Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Chinese educationists threaten protest over English usage

Chinese educationists threaten protest over English usage PDF Print
Saturday, 13 December 2008 09:56

(The Straits Times) - Influential Chinese educationists are threatening a mass protest next week if the government does not reverse its five-year-old policy of teaching maths and science in English in vernacular schools.

Ong Chiaw Chuan, president of Jiao Zong, the United Chinese School Teachers Association, fired off this warning ahead of an Education Ministry roundtable discussion on the issue next Tuesday.

The association and Dong Zong, or the United Chinese School Committees Association, together make up Dong Jiao Zong (DJZ).

The DJZ is a powerful group that represents thousands of teachers, community leaders and administrators in Malaysia's 1,200 Chinese primary schools.

“The Chinese community has to act if the issue is not resolved,” Ong said, adding that DJZ will gather other vernacular education groups and Chinese associations to initiate a nationwide protest.

DJZ has been a vocal opponent of using English to teach maths and science since the policy was started in 2003, saying it erodes the learning of Mandarin. Previously, the subjects were taught in Malay in national schools, and in Mandarin and Tamil in the respective vernacular schools.

Education is a touchy topic for the Chinese community, which views the studying of Mandarin as integral to preserving its culture and identity.

Hence, the policy of teaching science and maths in English — a brainchild of former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad — has been a divisive issue since it was introduced.

Supporters agree with its objective of improving English among pupils. Detractors like DJZ feel it has not only failed to achieve this aim, but also eroded the learning of mother tongue languages.

In 2005, DJZ gathered 4,000 people at its headquarters to ask the government to revise the policy, but to no avail.

The Chinese are not the only ones who dislike the policy. Malays have also criticised it, saying rural Malay students are struggling to handle the subjects in English.

Ong's latest salvo has triggered a debate in the press and on the Internet. While Chinese paper Sin Chew Daily sided with him, other commentators labelled the group as “arrogant” and “racist”.

They pointed to a surge in the number of pupils who chose to do this year's UPSR maths and science papers in English — although they could have chosen to do the papers in Chinese, Tamil or a combination of all three languages — as a sign that the policy is working.

Datuk Wong Chun Wai, group chief editor of The Star daily, urged moderate voices in the Chinese community to speak up. He wrote in his blog: “All these groups would claim to represent their respective communities but the fact is that many of us do not share the strong-arm tactics of these groups.”

Said Zainul Arifin, a columnist with the New Straits Times: “The leaders of Dong Jiao Zong know how such a threat would play out in public, but the fact that it does so anyway suggests either naivete, or arrogance. And I do not believe it is the former.”

Ong is overseas and could not be reached for further comment yesterday.

His proposed protest is taking place at a time when the future of vernacular schools has been called into question. Umno Youth leader Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, a son of Dr Mahathir's, recently suggested that they be merged with national schools to enhance racial integration.

The suggestion led to an angry backlash from the Chinese and Indian community leaders.

Meanwhile, Education Minister Datuk Hishammuddin Hussein has dismissed the threats from DJZ.

He said: “It doesn't matter... what they do is meaningless because the ministry has shown its seriousness by having the roundtable meeting and invited the interested groups.

“If Dong Jiao Zong wants to have a demonstration, it is up to them because the policy is for the future of our children based on facts and figures.”

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, December 13, 2008 10:10:53
Sorry,I want my children to study all subjects in English.No way will they be taught in other languages.A second language will be a choice,not to be forced on them.
written by SOBA, December 13, 2008 10:18:51
I suggest every subject be taught in Russsian
written by TruthSayer, December 13, 2008 10:24:42
DJZ is being small minded and shortsighted in threatening this protest.

They have underestimated the abilities of our children to simultaneously learn more than one language at a time.

My own children goes to chinese school but they are fluent in english and bahasa malaysia.

Apart from that, they are picking up various dialects by integrating with their friends. I myself can speak 4 languages and 3 dialects with no problems because i am a product of a national bahasa malaysia school and my batch was the last year to learn maths and science in english before the syllabus was fully converted.

