and difficult cost of living becos UMNO raise the price of fuel too high to 2.70 without waiting for it to fall down... will the cost of goods are not going down with the cost of fuel, isnt it?

all becos of the greeeeeed of UMNO..

so if we want to improve the livelihood of Malaysians....we all know what to do

KILLL UMNO and BN.... for good.. dont ever let them stand again..

600 votes is not hard to beat...

All raykat in KT who are suffering under BN rule must ensure they dont get cheated this time....
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 15, 2008 14:15:38
Well, based on past events in which Pak Lah said: "Of course we will win.." or some other similar idiotic remark of confidence, he did say that the BN is sure to retain KT seat; right?
So, no problem lah! KT will fall to PAS. smilies/grin.gif
written by ChrisNg, December 15, 2008 17:08:48
"if UMNO don win, i'll chop off my d**k", that's what he's trying to say. It means, he'll bring in more buses to KT this time during election time. Get 50 people registered in a 500 square feet house with abu, ahmad, ah chu, ah kaw, maniam and mutu staying together. Then, get EC to pick a ridiculous date. More and more rempits roaming around scaring people off. Well, there's nothing new about UMNO's dirty tricks...God Bless Malaysia!