Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM: BN parties must be careful about how they raise sensitive issues

PM: BN parties must be careful about how they raise sensitive issues PDF Print
Saturday, 13 December 2008 22:35

By SHARON LING (The Star)

KUCHING: Barisan Nasional component parties must be careful about how they bring up sensitive issues to avoid creating ill-feelings among the component parties or the people, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said.

He said such issues should be discussed within Barisan in a spirit of consensus and goodwill instead of being aired publicly or through the media.

”I know that there is more bickering today, with many issues creating ill feelings among ourselves. But there are certain issues we cannot talk about openly and we cannot look for solutions in the media.

”Sometimes we allow ourselves to follow the rhythm and flow of the media and we are asked to give comment upon comment upon comment until the issue drags on and becomes more complicated,” he said when opening the Sarawak United People’s Party’s (SUPP) 21st delegates’ conference at party headquarters in Kuching on Saturday.

However, Abdullah said there would be no problems if Barisan components were willing to talk about difficult issues as friends and partners.

”If we bring up issues in a spirit of consensus, mutual respect and partnership, we will be able to discuss the most sensitive of issues as among friends whom we believe are sincere in wanting to overcome problems and do what is best for all Malaysians.

”Because we do not look at ourselves as enemies, we will manage to resolve problems no matter how difficult they may be,” he said.

He said this had been Barisan’s style of resolving issues, and as it had been successful all this while, it should be maintained.

”Don’t let’s create trouble. If you have problems, find the right time to raise them. It’s not impossible to resolve problems. It depends on our willingness to compromise and work hard,” he said.

As such, Abdullah called on Barisan components not to isolate themselves but to put unity and consensus first.

”Consensus is the best approach in solving problems,” he said, adding that the coalition’s strength lay in the consensus of its members.

He also said Barisan practised democracy, power sharing and tolerance, emphasised what was common among all its members and avoided differences which could cause problems.

”This has been our choice before and this must continue to be our choice today,” he added.

written by onnetline, December 13, 2008 22:59:02
We don't see you much in authority to accomplish anything worthwhile for Malaysians.
So keep the speech to yourself, please.
written by binarytan, December 13, 2008 23:01:18
We should not challenge anything brought up by our Tuan - UMNO as we are just poor servant.

Fcuk off AAB and go to hell UMNO.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ctchoolaw, December 13, 2008 23:20:26
All political parties need to practise the same amount of restraint. Issues must be articulated with great care. Malaysians should respect each other. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by Motherchell, December 13, 2008 23:36:15
UMNO is the only party on earth that will be allowed to break any Law. They are considered above GOD.
UMNO will be allowed to bring out all the games in town and yet remain angelic!

Badawi will keep a feather to hit any UMNO man who breaks this Law. The biggest Liar is Paklah who does not walk the talk! He will allow more Ahmad Ismails!
PR must be vigilant about all this .
God Bless PR !
written by Kunta Kinte, December 14, 2008 01:19:56
AAB ....... just go and sleep. Jeannie is waiting.
written by lamepug, December 14, 2008 02:15:10
aab~ you're mother of all CRAB..

"KUCHING: Barisan Nasional component parties must be careful about how they bring up sensitive issues to avoid creating ill-feelings among the component parties or the people, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said."

~ what your comment on the bukit antarabangsa incident?

you forget? you old fool, let me tell you!

"Don’t blame others for mishaps, Pak Lah tells Selangor govt"

~ this words not sensitive?? not ill-feelings??

aab ~ you bloody old bastard smilies/angry.gif
written by onnetline, December 14, 2008 09:35:31
However, Abdullah said there would be no problems if Barisan components were willing to talk about difficult issues as friends and partners.

Sleepy head,

You actually mean the 'ketuanan ' ways, right ?
And you must really be naive to think that the overall Malaysians are blind not to know this ? Wake up lah, please !!!!
written by lynn, December 14, 2008 10:01:11
lamepug,

you mean "AAB, you father of all CRAP".

AAB,

you are shameless & thickskinned. disgusting.
your first wife's brother is also your brother; your brother's wife is considered your sister.
so you screw your sister & married her. what kind of a man are you? you better go in March because the rakyat is sick to death of you.

when najib takes over, the majority of the rakyat will want him to go! we don't want najib!

AAB, you shldn't have said that to Tan Sri Khalid ""Don’t blame others for mishaps, Pak Lah tells Selangor govt"
--- that statement infuriates many; that shows you are just a cunning pretending ****-head.
you know fully well, the bastard who shld be bitch-slapped to hell is khir toyo for approving 99 of these hillside projects. yet you talk cock. you can **** off today, we don't need you as PM!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 15, 2008 13:48:37
AGAIN, you stupid, stupid idiot Prime Minister! What you saying to Malaysian not to raise “sensitive issues” is akin to telling a sexually abused child not to tell others of the incest crime as it is a sensitive issue which will get one or both the parents into trouble with the law; right?

So, nobody should talk about the gross abuse of power and heinous corruptions being committed by UMNO as these are considered sensitive issues; right? And, of course, stop questioning the all important “Malay Special Rights” too.