Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Indonesia masses its F-16 against Malaysia

Indonesia masses its F-16 against Malaysia PDF Print
Saturday, 13 December 2008 10:15

December 12, 2008: Indonesia has dispatched an F-16 fighter, and its ground crew, to an airfield in Makassar, on nearby South Sulawesi island, to defend the nearby Ambalat region (between Sipadam and Ligatan Islands) from Malaysia, which claims ownership of the place.

The area is believed to contain large gas and oil deposits. This is a common situation in the region, where there are many disputed islands sitting on possible oil fields. This sort of thing has long been a cause for wars. All it takes is a country that feels it is losing out because a border is not where everyone agrees is should be. Same thing with islands. There are dozens of these island disputes worldwide. Most are not active issues, except for the fact that an international treaty (the 1982 Law of the Sea) gives whoever owns these uninhabited rocks rights to fishing, and oil drilling, for over three hundred kilometers from each of these tiny bits of land.

Aside from prestige and possible historical ties, the primary reasons countries are claiming ownership of these uninhabited bits of land has to do with the ability to control sea lanes, defining maritime economic zones, possible tourist dollars in some instance, and oil, rumored to underlie much of the area. The principal islands involved (and the nations claiming ownership) are;

-- Sipadam and Ligatan Islands, claimed by Malaysia and Indonesia -- this is one that has always seemed most likely to cause trouble in the near term. Two years ago, warships from both countries confronted each other in the area, with a Malaysian ship ramming an Indonesian one, causing minor damage to both vessels. Malaysian warships have been chasing Indonesian fishing boats out of the area. Both nations have awarded oil concessions to companies, but no one is willing to search for oil until the diplomatic, and military, friction is taken care of.

-- Padra Branca Islands, claimed by Malaysia and Singapore.

-- Louisa Reef, claimed by Malaysia & Brunei.

-- Spratly Islands, claimed by China, Taiwan, Vietnam, Philippines, Malaysia, & Brunei: They're a bunch of some 100 rocks, reefs, cays, shoals, mud banks, and even islands. China claims them all, but occupies only 8, Vietnam has occupied or marked 25, the Philippines 8, Malaysia 6, and Taiwan one.

-- Paracel Islands, claimed by China, which occupies them, Taiwan, and Vietnam.

-- Sabah, claimed by Philippines & Malaysia. This is a province of Malaysia, which the Filipinos claim was ceded to the Sultan of Sulu (now part of the Philippines) back in the 1870s.

In some of these there have also been periodic clashes over who maintains aids to navigation. - Strategy Page

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, December 13, 2008 10:32:39
Go to International Court and let the Idiot BN minister deal with it. - result online: Sipadan and Ligatan Islands belong to Indonesia. - The only way to safe it, kick BN off

http://anwaribrahim-admin.********.com/

written by Hope4all, December 13, 2008 10:40:59
Yeah, go ahead and put more Indonesians as UMNO members and green card holders in Sabah to put true natives KDM (true Malaysians) into minority.

Soon, Sabah will be claimed not just by Philippines and UMNO, but also by Indonesia.
written by ahmadneil, December 13, 2008 10:43:24
Sipadan and Ligatan Islands belong to Malaysia after the International rule in our favour but many more island that belongs to malaysia if not properly look after will falls into the hands of neighbouring countries.With umno busy looking at their toe nails,it won't be long all these islands will be lost or 'sold'.
written by ylcc, December 13, 2008 10:46:28
Be not afraid of the F-16 fighter jets, we have helicopters! Be not afraid of the warships, we have submarines! Be not afraid to go to the International Court, we have excellent lawyers speaking BM!
written by Orang Muda, December 13, 2008 10:56:01
KLCC- claimed by Indonesians, Bangladeshis, Pakistanists, Nepalis, Myanmese...

