Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Embassy Row: What is going on, Mr Prime Minister?

Embassy Row: What is going on, Mr Prime Minister? PDF Print
Saturday, 13 December 2008 11:09

MALAYSIAN CONTROVERSY

Malaysian political insiders are aghast over reports that a former ambassador to the United States is lobbying to regain his old position in Washington and hoping to win diplomatic approval quietly from the outgoing Bush administration to avoid scrutiny from the Obama White House.

Abdul Khalid Ghazzali, ambassador here from 1999 to 2006, left Washington under a cloud because of his connections to former lobbyist Jack Abramoff, who pleaded guilty to corruption charges a few months before Mr. Ghazzali returned to Malaysia and resigned from the foreign service.

The controversy erupted in the capital, Kuala Lumpur, after the Web blog, Malaysia Today, recently reported that Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi planned to reappoint Mr. Ghazzali. Members of Parliament later raised questions about the reports. A spokesman for the Malaysian Embassy in Washington said the government has made "no formal announcement" about a new ambassador.

written by ahmadneil, December 13, 2008 11:23:07
High ranking officials always have hidden agendas!You all know very well that malaysin high ranking official who is associated with the Mongolian model,pregnant her and C4 her.There are nothing unusual about our 'high ranking officials',Bolehland Officials!
written by ahmadneil, December 13, 2008 11:26:05
Not forgetting that Rojak Baginda,another 'high ranking office boy' who act as a second hand boyfriend for his boss!
written by Motherchell, December 13, 2008 11:27:43
To late Paklah! Take note! Obama wont be where he is if not for the blogging community. His 40% vote came from the blogging community's truths and support. He is net savvy --- Not like your MCMC cronies who work for benefits to toe your agenda.
Obama does not work with your UMNO under table giggle and handshake philosophy! Obama's cabinet has been well informed about UMNO's tactics here. Obama is a HR priority guy.
written by Zapper, December 13, 2008 12:52:24
Under the BN leadership, any wrong acts will be forgiven as long as they are loyal to UMNO. What happened to the senior Tourism Offical that has molested a Taiwanese girl?? This is Boleh Land!!
written by DreamLady, December 13, 2008 12:57:53
Badawi, engkau ialah orang bermuka tembok. Tergamak engkau menjejas nama baik Malaysia dengan recommend manusia yang tak bermaruah, makan rasuah, tak berkemanusian, jadi Embassador Malaysia.....

Obama lebih pintar dari kamu. Tak akan dia nak terima sisa-sisa bangkai busuh dari kamu!!!!!
written by non conformist, December 13, 2008 13:23:49
"Obama's cabinet has been well informed about UMNO's tactics here. Obama is a HR priority guy." http://sjsandteam.*********.com/
=============

Have you heard of the Senategate scandal gathering strength?
Barrack come from the politically most corrupt and scandal ridden state of ILLinois.
Barrack is just another poly-ticsyen... not clearer than others around. The opposite may be true... though he is less fair/darker in skin color.
written by Fuminari, December 13, 2008 17:38:09
what's the suprise??the umno gorvernment even hav a speaking no english,money smuggling,cheated the sultan but still recruited into the cabinet!!so,no supriselah!!
written by Motherchell, December 13, 2008 18:40:40
Thank you bro non-conformist for that reminder. Yes I agree of the platform he comes from, the Senategate etc --- the great part of the system is the checks and balances the American forefathers devised in the laws of the land , the senate hearings when one is grilled till his pants drop--- I wish we had that kind of strength here than have a nincompoop of an AG running peoples lives and floating on the bloodied bouquets of his Masters.

The beauty of the US system is the free press no matter how corrupt the govt of the day is -- the blogging community and the press work with an eye of the needle to bring the guilty to book--- the forces of right and wrong are fought out on the scales of the justice system . Its ones like us who make the weight for justice to be seen here.
Thank you again and cheers bro.
written by my oumrie, December 13, 2008 19:31:02
A former malaysian ambassador with a dicey reputation and left under a cloud may be reappointed by bodowi. So what's new? I'm still embarrassed that bodowi is my pee am and he's got a "sideboard" full of unsavoury characters behind him, propped up by the Aryan race of the east - amno. MUNAFIQS.....THE WHOLE LOT OF THEM! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Lim Lim, December 13, 2008 19:34:22
which of the umno power to be has no dirty luggage??
jus to name a few,they hav kick back commission minister on fighter jet,submarine n helicopters.....they hav ap minister on automobiles,they hav taxi minister,they hav the money smuggling minister,they hav richest ex-menteri besar as branded by mahatahi...u name it n they hav it.
written by fireduck, December 14, 2008 00:00:57
China exports its tainted milk. Malaysia exports its tainted diplomats. Our standards have dropped so low, that our govt just do not know how to rectify. We are really pathetic.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 14, 2008 00:18:21
Man, when will Badawi learn? smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by whiteheart, December 14, 2008 13:29:09
Why act so surprised? Track record of corruption is a pre-requisite in applying for any job in the BN administration. The more impressive your corruption, the higher ranking post you can get. Look at Mahathir and how Najib is trying to catch up. Mukhriz still have a long way to go and KJ is on the way for the top job. As for those ikan bilis who in on the take for small change of 10 and 20 ringgit, I guess you could only apply to be a constable or civil service clerks.
written by Xerxes, December 14, 2008 15:02:47
Ole Sleepy Head has a penchant for recycling damaged goods. We have the English illiterate UMNO bigwig caught in Ozzie land for taking out a huge sum of money of yet unexplained origin and now appointed a Senator and minister by the PM, another UMNO leader and former Deputy Minister implicated in the Lingam tape scandal but appointed UMNO secretary general by the UMNO President and now this.

There must be some good reasons for this strange behavior from the PM. Are such people more grateful for being given another chance and hence more loyal? In the case of the US ambassodorial position, a grateful appointee will also help to deflect the heat from the Oil for Food scandal that has plagued the PM from the day he took office.