Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Fond memories of elections in Terengganu

Fond memories of elections in Terengganu PDF Print
Friday, 12 December 2008 11:36

In another incident, a voter could not decide whom to vote for, as both were his friends, so he voted for both candidates. When asked whom he voted for, he sheepishly admitted that it was a tough choice so he chose to vote for both to be fair to both candidates.

With the Kuala Terengganu by-election looming over the horizon, it is starting to bring back memories of the many elections I was involved in during my 20-year stay in that town from 1974 to 1994. Some of the election incidences were most hilarious indeed and I thought I would share them with you.

One case involved a voter who wanted to retrieve his ballot paper from the ballot box because he had made a mistake and voted for the wrong candidate. There was a heated argument between the voter and the polling station personnel who were adamant that, once you place your ballot paper in the ballot box, you can’t take it out again. Anyway, how would they know which is his ballot paper since they are all mixed in the ballot box and there is no way of knowing which ballot paper belongs to whom.

You see, some voters do not recognise the text (candidate’s name) on the ballot papers and instead rely on the party symbols or logos. Some don’t even recognise the symbols or logos and need to be told where to place the X -- in the top box or the bottom box of the ballot paper.

In this particular election in the 1980s, the incumbents’ names were in the top box and the challengers were in the bottom box. So the campaigners told the voters to vote in the top box. In this particular constituency the incumbent was PAS and invariably the campaigner and voter were both PAS.

So the voter marked his X in the top box for both the parliament and state ballot papers. But what the campaigner forgot to mention is that the incumbent for the parliament seat was PAS while the incumbent for the state seat was Umno. So the PAS candidate was in the top box for the parliament ballot paper while the Umno candidate was in the top box for the state ballot papers.

As advised, the voter marked an X in the top box for both ballot papers, which means he voted PAS for parliament and Umno for state. When the voter came out from the polling station, the campaigner asked who he had voted for and he replied, “Of course for PAS.”

“You marked an X in the top box of the parliament ballot paper and the bottom box for the state ballot paper?”

“No, I marked an X in the top box of both ballot papers.”

“Aiyah, wrong! You should have marked an X in the top box for the parliament ballot paper and in the bottom box for the state ballot paper. You have just voted for Umno for state.”

And that was when the voter charged back into the polling station to demand the return of his ballot paper. I was called in to pacify the voter and I advised him that once the ballot paper is in the ballot box it stays there. He went off grumbling that they should not confuse him that way by putting the PAS candidate at the top on one ballot paper and at the bottom on another.

In another incident, a voter could not decide whom to vote for, as both were his friends, so he voted for both candidates. When asked whom he voted for, he sheepishly admitted that it was a tough choice so he chose to vote for both to be fair to both candidates.

“Aiyah, undi rosak!” shouted the campaigner. The voter then went back to the polling station to demand that he be allowed to vote again because he had made a mistake and had spoilt his vote. I was, again, called in to talk to the voter and to inform him that one can only vote once and even if you have made a mistake you can’t vote again.

He stormed off mumbling under his breath that there must be something wrong with Malaysia’s election system when a voter can’t vote again if he has made a mistake. This was one angry voter who wanted to see some electoral reforms that would include voting twice if you spoilt your vote by mistake.

Of course, there were many incidences of spoilt votes in the East Coast but not all were because of marking an X in the box for both candidates. Elections is when you ‘lepas geram’ or vent anger. But other than voting opposition to demonstrate your anger with the government, East Coast people also leave messages on the ballot paper.

Many ballot papers had graffiti or hate messages scribbled on them and these were all counted as spoilt votes. Imagine a ballot paper marked X for the PAS candidate with the message “Umno Babi” or “Pergi mampus Umno” written across the Umno candidate’s box. And these were the tamer messages. Some had “berayuk mak mu” written over the Umno candidate’s box. (I am not going to translate that one).

In one election, the imam of our local mosque, Pak Abas, came hurriedly looking for me to report a fight about to break out between a group of voters and a policeman guarding the polling station. We rushed over there and saw a group of angry villagers surrounding the pale and terrified policeman.

“Sabor, sabor (patience),” I told the villagers. “Gapo ni (what’s the problem)?”