DJZ should also realize that by learning maths and science in english, our childrena are better prepared for education in overseas universities if they fail to get places in local institutions of learning.

DJZ should embrace the opportunity to teach our children the language that the entire business world uses rather than try protect fluency in the chinese language because other subjects will still be taught in it.

DJZ must stop protesting because it will also be used as ammunition by the BN to stir up racial strive.

Please wake up DJZ.
written by DreamLady, December 13, 2008 10:26:32
Why are all Malaysians so unfortunate to inherit UMNO numbskulls to lead the nation?? Are we short of talented people other than the goons of the worse kind to be the leaders of our country????

Please, my dear all, tell the goons that in order to have high standard of English language, English literature included within the curiculum is more than good enough for the students as it instills perfect and proper spoken as well as written usage of the language.

Why do the ministry of education has to beat about the bush to achieve something that is attainable within the children's grasp !!!
written by Mr Smith, December 13, 2008 10:46:00
This is a stupid idea. Protest will bring no good as we have seen. Now what the Chinese community has got to do is vote against BN in the Kuala Terengganu by-election and in the next General Elections. Once BN is out we hav work wonders without having protests.
written by monstercat, December 13, 2008 11:18:36
"Detractors like DJZ feel it has not only failed to achieve this aim, but also eroded the learning of mother tongue languages."

How many mother tongue languages can one learn in school?? Mandarin is important but not that very very important. Same goes to BM which is useless once you step out of Malaysia (oh, can be used in Indonesia but....). Mother tongue languages which I presume are dialects should be taught by parents in their everyday conversation with their children. The problem with a lot of Chinese family is speak Mandarin at home, children go to school also speak Mandarin, listen to Mandarin songs, watch Chinese movies & TV programmes, read Mandarin articles only etc. Might as well immigrate (NOT GO BACK!!) to Taiwan or China.

I'm Malaysian chinese & I'm proud of my heritage. I'm not fluent in Mandarin & can't read the characters. I do not speak Mandarin at all unless spoken to by someone who only knows that language. Does my lack of Mandarin ability make me any less Chinese??? Does that erode my Chinese heritage? Yes it does to a certain extend but it can never deny the fact that I'm Chinese. But anyway, what is so great about being chinese? I still hear some of them saying "wer men chung-kwok ren" - and I always ask them back are you from China?? Yes, to be chinese of China nationality you MUST know Mandarin, but duh!!! our forefathers left China for good long time ago!!! Oh! I'm so thankful that I was educated in the English medium.
written by MalaysianIAm, December 13, 2008 11:40:04
It was the stupid government's decision to change the medium of instructions to English in the first place, when the teachers weren't prepared to teach in English. What's the point when the students can answer in English while the teacher gets stressed out trying to understand that? What's the point of having good science teachers with bad command in English, or good English teachers who don't know any Physics, Biology, Chemistry or Science?

I say we Malaysians be proud of Malay. The government should improve the level of English by introducing better English teachers, not forcing those who can't even teach in Malay to teach in English. When the English level improves, everything else will take care of itself.
written by monstercat, December 13, 2008 11:41:26
Doesn't matter whether you are chinese, indian, malay, dayak etc, as long as you have the desire to learn & not be hindered by ethnocentrism & thinking like DJZ, then we could be more multilingual to our own advantages.

The great thing about being Malaysian Chinese is our ability to speak so many languages - English, BM, Mandarin being the main languages & the various dialects of chinese; and also the local bahasa melayu. These strengths were built from, like what TruthSayer said, interaction with various ppl etc.

