Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Interfaith Dialogue on Poverty

Interfaith Dialogue on Poverty PDF Print
Friday, 12 December 2008 14:02

Pleased to informed that Klang MP Charles Santiago will hold an ‘Interfaith Dialogue on Poverty’ to highlight the issue of poverty and civil society’s effort to deal with it and encourge inter-religious interaction.

The keynote speech will be delivered by Dr. Hermen Shastri.

Islam    : YB Khalid Samad (MP Shah Alam), Mr. Ismail Arsat (YDP PAS Klang)
Christian : Father Lawrence
Hindu : Mr. Kanapathy
Taoism : Mr. Wong Boon Chuan
Buddhism : To be confirmed
Sikh : To be confirmed
Bahai : To be confirmed

Date    : 20th Dec 2008 (Sat)
Time    : 3:00pm – 6:00pm
Venue : MP Klang Community Centre (Map)
       2A, Jalan Bayu Tinggi 8/KS6, Batu Unjur, 41200 Klang

2. We hope that you can publish this news and you are encourage to send journalists to cover this story.

3. This is an open event, anyone can join and invite others to join. please call Yap (016-2026300) or Sarah (016-6267797) to confirm your attendance or if you have any queries.

Thanks.

Sincerely,

Charles Santiago
Member of the parliament, Klang

Interfaith

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Daryl, December 12, 2008 14:43:11
Different religious group get together to try to come up with a solution for a non-religious issue poverty is a good start. Next is to setup groups to help the hard core poor and setup fund to help them get out of their situation.

Bravo for an attempt to become Malaysian instead of Malay, Chinese, Indian or other.
written by Debbie, December 12, 2008 16:23:04
Hats off to you guys, this is indeed a very good start in fostering unity. Not chinese, not indian, not malay.just a Malaysian.
written by cheekhiaw, December 12, 2008 18:04:17
Charles Santiago, Can get them to talk about how state promoted thievery is the cause of social poverty?
written by 1351, December 12, 2008 18:18:29
Way to go Charlie - with the correct impetus this event would be well receive and an appropriate time too when HRH Sultan Selangor is calling out for more cohesiveness.

Borneoman - there is nothing exclusive about this event. If anything, it celebrates all of humanity and may this light that illuminates from the royal town of Klang shower upon us good tidings.
written by borneoman, December 12, 2008 18:22:04
devious17,
dulu dialogue ala tuan melayu umno,sekarang kita tukar selera pula.kita cuba ala PR,manalah tahu yang ini akan berbuah hasilnya seperti yang kita semua harapkan suatu hari nanti.cuba jangan tak cuba.kalau tak pakai dialogue saudara devious candang apapula? smilies/grin.gif
written by patlu, December 12, 2008 19:50:14
I salute this initiative and hope that it will help us to grow together as fellow citizens and as people of faith - to build bridges instead of walls, to build a better world starting with ourselves.

We are all One.
Ours is not a better way. Ours is merely another way. - Neale Donald Walsch.
We are all One.
When one is harmed, all are harmed. When one is helped, all are healed. - Anon

Exploring each other's religions promotes respect, compassion and community. It helps us to find greater stability in our own faiths, and enriches our religious understandings, practices and values.

Watch videos: The REAL Malaysia
These stories need to be told because these people are in our very own backyard and each and everyone of them is Malaysian, just like you and me. Here are their stories, ugly side of poverty, displacement and struggles.

Episode 1: Aminah Wahab's Story
Episode 2: A Poor Man's Tale
Episode 3: An Orang Asli Story
and more at http://www.youtube.com/view_pl...2BEE86FFB1

"Hunger Knows No Barriers"

Pat Lu