(So, Indonesia, no need F16, just continue to allow the Government to import your people without retrain, in no time the entire country would be yours...)
written by Old Man, December 13, 2008 11:13:05
Always singing the same old song, "Abang adek, sama adat, sama agama..." BUT when it comes to claiming of territories and/or wealth... No need to get into details. In the 1990's Taman Malindo ( bungalows built with 'free' construction materials from their places of work ) already existed in KL, in Sabah you've have Sabalindo, etc.. We cannot disagree with ylcc and Orang Muda, can we?
written by bexe, December 13, 2008 11:30:49
Let's face it, we use our light weights to fight in the heavy weight class. Not only that our light weights are not well trained, ill prepared and lazy. So how to win? Our best we send is our current AG? lol
infact LMAO
written by mikefonz, December 13, 2008 11:53:10
China Town at Petaling street owned by bangalas. Go take a look when you visit there the next time.
written by Uncorruptible, December 13, 2008 13:06:04
You want to fight, come. You stupid Indons. We are not afraid of you. Don't forget we got bodowi, najis, , maha taik, rosmah, mookris, mooyidin, hashhishmodin, and lots of other corrupted people to help us. Come lah if you dare.
written by harryo, December 13, 2008 13:19:57
Don't go to world court, almost certain our knowledge is limited and we only talk big within the country.
written by Tornado, December 13, 2008 13:24:18
If the politician still act like a child and always in denail mode, not possible for those claimed island will lost to others party. The casses is a proven proof when Padra Branca Island now own by Singapore because of idiot AG's, Sleeping PM.

ATM should station at least one squadron of aircraft fighter at Sabah region. For info, amongst all state in Malaysia, Sabah & Sarawak has very limited defense system.
written by citizenmy, December 13, 2008 14:23:40
We dont underestimate these politicians.
All this could be a political drama jointly planned by our politicians and neighbours , to justify reason for big purchase of fighter jets with good COMI$$ION. Dont be surprised if someone proposes RM 50 Billion purchase deal.
written by Msian Idol3, December 13, 2008 14:28:57
Aiseh, Indonesia is our big brother. Chicken & corrupted AUMNO will sell the islands. All the need to do is put on a monkey show & send Botak's team. Sure come back with a big smile & money in Caribbean bank.
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 13, 2008 14:35:14
You Indons never learn! How can you fight with Malaysia? We have Policemen who kick your National Karate's Instructor butt. They are good, they really are good. Four of them hancuff him and kicked his butt, remember? PDRM, you make us feel secure.
written by MAMR, December 13, 2008 15:03:37
In early 199ties BN govt award contract to build 6 warships at a cost of over RM 5 billions and build in AMINSHAH's yard in Lumut and that was during the time of TDM as PM. After Pak Lah took over as PM, AminShah was kicked out and Replaced by one of act Navy chief who promised to deliver all the ships by initially in 2009 but latter changed to 2010.Not only that the new incharge also was given additional of approx RM1.5 Billions to complete the projects. However until today ONLY 2 SHIPS which were constructed oversea were delivered and the rest seemed in all sort of problems.
written by krising1, December 13, 2008 15:27:54
When Malaysia want to flex on their muscles, they pick on Singapore. When Indons want ti flex their muscle, they pick on Malaysia. Abangs only pick on the the weaker ones.
written by mikewang, December 13, 2008 16:06:08
Why would Indonesia only want those 2 tiny islands where they could have the whole country ?
Just keep on exporting Indonesians here and you'll eventually have them taking over the country at their standard of living and their terms.

Then perhaps UMNO will be very happy !
written by cheekhiaw, December 13, 2008 16:10:21
Wah, crooked knife wielding thieves trying to take on their bigger neighbours.

Send Kerismuddin and Ahmad Ismail to those islands and let them show their antics there! See what the Javanese would take to their special rights...

written by Ken Liew, December 13, 2008 16:32:16
lets see the BN Army forces shaking in fear~!!

Q: Bodohwi, how u train ur BN army forces?
A: Dont Blame me.i'm only control these army forces for a few months, dont blame it all on my head. blame Najis for hadhari sake!

Q: Najis, soo, as pass down from Bodohwi, how you trained the BN army?
A: what training? OH, u mean the C4 training or the Sub-marine courses. Actually, we just buy a book for guidience, and the book are cost alot, like a few K' each. of cos We supply all our soilder with them.

Q: Is there any fizikal training?
A: Logicly, Yes, Praticaly NO. Cos, the english in the book are too hard to be understanded.
written by Malaysiaputra, December 13, 2008 18:17:42
When ever I hear and see Malaysian politicians together with Indonesian politicians, somehow I always get the feeling that a Master and Vassal relationship exist.