I hate it when some Chinese responded when they realised I don't know Mandarin - "Oh, what a shame & waste! U r chinese, should know mandarin!" Full of crap!!!
written by MalaysianIAm, December 13, 2008 11:43:58
monstercat,

you said parents should teach children mother tongue languages, but if YOU cannot speak mandarin then how are you going to teach your kids mandarin?

no offence. I just want to bring up the inconsistency in your reasoning.
written by yellowwoman, December 13, 2008 12:27:00
Our children must be taught in the language that gives them the best access to success. English is the most widely used language in the world. English is the language of commerce and science and communication.
Moreover, English is a neutral language in our country.

We should therefore make English the medium of instruction for all national schools, and put the best teachers there to teach our children, regardless of skin colour or religion.

Vernacular schools can decide what language they want to teach in. If the national schools are in Eng medium and taught by the best teachers, vernacular schools will be a minority, and die a natural death. They will be attended only by those who think that by learning another language, their mother tongue will diminish. What nonsense! (BTW i sent my three children to Chinese primary schools because our national schools at the moment are pathetic - My children learn the same Science and Maths syllabus in both Eng and Mandarin, poor things)

DJZ - you do not represent me and my children. I don't want you to protest the teaching of Maths & Science in English. Don't be chauvinistic.

Those who agree for English to be the medium of instruction, say aye!
written by monstercat, December 13, 2008 12:40:28
MalaysianIAm, no offence indeed ;-). If parents feel that their mother tongue is very very important then they will find means & ways to educate their children. I think the responsibility lies with parents to build their children's strengths & choose wisely for them which they think will bring beneficial values to their children.

When I have children, I'd speak various languages to them to pique their interests. That's how I communicate with my nephews. I may not converse in mandarin with them, but if i feel that it is important for their future, then that warrants me to act on my part - send them to tuition classes. If I speak English to them, & turned out their 1st language is English, then I'd make sure that they know the importance of learning BM in school, & if the school offer Mandarin classes they should be in it. If my 1st language is Mandarin, then I'd make sure they are well-versed in English & BM by using the various channels available.

It all boils down to your priorities. Which is more important & useful for your children. For me, I do not think my mother tongue is dead important. This is because of my life experience. It has not helped me to earned money yet etc. Other's experiences will be different from mine.
written by alarcarte, December 13, 2008 12:41:35
Look to Singapore for answers? No way! Are the Malays, Chinese, Indians willing to forego their pride in adopting English as the main medium of instructions?

Have they realised why the Chinese stopped sending their kids to the National schools?
Like it or not, most Chinese view National schools too racialistic and Islamic (no offend intended to my Muslim friends).

My son attended such school all the way from Primary 1 to Tigkatan lima, and the stories he brought back about the behaviour of the Malay teachers and the school in treating the minority race make me feel like vomiting.

There is nothing wrong in integrating all Schools to use Bahasa Malaysia(Melayu) as main medium of instructions, provided they cut out the Islamic and Racialist ingredients and improve on the quality of teachers, can they do it?
written by ylcc, December 13, 2008 12:49:02
Obviously I have been misunderstood here. MalaysianIAm/yellowwoman ... you have my vote. English is the progressive language. You and I know that change is going to go in stages and it won't take place overnight. It is long term planning.

