Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Turmoil in Malaysian party after Badawi sticks to security law

Turmoil in Malaysian party after Badawi sticks to security law PDF Print
Friday, 12 December 2008 14:03

(Malaysian Sun) - Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's reiteration he has no plans to abolish the stringent Internal Security Act (ISA) has led to turmoil in the party, led by an ethnic Indian, that supports the ruling coalition Barisan Nasional (BN).

Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) president M. Kayveas has been challenged by a senior colleague after his threat to withdraw from the BN came a cropper. Kayveas had made PPP's being in the BN conditional to the government abolishing the ISA before the elections in March this year.

But that is not happening and now former PPP president and senior leader S.I. Rajah has asked Kayveas to quit, The Star said Thursday.

Rajah alleged Wednesday that Kayveas had not consulted the party before raising the ISA issue.

The law is a sensitive issue within the BN and with the Badawi government that has rejected demands for its abolition.

On Tuesday, Badawi said the government had no intention of abolishing the ISA and that PPP was free to leave the coalition if it wanted to.

PPP office bearers are rallying behind Kayveas.

Vice president Maglin D.Cruz said Rajah had no right to make the statement as he was not even a PPP member any more.

'Who is he to tell the party president to step down? He (Rajah) is a nobody. I haven't seen him in the party for over 12 years now. And he is certainly not the party adviser,' he said.

Vice president of the dominant BN constituent United Malay National Organisation (Umno) Mohammed Ali Rustam has said Kayveas' threat was 'a cheap publicity stunt.'

He said the ISA was still crucial to maintain peace and security, and added that the PPP's departure would have no impact on the coalition.

written by HambaTuhan, December 12, 2008 14:16:18
Kayveas said this weeks ago, and SI Rajah didn't even complaint. When PeeEm says go ahead, quit BN, suddenly this Rajah jumped out from his deep sleep. ada project BN yang engko dapat kah?
written by indianputra, December 12, 2008 14:17:58
Does it really matter to anyone other than the PPP leaders if PPP is in or out of the BN. PPP is a toothless tiger, and the only redemption for them is to quit BN and join PR or remain another political party in Malaysia.

Kayveas, do the right thing. You have been asked to take PPP off BN by the PM himself. So, get a new breath and quit BN. Don't be an egoist and remain in BN. Get out!!
written by kksam, December 12, 2008 14:29:04
don't forget, there's still those of MCA, MIC and Gerakan who didn't sign the memorandum to debate the ISA in parliament becoz they said they have the privilege of bringing the matter direct to cabinet, it's faster according to them. Now what? DIAM DIAM ONLY. Even during MCA party election, many talk about amending the ISA, but now? DIAM DIAM ONLY. We must not forget what lies that they have told us, vote them OUT ext election!!!
written by Cash Money, December 12, 2008 14:45:58
Kayveas game over for you. Very clear you are all talk and you have mastered the sendiwara game. Report says you are overseas at the moment. Suggest you not come back.
written by loosecannon, December 12, 2008 14:51:49
Personally I'd rather PPP stay with the BN. This way, they can cause more damage to the BN from within. So Kayveas, please don't leave BN. Be a loose cannon and run amok. BN loves you more than the opposition does.
written by lamepug, December 12, 2008 15:15:35
so apa lagi kayveas. walk the talk brainless never mind as long as you listen to the rakyat advise.
written by EUGTAN, December 12, 2008 15:27:44
Just comapare 3 buildings in malaysia and Singapore and the reason for the wide gap in economic and social develoipment becomes apparent.The Parliamnet House in Kl is a grand building on a hill; the Singapore building is just dignified and simple. The residence of the PM is Malaysia is a palace on the hill. The residence in Singapore is shared between the President, the PM, SM and MM and they are housed in an old colonial building. The HQ of UMNO is a grandiose building in the city center. The PAP HQ is a simple two storey building in a modest neighbourhood.
written by *********, December 12, 2008 15:40:22
Dong Jiao Zhong is acting foolishly, much like the zealots in Umno. Both clamour for vernacular school education that refuses to accept the reality of global competition as well as the diversity of cultures in Malaysian history. Umno will tell the Malays that the Chinese in Dong Jiao Zhong are out to destroy Malay language education, neatly side-stepping the issue of how English language education suffered a fatal decline under Umno's rule, thereby consigning Malaysian educational standards to the gutter.In an unexpected twist, by behaving like Umno chauvinists and supremacists, Dong Jiao Zhong has given Umno the biggest campaign boost to the Kuala Terengganu by-election that Umno could ever hope for...More http://*********.********.com
written by SCM, December 12, 2008 15:58:53
Kayveas, you got kicked by the rakyat in the last elections because everyone knows that you are nothing more. PPP and you are useless not only to UMNO but also to the rakyat. That is the worse kind of party. Every other party has some use to someone. Now that Bodowi has spat in your face, are you going to say that it was a "miscommunication" and PPP will forever remain arse lickers of UMNO? If I were you, I would shoot myself in the head rather than show my face in public again. You parasite!
written by ibabonma, December 12, 2008 16:23:21
Kayeas, we don't need you in the opposition. You are not similar to that Seenivasagam brothers. By the way, what happen to your other name i.e. Maniam? One Maniam really HANTAM his clients disbursement fees, like what most lawyers do. just send a reminder you HANTAM RM50.00. just sent a LOD you hantam RM250.00. Of course, there are some good lawyers but this particular one, just like the UMNO goons.
written by batsman, December 12, 2008 16:52:38
Munafiq.. Munafiq.. Munafiq!
written by MAMR, December 12, 2008 17:12:50
At least Kayveas had GUT to speak up his opinion and I hope he make a stand for it, other jokers from BN spoke up as well BUT once given STERN WARNING by their big boss UMNO , then they chicken out.
written by fireduck, December 12, 2008 17:40:49
The PM's legacy goes like this:

'Work with me, not for me' ----> 'I have big ears' ----> 'saya belum tahu' ----> 'saya tak tahu' ----> 'saya pantang dicabar' ---->'tak suka, boleh keluar dari BN' ----> 'my way or no way' ----> 'rakyat go fly kites' ----> 'ISA them all, cycling is illegal!'

Ah, in between, catch some sleep and make some money too.
written by asguard, December 12, 2008 21:27:34
So costly and waste of money the Malaysian PM is staying in Seri Perdana...millions of dollars ..