The villagers explained that the policeman told them they must first become members of Barisan Nasional if they wanted to vote and this angered the villagers who wanted to ‘teach the policeman a lesson’ (nak ajor dia ni).

I asked the policeman why he did that but he denied doing so. He explained that all he did was ask them to queue up and stop shoving if they wanted to vote.

“Saya suruh dia orang masuk barisan kalau nak undi,” he explained in Bahasa Malaysia.

“No wonder,” I told him. “Next time, don’t say ‘masuk barisan’. They thought you meant join Barisan (Nasional). Instead, say ‘beratur’ (line up or queue up).”

I suppose the correct language for the military and police when they ask you to ‘fall in’ is ‘masuk barisan’ and when they want you to straighten the line it is ‘luruskan barisan’. But ‘masuk barisan’ can also mean ‘join Barisan Nasional’, as the very terrified policeman who was not local enough to understand Terengganu lingo discovered.

In 1990, PAS and Semangat 46 joined forces to take on Umno (Kelantan fell to PAS-Semangat 46 that year while Terengganu remained under Barisan Nasional). That night, as the votes were being counted, I sauntered over to the Pantai Primula Hotel in Kuala Terengganu where some of the top police officers from KL plus the local CPO and OCPD were congregating in the coffee house. The hotel manager was also amongst them.

“How are the results coming along?” the manager asked me.

“Habis!” I told him. “PAS has taken over this state.”

“Oh shit,” he responded. “How now?”

“The first thing they will do tomorrow morning is they will ban liquor. You will have to empty all your bottles and flush your liquor down the toilet. What else?”

“Aiyoh! How to do that? We got so many bottles in stock.”

I winked at the very amused police officers -- they knew I was pulling the manager’s leg. “What to do ah?” I asked the CPO who was trying very hard to hold back his laughter.

With a straight face he said, “The law is the law. If PAS bans liquor tomorrow morning then I will have to send my men here to make sure the law is followed. So better get rid of the entire lot tonight before PAS takes over in the next few hours. Let us assist you.”

The manager immediately asked his staff to bring out all the liquor and place it on the table. You should have seen the party we had that night in the Pantai Primula coffee house. No one went home sober the wee hours of the following morning. Of course, Umno retained the state and PAS-Semangat 46 never did take Terengganu in 1990. But Pantai Primula was ‘relieved’ of many crates of liquor and we had one very happy police force on our hands -- though as drunk as sailors who had never seen land in months.

Talking about PAS-Semangat 46 and the 1990 election, Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen (Ku Din), the current Chairman of the Umno Disciplinary Committee, was the Umno candidate for Kota Bharu in that election. He went around town to hand over RM50 notes to all the voters and they took the money but handed him back RM4.00.

Ku Din was puzzled as to why they took the RM50 but handed him back RM4.00 until one voter said, “Lima puloh tak seh. Amboh nak pat puloh neh.” (I don’t want 50. I want 46.)

Invariably, Semangat 46 won the Kota Bharu seat. Now, of course, Ku Din is chairing the Umno committee that is supposed to catch all those who indulge in ‘money politics’.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by SamSan, December 12, 2008 11:41:30
BN needs to bring out their heavy weight campaigner Saiful fast and get his infiltrated dobor all over KT soon. That is the only strategy for BN and UMNO victory in BN.
written by lynn, December 12, 2008 12:12:50
Learning how to vote shld be taught in school apart from learning/memorising the Constitution. But this will not be taught until we bring down the bn useless govt. BN can remain in power as long as most ppl are stupid, ignorant and illiterate. The more bodoh you people are, the better for BN.

There was this woman (Chinese) I knew, she's going on 50 & extremely proud she has never voted before in her life. Stupidity plus arrogance combo is not confined to any particular race. You see these people, they have no fcuking idea that vote they possess in their hands is very powerful. It can bring down a useless, incredibly vulgar corrupt disgusting government. If this is not a serious issue, I dunno what is.
written by batsman, December 12, 2008 12:16:02
Heeheehee Malaysian voters are a joy!
written by Rozlan, December 12, 2008 12:30:36
smilies/grin.gif Tq RPK for the funny old GE story. I laugh till I nearly fell down from my chair. Inciddent "masuk barisan" i believes had spreadout throughout Malaysia and it had become butt of jokes among us.Many of the other incidents also did happened in my home town..