I did not say I approve of vernacular schools. I had meant that the vernacular schools need a solution to their temporary problem in learning 'Math & Science' in English. You have to give them the space and time to switch over, not just force it down their throats. Bear in mind they do not understand English very well. So what is the solution for these present students? It is easier said than done when you say "Start now", because they are already half way through their education.
written by gorshan, December 13, 2008 13:07:11
aiyo..lulu wa ingat itu malayu orang katak bawah itu tempulung aaa..
sikalang wa ala tingok itu cina olang pun ala selupa eyyy.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Bandit, December 13, 2008 13:24:35
Have anyone of you ever seen the secondary form 4 and 5 History syllabus? Go get a look and you will see how they shove islamic studies down our non muslim children. Better still look at the question our poor children have to answer on this so called "history" subject. Practically 40% of the his5tory subject is Islamic Studies. I however agree that rural student should be taught sscience and maths in BM. Let them find out themselves when the go for further studies where they will have no choice but to study the same in English. Most probably end up in dumps like UMNO's UITM getting a 1st class degree by God knows how and probably end up as deadwood in the sea of already deadwood civil servants.
written by monstercat, December 13, 2008 13:49:12
Until there is evidence that the Chinese education system does not perform better than the national school, then there will still be demand for its quality. Educational wise, not social integration aspects of its system. The education ministry knows that the Chinese schools are performing better in certain areas but they wouldn't admit it for fear of being accused of betraying the Malays. Again, being too prideful of one's culture hinders progress & innovation. Same goes to the chinese, thinking that they are better than others caused their perceptions of things to be rigidly one sided only.
written by krising1, December 13, 2008 15:30:26
Sandiwara. Chinese schools and news air time have become issues. MCA will take up issues, win some concessions and then try to become heroes of the Chinese. Old trick baba! Malaysians will not fall for it. MCA is on course to kaabooom.
written by mikewang, December 13, 2008 16:09:11
DJZ is out of sync with the Chinese in this country.
I suspect they are the 5th columnists of UMNO in this country, winning KT and the next general election for them.
written by CPY, December 13, 2008 17:22:15
DJZ should not see it as a 0 sum game. Ok, for now we learn Engelish from the Ang Moh, later, when Mandarin become #1, we teech them our language OK! smilies/grin.gif
written by dbwing, December 13, 2008 20:12:52
Implementing Maths & Science in Primary sch is a multi billion ringgit project. javascript:void(0);
I am questioning the real intention of raising the std of English via the above means. I can only expect my children to pick up something but not really learning up English, at the expense of not understanding fully the subjects at class.
written by foresight, December 13, 2008 20:25:54
I hope there are some Chinese schools who will actually convert to English medium with strong emphasis on Chinese and Malay....a la Singapore model. These so-called Chinese educationists are not doing the community any favour by sticking to Chinese. Many people used to think that the Malays are living in a coconut shell when it comes to the reality in the wider world outside. These Chinese educationists are not much different. Preserving Chinese culture and identity ? Why not go to Singapore and do a case study there first ?
written by BennyG, December 13, 2008 21:33:09
One person's perception only.

DJZ has every right to defend the Chinese schools and by being united, DJZ will be a strong pressure group to whichever gov't.

After saying that, I put my sons through Chinese schools because:
1. Chinese Schools had better teachers and syllabus/content
2. China is going to be a strong market now and in the future
3. I'm too lazy to teach them the Chinese language (couldn't if I ever tried since I don't read & write Chinese)

Now if the national school is the better school, then I have no qualms sending my sons there. If the gov't really want to integrate the nation, then the education system had to be totally overhaul and managed by the best educators (not selected by UMNO, anything/anyone appointed by UMNO had been proven to be a disaster) and no politician (regardless of BN or PR) is allowed to sit in the education committee.

Now a call to DJZ. My sons studied Science & Maths in English & Chinese. It's tough on them but they will be better off. Now why does DJZ want to abolish English? Who actually benefit if English is abolished? The CHILDREN or the TEACHERS. I sure hope that I do not hear that English should be abolished because it does not belong in the Chinese Schools! If I want my sons to have it easy, I will send them to national schools but their future (according to me anyway) will be affected (I'm sure there are great men in Malaysia educated by the national schools but I reserve the right to decide for my sons & not the rest of the nation).

I can't speak for all the parents who sent their children to Chinese schools but I sensed that there is ulterior motive (most probably being influenced by ...... your guess is as good as mine) in DJZ to abolish English since the children are taught in both English & Chinese for Science & Maths.

Let's run a scenario. If National Schools were to abolish English as the medium of instruction for Science & Maths, then the BN gov't looked bad. But if the BN gov't claimed that the Chinese Schools were the ones who pressured the change of language, the BN gov't won't look bad. Agree?
written by apa jadi, December 13, 2008 23:19:57
written by BennyG, December 13, 2008 21:33:09

....Now a call to DJZ. My sons studied Science & Maths in English & Chinese. It's tough on them but they will be better off. Now why does DJZ want to abolish English? Who actually benefit if English is abolished? The CHILDREN or the TEACHERS. I sure hope that I do not hear that English should be abolished because it does not belong in the Chinese Schools!