More so when I hear our Foreign Minister, Syed Hamid Albaar open mouth.

Reminds me of my history lesson in school of the Bung Emas homage to Thailand.
written by CPY, December 13, 2008 18:56:28
Wah F-16. Let us try our Su-29MKM against them. If PM finish off our money, we have no choice but to buy J10s from China bcos made-in-china cheap mah! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by gorshan, December 13, 2008 19:01:38
hello,itu Chop serumpun tak pakai lagi ke? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Apek, December 13, 2008 20:47:52
MAMR has hit the nail on the head.

The fact is that the Malaysian public has paid RM5 billion to put 6 battle platforms in the sea and what we really have now is 2 bullshit ships. That works out to be about 3 billion for each of the simple and almost outdated (compared to the French Frigates) ships. This is the real fear - that our politicians who are in charge of arms procurement and the safety of the country are so corrupt that they may be sending us to war without enought bullets to save ourselves.

I sincerely doubt that Najib did a proper job in arms procurement when he was the Minister for the Military. Compared dollar for dollar, Singapore has procured weapons platforms, ordinances and trained its personel in a more honest efficient and better manner than Malaysia. We would be outclassed and outgunned even taking on Singapore.

Given, that many readers here are very critical about Malaysia, I would not doubt that they will still stand the line if Malaysia calls them to the front. However, it would be lives truly wasted, if we were to be defeated not for want of courage and honour but because we have no guns to shoot with.

For all those lives to be needlessly lost for your greed and corruption, curse you Najib. I doubt you will be with us in the front lines.
written by wes wong, December 13, 2008 22:27:15
Good. We can now get a reason to use the new helicopters
written by cheekhiaw, December 13, 2008 22:27:34
And those ships probably wield only crooked knives and loud speakers baying for them to be bathed with others blood if they do not submit.

written by The dragonheart, December 13, 2008 22:39:10
Indonesia have a population of 237,512,352 (July 2008 est.) people. If every one of these people walk in Malaysia, we don't have the bullets to stop them. If they want to attack, no need any F-16.

Malaysian are too busy fighting each other, the next thing we know... The Government have changed... We are part of Indonesia.

Maybe the serumpun gets bigger after this. The next Indonesian governor for Malaya is Pak Khir Toyo....

smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 14, 2008 00:05:34
Cousins don't fight? UMNO fights within. PAS fights within.
No, Malaysian leaders have never taken good care of the nation and its vast resources; they take good care of their pockets and make sure the vast resources belong to them not the country.

It is evident yes the Ministry of Defence has many a sad tale to tell - those of you who have should tell it because our country needs to know and to protect itself. As citizens we shouldn't be fooled into thinking we have a certain amount of arsenal on our side when we only have toy planes etc. It is dangerous because the majority of us can't afford to fly out with our private jets. We would be sitting ducks for trigger happy invaders.
written by The Hammer, December 14, 2008 00:30:12
Must be the works of Cur Toyol to get his Indon cousins to take these two islands.
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 00:36:22
You should go back to Sukarno's time and see who think they have more special rights to the place. To them Javanese, the crooked knife wielding thieves here are just that.

written by Davy McChester, December 14, 2008 11:34:47
Even a small air force like Malaysia can wag the shit out of the Indonesia F16s. The main criteria is to have at least 80 %,not a dismal 25 %, serviceability rate of Malaysian Air force air defense and fighter aircraft. The Israel air force,though small but a lethal 85 % rate , proved it by wagging the shit out of the Arabs in the 1973 conflict.Can the Malaysian Air Force reach its 85 % height of glory ? It is not the case of having the best and latest weapons.It is the best quality and discipline of all ranks ,and most of all pride to be part of a fighting force defending the airspace of Malaysia.The air force pilots are the front line,the next immediate supporting team before and after the mission,in today 's air force,have been relegated to petrol station attendants
written by cheekhiaw, December 14, 2008 22:19:26
Yes, the Malaysian airforce should be able to wag the shit out of the others. The Israelis however did not just wag around. They did something more potent.