We could see that the in the old days, the voters were so naive.No wonder BN won hands down.But now everything had change.The media revolution headed by Internet did not favor BN anymore.The voters are more educated and demanding their rights.

Hell is waiting for BN.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 12, 2008 12:34:06

What do we need to do to change the Malay mentality. UMNO Malays like to lie to the Malays. UMNO Malays like to do wayang kulit for their own Malay race to see. UMNO Malays are all actors.
written by indianputra, December 12, 2008 12:40:13
True RPK. Those days of General Election was real fun for the Rakyat. Nightly public campaigns were done without any one getting arrested or hurt. People just went top these campaigns to listen carefully to the speakers and decided whom to vote for!

And now the BN goons have messed up the fun of the campaigns. The Home Minister, the Police and the ineffective Prime Ministers stopped all the fredom of speech during Elections and made the Rakyat to distance themselves from these gatherings. They used religion and security as excuses for not allowing Public Speeches. This scenerio was created by them.

Seriously speaking, we need a change. A change toward fun, merriment and joy in Malaysia compared to mistrust, racial polarization and fear which are the BN's creation.
written by Sphinx, December 12, 2008 12:40:16
Voters are the rulers.

written by Motherchell, December 12, 2008 12:41:23
Great to go down memory lane Pete!--- to me the worst memories is the PP by-elections . From Saiful Bukari to Arif the Phd, -- the sodomy beats and dances of the UMNO supporters---it was one hellava trip. Not forgeting the metal scrap licences.
The best was when they told you to leave your Grandpa's road-- Jalan Sir Raja Uda-- and what you said ! Great!
The hero of the day then is still Imam Porigi who took them by their tails.

written by mikewang, December 12, 2008 12:48:55
"Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen (Ku Din), the current Chairman of the Umno Disciplinary Committee, was the Umno candidate for Kota Bharu in that election. He went around town to hand over RM50 notes to all the voters and they took the money but handed him back RM4.00."

- I guess they need a thief to catch a thief.
written by anak penang, December 12, 2008 13:15:47
Come one, come all
I have a story to tell
Election incidents in Trengannu
And of voters who said “berayuk mak mu"

One voter who wanted to vote for Pas
But not sure where to put the cross
Another voted for both his friends
And expected them to convey their thanks

And a party was going on in Hotel Pantai Primula
Someone wanted to get rid of his liquor and tequilla
A guy who thought the state has fallen to Pas
But he was taken for a ride by RPK and the cops
written by AhSeng, December 12, 2008 13:15:55
PAS will win KT by a much larger margin.
written by krising1, December 12, 2008 13:16:42
Ezam went into oblivion after the Permatang Pauh election. Will he surface now or have the UMNOputras given up on him?

For UMNO there will be two candiates - one belonging to the present CM and other to Idris Jusoh. One whose candidate is not chosen is going to sabotage the voting. So PAS will win, NO question.
written by Umar Rentaka, December 12, 2008 13:17:33
Some Campaign tips for Kuala Terengganu:
When Damansara Hill collapsed recently, the millionaires were given:
1. RM 300 per clock taxi free of charge,
2. Free accommodation in 5 star hotel,
3. Police and Army protection,
4. Immediate Government compensation promise for collapsed building

But when the "rakyat" face similar collapse house, what do they get. Even the so-called welfare money disappears... by Government officials and UMNO lords.
written by hellosunshine, December 12, 2008 13:35:26
Yo RPK, please let me know when you are going to Pantai Primula Hotel again after the votes are counted this coming by-election. I would like to join you this time. Hic! smilies/grin.gif
written by LukeJr, December 12, 2008 13:41:12
Ganu people are always funny! Senyum sokmo smilies/grin.gif
written by Kuku Burung, December 12, 2008 15:32:59
I have a funny story too. When I was in Terengganu during the 1980's (cannot remember which year) election, my neighbour's grandma was asked to vote for her relative who was independent candidate, with Table (Or meja) as symbol. She came out of the polling booth and proudly announced that she had pangko' meja by putting the X at the table leg so that it won't move.
written by Celestial, December 12, 2008 15:46:50
ROFL. This is a classic RPK. Thoroughly enjoyed the story. Some times, one wonder why the Almighty gave brains to us human beings. There is this saying "If you have any brains, you would be dangerous" comes to mind.