I think you are confused. Does DJZ want to abolish English?

Wouldn't you think it better to have those hours repeating Maths and Sciences in English be more wisely spent studying proper English lessons? Would learning Maths and Science help primary schools students to mastery English? Bad enough that they have to spend more hours studying BM, English as compared to SK students. It is tough, but well worthy to learn more languages. But repeat or teaching a student the subject in English is just bad.
written by fireduck, December 14, 2008 00:16:12
This is one dumb move by the DJZ. I definitely will not support such a protest of grotesque meaninglessnes. Why the heck do they want to protest the teaching of those subjects in English? Heck, I won't mind if my kids are educated totally in English, with Bahasa and Mandarin as additinal language skills. After all, English is the default global language for almost everything, notwithstanding the ubiquitous Internet.

And in China, thousands throng the English Language centres to sign up and learn English. But here, the DJZ wants to push us back to the dark ages with their simplistic and unfounded fear that using English to teach maths and science ...... erodes the learning of Mandarin.

DJZ can go out and protest for all I care. My kids go to a Chinese school, but I want them to be as proficient in English, if not more, as in Chinese.
written by fireduck, December 14, 2008 00:22:10
written by apa jadi, December 13, 2008 23:19:57

Wouldn't you think it better to have those hours repeating Maths and Sciences in English be more wisely spent studying proper English lessons?

Why do they have to teach those subjects in Chinese? Just have the English sessions. Period. That's because the teachers themselves are too lazy to learn the English language themselves. I too, don't see the relevance of having the same subjects taught in two different languages. Not all Chinese school students want to further their studies in Taiwan, you know. Most go off to UK, Aust., US, and Canada. Think about that.
written by apa jadi, December 14, 2008 01:32:48
Fireduck,

Why do they have to teach those subjects in Chinese? Just have the English sessions. Period.

I think it is best you send your kids to an International schools to master better English and for the good of your kids. There are mother tongues taught in some international schools too.

A vast majority of the kids speak their mother tongue at home. Do you think the weaker ones will understand science and maths terms in English better or in their home languages at primary level? Don't just think for your own selfish ends. Education caters for a wider spectrum of students.

At secondary level, most students have understood English better from their primary foundation. The students could be taught maths and science in English. I think most parents would have no qualm by then.
written by monstercat, December 14, 2008 03:15:24
MalaysianIAm – I’m saying if you feel that it is important for your children to know their mother tongue, then you should teach them by whatever means you have. And why not send them to Mandarin classes IF you feel it is important to them. Please digest “if you feel it is important”. The level of proficiency in the mother tongue again depends on you as a parent – to develop that interest. If you think that it won’t work out then it will not. From my own experiences it did work out to the satisfaction of those concerned.

How good you want the child to be in a certain language depends on the level of proficiency you want them to achieve & eventually what they themselves want to achieve. I think to submit a child to Chinese school from Standard 1 to Form 5 just to satisfy the need to retain the culture is a ridiculous idea. What sort of culture do we want to retain? We live everyday without practising any Chinese culture anyway except for festivals & special occasions like weddings, birthdays, confinement etc. Anyway, at the end of the day when these Chinese educated students enter college, university & join the workforce the need for Mandarin is very low. Or perhaps I’m ignorant & have not encountered a field of work that requires a high standard of Mandarin eh.

For DJZ to claim that teaching of Science & Maths in English will erode the Chinese language & identity needs to be proven. To me, I think they do not like the idea that another language is playing a bigger role as generally the Chinese believes that they are fabulous in Science & Maths. Yes, they may be so; but why can’t they use their system of teaching such subjects in a different language. Start training your teachers!!!!