Good one Pete. Hope to have a malt with you very soon and a good cigar.
written by delCapo, December 12, 2008 16:13:53
so KT. if BN give money ask for them in RM5 notes, ya. nevermind must carry more weight lah. we only take Green money this round
written by Melgy, December 12, 2008 16:41:31
This piece is hilarious..I can really imagine the RM 4 change given back to KuDin. Wonder why he so slow in calculating....Maybe he dint study Math in English Kot?

Great work RPK.... Hope to see more juicy stories for the coming elections..
written by Taiping60, December 12, 2008 17:15:07
RPT,

The first part of your story is amusing and I suppose it happens all over the world. The part relating to polis and public getting drunk in Pantai Primula Hotel and Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen bribing Kota Bahru voters with RM50, that interest me. The former of course involve Muslims violating Syariah Law or even Polices violating their code of conduct. The latter of course is a crime of bribing. The part involving muslims drinking alcoholic drinks, I suppose it is a religous matter and it is best left to the individual to decide what he or she should do. Well, it is between them and God. In Malaysia, somehow I find the authorities tend to interfere in this aspect, which I still wonder why. With regards to code of conduct of the police. It very much depend whether the officers are on duty or not. It would be best the officers concern should not drink on duty. Again, I would think it is between him and his boss. If they caught, they must be prepared to face the music.

What facinate me is the case concerning Tengku Rithauddeen. I suppose nobody reported him to anti corruption agency or to UMNO. Or maybe they did not report because they knew it would be complete waste of time. Since nobody reported then Tengku is "clean". But since you dare to write it, I suppose there must be some truth in it. If that the case, having Tengku heading UMNO Disciplinary committee to looking in corruption or money politic in Umno surely does not look good for Umno.

I suppose Umno and government forgotten or deliberately ignored that there are several positions in the government and authorities that to be run by people not only "clean" but also seen to be "clean".

Many things that we need to do, does not require super genius to help us. They are no brainer. It is about political will. I wonder whether our politically master has that to change things.
written by jwars, December 12, 2008 17:17:39
dear YB RPK
this article is gonna travel around the world----(chain mail?)
written by malaysianohope, December 12, 2008 17:21:36
That's what I like about your articles... mixing comical stories with real stuffs. Like the part about Kudin but I hope current KT voters are not so gullible otherwise Pakatan is goner. No wonder you intend to go there to educate these voters. Good read!
written by panca, December 12, 2008 18:05:36
Bro Pete,

As I read this wonderful piece.....the afternoon tea and toasted bread with Marmite I had really tasted marvelous.
written by kywl1981, December 12, 2008 18:41:08
hahaha...i particularly like the joke about Masuk Barisan... that was really funny! ROTFL...
written by Kaneeneh, December 12, 2008 18:55:12
In the 1970s, an old lady was in the voting booth for a long time, after about 10 minutes, the polling officer asked her why the delay. She answered that the "Buffalo Head" is very difficult to copy (draw).
written by Dora, December 12, 2008 18:56:52
Hey RPK, thanks for taking us along down memory lane, I was grinning from ear to ear reading this piece!!!

Ha ha ha........ you must have had a jolly good time during those elections!! So
it will be like "going home" next month.

I am pretty sure the Terengganu folks these days are much more wiser and not gullible as they were 20yrs ago, thanks to people like you and fellow bloggers. I wish you and your fellow campaigners good health and high spirits during your campaign period. We are with PAS.
written by yapsir, December 12, 2008 20:50:51
Thanks RPK for giving some smilies/cheesy.gif so as to soften the tentions of political and economy crises. smilies/grin.gif
written by apa jadi, December 12, 2008 21:57:10
Encore, RPk! More of these hilarious jokes please!
written by maverick, December 13, 2008 00:30:21
haha.... i like the RM4.00 change, wonder if they do accept a RM4.00 cheque... it would be a good souviner to keep... hahaha smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cahaya, December 13, 2008 07:31:08
RPK, as a storyteller, you are hilarious! Please keep them coming.

A thousand apologies, but I am puzzled by bits of your1990 story. (did you mean 1986 or some other year, not 1990?) After the ‘masuk barisan’ part, you told us “In 1990 PAS-Semangat 46 joined forces to take on Umno (Kelantan fell to PAS-Semangat 46 that year while Terengganu remained under Barisan Nasional)”. You then narrated the event at the coffee house on vote counting night that year. “No one went home sober the wee hours of the following morning.” “Of course, Umno retained the state and PAS-Semangat 46 never did take Terengganu in 1990.” Huh?

According to the Nut Graph report on 9 Dec. on swing voters in KT, PAS-Semangat 46 seat had won in 1990 (with a majority of 1,880). Meanwhile NST reported yesterday that Zuber Embong (UMNO) lost the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat in 1990 to Semangat 46 candidate Datuk Abdul Manan Othman. Perhaps you could not recall the year for the coffee house event because it took place many years ago. Don’t worry, we MT readers believe what that such hilarious events actually happened during election time in KT, whichever year that was. Thanks again for your stories.
written by cahaya, December 13, 2008 07:33:51
In an earlier article, you wrote “I plan to spend about two weeks in Kuala Terengganu from the 5th to 18th January to not only assess the situation but to help campaign for PAS as well.”

May God bless you in the days ahead, especially the coming week of court appearances. May nothing hinder you from spending two weeks in KT. You are in our prayers.
written by Super Admin, December 13, 2008 08:59:21
Dear cahaya, Manan Othman won Kuala Terengganu in 1990, Zubir Embong who won it in 1986 lost the seat the following election. But Umno won the state. Kuala Terengganu is the town, not the state.
written by cahaya, December 13, 2008 10:40:20
Dear RPK, Thanks for the explanation! No longer puzzled about Kuala Terengganu and Terengganu state. Enjoy your weekend with the family. Cahaya
written by Panca Indera, December 13, 2008 10:55:30
//www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/sorry-we-killed-your-cow-rspca-tells-hindus-ndash-have-another-one-1064471.html
Sorry we killed your cow, RSPCA tells Hindus – have another one
Archbishop of Canterbury helps to heal bitter rift after temple animal is put down
By Jerome Taylor
Saturday, 13 December 2008 When animal welfare officers walked into the grounds of Watford's Bhaktivedanta Manor Temple on13 December 2007 and put down one of its cows, the local Hindu community was outraged. Gangotri, a 13-year-old blue Jersey cross, was being nursed by temple officials after becoming paralysed during an overly vigorous mating session with Karma Deva, the resident bull. But the officials, from the RSPCA, believed Gangotri was "suffering unnecessarily" and killed her.

The decision caused a bitter rift to develop between Britain's Hindus, who regard cows as sacred, and the RSPCA. But a year on, the two groups have buried the hatchet thanks to a series of high-level talks and a little encouragement from the Archbishop of Canterbury, a patron of the society.

Maybe there will be Hindu Jihadists lurking around to take revenge for killing one of their Gods smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by carribeanking7, December 15, 2008 14:39:03
Ha ha ha hilarious, but of couse BN fellows only like to publicise Terrengganu folk attacking buses bringing in suspected phantom voters, and cars bearing the TV3 logo.

I think Utusan reprters would be well advised to stay away from the coming by election- after all nobody belives the crap they write.

written by mahendra5, December 16, 2008 22:23:07
The Rakyat of Trengganu cannot be fooled as what happened by the tactics used in Permatang Pauh and Kelantan. The wrath of the people of Trengganu can be seen in the outcome of the result in the forthcoming election. This time around, the BN have a good chance of losing its deposit. The Pakatan Government in the 5 states
have proven within a short period that they are the 'The Rakyats Government'. The Pakatan Rakyat will have a clean sweep over the BN as we see it. The Rakyat cannot be fooled by develpment and giant projects to uplift Kuala Trengganu. They cannot be fooled anymore. Just wait and see the KT Election result. smilies/grin.gif

PKR - A Dynamic Govt.